Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of house South to Iveragh peninsula

Uninterrupted Sea Views at Tra Cinn Aird Near Dingle [#210799] | View Property

Dingle
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$1,540 - $1,850/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Amazing, Beautiful, Relaxing, Majestic, Unique

    Amazing, Beautiful, Relaxing, Majestic, Unique

    • Guest bradf30 (Fort Myers, Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    Thank you SO much for opening your home to us! My wife and I had an absolutely AMAZING trip to Tra Cin Aird! Everything we needed was right at our fingertips. There is NO possible way to describe the beauty surrounding the home. The only thing I can say is that as you make your way down the road to the house, on a road that is so skinny that you swear your tiniest of cars cannot fit, you get to a point where the coastline opens up in front of your eyes and the blue waters of the Atlantic begin to sparkle, beckoning you ever closer, until you finally come upon the driveway to Tra Cinn Aird where you pull in and in an instant you know that you are in the best location in Ireland. My wife was nearly in tears at the beauty as she had dreamed about this trip for as long as I have known her and she knew her dreams were coming true right in front of her. That is the best possible description I have, but it still won't mean anything until you see it for yourself! We had wonderful dinners at • John Benny’s (steak and salmon salad) • Paul Geaney’s (lamb shank and seafood pie) • Danno’s (salmon steak and fish & chips) We found some great Trad sessions at • O’Sullivans • An Droichead Beag And some good old fashioned drinking at Dingle Pub, where we partied late with 4 visiting Brits who were staying in Brandon going surfing. Cathleen was great for our big night out on Saturday night and was quick to pick us up and drop us off. She has actually visited our town here in Florida (Fort Myers) on several occasions. We found the scenery in and around Dingle to be quite breath-taking, but nothing compared to your little slice of heaven in Cin Aird! We loved the beach, the immediate access to East Kinard hill (which we climbed twice), the estuary (we had a lovely mussel dinner one night), and the friendly local dogs to help us from missing our boys at home too much. It was wet and windy and we loved every minute of it! We also found the monastic site on the cliff side that you recommended…what a treasure! Thanks again Peter and we look forward to our next trip to Ireland!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything we could have hoped for!

    Everything we could have hoped for!

    • Guest J & J (York UK)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/04/13
    We totally enjoyed our stay at Tra Cinn Aird, finding the reality even better than the site description. The house itself offers every comfort, and met every need. The view of the sea from the front windows is magnificent, and proximity to the sea offered wonderful early morning walks. The owner, who met us on arrival, made us very welcome and provided an excellent tour of the property. Dingle Town, not far away, provided plenty of entertainment when we weren't out walking the hills and the beaches. It was a pleasure to live in this house for a week, and regret our stay was not for the entire month! We recommend it highly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a week!

    What a week!

    • Guest Mikec (Birmingham, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    This was our 6th trip to Ireland, and I can honestly say the week we spent at Cin Aird exceeded all we've done before. I won't repeat all the accolades in the other ratings, but I will tell you they're all true. This was much more satisfying than any 5-star resort we've stayed in. The house was great, but the setting is breathtaking. Dingle has always been our favorite town, and now we love it more than ever. Ireland truly has the world's friendliest and helpful people. We've never had time pass so quickly, and can't wait to return. Go - you will not be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Rental

    Awesome Rental

    • Guest Kathie & Bob
    • Date of stay 05/11/13
    • Review Submitted 05/27/13
    The house, the view, the quiet!! All awesome. The pictures of this site are accurate but there is so much more. The house was immaculate. The water and sky are always changing. Beautiful sunsets and moon reflections on the water. We took over 500 pictures during the week because the views were so beautiful. The house has everything including pantry staples for cooking (oil, salt, pepper, sugar, etc.) Once you purchase food supplies for your stay there is no need to go anywhere. Everything the owners say about this place is true and then some. They met us upon arrival to give a short orientation of the area and the house. They have a wonderful library with books of local interest , DVDs and CDs. They have a notebook and file box full of maps, brochures and menus of nearby places. The town of Dingle is quaint, colorful, and friendly. Lots of live music available and a variety of restaurants (vegetarian friendly.) We totally recommend Tra Cinn Aird. You will not be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • American Visitor

    American Visitor

    • Guest n/a (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/29/13
    From the moment we arrived at Peter and Mary's waterfront home in Dingle, we sensed hospitality, not business. Peter was personally present to greet us with a bottle of wine, instructions on how to make the house and its many facilities "run," recommend sights and restaurants, and generally just do all he could to make our stay happy and comfortable. Everything that we'd heard about Irish generosity and hospitality came true here. The view was spectacular, the house spacious, clean, and lovely, and beach looked like a set from Ryan's Daughter (which is hardly strange considering it was filmed nearby). One of the most thoughtful touches were raincoats hanging on a peg near the front door, in case we hadn't brought adequate hiking attire (it gets windy on those cliffs, which only adds to the mystical effect!)--we'd do it again, and I hope we get the chance! Thanks, Peter and Mary, for an unforgettable week-end during our long-dreamed of trip to Ireland. You exceed expectations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Dramatically beautiful, a wonderful house!

    Dramatically beautiful, a wonderful house!

    • Guest David (Simsbury, CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/30/12
    • Review Submitted 08/12/12
    We spent a week at Tia Cinn Aird, hoping for a memorable family vacation with our 4 children. Our stay couldn't have been better. Peter and Mary welcomed us to their home with open arms and good ideas on things to do and see to keep us busy. It's hard to describe the dramatic views of the ocean and mountains from the house. We used the house as a base for hiking and trips to Dingle and the penninsula. The house is comfortable and well appointed. Trust me....you won't be disappointed!.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Tra Cinn Aird

    Tra Cinn Aird

    • Guest Sabrina (Vermont/USA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/15/12
    It has been several months now since I have been back from our family vacation to Ireland and I seem to have fallen into the routine of a busy life here at home. I have forgotten one very important matter of business and that is to tell you, the hopeful traveller, that what you have dreamt of, what you have imagined, does exist! I could go on and tell you every detail of this beautiful house and her magnificent location, but it seems unnecessary. May I only tell you this… that when I close my eyes I am still there and I feel the wind rush through my hair and I know part of me will never leave. "Tra Cinn Aird" stands quietly alone by the ocean waiting for you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Pictures do NOT do it justice!!!

    Pictures do NOT do it justice!!!

    • Guest Dream Trippers (New Braunfels Tx)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    If you have ever dreamed of going to Ireland this is what that dream was made of !! We did a lot of site seeing while we were staying at Tra Cinn Aird and it was a great home base. It was spacious enough for the four of us ( with room to spare ) and the common areas were perfect for spending time with each other. I can not say enough about the town of Dingle. There was excellent food, fun pubs, and the locals were very friendly and informative about local sites to visit. The beach is within walking distance and it feels like your looking at a post card from every view from the house. Its a bit of a drive from Shanon Airport but FOLLOW PETERS DIRECTIONS (not the GPS) and its very easy with a excellent views of the country side along the way. If we ever get a chance to go back we want to stay at the same place because we left wanting to do and see more!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous Place, Restful, Amazing Views.

    Fabulous Place, Restful, Amazing Views.

    • Guest Bill and Annie (Des Moines, Iowa, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    We enjoyed Tra Cinn Aird immensely. The home is comfortable, well cared for and beautifully situated on a bluff overlooking an absolutely amazing stretch of beach and ocean. We enjoyed a morning walk on the beach, a pub lunch in nearby Dingle and a hike in the surrounding hills in the afternoon. Dingle is a charming town with nice restaurants and shops. There can't be fresher sea food anywhere. Peter and Mary were charming hosts. They made everything available and easy to understand. No surprises. The area is one of the most charming places we have ever been. It is so beautiful in way that is not self-conscious or showy, much like the people. We loved it all so much we are discussing making it an annual trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • It's All True

    It's All True

    • Guest elaflo (Oswego, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    All these other reviews are accurate. Tra Cinn Aird is a beautiful, comfortable cottage in a spectacular spot. We had struggled for a couple years, trying to figure out how the 3 of us could make our first visit to Ireland, and all be happy. We dreaded the thought of a bus tour, and fretted over creating our own itinerary. One of us has a high activity level, while the other 2 are content to sit and gaze. This cottage made us all happy. We knew we wanted to hear Irish spoken naturally, touch ancient things, enjoy fine traditional music, swim in the ocean, and tromp the hills. We had it all. My husband even had a chance to help the farmer next door move his horses. No, we didn’t kiss the blarney stone, or wander the streets of Dublin. Instead we left feeling steeped in a particular part of Ireland that fed our spirits, and gave us memories we’ll treasure. Peter and Mary were lovely hosts, responded promptly and helpfully to all our emails, and even gave us a mini-tour to help us orient ourselves. We couldn’t have asked for anything more except time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Guests, we want to say how grateful we are for your wonderful reviews. For three years we have sought to bring you top quality, authentic Irish hospitality in one of the most beautiful places on earth. In turn, you have been unfailingly pleasant and courteous. For us, it's been a very pleasant experience. Thank you. Sincerely, Peter & Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • our family spring break

    our family spring break

    • Guest Kathy (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/26/11
    I was unsure about a trip to Ireland but at my in laws insistance(they had been twice before), we met them in Dublin and drove to this beautiful place! It was both relaxing and fun. In Dingle there are so many things to do and Mary and Peter could NOT have been more helpful and friendly, they thought of everything. We loved it and it has been one of our familie's favorite vacation spots, ever! The house has all you can think of and more, it was just a beautiful trip! Restaurants, a cheese shop, art shops, horse back riding, fishing, the beach at your front door. Just lovely. I will never forget this trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely fabulous!

    Absolutely fabulous!

    • Guest Lulu (Columbus, OH USA)
    • Date of stay 04/07/11
    • Review Submitted 04/28/11
    We spent 10 days in April at this marvelous dream house near Dingle. The view is stunningly beautiful and the pictures don't do the house justice. We were so comfortable and found the house equipped with everything we could want. We loved our peat/wood fires every night. And we had a fabulous mussel dinner one night with fresh harvested mussels from the estuary very near the house. The bedrooms are so nicely situated on opposite sides of the house (with a full bath on each side) for privacy. My husband loved hiking up the hill right by the sea. (I couldn't join him due to a broken ankle the day before we left!). The area is simply breathtaking and we couldn't have picked a better spot for our first visit to Ireland. Dingle is a wonderful place. Full of good restaurants, an amazing cheese shop, great shopping, authentic music, and Teas Hold em on Sun/Fri nights! People were incredibly friendly and helpful everywhere we went. Dingle is only a 4 mile easy drive from the house. The hosts, Peter and Mary, were everything you could want in landlords: so friendly and accomodating and helpful. All in all, one of the best trips we've had, despite my disability. We plan to go back as soon as we can. I hesitate to write such a glowing review because it may be booked when we want it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful sea vistas and privacy on the rugged Irish coast

    Beautiful sea vistas and privacy on the rugged Irish coast

    • Guest Steve (Centennial, CO, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/31/10
    Peter and Mary's delightful home provides guests with a great base for travel throughout the Dingle Peninsula. Our party of four felt at home making breakfast in their nicely appointed kitchen, then touring the Ring of Dingle before visiting one of the many great pubs Peter suggested. The rural setting of the property reflects the tranquil beauty I imagined Ireland to have, and the house was everything the photos show it to be. We highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Best !!

    The Best !!

    • Guest Trudy (Iqaluit, Nunavut Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/10
    I can not express my thanks to Peter and Mary, who were so helpful and provided information at the house about nearby activities and were very helpful answering any questions I had. The house was spacious and very comfortable and exactly as it is portrayed in pictures and description. The views were incredible and I would HIGHLY recommend this house! You will never get tired of the views and the sound of the waves coming ashore. There are plenty of places to see within a short driving distance. This is one of the best vacation spots I have ever experienced.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We want to go back!

    We want to go back!

    • Guest drmom (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 10/14/10
    My family LOVED this house! We had an extended family - teens to Grandma, and everyone was happy. The area is beautiful, and the view from the house, wonderful. There's lots to do in the area. The nearby beach is uncrowded. The house has everything you need, well maintained and very comfortable. There's a good selection of CD's, books and DVD's if you have a rainy day. The owners were very helpful,and had everything prepared for our visit,with much info on local things to do. We have rented from VRBO six times - this one of the very best.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great for families!

    Great for families!

    • Guest Andrea (Seattle, WA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/27/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    We loved our stay at Tra Cinn Aird. The house was perfect for our needs--2 families (4 adults, 3 kids) as there was enough space in either "wing" of the house for each family. The kids loved playing outside, climbing on the rocks on the beach, watching videos on a rainy day. Dingle town was an easy 10 minute drive -- we loved wandering in the town, shopping, riding on a boat to see Fungi the dolphin, going to the climbing gym nearby...plenty to do for the week we were there. Mostly we loved the house itself and location where we felt we could totally unwind and disconnect from daily life. Peter and Mary were so friendly and helpful, and the house was exactly what we were looking for AND exactly as it is portrayed in pictures and description. We would HIGHLY recommend this house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful

    Beautiful

    • Guest Carla (Cleveland, Ohio United States)
    • Date of stay 06/20/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    We had a wonderful time at this lovely home. The view was majestic, and the proximity to dingle was convenient. We had everything we needed and then some. We could not have asked for a better experience!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Magnificent!!

    Magnificent!!

    • Guest Scott (Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/13/10
    • Review Submitted 07/04/10
    The house was a perfect setting for five of us, two couples and a single. The views were incredible and the house was spacious and very comfortable. You never had the feeling you were in each others way. Peter and Mary were there to greet us when we arrived and showed us around the house before they left. They have much information at the house about nearby activities and were very helpful answering any questions we might have. After long days of sightseeing, walking or whatever, it was a pleasure to come back to the house and relax on the patio, listen to the waves come in, watch the gannets diving, etc. Again in the morning each could wake up at their leisure and enjoy coffee or breakfast on the patio or inside looking through the many windows facing Dingle Bay. The kitchen is fully equipped and very open to the rest of the house. Sometimes it was difficult to decide if we wanted to go somewhere or just stay at the house and enjoy the peace and quiet and the views. This worked out well if someone wanted to stay and others wanted to go. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our stay. I think anyone would find the house very comfortable. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. Peter and Mary were delightful hosts and I would recommend their house overlooking Dingle Bay to anyone looking for a relaxing, stress free vacation!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Kathryn G. (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 05/30/10
    • Review Submitted 07/12/10
    we had a wonderful family holiday - we were there in May 2010 with our parents and our one-year old baby and there seriously was something for everyone! Dingle is a short hop away by car (taxi too) and there is a great beach down the hill. The views are incomparable - horses and cows and peaceful countryside combined with dramatic breaking waves! It is a very special and beautiful place and we agree that Peter and Mary are wonderful hosts - they provided a crib and all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Rose21 (New Haven CT)
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 03/22/10
    What a lovely place. We stayed for three days in mid-March, and loved every minute of it. Picturesque, quiet, and very spacious. I definitely will come back. There are plenty of places to see within short drving distance, but the views surrounding the cottage are stunning for those who would like nothing more than to relax around the house. You will never get tired of the views and the sound of the waves coming ashore. This is one of the best vacation spots I have ever experienced. You won't regret staying here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest James and Janet Streff (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 11/15/09
    • Review Submitted 11/15/09
    Peter and Mary were good people to work with as we put our vacation plans together - honest and helpful. Their home was lovely and everything about it was as stated on the website. We had a great time and would recommend it without any qualification.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/25/09
    • Review Submitted 09/25/09
    Magical! That's the best way to describe our stay at Tra Cinn Aird. What a gorgeous location, remote and wild, yet filled with a beauty not to be replicated anywhere else. The cottage was outstanding; well equipped, comfortable, welcoming and perfect for the four of us, we just loved staying there. Owners Peter and Mary were warm and hospitable and made sure that we were comfortable and had all that we needed to enjoy our stay. Would we return to Tra Cinn Aird? You bet! In a hearbeat! Only availability of time and distance will hold us back from returning again, and again. But, to be sure, the next time Ireland is in our travel plans, Tra Cinn Aird will be on the top of our priority list. Thank you for a truly, magical and memorable stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jane H. (-)
    • Date of stay 09/08/09
    • Review Submitted 09/08/09
    Comfortable, modern, well-equipped, rural, private, quiet, surrounded by beauty - a taste of Irish rural life in the midst of striking physical beauty and archeologic richness. Dingle is charming and artisans abound. The weather can be a challenge but needn't be a barrier. All in all, a great experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/15/09
    • Review Submitted 07/15/09
    We had a fabulous 2 week stay at this wonderful home! The setting among farmland is peaceful and view of the bay is spectacular. Our two children spent hours a day on the local beach and we found the home to be a perfect jumping off point to explore the history and beauty of the Dingle Peninsula.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest thom2 (los angeles, ca)
    • Date of stay 06/10/09
    • Review Submitted 06/10/09
    Cannot describe how perfect my stay was at this house. It's an isolated home very close to town and a short walk to an extremely picturesque beach. Was thrilled when I first pulled into the driveway. The house feels like a home, and not a rental property. HIGHLY recommend a stay here. You will not regret it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kim Daly and family
    • Date of stay 04/14/09
    • Review Submitted 04/13/09
    We enjoyed a wonderful holiday at your place. Thanks you for all the helpful tips on enjoying the Dingle Peninsula. I wish we could have spent more time at your lovely home - you are wonderful people. The pictures of your place do not do it justice.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mr and Mrs Hogan
    • Date of stay 09/10/07
    • Review Submitted 09/09/07
    'Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. It was a perfect start to our vision of the perfect Ireland - rolling hills, shades of green, sheep grazing and blue water. The surprise was the 2 days of gorgeous sunshine!'

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]