Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The new kitchen. Sunny windows. Seats 4 plus a child. Spices, oils, etc.

3 Room Apartment in the Center, Parallel to the Main Street [#224731] | View Property

Reykjavik
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
€30-€48/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Perfect in so many ways!

    Perfect in so many ways!

    • Guest Annie C.
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    The location of this super cute apartment really couldn't be any better. You are just 2 blocks away from the main shopping street and lots of restaurants as well as almost anything you would want to walk to in downtown Reykjavik. There is a community pool right around the corner, as well as the Icelandic Phallological Museum! Ha! The apartment itself is very welcoming, homey & clean, and the kitchen is well stocked with staples to prepare your own meals (pots, pans, some assorted spices, etc). There is a little orange cat who greeted us at the front door and came and went as he pleased for our stay so I was able to get my animal fix. I would most certainly recommend this fabulous spot as a "must stay" to folks traveling to Iceland. Should we find ourselves there for an extended stay once again, I will definitely be looking to book Hulda's awesome apartment!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet, clean spacious apartment

    Quiet, clean spacious apartment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/04/13
    • Review Submitted 07/26/13
    Staying here was such a treat. It is larger than it looks in the photos. Spotlessly clean, nice beds.You really feel "part of the fabric" of Reykjavik when you stay here. It is very quiet, great shower, a nice cat always greets you at the street door. Nice views from kitchen windows and back windows. You even see the top of Hallgrimskjirka out the livingroom and bedroom windows. Flybus and Icelandic Mountain Guide services can leave you off/pick you up at Alfred's Guesthouse, very nearby. Great food at around the corner restaurant Balkanikia. Easy walk to center of town, harbor. Our group was parents (60s) with 2 adult sons. 2 flights of stairs to apartment were no problem. I highly recommend this place and the owner emails you back quickly with answers to any questions.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming rental, great location, wonderfully equipped

    Charming rental, great location, wonderfully equipped

    • Guest Beth (Maine)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    Excellent apartment start to finish. Within walking distance of everything in Reykyavik. This is a fairly spacious apartment with seemingly very recently renovated kitchen and bath. Very clean and well equipped. Very close to shopping and restaurants and an easy walk to waterfront. We were very pleased. Mattress was firm and linens clean and lovely. We loved the National Museum and the Settlement Exhibit (both of Iceland history) but not so much the Saga museum. Frederik V is a fabulous restaurant, locally sourced food, a number of good locally brewed beers offered at many locations. You need to pay for parking on the street, but many streets nearby do not require pay for parking. The listing description was completely accurate if understated in its proximity to everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic!

    Fantastic!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/12/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    We stayed for almost a week at Hulda Ros's place and we loved it! We were a group of 5: my elderly parents (80), my sister (38), her 2 year old girl and I. We needed a place to spend quality time together as a family since we've been living in different countries for the past year: Hulda Ros' place was just perfect for us. We really found our home away from home. The place feels personal in a nice way and we enjoyed small details like the teapot filled with color candles or the puppet of Reykjavik's mayor! Also, heating was on (mid-June) and the apartment was very comfy. There are shades in both bedrooms - great for June's clear nights. The flat is on the third floor -which really is only 2 1/2 floors up - no elevator. The location is great - Bonus supermarket and great bakery (Sandholt) one street away. The building is right in the center of Reykjavik while being a little off the main touristic centre - meaning there are real shops in the streets, not just Mountain travel and Whale watching touring companies. Parking on the street is super easy and Daniela a warm and charming guest - she patiently waited for us as our flight was delayed and had arranged the baby chair and baby bed before we arrived. Thank you Hulda Ros for letting us stay at your lovely place! We'll certainly recommend it and come back as soon as we can!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks Sophie! You were the last guests that Daniela received. She will now attend to other things on her agenda. I will make sure she hears about your good reveiw. Thanks for being excellent guests!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik!

    Great place to stay in Reykjavik!

    • Guest CG from Minneapolis, MN (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    This apartment was the perfect place for us to stay in Reykjavik. The apartment was spotless and well organized, and one block off the main street. We enjoyed close proximity to lots of restaurants, museums and shops - but were just far away enough so it was nice and quiet. The apartment provided all the dishes and things one could want. The person who met us with the key was prompt and delightful, and Hulda was great answering all our pre-trip questions. We highly recommend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Well located

    Well located

    • Guest Francis (Montreal, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/21/12
    The apartment is well located in the center of Reykjavik. The shops, the restaurants, the port, and Harpa (concert hall) are all within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay. Our 2 young kids slept well in their separate room.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks! I am glad you enjoyed it and especially your children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent!

    Excellent!

    • Guest Chris B. (Lexington, Virginia (USA))
    • Date of stay 06/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    We're a family of four with two young kids, and had a wonderful time staying at this apartment. It's very comfortable, and the location is perfect. Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent location and great parking opportunities

    Excellent location and great parking opportunities

    • Guest KW (Pittsburgh)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    The apartment was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. The location was excellent to city center, yet quiet and we did not have any problems finding free parking (by the government buildings up the hill). We thought the WiFi was included in the price so we were disappointed we did not have the service. I looked back at the listing & it does state: You must arrange WiFi ahead of time, and it needs to be pre-paid. We were able to find Wi-Fi in the many cafes and just a few blocks away from the apartment. The mattress in the main bedroom was very comfortable; however the blinds in the bedroom did not block all of the light. Light was able to filter through on the sides and on the top of the window. We had to put a blanket over the blinds and this helped. Overall, a very nice apartment and we would recommend it.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Return visit to an outstanding apartment that feels like home

    Return visit to an outstanding apartment that feels like home

    • Guest Jeff & Tom (Toronto Ontario)
    • Date of stay 05/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/17/12
    Our decision to return to Iceland was in part determined by the availability of this apartment. We stayed here a few years ago and our return visit was just as we remembered. Location is important to us and this apartment is on a quiet street within a few blocks of restaurants, shopping and interesting neighborhood walks. The city center is about a 10 min walk. Day bus tours are also easily accessible. The apartment itself is tidy with character and an artistic personality that makes you smile and feel at home. Wireless Internet access was easily arranged in advance. Hulda was always very responsive to our inquiries. While we wish Hulda all the best with many future guests, we hope this secret oasis in Iceland retains it's undiscovered charm. We look forward to returning again some day. Jeff and Tom

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location, calm surroundings

    Great location, calm surroundings

    • Guest lsquaredp (Manchester, UK)
    • Date of stay 08/24/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    I stayed here during a conference and was definitely happy with the flat (am actually sad that I did not get the chance to enjoy it more as my schedule was quite packed). Lots of space, good location (everything is within walking distance), lovely decor, super well-maintained, and all the stuff you need to make you feel 'at home' is there. Really enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Central location and excellent apartment

    Central location and excellent apartment

    • Guest Robbie (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 08/11/11
    • Review Submitted 10/14/11
    The location could not be improved. It is a block off the main street in Reykjavik, and yet there is parking available without too much searching. The apartment itself was great - two plenty-big bedrooms, a very well-supplied kitchen, a full bath and a useful living room. We didn't do much in the apartment except sleep, but if you wanted to have some friends over for dinner or to watch a movie it would be a nice space. I'd happily visit here again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Gem, Perfect Reykjavik Location

    Perfect Gem, Perfect Reykjavik Location

    • Guest Nina + Chris + Christina (New York, NY + Copenhagen, Denmark)
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    This place was absolutely perfect and exactly as described - I am a 33-year-old architect and interior designer and I stayed here with my 2 friends, also in their mid-30's, and we all LOVED our experience renting this adorable, comfortable, light-filled, personality-filled apartment, start to finish. Hulda is very responsive and also was very helpful in identifying restaurants and galleries in the area for us during our stay. We took the bus from the airport and were able to walk to the flat from the bus terminal, and it is smack in the middle of everything you would ever want to do in Reykjavik. Great location. ONLY thing to note is that you must arrange WiFi ahead of time, and it needs to be pre-paid. We did not do this, but there are plenty of free hotspots all over Reykjavik, including at the wonderful Kaffismidja cafe just a few short blocks away.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Great guests with very reasonable expectations. I should make in more clear with the WiFi that is true but some unexpected developments with my health in August made it a bit difficult to arrange for the WiFi this time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Sabrina (Seattle, Wa USA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    My family of 4 stayed in this very sweet property the summer 2011. The owner was extremely helpful and quick in answering all my questions, including when I didn't have the physical address and we were leaving in 24 hours! The apartment had one bedroom, that faced the street ,with two twin beds. The other bedroom had a king sized bed and faced the back yard. All of the linens were extremely crisp, clean and very appreciated after our long flight. The kitchen was stocked with coffee and spices and the bathroom had ample toilet paper. The morning sun, breakfast in that wonderful kitchen and feeling at home was wonderful for us. The location was perfect. We did not need a car and used public transportaton. Through no fault of the owner or other tenants, we had trouble sleeping when the other owners were chatting in the back yard. The front bedroom did not have this issue. This would not, however, deter us from staying again. Thank you Huda for creating such a wonderful home away from home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We loved Reykjavik and this apartment

    We loved Reykjavik and this apartment

    • Guest Germaine (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    The apartment was excellent - everything went smoothly, from the meet and key reception, to the functionality, proximity, cleanliness and comfort of the property. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was very well stocked and functional. We loved the windows allowing a breeze through the apartment. The girls (11 and 17) loved their own room, the cool floors and the "cuteness" of how sweet it looked. My husband and I especially enjoyed Hulda's photography on the walls. The listing was very accurate. We loved the location of the apartment in the context of our "to-do" list in Reykjavik (ahh the pools!) and the proximity to downtown. We ended up renting a car for a few days and didn't find the parking a concern at all - even had front door parking at night. Hulda was great to correspond with, very helpful. We loved Reykjavik and will come back again soon!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Char (Seattle, Washington)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/09/11
    My friend and I stayed here for four nights in June, and we loved it. As others have stated the location is perfect. Very close to the main drag, yet quiet and serene, which is important to me as a light sleeper. In fact we were traveling with a friend who stayed in a hotel on the main drag and she was kept up all night by people celebrating Iceland's Independence Day. I loved the decor, so cute/unique, and if I remember correctly the bed was quite comfortable. The apartment is actually a lot roomier than it looks in the photos. There is no hair dryer available, so you should pack one if that's important to you. I had asked Hulda ahead of time, and decided not to pack one anyway, and I found it very liberating. :) Reykjavik is a wonderful city, smaller than I imagined, and great for walking. You can easily walk to all destinations in town from this apartment. Highly recommended! Oh, and here's a hot tip, the apartment is only two blocks away from the Sundhöll Reykjavíkur Swimming Pool. This is a beautiful building (much photographed apparently), and we really enjoyed soaking in the hot tubs on the roof and swimming in the indoor pool... "Reykjavík’s longest running (and only) indoor swimming pool. Opened in March 1937, it was designed by Guðjón Samúelsson, the state architect of Iceland, after his first proposal got dismissed due to it’s so called ‘theatrical nature’. Construction eventually commenced on a subsequent design in 1929. Guðjón’s other noticeable postcard scenarios include the National Theatre of Iceland and the church Hallgrimskirkja, also commissioned in 1937."

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks Charlene! I´m glad you enjoyed your stay! The swimming pool is great I agree. I´m seriously considering getting a hairdryer...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • june in Reykjavik

    june in Reykjavik

    • Guest misha (USA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    The place is well located, on a quet street, yet...a couple of blocks from the main street. It is simple, well maintained, well organised, and clean. We are 2 adults and 2 grown up kids, and there was a plenty of space for us. We were there to travel and explore as much as we could, waking up at 8, and goin tro sleep at 12...so we were not looking for a luxury.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • our Icelandic experience

    our Icelandic experience

    • Guest Bob (east freetown ma USA)
    • Date of stay 09/28/10
    • Review Submitted 11/04/10
    my wife and I rented Hulda's apartment for 3 nights at the end of September.The apartment was clean and cozy;we especially liked the kitchen.The location could not have been better;one block from the main street near all the stores and super markets.From this location we were able to walk everywhere in the center of the city and along the waterfront.If we ever return to Reykjavik we would not hesitate to rent this apartment again

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location!

    Great location!

    • Guest 2 Canadian Retirees (Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 09/15/10
    After taking the Flybus 45 minutes to the BSI(bus Terminal) and a 5 minute cab ride,we arrived to the apartment exactly as described.We had several questions to the owner before we arrived,and all were answered in a professional manner.There were great cafes,restaurants,shopping within a 5 minute walk to trhe main street of Laugavegur from our place.There is a small convenience store called VikiVaki 30 seconds away,and 10-11 store(like a 7-11) very close by.Not having a rental car,this was very important to us.There is no phone here,but we purchased a phone/Sim card at the Kringlan Mall(part of the Hop On/Hop Off city tour) for a reasonable price.There is also no internet-not a problem as there are several cafes,restaurants,even a hostel with Wi-Fi close by.We took the Blue Lagoon,Golden Circle,and west Iceland tours by GoTravelIceland tour company-all highly recommended.A 15-20 cab fare away is an excellent seaside golf course(Korpa)that ate up a few golf balls. Although the owner was extremely helpful,it should be noted that extra banking charges insisted upon by the owner added $120 Can. to our final tally.The owner insisted upon a certain method of payment,and would not take a credit card or an international money order or draft for either the deposit or final payment. Overall,we quite enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this apartment for a relaxing stay.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Manager response: Thank you. I have been very lucky with guests so far. I feel the same thing about the payment and the internet and tried to find solutions. I have been able to receive credit card payments for some months now (they paid in spring) and pre-paid internet wi-fi has been installed. People would still need to bring their own computers with wi-fi and notify me if they want to have internet access during their stay (pre-paid).

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lives up to description

    Lives up to description

    • Guest Pico (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/06/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    We stayed here in the summer with our five year-old daughter. We would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Reykjavik. The location is great because it is only one block from the main shopping street, but extremely quiet. We enjoyed the quirky decorating touches, and found the apartment very comfortable.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay in Reykjavik

    Wonderful stay in Reykjavik

    • Guest Andrea (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/04/10
    • Review Submitted 07/21/10
    Great location, city center was within walking distance. Apartment was welcoming and clean, and was quite roomy for the 4 of us. I would recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Reykjavik Apartment

    Reykjavik Apartment

    • Guest Tina M. (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/23/10
    • Review Submitted 07/23/10
    We (4 adults) enjoyed the location and amenities of this apartment. Its location, near local bus station, swiming pool and shopping street make it ideal. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in Reykjavik. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful apartment, great location

    wonderful apartment, great location

    • Guest prairie gal (Winnipeg, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/20/10
    • Review Submitted 06/27/10
    This apartment is exactly as described. Clean, tidy and a great location close to downtown, the major shopping strip, groceries, and a fantastic swimming pool; be sure to try its hot pots. No wifi is available in the apartment but many nearby cafes offer it free. I'd recommend this apartment to anyone staying in Reykjavik.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Reykjavik Apartment.

    Reykjavik Apartment.

    • Guest Eric (Charlotte, NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/06/10
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    We stayed at this apartment in June 2010 and liked it very much. The location could not be better - on a very quiet street in a typical Reykjavik neighborhood. Easy walking distance to anything in Reykjavik. Approximately 1/2 mile walk from the main bus terminal from the airport. Bus terminal is a good place to arrange independent tours of the many spectacular sites outside Reykjavik. The apartment is homey and comfortable. It has the feel that you are actually living in Reykjavik - not just as a tourist. Two things to prepare for. If visiting in the summer, bring eyeshades to aid sleeping. The sky actually is light all night long. Also the water and heat in Reykjavik comes from natural thermal springs. So the hot water has a slight smell. But I understand that this is the case no matter where you stay in the city. For people who wish to buy wine, beer or any other alcohol, it is not sold in grocery stores and there are limited stores which sell it. The closest store we found was the 10-18 (the hours it is open) at Austurstræti 10a - about 1/2 mile from the apartment near the city center. Overall, we had a very good experience in the apartment and in Iceland.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jeff & Tom (Toronto Ontario)
    • Date of stay 08/24/09
    • Review Submitted 08/24/09
    We loved this apartment! It's as described, tidy with a soul and in a prime location. Quiet street, yet feels like your in the heart of the city, a few blocks walk to everything. Comfortable bed with down duvets, collection of interesting books, eclectic furniture, genuine retro feel that a boutique hotel could not imitate. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ieva (-)
    • Date of stay 07/02/09
    • Review Submitted 07/02/09
    Amazing apartment in a very center of Reykjavik, definitely better choice then staying in hotel or hostel. Felt like an Icelander myself living there :) We had everything - even a cooking oil and spices, books and videos, towels and sheets - anything you could imagine. Although, the neighbourhood was quiet, we were suprised that it was in very center of the town. Literary one minute walk to the main street - all the shopping, caffees and bars. A place with the soul, artistic and welcoming! Thank you for the great time we had there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]