Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Main house set in rainforest surrounded by natures soundtrack and freshness

Bocas Del Toro Beach & Rainforest Vacation Apartment Rental, Minutes from Town [#214453] | View Property

Bocas del Toro
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$125/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Everything and MORE!

    Everything and MORE!

    • Guest Julie A.
    • Date of stay 03/16/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    Let me begin by saying that mt friends and I could not have asked for a better place to stay for our first trip to Panama. Sandi was helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcomed into her home. The apartment was very clean, and had all the amenities one would need (bedding, cooking utensils, towels, cleaning supplies, etc.). The location was amazing and we were able to bike into town with bikes that Sandi provided. If biking isn't your cup of tea, the downtown area was just a short $3 taxi ride and Sandi provided a local phone to call cabs to come to the house. Sandi is very well known and like in the Bocas community and she connected us with various people and businesses which made it very easy to coordinate activities throughout our trip (surfing, chocolate tour, etc.). Sandi even picked us up from the airport and took us into town to get groceries a few times. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Bocas. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a family vacation or just a trip with some friends, this property has everything you could possibly need! Another plus of this home was the location. It was far enough from the hustle and bustle of downtown Bocas but also close enough that we were able to explore the restaurants, nightlife and other activities without much hassle. We absolutely loved our stay and we hope to come back very soon. Thanks for everything, Sandi! - Julie, Raina & Gabi

    Owner response: Girls, thank you so much for your review. I too enjoyed your company. A few weeks after you left the rain came. I am now doing laundry on a daily basis and offering water to all my guests. Thanks for understanding some of the demands of Bocas. I hope to see you back in July. Enjoy the Spring in Central park and good old NY. Much love, Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Couldn't have asked for more!

    Couldn't have asked for more!

    • Guest Marie
    • Date of stay 03/02/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    This property was everything we could have asked for and needed during our stay in Bocas Town. The description and photos are accurate - the property was beautiful, wonderfully maintained and a perfect location. If you are looking to stay in a quiet place outside of town property is ideal. It was very easy to get to, especially with the bikes that Sandi has available for her guests. I already miss the beautiful and peaceful morning bike ride! The host was available, helpful and very accomodating. Thank you for making our stay a very memorable one!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Marie, thank you for this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself and hope to have you back again one day soon. The sun is still shinning and the days are warm. Usually not the case at this time of year. Keep on traveling and enjoying life. Best regards, Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent

    Excellent

    • Guest Robin & Dawn
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 02/23/14
    Casa Del Cazador is exactly as the pictures on the website! Beautifully fended gardens with exotic flowers & shrubs.  The beach is just down the road.  Sandi has bicycles you can use. The suite was ever so clean & we did not need or want for anything else.   Sandi was accommodating as she explained where to eat, shop & recommended activities. We highly recommend Casa del Cazador  for a relaxing & fun filled holiday.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Robin and Dawn for the lovely review. I had so much fun with you and hope to see you back one day. Continue to enjoy your travels along with new adventures. All the best, Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Warm and Water

    Warm and Water

    • Guest Barbara D.
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/20/14
    That has been our mantra ever since we retired and we found it here. Our 2 week stay with Sandi was great; she is a great hostess. It was relaxing (because that's what we wanted), but there is lots to do. Don't miss Fincas Los Monos a short bike ride down the road. A surfer beach is a short ride in the other direction. We loved sitting on the patio and watching the birds, monkeys, sloth and visiting with Sandi's pets too. Sandi knows the area very well and can arrange all sorts of things to do. Talking to her at the patio Happy Hour was lots of fun. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Barb and Steve for your review. I miss seeing you both in the morning. The sun is still shining and all is active here as far as pets and in the surrounding jungle. I hope the rest of your stay in Panama was pleasant. Keep on traveling and bring joy and laughter to your next host. All the best Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Six Nights in Paradise

    Six Nights in Paradise

    • Guest Howard & Naz (Los Angeles, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/18/13
    • Review Submitted 12/07/13
    I'm gald we chose to stay at this lovely house. The house is clean, peaceful and comportable. It's located in a nice neighborhood and only a 5 min drive from town.. It has a beautiful backyard, which is open to jungle. We had frequent visits of howler monkies and lots of beautiful birds. Beach is only a two hundred feet away. Sandi, the owner, is very friendly, welcoming and accomodating host. She picked us up at the boat when we arrived in Bocas. She would accomodate our frequent requests. She would call for taxi, arrange for our jungle tour and even let us use her bicycles during our entire stay. We had a great time is Bocas and look forward to returning again soon

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi H and M, thank you so much for the lovely review. I really enjoyed your company and hope to meet with you once again. All the best to you both, Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 3 nights in a great place

    3 nights in a great place

    • Guest Ann (Shanghai, China)
    • Date of stay 07/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    We stayed at Sandi's place for 3 nights in late July. It is a great location--set back from the road, not too close to town, not too far. I saw monkeys right outside our window the first morning of our stay. The property is very clean and orderly. The kitchen has everything necessary to cook and serve a meal. Our two young children really appreciated the selection of tv channels when it was raining outside. I loved the outdoor shower, the hamnmock, and the shed full of bikes available to guests for trips around the island. Sandi is a great hostess--friendly, helpful, and easy going. She is attentive without being overbearing. Sandi is very familiar with the island, was able to recommend beaches, restaurants, and anything else we might want or need. She also hooked us up with a dependable taxi driver shortly after our arrival. In short, we had a great stay. I have already recommended this vacation rental to friends and would absolutely stay there again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the lovely review Ann. It is so nice to hear back from guest who really enjoyed themselves. Love to the family and have a great year. Best regards, Sandi Hodge

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing Place and Time!

    Amazing Place and Time!

    • Guest gio (san diego)
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    My Girlfriend and I stayed with Sandy and couldn't be happier! The accomodations were amazing and Sandy took great care of us and set up any type of activity we were looking to do. The place is so beautiful and near town without all the hustle and bustle. Ciao, the taxi sandi setup for us is here so we are headed to town for the evening. A great place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Your Home in Bocas!

    Your Home in Bocas!

    • Guest Brian S.
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 03/09/13
    Believe the hype! This is a beautiful property is just minutes from Bocas Town which is the main town on the island. Borrow the bikes available on site or take a taxi for $2 per person and you're there. You are also just minutes from a lovely swimming beach. The property itself is attractive and clean with tons of space to stretch out in. You'll never stay in another hotel! The best reason to stay here, though, is your hostess, Sandi. She is originally from California but has been here on Bocas for at least seven years. She is a wealth of information about everything from where to eat to which cab drivers are the best. She is always there to recommend a fun outing or a delicious meal. You're always welcome to stop upstairs for a drink and a chat. We have stayed in several VRBO properties and this is one of the best...Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Look no further. This is it.

    Look no further. This is it.

    • Guest Laura M.
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/15/12
    A friend introduced me to HomeAway when I got engaged and started thinking about planning my honeymoon. I was a little skeptical, as anyone hearing about Craigslist killers and other the-bad-things-that-happen-when-you-agree-to-meet-people-you-don't-know stories. Despite my skepticism, I decided to go with HomeAway when booking lodging for my Panama trip and a good decision it was! First of all, the pictures of the house hardly do it justice. I'm used to flattering angles and selective images that you'll find when you view hotel and resort listings. If you book this house then you book a vacation apartment in the idyllic setting pictured on this listing. It's got a beautiful kitchen, relaxing hammocks, occasional monkeys, and conveniently located beaches. It was perfect! I can't end this review without also mentioning how amazing Sandi, the owner of this lovely abode, is. She was friendly without being overbearing and made our stay even better! She arranged massages and island tours and even allowed us to tag along with her fun group of ex pats for Halloween parties and dinner in town. Seriously, you can do no better. This is where you should stay when you go to Bocas.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am sitting on my patio now listening to the screaming monkeys and the sun is shining. Wish you would have had better weather. Enjoy your life and keep on traveling. All the best to both, Sandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best Place Ever!

    Best Place Ever!

    • Guest Elisabeth (Atlanta, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    I can not say enough great things about Bocas and Sandi's place. It was the best vacation ever thanks to the world's greatest host Sandi and her amazing property, great cooking, conversation and help with finding things to do. The house itself is the perfect home base. Close to town but also close to some amazing beaches - some we had all to ourselves all day. We loved riding her bikes to explore the beaches and grab cocktails along the way. Sandi is an amazing host and an unexpected treat. We cooked dinner together one night and had many, many laughs. I personally loved the outdoor shower and hanging out on the porch. My boyfriend spent many hours in the hammock. Sandi even helped us line up private massages in our house. It was one of the best massages ever - highly recommend it. The house has everything you need - books, TV, Sandi's local knowledge, a well stocked kitchen, bikes and much more. We can't wait to go back to stay longer. The entire experience was amazing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Month in Paradise

    Month in Paradise

    • Guest jake (vancouver washington u.s.a.)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    My girlfriend and I just spent an entire month at Casa Del Cazador and loved every minute of it. The owner Sandy is an amazing woman who took care of us like we were family! We spent many nights just playing music upstairs while having dinner and drinks and swapping life stories. The location is just far enough out of town to not be bothered by the madness but close enough to take an easy bike ride or a super cheap taxi into the action. Being out towards the end of the road to Paunch and Bluff beaches was incredible and an easy bike ride put you on the remote beautiful beaches of Bocas. The house itself was spacious, clean, and boasts the largest kitchen I saw in any rental on Bocas so if you are into having nights in during your stay and cooking feasts while laughing over cocktails Sandy's Casa is the place to stay! Will be headed back to Bocas in the near future and wont think twice about giving Sandy a call and crashing at her place! Hope you all enjoy as much as we did!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Would recommend without reservation

    Would recommend without reservation

    • Guest EBN (Haddon Township, NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/09/11
    My husband and I chose Sandi's place after much searching. Traveling with a 1.5 year old was something we were not too experienced in. Sandi gave us some great advice beforehand and answered our many questions and helped ease our anxiety. And believe me, we had a lot of questions! She provided a crib and a bike seat for our son during our stay and well as countless advice on things to do and places to see with our son. The apartment was the perfect size, comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. We also loved how quiet it was. We have some great memories from our time in Bocas and would recommend Sandi's place to anyone thinking of visiting Bocas.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Had a terrific time!

    Had a terrific time!

    • Guest Misterboo (Mountain View, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 05/05/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    We just recently stayed at Casa Del Cazador with Sandi and had a fantastic time. The apartment-sized accommodations were exactly as described and very clean and comfortable. She picked us up a the airport and helped us get settled with our groceries. She was also very helpful with calling taxi's and tuning us into the town gossip and what there was to see and do. The location worked perfectly for us. It's in Big Creek which is just enough out of town but yet near the things you need too. I thought it was a great place to either hang out and lounge in the hammock or use as a rest up/ clean up when you're out exploring islands. She even had satellite tv and books for rainy days. The wi-fi worked (go upstairs to her porch for a stronger signal). Communications beforehand and renting the property were hassle free and the price (for us) was just what we wanted to spend. This was our 3rd trip to Bocas and I'm certain we'll be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • my days in bocas

    my days in bocas

    • Guest London Adam (London, England)
    • Date of stay 03/02/10
    • Review Submitted 04/01/10
    I cannot recommend sandi's retreat highly enough for those who need to have a safe, tranquil base from which to explore these islands. Ideally situated between town & country, there is a seemingly limitless number of things to see and do, with the option of "catchin' the breeze" on the patio when it all gets too much! Excellent host, we will be back!!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Very Quiet location

    Very Quiet location

    • Guest november renter (san diego)
    • Date of stay 11/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/31/10
    My son and I stayed at Casa Del Cazador last yesr in November and we enjoyed the apartment and Bocas very much. Sandi the owner provides you with everything that you need, even inviting us for dinner. It is very quiet and peaceful except for the noise of the jungle monkeys and birds. I would recommend this place to anyone seeking a quiet relaxing vacation

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]