Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View to pool and ocean from Great Room in the main house lower level

Villa Maitland: Exclusive Estate W/Private Beach! [#220176] | View Property

Cabes Point
Villa, 5 Bedrooms + Main house lower level + Cottage Living room + Great Room, 8 Baths (Sleeps 10-18)
$1,200 - $2,329/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Winter escape to the Caribbean

    Winter escape to the Caribbean

    • Guest Jenn
    • Date of stay 02/14/14
    • Review Submitted 02/27/14
    Our party of 17 had a wonderful stay at Villa Maitland. Susan was very helpful in helping accommodate our request to have the kitchen stocked for our arrival. Having three refrigerators really helped! Susan checked with us upon arrival to make sure we had what we needed for our stay. The villa was beautiful and our group enjoyed meals outside by the pool, in the kitchen and especially in the formal dining room for our last night! This is a great space for a large group with kids as there are lots of places to sit for both small conversations on the balcony and whole group games. Having the private pool was a huge bonus for our group as we had some kids swimming in the pool while others were down on the dock watching for fish or walking the waterline. The pool table was a hit with the teens. The blender in the kitchen was put to good use as we made drinks and relaxed in this beautiful home. The teenagers loved sunning on the dock and the younger kids loved swinging in the hammock. The adults loved sipping coffee in the Monkeypod as they sun rose. Beautiful place that has everything we needed to refuel, recharge and laugh together as a group.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Trip

    Amazing Trip

    • Guest Dave
    • Date of stay 02/06/14
    • Review Submitted 02/13/14
    Our stay at Villa Maitland was wonderful! It was so nice to be greeted by Michael and showed around. The house is well taken care and comfortable. The views are breathtaking! The pool is very clean and refreshing. It was a comfortable place for ten adults and a baby. We were thankful for the two pack n plays, the high chair, and the inflatable boat for the baby. We cooked there and ate in most of the time. The only thing I wish we would have known from the start was that there is a beach, Lindquist beach, that you can walk to down the road, through the woods. The friendly gardener told us that the second day of our stay. The house is great and it is close to many beaches and the town of Red Hook. Thanks for the memories, Villa Maitland! I would recommend Villa Maitland to any large group coming to the Virgin Islands.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely wonderful!

    Absolutely wonderful!

    • Guest Love the Islands! (Westchester County, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/31/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    With a GORGEOUS location facing St.John and the BVI's, Villa Maitland is a beautifully maintained, extremely spacious home. (While there we affectionately called it "the compound') 7 of us (ages 45-60) traveled to St.Thomas to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday, and Villa Maitland was simply the perfect spot. Its outdoor spaces -- the patios, the pool, the "Monkeypod," were all wonderfully relaxing and perfect for a private party. And Villa Maitland's location is so convenient to everything you need -- terrific restaurants (whether casual beach dining or more fine dining), some of the best beaches on St Thomas (Smith Bay, Sapphire, Coki), and only 5 min to the Red Hook ferry and other adventures! Last, the villa's owners and management team were all very helpful and friendly! We've been traveling to the Caribbean islands and St.Thomas and St.John for years, and we would go back to Villa Maitland in a minute! P.S. For everyone worried about the "Caribbean heat," it doesn't matter that VM doesn't have central air. You honestly don't need AC in this villa because of its location. AC in the bedrooms was perfectly sufficient!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • hess family review

    hess family review

    • Guest andy (chevy chase, md.)
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    a great house with a million dollar view. plenty of room to stretch out for our family of eight. you can play chess or checkers while looking out over the water or have a game of nine ball on the pool table in the lower area. property has a fantastic pool and small secluded beach. close to activities such as sport fishing, zip lining, snorkeling, boating and golf. minutes away from some excellant dining venues. we will definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hendricks Party

    Hendricks Party

    • Guest dee h.
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/19/13
    We spent a week at Villa Maitland. What a beautiful home! We had 13 adults in our group to celebrate some birthdays and it was perfect. We had a meal catered in that was wonderful. The staff could not have been friendlier. There was plenty of room for everyone. The large rooms and spacious living areas made it easy to have quiet time or enjoy a great day around the pool and beach. The house had everything you needed. It is hard to express how beautiful the home is. It has so much charm. We snorkeled off the private beach that had beautiful coral and colorful fish. The pool was the perfect temperature for the warm days. All of us want to go back next year. It would also be perfect to bring our kids and there families. It just had so much right at your back door and is in such a great location to Marina and the Ferry to St. John. Can't wait to vacation there again. Thanks to the Maitland family for sharing their home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Celebration Vacation

    Fabulous Celebration Vacation

    • Guest llfab (Franklin, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    My family just recently visited Villa Maitland for my son's high school graduation celebration and my husband's "milestone" birthday. We had our immediate family and 3 additional friends to total 8 in our party. From the minute we arrived at the airport, April, was there to meet us and was available throughout our trip for recommendations, helpful hints, etc. We also had April "pre-shop" for us and that was awesome to come in the first day to a fully stocked kitchen. April was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed Scout! The house is beautiful - I don't think the pictures online really capture how magnificent this property is. Not sure how you can capture such beauty of the grounds, the spacious rooms, the views of other Islands and the sound of the wind and ocean in a picture. Don't miss out on the ocean front bathroom!!! It is all so amazing. The property was very clean, the kitchen has everything imaginable. There is always a breeze through the house, but you will want the AC in the bedrooms at night. We also rented the cottage and the ones staying there - loved it!!! The pool area and little beach are great - spent a lot of time by the pool and snorkeling off the beach area. The snorkeling at Villa Maitland was better than what we saw at St. John or Coki Beach. We spotted a stingray and an octupus. We would recommend St. John for the day, Ziplining on St. Thomas and visiting one of the surround beaches. We went to Coki Beach. For restaurants - we recommend Duffy's Love Shack as a must - just to say you went there! For good entertainment and food try Latitude 18. This will be a vacation we will never forget and we all hope we can return someday!!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Vacationers from Minnesota

    Family Vacationers from Minnesota

    • Guest Marebear (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 03/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    Our family (7 adults & 2 grandchildren) stayed for 10 days at Villa Maitland. It was a wonderful experience!! The home is spacious, has a lot of character, and is in a great location! We especially enjoyed the spa bathroom where you can shower looking out at the ocean. Also, the kitchen is actually larger than the pictures display with a great counter area for fixing food or eating and great views!! The pool area was fantastic with a beach area, badminton area, Tiki hut, and snorkeling right out from the shore. The home is so convenient to the town of Red Hook with the ferry to St. Johns right there, the Food Center for groceries and great restaurants, and the ice cream shop which was the children's favorite! Also, many of the beaches are right in the area!! This was really a great vacation and the Villa Maitland made it our best family vacation yet! Thanks to April, Susan, and Ashley who helped to make it perfect!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Celebration

    Family Celebration

    • Guest Mimi (Toledo, OH)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/10/13
    Villa Maitland was the perfect setting for the gathering of our family and the celebration of our 50 th Wedding Anniversary. We have been coming to St.Thomas since the early 70's and are quite familiar with the area and the Villa in particular, so we knew that it would accommodate our large group. It far exceeded our expectations! Susan and April left no stone unturned to ensure a successful visit and party. One picture is worth a thousand words .... and the pictures truly capture the ambience of this charming Villa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Holiday

    Family Holiday

    • Guest Betsy (Grand Rapids, MI, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    We love St Thomas and staying at the Villa Maitland was one of our favorite family holidays. The location near Red Hook is very convenient. The property has a great pool, cute beach, relaxing hammock, and tiki hut. The spectacular views overlook the Carribean Sea, St John's, USVI, and Thatch Cay. The support staff was very helpful, pleasant and a wealth of information, helping us rent Sea Doos and hire excellent chefs to cook for us on two occasions. Those dinners were delicious! The ambience at the Villa Maitland lent itself to great experience for our family. Overall, we loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family getaway!

    Great family getaway!

    • Guest jennifer (Pell City, Alabama/USA)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    My family stayed at Villa Maitland for a week and truly had a great time! The view and outside area was exceptional! The listing was descripted perfectly, the home clean and well-maintained. Since we had been to St. Thomas before, we didn't feel the need to leave the property much. There was 10 of us and the house could have held many more without any cramped spaces. The only thing negative about the stay was the heat in the home. Only the bedrooms were equiped with a/c and the other main rooms could definitely have benefited from a/c especially the kitchen. The caretaker April was great in assisting us with anything! Overall it was a fantastic place to stay! A trip we will all remember for years to come! Thanks for allowing us to rent the home!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Family Vacation!

    A Perfect Family Vacation!

    • Guest Steve (Bloomfield Hills, MI)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/19/12
    What a wonderful place for our family so celebrate the Christmas holiday! Our party of 10 consisted of 5 kids, 4 parents and a grandmother. We used both the main house and the beach house giving us plenty of space to spread out. The rooms are huge, the views are sensational, and the house and kitchen had all the ammenities we could ask for. There was a constant breeze blowing through the open windows making it very comfortable and relaxing. This property is very private, but also very convieniently located. It sits between two gorgeous beaches allowing a short walk to either the quiet Smith-Bay Beach on one side, or the more popular Sapphire Beach on the other side where we went para-sailing and jet skiing. It's also just a few minutes away from restaurants, groceries and the ferry in Red Hook. I couldn't imagine a better location. Our week went by way too fast and we'd love to come back for a longer stay at Villa Maitland! Thank you for a fantastic vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Unforgettable Stay at Villa Maitland!

    Unforgettable Stay at Villa Maitland!

    • Guest Stacy (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/26/11
    Our group of 10 stayed at beautiful Villa Maitland from Sep 11-18, 2011. A bit delayed from TS Maria, we were so happy that we had the provisioning services of Susan and caretaker Johnny to meet us upon arrival! That started our stay perfectly, we had all we needed and didn’t have to do a thing after our long travel day. The pictures do not do the property justice, the house is so large and gorgeous! We had so much space for our group, it was so great to be able to spread out and enjoy ourselves. The pool is shallow enough for kids and adults to enjoy (our group was all adults). There were basically 2 bathrooms for every room! It was beautiful to sit on the pool deck and watch the boats go by and enjoy the day. Red Hook is nearby and so easy to catch the car ferry to go to St. John to explore. The drive from St. Thomas is relatively easy, even more so once you get a lay of the land. Staying at the Villa just made our trip so much easier - 100% better than any hotel/condo that you could book. The comfort of your own private home and pool with the most phenomenal view you could ask for, close to so many beaches and amenities. A huge thanks to Johnny and Susan for their hospitality, and THANK YOU so much Davies/Maitland family for sharing your home with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • good times..come on in!

    good times..come on in!

    • Guest johnny (north carolina)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/11/11
    we had a great time at this house! we had stayed at hotels in the past and the house made this trip far better for our 8 person group(6 kids).a great deal for the money, the pool,game room,snorkling out front,views and location made this trip special.this house is very open and roomy inside.the decor takes you back in time and is relaxing to the mind.its not brand new..but just what we needed! the owners and the caretaker where very helpful to our needs..so like I said "come on in!"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the lovely review! We are glad to hear your group had a great time - it is a fantastic and relaxing house -- very open and comfortable. "come on in" is a wonderful way to put it! please think of us for your next St Thomas get away ... all best, The Maitland Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SO Beautiful!

    SO Beautiful!

    • Guest Jenna (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 03/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/25/11
    Hoping to get a complete change of scenery from snowy Chicago, my husband, my sister and brother-in-law and our 6 kids booked a stay at Villa Maitland. We've been to St. Thomas many times before, but never have we seen it like this! The property's stunning beauty, location, and shear spaciousness totally transformed our vacation. Usually we stay at a condo or a couple of hotel rooms but Villa Maitland made our trip so much more memorable because we could all be together as little or as much as we wanted! Even within the property itself there are so many great lounge areas to talk or read or watch tv or just watch the waves and sailboats pass by. The kids stayed in the cottage and we grown-ups enjoyed the ability to have late night games of pool out by the ocean (and our privacy!). It was amazing to be able to watch the sunrise from our bedroom window and see the sun set from the pier. The house is well-appointed and had all the supplies we needed to feel at home. There are a lot of grocery options near-by in Red Hook so it was easy to get everything we needed for our trip. We had great weather and pretty calm waters which always helps! Being so close to Smith Bay beach was so nice! It is much less crowded than Megan's Bay and really beautiful. The kids could kayak there from the house and snorkel in the clear blue waters while we drove and brought a pic-nic. My sister forgot her sunglasses but since we were so close the boys ran back to get them and were back in 10 minutes. St. John is also really easy to get to from the house. Just a quick ride up the road and we were in Cruz bay within the hour. I am almost hesitant to post this review because I don't want this place to be discovered! We are already planning our next trip back to Villa Maitland! Thanks, Johnny and Maitland family! - The McKenney's & Kaplan Clan

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Thom V.
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    This was the perfect spot for a family vacation. We needed to escape the bad weather in the East Coast, so decided to book a last minute vacation in the Caribbean -- we're so glad that the property was available! It was a perfect way to spend quality time together without having to always go out to restaurants (we stayed in every night); we watched movies and played games in the evenings, after having explored the island or just spending the day exploring the property. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Andrew S.
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    We stayed in villa maitland for a week with a bunch of friends. there were 14 of us and we thought it was the perfect amount of space, no one was on top of each other and we had plenty of bathrooms to go around. We had a great time- used the kayak to explore the surrounding waters and had a private chef come to the house one night for an amazing celebratory dinner. The privacy, space and views were our favorite features- we barely left the whole time except to go grocery shopping!! we hope to get a chance to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Leslie A.
    • Date of stay 12/18/10
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    From the first moment we walked into Villa Maitland, we felt at home --- warm, comfortable and relaxed. The owners left a lovely welcome basket for us with some snacks and drinks; we really appreciated that. There were some fresh flowers in the living room (that we replenished during our stay from the lovely flowering plants in the garden), that really set the mood for a tropical welcome. The home is not only decorated beautifully with some antiques and beautiful artwork, but also had ample space for a large group to gather. I'm an early riser, so my favorite time was sunrise, watching the sky turn from dark to deep oranges and pinks from behind St. John; our favorite spot was on the beach, with some of us in the tiki hut, some on loungers and one or two of us on the hammock in the shade of the beautiful palm trees. We had a great time and we'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jim C.
    • Date of stay 09/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    What a beautiful house! We have been to st thomas a few times, but this is the first time we discovered this part of the island. We love red hook and its cool shops, restaurants and fun bars- we went to st john for a day too, which was much quicker and easier than I expected- the ferry is literally 5 minutes from the house. We did have a plumbing issue in one of the bathrooms in the guest house, but the nice caretaker quickly came to our rescue and fixed the clog. There is only air conditioning in the bedrooms- so that was a draw back for some people who had to stay on sofa beds in the living areas but the breeze made it ok. Overall we had a really good time and we love the location!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Times

    Great Times

    • Guest Passin' Through (Butler, PA, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    Wow, had a great time. Really enjoyed the stay, accomodations (14 of us from infant to 65), and hospitality of Johnny! We have stayed all over the island and this stay on the east end was the easiest and most convenient (everything you might need is right around the corner in Red Hook). we loved the house and its seclusion. Snorkling was easy and fabulous. The breeze coming down Drake's Passage and between St John and Cabe's Point was very pleasant. We enjoyed it so much that we are planning a total of three weeks naxt time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amanda M.
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    My girlfriends and I had an amazing time in St. Thomas and at Villa Maitland. We just wish we had more time to enjoy it (one week is not enough!). We spent a day shopping in downtown Charlotte Amalie, a day in St. John, we swam, snorkeled (one day we saw turtles and puffer fish!) and, kayaked to Smith Bay and Sapphire beach, ate (loved Duffy's Love Shack and Molly Malones in Red Hook), slept, read, watched TV, made really good meals on the grill and enjoyed some tropical drinks we concocted! The property was really large and had a lot of cool little features than even described in the listing. Even before we left, we began planning our next trip back and hope to stay at the same property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lauren L.
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 03/01/11
    We went to Villa Maitland over Easter.. Be prepared when you open the front door of the Villa and be stunned by the breathtaking views. If it wasn't too windy, we just slid back the sliders and it gave us limitless views of the water and the islands close by. It was also fun to watch the para-sailers (?) and other pleasure boats pass by. The house itself was perfect for us, the grown-ups stayed in the main house and the kids (teenagers) stayed in the cottage. The main house is more carribbean colonial/classical in decor and the cottage a bit younger and funkier -- all in all a perfect stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Caution

    Caution

    • Guest worldtravel (USA)
    • Date of stay 12/19/09
    • Review Submitted 05/10/10
    There may have been a time when this property was like that in the description, but like many grande dams of yesteryear it has fallen in ill repair. Although, there have been some renovations on the cottage and a room or 2 in the main house, overall it is worn and weathered, with certainly safety concerns in some area's. The lack of upkeep and filthy, worn furniture made it impossible to feel relaxed or comfortable in the house. The pool deck, pier, and tiny sand area were ill-kept, and the exterior of the house in need of repair and paint. The kitchen in the main house, was poorly equipped for cooking meals, and the cottage kitchen impractical due to lack of dishes, cookware and basic appliances. Air conditioner's were in bedrooms only, and several worked intermittent. This property is better considered, if its renovated and upgraded for parties with 8 or fewer adults accommodated by the bedrooms, and 6-8 children accommodated on the various pullout couches. But be cautioned this property description isn't accurate. . . The owner/manager were very helpful with answering questions and concerns, which made me quite surprised when we arrived and found such an ill-suited house. The water nearby is gorgeous, but in my opinion is a relied upon asset to soften the disappointment of the many issues of the grounds and property itself. I cannot recommend this property to a friend or relative.

    Owner response: We are sorry that the guests were disappointed, but we worked with them during their stay and our caretaker reported that they had a good time, and that despite some of their issues, they were pleased overall and promised not write a negative review. Nevertheless, the group posted the review 5 months after their stay (during which time, most of their comments were addressed). It was a very large group of 22 (we have since decided not to rent it to such large groups, even though the house can accommodate that number). For instance, they complained that the kitchen did not have enough matching china, though the caterer found plenty of dishware by using both the main kitchen and the cottage kitchen supplies. Nevertheless, we subsequently purchased 3 sets of matching dinnerware for 8, and a microwave for the cottage, so there should be no further issues there. There are air conditioners only in the bedrooms (as the website indicates). During the group's stay, they also complained about mosquitoes and hermit crabs outside. It's the tropics, and perhaps St. Thomas was just not for them! Incidentally, since their stay, we have purchased new bedding and furniture for bedrooms in the cottage and main house. There is nothing inaccurate in the description on the website -- no staged photos; as a matter of fact we took all of the photos ourselves with a simple automatic digital camera. Even the flowers in some of the pictures are from the garden-- no professional photographers, lenses, or stagers were involved! The pool deck and beach are in good shape. We had the whole pool redone 3 years ago. There is a long concrete pier out into the ocean that has some cracks from the last hurricane, but as long as people are careful, as they would need to be walking on any pier, there should be no safety issues . The entire exterior is being painted and completely refinished in March, 2011. If guests are looking for a brand new villa with granite counters, infinity pools and cookie-cutter amenities, Villa Maitland is probably not the best choice, but the reviewer is right about one thing: Villa Maitland it is a grande dame with all that entails – some wrinkles and creaks (any building directly on the ocean suffers aging!) but also a spacious, one-of-a-kind, gracious home, full of special touches and undeniable charm with sweeping ocean views, beautiful mature gardens, and a lovely, private beach.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/16



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]