Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of Building

South Seas Resort - Lands End on the Water, Sleeps Six [#213922] | View Property

Captiva Island
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$329 - $500/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • What a Gem!

    What a Gem!

    • Guest joann f.
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    MY husband and I vacationed here for a week. We have stayed at South Seas often and this is by far the best location. The condo was more than what we needed but thoroughly enjoyed vacationing in luxury. The property is beautiful, clean and in the perfect location. The unit is nicely decorated and very well equipped. The kitchen is top notch. We spent a lot of time relaxing out on the balcony and just enjoy the waterviews; lots of boats, fisherman, dolphin. We walked to the beach every day and my husband loved the fishing! One day he caught about 30 fish, he was having a ball. It was very easy communicating and doing business with the owner. We really enjoyed our stay here, and look forward to coming again in the future. Thanks for a great week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I am happy that you had such a wonderful vacation at our condo. We look forward to your next stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Unit and Location - But You're On Your Own With Any Issues

    Great Unit and Location - But You're On Your Own With Any Issues

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    As I believe others have said in their reviews, the unit itself is very nice and the location can't be beat. However, I'd caution any prospective renters to lower their expectations regarding how any issues which might arise during their stay will be handled. When reading the below comments, please understand that I'm not one to complain about much of anything (hotel rooms, restaurant food, etc.). However, when I'm paying a few grand for something (a condo unit in this case), I simply expect things to work as they should and not be broken or unusable. We arrived to find a broken ice maker and broken water line on the refrigerator. Not "nuclear" events to be sure, but I generally prefer ice in my drinks when on vacation in Florida in July. Call me crazy. After contacting the property manager I was told, "Yes, that's been broken for a while. The owner won't let us fix it." Wonderful. I contacted the owner and eventually traded emails which appeared to indicate that the owner was inclined to get the unit fixed but the emails soon stopped coming and no fix was ever made. Basically, several trips to the marina store for ice, and one long drive back to the grocery store for an ice cube tray ($5.00 for an ice cube tray!), solved the problem. Would've been nice to either be told about the issue in advance or to have the owner pay to fix it. We also had both master bathroom sinks clogged from the time we arrived. Given the experience with the icemaker, we didn't even both to ask about getting a plumber in there to fix the sinks. And, to top it off, we found a large golden fish hook embedded in the shag carpet that's in the living area. Luckily, we found and removed the hook just before my 3 year old stepped on it. It's probably not worth mentioning the roaches which we found dead on the living room floor each morning, since we cleaned those up first thing each day while the morning coffee was brewing. Again, it's a great unit and location. I've been coming to South Seas with my family for about 15 years, and this is the nicest unit I've stayed in. However, once your check clears with the owner, don't expect them to care much about any issues you may have.

    Manager response: We were disappointed to read your review because it is one of the few negatives we have had on our unit. It is difficult to keep everything operating at 100% efficiency at all times. Let me assure you, however, that we attempted to solve the issue you raised with me as quickly as possible. We want all our guests to enjoy their time at our unit. When you emailed me about the ice maker, I contacted maintenance and asked them to fix it. I heard nothing further from you or them, which led me to believe the issue had been resolved. On the issue of the drains, this is the first I have heard of that issue. Please be assured that the bugs haven't paid their rent, so they have been evicted.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • GREAT FAMILY VACATION

    GREAT FAMILY VACATION

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    Thank you for the great week spent at your condo. It was very comfortable, clean and full of everything. Felt like home – but with better views! The beach was beautiful, We even enjoyed some time by the pool. We did have a few rainy days but we drove into Ft Myers for a day of shopping! What a gorgeous place... We also rented a golf cart which allowed us to explore the whole resort– Great sunset views. We look forward to our return! Thank you again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nicest unit at South Seas!

    Nicest unit at South Seas!

    • Guest Missy (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    I've stayed in various Lands End units for the last 6 years and this is the prettiest one yet! Gorgeous view, and decorated beautifully Very spacious too! Will definitely return!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Manager response: Thanks for the kind words and so happy to hear you enjoyed your spring break.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fisherman's Dream

    Fisherman's Dream

    • Guest Linda (Westborough, MA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    We loved our stay at this Land's Endo Condo. Even though the island and South Seas Resort is very busy during Xmas week, the location of the Land's End Units make you feel like you're in a quiet, tranquil place. My 16-year-old is an avid fisherman and frequently watches fishing shows that feature Redfish Pass so this was a dream come true for him....especially when he pulled in a 42 inch Snook from the sea wall directly behind the condo!! He docked his small dinghy at Jensens Marina (highly recommend-nice people) and sailed and fished Pine Island Sound and the Pass. The unit is spacious and inviting and the view is perfect. It was simple doing business with the owners...simply book, pay and they send you everything you need! Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are delighted that you enjoyed New Year's at our condo. Thanks for posting the review

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • not ocean front

    not ocean front

    • Guest mom (estero,fl/ usa)
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/01/12
    lovely unit.kitchen for a cook,good rec. toys. can't wait to come again

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Happy that you enjoyed your time and appreciated the kitchen. The condo is not on the beach, except during some seasons when a small sandy area is exposed. It is on redfish pass with 180 degree view of the gulf of Mexico, upper captiva island, and the bay. Look forward to Your next vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful family vacation

    Wonderful family vacation

    • Guest Beth (Port Orange, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    We love Captiva Island. My husband, kids and I are fishermen and loved staying in the condo. Close to the fishing, beautiful view and lovely accomodations. Grill is close by and pool within a five minute walk. Loved drinking my morning coffee on the porch. We will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Manager response: Glad you had such a wonderful time at the beach and enjoyed our slice of Paradise. We will welcome you back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolute Perfection!

    Absolute Perfection!

    • Guest Bill (Winter Park FL)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    This was my families fifth or sixth trip to South Seas and we have always stayed at Lands End (the best accomodations on South Seas). This was by far the nicest unit we have ever rented...new stainless steel appliances, beautiful furnishings, tasteful decor and breathtaking view of the gulf and sound. The unit was sparkling clean and came with everything you could possibly want/need for a beach vacation including a pool, tennis courts and high-end gas grill a few steps outside the door. We like to fish and this unit is next to a bulkhead on Red Fish Pass where snook, trout and redfish are plentiful. Everyone in my family caught at least one snook (I believe we are the guests the owner referred to in the review below) so I highly recommend this unit for the avid fisherman as well. All and all my family had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Bill, your fishing success is now a legend! So happy that your family enjoyed their time at our condo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ocean view!

    Ocean view!

    • Guest Rick (Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/19/12
    We enjoyed staying at South Seas. The condo's location was key. Lots of nature and action to watch right outside the windows! Easy walk to the beach or pool. The condo was clean and spacious.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jean

    Jean

    • Guest Jean (Wood River, IL)
    • Date of stay 04/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    We stayed here with our 16 year old daughter. What a great time! Watching the dolphins and manatees swim each day was enjoyed by all. Actually saw a fisherman feed one of the dolphins as he wouldn't leave the side of his boat. Very clean and beautifully decorated.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Love your story about the fisherman feeding the dolphin. Last week some guests caught large snook from the pier behind the condo. So glad you enjoyed the views and the wildlife.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful vacation spot

    Wonderful vacation spot

    • Guest HSW11 (Chanhassen, MN )
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/12
    This was our second stay here. It is the perfect spot to relax and watch the dolphins swimming by. Close distance to restaurants and great beaches. Highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are delighted that you have enjoyed our condo two years in a row. We hope you return again to enjoy the serenity and beauty on Captiva.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • vacation

    vacation

    • Guest J D (Kansas City, Mo)
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 04/10/12
    Great location. My wife and I loved sitting on the deck watching the dolphins and manatees play. The restraunts around Captiva and Sanabel are outstanding.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation in Paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Diana & Joe, Charlotte, NC

    Diana & Joe, Charlotte, NC

    • Guest Joe (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/18/12
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    My family vacationed at this property in mid January, 2012. This unit is located at one of the best if not the best spot on Captiva Island. There was never a dull moment watching the sea life, birds and all kinds of boats. All the aminities were as listed. We hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I'm so glad you enjoyed our slice of Paradise. We look forward to having you return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • John and Colleen from PA

    John and Colleen from PA

    • Guest John B. (Johnstown, PA)
    • Date of stay 01/11/12
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    My wife and I stayed at the Land's End condo from 1/11/12-1/18/12 and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and open this unit presented itself. It was immaculate, up to date and modern, stylishly appointed, and perfectly located on the water as represented. The South Seas Resort had breathtaking views and the pool and barbecue areas were used often on our part. We will certainly highly recommend this place to one and all. Thanks for a great week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Was here for my wedding

    Was here for my wedding

    • Guest Joe (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 11/22/11
    • Review Submitted 11/29/11
    Spacious, great view. new furniture. Perfect for entertaining 30-40. Only complaint is mast bedroom matress is a little old. Other than that, the place is perfect, and way nicer than other south seas condos. We had a blast !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are so pleased that you chose our condo for your wedding and that the resort was your wedding destination. Thanks for the compliments on the furniture and also for letting us know that we should check on the mattress when we are there at Christmas. We hope you are enjoying your honeymoon and look forward to your return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exquisite

    Exquisite

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/26/11
    • Review Submitted 10/12/11
    The location of this condo is one of the best on Captiva. From the balcony we were able to watch dolphins, sting rays, manatees and many types of birds. The photos just give a glimpse of the beauty of this place. A short but sweet walk along the golf cart path reveals one of the nicest beaches in Florida. We rented a boat and went to Cabbage Cay for a fish sandwich( or cheese burger) in paradise and saw quite a few dolphins up close. We also chartered a fishing boat and caught(and released) several sharks.The condo was very clean and had everything we needed and more. The owner was very nice and accommodating. The most difficult thing was leaving, the week flew by.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I'm glad that you had such a wonderful vacation again at our condo. We are happy to have so many repeat guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Our Home Away From Home

    Our Home Away From Home

    • Guest Sanibel Sandy (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 03/07/11
    • Review Submitted 03/07/11
    We "Captive Cuties" have been coming to the island for our girls' getaway for 10 years now and we have stayed in a variety of lovely condos and homes throughout Sanibel and Captiva. Last year,when we discovered this unit in Lands End, we concluded that we couldn't set the bar any higher. This unit in this location is as good as it gets! Comfortably furnished with plenty of room for four people to spread out, this home has panoramic water views that can't be beat. The marine life below is a constant source of entertainment and we thoroughly enjoyed the antics of the noisy osprey family nearby. We can't get that home! Much of the time, we had the Lands End pool to ourselves. Shelling at the jetty and swimming on Sunset Beach never get old. We can't wait to return in April!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Birgit
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/26/11
    Our family celebrated the new year at this magnificent ocean front condo. We could not have chosen a more beautiful place. The ocean views with the pelicans, dolphins and the islands with palm trees were a visual delight. The condo is new, everything works, the beds are very comfortable, the kitchen has only the best equipment, it was spotless and we used the bikes to go everywhere in the resort. The resort has a wonderful new pool and the children enjoyed the water slide. We enjoyed the evening cruise, and the restaurants for dinner. The kids' club was enjoyed by the kids--and we loved having some time together. We highly recommend this for any age group, couples, families, a girls' getaway, businesspeople--quiet, serene, and very luxurious.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Paradise on the Water

    Paradise on the Water

    • Guest Annie (East coast of Fl)
    • Date of stay 12/09/10
    • Review Submitted 12/12/10
    We loved our time at your place.The location was the best spot in South Seas,spent lots of time on patio watching all the boats and birds(the Osprey nest right in front of our balcony was so cool to watch as they would fly in and out. The Pelicans were very busy diving for fish. This place has it all. Our stay was short but sweet.We hope to come back for a longer stay. Thank you again Diane for sharing your piece of paradise. Annie

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Stunning!

    Stunning!

    • Guest Karyn (Tallmadge, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 01/07/11
    This condo on Captiva Island was beautiful. The view was spectacular and one of the prettiest places I have ever seen. We will definitely be back and wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids loved the beaches, sea life, bird watching, shelling, pool, and (of course) the mid-80 degree temperatures in late November! The condo was beautifully decorated and maintained, but nothing can beat how spectacular the view was...we spent so much time on the balcony in the early morning and late nights. The location on the end of the island overlooking Red Fish Pass was spectacular. Great place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing Location!

    Amazing Location!

    • Guest bpete (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/17/10
    You cannot get a better location then this condo. An amazing view of the ocean from the balcony and a short walk to the beach. Close to all the amenities that South Seas offers as well. The condo is beautiful inside. Up to date and spacious. Highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely beautiful

    Absolutely beautiful

    • Guest Andejo (Fort Myers, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/21/10
    • Review Submitted 06/12/10
    This is a very beautiful condo and the view is spectacular. Even though it was hot we were comfortable on the shaded balcony because of the sea breezes. We saw dolphins and other wild life right from the balcony. There was lots of boat traffic, but it only made the view more interesting. The condo was very well decorated and was spotless. The owner was very nice and helpful. The only slight negative for us was the osprey's nest at the top of a pole close to the balcony. The bird must have been protecting her eggs because she squawked loudly all day warning away other birds. But I assume this happens only at certain times of the year. Otherwise, the place was perfection.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful!

    Beautiful!

    • Guest Jen345 (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 03/20/10
    • Review Submitted 05/24/10
    What a wonderful place to vacation! The condo is decorated beautifully and the views are incredible. We loved sitting on our balcony and watching the dolphins jump and the pelicans fish! The condo is just feet from the water, and a very short walk to a beautiful, long sandy beach with great shelling. The pool area and tennis courts are very well-maintained and only steps away. Everyone we encountered, neighbors and resort employees, were very welcoming and friendly. We would highly recommend this property to anyone!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]