Secluded Log Home Getaway Near Indiana University & Nashville
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Bloomington cabin description
This hand-crafted, custom built log home sits on 17 heavily wooded acres, yet is conveniently located between Bloomington and Nashville. At Back to Nature Cabin you will experience year round spectacular views of the State Forest and an abundance of wildlife.
For the outdoor enthusiasts, there are neighboring horse trails and hiking trails through Yellowwood State Forest, and Lake Monroe and Lake Yellowwood are nearby for you to rent a boat or go fishing. Back to Nature Cabin is the ideal place for your honeymoon, family vacation, girls' weekend, or for a vacation with friends.
Come "Back to Nature!"
Keywords: Log Cabin
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 8
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Clothes Dryer
- Gas Fireplace
- Linens Provided
- Air Conditioning
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Washing Machine
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Pool Table
- DVD Player
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Hot Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Jet Skiing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Basketball Court
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Wildlife Viewing
- Fitness Center
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
Thanksgiving at the Back to Nature CabinGuest comment entered by owner
Thanksgiving at the Back to Nature Cabin
"We had the best time, and I'm not exaggerating when I tell you it was the best Thanksgiving I've had since I was a kid. I feel nice and relaxed and wonderful. I was so pleased at how well kept and supplied the cabin is. I brought half my kitchen with me, just in case, and didn't need most of it. We had a lovely meal and my whole family is grateful for your hospitality."
- Guest Michelle
- Date of stay 11/24/13
- Review Submitted 12/06/13
10 day stay for very satisfied guestGuest comment entered by owner
10 day stay for very satisfied guest
"Beautiful home and centrally located. We could have spent another week and not run out of things to do. Visit Bloomington, Nashville, Columbus, Story, Beanblossom, and numerous other small towns. And just drive the backroads.....beautiful fall colors. Don't miss Hickory Ridge Tower in Deam Wilderness area. Suzanne and Peter are wonderful hosts. Immediately there if you need them; otherwise, they leave you to enjoy your vacation. Would return tomorrow if we could!"
- Guest Vandi
- Date of stay 10/11/13
- Review Submitted 11/29/13
Great Family Weekend at Back to Nature Cabin
Great Family Weekend at Back to Nature Cabin
Our family spent a wonderful four-day weekend here. It could not have been better. The house was clean and had everything we could want, including dinner settings for 10 people. We loved the fact that every room opens to a deck with a fabulous view and seating. It rained for two days but that didn't matter because many of the decks are covered and there is a game room with pool table, dart board and cd player. The BBQ is also terrific. The road to the house is winding and becomes dirt at the end, which just added to the adventure and the seclusion. It also made for great walks through the woods. We have rented many vacation homes and this one ranked as one of the most accommodating, comfortable and fun.
- Guest Phyllis Ann (Sarasota, Fl. )
- Date of stay 05/02/13
- Review Submitted 05/10/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with teenagers, people with disabilities, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.
The road leading to the cabin was a one-lane gravel road with a huge drop-off and it was full of pot holes and a raised center. Our car bottomed out a few times. If you're a biker, forget it! The yard was littered with beer cans, plastic bags, etc.... The grill was nasty dirty. No grill brush, no scoop for the ashes, ashes overflowing the bucket and our contract said that the grill should be clean and scooped out. I guess they don't bother to check. The cabin was very dirty! The kitchen had dirty, moldy dishes in the dishwasher (as if someone waited weeks to run it), the cabinets and drawers were filthy and everytime I pulled up a chair or opened a cabinet, or touched a drawer-pull, it was sticky. I found myself washing my hands several times and then just gave up and cleaned everything myself. I also rewashed the dishes in the cabinets and drawers, because there was dirt and grease in the those receptacles as well. The blinds in every room were caked with dirt and I began to wonder if these people EVER clean the place! I felt yucky sleeping in the bed....the sheets were thread-bare. We had the added pleasure of killing three wasps that were flying around our room in the morning. When we removed the sheets from the bed at the end of our stay, there were yellow stains on the mattress and pillows. Yuck. The fireplace didn't work at all. I called the owner about this and didn't receive a call back till the following afternoon (after several calls and a couple of emails). He was argumentative and condescending. Not good customer relations! The hot tub wasn't working properly on the second night. The temperature wouldn't go past 92 degrees and we froze. (It was 40 degrees outside.) It was warm enough for us to climb in, but then we realized that it wasn't warm enough to stay in. ugh. It was awful! HANDS DOWN, THE WORST RENTAL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!!
- Guest Kathy (Highland, IN)
- Date of stay 04/19/13
- Review Submitted 04/25/13
Owner response: Dear KR...We appreciate your input and are very sorry that you had a poor experience when you rented one of our cabins recently. If any of our guests are not satisfied, we try to make things right.... as we attempted to do with several emails and phone contacts to you during your stay, and the credit we applied to your account for the inconveniences you expressed. In our defense, we feel that many of your comments have been exaggerated due to your apparent frustration with the situation. We take pride in our cabins and attend to their amenities and cleanliness with great concern for the well being of our guests. Back to Nature Cabins has been serving guests for 7 years, and most of our customers are very satisfied and often return again. Indeed, as with any other small business, sometimes it is good to hear about things upon which we might improve. Thank you for your feedback.
First 2 guests .. $210-$240/night $25 extra/per guest, per night for each additional adult Children ages 2-10 years are another $10 per child/per night.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
About the owner: Designed and hand built by the owner
- Primary: (812) 335-1091 (Indiana, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Back to Nature Cabin
Living room/dining room/kitchen
Field near cabin
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Friday, May 24, 2013
3 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.