Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Upper duplex in a quaint and charming Victorian home  - fantastic neighborhood!

Location, Location-Upscale Duplex in Heart of Denver Highlands [#223867] | View Property

Denver
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3)
$99-$129/nt - $600/wk - $1800/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Amazing location and accommodations!

    Amazing location and accommodations!

    • Guest Steph (PA)
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Came across this property by chance on this website. Contacted Christine and she was very accommodating. Allowed 2 students to stay at her rental property while on a rotation. Can not say enough good things about the experience. Parking was readily available, location was fantastic, great shops and restaurants in walking distance, a 15 dollar cab ride to the downtown area for nights out, beautiful building and furnishing, quiet and safe residential neighborhood and Christine is so helpful and sweet!!! Highly recommend this location for anyone looking for a home away from home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pleasant Holiday Stay

    Pleasant Holiday Stay

    • Guest Nancy (Central Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    My husband and I stayed at the apartment the week of Thanksgiving. The description and pictures of the rental were accurate. The rooms were clean and and well furnished with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed the neighborhood shops and restaurants and the fact that they were all within walking distance of the apartment. Christine was a delight to work with and paid immediate attention to any concerns/questions we had during our stay. We definitely will return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved living here for a month!

    Loved living here for a month!

    • Guest Stacey (Palo Alto, Ca)
    • Date of stay 10/14/10
    • Review Submitted 06/12/11
    The apartment was exactly as described and Christine went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. The location is walking distance to shops and restaurants and a short bike ride from downtown. My purpose in visiting for a month was to scope out Denver to see if I wanted to move there... well, I do and I am! So, I'd say the visit was a success and I'm sure that Christine's hospitality and the fun and friendly Highland neighborhood had a lot to do with my decision. As for the little details that make a stay - the bed was comfy and sheets were luxuriously soft. Tons of soft towels in the bathroom too. There was a swamp cooler and window AC if I needed it. (which I didn't in October) The living area was small but comfortable. I was by myself but it would be perfect for a couple too. The kitchen was equipped with anything you might need to cook with (I think I could have made cupcakes if I was so inclined!) and plenty of dishes. Overall - it was perfect for my needs and I'd highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Denver! Thanks, Christine!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place!

    Great place!

    • Guest Amber (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/08/10
    • Review Submitted 09/12/10
    There is a reason why this place has so many great reviews - and they are all true. It is charming, updated, fully stocked and clean. Christine is extremely helpful and easy to work with. Our family of four (with 2 small children) stayed for three nights and could not have been more comfortable. The location is convenient to parks, downtown and of course a shopping/eating area literally around the corner. We loved it and would definitely stay there again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful place for our family

    A wonderful place for our family

    • Guest Kristen (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/10
    • Review Submitted 09/10/10
    We stayed here for four days with a family of four and couldn't have been happier. It was so wonderful to arrive in Denver after a long car trip and arrive at Christine's place. The apartment is beautiful and renovated in a way that someone would renovate their personal residence (meaning it feels high-end and carefully done; much nicer than typical rental properties). The kitchen had everything we needed, and we did a fair bit of cooking there. The apartment is extremely clean and well-maintained and Christine was great with communicating the important details before our arrival. Also amazing is the neighborhood--white lights in the trees at night in the cute business district right around the corner. Lots of charming shops, restaurants and cafes. We loved the patio at Cork and Coffee right down the street and Common Grounds was also a great spot. We wanted to try out Bang! but ran out of time. We'll have to come back, I guess! We were traveling with our children (ages 4 and 2 months) and I can't say enough about how nice it was to spread out in an apartment instead of stuffing ourselves into a hotel room. My soon really enjoyed playing the Wii (though it was hard to pull him away sometimes) and liked having his own bedroom. The backyard is small, but just having outdoor space and a grill easily accessible was great. Also, being able to take walks in a residential neighborhood and feel like locals rather than tourists was fun. For those with younger kids, I'd highly recommend the Lakeside Amusement Park ( http://www.lakesideamusementpark.com ): very quaint and old-school but fun (and much cheaper than Elitch Gardens). It's only about a seven minute drive from the apartment. We only did rides in the kids' area, but our son had a blast and didn't care that the rides were older and the signage was from the 50s/60s. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Denver!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • You will not find a more congenial host!

    You will not find a more congenial host!

    • Guest A (Houma, LA USA)
    • Date of stay 07/13/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    Once you get up the stairs this place is a little bit of heaven. Christine is so charming and helpful with any concerns--she aims to make her visitors want to return with her winning ways and her great style of decor and comfort. It was great to have a place to stay with our Peke for the 3 nights we were there. We had no trouble parking--and as Christine had told us, everything was in walking distance. She is a wealth of elegant information. I highly recommend this place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stay here when you come to Denver

    Stay here when you come to Denver

    • Guest Okie mountain lover (Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/04/10
    Christine's place is perfection. We second and third every wonderful thing other reviewers have said on this site. We wanted a place to experience Denver yet would allow quick access to the mountains...and we found it. Denver was right around the corner, literally. The neighborhood is everything one would wish to find, Christine is the perfect hostess, the price is sooo reasonable, and the accommodations are superb. Why would anyone want a sterile hotel room when Christine's apartment is available?

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding / Great Accomodations

    Outstanding / Great Accomodations

    • Guest CTzack (New Haven, CT)
    • Date of stay 04/17/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    You couldn't ask for a better location, better apartment and better amenities, especially considering the very reasonable price. The neighborhood is wonderful: great food, great bars, coffee shops and bookstores all literally within a block or two. It is a straight shot about 5 minutes to downtown. The apartment has beautiful new appliances, including a washer and drier, with no extra charge (pack light!). The kitchen was supplied with every utensil we could have wanted; we cooked dinner several nights while in Denver. That, and there was also a Wii (good luck beating my high-score in tennis!) The owner was very helpful in setting up our stay, providing us with information about the area and helping us find some great hikes. I cannot recommend this place any higher.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest betsy13 (montana)
    • Date of stay 03/25/10
    • Review Submitted 03/25/10
    Our stay at Christine's was awesome! The apartment is cozy and homey, the bath and kitchen modern and clean, the beds comfy and the down pillows a big plus! What is really great (besides Christine as a host!) is the location. The best shops, coffee houses and restaurants are literally RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER! Don't miss Venue, one of the best meals I've ever had. This place is a real bargain...I'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Lyn 2 (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 11/09/09
    • Review Submitted 11/09/09
    Christine's VRBO is delightful! We spent 3 very comfortable nights there. Everything is new and well done. The kitchen is very nice. It's a great location - just around the corner from wonderful restaurants, and fun shops. This will definitely be at the top of our list of recommendations when asked where to stay in Denver.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Helen DiBenedetto (Sebastian, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/03/09
    • Review Submitted 11/03/09
    WOW! Christine's place is the bomb! Location, Location, Location! This apartment is located in the heart of the Highlands Historic District with everything you could ever need or want at your fingertips. Cafes, cool boutiques, night spots, ice cream parlor, wine shop, deli, all within walking distance (and by walking distance, I mean 1-2 minutes!) In 10 minutes I was in downtown Denver, and in 15 minutes I was mountain biking in the foothills! A large beautiful lake is only a 15 minute walk. woo-hoo!I spent six weeks in Christine's apartment & felt completely at home. The place is fully equipped for cooking, including a gas grill in the quaint backyard, and it is also equipped for fun, with wireless internet, guitar hero, stereo, and a DVD player. One of the best things is the BED! So comfortable! And the place is very CLEAN!Christine is more than happy to answer any questions or offer suggestions about the area & since she lives in the apartment right downstairs, she is right there if you need anything. (Plus she is so sweet.) I came out to Denver to spend time with my daughter & in addition I came home with a new-found friend! Stay here, you will love it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest pfife23 (Indianapolis)
    • Date of stay 10/26/09
    • Review Submitted 10/26/09
    I am writing to provide a very positive recommendation for Christine's upstairs flat! My husband and I stayed for a long weekend while visiting my daughter who just moved to Denver for her Freshman year at college. Christine's location is fantastic for us as it is very close to my daughter's student housing and literally around the corner from great restaurants as well as a fabulous wine shop. My daughter thought the place was so great she opted to stay with us a couple nights :-) Our favorite evening was spent in Christine's backyard around the outdoor table catching up with my daughter and her new college friends while enjoying the crisp autumn air and warm neighborhood atmosphere. We'll definitely stay with Christine the next time we visit Denver!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Laura97 (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/06/09
    • Review Submitted 08/06/09
    My husband, young daughter and I stayed here for 3 days while in the Denver area. We had a fabulous time! Christine was super friendly and helpful. The place was VERY clean, recently remodeled, and very comfortable. It was really nice for us to be within EASY walking distance to all sorts of shops and restaurants. And downtown Denver was a short drive away as well. I would totally recommend this place to anyone staying in the Denver area. As a matter of fact, we spent the last 2 nights of our stay in an Embassy Suites in northern Colorado (because the rest of our family came in for a wedding) and I actually wish we would've just stayed at Christine's...it was much more comfortable!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Kristin18 (Tempe, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/03/09
    • Review Submitted 07/03/09
    This place is just wonderful! I stayed for a couple weeks while in town for my granddaughter's 1st birthday. It's so much nicer to have your own place that to stay in a hotel. The owner could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and my dog and I were made to feel at home. The unit was very clean, modern and comfy, and came with everything I needed. And as an added bonus, it's in a great neighborhood, literally around the corner from some of Denver's best restaurants. I would highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Denver, and hope to stay there again myself!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Ami Blachowiak (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/05/09
    • Review Submitted 06/05/09
    I had to find a place to stay in Denver while there for a week long project. After weighing my options on VRBO, I decided on this house. I couldn't have been happier about my decision. The house itself gives you that "homey" vibe the minute you see it. Upon arrival I was greeted with a comfortable, cozy and CLEAN atmosphere. It was such an easy place to sit down and relax. Christine was so helpful with giving me directions and recommendations on dining and things to do. She was definitely the hostess with the mostess! In addition to the house being a gem, the neighborhood quite a few shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Everyone I chatted with was super friendly and welcoming. This beats a hotel any day! The price is right, the place is fabulous and you couldn't ask for better customer service. A great alternative to staying at a typical hotel. FIVE BIG STARS!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Kathleen Meil (Portland, ME)
    • Date of stay 05/31/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/09
    What a perfect spot! Our family of four (kids are 4 and 1.5) spent a week here, and it was a perfect home base. Close to restaurants and shops, and convenient to everything else we wanted to do. Best of all, we had a real home for a week, so we could more or less maintain naps and bedtime routines and avoid eating out all the time. This is definitely how we'll travel from now on!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Rachel Dimond (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/13/09
    • Review Submitted 05/13/09
    This winter I had to find a hotel for my boyfriend's parents from Argentina, who were coming for their first visit. We wanted to make sure they were comfortable, and "at home" but we could not all fit in our one-bedroom apartment to make it that way! I luckily came across this rental in the North Highlands area, that was in the price range if not much more reasonable than the downtown denver area hotels. I was skeptical at first, thinking it was too good to be true. Actually, it was too good to be true. After looking at some of the local hotels and what you get for the money, this rental offers far more than a hotel. It's like staying at someone's home- it is staying at someone's home, actually- but you get your own key, your own apartment, and it's completely locked off, and secure. The fully-stocked kitchen allowed for us to cook a full pasta dinner (groceries can be purchased nearby), and there's a GREAT wine store 2 blocks away- so it was just perfect. It's just one block from the famous 32nd/Lowell area- where everything happens in the North Highlands. The apartment home has been completely updated, new paint, new furniture, new floors, new bed, new new new... all in a very characteristic brick home. To top it off there's a fully functioning flat screen TV equipped with Wii! I travel a lot for work, and if I could find something like this to stay in during business trips- it would be perfect! I wouldn't mind traveling nearly as much! I would highly recommend the property for anyone needing a short term hotel stay, have family coming into town that you can't fit, want to come stay downtown for a couple nights... I have rented a lot of condos, and I have stayed in many hotels. This is my #1 pick, I almost don't want to write the review and keep it as my little secret. But I guess the word will eventually get out, so I will be one of the first to say it: Stay here. it's worth it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Sandra26 (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/27/09
    • Review Submitted 04/27/09
    If you are planning to stay in the Denver area you must check out this home. It is located in the heart of the Denver Highlands neighborhood just steps from wonderful restaurants and shopping. The home itself is completely remodeled and made for a very comfortable stay. Thanks Christine for your hospitality - I'll be back for sure.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Katie Staker (Dublin, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 04/19/09
    • Review Submitted 04/19/09
    We were thrilled with our stay here! Incredibly cute and cozy with everything you could possibly need and/or want while staying somewhere out of town! Full kitchen, comfortable bed...We felt like we were at home! The apartment was remarkably clean and comfortable. It was steps away from a nice little area with excellent restaurants and cute little shopping boutiques. The highway and downtown Denver is very easily accessible from this location. The apartment is impressively decorated and stocked with things to keep you entertained (like Wii, rockband, good DVD's). We were VERY pleased and impressed with our stay at this location!!! Christine is also very nice and pleasant, helpful and welcoming :) Thank you so much! Brian and Katie Staker

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kim90 (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 02/15/09
    • Review Submitted 02/15/09
    Thank you for a wonderful stay! We really enjoyed your home last week and it was much better than a hotel. The location was fantastic for dining, and being only minutes from downtown was perfect! Kim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]