That up-North Feel Without the Drive!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:7 nights
- Pets allowed:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Beautiful Log cabin on Payne Lake (an all sports lake), has 2 bedrooms, loft bedroom, and 2 sleeper sofas, with plenty of room for additional air mats or foldout bedding options. 2 full baths, 2 living rooms, sun room, and wraparound deck borders 3 sides of home adding to the properties uniqueness. The cabin rents with a sandy private beach to Payne lake, also a private dock is available for guest use. The property is situated with an empty lot on one side, and channel on other side, with a forest and lakeview on the other 2 sides.
Cabin features a jacuzzi tub in the main floor bath, log style beds in the loft and master bed rooms, and bunk beds in the spare room. Hardwood floors in the kitchen, dining room, sun room, and upstairs living room.
One of the best things about this cabin is its location and the amount of activities, and points of interests nearby. Yankee Springs State Recreation area is 1.5 miles from the cabin and features, hiking, mountian biking, a large beach, picnic areas/shelters, mushrooming, hunting, fishing, wildlife viewing, camping, recreational boating on 2700+ acre Gun Lake, and sight seeing. Both Gun Lake and Payne Lake have been stocked with Walleye for years.
Historic Bowen Mills is less than 1 mile from property and features a number of historic events throughout the year, including a cider mill, stone ground grain mill, antique power and steam show, and much more.
The NEW Gun Lake Casino is located 6 miles from this property.
Pontoon Boat rental available for an additional charge. 2000 Harris Pontoon 22 ft 40 hp
Rental charge is $800/wk
Please call Bill at 269-795-9114 to set up the boat rental. Photo of boat available upon request.
Keywords: Log Cabin Home
- 2 story
- 1950 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters:
- Events Allowed
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
- 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 6-10
- Bedroom 1
- Bedroom 2
- Bedroom 3
- 2.0 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
- Bathroom 2
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Towels Provided:
- Air Conditioning:
- Wood Stove
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Jet Skiing
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Basketball Court
- Cross Country Skiing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Freshwater Fishing
- Fitness Center
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Gambling Casinos
Home is located on Payne Lake, 1.5 miles from Yankee Springs State Recreation area at Gun Lake, 2 miles from Yankee Springs Golf course (public welcome), just across street from Barry State Game area. A channel next to property connects Payne Lake to Chief Noonday Lake which can be navigated by small fishing boats, kayaks, and canoes. AC is NOT Guranteed. ***Cottage is located 6 miles from the new Gun Lake Casino *****...morecollapse
ReviewsWrite a review
Labor Day Travelers!!
Labor Day Travelers!!
This is my groups 10th year traveling for Labor Day and we can have fun no matter what the circumstance. This house was good and we enjoyed our stay. The air worked, but not well; the breeze off the lake was nice but the folks who slept up in the loft were a little warm. The kitchen was good had everything we could have needed. The deck and yard was the best part. We had awesome bon-fires and enjoyed the shade from the tree by the deck. The owners were AWESOME to work with. We had a little trouble with a check lost in the mail but they were understanding and completely helpful. The lake was pretty mucky and we could not use the beach by the house but we rented a boat and floating in the middle of the lake was great!! Thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us! We like to travel around to different lakes but would for sure stay here again!
- Guest JLMitch
- Date of stay 08/30/12
- Review Submitted 09/06/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, age 55+, girls getaway.
Very Nice Lake!
Very Nice Lake!
The listing description is fairly accurate. I personally think It would be tough to have 10 adults stay here. We had 6 adults and two toddlers. The yard is nice and the little ones enjoyed playing in the sand and wading. Due to the draught, the lake was low, so the swimming out from of the house was limited. We took our boat out on and lake and swam in other locations. The lake is a nice size and it is not crowded with boat traffic! We greatly enjoyed the fire pit! We had a fire almost every night! (the mosquitoes were very hungry, however!) The owners are very responsive and respond to questions quickly. We also took two small dogs and appreciated that the property is pet friendly! The house is quite close to Yankee Springs Recreational area, we rode our bikes there and also play miniature golf close by! Our favorite spot, when not playing on the lake, was the lovely deck which had a shade tree that provides shade all day! All in all we enjoyed our vacation!
- Guest emjay
- Date of stay 07/28/12
- Review Submitted 08/15/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, girls getaway.
We rented this cottage the Last week of June, 2012. First disappointment was the 'beach' so they call it. It had some sand but for the most part all black muck and weeds. Our dogs swam in it but would get leaches them from the water. The owners quickly has someone rake the beach which we appreciated but within one hour back to the same water...we felt very mislead with their advertisement sandy beach. We could not swim AT all in front of the cottage. Second..the cottage was very dirty...carpet on the stairs stained..walls dirty. We had to clean it to be able to stay the week. Vacuum was not working ..would not suck anything up which is probably why the carpet was so dirty... my dad had to fix the vacuum in order to even use it .Email owner...she said she was very sorry but maybe their cleaning lady didn't not come because no welcome packet. Another so sorry... Third..Air conditioning did not work. Not too bad with it was 80 out but as the week went on it was over 90 in the cottage. We discovered in small print the air contitioning was not gaurenteed! Emailed the owner they said had it checked beginning of summer and also said the logs absorb the cool air. They did not believe us at all even though we had 3 males adults that looked at the unit and we told them the condensor was not even running...oh well they were so sorry.... Fourth...Trash bin Full of when we arrived on Saturday. Smelled like dead animal it the bin. This sat in front of the cottage all week. Emailed owner...not sure what day it got picked up...emailed again on Wednesday...they said not coming until Friday, day before we leave. They said they would have some 'friends' pick up a few bags...no friends showed up. Emailed owner..oh so sorry friends out of town. Told owner we could not even open windows because of the smell...owner says well with air conditioning on the windows should not have been open...Must have forgotten the days before we told them the air did not work...they were so sorry. Fifth..they advertise TV, DVR,...watching Good Morning America on Weds morning....Cable truck pulls up..they disconect tv service...email owner they told us we had a 'bonus' for a few days from winter owners....So they have TV but you can't watch or use it. ...they are so sorry. In a nut shell for the price we paid for the week it was very disappointing...Owners just kept saying so sorry...and made us feel we were just being 'difficult'. No offer to come out and check for themselves. Renters Beware!!!
- Guest Paul/Carrie
- Date of stay 06/23/12
- Review Submitted 07/17/12
Owner response: Prospective renters, I encourage you to check Mapquest, and this review, and see that this renter is from Dorr, Mi., the cottage is near Middleville, Mi., which are about 14 miles apart. This renter drove by and checked the property out prior to booking their rental, which should have helped them to not be mislead by our statement of a sandy beach. The beach is sandy and that cannot be argued, the swim area is also sandy, until you get out to about waist deep water and then the bottom becomes soft. As you can read in this renters review or complaints, she mentions emailing us at least 6 times complaining of various issues, it is unfortunate that someone comes on vacation and feels the need to complain all week, but when you choose to do so repeatedly your credibility begins to be questioned, so by the time she complained of the AC later in the week we felt that there was nothing else we could do to help this renter enjoy their stay. I did make a point to have our cleaning person check the AC, as soon as this renter checked out, and the AC indeed had failed, and we got it repaired ASAP, as you can read in the review left by the person staying after this guest. To her statement, in small print, is just not true on our rental agreement it states in CAPITAL letters and bold font that the AC is not guaranteed, but will be repaired ASAP, also here on VRBO the same is explained. As far as the cable TV goes, read our VRBO ad, local channels only no cable, they had the luxury of a partial week of cable as one of our prior renters had it hooked up, and it just so happened that it was disconnected during her stay. Our trash company changed our day of service, and sent the change notice to the cottage, which we did not get as we do not live there, the trash container is now clearly marked so that all renters know when to have the container at the roadside to avoid, such an inconvenience in the future. Lastly, we live 4 hours round-trip from our cottage, we keep it and rent it for several reasons, one being we enjoy using it whenever we can, and also because we sincerely love hearing of others enjoying it with their friends and families as well. To this renter I am truly sorry for any inconvenience that you feel you may have encountered from your stay, and good luck in your future travels.
The home and property are fantastic. Mother nature threw a curve ball with the extreme heat and very low water levels. The air conditioner went out before we got there and Jason was right on top of it. He communicated with us every detail of getting it fixed. We had a great time and will look forward to next year.
- Guest Dan
- Date of stay 06/30/12
- Review Submitted 07/13/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, families with young children, pet owners, people with disabilities, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway.
Owner response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind review.
2nd Stay Here
2nd Stay Here
Wow "Vacation from Hell", I was so shocked by your review. I actually contacted the owner before we stayed to make sure there hadn't been any changes. This is our 2nd year of staying here and we had a great time. There was a large storm on the day we moved in which brought a lot of debree to the lake shore. The neighbor said this never happens, it's been a hot and wet August. The home is absolutely wonderful. Great for entertaining. We had friends out one day (15 adults, 5 kids) and family out another day (10 adults, 3 kids) and had plenty of room. The location is nice, we also took advantage of the county and state parks which was fun for the kids. Overall, had a great week again!
- Guest Family of Lake Lovers
- Date of stay 08/20/11
- Review Submitted 09/03/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+.
Owner response: Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again next summer.
Vacation in Hell
Vacation in Hell
Arrived July 30th to a flooded driveway and a lower level family room with a good inch of water. Owner failed to notify me of this incident which occurred Thurs. night into Fri. morning. Day 2 awoke to a flat tire which was the result of driving over a tent stake in the driveway. Flood control crew arrived on 31 July to work on carpeting in the basement leaving 3 blowers for the next 8 days. We were unable to use this portion of this house. Owner refused to refund any money. AC not functioning properly causing indoor temp. to remain 84 degrees! Part of my family had to cancel their vacation due to lack of sleeping area. Good luck to the next renters. Buyer beware!!!
- Guest loco
- Date of stay 07/30/11
- Review Submitted 08/12/11
Owner response: I am sorry for the inconvience you felt you had at the cottage. But Modernistic Cleaners were there within 3 hours of you letting us know our basement was "flooded", when they arrived they told us it was NOT flooded but the carpet was damp in a few areas, but that the basement was 100% usable...I have this in writing from the carpet people. You said AC wasn't working and we had someone there the next day to check it, nothing was wrong with AC as it was blowing out 60 degree air from the ducts but you did have all the windows and doors open on a 90 degree day with the air running at 65 degrees...so we advised you to shut the cottage up and let it cool down, we were just there on Saturday the 13th and the AC is working fine and temp in house was 72. The reason no refund was offered is we don't refund for Acts of God and you mislead us telling us that our basement was flooded, we had emergency services on a Sunday there and when they arrived informed us that it was not flooded and wasn't an Emergency situation. You chose not to use the basement, they told you it was 100% usable. You also drove thru our side yard and caused $800 worth of damage to it that we needed to have repaired so our other renters have access to a side yard. Also after arriving at the cottage on Saturday the 13th ,after you checked out, the cottage was trashed, it took me and 3 others 2 hours to clean it and get it ready for our next renters who arrived just as we finished cleaning it. We always do all we can to accomodate our renters, we do not like having unhappy renters...we did everything we could to make it right by you but it was impossible. And from the sounds of it on facebook you enjoyed your 14 days at our cottage...your post below says it is a Beautiful house. " well got a beautiful house all week on lake anyone want to come up no rent just buy ur food 180 miles from chicago in Michigan" August 7 at 1:34pm Thanks for choosing our cottage for your vacation.
We stayed here in 2009 and absolutely loved it. Have 2 young kids so the 2nd bedroom with bunkbeds was perfect and the loft worked for other family members to spend the night. There's tons of room in the home and it was fully stocked. It's close to everything but in a rustic setting. The lake is nice and quiet. We have Seadoos and during the week, we were sometimes the only ones on the lake. Firepit was great for bond fires and yard is big enough for outdoor sports. We loved it and would definitely recommend.
- Guest Family of Lake Lovers
- Date of stay 08/01/09
- Review Submitted 01/01/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway.
We had a lovely July th week at this cottage. It was quiet and relaxing and we got to see fireworks over the lake (and without the hassle!). The cottage was clean and well supplied. The location of the cottage added to the feeling of being in a calm, natural setting since it was bordered on one side by an inlet to another lake and only on one side by residents. We loved the lily pads, the croaking of the frogs and the nightly light show put on by a forest full of trees filled with lightening bugs! The lake was fine for swimming but we chose to float by raft instead because of the seaweed (might have been the time of year). We loved that the rustic style of the cottage and that it was right on the lake. The large back porch and the pier gave us multiple ways to enjoy the lovely view. The owners were terrifically responsive and helpful to all our questions. We would rent this collage again. Word to the wise....bring bug spray, mosquitos can be fierce as they are anywhere near water.
- Guest T & K
- Date of stay 07/03/10
- Review Submitted 08/30/10
Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway.
Family get together for Father's Day
Family get together for Father's Day
Enjoyed the cabin and all the ameneties, all cooking utensils and paper goods etc. anything for making your own meals, from frying fish, to cooking steaks on grill. Beautiful view from deck and out of living room of the lake, dock to put your boat, no unloading and loading very convenient and then enjoy when ever you feel like take a ride!! Quiet area of lake!! Nice finished basement for the kids to hang out in even a bathroom of their own. Comfortable beds, jacuzzi tub in master bath up stairs. looking forward to another visit.
- Guest Cat
- Date of stay 06/19/10
- Review Submitted 08/25/10
Recommended for: Sightseeing, families with young children, pet owners, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
7 night min stay
Discounts: 8 nights or more $193 nightly
Additional information about rental rates
We also offer Seasonal rates for Spring and Fall. Please contact owner.
- Pet Fee: $0
- Refundable Damage Deposit: $300
- Property Damage Protection: $49
- Taxes Not included
Owner will email your rental agreement.
If you have any questions please contact the owner.
Before paying contact the owner to confirm payment details.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
- Nearest Airport: Gerald Ford Airport in Grand Rapids Mi at 20 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Yankee Springs Recreation area at 2 Miles
Year Purchased: 2008
- Secondary: (517) 541-6753 (Michigan, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Outside view of cottage from channel area
View from Deck
Twin bunk beds
View from House
View from Dock
Queen Bed in Master bedroom
Queen bed in Loft with Futon
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Tuesday, February 26, 2013