Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Luxury Spacious Central London Apartment [#213023] | View Property

Westminster
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-7)
£1290-£1590/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Great value!

    Great value!

    • Guest mama (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    The description of this flat is accurate but doesn't state how wonderful Polly and her housekeeper Liliija are to work with. We had a small problem with the washer/dryer and Lilija fixed it immediately. The building is older, classic architecture of the neighborhood, but the unit has been maintained with a lot of time and effort. Other reviews have discussed the great location (and it is GREAT), on Inverness Terrace which runs parallel to Queensway. The Bayswater station is right around the corner. We got a one week metro pass and were able to get to wherever we wanted to go. We also bought a 3 day london pass which saved us some money on the sights. About a half a block and over to Queensway is whiteleys, a shopping mall with a marks and spencer. We did most of our grocery shopping at M & S. We cooked breakfast at the flat every morning for a week. We also cooked a couple of dinners. There were sufficient pots, pans, crockery, utensils, and glasses to cook all meals at the flat if we wanted to. And the teenagers were very happy that they could wash dishes in the machine instead of by hand. The 3 bedrooms are all on the lower level and each has its own window for ventilation and light. The main floor has the living room, dining room, kitchen, and stairs to the back garden. If we ever get back to London, we will be asking Polly to rent her comfortable home again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Location perfect for family with children! Gives real sense of "living in London"

    Location perfect for family with children! Gives real sense of "living in London"

    • Guest Traveling Grandma (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    The LOCATION is tops! Tube stations (2) just a block away; bus route at door. Princess Diana playground just 8 minute walk in Kensington Park! London Bicycle tours - start right here! Very good restaurants for eat-in or take out. M&S grocery store is terrific! Flat is spacious - two bathrooms! Bedrooms on lower level - back room was fine for two children. Kitchen is small but adequate. ( although washer/dryer unit was hard for us to operate - and could use new toaster) Owner was very very cooperative about small problems and quickly remedied! WiFi was good and appreciated. Space to spread out-was a plus! This is definitely place for comfort and location - at reasonable price! This flat gives VERY GOOD value for money - allowing visitors to spend more on other things- including evening at the theatre! Back terrace would be very useful in warmer weather - but gave nice sense of "actual living" . Having rented flats in several cities of Europe, we would definitely recommend this one for families or two couples wanting modest costs and homey feel!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Cathy
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/18/12
    My family of six stayed at this flat for a week in February 2012. It was exactly as described by the owner and other reviewers on this site. The flat was perfect for us. My husband and I traveled with two adult sons (mid 20's) and their wives. There was plenty of room for people to gather, get off on their own (my daughter-in-law did a lot of studying) or sleep in. Being downstairs, the bedrooms were very quiet. Having internet service was crucial and the wifi worked marvelously. The kitchen was supplied with all the equipment and tools we needed to prepare meals and snacks - from our breakfast toast and coffee to a birthday dinner. As other reviewers have accurately noted, transportation (tube - Central, Circle and District lines, bus, and train) is convenient and close by. Grocery stores, pubs, restaurants, shops, and the post office are around the corner but the flat itself is on a quiet street. The neighborhood felt safe at all times. We were often out late (ice cream run, late train returning to London, returning from a show) and felt quite comfortable walking or using the tube. Some were out early for morning runs through Hyde park and felt safe. Polly was very good about answering our questions, making recommendations, and making some accommodations for our stay. I highly recommend this property and hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Location, location location

    Location, location location

    • Guest Ken Formicola (Bucks County, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 12/06/11
    My wife, 16 year old son, 13 year old daughter and I stayed in this lovely apartment for an entire week in the late fall of 2011. It was my family’s first time in London and this apartment contributed to what was fabulous week for us. The first thing to note is that we were planning to have two more adults in our party, which is why we booked this large apartment, but only ended up with the four of us on this trip. So the apartment was a great size for four of us and would have also been well suited for a group of six. It was great that the apartment had two full bathrooms, and being Americans who like to take showers instead of baths it great that the hall bath had a shower with a shower curtain and the ensuite bathroom had a shower with a European half-glass partition that also worked for us. The location of the apartment was fantastic. Just one street over were two tube stations that gave us access to almost anywhere we needed to go in the city and since we had purchased the London Pass with the Travelcard option we were able to use these tube stations to get our money’s worth on attractions and travel. The apartment is also close to the very nice Notting Hill area. We walked to this area for breakfast (you’ve got to try Mike’s café) and window shopping one morning, but you could also take a short bus ride there as well. You are also within walking distance of Kensington Palace and its Orangery, which is a great place for afternoon tea. Also in regard to location, the street with the tube stations, Queensway, has a Tesco Express (like a 7-11) and a Tesco Metro (like a regular supermarket) that we frequented for any necessary food or other items that we needed. Queensway is also lined with all kinds of stores, restaurants and a mall and is very active and safe until late into the evening. The amazing thing is that Queensway is very active and very close, yet it doesn’t impact the street where the apartment is located; the apartment is on quiet, tree lined street. Finally, although it seemed like we were on the go 24 hours a day while in London, we did actually spend a decent amount of time in the apartment. We found the kitchen to be great and allowed us to easily take care of a quick breakfast or even cook lunch or dinner. The TV had a large number of stations to keep us all happy and since we also brought a few laptops with us we took advantage of the Wifi internet access that allowed us to stay connected to home. Thanks Polly and Lilija!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Ideal Space and Location!

    Ideal Space and Location!

    • Guest Bryant (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    My family (wife, two small children and mother-in-law) stay in this flat for a week in September 2011. For anyone traveling with small children, it is an ideal space and location. The flat itself is good-sized by London standards: two large bedrooms and one smaller bedroom downstairs; one en suite bath and one hall bath; a nice sized dining/living room space on the main level and a lovely garden terrace in the back. The flat is tastefully furnished and the kitchen is well equipped (including a microwave – something of a rarity in London). Our children (2 and 4) are picky eaters, so we enjoyed being able to prepare our own food/pack picnic lunches. There are literally four different grocery stores within a block or two of the flat, so we had no problem finding food. The commercial street Queensway and a large shopping mall are just around the corner, although the street where the flat is located is quiet (a mixture of residential flats and tourist hotels). Two of London’s main tube lines (the Central and Circle lines) are within easy walking distance of the flat, as are major bus routes. You can walk to Hyde Park, Notting Hill Gate, Paddington Station and High Street Kensington within 5-15 mins. We selected this flat because it sounded kid-friendly, and it did not disappoint. There is a small collection of toys, games, books and children’s DVDs at the flat, and Polly graciously provided us with access to a highchair, pack-n-play and stroller for the week. The biggest draw for families, however, has to be proximity to the Princess Diana Memorial Playground in Kensington Gardens. Our children loved the playground and asked to go there every afternoon. If you visit, be prepared for the children to get wet! I lived in London for four years and am quite familiar with the city. You would be hard pressed to find a more convenient, well-maintained and spacious flat. On top of all that, the owner Polly is a pleasure to work with: she responded promptly to all of my inquiries and graciously provided us with a bottle wine and some basic provisions for our arrival. When we return to London, we will definitely be looking to stay here again. I just hope that subsequent visitors will help Polly to maintain this special place in such good condition.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Long term stay from May to July for family of five, THE BEST PLACE IN LONDON

    Long term stay from May to July for family of five, THE BEST PLACE IN LONDON

    • Guest angelin (indianapolis, IN, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    My family (including myself, husband, 9 and 8 year old daughters and 2 year old son) stayed here for 8 weeks from May to July. We absolutely LOVED this apartment. I really cant say enough positive things about it. The layout of the flat was perfect, with the large living room and dining room upstairs and the three bedrooms downstairs. The two full bathrooms were a luxury and were extremely clean and nicely decorated with pretty tile. The beds were very comfortable and the master bedroom was particularly large and we spent many mornings with all five of us happily lounging in our bed watching cartoons on the ipad. The kitchen is also very clean, and has all of the equipment you could need. We got plenty of use out of all of the appliances and I made many delicious meals in there. The best bonus about the flat is the lovely garden out back. It was large enough for us to eat meals out there and for the kids to splash around with the garden hose on the warmer days (which I know is a very big luxury in London). Some of my best memories will be sitting at the table in the garden on a sunny afternoon drinking tea and reading a book while the baby napped and my husband took the girls to the musuem. Speaking of the museum, this flat is also the BEST, hands down, for location if you are wanting to do tourist type things. It is within a very quick 5 minute walk to TWO subway stations (so that's actually three tube lines you have covered) since one of the stations services two different lines). It is also right on the 70 bus line, which takes you directly to the V &A, Natural History Museum and Science Museum. Another bus stop about two blocks north takes you directly to Camden and Regent Park. Another bus stop two blocks south takes you directly to westminster abby and parliament (if you dont want to ride the tube). It is a very quick and easy (straight line right out your door) 7 minute walk to Kensington Gardens and the Princess Di Playground. Finally, just a word about Polly, the owner. She was a lovely landlord, who was so thoughtful she even brought and bought extra toys and books for our children. She went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed and was always prompt in all of our financial dealings as well. If there were any way that we could have stayed in this flat forever and moved there, we would have. Dont look at any other flat, you will be SO sad that you missed out on this one.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Great location and completely worth it!

    Great location and completely worth it!

    • Guest Lexie (Calgary, AB Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/15/11
    • Review Submitted 05/26/11
    I stayed at this flat in May 2011 and it was the perfect choice for my holiday. I was with two family members, including my 80 year old grandfather. This flat was incredibly useful for us, it was nice to have a kitchen and living room to relax in, as well as have our own rooms and two bathrooms. The decor is tasteful and the owner is incredibly accomodating. We had a very early flight and the cleaning staff had the unit ready incredibly quickly. We made full use of the flat, it was great to have an outdoor space, as well as a dining area. Towels, linens and basic kitchen essentials were provided as well as wireless internet. It doesn't get any better than this for location, the tube station is right around the corner, as well as a grocery store, pub and full shopping centre down the road. We did some walking around Hyde Park and were able to easily get to Kensington Palace. I would highly reccommend this flat and would certainly consider staying here on our next trip to London.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Location for a London visit

    Great Location for a London visit

    • Guest eileen (Atlanta, Georgia USA)
    • Date of stay 11/18/10
    • Review Submitted 12/04/10
    This flat is in a great location. Less than a 5 minute walk to two tube stations. There are a lot of good restuarants, grocery stores and shops within walking distance. Polly was great to deal with and very accomodating in renting the flat. It was very clean and keep us warm during the Thanksgiving Holiday. I would stay there again if I where to go back to London. There is also a nice patio garden off the back that you could sit out and enjoy. It was just too cold for us to go out there. Eileen & Boys- Atlanta, Georgia

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great stay!!

    Great stay!!

    • Guest Irène (Lille, France)
    • Date of stay 10/31/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    We had a very pleasant and confortable stay in this flat. It is spacious, well equipped and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the fresh flowers and bottle of wine on arrival, nice little attentions that make a difference...Our children were also very pleased to find toys, games and dvds: was almost like being at home...! The location is very central with two tubes stations nearby, buses and 3 minutes walk to.... Hyde Park! perfect for our morning jogging! I would definitely recommend the place and rent it again on another occasion.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great home away from home!

    Great home away from home!

    • Guest Cheryl (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/30/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    We were thrilled with our stay at this property! Everything was as nice, or even better than we had anticipated. My husband, 3 kids (ages 14, 12, 8) and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of June. I'll admit, I was nervous about booking through the internet and wire transferring payment + deposit (guess I read too many nightmare stories of families dragging in early in the morning only to find their reservation with some apartment rental company had been "lost"). But Polly was so quick to reply to my emails and even called us when we landed. We arrived on a Sunday morning, and she even accommodated getting us into the flat as soon as we arrived. The location was indeed better than I imagined. Based on our experience, I would have no hesitation about staying here again and recommending it to my family and friends. Thank you Polly!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Great Place to Stay

    Great Place to Stay

    • Guest herrera5 (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/05/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    The photos and description are very accurate. I traveled with five other adults and we were very comfortable.. The owner was very helpful with giving us recommendations for restaurants and entertaiment around the area. Easy access to public transportation. It was everything we expeected and more. I would highly recommend this unit!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Place to Stay

    Great Place to Stay

    • Guest herrera5 (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/05/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    The photos and description are very accurate. I traveled with five other adults and we were very comfortable.. The owner was very helpful with giving us recommendations for restaurants and entertaiment around the area. Easy access to public transportation. It was everything we expeected and more. I would highly recommend this unit!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Emily Alice (Boston)
    • Date of stay 04/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/14/10
    This place was a perfect place to explore London: centrally located (a block or two from two tube lines and many bus lines) with nice food shops, restaurants, and amenities just a block away on the High St. We were greeted by the housekeeper who attended to our needs. The owner Polly was always accessible and gave us nice tips on the neighborhood. Various guides to London were waiting for us and the 3 bedrooms/2 bath layout worked out wonderfully for my group (myself, wife, 3-yr old son, and in-laws), The kitchen and everything was done to a high standard and the garden was lovely. Highly recommended. Can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]