Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Sleeps 10 - Available Year Round - Huge Private Home

You sent a message to this owner.

Our pristine beach

Our pristine beach World renowned shelling Typical day at our enclave's private beach Our home Family room with fold out queen size sleeper sofa Family Room opposite view Corner of lanai Living room Kitchen out to family room Kitchen out to lanai Breakfast bar off of Family room first Master Bedroom oversize King bed with HD TV Second Master Bedroom Queen size bed Bedroom 3 with 2 twon beds & TV Bedroom 4 with 2 twin beds Entry Foyer

Calendar

Last updated: 04/12/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Private Homes, Tradewinds house description

INCREDIBLE - Huge 4/3 private home w/2 car garage and RV parking. 200 yds. to private access, pristine beach.

Your Island Paradise. Pick fresh limes from our mature fruit trees for your tropical beverage.

This home has it all, just bring your tooth brush.


Keywords: House

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Alternative Lifestyle
          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Considered

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 10

          Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Cooking Utensils:

            Everything you could possibly want....moreless

          • Refrigerator
          • Microwave
          • Dishwasher
          • Kitchen

          Amenities

          • Washing Machine
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Parking Off Street
          • Air Conditioning
          • Linens Provided

          Other Amenities

              • Sunken tub in Master Suite.

              Entertainment

              • Ping Pong Table
              • Video Library
              • Satellite / Cable
              • Music Library
              • Stereo

              Communications

              • Telephone
              • Free Long Distance

              Outdoor Features

              • Lanai / Gazebo
              • Deck / Patio
              • Outdoor Grill

              Activities

              • Tennis
              • Fishing
              • Wind-Surfing
              • Cycling
              • Basketball Court
              • Golf
              • Parasailing
              • Jet Skiing
              • Water Skiing
              • Snorkeling/Diving
              • Kayaking
              • Sailing
              • Swimming
              • Restaurants
              • Live Theater
              • Antiquing
              • Museums
              • Health/Beauty Spa
              • Cinemas
              • Shopping
              • Boating
              • Fitness Center
              • Sight Seeing
              • Shelling
              • Wildlife Viewing

              Other Activities

                  • 1 Mile from 'Ding Darling' Bird & Wildlife Sanctuary. 2 miles from brand new gym w/pools, basketball courts, tennis courts, state of the art fitness machines and free weights....moreless
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Just Wonderful

                    Just Wonderful

                    • Guest Amanda R.
                    • Date of stay 07/20/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
                    Pictures are accurate. Mike was a pleasure to work with. Had a couple of issues during our stay, but Mike was on top of it, making it a great vacation. Food is extremely expensive on the island at restuarants, I would suggest grocery shopping (Bailey's or Jerry's) and cooking at the house. There are fruit trees in the back yard, but nothing was ripe enough to pick, or it was already completely gone by summer. Private beach is just beautiful, busy during the day, but evenings were peaceful and quiet. We had three teenagers and two young kids, and the ping pong table kept us busy all night long. There were plenty of bikes for everyone, and lots of beach toys, including boogie boards. Waves aren't that great, but the shelling is awesome...walked away with lots of treasures. The house was clean upon arrival, in fact the housekeeper stopped by to make sure that we were satisified. The maintenance guy was extremely friendly too. NOTE: take bug spray, bugs weren't too bad until they mowed and then they came out of nowhere. Small walk to the beach. One other note, they are doing construction next door, which they start promptly at 8am (lots of noise), but wasn't unbearable. All in all, a great family vacation. Would highly recommend to anyone and would stay again if we ever get to make it back down to the island. Suggestions: Go on the Dolphin and Wildlife Cruise with Captiva Cruises, they were amazing, got us close to the dolphins and they were jumping in our waves! The kids loved it!!! Also, if you are planning on parasailing, go see the guys at YOLO Watersports on Captiva. The Sanibel Day Spa was amazing as well. Doc Fords and Bubble Room were too packed, so make sure to make reservations if you are wanting to eat there, we ended up eating at George and Wendy's. We got right in, food was great and the staff was amazing. ~Amanda (Missouri)

                    Owner response: Thank you for your kind comments Amanda. It was a pleasure working with you and your family. Your comments are very much appreciated! Mike

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Best vacation ever!

                    Best vacation ever!

                    • Guest Sara J.
                    • Date of stay 06/22/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
                    Best vacation ever- this was what we heard from our 4 children. The description for this home was very accurate, and Mike was great to work with. The home was clean, and seems to be well cared for. Yes, it is an older home, but it's loaded with Florida charm. The yard had mango trees which we made fresh smoothies with every morning. The kids enjoyed looking for lizards in the yard. Easy walking distance to the beach, and great beach for shelling. We could not have asked for more from this home. It was comfortable for 9 of us and we can't wait to stay again!

                    Owner response: Thank you Sara, We are always trying to improve the "Sanibel experience" for our guests. Your kind comments are much appreciated and please come back any time. Mike

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Family Reunion

                    Family Reunion

                    • Guest Alice (Titusville, FL )
                    • Date of stay 05/18/13
                    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
                    A small family reunion for people all over the country, found this very large house roomy enough to separate into different groups according to activities. Older folks watched TV in the family room, while others played cards on the dining room table. Little ones played in the lanai, and in their small blow-up pool in the yard. We ate mangoes as they ripen and fell to the ground each morning. The bedrooms were spaced out nicely but the sound travels badly through the many sliding doors within the house. There were 3 TV's although the ad said 4. All worked well and the little ones especially liked the DVD player to watch their special movies we brought from home. The bikes were amazing and more than enough for our needs, but some need some TLC and maybe some oiling and adjustments. The washing machine worked great, but the dryer never turned off! The garage smelled terribly when we first arrived, so moved all garbage cans to the outside of the house. Carpets and terrazo floors needed deep cleaning!!! A few steps in bare feet and the bottoms were black. Not enough TP and paper towels for 10 people, or even 4, for two weeks; we had to buy our own. Mold in bathrooms not acceptable. House needs lots of attention, paint peeling, and cabinets horrible. Need light bulbs in some spot lights. Rusting sinks in two bathrooms. Loose faucets. If we didn't have mechanics with us, we would have had to call owner more often, but they found screwdrivers or wrenches and fixed little problems. Screen door on lanai not good. Huge supply of linens and towels, but many towels are rags: holes, tears, stains, just plain worn out! Despite vast supply of kitchen things I still missed a good coffee grinder (it wouldn't grind my whole beans fine enough), a good blender, soft spatulas, SHARP knives (or at least a sharpener), and a non-stick fry pan (one there was badly scratched and we wouldn't use it). Great supply of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, etc. but short on forks. For groups this size an added refrigerator in garage for drinks would be nice-we had to use extra coolers and buy ice for the drinks. The beds were very comfortable. From reading the description online, of this house, it sounded like a much nicer one than it turned out to be, especially for the cost. It was a great, rough, beach house, and should be advertised as such. Despite the opinions of all concerned, we did have an incredible, wonderful time and the owner was a pleasure to work with!!

                    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Owner response: Dear Jim thank you for your comments, although I'm a little surprised that you didn't express your disappointment when we spoke during your stay. Often, things can be immediately remedied if I am made aware of the problem. Everything, except for maybe the " sound traveling" and the coffee bean grinder not grinding fine enough for your taste will be acted on immediately. Thank you Jim Mike

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

                  • Ocean getaway

                    Ocean getaway

                    • Guest Katie (West Salem, WI)
                    • Date of stay 03/09/13
                    • Review Submitted 03/17/13
                    Spent a wonderful week at Sandy Bottom! The house was large, clean and close to the beach. The lanai was beautiful and perfect for seven people to hang out and visit. Beach access was great and of course perfect for walking and shelling. The location is perfect for both beach goers and those who prefer a relaxed home like atmosphere. Hope to spend more time here in the future. Thanks Mike!

                    Recommended for: Age 55+.

                    Owner response: Thank you for your kind comments Katie! We are never satisfied with the status quo and always try to make our guest's Sanibel experience a memorable one. Regards Mike

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Great House, Great Location 12/22/12-12/29/12

                    Great House, Great Location 12/22/12-12/29/12

                    • Guest Jeff S. (Frisco, TX)
                    • Date of stay 12/22/12
                    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
                    My family and I were very happy with the house. It is in a great location close to the beach and a short bike ride to Doc Fords! Very spacious and pretty fully stocked. Lanai was great and big. Lots of bikes for everyone. Everyone had a great time and I would recommend this place to everyone. We had a great Christmas there. Mike called me a couple of times to check on things and to make sure we did not need anything. Great overall experience.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, tourists without a car, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Owner response: Jeff, Thank your kind comments. We keep trying to improve and guests like you and your family make it all worth while!

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Great place to stay

                    Great place to stay

                    • Guest John D.
                    • Date of stay 12/06/12
                    • Review Submitted 12/19/12
                    Had a total of 8 in our party, 5 adults & 3 kids. Size of home was very adequate. Listing description including location, layout, amenities were all correct. Pictures are all correct. Property was clean and well maintained, though it's last make-over was done in the '80's (reason for 4-stars instead of 5). Regardless, it was well kept. Neighborhood is nice making my early morning runs a pleasant experience. Mike was a pleasure to work with and always very responsive to my e-mail inquiries. The property was vacant prior to our arrival so we were allowed an early check-in free of charge (back up to 5-stars!). Crossing the causeway from Ft. Meyers to Sanibel costs $6, but free of charge going back to the mainland. Kids loved the ping-pong table (so did the adults)! We stopped at a Dillon's to stock up on supplies in Ft. Myeres. Everything on the island is a bit pricey so I recommend you do the same. Beach is a 7 min walk (front door to water). If you plan on taking chairs, coolers, beach toys, etc you'll need to drive but there is a free parking pass stuck to the door on the fridge, be sure to grab it on your way out the door. Had to ask a neighbor how to get to the beach (a very nice gentlemen). I would recommend that you provide a map showing how to get to the beach parking. Mike did send a confirmation e-mail that included a map from the airport to Sandy Bottom as well as restaurant recommendations which was very helpful. The Luminary Fest took place on Friday night which turned the main drag (Periwinkle) into a fairy tale (do a google search)! We did "backwater fishing excursion" at Adventures in Paradise. Caught some fish, saw some dolphins, all the kids and adults had fun. Ate at Doc Fords, food was very quick and VERY good. Staff was extremely nice and knowledgeable. We would stay at Sandy Bottom again! :)

                    Owner response: John, Thank you for your comments. We continue to upgrade and modernize. Flat panel tvs, new appliances, amenities, bicycles and competition ping pong table are just a few. We appreciate and always act on our guests comments.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

                  • Perfect Sanibel Home

                    Perfect Sanibel Home

                    • Guest David B.
                    • Date of stay 11/26/12
                    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
                    Had a wonderful time on Sanibel, and this house was a major part. The location is a short stroll to the deserted but beautiful beach and in a very quiet neighborhood. The beach was perfect for watching birds, collecting shells, long walk, and the nightly sunset. The house was clean upon arrival, and the spread out bedrooms allowed for privacy. The house has plenty of sheets, towels, well equipped kitchen, books, bikes, beach blankets, and lots of beach chairs. The location is perfect for bike rides to Captiva, or through the wildlife refuge. I've done many vacation rentals over the years, and honestly, this was the the best prepared house I've encountered. I would not hesitate renting this again should Sanibel be in my future adventures.

                    Owner response: David, Thank you for your kind comments. We always look for ways to improve and give our guests the best value for their vacation experience.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

                  • Wonderful week in Sanibel

                    Wonderful week in Sanibel

                    • Guest Felicity L.
                    • Date of stay 09/22/12
                    • Review Submitted 10/02/12
                    We had been to Sanibel for day trips before but never stayed, so treated ourselves to a week in this home. The house, although dated in places, is huge - there were six of us and we kept passing each other like ships in the night! There was a lounge with a TV which my two sons and their girlfriends used, another without a TV which was nice and quiet, and a huge lanae with a table tennis table which we all used from time to time! Plenty of books, and we rediscovered scrabble! There were numerous bicycles in the garage; everyone except me used them; I hadnt ridden a bike for years and tried it but didnt feel safe, so contented myself with walks to the lovely beach which took 5 mins to get to, and was virtually deserted every time we went apart from the numerous seabirds and pelicans. On one occasion we were lucky enough to see 2 dolphins quite close to shore, and again later when we walked back the appeared again. The sunsets were lovely and the weather was hot - high 80s and 90 degrees plus on two days. It never rained all the time we were there! The house was well equipped with everything you would need, and when we found there wasnt a kettle to make a cup of tea we rang the owner and he told us to go and buy one which he would reimburse us for. Now back in the UK the temperature is 30 degrees cooler than last week but we have wonderful memories of a nice relaxing laid back week!

                    Owner response: Thank you for your kind comments! Your country is also one of my favorite places to visit. We've mapped out some updating plans that will commence shortly.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

                  • Mini Family Reunion

                    Mini Family Reunion

                    • Guest Mike (Overland Park, KS)
                    • Date of stay 05/04/12
                    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
                    Our recent stay with 7 adult family members was very nice. The home contained all of the essential items that you would need. We were treated to fresh Mangos and limes from the fruit trees in the yard. We particularly enjoyed the oversized screened veranda with a nearly new Ping-Pong table. The home was short walk to the beach and close proximity to Ding Darling. While this is not our first stay on Sanibel Island it was our first time renting a home. We would certainly consider staying at this home again in the future.

                    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. Guests like you make it all worthwhile.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Wonderful Place to Enjoy Sanibel

                    Wonderful Place to Enjoy Sanibel

                    • Guest Carmeltravel (Carmel, IN)
                    • Date of stay 03/31/12
                    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
                    This home had everything we needed for our week stay - beach chairs, coolers, bikes and plenty of room to relax at home when we weren't on the beach. The owner even called to make sure we had everything we needed while we were there- he also provided a list of local restaurants and favorite spots. The home was very clean and a new couch was delivered while we were there which shows the attention to detail the owner has for his guest's comfort.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, tourists without a car, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, adventure seekers.

                    Owner response: Thank you for your kind comments! We always try to do better each year.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                   
                  Winter .. $299/night .. $2093/week
                  Summer .. $219/night .. $1533/week
                  5% discount on 2 weeks or more
                  

                  Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                  Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/12/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Owner info


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • Our pristine beach

                    Our pristine beach

                  • Typical day at our enclave's private beach

                    Typical day at our enclave's private beach

                  • Family room with fold out queen size sleeper sofa

                    Family room with fold out queen size sleeper sofa

                  • Corner of lanai

                    Corner of lanai

                  • Kitchen out to family room

                    Kitchen out to family room

                  • Breakfast bar off of Family room

                    Breakfast bar off of Family room

                  • Second Master Bedroom Queen size bed

                    Second Master Bedroom Queen size bed

                  • Bedroom 4 with 2 twin beds

                    Bedroom 4 with 2 twin beds

                  • World renowned shelling

                    World renowned shelling

                  • Our home

                    Our home

                  • Family Room opposite view

                    Family Room opposite view

                  • Living room

                    Living room

                  • Kitchen out to lanai

                    Kitchen out to lanai

                  • first Master Bedroom oversize King bed with HD TV

                    first Master Bedroom oversize King bed with HD TV

                  • Bedroom 3 with 2 twon beds & TV

                    Bedroom 3 with 2 twon beds & TV

                  • Entry Foyer

                    Entry Foyer

                  VRBO #219728

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2008.

                  Date last modified - Monday, August 12, 2013

                  26

                  4 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 10

                  View calendar: Updated 04/12/14
                  Email owner

                  (305) 793-6914 (Florida, USA)

                  Speaks: english
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement