Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
entrance to property

Lion's Gate Getaway- Lush Setting Overlooks St. John & Tortola [#212443] | View Property

Red Hook
Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-2)
$140 - $175/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (34)

Sort by:
  • The relaxing getaway we were looking for

    The relaxing getaway we were looking for

    • Guest Hanna M.
    • Date of stay 03/25/14
    • Review Submitted 04/10/14
    My husband and I spent a week here and can't wait to plan our next visit! Starting your day with coffee on the porch with the most amazing views was easy to get used to. The apartment was well furnished, with everything we could possibly need. You won't find a better view in Red Hook. The walk down the hill to town wasn't too bad at all. You are so close to lots of restaurants, but I definitely recommend renting a car. We spent a lot of time at Sapphire beach, which was a 5 minute drive away and a relatively quiet beach. You have to book a sailing trip with Max, because it is hands down the best thing you can do on your visit. We spent our mornings and evenings on the porch taking in the views and enjoying the company of Eva, the resident pup. The bird watching from Lion's Gate is pretty good also. Anything we needed, Max helped us with right away. We are already anticipating our next visit, it is absolutely a slice of paradise at Lion's Gate, you won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our St. Thomas Home Away From Home!

    Our St. Thomas Home Away From Home!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/30/14
    • Review Submitted 02/05/14
    My husband and I stayed at Lion's Gate Getaway for a week, and we absolutely loved it! It is so charming and comfortable, and in the perfect location. The house is on a hill, and the cool breezes that blow through the house are so wonderful. No air conditioning was needed the whole week! The queen sized bed was comfortable with high quality linens and pillows. The kitchen was well appointed with every needed appliance and amenity imaginable. And the stone shower was enormous! The water pressure was great also. Our favorite feature was the covered front porch that looks over the beautiful harbor. We enjoyed just sitting out there with our coffee and taking in the stunning views from all angles. Also, it was very convenient to be located in Red Hook, as there are multiple restaurants and bars all up and down the main street, and the Inter-island ferry dock is right across the street. The owner, Max, is also a master captain and has her own business taking out guests for day sail and snorkel trips on her sailboat. This was the highlight of our vacation! The sailing experience was exhilarating, and the snorkeling sight that she took us to in St. John was THE BEST snorkeling we have ever experienced! Thank you for the wonderful adventure. We will not forget your wonderful house, or your gracious hospitality!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect Setting for Beach Lovers

    Perfect Setting for Beach Lovers

    • Guest Pat (Charlotte, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 01/18/14
    • Review Submitted 02/03/14
    Lion's Gate Getaway is a cozy studio with a long veranda that offers a stunning view of Red Hook Harbor, with St. John in the distance. The place sits on a hilltop surrounded by tropical vegetation, and there is always a delightful breeze. Max and Chris are gracious hosts, always eager to please - ready to answer any question, provide directions, or replace a battery in a remote :-)! The studio is large for such a place, but still has room for only two people. I recommended "girls getaway," however, because Max has recently added a one bedroom unit on the other side of the driveway. It is also lovely, and the two places together would accommodate 3-4 girlfriends. The beaches close by (Lindquist and Secret Harbor) were very nice -- trees on the beach for shade and crystal blue waters for swimming and snorkeling. If you are up for a day of sailing and snorkeling outside of St. Thomas, Max does day sails on her boat, Lou, and she typically takes the guests to St. John for snorkeling. Also good restaurants in the Red Hook area -- some right there on the Harbor and others only a short drive away. All in all, this was a very enjoyable trip -- perfect place to relax and bask in the sun and water.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Gorgeous spot

    Gorgeous spot

    • Guest vacationer432 (New York City, NY)
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    My boyfriend and I rented this beautiful studio for our recent trip to St. Thomas. We couldn't have selected a better spot! The studio is located up the hill from Red Hook. Even when it felt too warm near sea level, the breeze cooled the studio to idyllic temperatures. I loved lounging in the outdoor chairs with my book (morning, midday and evening) and we couldn't have asked for nicer sleeping weather- no A/C required. There are many convenient dining options Red Hook. Chris was also kind enough to drive us to the food center not too far away and we enjoyed cooking at home and dining on the deck. There aren't too many beaches within walking distance so I would recommend renting a car, if possible. There are always taxis at the ferry terminal just down the hill so it is convenient to utilize those when necessary. Speaking of the ferry terminal, I recommend a day trip to St. John while you're there. The ferry couldn't be more conveniently located and we loved the snorkeling at Trunk Bay. Thank you for sharing this beautiful spot with us, Maxine and Chris. We had a very relaxing stay and hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Good spot in the heart of Red Hook

    Good spot in the heart of Red Hook

    • Guest MATT (TAMPA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/13
    • Review Submitted 01/04/14
    My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights after Christmas this year before heading to St John. Owners are great, even gave us a ride to the ferry on departure day. Great views. Walk down the hill to restaurants,a few bars,etc. Which was convienent. The walk back up the hill is a little tough after bar/restaurant visits so we had a islander cab take us for $5 which was great when we needed it. Def would stay here again. You get a feel of what it would be like to live on the island here. The owners have a newly built rental on same property next door which is nice and I would recommend. If you have a free day go sailing with Max. We were there busiest time of year no cars avail for rent, I would reco renting a car.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • 20th Anniversary Getaway

    20th Anniversary Getaway

    • Guest Footy (Cape Coral, Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    My husband and i just got back from spending four wonderful days at the Lionsgate Getaway. I already can not wait to go back! The studio that we stayed in was very comfortable and had every thing we needed to make our stay complete. The sunrises and the sunsets were so breathtaking that I took a couple hundred pictures just of our view we had sitting on our porch. We had our coffee every morning watching the sun come up! Maxine and Chris helped us with transportation down the mountain whenever we wanted to catch a bus to go sightseeing. They couldnt have made us feel more at home! They were totally awesome! We look forward to going back to stay there and see them again! Thank you Maxine and Chris!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Relaxing Getaway

    Perfect Relaxing Getaway

    • Guest Brent M. (Salt Lake City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 09/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/09/13
    This was my 17th trip to the Virgin Islands and my absolute favorite place to stay on St.Thomas. I first discovered Lion's Gate last year on a solo trip, and had to bring my wife back this year. The view from the balcony is breath taking. If it had been totally up to my wife, she would have spent the entire time sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view and reading. She absolutely loved this place. I love the location in Red Hook, close to several beaches, easy access to the Ferry to St. John or other islands, and if you want to eat out, everything is right there - yet you are high enough on the hill to feel secluded from it all when you are looking for some peace and quiet. Maxine and Chris were the ultimate hosts and very accommodating. We enjoyed the great weather, the beaches and the relaxed atmosphere. Last year, I was able to go sailing with Max - which I also highly recommend. If you are looking for a place to relax or a home base from which to enjoy a variety of local adventures - this is the place. 5 Stars.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Dallas, TX

    Dallas, TX

    • Guest Ivette (Frisco, TX)
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    I loved stay in here. Maxine, Chris, and the dogs are so hospitable; they made me feel like family. It is located just walking distance from Red Hook. The view is spectacular. The condo has everything you need to have a great vacation. I loved the Italian decoration…good job Maxine! I also sailed with Maxine one day and we had so much fun in St. John. The food was delicious. I will definitely recommend staying in this condo 100% and do not forget to go sailing with her, you will not regret it. The same day I was coming back home I was already missing the family and the condo. Thanks! :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Having guests like Ivette is what makes this so much fun. She would walk the dogs with me at the end of the day and is a much better conversationalist than Eva or Millie. I love sharing this beautiful spot. And I don't get tired of the view. See you next time

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing getaway

    Relaxing getaway

    • Guest Tpowers97 (Boston)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/16/13
    Perfect place to escape the hectic, fast paced life. Even the most hardcore work addict would have a hard time resisting! We just enjoyed the view, the sounds and the lovely mountainside plants and trees. The Studio is spacious with a very functional kitchen and fun bath. The best part is waking up every morning to the sunrise view of the horizon. It's breathtaking. Having a car is very helpful. We would definitely go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Breathtaking view and wonderful hosts that we'll always remember!

    Breathtaking view and wonderful hosts that we'll always remember!

    • Guest Leonore (Bronx NY)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    My husband and I were hoping for a relaxing 4-night winter getaway on our first trip to USVI, and Chris and Maxine's rental ended up being perfect for us. While planning we opted for a view instead of beachside lodgings—but what a view! Upon arrival we looked at each other in amazement and said, "Maybe we should just stay up here the whole time." Enjoying the watery vista was awe-inspiring and ever changing: constant boat traffic, gentle breezes, dramatic clouds, the glowing full moon, radiant sunrise, lush plants waving in the wind—better than watching TV or a movie. The cozy studio apartment was charming and very nicely decorated, with lots of artistic flourishes, such as the inlaid mosaic tiles on the porch and the touches of blue that resonate throughout the premises (Chris is a massively talented woodworker and craftsman). On our aerobic walks up the steep mountainside (huff! pant!) from Red Hook we encountered parrots and lizards and cats and exotic cacti and tropical plants. Each day was an adventure. Music from the popular Red Hook bars was audible at night, but never a problem. However, the most exciting part of our short getaway was our all-day sail with Maxine on the seaworthy Lou. Max is an impressive and accomplished sea captain and a completely delightful individual, and a sail with her is highly recommended. She knows St. Thomas and St. John inside and out. An unforgettable experience. Super-comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, amazing porch (much bigger than the pictures can convey), wonderful hosts, sweet resident dogs, walking distance to the St. John ferry. Hard to beat! Overall, we are so glad we chose to stay here. Oh, and yes, they are building a fabulous cottage next door, which will surely make this spot even more enticing for a family or a group of friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding view

    Outstanding view

    • Guest Ken (Cramerton, nc)
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    My wife and I have been using VRBO for over 10 years of travel. We have been blessed with rentals that always equaled our expectations and Lions Gate is no exception. As noted in the title the views of St John, Jost Van Dyke and Tortola are outstanding as you are sitting on the front porch about 400' above sea level. It is a one minute drive down the hill to the town of Red Hook. The little town is the beginning point for both the passenger and vehicle ferries to St John. Plenty of bars and restaurants in this town. No need to go anywhere else on the island for either fine dining or casual dining. The town noise at night that is mentioned in other reviews is easily drowned out by the fans in the studio. For us, it was a non-issue.....and we are seniors. The studio is equipped with A/C but it was not needed....plenty of breeze. The rental itself was a smaller space than we usually rent but it was not tight. It is as advertised. The shower in the bathroom is a focal point.....The rock shower can accomodate you and your wife and a few other family members.....it's more of a shower room. Kitchen is ample with all utensils and equipment, including coffee maker. The front porch is lovely and the owners dog, Eva, will visit you in the mornings around breakfast time....smart dog...loves bacon. If there is any negative it would be parking space. Even when the contruction is finished next door it will be tight due to the fact that all homes on this road are perched high on a mountain overlooking Red Hook....I would suggest renting the smallest car you can find and you will be fine. Overall, the rental was an excellent value and should be considered by any couple wanting privacy and easy access to St John.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • More Than A Room With A View!

    More Than A Room With A View!

    • Guest Jim & Joanne (Tulsa, OK)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    To awaken to the view at Lion's Gate and to lie your head down with the twinkle of the harbor lights---comes under the category of "moments that take your breath away"! Our stay was delightful and truly very difficult to leave. The accommodations were clean, neat and we enjoyed the island flair of the decor. The location is perfect for enjoying all Red Hook has to offer. Max was helpful in every way, from shopping for provisions before our arrival to advice of where to go and what to do while on the island and/or traveling to St. John. In addition, her expertise as a sailboat Captain was appreciated and provided a very special day sailing on her beloved "Lou". Our memories of staying at Lion's Gate will linger for a long time! The view is priceless!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great East End Location!

    Great East End Location!

    • Guest Ryan T.
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/02/12
    This is a great studio up the hill from Red Hook. The pictures don't do the views justice.They are amazing!! The patio is the perfect place to begin and end your day in St. Thomas. It's a great space for a couple to stay. You can walk down the hill to the ferry to St. John, good restaurants, a little market, and other activities. We were there for 5 days and found it to be a great location for everything we wanted to do. We didn't rent a car - mainly took taxis or friends who were also in St. Thomas at the same time drove us around. The best part is that is that it fits into a tight budget. Max, the owner, is so much fun, too!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect way to see the island

    Perfect way to see the island

    • Guest Monica (Pleasant Valley, NY)
    • Date of stay 05/20/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    My boyfriend and I travelled at the end of May. The weather was perfect. It rained a little each day, but quickly cleared. Max and Chris are wonderful host. They know the island well and are willing to help with anything. The studio is very private and has everything you need. It has everything from sun block to a telescope! There's a cooler, beach chairs, beach towels and noodles for the beach. There are so many amazing beaches nearby I don't think you could go wrong with any one of them. The "off" bug spray is under the kitchen sink, use it! The views from the patio are amazing! They have a dog named Eva. She has to be the cutest dog ever. She makes sure to stop by and say hi each day. I enjoyed having coffee with her most mornings. The studio is right near the ferry to St.John. You can take the car ferry or passenger. I would recommend renting a car, so you can see the whole island (be aware that the roads are steep and twisty) The town of Red Hook is cute, but it's nice to have the freedom to explore with a car. The locals are very nice, but you have to be aware of your surrounds. I would highly recommend this rental for those who like to explore at their own pace and who like privacy from the high tourist areas. If we have the pleasure of returning to St. Thomas, we would stay at Max's again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Living the Island Dream...Enjoying " Island time"!

    Living the Island Dream...Enjoying " Island time"!

    • Guest Va (Tennesse)
    • Date of stay 04/02/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    The description of the apartment was very accurate and beautiful. The only thing that needs to be changed in the driving directions was: look for the ACE Hardware Sign(neon lights did on not work) on the left. Here is where you turn to get to Lion's Gate Getaway. Enjoy your stay and live the "Island Dream". The photos were perfect and was exactly what we expected to find. The property was very clean and had all the necessities we needed. All our qustions and then some were answered with great enthusiam. Yes, I would recommend this property to everyone I know. Especially my family. There are so many things to do I would not know where to begin. It also depends on what a person wants to do and things they are interested in doing. Snorkeling and visiting histortical sights are my interest. Shopping is fun also!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm so glad they enjoyed my slip of paradise. Driving instructions from the airport are quite detailed. The island roads are not well marked so I meet my guests in Red Hook to make it as easy as possible. It's a fool proof method. If you happen to miss the town I'll come and find you. Come and enjoy the view, the birds and the sea.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What an incredible view!

    What an incredible view!

    • Guest dhicking (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    My wife and I recently stayed at Lion's Gate for our honeymoon and we had a blast! The location is incredibly convenient, the view is absolutely to die for, and Max was helpful any time we had any questions. Max's dog Eva was there to greet us every morning, and it made it feel like more than just a rental. Lion's Gate is definitely up on a hill, but that's pretty standard for St. Thomas. You'll want a car to rent to explore the island, but you're definitely within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, and bars in Red Hook. We had no problem walking down to take the ferry to St. John, or to the marina to rent a boat for the day. The walk back up is steep but the view as you climb higher and higher is amazing. We loved staying at Lion's Gate, and we'd definitely recommend it to anybody who wants to be right in the middle of everything in Red Hook.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Indianapolis Couple

    Indianapolis Couple

    • Guest Joe & Cindi (Indinanapolis, Indiana USA)
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 03/06/12
    We could not have been more pleased with our stay in Maxine and Chris' great studio apartment. The view is spectacular and our hosts were very helpful without being intrusive. The apartment is exactly as it was described and Red Hook is a great location. It was so nice to have "Eva" greet us every day. What a friendly and well behaved pet. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to others.. Thank you Max and Chris. Joe & Cindi

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • All That We Hoped For!

    All That We Hoped For!

    • Guest Nelle (Albuquerque, NM, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/08/12
    My husband and I stayed at Lion's Gate Getaway earlier this February. More than anything, we wanted a place where we could relax and enjoy all that the US Virgin Islands had to offer. We couldn't have found a better place as our starting point. The property is beautiful, well maintained, and tucked into the side of the hill giving you wonderful views of the nearby islands and the water. It was quiet and relaxing but was also only a minute or two from many wonderful choices for restaurants, beaches and water activities (in Red Hook and the surrounding area). Max was extremely helpful, always responding as soon as she was able and providing us with great insight to the best beaches, etc. We would definitely recommend this rental property to any and all of our friends and would love to stay there again ourselves.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful and Secluded Honeymoon Location!

    Beautiful and Secluded Honeymoon Location!

    • Guest Jennie R. (Allentown, PA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/12
    • Review Submitted 02/02/12
    My husband and I got married in St. Thomas in January 2012 and absoutely enjoyed our honeymoon getaway at Lion's Gate. It is a secluded location located almost at the top of a mountain, which was great for us as we had 30 guests on the island for our wedding and we could steal some time to ourselves. We called Max (the owner) on our way from the airport and she greeted us at the bottom of her the hill and we followed her to the residence. Any time we needed something, Max was accessible by phone to answer any questions. Our air conditioner didn't work our first night and Max saw that it was fixed the next day. The studio has every amenity you might need for vacation, including a fully equipped kitchen (we never cooked though), beach chairs, and beach towels (no need to bring your own!) The bathroom with the walk in stone shower was gorgeous. My only complaint about our stay was the lack of water pressure in the shower, but from what we heard from others staying at different locations on the island, it's the same everywhere. The views from the patio are amazing, you can see St. John, Tortola, and Jost Van Dyke. Lion's Gate is in an excellent location to restaurants, beaches, and the ferry to St. John. We couldn't have asked for a more convenient spot to stay. You can hear music from the bars in Red Hook, but if you close the windows and turn the AC on, it will drown it out. I miss my daily visits from Eva (one of the resident dogs). On our next visit to St. Thomas, we would not hesitate to book another stay with Lion's Gate Getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm so pleased that Jeannie had such a wonderful wedding/honeymoon high on my hill. When she was here there was an island wide water problem that has now been fixed. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, be it a honeymoon or for someone who wants beauty and a slice of the tropics with a warm breeze washing over them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely getaway

    Lovely getaway

    • Guest Barb (NC)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    Lion's Gate is a lovely place for 2 to get away and chill out. The location is very private - located high up on a hill overlooking Red Hook. The studio is the ground floor of the owner's home but we felt like we had the place to ourselves - even though we did really enjoy our visits from Eva, their dog. We spent many hours enjoying the porch which provided great views of the harbor and over to St. John and Tortola. The sunrises are spectacular there and well worth getting up early, having a cup of coffee and soaking in the beginning of a beautiful day. The studio's kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed dining in on several occasions. The bed was very comfortable and the breezes were so nice that we rarely used the air conditioning. We especially loved the spacious stone shower. The studio has such lovely touches that make it a very pleasant place to stay - nice artwork and photos, ceramics, beach glass trims, etc. The location was great as we were just minutes from the car and passenger ferries to St. John, restaurants, grocery stores and the beach. We rented a car for our entire stay and it provided us with great mobility on St. Thomas and St. John. Max and Chris are the owners. Max is a boat captain and we enjoyed a fun sailing trip with her. She is the best.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It's nice to know that the love and care comes through for my guests. Eva is still my best ambassador. We hope to see you again Thanks Max

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely perfect spot!

    Absolutely perfect spot!

    • Guest Lynn (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/05/11
    • Review Submitted 07/26/11
    I have visited St. Thomas a number of times, and have stayed in places ranging from very nice hotels to villas, and I have to say Lion's Gate is now my favorite spot to stay on the island! Such a cozy, inviting place, with truly incredible views. While lying in bed each morning we could watch the sun come up over the surrounding islands out the big kitchen window. And the stone shower! What a treat! We enjoyed the spacious porch both morning and evening: for reading, eating, drinking or just sitting and watching the view. I had plenty of room for my yoga practice outside in the morning, and we enjoyed wine and cheese on the porch before dinner each night. We were often accompanied for our outdoor meals by Max's delightful dog, Eva, who is the most polite young lady you could ever meet. The kitchen has everything you might need, and Maxine, the owner, loves to cook and is at the ready with whatever spices or extra cooking utensils you could want. We stopped at the market and picked up what we needed to make omelets each morning and snacks in the afternoons, and we enjoyed the variety of restaurants within walking-distance for supper each night. We also went for a day sail with Max on her boat, "Lou." Max is a wonderful captain, AND we got to experience her delicious cooking for lunch along the way. If you want a relaxing, easy place to stay, this is it! I will definitely stay at Lion's Gate again - alone or with a friend!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Piece of Paradise

    A Little Piece of Paradise

    • Guest Scott & Stephanie (Katy, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/13/11
    This was our first trip to St. Thomas and we certainly hope there will be many more! Our entire stay here was a dream vacation. The apartment is clean, comfortable and well-appointed with every amenity you could possibly need. Waking up in the morning with a good cup of coffee on the porch overlooking beautiful Red Hook Bay and the breathtaking islands can't be beat! Red Hook has everything you need, great restaurants and shopping without all the hassle of the cruise ships. There are two beautiful beaches only 5 minutes away. The views each morning and evening, the beauty of the many bays, our sailing trip with Captain Max; all these created memories that my husband and I will always treasure. Can't wait to return!! Thank you so much Max and Chris for sharing your little piece of paradise!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Red Hook Studio

    Perfect Red Hook Studio

    • Guest Alison (Bar Harbor, Maine)
    • Date of stay 03/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/20/11
    Lion's Gate is a perfect place for a couple to stay during their time in STT. We stayed a week and found the studio to be a comfortable, scenic yet convenient place to stay. The porch is very welcoming to have your morning coffee as you watch the sun rise over St. John and the BVI's. A fully functioning kitchen w/ all the gadgets one would need should you decide to dine in. A queen bed, a tv and dvd player, and 2 large closets make the bedroom area. The bathroom is spacious w/ a wonderful rock shower w/ room for 2. A special treat was the daily visits we received from the owners wonderfully sweet dog Eva. She will pop down and see you every morning before Max leaves for the day .Eva is a gentle dog who won't bark at you, just give you the cutest dog eyes to entice you to feed her a sampling of your food or just a flop on the floor wanting a belly rub. We found the location of Lion's Gate to be convenient for all of our excursions. A ride down the rather steep hill puts you in the center of Red Hook w/ numerous dining options to entice you. A day trip to St. John w/ or w/out a rental car is also very easy to do from this location. Numerous beaches are within a quick drive from the studio. Sapphire and Coki are close but make sure you visit them after the cruisers have gone for the day or a day when the cruise ships are minimal in port. Lindquist(Smith Bay) is a hidden gem that only requires you to bring your own snacks as the beach has no food services but it does have portable toilets. The lack of amenities keep the traffic low so Lindquist may be the perfect idylic beach you are searching for. Would I recommend Lion's Gate to my friends? 100% yes. Would I return to Lion's Gate? 100% yes. Should you stay at Lion's Gate? Definitely.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing and Fun

    Relaxing and Fun

    • Guest Sue (St. Louis, MO, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/11
    So often a rental place is less than it appears to be on the website -- Lion's Gate is so much more. As you arrive and walk across the long, private porch, the ocean scene in front of you takes your breath away. The apartment is spacious and had everything we needed, including a window by our bed to awake us to warm breezes and that glorious sunshine in the mornings! Having coffee on our private porch and enjoying the many birds that make their home in and around the many trees and bushes was a great way to start our day. Food is expensive in the Virgin Islands, whether you eat out or buy groceries and do your own cooking. Max and Chris brought us a grill, and we cooked many of our dinners at home. Red Hook is a great place to stay because it's so close to many beautiful beaches and the closest ferry to St. John. Max generously supplies you with a cooler, beach chairs and noodles for your trips to the beach. She also owns a sailing ship and my husband and I loved our day on the water, where we also had an opportunity to do some snorkeling. The sailing was the highlight of our trip and one that will stay in our minds forever. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to our friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Bliss on a Tropical Hilltop!!

    Bliss on a Tropical Hilltop!!

    • Guest Rebecca (Bethesda, MD)
    • Date of stay 12/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    I simply cannot say enough about what an amazing experience my husband and I had staying at Lion's Gate Getaway. The apartment is a delightful large studio with loads of charm and stocked with a lot of the necessities of a home away from home: beach chairs, towels and cooler for days on the beach. A kitchen with plenty of utensils for cooking basic meals and a bathroom with shampoo, hair dryer etc. The studio has a gorgeous wrap around porch with a sitting area with a view which my huband and I enjoyed every day. For those people who can't totally get away there is also wifi. Maxine (Max) who rents the studio and her husband Chris live in the main house above and are incredibly welcoming and helpful. Max was happy to answer our questions, brought us Christmas Cookies on Christmas and since she is also a sailboat captain we were able to book a day out with her on her boat. Truly lovely people. The apartment is a quick walk up the hill from Red Hook which has shops, dining AND the ferry which is great for getting over to St. John or a day trip to the BVI. In short, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!!! Thanks Max and Chris :)

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Privacy and Beauty

    Privacy and Beauty

    • Guest Andrew (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/24/10
    Lion's Gate was a nice, quiet getaway with a priceless view. Chris was out of town, but Max made us feel at home. The studio is on the first floor of the property (the owners live upstairs), but you never know anyone else is there unless you go looking for them. Felt very safe, especially with the property protected by a gate. AC worked great, water is drinkable, even had cold beers waiting for us in the fridge. The last minor detail that came in handy was the collection of 15-20 DVDs in the room. My wife and I got sick, and it was nice to have something to pass the time. We did not rent a car. We consider ourselves in shape and the climb up the hill was tough at times, but manageable. We already miss waking up and seeing Eva (the dog) waiting outside our door each morning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beauty and Privacy

    Beauty and Privacy

    • Guest Andrew (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/24/10
    Lion's Gate was a nice, quiet getaway with a priceless view. Chris was out of town, but Max made us feel at home. The studio is on the first floor of the property (the owners live upstairs), but you never know anyone else is there unless you go looking for them. Felt very safe, especially with the property protected by a gate. AC worked great, water is drinkable, even had cold beers waiting for us in the fridge. The last minor detail that came in handy was the collection of 15-20 DVDs in the room. My wife and I got sick, and it was nice to have something to pass the time. We did not rent a car. We consider ourselves in shape and the climb up the hill was tough at times, but manageable. We already miss waking up and seeing Eva (the dog) waiting outside our door each morning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location and views

    Great location and views

    • Guest DC teacher (Washington DC.)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/21/10
    My husband and I spent a fantastic week at Lion's Gate. It's a perfect rental for a couple who is looking for privacy. Red Hook is a great location since it is near some nice beaches and the ferry to St. John. The best day of our vacation was spent at Linquvist Beach, a 5 min drive, with a picnic lunch (cooler and beach things supplied by Max). The views from the patio are fantastic, particularly at night. The pictures are very accurate. I would definitely recommend Lion's Gate.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly recommended

    Highly recommended

    • Guest Kandy and Ted (Los Alamos, NM)
    • Date of stay 03/20/10
    • Review Submitted 04/08/10
    Great place to stay, we would love to stay here again, and we definitely recommend it! The photos and description of the property were very accurate. Maxine and Chris provided everything we needed for visits to the beaches ( chairs, a cooler, and floats). An added bonus is that Maxine is also a sail boat captain and we enjoyed a wonderful day aboard her 41' sloop “Lou”.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Linda Talbert (San Antonio, TX)
    • Date of stay 02/02/10
    • Review Submitted 02/02/10
    We had a wonderful time in this home. The tropical breezes and awesome views were incredible. I wish I could have brought them home with me. Thanks again, Maxine!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise indeed!

    Paradise indeed!

    • Guest Troy & Rebecca (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 02/15/09
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    We stayed at this wonderful property about two years ago, and while looking on VRBO for a property in a different country realized we never wrote a review. Max and Chris were WONDERFUL hosts and did everything they could to ensure our comfort! They live right above the apartment, but they only showed up if/when they were needed and didn't intrude at all. We could not have asked for a better place! AMAZING views, very quiet and peaceful, clean and relaxing - even better than in the pictures! We loved lounging on the porch looking out at the ocean and enjoying visits from the beautiful little birds and lizards in the trees. Our hosts pointed out various restaurants and attractions and directed us to the best beaches! When we head back to St. Thomas we won't look to stay anywhere else! A belated thank you for a wonderful experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anja1 (Kirkland, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/04/09
    • Review Submitted 02/04/09
    Max and Chris are owed a big thank you for the wonderful hospitality provided last week to accompany the lovely apartment we rented. We had a great time and couldn't have imagined a better place to stay, nor such generous and caring people to be near. We sincerely appreciate everything they did for us and being so helpful. If allowed, I'd love to stay on a longer-term basis if at all possible, so please keep me informed as this property is just hard to beat!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/23/09
    • Review Submitted 01/23/09
    Great place to stay - so convenient to everything yet you feel so far away from it all. Spectacular views from high up o a hillside! Great accommodations - crisp, clean and new. You can walk to restaurants, shopping, the ferry to St. John, etc. Max and Chris were so welcoming and great resources for things to do. You get a lot for your money!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dan and Rachel (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/05/09
    • Review Submitted 01/05/09
    Max and Chris - Thank you *so* much for making our stay in St. Thomas absolutely perfect. The apartment was fantastic, the pictures don't do the view justice and the location - right in Red Hook and central to everything - was ideal. Add to that your hospitality - maps, hats, even pumpkin pie! - and we couldn't be happier. Will definitely recommend to our friends and stay again the next time we're back on St. Thomas. Thanks again for everything! - Dan and Rachel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]