Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from the back patio

Mountain House with Spectacular Views [#220587] | View Property

Underhill Center
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 15
$675 - $775/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Surprise Bday

    Surprise Bday

    • Guest Surprise (Boston,MA )
    • Date of stay 01/24/14
    • Review Submitted 01/28/14
    This home was huge and in an amazing location. The views from the home were breathe taking! It accommodated all of our needs from snow tubing, sleding, cooking, and relaxing! We had the pleasure of meeting the wonderful neighbor's dog, Amos AKA Bear. It was a perfect weekend in a perfect home. Thank you!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: The views from the house are, indeed, stunning. Whether you are washing dishes and looking out to the Adirondack sunset to the west, or looking out the living room window towards the fields and pond, or sitting at the dining room table watching the mountain slowly grow pink, you will enjoy what you see. You may even see moose, deer, or a fox passing by. A walk into the woods behind the house is a birders delight as well. We are so glad that our renters appreciate the special combination of the beauty outside and the comfort inside.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mountain Home in Underhill Vt

    Mountain Home in Underhill Vt

    • Guest Dyan (Pgh PA)
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/07/13
    Beautiful views at the base of Mt Mansfield. Several problems with poor maintenance of the house. We stayed for 10 days and the hot tub stopped working after 1 use. This was a big loss for our family. Owners were notified but claimed the only technician they called was busy. Owner called to repair plumbing problems and repair outside lights. Disappointed with housekeeping issues as well.cPlenty of separate sleeping areas and a well stocked kitchen. Views are stunning but the windows really needed cleaned. Not recommended for people that have mobility issues due to the uneven stairs up to the front door. We loved the beauty of the home but it is old and was in need of repairs .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We are happy to get feedback from our renters and do everything we can to make sure all is well during their stay. It is frustrating for both the renter and the owner when things aren't just right. As is stated in the lease, we make every effort possible to fix things, and we certainly tried our best during this rental. 1. The plumbing leak in the basement and light (bulb tightened) were fixed in less than 24 hours. 2. The hot tub breakdown was during the last few days of the rental , and after 4 calls to the technician, we were told that he was completely booked (it was a Friday). It was fixed on Monday. 3. During the post-rental House Check, the front door step was evaluated, and we agreed that the step up was a few inches too high. This was helpful feedback and the step has been improved. 4. During the Owner’s time at the house, during the plumbing repair, nothing was mentioned about unclean windows, or the step. We were informed after the renters had left, otherwise these would have been addressed immediately. The house is very thoroughly cleaned by a professional team between each rental, and then receives a second inspection after that cleaning. We are very proud of our beautiful property and gorgeous location. As can be seen by our other reviews, many renters have had wonderful experiences staying at Mansfield House. One review below reads “a little slice of heaven”, and another wrote “the owners couldn’t have been more helpful,” and yet another wrote “The house is very tastefully appointed and charming and very clean.” We work hard to make sure that this is everyone’s experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Family get together

    Family get together

    • Guest Jean H. (England)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
    What a fabulous location for a family get together. Our family gathered from the UK, Sweden and US for a week at the end of July. Finding a place for 14 in a suitable location where we could run, hike, swim, cycle and canoe was not easy but Mansfield House ticked all those boxes as well as providing plenty of bedrooms, living space, a large well kept garden with wild areas and a swimming pond with beach. It is a comfortable house with a real homely feel. We felt privileged to be able to share this family home, the photographs, the books, games and a kitchen equipped like at home. It was great that the kids could find plenty to do without us having to go out. A lot of time was spent down at the swimming pond, catching frogs and fish, canoeing round the island, building sandcastles as well as swimming. The hot tub, a luxury extra, was enjoyed by all. Days out included Burlington where we swam, canoed, paddle boarded and cycled before visiting the brew pub in the evening; hiking Mount Mansfield, cycling on the Stow cycle path and canoeing down the river. It was good to meet Betsy when she called to fix a couple of minor problems before the next visitors arrived

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Our parents built Mansfield House to accommodate their growing number of grandchildren and their love of getting all our family together comfortably. We have left the "hall of photos" as so many have told us how interesting they are - especially the photos of four generations wearing the hand-embroidered, family wedding dress. The house does have a special way of accommodating many generations of family activities as well. When the renters requested that I come and check a fuse, it was delightful to see everyone having such a good time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Family of 14

    Family of 14

    • Guest Lisa E.
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    We are so thankful to the Mansfield House family for sharing their beautiful home. Our group, ranging in age from 6 to 72, had a wonderful time there. We found the house and grounds ideal for our family reunion. It being summer at the time of our visit, the extensive gardens were in full bloom and the pond and clear, cool mountain stream running nearby provided welcome relief from the heat. The house and grounds offered plenty of room for our large group to spread out and multiple areas to enjoy cocktails while taking in the lovely views each evening. "A little slice of heaven" is a fitting description of the property.

    Manager response: We're happy that you were able to accommodate family of all ages. Our family has always found it easy to manage children, teens and everything else, especially in the summer when everyone can find space outside around the pond, out on the terrace, or in the kitchen dining area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Most Wonderful Vacation

    A Most Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Doreen (Cranston, RI)
    • Date of stay 05/16/13
    • Review Submitted 05/23/13
    I just wanted to thank you for sharing your wonderful family home with us this past weekend to celebrate our daughter's college graduation. Your beautiful home, fully appointed kitchen, the mountains, the pond, the picture perfect weather, and being surrounded by family and friends - made for a perfect weekend celebration! While your photos certainly accurately describe the setting - in person, it is really breathtaking! The owners could not have been more helpful - and offered very helpful suggestions regarding event rentals, local restaurants, directions, etc. I would highly recommend this property as a setting for a perfect vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: We're so glad that this was a great place for a graduation party and family gathering. The house lends itself to communal meals and there is plenty of space outside for play and relaxation. We are also grateful for the condition of the house after you left--it was spotless and everything in the kitchen was in its place. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Diana (Wellesley, MA)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    We had such a wonderful stay in the house. The house is very tastefully appointed and charming and very clean. It really didn't seem like a rental as it had all sort of nicknacks and books and cookbooks - as if someone really lives there. The kitchen had every sort of cooking utensil you could ever need and in fact it seemed like we were staying at a friend's house rather than a rental. It is located in a quiet lovely spot with mountain and meadow views. Everyone fell in love with the huge black lovable Newfoundland that welcomed us when we arrived. The house is great for two families. We had 4 adults, 2 small children and 6 older teenagers and had more than enough room. The house seems to have 3 sections: two bedrooms on the left side - one with a queen and one with a king - for the adults with a shared bath, which can be closed off from the living room for privacy (or to keep out the noise), a large kitchen and living room section with huge real fireplace, and then another bedroom section on the otherside of the house that sleeps 12 (4 bedrooms and a den with queen pullout couch) - perfect for all the kids to take over that part of the house. The kitchen setup was great for group cooking and chatting. We got all the kids making homemade pizzas around the large center island and they all had a ball. Even our teenagers absolutely loved the house and want to go back - especially for the hot tub and snow rolling at night! Patricia was also so helpful answering questions and even mailing back some shoes we had left there. We all hope to go back next year for a longer stay. Thank you for such a nice memory!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: This is in fact our very well-loved family home that our mom and dad designed and built. We want it to feel homey and comfortable, but uncluttered so renters have plenty of space. The kitchen is really good fun for group cooking, and the two separate sleeping areas are very well-suited to the needs of differing age groups. We are so grateful to have renters who treat our property with care and respect, and enjoy our property as their own home-away-from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Winter Family vacation

    Winter Family vacation

    • Guest Mathieu A. (Montréal, Québec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    We rented the house for one week for our winter vacations. We were 3 families, with young children, for a total of 13 people. The house was simply perfect for our needs. The house is simply beautiful. Plenty of space, everything was clean and in working order. Owners are very helpful. We recommand the place without any shadow of a doubt.

    Manager response: It sounds like the kids had fun playing a bit of hockey in the large parking area - fun we hadn't thought of yet. We love it that adults and kids have a good time at the house!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Brittany W.
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/24/13
    The view from the house is absolutely gorgeous. Every single person is my party had a fantastic time and want to return this coming year. Perfect for outdoor activities such as sledding, ice skating, skiing, and hiking. The hot tub was perfect after a day of skiing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Manager response: Winter is a very special time at Mansfield House. The mountain views become more stunning, the sunsets more colorful, and the roaring fire and hot tub more delicious. We are very happy to be providing a delightful getaway for our guests!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great spot for meeting up with family and friends

    Great spot for meeting up with family and friends

    • Guest Ketra (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 09/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    We had a wonderful time - the house and location are so spectacular that we never wanted to leave. There was plenty of room for our celebration, and the two wings of the house made sleeping arrangements perfect for accommodating different schedules with young kids and night owls. Everyone who came with us raved about what a peaceful, beautiful spot it was. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Manager response: We are delighted to host groups so that they can enjoy our large space that never feels overcrowded. There is a large living room, plus a cozy den, sleeping areas at two ends of the house, three full bathrooms, and a large kitchen and dining room table which make cooking and dining easy and fun for everyone. Our family likes to gather around the kitchen island preparing dishes at each corner, avoiding elbow bumping while also enjoying each other's company. Plus there are two ovens! All and all a great spot for groups and family reunions.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • family reunion

    family reunion

    • Guest Diane K. (Jericho, VT)
    • Date of stay 07/02/12
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    We rented this lovely home in order to host a family reunion, including two sets of grandparents. The house accommodated us quite comfortably. We spent a part of each day relaxing at the pond and enjoyed cooking in the spacious, well stocked kitchen and took advantage of the mountain for hiking adventurers. The badminton court was also well used. With plenty of room to spread out both old and young were able to enjoy the activities, yet still have peace and quiet when needed. The photos accurately depict the house, although it really is even better in person. I highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Truly a home away from home

    Truly a home away from home

    • Guest Terrie e.
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 07/01/12
    Our family had a magical time at the Mansfield House. The mountain views were magnificent. The swimming pond was a blast, couldn't keep the kids away. The flowers were in full bloom. The home has a warm, family feel. Each night our family of 16 spent hours at the family dinner table, ending the night around the fireplace watching TV. A place were our family spent carefree timelessness.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Stay

    Fantastic Stay

    • Guest Ken (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/12
    Mansfield house was perfect for our annual ski trip with a dozen friends. From the setting in rolling hills and mountains, to the cozy kitchen, dining room and great room, to the little touches like the towel basket for the hot tub, it was great all-round. The snow conditions were even beyond our expectations in this wonky winter!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Mansfield House is an awesome location for skiers, with so many downhill and XC skiing locations to choose from. And the spectacular view of the mountain from the hot tub is a delicious treat at the end of the day. We're delighted to be providing a classic Vermont ski vacation setting for our renters.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very nice house

    Very nice house

    • Guest Bear (Millsboro, DE)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/28/11
    We really enjoyed staying at the Mountain House. It is an older house with many new upgrades. The kitchen was nice and big and had everything we needed to cook in and make home cooked meals. Having 2 gas grills outback of the house was really nice too.The bathrooms were awesome with large shower areas and plenty of water pressure. Our kids loved playing/swimming in the pond and we enjoyed a camp fire by the pond 2 night, singing camp songs and telling stories. The neighbor was very friendly and helpful and the kids loved her dog too. It was very peaceful and quiet at the house in the evening with an AWESOME view of the mountain. The owner was great to deal with and returned emails and phone calls promptly. The Underhill Store was small but very well stocked. The girl at the counter, Kelsey, was very helpful and friendly. We thank you for the rental of your house and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vermont Reunion Spot

    Perfect Vermont Reunion Spot

    • Guest Win (Anchorage, AK)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/10/11
    We had a delightful week-long reunion with family in Underhill. The house was great for entertaining groups of 30-40 people, and very comfortable for the 8 of us that stayed there. Beautiful gardens and a magnificent view of Mt Mansfield just beyond the backyard. The pond was daily entertainment for our kids. Hiking the mountain along the Sunset Ridge trail, and spending a morning walking the creek and catching/releasing trout were all part of the fun. We look forward to returning soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Manager response: The Mansfield House setting does lend itself to so many different activities! We're delighted that our guests all find new adventures. As kids, we all remember going boulder-hopping in the nearby brook, catching trout, and dipping in its crisp, clear pools. All the trails up Mansfield offer something different as well, and the pond is perfect for cooling off afterward! It all adds up to a classic summer spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mansfield House

    Mansfield House

    • Guest Beth ( Underhill, Vermont)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/17/11
    The house and its setting were absolutely magical. The bedrooms were exceptionally comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed. The pond was delightful for swimming. We had 16 people of all ages and we want to come again next year

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical...

    Magical...

    • Guest lulu (Encinitas, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    We had a wonderful time at the Mansfield House. The house is very comfortable for large groups, rooms were clean and plenty of sleeping room, with lots of areas for kids and adults to play. The kitchen is well stocked - and we came up with a new reality tv show "The Country Store Challenge", see who can cook the best dinner with ingredients from the well stocked local country store. Lazing by the pond, watching a lightning storm through the living room windows, playing scrabble and seeing the meadow covered in the glow of firefly light - truly a special, magical place!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Manager response: We are delighted that the fireflies put on a grand performance! Ok, future renters, the Country Store Challenge is on! Lucky for you all, a wonderful chef and caterer just took over the store.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Experience!

    Great Experience!

    • Guest L. Bower (Sydney, Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/08/10
    We rented the Mountain House for a family renunion, and had a great experience! The house was enjoyed by all ages - from 10 to 88! The well equipped kitchen was great for family breakfasts, and dinners too! The property is beautiful, with gorgeous views all around. Our large group was extremely comfortable. Thank you for a great visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just a perfect mountain home and holiday

    Just a perfect mountain home and holiday

    • Guest Liz (New York)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    We stayed at Mansfield house for a long weekend. Our large family (me and my husband, our 3 kids and their wives and one baby) were gathering for the wedding of my niece. The house fit us so well. Bedrooms for everyone! A fantastic lay out for privacy. Great kitchen. But the best part was the setting. We swam in the crystal clear pond with its sandy beach all weekend long. We hiked right out the back door. We picked apples from the trees on the property. We lounged around and looked up at the mountain looming in the backyard. It was just a magical setting. And contact with the owner was easy and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A home away from home!

    A home away from home!

    • Guest Greg (Finger Lakes)
    • Date of stay 08/13/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/10
    Great setting and great accomodations. This house is everthing and more. If you are looking for a large, clean, picturesque VT setting, the Mansfield House is your place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great getaway

    Great getaway

    • Guest Rimo (Laval, Qc, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/02/10
    Great house, amazing location with Mt Mansfield as backdrop. Very large land with many hiking trails, crystal clear pond with a managed beach area, very nice general store at 5 minutes car distance with steak, vine and all you need. House kitchen is remarquably equipped and living room area with sound system, satellite TV, interne. Again very nice country house design. We had a very great week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Celeste
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 05/21/10
    The place was great!Really happy with the house and it was plenty big for our group (we didn't even use one of the bedrooms).

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Kristine
    • Date of stay 01/01/10
    • Review Submitted 05/21/10
    We want to reserve for the next ten years!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]