Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of the Cottage, looking from the river dock.

Water Front Cottage with Private Dock [#221288] | View Property

Savannah
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$195/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Water Front Cottage a True Gem!

    Water Front Cottage a True Gem!

    • Guest Happy T. (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/04/14
    • Review Submitted 03/20/14
    Comfortable, clean and quiet is really all we were hoping for during our vacation in early March, but what we got was so, so much more. Kay and Benny’s Riverfront Cottage was the nicest vacation rental we have ever had the good fortune to find! In an idyllic and peaceful location with a wonderful view of the river, it was a delightful week, despite the cold weather! Immaculately clean, exquisitely decorated, comfortable beds and living area – Kay has thought of everything to make your stay memorable. Convenient to historic Savannah – it was hard to leave the enjoyment of sitting on the front porch waiting for the dolphins – but we did occasionally to sightsee. A wonderful destination for a great vacation. Kay – please don’t change a thing!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous cottage

    Fabulous cottage

    • Guest Happy T. (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/03/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    Comfortable, clean and quiet is really all we were hoping for during our March vacation, but what we got was so, so much more. Kay and Benny’s Riverfront Cottage was the nicest vacation rental we have ever had the good fortune to find! In an idyllic and peaceful location with a wonderful view of the river, we had a delightful week, despite the cold weather! Immaculately clean, exquisitely decorated, comfortable beds and living area – Kay has thought of everything to make your stay memorable. Convenient to historic Savannah – it was hard to leave the enjoyment of sitting on the front porch waiting for the dolphins – but we did occasionally to sightsee. A wonderful destination for a great vacation. Kay – please don’t change a thing!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place!

    Amazing Place!

    • Guest Brandon (Asheville, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/31/13
    This cottage was better than we thought it would be. Great location and beautiful view! We had two very small children with us, so this was the perfect place for our first vacation with them. Hoping to make this an annual visit! I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Cottage for Coastal Getaway

    Perfect Cottage for Coastal Getaway

    • Guest Len and Sue (Seal Beach, California)
    • Date of stay 11/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/28/13
    We stayed in the cottage from Nov 21 to Nov 29th. We loved this place. When we walked in the cottage, we felt like we had walked onto the pages of Coastal Living magazine. The decorating was spot on. The inside was clean and neat but at the same time felt like a home. Because it felt like a home, we felt at ease and “at home”. We looked forward to the front porch where we could look out at the river going by just off the front porch area. Our wait was paid back with beautiful views to the marsh and sailboats travelling up and down the intercoastal waterway. Our stay was lovely. Kay and Benny could not have been better hosts. They each came over to welcome us. They were down to earth and very helpful in giving tips on the area. Our visitors loved this cottage too. I was proud to show it off to our family during our visit. The cottage is good for people with physical challenges. My 90 year old father stayed with us and was able to walk up the few steps into the cottage. They had a walk in shower in the bedroom he stayed in. Couldn't have been more perfect. Even my father kept exclaiming how much he loved the cottage and how nicely it was decorated. If you are visiting Savannah or the surrounding area, this is a great place to stay and relax. You won't regret it.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Southern Experience

    Lovely Southern Experience

    • Guest Luna (San Diego, California)
    • Date of stay 04/29/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    From the first moment of walking into the cottage, I knew that my first time in Savannah and its surrounding area would be wonderful. The cottage is immaculate, beautifully appointed, with everything that one might need to have a relaxing, peaceful, quiet vacation retreat. The porch beckons, the dockside chairs await and the dolphins will bring a smile to your face. It was a short jaunt into the historic district of Savannah as well as to Tybee Island. You can even visit Hilton Head Island and Bluffton's Rose Hill Mansion if you want a good day trip and then return to your quiet cottage on the river. I highly recommend Elizabeth on 37th for a sublime dining experience and a visit to the Byrd Cookie store! Check out the Savannah Theater for a great night of entertainment and the jump on and off trolley tour which gives you a great overview of the city. Bicycle (provided by your hosts) or walk around the island, bring a good book and enjoy yourself. The Curl's are gracious people who generously share their beautiful property with others, while extending warmth and Southern hospitality. You couldn't ask for a better place to spend your time while visiting Savannah! I feel very blessed to have stayed in this delightful cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An Amazing Place

    An Amazing Place

    • Guest DCarr (Soddy Daisy, TN)
    • Date of stay 04/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/25/13
    Where to begin. My husband and I have traveled a lot through the years and we both agreed that this Cottage was the best. The price we paid was worth it just for the view. Very clean and updated cottage. It was close to Historic Savannah and Tybee Island. The owner was so helpful before and after we arrived. Our favorite restaurant was Wiley's BBQ between Savannah & Tybee. We hope to return to this cottage before the end of the year, if we can get away. We certainly did not want to leave...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect River Location

    Perfect River Location

    • Guest Theatre People (Oshawa Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/29/13
    We recently stayed for 4 nights in Kay's lovely cottage. She was a gracious and helpful hostess whose love of gardening was obvious in the wonderful flowers and trees. The cottage was a quiet and extremely comfortable retreat with a perfect Herb River location. We were intrigued with the visiting birds and the constantly changing river as the tide came in and out. The bed was especially comfortable with a lightweight duvet. Also, the living room had great seating and good lights for reading. We had excellent takeout from Sandfly BBQ and enjoyed it at the cottage. Highly recommended as a place to enjoy and savour gorgeous Georgia spring weather, especially mornings. Also downtown Savannah and Tybee Island were easily accessible drives through the fascinating islands of the Savannah River area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Vacation

    The Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Travler (Northport, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 01/07/13
    This is the best vacation cottage we have ever rented. It has everything, view, space, convenience, it is truly a home away from home. It is not only immaculate but has everything you need. The furnishings are perfect. You will need a car to get to Savannah, but the trip is easy and only 10 miles. Would love to own this cottage. Don't miss this!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great getaway

    Great getaway

    • Guest Bo (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    Excellent amenities and location. Great attention to detail. Very relaxing, yet close to Savannah. We look forward to returning in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Local Stay-cationer!

    Local Stay-cationer!

    • Guest Georgia residents (Coastal Ga)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    We had a great week at the cottage - the place was better than expected. The Curll's have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. The kids (teenagers) said it was a great vacation! We plan on returning again some day!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best of Southern Hospitality

    Best of Southern Hospitality

    • Guest Brenda (Defiance Mo.)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    When you hear of Southern hospitality that is what you get from the owners, Benny and Kay. We wanted a relaxing vacation and that is what we got. It exceeded our expectations. It is close enough to the city and sites yet far enough away for peace and quiet. The evening sunsets on the riverside docks were beautiful. It was a quant little cottage that was immaculate, tastefully decorated and furnished with everything one would need. And if there was something you needed all you had to do was ask and Kay made sure you got it. I can't wait to go back. I would recommend this place to anyone. A little piece of Heaven!! Bob and Brenda - Defiance, Mo.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PEACEFUL

    PEACEFUL

    • Guest Ron and Dottie (Anniston, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 03/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    Peaceful: adjective meaning free from disturbance; calm. That is one way we could describe the wonderful week Ron and I spent at your beautiful cottage. We could not have asked for anything better. Everything was exceptional. The location by the river is awesome. The cottage is close enough to downtown and any activity you could want but far enough away for us to achieve the relaxation we needed. The cottage is furnished with everything you could possibly want or need and very clean. We have already recommended the cottage to friends but really want it kept a secret just for us but we would not want to deprive others. Thank you so much for your hospitality and providing our peaceful week. We would like to come back again and again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything we wanted and more

    Everything we wanted and more

    • Guest Sheri (Spring Hill, Kansas)
    • Date of stay 02/15/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    When I found this cottage on VRBO, my heart skipped a beat. It seemed to be just what we were needing to check out of the rat race of life. When we pulled in the drive, my heart melted. This house is absolutely beautiful. The view is stunning. The house itself is in amazing condition, considering it's a rental. Very well kept. Our host was so gracious and wonderful. All our needs were met. We were about 15 mins from anywhere we wanted to go, so it is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want to be in the middle of the social happenings of the city. It was a beautiful neighborhood to run in, a beautiful place to fish, and a beautiful place to sit and relax. We can't say enough about it. Stunning. We will certainly be back. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything we wanted and more

    Everything we wanted and more

    • Guest Sheri (Spring Hill, Kansas)
    • Date of stay 02/15/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    When I found this cottage on VRBO, my heart skipped a beat. It seemed to be just what we were needing to check out of the rat race of life. When we pulled in the drive, my heart melted. This house is absolutely beautiful. The view is stunning. The house itself is in amazing condition, considering it's a rental. Very well kept. Our host was so gracious and wonderful. All our needs were met. We were about 15 mins from anywhere we wanted to go, so it is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want to be in the middle of the social happenings of the city. It was a beautiful neighborhood to run in, a beautiful place to fish, and a beautiful place to sit and relax. We can't say enough about it. Stunning. We will certainly be back. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful view

    wonderful view

    • Guest Annie (Chattanooga)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/13/12
    We stayed in this lovely home over Christmas. The views are breathtaking. The home is directly in front of the water. We loved being able to walk straight out of the front door onto the dock. Dolphins jump so close to the dock you could almost touch them. Wildlife around the area is plentiful. There is so much history on Dutch Island and Isle of Hope. I learn something new every time I go. I cant say enough about this property or the owners. They make you feel like it is your home away from home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect!

    Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest Gary K. (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    Just spent a week here with my wife and couldn't have been happier! Kay and Benny are great hosts and have the cottage perfect for your stay. Everything was clean, neat and decorated nicely! Loved to sit out on the dock and watch boats go by and sit up on the porch and read. The fully stocked kitchen was a blessing in that all you needed to do was buy food. All of the other necessities were there for you to prepare any thing you wanted. Beds were comfortable and they even have any toiletry you might need! My wife rated this her second best vacation, only behind our second trip to Hawaii...that is saying a lot! Look forward to going back next year! Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect place to stay

    Perfect place to stay

    • Guest Brian (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    We can't say enough great things about this beautiful cottage and location. Downtown Savannah is great, but after visiting there, we were so glad we chose this home for our stay. The owners are great hosts, the setting is perfect, weather was perfect, really can't think of a single thing from our weekend that could be better.... Without a doubt, we will be back...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are always happy that our guests have a wonderful experience when staying in one of our two guest houses. We feel very blessed that we can share this unique property with others. Benny and Kay Curl

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful and relaxing

    Peaceful and relaxing

    • Guest KB (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    Located in a peaceful, serene setting. Meticulously clean with lovely. comfortable furnishings. Pictures and description are accurate but can't project the beauty. All you need to bring is clothes and food. EVERYTHING else is provided, great attention to detail. We spent 4 days lounging on the cottage's private dock under the umbrella watching the river float by, entertained by the local wildlife. Easy drive to restaurants, area shopping. Owners went out of their way to make us feel like pampered, special guests. We highly recommend this property and plan to return as soon as our schedules allow.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • South Florida meets South Carolina in the Middle~

    South Florida meets South Carolina in the Middle~

    • Guest LovedSavannah!!! (Southeast Florida)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/20/11
    We rented this gorgeous Cottage and were overwhelmed with the location, location,location!!! Dutch Island is about 10 min. from downtown Savannah. We met our friends from South Carolina and they were equally impressed with this gem!!! We sat on the private docks for sunset and enjoyed visits from porpoises nightly. We had use of bicycles, fishing poles and crab traps!!! We caught our own dinner fresh stone crab claws!!!!! We are so glad we chose this place versus one downtown as it was nice to get away from the crowds and found it difficult to find parking. We will return to this amazing place very soon I hope!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Place to Stay

    The Perfect Place to Stay

    • Guest Sharon (Rome, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    Our trip to Savannah was a girl's getaway...6 ladies who are close church friends. This guest cottage could not have been more perfect for us. We felt safe in the gated community, yet we were a short 10-15 minute drive from downtown Savannah. The property is even more beautiful than the pictures, and the owner is extremely kind and helpful. The cottage is well-stocked and has every thing you could possibly need. There are bicycles and fishing equipment in the garage for guest use. We didn't fish, but we did spot a few sea creatures! One of our ladies has been battling cancer for several years, and the purpose of our trip was to spend quality time with her and to honor her faithful service...and to forget about cancer for a few days. The first thing we saw when we walked in was a sign on the living room wall that read "Isle of Hope". We knew without a doubt that we were in the right place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Georgia on My Mind

    Georgia on My Mind

    • Guest Suzanne (Detroit, MI)
    • Date of stay 06/15/09
    • Review Submitted 02/20/11
    Traveling into the State of Georgia and being greeted by the majestic Georgia Pine, which then gave way to the moss laced ancient oaks and palms, within the Savannah River Basin and to the edge of the Atlantic Ocean, we had entered into a historical and romantic place in time for us to Enjoy! This river front home located on one of the many beautiful rivers here, enhances the beauty of this extraordinary geographical setting. Here we were exposed to the whispering marsh grass on the intercostals waterways ruled by the tides and wildlife that come to feed and nest here. Watching the fishermen with their quaint and colorful boats sailing by with their soft music playing eases you into total relaxation. The guest house was everything we could wish for very comfortable and exquisitely decorate to reflect oceanside living. The City of Savannah just across the river offers many traditional weekly events and celebrations to attend. The restaurants and shops are both ethnic and modern just like the friendly people who live here. We enjoyed and took pleasure in our time here on the savannah… and will never forget it or its people.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Andy and Suzanne for the beautiful remarks about Savannah and our guest home. After 20 months of being your neighbors, we will miss you like crazy! Kay and Benny

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]