Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lanai Views to 3 islands of Kaho'olawe, Molokini, and Lanai

Makena Surf B303 Beachfront from $495/nt [#220784] | View Property

Makena
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$495 - $795/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Maui vacation

    Maui vacation

    • Guest David W.
    • Date of stay 03/23/14
    • Review Submitted 04/10/14
    This is the first time we have used VRBO to book a holiday. I researched our rental as much as I could before putting down all of our non refundable money. After having a brief email discussion I tried to called the owners but there was no answer. Seems they were on vacation in Mexico and couldn't speak to me. Seemed odd and a little disconcerting. I wanted to speak to an actual person before I sent the non-refundable funds off into cyberspace. Didn't happen so was a little stressful until I finally managed to reach them just before leaving. This unti is essentially right on the beach. My wife and I brought our 14 year old daughter and her two friends: five of us in our group. Plenty of room for us all. The Murphy bed is a better choice than a sofa sleeper. Not really any surprises although we were unable to get a top sheet for the Murphy bed as the housekeepers said they couldn't access the locked linen closet. Thought that was odd as they did manage to access it as soon as they arrived when we were checking out. Has some carpeting which I personally don't like in a vacation rental on the beach. The unit looks a little tired even though there are some decent newer looking appliances. All the dishes, cutlery, pots and pans etc. could use an upgrade. (We could only fit in 6 nights at the Surf and had to move to the Palms at Wailea which is half the cost but was much better equipped. Granted, its not ocean front but still, it can't be that expensive to keep those details up to date. It looks like this unit is for sale so I suppose the owners don't want to invest in it any more than the have to at this point.). The view from the unit is unparallelled and we ate our dinner on the deck each night while watching whales and such. One of two pools is located directly behind and the girls spent a lot of time back and forth between the beach and ocean without any real need for supervision. Its a great place for kids to roam freely and be very well entertained. The swimming, boogey boarding and snorkeling with the turtles was great as we could do it all each day. Other than shopping for food and such the location makes one rather stationary during one's holiday there. Price is decent in relation to other units but I still think that for $600+ USD per night, providing extra bath and dishwasher soap isn't much to ask for and would have been welcomed as its a nuisance to shop for small quantities of those items while on holidays. All in all, we had a good time there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Owner refused to honor rental agreement

    Owner refused to honor rental agreement

    • Guest disappointed (Vancouver, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 02/13/14
    In April 2013, we booked this unit for the 2013 Christmas holidays through the property management company that was managing the unit and entered into a rental agreement. In September 2013, we were required to pay the remaining balance in full for our booking. In October 2013, the management company advised that they were no longer managing the unit and that management of the unit was now being done by the owners. Five days into our stay, we contacted the owner to find out why we had not received the housekeeping services included in the rental contract. The owner denied that the housekeeping services were part of the rental contract. We contacted the property management company who was managing the unit at the time of the booking and asked them to confirm to the owner that the rental contract included housekeeping services. The property management company contacted the owner who advised that they simply refused to provide the housekeeping services under the rental contract. The owners wanted to provide a more limited linen change service and suggested that we separately negotiate with and pay the person providing linen services to do the additional housekeeping. The owners had collected our payment in full including housekeeping and then expected us to pay for housekeeping again! We spent several days during our vacation making phone calls and writing emails trying to convince the owners to honor the rental contract, but they refused and did not care about the fact that they were breaking the rental contract terms since they had already received payment in full from the property management company. The whole experience was a negative start to our holidays. Luckily for us, the former property management company agreed to provide housekeeping at their cost because they were so embarrassed that the owners were not honoring the rental contract. As pointed out by previous reviewers, this unit has a fabulous view but is average in appearance and amenities. The listing photos do not show that the bathrooms need updating. We had a similar experience to other reviewers in that the owner tried to convince us to go up and down three flights of dimly lit stairs to use common area barbeques rather than consume the propane in their perfectly good barbeque on the lanai. The unit is for sale and a showing was requested during our stay. We love Makena Surf and will be back to the resort, but definitely not to this unit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: This tenant is not telling an accurate story on the "housekeeping issue" because they were not copied in most correspondence. The previous Manager explained during the 60 day transition to new management, that the services they performed are Daily Towel Service and every 3-4 day Linen Service. So that is what new management performed on the first two transition tenants including this tenant. When this tenant complained then the Director of Operations of previous management got involved. He further explained in an email that the terms "Towel" and "Linen" service "are terms we use to describe a suite of tasks" which include a daily light clean. We asked old management to finish the tenants housekeeping and they responded "unfortunately this would expose us to liability risks.....decline your invitation". The next day a following email from old management stated "After consideration, I would like to accept your offer to provide housekeeping services for....." The Guest and Master Bathrooms have new paint, new shower and sink fixtures, new shelving, new toilets, new pictures, and new towel racks. The Guest Bathroom also has a new mirror and new light fixture. All of this was done recently and I do not understand the comment "need updating". The Barbeque's near the Swimming Pool and Tennis Courts are larger so they cook quicker and, accordingly, better than our smaller lanai barbeque. This tenant broke our chaise lounge during their tenancy and never reported it to us. Our subsequent requests for reimbursement have been ignored. We have been told by VRBO that nearly every rental gets a "difficult tenant". These tenants could easily qualify!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing beach and Lanai.

    Amazing beach and Lanai.

    • Guest Hawaii lover (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/14
    In looking at the other reviews the negative comments are different from what we found. We never had any issues with the cleanliness of the unit, dealing with housekeeping or dealing with the owners. It all went very smoothly. The pictures are representative of what you get. We picked this place because it was quiet, away from the crowds and faced onto the beach. For approx. half the nights of our stay in April we saw whales in the distance and we saw several turtles swim right up to the beach in front of us. We travelled to several beeches around Maui and in our opinion this was by far the best beach in Maui. We kept asking ourselves why we kept trying different beaches when the best one, by far, was right in front of us. Most nights there are weddings on the beach. On one night there were 3 weddings, so that tells you something about the quality of the beach. They are low key weddings with just a couple of people each so they don't bother you in any way. If you didn't look out the lanai you wouldn't know they were there. Finally, the snorkeling is great right in front of the complex so you don't have to take an excursion. On most days the tour boats pull up near the complex and drop off the snorkelers. Again, its not in front of you so it is very unobtrusive. If you didn't look that way you wouldn't know they were there and they are completely gone in an hour. Besides, if you want to save money you have tour quality snorkeling right in front of you. The lanai and the furniture on the lanai are great. The pictures don't actually do it justice. Inside the condo are 2 bedrooms with a bathroom for each one. Realistically we spent most of our time on the lanai so what was inside really didn't matter. Since we stayed they updated the oven and the microwave, which is good as they needed replacing. My only negatives are the underside of the tiles on the island eating area are a bit sharp and the high stools can result in some scratches from the tiles. Also the beds are too firm for us, but that's our opinion. Its a third floor unit so if you have any issues with stairs this may not be the unit for you. On the plus side it gives you a better view of the beach and the whales. So its a trade off. We would stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Accurate

    Accurate

    • Guest David (North Salt Lake, Utah)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    We thought we'd found the best Hawaii has to offer over on Kauai, in an isolated beach house that we've stayed at many times; but Makena Surf is an equal! The property, and this condo itself, are truly awesome, and we had a wonderful 8 days on Maui. I would say that the information in the listing is very accurate. The unit is well-appointed and clean. I would definitely recommend it to friends, and we will be back again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your very kind review. We have been the original owners of Makena Surf and now watching our Grandchildren enjoying it along with the three generations. We try to keep it updated and so happy you enjoyed everything. We have several family's that return and feel like it is there home in Maui. Sally

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maui vacation

    Maui vacation

    • Guest Barb (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    Our stay was fantastic. The condo was clean and well maintained and the view is AMAZING! We saw a humpback whale have a baby and then gently push it across the ocean in front of the condo for about two hours. The beach sand is soft and it isn't too crowded with people. The property owner was very helpful and prompt with her responses to any questions. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone visiting Maui and we will be returning to stay there as well. There are lots of activities to do and our favourite was snorkelling, the turtles are amazing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Incredible Location

    Incredible Location

    • Guest lovetotravel (San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    The best thing about this condo is its location. It is truly spectacular, right on the most gorgeous beach in Maui with floor to ceiling windows and a great lanai. You should know that ANY building at Makena Surf is wonderful. You don't need to be in B building to have a wonderful ocean view or to be close to the ocean. Getting to the beach requires a one minute walk down a beautiful pathway. Snorkeling is fabulous and the turtles swim right up to you in shallow water. My rating would have been 5 stars except for a few things that could easily be fixed, if the owner cared to fix them. My impression is that the owner cares about the rental income derived from this property but doesn't care about making it match the luxury price charged. For example, I slept in the "2nd" bedroom in a twin bed. The bottom sheet had a rip in it and did not fit the bed - it slipped all over. The mattress protector was pathetic. The top sheet was a king sheet that had been folded in half so didn't tuck in. The blanket looked like one I had in college decades ago. We literally had trouble reading in the living room - invest in some lightbulbs stronger than 40 watts. There were no basic supplies; we had literally 1/2 roll of toilet paper in each bathroom, 1/2 roll of paper towels and no tissues at all. The promised call from the concierge never came. When I pay this much for a rental property, I expect things to both be in place and to be luxurious - I don't want to spend my vacation time making calls to follow up on something that isn't right. We stayed in another VRBO property in Napili the week before - that property was pristine and completely opposite in the care the owner displayed for the property and for making sure that her guests had a wonderful time. I would stay at Makena Surf again in a heartbeat and probably will. But unless changes are made to this unit, I would not stay in B303 again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I just read this review and we are so sorry. Our cleaning and management were not doing their job. We are going over and hiring a new team and get our condo the way it should be. There is no excuse for the bad mattress protector and sheets. Plus she is suppose to leave extra toilet paper in each bathroom plus new paper towels in the kitchen. She did say she tried to phone but no answer on the condo land line. From now on we will have our guest cell phone number. I did write this guest and apologize and she wrote me back appreciating our concern and would stay again if we make the improvements that will be done as soon as possible. We have owned this condo for 28 years and have always gotten wonderful reviews. After this review we realized we had a problem and the job was not getting done properly. We are hiring a whole new team and B 303 will look and be the way it should be. We are already working on the problems. Sally and Bart Hackley

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • To be honest, the title is exaggerated. Location is nice; unit is average.

    To be honest, the title is exaggerated. Location is nice; unit is average.

    • Guest Jim (Southern California)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/31/12
    Again, I am attempting to be very honest. I have been to Hawaii many times and have stayed in a variety of places over 3 islands. I have never left this kind of review despite many travels. To start, I would note that the location is beautiful, and the beach outside is fun. The unit however is just ok. I felt like the description and the photos do not really capture the unit's appearance. The unit is a bit dated, and could use an upgrade. I did not like that the owners attempted to get me to sign another contract two days before I was going to enter, which made me insecure about my accommodations. A series of emails were sent by the owners that overlooked my online booking, and while I was en route, threatened problems if I didn't sign a new one! (That was not good!) Also, on our first night, we prepared for a beautiful dinner out on the deck overlooking the ocean/sunset and we prepared for a deck barbecue. We were all prepared to eat,and fixed everything except the main course, and then . . . the barbecue was out of propane. Our dinner got trashed and ruined the first evening. Everyone was hungry and ready to eat, and it would not start and there were no extra tanks. I sent emails and there really was no help at that point. No apologies from the owners, just a really late email that said we could've run down three flights of stairs with our entree to a community barbecue. I tank was replaced the next afternoon, but this is the sort of thing that leaves a bad taste. I was very, very disappointed about this very easy, and essential, and advertised item. This is an easy maintenance item that was obvoiusly overlooked. I feel like I was owed a night or part of one back. I notified the owners but it appeared to me that there were more interested in the rental fee over making sure their guests are happy. Other maintenance was not great either . . . light bulbs were out and strangely, many of the light switches were in strange places and installed upside down. I like the beach, and my family experienced excellent snorkeling outside. We swam with 3 turtles, an octopus, many many fish, but I would stay at a different unit.

    Owner response: We are the original owners of this unit and our family has enjoyed it for over 28 years. We have rented to many guests, many return year after year, and have never had a negative review. This guest is not being honest! He never signed our required rental agreement. He deceived us by stating he could not print the email attachment (he was at a large Hotel with a business office) and he would sign it at our Makena Surf Office upon arrival.... which he never did! Since he had agreed to its terms by email we allowed the deviation assuming he would be honest and sign the rental agreement. His first night meal with our lanai BBQ is unfortunate. The BBQ propane was not checked by our manager as she simply did not have enough time to finish her duties with the quick turnaround in rentals. This guest requested an early check-in. He was instructed by email and posting in the unit to contact our manager if any Q's. He did not follow that protocol. He never contacted her (she called him unsuccessfully to welcome him). He emailed us in California (three hours later and we were asleep) which we followed up immediately the next day. Our light bulbs were all working on check-in. Our light switches were all approved by the County of Maui and designed by a licensed Architect. Our guest was mad before he got to our unit due to the rental agreement timing. He should have gone to the business office at the hotel to print and scan. He was probably trying to save money. The guest could have easily used the two large BBQ's to cook his meal that were downstairs 1-2 minute walk. Instead he got madder and subsequently this dishonest review. We gave him a great nightly rate, let him arrive early, let him check-out late but nothing seemed to satisfy him. We were wrong to not check the propane (we keep a second full tank at the managers house) but we corrected it as soon as we were made aware of the situation. We love our place and try to keep it updated. So many guests return and have written so many wonderful reviews in our guest books over the 28 years.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Makena Surf, Maui, HI

    Makena Surf, Maui, HI

    • Guest Mahalo (Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    We recently stayed in Maui at Makena Surf. We were delighted by the location and the rental appearance and amenities. It was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family and hope to return one day. We strongly recommend the bike down the mountain at sunset, surfing, snorkeling and Paia is a wonderful place to visit and dine. We had the best family vacation to date, it set an extremely high standard for us to try to maintain in the future!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Review Submitted September 27, 2011

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Review Submitted September 27, 2011

    • Guest Mike
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Just wanted to let you know what an awesome time we had at your condo! It was our first time on Maui and staying at your place was the best! Walking in for the first time and raising the power shades....All four of our jaws just dropped in awe!! We spent hours each day on the lanai just gazeing over the beautiful view. We probably caught 80% of the sunsets from the lanai during our stay and I have pics of each and every one as they were slightly different each night depending on the cloud situation. The condo had us feeling comfortable just like we were at our own house. We did not run across anything that we wished was there for our needs. it was definetly the best vacation we have ever had. On Friday none of us wanted to leave. I even checked the bookings the night before and saw that no one was coming in right after us. Got pretty close to giving you a call to add on a few more days.......It was the first time I can remember that I was not ready to come home from a vacation in my adult life! My wife and I were talking and as we all know there are many things in life that take time off our lives. I honestly believe that the 9 days we stayed at your condo we got some time back..Cheesey but true! Now there is a marketing point for your place.....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Vicky
    • Date of stay 04/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/10/11
    We are back home and wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay. Our family enjoyed every aspect of your wonderful place. They played tennis in the morning, went hiking and then surfed in the ocean and swam in the pool. We had many breakfasts and dinners on the lanai and always watched the sunsets. Your home is well set up and very comfortable. Thank you for the opportunity to share it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Donna, Garry, Chad, Carol, Adam & Max
    • Date of stay 10/28/10
    • Review Submitted 11/04/10
    We have stayed many places on Maui but this was our favorite by far! PERFECT beach for the kids and us to play on, great snorkeling right here, and beautiful grounds. Close to our favorite restaurant of all time, Joes, as well, and La Perouse Bay that we always like to snorkel. Couldn't have had a better stay

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mark & Stephanie
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 11/04/10
    Beautiful & breath taking view/beach We had a bird (Luigie.....we named) visit every morning & afternoon-we fed him bread & water-he would land on our head (yes, our head) and stay and hang out with us. Unbelievable! Please treat Luigie good. We will always remember him.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Greg & Alicia
    • Date of stay 06/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/04/10
    Wow! What a WONDERFUL place. Our stay was absolutely delightful! We will always remember how special our stay was because we were on our honeymoon! This place is better + more private than the resorts down the street. We made special friends w/the two birdies in the palm outside the patio. They watched us from their tree "condo" way up in the sky. Loved the herb garden. Fresh herbs for dinner at night. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to stay here! Looking forward to our return already!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gary & Cathy
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 11/04/10
    We really loved staying in your condo. What a perfect location! Snorkeling, Kayaking & Golfing, all so close! The beach in front of the Condo is beautiful and will always have a special place in our hearts. On May 25, at sunrise, we renewed our wedding vows. It was perfect. Thank you

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Peter
    • Date of stay 03/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    .........."we had the best Hawaii vacation ever. Your place was perfect, from the moment we got there until the moment we left. We saw a mother whale having a calf 100 meters in front of us. We saw turtles 10 feet off the shore. The kids got so much exercise, and the two little ones are now like fish in water! My wife insisted that I contact you as soon as possible. We arrived home only the day before yesterday. Anyways, we would love the opportunity to commit to your place for the above dates.........."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]