Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

North Carolina Mountains Paradise/Hot Tub/Fireplace/Fire Pit [#222665] | View Property

Asheville
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
$325/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful vacation Home!

    Wonderful vacation Home!

    • Guest Chapel Hill Family (Chapel Hill, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/03/14
    What a beautiful home! Our family has experienced many VRBO rentals and often feel that it isn't quite what was advertised. The opposite was true in this case, the photos do not do it justice! The two main living areas are extremely roomy, almost too roomy for three bedrooms. Even though there is no mountain view, I don't think anyone will be disappointed with the landscaping. The lake is so picturesque! Our kids went gaga for the animals; horses, sheep, the sweetest dogs. Decor is unique and eclectic but very tasteful. We were really impressed with the holiday decorations, two beautiful Christmas trees, it felt very festive! Great amenities, tons of games and movies. The bathrooms and kitchen are well designed, plenty of towels and dishes. We cooked several meals and wanted for nothing. The beds and bedding are very comfortable. It is 20 minutes from downtown Asheville, not 15. But it's worth the extra 5 minutes. It's only about 6 or 7 minutes from a couple of nice grocery stores and is only a few turns off the highway, fairly easy to find. I would not recommend it for toddlers, it has a lot of authentic antiques and nick-knacks that might prove too tempting. All-in-all it was one of the best vacation home experiences we have had!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to celebrate Christmas!

    Wonderful place to celebrate Christmas!

    • Guest Tracy M.
    • Date of stay 12/22/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    When we looked at the pictures on VRBO we thought, looks too good to be true...but it wasn't! The home is very spacious, with entertainment spaces for kids and adults alike. The setting is beautiful and we took advantage of hiking behind the house, sitting by the firepit, and relaxing in the hot tub. The quick, 20 minute trip to downtown allowed us to do some last minute Christmas shopping and to visit several local attractions. We have already recommended the property to several friends and family.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Thanksgiving

    Family Thanksgiving

    • Guest Marge R.
    • Date of stay 11/28/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    Our family of 9 enjoyed a two-night stay at this beautiful guest house. All amenities were there and our young grandchildren enjoyed the Wii and shuffleboard game. There was plenty of room for us to enjoy meals together, and enough separate space so that we weren't on top of each other. Everything we could have possibly wanted was provided by top-of-the-line appliances. Very remote location provided a quiet, peaceful environment. Elegantly and thoughtfully furnished.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Gorgeous and welcoming

    Gorgeous and welcoming

    • Guest Katie (Jacksonville, fl)
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 11/28/13
    I cannot express what it was like to walk into this home. So welcoming and beautiful. I did not expect it to be as enchanting as it was can you can never tell when you look on the computer. The property was gorgeous, the animals so much fun, and a special treat for us was the snow for the grand kids who had never seen snow before. I pray we can someday visit it the spring when I can only imagine the rhododendrons on the trail would be breathtaking. The caretaker was wonderful to help us out when we needed assistance. The owner's have an incredible eye for detail and design and their home feels like a great big hug when you walk in. We plan on making this a tradition in our family to share with our family.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place!

    Amazing Place!

    • Guest KBG2010 (Lexington, SC)
    • Date of stay 11/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/21/13
    My husband, I and a few of our friends stayed at this wonderful paradise in the mountains. I would highly suggest if you are looking for a comfortable, up to date cabin then this is your cabin! It has everything you need and more! We really did not have to leave this little paradise as we could have been entertained for days and hours with all the amenities they offer. We love Asheville so location was key for us, it took 15 minutes from the driveway to downtown Asheville, which is great! If you are searching for a place for a family getaway, a friend getaway, etc then this is your place. We will be returning hopefully in the spring and if not booked this will be our first choice as a place to stay!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven!!

    Heaven!!

    • Guest Carie (Roanoke, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    I was already really looking forward to our weekend here just from seeing all the pictures and information, but as soon as we pulled up I immediately fell in love! The property is gorgeous! You also feel very welcomed by the owner. We were there for a girls weekend so we were in town more, but would love to go back to explore property. The dogs are an added touch! Definitely planning on going back in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Every comfort, great value

    Every comfort, great value

    • Guest Carrw4321 (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 10/25/13
    • Review Submitted 11/06/13
    My family and I (all ages) stayed here for a long weekend and would come back in a heartbeat. The redone barn is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed or could want. Jacuzzi on a cold night was lovely, walking trails and animals made us feel like we were on our own ranch for the weekend. We really didn't even have to leave the property at all, unless we really wanted to go into Asheville. Downtown Asheville is closeby too (25 min) and the owner and the neighbors were very helpful and friendly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Marathon Weekend

    Marathon Weekend

    • Guest Wilkes69 (Hartsville,SC)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    We had a party of six for the Asheville Marathon weekend. The cabin was awesome and very clean. We got up Sunday morning and hiked a few of the trails around the property which were great. We saw deer on three occasions and watched hot air balloons cross the property. Wish we would had more time to explore. Look forward to visiting again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cool Carolina Property

    Cool Carolina Property

    • Guest Dr. E. (The Woodlands Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    The property is fabulous, no views however. and remote as I have learned all mountain properties in that area are. Hard to go out to dinner with a 30 minute drive each way. But if you are content to stay on the property it is wonderful. And they have 3 of the most precious dogs to keep you company. Sweet beyond belief. We loved the cabin (barn) and the people that own it are so nice and really helpful. Our trip was not perfect as we attempted a 6 day (round trip) drive from Texas. We will never do that again. I suggest you fly from distant locations!! But all in all it was a beautiful place to be.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice review.We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.We will have to work on directions for your dining as we can be in anywhere in downtown Asheville to eat in 15 minutes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Property in the Hills of North Carolina - as great for 2 as it would be for 12!!

    Awesome Property in the Hills of North Carolina - as great for 2 as it would be for 12!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/22/13
    • Review Submitted 04/29/13
    The description and pictures of the property are completely accurate - if anything they don't do the property justice. Not only is the property spacious and beautiful, but it is full on antiques and memorabilia that make you wish you had decorated your house this well! My wife and I went by ourselves and immediately upon entry to the building were disappointed we didn't bring the kids and several more! The property was spotless clean and very well maintained. I would recommend this property to anyone that had an excuse to go to the area, and we will definitely be figuring out an excuse to go back. While we were there, we went to the Biltmore Estate (about 15 minutes away and definitely worth the trip - takes a whole day or more depending on what you want to see - the extra tours are well worth the money), went to the antique district (lots of great shops), and just kicked back on the property. Our only disappointment was that we only had three days and would have liked to spend more time kicking back on the property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful, large cabin just a 15 minute ride from downtown

    Beautiful, large cabin just a 15 minute ride from downtown

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    This cabin (I don't know if you can really define something this size as a cabin, but anyway) exceeded every expectation. It was spotless on arrival, there were pillows, sheets, towels and pullout beds at our disposal for our large group (12). A fire was already set up in the pit, even! The interior and exterior are gorgeous and functional. With pool, shuffleboard, Wii, PS3, games, books, hot tub, etc, etc, etc, we could have easily spent the entire time here, without ever even going to Asheville and still have been perfectly content with the weekend. In a heartbeat, I would revisit and I'm already recommending this property to friends and family. This place is truly a great place for a getaway, well situated close to Asheville and right along Pisgah national forest. The rental cost is also extremely reasonable for how well outfitted, situated and spacious this property is. We were also able to get a van/taxi to pick us up from the cabin and drive us downtown and return us to the cabin on request. What a fantastic weekend!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay!

    Great stay!

    • Guest Emily (Greenville, SC)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    Had a great time, perfect weekend getaway just outside of Asheville. The cabin had everything we needed and more! Hope to come back soon!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect weekend escape

    Perfect weekend escape

    • Guest Sally (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    We had an amazing time - enjoying all the amenities of the house, along with all of the wildlife. Lots to do, inside and out, and only a 15 minute drive to explore Asheville. Recommend to anyone looking for a very relaxing weekend away. Can't wait to plan another visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Sally we look forward to you coming back Melody Roberson

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanksgiving holiday

    Thanksgiving holiday

    • Guest Jeannie (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/02/12
    We enjoyed Thanksgiving weekend in this unique home and surrounding property. The home was clean and comfortable, and it was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The firepit was the perfect place for us to sit on a cool night. The walking trails are so nice, and the family dogs will keep you company. It was a great place to watch football while enjoying the spacious gameroom. The owners are helpful, friendly, and respond promptly to inquiries.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful time in Asheville N.C.

    Wonderful time in Asheville N.C.

    • Guest chris (tennessee)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    We had a great stay in this beautiful home in N.C.This place was truely a Mountain Paradise.The funiture was fabulous,the decor was oustanding.We enjoyed evenings by the firepit.Asheville was a short drive away.The owner was very helpful with everything including suggestions of places to visit.Thanks for a Great weekend

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Recent Asheville vacation

    Recent Asheville vacation

    • Guest CG (Chapel Hill, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    We spent a weekend at this beautiful home near Asheville. The house is beautifully decorated and emmaculately clean. The owners provided a bonfire which we enjoyed one night under a perfectly starlit sky. The two large screen TVs allowed some of us to enjoy college football on Saturday. Our only complaints were the hot tub was broken which was very disappointing to our guests. Also, the microwave did not work nor did the TVs in each of the bedrooms. Otherwise, I would have given this house an excellent rating. I would definitely recommend it to others. While in the Asheville area we took the Blue Ridge Parkway up to Mount Mitchell and also down to Dupont State Forest where we took the walk to the waterfalls. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girl's getaway

    Girl's getaway

    • Guest Jan (Walland, Tn.)
    • Date of stay 09/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/02/12
    girl's nights out. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at a very unique and comfortable place. The only complaint was that six plasma tvs were advertised, and we only had the use of one. We requested that the other five be fixed, but to no avail. Very disappointing to only have the one tv based on the money that we paid per night. We did enjoy the location, the furnishings, and the animals that were there. I would recommend stayng at this location, but if you are counting on multiple tvs, make certain that they are working before booking stay. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the terrace at The Grove Park Inn in Asheville, and shopping at the gift shops there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Getaway

    Great Getaway

    • Guest byoung (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/26/12
    The property was fantastic. It was clean and well appointed with beautiful furniture, bedding, towels, kitchen wares and accessories. We had a great time with the animals too. The area was great for hiking, swimming at the lake and just walking around Asheville. We will definitely rent again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Group Reunion

    Group Reunion

    • Guest Megan (Columbia, SC)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    This was a fabulous place to stay. We had four couples stay very comfortably over a three day weekend. We were the first people to use the blow up queen mattress in the game room and in case you are wondering--it was quite comfortable. The pictures do not do this place justice! Everywhere you look is beautiful. Everything was quite clean and we wanted for nothing. We enjoyed using the hot-tub which was plenty big for six adults and we even used the fire pit one evening to make smores! I cannot say enough about this place--you will love it. It is also only 15min drive from downtown Asheville. A few of us in the group went zip lining at Navitat which was only a 35 to 40min easy drive away. Should our group choose Asheville again for our annual reunion--we will definitely stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Home and property

    Beautiful Home and property

    • Guest Jamie R. (Valrico, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/03/12
    • Review Submitted 07/13/12
    Loved our stay here and the home is absolutely gorgeous. It was a perfect stay for the family and we loved feeding the horses walking the trail. Asheville is only 10-15 min away and the blue ridge parkway is very close. We would definitely stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest SC (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 12/26/11
    • Review Submitted 01/02/12
    This refurbished barn is amazing. We didn't want to leave. Gorgeous antiques throughout. The furnishings are perfect and the home is extremely comfortable. Very clean. If you prefer the outdoors then you will love the huge decks, fire pits, and hiking trail. The beds were very comfortable. The description says it sleeps 8-12 but I would have to say it would only sleep 8 comfortably. More than that would be kind of a tight fit. I would highly recommend staying here. We hope to be able to visit again in the spring or summer and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • House has Everything!

    House has Everything!

    • Guest Bryant Eckert (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/23/10
    This place is awesome. It has everything you need for a great weekend. The pictures do not show how amazing this place is. It was unfortunate to have one of the days of our stay rained all day, however, there is so much to do inside it was a blast. The setting is very peaceful with the horses, cattle, and dogs. I look forward to returning in the fall to this fantastic unique property. Thank you also to the owners who answered all of our questions and make things very smooth for a great stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Lisa & Terry1 (Stuart, FL)
    • Date of stay 10/16/09
    • Review Submitted 10/16/09
    This is a unique and beautiful home and property. No details have been left out of the design, decor or ammenities of this "home". We were there in the fall and found it to be very cozy and comfortable with the large fireplace and very comfortable beds/bedrooms. The owners have thought of everthing from the well stocked kitchen, to games, books, movies, wi-fi, etc. We were there with only one other couple, but this would be perfect for a special event, friends get-together, or family gathering. The owners/hosts provided excellent hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Sue111 (Atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 10/06/09
    • Review Submitted 10/06/09
    We found this home to be very comfortable and also very well appointed. The scenery is magnificent, horses, cows, deer, lush foliage. Hot tub was so soothing after our drive.Top of the line appliances and kithcen ware. Owners were most helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Shanna & Eddie Yandle (Elgin, SC)
    • Date of stay 06/21/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/09
    I cannot express how great of a home this is. We enjoyed it very much and felt really at home. The location is perfect, close to all activities, Biltmore, waterfalls, etc. The home is very roomy and plenty of room for 2 families are more with still room to spare. Very clean, comfortable, could not have picked a better choice. We will make this the top of the list when traveling to this area again. Thanks for the great memories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Amy209 (Matthews, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/07/09
    • Review Submitted 05/07/09
    We stayed in this house May 1st-3rd and it was AMAZING!! The pictures do NOT do it justice! The woodwork and layout is beautiful! There is a great hottub on the outside deck and a huge firepit where we made smores! There is also a lot of land all around with horses nearby. The owner's house is right next door--but the owner was SO friendly and helpful with everything! Its only 15 min. from Asheville too! There's also a huge gameroom with a pool table and Wii. Felt like a queen in a castle--will probably stay here again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]