Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Courtyard facing bay

Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet [#21726] | View Property

Coral Bay
House, 1 Bedroom, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 2)
$2,240 - $2,940/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Exceptional Property!

    Exceptional Property!

    • Guest Gigi K.
    • Date of stay 03/30/14
    • Review Submitted 04/08/14
    We have stayed in multiple properties over the years and I have to admit often times the pictures are not exactly what the property looks like upon arrival. This is not the case with Astral Ridge!! The property and views are exquisite! The house is beautifully decorated and well stocked with everything you need for a perfect vacation! I have never seen a view as beautiful and private as what is offered from the pool, deck, hot tub, bedroom, etc... I would highly recommend Astral Ridge!

    Owner response: Thanks for your review. We're happy that you chose Astral Ridge and happier still that you enjoyed it so much. Susan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • S&S

    S&S

    • Guest S&S (Ohio, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/19/14
    • Review Submitted 02/17/14
    Astral Ridge is the most beautiful villa situated on a hillside with million dollar views! My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary, visiting St. John for the first time. We've been to other Caribbean locations and this was one of our favorites. The service we received from Susan and her staff was exceptional all the way around. St. John is top notch for hiking and snorkeling. We saw sea turtles several times and highly recommend the Ram Head hike from Salt Bay Pond Beach! We loved staying on the East end of the island, away from the crowds and nightlife. We had easy access to beautiful beaches and great restaurants. The pool and hot tub were great amenities, along with a fully equipped kitchen, living area, outdoor showers, grill, snorkeling equipment, etc. Everything you need for an awesome vacation. Not to mention the views from the villa, situated to catch both the sunrises and sunsets (and starry, starry nights) while listening to the tree frogs and watching the hummingbirds. The landscaping was lush and beautiful - giving you both tropical beauty and privacy. You do need a 4WD to get up the road and driveway, but it's the perfect top-scale getaway in the middle of a secluded tropical paradise!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Marcia D.
    • Date of stay 11/03/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    We celebrated our honeymoon for a week at Astral Ridge. It was so lovely!! Susan was SO helpful is setting everything up for us (rental car, ferry ride, transpiration to the ferry from the airport) and was so responsive and nice. Our flight plans got really screwed up on the way down and Susan stepped right in to change our transportation arrangements and times for us as soon as we told her about the delay. It was so great to not have to worry about changing everything around ourselves. She also offered to have someone go to the grocery store for us since we would arrive after the stores closed and wouldn't have anything for breakfast. So sweet and thoughtful. The property itself is spectacular. The view is UNREAL. The pool and hot tub were clean, the bathrooms were a great size, and the living spaces were awesome. The kitchen was well supplied with pots and pans and dishes and cooking tools. We mostly cooked for ourselves every night (Starfish Market had the best groceries, avoid the smaller markets) but we did go to Aqua Bistro (not far from the house) a few times. Definitely rent a Jeep when you book Astral Ridge. Getting up that hill is a challenge and you HAVE to have 4 wheel drive. The view at the top is worth it though!! It was a little buggy when we were there because it had been raining a lot before we arrived so buy some bug spray if you want to sit outside for awhile. There isn't AC in the unit but each room has ceiling fans and that was enough on most nights. The house is about a 15-20 minute drive from the small downtown area but it's a beautiful drive and you pass a lot of amazing beaches on the way! We had such a great stay and would definitely recommend it and would certainly return! Thank you so much!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Amazing location overlooking Coral Bay!

    Amazing location overlooking Coral Bay!

    • Guest Brandon K.
    • Date of stay 10/27/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    This property is even more impressive than portrayed in the photos. The views from the patio area are absolutely incredible, including the landscaping surrounding the property. Everything was very clean. The kitchen was stocked with all necessities (pots, pans, utensils, etc). Brand new grill outside with accessories. Beach chairs, snorkeling gear, coolers, umbrellas, etc were all included and extremely helpful. The property is very close to several different restaurants/bars (Aqua Bistro / Skinny Legs / Tourist Trap / Chateau Bordeaux all recommended) and convenience stores on the East End of the island. We especially enjoyed Salt Pond Bay, Maho Bay, Francis Bay, Jumbie Beach, Ram's Head Trail Hike, etc. Use the provided books at the house to plan your trip! Enjoy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Truly Paradise in Paradise

    Truly Paradise in Paradise

    • Guest Joan88 (Mill Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/09/12
    • Review Submitted 12/22/12
    My new go to 'happy spot'....my desktop picture...my facebook cover picture...I can't believe we were lucky enough to spend a week at Astral Ridge. We loved staying up for days! Surely the stargazing, the hot tub, the lizard watching, the sea....all kept us in a blissful trance. Miss Lucy's for late lunch and take out...Trunk Bay and Hawksnest beaches...all just incredible. We live in California and the easy trip to Hawaii has kept us from St John for a too long 7 years. Now, we are so hoping we can return to the beauty and bliss of another Astral Ridge stay sooner, so sooner than that! Thank you Susan and Diane...a truly magical, memorable place....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Spectacular Getaway

    Spectacular Getaway

    • Guest Connie and Tommy - South Carolina (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/16/12
    Diane and Jenn were awesome during the planning of our vacation and our arrival. They were both very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home right away. Housekeeping had welcomed us with a beautiful vase of tropical flowers and greenery from our gardens. Words and pictures cannot fully describe the beauty of this place. Although we are from the Carolinas, I must admit that I am spoiled to closed windows and air conditioning in the summertime. After the first night we quickly realized that windows and AC would have ruined this experience. The fresh, cool breezes felt great and the surrounding tropical flowers and trees make the house smell wonderful. As mentioned by other guests, the driveway is rough and does take some getting used to. By the end of the second day, my husband and I both were managing the 4-wheel drive very well. I was a little intimidated by the lizards at first but we got along just fine. My husband and I developed an adult beverage that we fondly named 'Lizard-ade'. We spent many hours just lounging on the patio, in the pool and hot tub and taking in the incredible view. But, we also enjoyed exploring the island. We highly recommend Salt Pond Bay, Vi's Beach, Overhaul Bay for kayaking with Jenn (yes, the same one) and many other beautiful beaches. We truly enjoyed eating at Shipwreck Landing, Aqua Bistro, Donkey Diner, Miss Lucy's and Skinny Legs. Coral Bay is on the casual side of St John so we learned very quickly that we packed too many dress up clothes. Next time, and there will be many next times at Astral Ridge, we will pack swimwear, shorts, t-shirts, cover-ups and flip flops. What a spectacular getaway to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary and our 60th Birthdays. Thank you Susan, Diane and Jenn. We will see y'all again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank's for spending your anniversary at Astral. Letter's like yours are the best part of our job. We appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review will be looking forward to your next visit. Susan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Astral Ridge is an awesome get-away!

    Astral Ridge is an awesome get-away!

    • Guest Leanne P.
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    My husband and I just returned from a week at Astral Ridge to celebrate our 50th birthdays! The house was everything and more. Gorgeous view, wonderful amenities, lovely and captivating landscaping(lots of hummingbirds), and ultra private. We love staying in Coral Bay as it is fun and quirky, and close to the best beaches (Francis, Maho, and Salt Pond). We also spent a few days just lounging at the house, relaxing and enjoying the pool and the view, and the stars from the hot tub by night. The house is wonderfully equipped and very comfortable! We cooked the majority of our meals, but enjoyed eating breakfast at Donkey Diner, dinner at Aqua Bistro and Skinny Legs. Great snorkeling at Waterlemon, Francis (turtles!), and Salt Pond. We had an amazing week and look forward to visiting again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Outstanding Villa

    Outstanding Villa

    • Guest R S.
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    Words really can not describe this villa. The pictures are spot on. It is a wonderful, romantic sanctuary and you will not be disappointed. It is very secluded and private, even with Astral Cottage directly behind it. The roads do take a bit of getting used to and you will have lots of friendly geckos (lizards) to keep you company. We would not hesitate to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beyond My Most Elegant Dreams!!!

    Beyond My Most Elegant Dreams!!!

    • Guest Paula (Brandon, Mississippi )
    • Date of stay 05/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    Let me start by saying we'd originally booked Astral Cottage, but to my surprise my honey upgraded us to Astral Ridge! I would've been happy with the cottage, but WOW! Astral Ridge is amazing! When we returned from beach hopping, we went b/t the hot tub and the pool. There were many vanilla rum and root beers consumed here every afternoon. We grilled out twice and soaked up the views. The views are amazing and the pictures do not do this home justice. It's even more beautiful in person. The vegetation has grown and you cannot see Astral Ridge from the cottage at all. You can see the cottage from the parking area, but not the hot tub and hammock. Complete privacy for both homes. The kitchen was better equipped than mine at home! Coffee grinder, blender, all utensils you will need. There were spices and other non-perishables left from previous guests as well as some alcohol and mixers. Before you buy these things, I suggest looking at the house first. We liked Starfish Market the best, although Lilly's was good for little things. The road up is not that bad. I guess being from Mississippi and having experience with "off-roading" we thought it was fun. It poured every night around 0200-0400, but the road was never muddy in the morning. As far as no airconditioning, I keep my house at 73 degrees in the summer and only got too hot one night. I can probably blame that on too much rum and sun :-). The floor and ceiling fan was enough for us. I was a little nervous when i found out there werent any locks on the doors, but after the first night I never really thought about it again. I live outside a city with a ridiculous crime rate and it was nice to sleep with the windows open and enjoy it. There's a safe to lock your valuables in. I must warn you about the 2 peeping toms I encountered EVERY NIGHT in the shower. As soon as I turned on the light, Larry and Leonard the lizards would hop on the window sill and eat the bugs that were coming to the light while I showered! Tell me lizards aren't smart. I miss them. Diane called and checked on us when she could catch us at the villa. Jen was wonderful with suggestions and surprising me with the upgrade! From Skinny Legs, to Miss Lucy's, to Francis Bay to the Stinky Donkey Dip and the morning rush hour of goats, I enjoyed every second of my stay at Astral Ridge. Unfortunately we have to skip a year before returning, but I would not hesitate to stay here again and have already recommended it to others!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Most gorgeous place we've ever been!

    Most gorgeous place we've ever been!

    • Guest Tiffany S.
    • Date of stay 04/08/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    We spent a week at Astral Ridge for our honeymoon. The view has to be the best on St. John! We were totally secluded (minus the tiny lizards that live on the property.) We utilized the pool and hot tub almost daily and used the kitchen to cook breakfasts. We were conveniently located to many great food spots. My husband enjoyed fly fishing on the flats at Johnson's Bay. Brian will meet you as you exit the ferry from St. Thomas and take you to get your rental car and groceries, then escort you to the villa. He had many helpful recommendations for places to eat and snorkel. Diane and Susan will help you anything else that you need. They will arrange your jeep rental and transportation from the airport to the ferry if so desired. Best honeymoon ever! We are already planning a trip back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing view, beautiful garden, total privacy

    Amazing view, beautiful garden, total privacy

    • Guest Robin M. (Berwyn, PA)
    • Date of stay 01/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/12
    My husband and I just spent a week at Astral Ridge and loved every minute.The view is breathtaking, the gardens are lush and colorful, and the villa is beautifully designed and furnished.  The pictures on the web site are accurate but can't capture the soft Caribbean light, the warm breezes, the sounds of the birds and tree frogs, and the total privacy and comfort provided by the property and the hosts.  The spacious accommodations were clean and the kitchen was well stocked with the essentials.  We did a big food shop the day we arrived and then didn't leave for two whole days.  If you want a private, restful retreat, you couldn't do any better than Astral Ridge. Coral Bay is on the east end of the island, 30 minutes away from the "action" in Cruz Bay.  But honestly, the beaches (especially Salt Pond Bay) are equal to, if not better than, the famed and crowded north shore beaches.  Skinny Legs is a wild and crazy bar and Sweet Plantains, Aqua Bistro, and Shipwreck landing have great food and a fun atmosphere.  We went into Cruz Bay once and were very happy not to go back. Paradise has a few challenges that, to be fair, we should mentiom. The road up to the villa is very, very steep and winding which was scary at first but, with 4-wheel drive (which is required), we got the hang of it quickly and it didn't interfer with our activities in any way, even in the rain and dark.  The villa has screens so there were no mosquitoes but there are little salamanders inside and ants if you leave any food around which is the case anywhere in the Caribbean.  If you want an air conditioned resort with umbrella drinks delivered on a tray, this isn't the place for you but if you enjoy nature and love the one you are with, it's perfect.  We've been to St. John several times before and Astral Ridge is our favorite by far.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Quiet, Romantic Destination

    Quiet, Romantic Destination

    • Guest rfoster (Palatine, IL)
    • Date of stay 12/05/10
    • Review Submitted 12/28/10
    This (our 10th anniversary trip) was our second stay at Astral Ridge. Why return when there are so many places to choose from in Coral Bay? 1) The view from Astral Ridge is spectacular!!!! I often day dream about lounging on that patio taking in that view long after we're back from vacation. 2) It's the home we'd build if we had a vacation home on St. John. Beautifully appointed! The kitchen is well equipped for eating all meals in (though there are plenty of great restaurants in Coral Bay to eat all meals out). You can see from the photos that the decor is relaxed elegance and what you see is what you get! No detail has been overlooked. And, the grounds are a nature lover's paradise, full of tropical plants, flowers, birds and all manner of Caribbean fauna. 3) Even though Astral Ridge Cottage sits at the top of the stairs, Astral Ridge (the main house) is secluded enough from it to never have to suffer tan lines (you know what I mean). 4) Gazing at the stars from the hot tub at night is transcendent. 5) Susan & Diane's hospitality is first rate. While we called on them more during our first stay than our second, they were never more than a phone call away with an answer to all our questions. NOTE: Sapphiresounds tips are spot on and we too spent most of our time this trip lounging on the patio soaking up the sun, reading and just unplugging from a chaotic world. If peace, quiet (and romance) is what you seek, don't pass this one up. You won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Peace and privacy? Astral Ridge is perfect.

    Peace and privacy? Astral Ridge is perfect.

    • Guest sapphiresound (Maryland, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/20/09
    • Review Submitted 01/07/10
    Before I get lost in the glory of Astral Ridge, I wanted to pass on a few tidbits for the planning stages of a trip to this heavenly spot. *PACK LIGHTLY! Coral Bay is the casual side of St. John. Try to get everything into your carry ons-at least for the trip over. Between the planes, taxis, ferries, rental cars, there are too many transfers to lose your bathing suit! *LEAVE THE TOUR BOOKS HOME! Astral Ridge has copies of both of Gerald Singer's, Pam Gaffin's, and many of the others. *USE DYNAMIC TOURS! They make the transition from plane to ferry beyond relaxing. Seriously, they are well worth the moola vs. the taxi game. *RENTAL CAR: When reserving, get a hard top for sanity's sake. Courtesy will not let you take off the soft top anyways. Check your tires' treads, the spare tire, and the switching into & out of 4WD at the car rental location. (Some of the rentals are very ragged out-they still work-just in bad shape.) *DRIVEWAY: is dirt, rutted, and steep. However, it is truthfully a piece of cake to negotiate...provided your rental vehicle is in good shape, hence the previous tidbit. A good vehicle & it's no problem. On to Astral Ridge itself...Heaven cannot even begin to describe the peacefulness of this location. I am timid to even post this for fear everyone will find out about it. The privacy and serenity is unimaginable. We chose Astral Ridge to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. However, Mother Nature decided to delay us with the "Blizzard of 2009". With only 4 days left to our trip, we elected to spend the majority of it at the house. While my husband finally finished his book, I spent my time rotating between the hot tub, pool, and lounge chair. I did not even pick up my book. After 36 hours of this, I realized that my brain was calm. No thoughts running rampant. No "to do" lists. No nothing. PURE HEAVEN. My brain was calm, but my senses were more aware. The sunrises, water, hummingbirds, geckos, cloud formations, hibiscus, lehua, etc were all more obvious & beautiful. The evening brought out the infamous stars that gave Astral Ridge it's name and an incredible nighttime orchestra by the frogs and crickets lulling us to a deep, restful sleep. Thank you Susan for creating and sharing this house with us. Celebrating our anniversary at Astral Ridge was heaven on Earth.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A dream-like escape

    A dream-like escape

    • Guest MNtoMT (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 11/08/09
    • Review Submitted 11/16/09
    My new wife and I rented out Astral Ridge for our honeymoon vacation. We couldnt have been more pleased! The premises is well maintained and the setting is magnificent. As we got settled-in the first day, we wished time would stand still cause every moment of those first few hours was pure euphoria. It was like a dream. Coral Bay is a simple, quiet town, which was exactly what we wanted for our get-away. World-class beaches are just minutes away. BEAUTIFUL, PERFECT.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest October025 (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 10/18/09
    • Review Submitted 10/26/09
    Do not hesitate making this your home on vacation...Complete Privacy, beautiful views, clean, well maintained, gorgeous gardens. The nights were so romantic with the soft lighting around the gardens, the unbelievable stars at night with the only sounds of frogs/cricketts...The house has everything you need with lots of fans, screened windows/doors allowing the trade winds to keep you comfortable at all times....Love the bedroom being in a separate building with the netted bed and beautiful wood floors....The road up was a little scarey at first but we loved it after the first day...it became part of the adventure....You could not ask for better service....Susan got us a discount for our rental car, had someone meet us at the ferry to bring us there, take us to the grocery store and then lead us to the house....We listened to her about the taxi service from the airport to the ferry and it all went so smoothly I just could not believe it...I wanted a massage at the house...seems all the recommended gals were off island...one call and Diane (Susan's staff) got me another gal and gave her all the information...The last day we had just enough gas to get down to the gas station....only to find out the gas station was out of gas and didn't know when the truck would come...I felt terrible but called Diane at 7:00 am...she told me to sit tight and would see what she could do....the truck pulled in right after I called and it all worked out but I felt so much better knowing I had someone I could count on if we needed help. We just got back last night...took us three planes to get there and I would repack my bag tonight if I could spend another week at Astral Ridge

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]