Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Where else do you find an entrance to a Retreat like at the Dutches-by-the-Sea?

Spectacular Ocean View Studio - Most Memorable Mini-Retreat [#209616] | View Property

Pacific Grove
Cottage, Studio + Attached Unit, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$225 - $275/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (11)

Sort by:
  • As close to perfection allowed.

    As close to perfection allowed.

    • Guest Improvor (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    My wife and I were looking for something special for our long delayed honeymoon. As other B&B's we looked at quickly filled up, we stumbled upon VRBO and Dutches by the Sea. My inner voice told me this was what we were looking for. How right that voice was! Everything about our stay at Jonathan & Adrianna's retreat was easy and nearly perfect. Booking was easy and my conversations with Jonathan were like talking with an old friend. The main room reminded me of a cabin from my youth, with tons of natural light. It was clean and comfortable. We woke up after our first relaxing night to a treat of pastries from a local bakery and passes to the Monterey Aquarium Then we went forth to enjoy the Central CA Coast. Including walks along the Monterey Bay, a mere block from our stay. On our last day, we were tired and just hung out reading on the patio or the main room and it was the tonic our bodies, minds and souls needed. My wife and I cannot wait to stay here again. If you are looking at this ad and trying to decide, I will tell you this, the photos do not do justice to how great this place is. I promise you will love this haven in Pacific Grove as much as we did.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peaceful retreat

    Peaceful retreat

    • Guest Jackie (Santa Rosa, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/09/13
    My husband and I found the Dutches by the Sea cottage to be the perfect base for our 3 night stay in Pacific Grove. It would also have been perfect for a longer stay, given the proximity to so many wonderful adventures, as well as the kitchen for those relaxing evening meals along with the outdoor BBQ and spacious patio for relaxing over wine with the gentle sounds of waves just a block away. Waking up in the very comfortable bed, and watching the sky turn blue through the skylights encourages a look out to the ocean as the fishing boats are making their way out of Monterey. Having the cleaning fee included in the rate, along with a pass to the Aquarium, made this an affordable unit in a high rent area. We briefly met the charming owners, Jonathan and Adriana, and the booking process and check-in could not have been easier. No hesitation in recommending this delightful, roomy cottage.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely views!

    Lovely views!

    • Guest Delia C. (Oakley, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    My husband, mother and I enjoyed our stay at this comfortable cottage for three nights. The location was great and the property was peaceful and relaxing. The listing description and photos were accurate. We would like to thank the Roeloffs for a pleasant stay on their property. Jonathan and Adriana were very nice, accommodating and helpful. We absolutely loved the views from the patio! We hope to return. Hasta luego! Delia and Jose

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location in Pacific Grove

    Great location in Pacific Grove

    • Guest Bonnie B. (Vermilion, Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    The good: great location with views of the ocean, beautifully landscaped....spacious studio. The not so good: could not use fireplace.....damper did not work...room filled with smoke, ants in kitchen..got into food left on counter, owners were away and had to call to figure out the heat...was freezing, had my husband on a ladder to check a thermostat.... Might stay again due to location.....could not use outside space because it was so cold most of our stay...and grey...unfortunately.... Needs a few changes and would be ideal, oh unlike most of our previous VRBO stays, kitchen was not stocked, no sugar, no basic groceries....good to know so that you can bring your own....all I all would recommend due to location, space and surroundings. Owners were cooperative.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: First time in four years of our operation that we had a turn over of Guests while away on a six-day vacation. Just installed a new "Nest" Thermostat one week earlier. We were not there to explain the new thermostat and the damper Control system of our fireplace. Please Note: Stay at our beautiful mini-Retreat was still good enough for Guests to consider returning to the Dutches-by-the-Sea.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • OUR THIRD TIME STAYING HERE--GREAT NEW UPGRADES

    OUR THIRD TIME STAYING HERE--GREAT NEW UPGRADES

    • Guest Stan (Trinidad, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/10/13
    • Review Submitted 02/22/13
    This was our third visit to this property and once again it was great. There have been some recent upgrades that made it even more desirable. The new king sized bed was very comfortable and the new cabinets in the kitchen were really nice. We really enjoy the bicycles that are available to renters to be used on the coastal bike trail which is just a short down-hill ride away. There are nice ocean views from the large patio and the location is very convenient to the downtown restaurants and businesses. The owners--Jonathan and Adriana-- will assist you with anything that you might need. We would recommend this location to anyone wishing to spend time at this attractive sea-side community.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Extraordinary bay-view patio with large propane grill

    Extraordinary bay-view patio with large propane grill

    • Guest Former Cheesehead (Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    This rental exceeded our expectations. We spent a week in early July visiting friends and family in PG/Monterey. This was an ideal home base for Big Sur and Point Lobos hikes, kayaking in the kelp beds, a day trip to San Francisco, and local exploration. The unit is larger than we expected based on the vrbo photos and worked well for an 8-day stay. It offers a comfortable living area, large built in desk and shelves, good-sized kitchen with full-sized fridge/freezer, walk-in closet and dressing area, and a small bathroom. The queen bed fits tightly into its nook on one end of the living area. The owners' lovely home is adjacent to the rental unit and they were accessible for anything we needed, but not at all intrusive. The truly special thing about this property is its outdoor space. Renters have exclusive use of an amazingly beautiful and expansive patio with nice tables and chairs and an extraordinary view of the bay. We saw blue whales spouting just offshore while serving dinner to friends. We enjoyed the large propane grill and had meals on the patio when the fog permitted.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Garden Cottage at the Beach.. You can hear the Seals at night...

    Garden Cottage at the Beach.. You can hear the Seals at night...

    • Guest Robert and Diane (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/09/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
    This is a quaint, quiet getaway with the waves just a minute away. Jonathan and Adriana have a lovely home and garden. The room is attached, but you have plenty of privacy and a wood-burning fireplace. The full kitchen is convenient and there is a Trader Joes a few minutes away. We had coffee on the large stone patio in the morning and wine at dusk. Great views and absolute serenity. The most fun was just walking and exploring. The monarch butterflies were everywhere, and we saw otters often. There are a variety of places to eat and antique shops nearby. It was just the quiet spot we needed to relax. We would defintely stay with them again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely and serene

    Lovely and serene

    • Guest Marilee M. (Thousand Oaks, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    We just returned from an awesome week a the "Dutches". What a great property. We immediately felt at home. Jonathan and Adriana go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible, while still leaving you with your privacy. Steps to the ocean. We walked every morning and evening, but bikes are provided if you desire. I hope we can make this our Pacific Grove vacation home for many years to come.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very enjoyable!!

    Very enjoyable!!

    • Guest Jerry M. (CA)
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/14/11
    Oct 7-11, 2011 -Jonathan & Adriana Our stay in your Cottage was wonderful. We have stayed in a lot of places in Monterey, P.G. & Carmel over the last 30 years and yours, by far, was the most comfortable and memorable. We very much enjoyed the aquarium. - Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Serene & Relaxing Stay at Oceanside Cottage

    Serene & Relaxing Stay at Oceanside Cottage

    • Guest DFS (Walnut Creek, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 10/15/11
    Jonathan and Adriana, Thanks for the tour, your warm hospitality & recommendations. Everything was perfect, from Fifi's (chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese) to Pavel's Baeckerei (sour cherry dilly & Campagna bread) to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (leisurely oceanside walk). Before booking your cottage, we read the online comments about your hospitality, garden, sea view, etc. But while the comments were glowing, the reality was even better. Your cottage is the most serene & relaxing place we have ever stayed at. See you next time! Best wishes, DFS & SNS Walnut Creek, CA

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay

    Great place to stay

    • Guest Stan (Trinidad, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/07/11
    • Review Submitted 03/23/11
    My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in March 2011. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Jonathan and Adriana were perfect hosts. We enjoyed a tour of the property and lovely house. Bicycles were provided which we rode most every day along the coastal trail north through Monterey and south along the 17-mile drive to Pebble Beach. Passes to the Monterey Aquarium were also provided which we used on two occasions. The Aquarium is a very enjoyable and educational facility. The property is in a very quiet location yet convenient to local restaurants and shopping areas and just a short walk or bike ride down hill to the coastal trail. It is a very suitable location for exploring the area to the south including Carmel and Big Sur. We really liked this place and will return again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]