Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunset from the Lanai - at the surf's edge!

Great Rates! Come and Relax in Paradise at the Ocean's Edge [#213348] | View Property

Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$120-$219/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Perfect - 100% as Described in Listing

    Perfect - 100% as Described in Listing

    • Guest Diane (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    Katherine, We enjoyed staying at your townhouse. It was very clean, well stocked, and a great location. We did not need the air conditioner in early June and the ceiling fans throughout the townhouse were perfect. The townhouse was as described in the listing. When we come back to Kona we would definitely stay at this property again. The location was perfect. Here are a few activities our family of four loved: - The Island Breeze luau at the Sheritan was suprisingly fun. Good food and good entertainment. - The shaved ice at the Scandinavia Shaved Ice store in downtown Kona became our daily treat. The large shaved ice is the size of an adult head and is impossible to finish. - The family loved the ocean kayeking with Ocean Safaries. Great ride at a fair price. We even were able to jump off a few cliffs as well. - Snorkeling at Pu?uhonua O H?naunau is free and was the best in Kona. It is so much better than the charter boat experience to Captian Hook. We swam with a turtle and saw spinner dolphins. - The beach at Hapona Beach was beautiful but gets very windy in the afternoon. - Kekaha Kai State Park beach was our favorite. The sand was soft and white, the water beautiful. - A quick and pleasant treat was the Hulihe`e Palace musuem tour in downtown Kona. It provided just the right amount of Hawaiin history. Thank you so much! Diane, Scott, Chloe (16) and Natalie (14)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lawrence N. Washington State
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 02/18/11
    Excellent communication between owner and management firm for condo. Owner was helpful throughout prior to booking with questions and activites available on island. Condo is well equiped compared to prior units I have stayed in. Location, location...awesome for those not wanting to be right in Kona. Resort is located off ali road, but far enough away you will not here traffic, even if outside enjoying the well groomed landscape. Love being right on the water with the lava wall in front. Easy walk to the beach and great location for having a rental car and quick access to beautiful coastline of kona. Must be prime location for local snorkeling charters. They stop outside the unit. We saw spinners dolfins almost every morning in front of unit. One day they even swam up close to the lava wall within 15 feet of shore. The master bedroom king is very, very comfortable, a very important item for me with a bad back. Often pay high dollar for a rental and then have a poor bed...not too hard and not too soft, should of look to see if it was one of those high dollar memory foam bed, sure felt like. Owner supplied several good quality masks and snorkels along with beach items including two boogie boards. Use masks but not boards. No need to bring large beach towels, she provides mats for laying on beach plus very good size beach towels. If I return to Kona again, I hope to stay here again, will not even spend the time searching other resorts. Didn't spend anytime at resorts so can't complement on amenties, however gate access easy and tennis courts in excellent condition and well lite at night. Pool is decent size compared to others I have seen at different resorts nearby

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Cannot be beat, I am sure!

    Cannot be beat, I am sure!

    • Guest cuyamaca traveler (Julian, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    This place was phenomenal! Very clean, convenient (I love to snorkel), unbelievable scenery from the back door! Though we paid for the air conditioner, we never used it, even in July. We did use the attic exhaust fan for a few minutes each evening, and then slept with the windows open and the fans on low. The surf was loud but not disturbing. Everything we needed was there, and with the washer/dryer you can bring very few clothes, a real plus with avoiding the checked luggage fee. Really comfortable beds, TV in each room which my husband and daughter loved after a week without on Kauai. Also, a great book collection on the Big Island came in very handy in learning about the history and culture of what we wanted to see, plus insider tips. Chairs, towels, ice chests are all there- bring your own or rent snorkel gear. It's best to have it fitted to you anyway, and renting it is cheap. If we didn't have so much to go see and do, the place was so comfortable we would have been fine just enjoying the condo and its location. You can't beat the price, and feeding yourself saves so much $$ plus you eat in a more healthy manner with fresh fruit and vegetables. I spoke to owner before I rented and she was very friendly and helpful. If we are lucky enough to go back to Hawaii, this is where we'll stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tara & Erick H.
    • Date of stay 03/10/10
    • Review Submitted 03/09/10
    This is not our first trip to the Big Island and have stayed in several Condos before but this was by far the best! From the lovely guest basket / shampoo & conditioner upon arrival to the numerous amenities , that were provided we couldn't have asked for a better place. We truly only needed a bathing suit and groceries. The unit was clean, and extremely quiet and peaceful. Tastefully decorated. We appreciated the beach chairs, towels, ice chests and UMBRELLA!!! Nicely stocked pantry as well!! We spent every morning and evening on the Lanai. Numerous whale and dolphin sightings right in our private backyard! We BBQ fresh fish every night and enjoyed the beautiful ambience of unobstructed ocean view. Just 1/4 mile to best snorkel beach in Kona, you just couldn't ask for more. We were there for the Tsunami scare and impressed with the responsiveness of the caretakers. Hope to be there same time same place next year!! Only thing we didn't like was having to come home!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 03/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/03/10
    Our stay at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club was such a wonderful experience. We enjoyed our two week stay watching the whales playing each morning from our lanai. Sleeping to the sound of the surf on the lava rock was soothing for the most part, but did get rather loud sometimes! Each evening after we explored the island we would return "home" to watch the gorgeous sunsets over the Pacific. The location was close to great shopping, fine restaurants and a beach just down the road. The townhome was amazingly well furnished with so much; we wanted for nothing. It really was magic! Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 02/17/10
    We were hesitant to stay at the same place we had been to 27 years ago! However, it turned out to be a wonderful choice. Being greeted with a basket of goodies and tote bag was a great surprise! The decor was wonderful, all furnishings were above average and the quality of bed linens and towels were appreciated. It was also great to have the coolers, beach mats etc. for our stay. The location worked for us with downtown a few minutes away, a grocery close by... and of course the pool a few steps away! We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and watched the whales from the lanai. Being from the north and used to our 'quiet' mountains and snow, the noise of the waves crashing against the rocks outside the townhome took a little getting used to, but we did our best!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 01/31/10
    • Review Submitted 01/30/10
    “ Everything about our week stay was top notch. An excellent location, we were able to whale watch wile having morning coffee from the lani. The kitchen was as well equiped as any home,including spices & appliances. Nicely furnished livingroom, premium towels in the bathroom. The grounds were well taken care of and there was a good pool and tennis courts on site...nearby were excellent golf facilities and good dining. Excellent value for the money, would certainly return. ”

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 01/15/10
    • Review Submitted 01/14/10
    We booked this townhome through Aloha Condos, becuase it provided a very good description and numerous pictures, showing you exactly what you'll be getting. If you want oceanfront, this is as close as you will ever get! The ocean thunders right up to a seawall just a few feet in front of the condo, and at high tide some waves actually cause the condo to shake a little. It is lovely to sit outside on the lanai and watch the water and the sunset -- we ate most of our meals out there. The condo is very well equipped, has everything you would need. We did't use the tennis rackets or the beach equipment, but it was nice to know it was there. The kitchen is small but completely equipped, full size fridge, range and dishwasher. The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club is very nice, with a large pool and several tennis courts available. We enjoyed the quite, laid back atmosphere. Close by is Keahou Shopping Center, which has a grocery store, a drug store, and several small restaurants. All in all a great place to stay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Halery Family
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/10
    We were privileged to see the annual “hukilau” at the Pu’Uhonua O hoanuanua Sanctuary. We were able to experience much of the Hawaiian Culture. After several scenic drives, the high light of our stays was a Manta Ray Scuba Dive and Snorkel. The dive was fabulous. Smaller group, great service! The condo was tastefully decorates. I really loved the décor & felt like I was at a beach house! Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Drew D
    • Date of stay 11/24/09
    • Review Submitted 11/23/09
    This condo has it all. Two bedrooms, living room, two bathrooms, kitchen, gorgeous patio (lanai), and a view of waves crashing against the lava rock boulders along the shore 10 feet away. Tastefully decorated in island decor. Kitchen has all utensils and cooking supplies you need. Condo even included coolers and snorkel equipment to borrow. Master bedroom with louvered windows that provide stunning view of ocean. If we had wanted to play tennis, we could have brought our racquets and walked 10 yards to the court and play for free. Located about a 15 minute drive south of the Kona city center with all the shops and restaurants. No noise from vehicles along Alii drive. The only noise is the crash of the waves against the shore. This was the first half of our honeymoon and we had a marvelous time. Cooked dinner multiple nights in the kitchen and then ate out on the lanai, watching the sun set to the west over the ocean. Condo is clean, comfortable, well-decorated, and well-equipped, not to mention reasonably priced for HAWAII! We couldn't have asked for anything more!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dave
    • Date of stay 11/22/09
    • Review Submitted 11/21/09
    This condo has it all. Two bedrooms, living room, two bathrooms, kitchen, gorgeous patio (lanai), and a view of waves crashing against the lava rock boulders along the shore 10 feet away. Tastefully decorated in island decor. Kitchen has all utensils and cooking supplies you need. Condo even included coolers and snorkel equipment to borrow. Master bedroom with louvered windows that provide stunning view of ocean. If we had wanted to play tennis, we could have brought our racquets and walked 10 yards to the court and play for free. Located about a 15 minute drive south of the Kona city center with all the shops and restaurants. No noise from vehicles along Alii drive. The only noise is the sound of the waves against the shore. This was the first half of our honeymoon and we had a marvelous time. Cooked dinner multiple nights in the kitchen and then ate out on the lanai, watching the sun set to the west over the ocean. Condo is clean, comfortable, well-decorated, and well-equipped, not to mention reasonably priced for HAWAII! We couldn't have asked for anything more.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Local Islander visit to Kona
    • Date of stay 07/13/09
    • Review Submitted 07/12/09
    We elected to try the condo instead of taking 2 hotel rooms for a family of 4 - priced about the same. It's right on the water... just a few feet beyond the patio is the ocean about 10 feet below. We watched the sunset having dinner on the patio. A shopping center with supermarket is very closeby. Overall a great, comfortable experience....we'll definitely go again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Halery Family
    • Date of stay 07/02/09
    • Review Submitted 07/01/09
    We were privileged to see the annual “hukilau” at the Pu’Uhonua O hoanuanua Sanctuary. We were able to experience much of the Hawaiian Culture. After several scenic drives, the high light of our stays was a Manta Ray Scuba Dive and Snorkel. The dive was fabulous. Smaller group, great service! The condo was tastefully decorated. I really loved the décor & felt like I was at a beach house! Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Ryans
    • Date of stay 06/07/09
    • Review Submitted 06/06/09
    We had a wonderful time. The ocean's sounds were so relaxing as were the quite evenings on the lanai. The highlight was the swimming with the dolphins with Sunlight on Water! A must do!! Great snorkeling just down the road at Kahaluu. An incredibly beautiful island with bursts of color at every bend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Cole S.
    • Date of stay 06/01/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/09
    This was our second stay at Townhouse 177. Wonderful spot, wonderful condo. Every ammenity you could need. Highly recommended

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bob R.
    • Date of stay 04/29/09
    • Review Submitted 04/28/09
    My fiancee and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in townhome 177. The property was clean and spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean -- it was right out our door! We slept with the windows open and fell asleep to the sounds of the crashing waves. Best of all, the rate was very affordable. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Michael
    • Date of stay 04/27/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/09
    THUMBS UP FOR THIS CONDO! Great location. Beautiful unit. Love the view and sound of waves. Highly recommended to anyone looking for relaxation and the peacefulness of this complex. This is the best place for a REAL vacation

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gruver Family
    • Date of stay 04/16/09
    • Review Submitted 04/15/09
    This unit was a delight for the week we were there. Breakfast on the lanai, then a quick dip in the pool and off for a day's adventures. The furnishings are elegant and complete...just bring your Aloha spirit and expect to have a wonderful time. I would rent it again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Julie
    • Date of stay 04/07/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/09
    We had an excellent time while we stayed at this condo. The condo was well furnished and equiped with everything you would need for a hawaiian vacation. There were beach towels, boogie boards, a lunch cooler and games. The space was ample for 4-5 people. The lanai was comfortable and provided a great view of the ocean. Beach access was easy and there was plenty to do nearby. I would recommend staying on this side of the island and only taking a 1 day trip to the volcano instead of staying on that side of the island. I would highly recommend staying in this condo and would do so again if we ever return to this island.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Freeze Family
    • Date of stay 03/20/09
    • Review Submitted 03/19/09
    This was a very nice townhouse on a great spot. The view was awesome and very relaxing. The complex was gated and quiet. I liked exploring the archeological sites on the property. The adjacent beach was nice and the area was quiet. It is close enough to Kona to be convenient, but far enough away to be peaceful. The owners left informative and helpful notes for us and the supplies of soap, shampoo, etc were generous. We would definitely recommend this townhouse to others. We had a very nice stay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Water Loving Family
    • Date of stay 02/19/09
    • Review Submitted 02/18/09
    My husband and I spent four days at the townhouse and wish that we had spent our entire vacation there. The townhouse was lovely, we had everything we needed, in the kitchen, bath, laundry and even for the beach. The gated community made us feel secure and the pool was very clean and well-maintained. Nice notes around the house gave quick advice that helped create a perfect stay. We were close to so many activities--whale watching tours, beaches, shopping, coffee farms, restaurants, etc. We saw whales spouting just offshore while having breakfast on the lanai, and the sunsets were just beautiful. Nothing can compare with listening to the surf all night long. I would definitely recommend this very clean and well-appointed townhouse to anyone traveling to the Big Island. We are looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mr & Mrs Damonk
    • Date of stay 02/15/09
    • Review Submitted 02/14/09
    My wife and I honeymooned here. The condo was great. It had everything we needed to make it home for a week so all we had to buy was food and beverage. Since there was just two of us, this condo had more room than we needed but it worked out great. It would also work out well for two couples or a family of 4. The pricing was reasonable and the location right on the ocean was perfect. We highly recommend this condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rjje Family
    • Date of stay 02/09/09
    • Review Submitted 02/08/09
    First time visiting the Big Island, and I came with my wife and two teenage daughters, and this was perfect! Two separate bedrooms, and separate beds for each daughter, made the sleeping arrangements perfect. Having a full kitchen, living/dinig room, and 2 full baths made it feel like a home away from home. The lanai overlooking the ocean made the mornings and evenings a delight, seeing the sun rise and set over the wide expanse of hte ocean. It is furnished with everything you could need (beach stuff, dishes, even washer/dryer). Would definitely recommend this property to anyone - correspondence befoe arriving was very detailed, with detailed directions, maps and very responsive to questions. Being about 5 mins from the town, you don't feel like you have to fight the crowds, but can easily access beaches, shops, etc. I have nothing but praise for the property and owner, and am hoping to return and stay here again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Topcat
    • Date of stay 01/18/09
    • Review Submitted 01/17/09
    Highly recommended, the condo is right on the water. When the surf is up you can feel the vibrations of the waves pounding the rocks. The views from the condo are great plus the sunsets are also something to see. My wife and i have stayed in Hawaii several times and this was one of the best condos we stayed in. The cost also was not that expensive compered to booking through Orbitz which i have done in the past for trips to Maui If i was to visit the Big Island again i would make every effort to stay there again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Suz
    • Date of stay 12/10/08
    • Review Submitted 12/09/08
    This is a piece of paradise! What an amazing place! Located 20 minutes south of the airport, and 5-10 south of downtown Kona, it was the perfect location. This 2BR/2bath condo is oceanfront, with a beautiful lanai with only a few feet of lava separating you from from the Pacific ocean. You are lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves crashing onto the lava. From this lanai we watched spinner dolphins play every morning, humpback whales pass by, and watched the sun set into the sea. The condo was extremely clean and well furnished, equipped with everything we needed and more! Wireless internet, all cooking utensils, spices, tupperware for picnics, coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, movies, 3 tvs, dvd players, ac, fans, tour books, restaurant recommendations... the list is endless... the owners even had flashlights to use on the search for lava on the evening hike through Volcano National Park! The owners were also very prompt and friendly in all our interactions. The resort itself was well landscaped, with a nice pool and tennis courts, and several ruins of Hawaiian temples and places of worship. It was quiet and peaceful. There is a a small beach at the end of the property that just teems with green sea turtles! Further down the walk, there is Kahalu'u Beach, a salt and pepper sand beach that has great snorkeling and full facilities. It was hard to swim here without almost running into turtles! :) I have nothing negative to say about our stay at TH #177. It was a beautiful place to stay in paradise, that exceeded my expectations in every way. We were tempted to cancel our next reservation on Waikiki Beach so we could enjoy this piece of paradise a bit longer! Location, amenities, decor, activities, view, and cleanliness are all superb. I would love to return there asap!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]