Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Entrance into Front Courtyard

Stargaze from the Outside Hot Tub. Incredible Views, Free Wi-Fi. 70+ Reviews [#22535] | View Property

Taos
House, 3 Bedrooms + livingroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-9)
$180 - $500/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (74)

Sort by:
  • Spring Vacation Skiing

    Spring Vacation Skiing

    • Guest Ken R (Bentonville, AR)
    • Date of stay 03/22/10
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    Tierra Madre is an excellent place to stay when in the Taos area. The pictures do not do justice to the beauty of this home. Some of the great touches include every kitchen appliance and utensil known to man, a`gas stove, a great and clean hot tub, a kiva fireplace, plenty of firewood, large spacious rooms, very comfortable beds and an outstanding view of the Kachina Peak mountain ranges The house was incredibly clean and it is private and yet very convenient to town and the Ski Valley. Another must see is the bridge over the Rio Grande gorge which is only few miles away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/10
    • Review Submitted 03/01/10
    As lovely as these photographs are - they do not do justice to the majesty of the views afforded by this spectacular home. I have rented other homes in the Taos area and this was my favourite by far. It is convenient to town and the ski valley and is luxurious without being pretentious. Highly recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Home Away From Home!

    Beautiful Home Away From Home!

    • Guest Jenn (Kansas City )
    • Date of stay 02/26/10
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    My fiancee and I stayed at this property during a Taos vacation. The house was beautiful! Very spacious, clean, and comfortable. It felt like home away from home! We loved the easy access to the mountains and to town. I would recommend this property for a group...or a special couple's get away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is a great house to stay in year round.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/18/10
    • Review Submitted 01/18/10
    Tierra Madre far exceeded our expectations! It was warm, clean, and welcoming; far nicer than the pictures imply. The best part about staying at Tierra Madre, however, was the little touches (such as free tea and firewood) that made this place feel like home. While it wasn't very visible from the road, its location on the junction between the main road to town and the road to the ski valley is ideal. I will definitely stay there again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/04/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/10
    We sort of knew what to expect from our stay at this home after looking at all the great photos online when we made our reservation, but it was even more perfect than we thought. Gorgeous views in every direction, plenty of sleeping and living space for our family of 6 adults, and a well-stocked kitchen that ended up saving us a lot of money by allowing us to "eat in." There is an Albertson's a couple miles up the road so we just stocked up on breakfast and dinner items plus stuff to make sandwiches we could take out on the slopes in our ski jackets. The kitchen had every utensil and pan we could possibly need, plus a cabinet full of spices and other dry ingredients, so all we had to buy were the perishable items. There's even a charcoal grill outside so two of those meals were burgers and steaks! The hot tub was clean and relaxing, especially after a long day skiing on tired legs. Another cool thing about the house is its radiant heating system through the floors. The gorgeous Mexican tile is a normal room temperature when you get out of bed in the morning instead of freezing cold, like you'd expect! A coffee pot for morning coffee, roaring fire in the living room, satellite TV, puzzles and games, clean bed linens ... I can't imagine coming home to a hotel room when you could stay here for less money!! My husband and I are already talking about how much fun it would be to come back here with friends. We highly recommend it to any future guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Ken Hopper (Albuquerque, NM)
    • Date of stay 12/31/09
    • Review Submitted 12/31/09
    The home absolutely lived up to our expectations - beautiful, roomy, well-situated to take advantage of the many things to do in the Taos area, well-appointed kitchen, and warm, with the radiant heat from the flooring. We were very satisfied.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Chuck & Gay Porter (Wailea, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 12/30/09
    • Review Submitted 12/30/09
    We had the privilege of staying in your lovely home at the end of September. It was beautiful, peaceful and convenient. The hot tub under the stars in the evening, enjoying the cows as they traversed the fields, a thunderstorm for excitement. The house was clean, comfortable, airy and light. Thank you so much for making our visit to Taos a wonderful one!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/15/09
    • Review Submitted 12/15/09
    The house was warm and wonderful and we will stay there again in the future. The kitchen is stocked with every imaginable cookware item one can think of. The dog loved it too. The cows next door were very entertaining and the hot tub was clean and private. It was nice to have so much room for just the two of us and the dog. Thanks again and we look forward to visiting again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Mark in KC (Kansas City. MO)
    • Date of stay 12/10/09
    • Review Submitted 12/10/09
    We chose this home to celebrate a wedding anniversary in Taos and we were certainly not let down. The views of the mountains to the East and sunsets to the West are simply incredible. There are few places better to relax and refresh than northern New Mexico. This exceptionally clean, nicely appointed home absolutely completes the experience. Private, peaceful and very, very comfortable. Thank you for providing such a warm and and inviting oasis.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/06/09
    • Review Submitted 12/06/09
    We loved the house and the Taos area. The house is better than the pictures.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/20/09
    • Review Submitted 10/20/09
    Our stay at your "home" was delightful. Indeed it's a home rather than just a rental space. The setting is unique and i takes days to get ones orientation because the views from each window are spectacular and different. In your home one lives on the Mesa as well as in the mountains with the universe above. "Home" because not only is your house spacious and thoughtfully and artfully designed but you select delightful art and objects that represent your respect and care for the home as well as your guests. My wife and I have rented many houses and we would rate yours not only at the top of the list but in a class of its own- I have one important unanswered question. During one night I happened to open my eyes to enjoy the night sky that slowly travels by your large bedroom window. I was startled to see a meteorite travel across the sky and then burn up in a flash of fire. It was spectacular- But I have no idea what it meant

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/31/09
    • Review Submitted 07/31/09
    When we entered Tierra Madre, we were simply stunned by the views and the incredible design of this home. It didn't hurt that there was a double rainbow just outside the living room window! It is apparent that a great deal of time was spent planning everything about the house. From the orientation of the oversized windows to a gourmet equipped kitchen, it was all wonderful. Our week stay with four adults and an 8 year old was one that set the mark for our future vacation rentals. In fact, if it had been available, we would have returned two months later for a month long stay. Tierra Madre is also a great value with all the amenities anyone could need. Thanks to our owner/host for a memorable visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Eldridge-Khalsa family (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/05/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/09
    Staying at Tierra Madre was magical. We arrived to a view of a double rainbow spanning the mountain view which fills the living room window. The house is perfectly appointed with lots of things for cooking, plenty of (comfy) beds, and bedding and a sweet outdoor garden of daisies which my daughter adored playing in (I would guess there would not be daisies when it is snowing.) Tierra Madre seems to have been laid out to take great advantage of several views... we saw hot air balloons and gorgeous sunsets out of the dining room windows which are opposite the living room. The owners and caretaker were helpful when we needed them and absent when we wanted our space. We loved it so much we are looking at going again very soon and staying longer! I could say so many more wonderful things, but to be simple, you will enjoy staying at Tierra Madre.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest audrie1 (austin, texas)
    • Date of stay 03/04/09
    • Review Submitted 03/04/09
    our vacation was so relaxing and fun, we added an extra day to stay just a little bit longer! this house has every modern convenience and it's decorated to suit it's surroundings. the linens and beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was stocked with tools to bake and cook large meals, and the property is private with a relaxing hot tub. we watched cable, played dvds, and read through the collection of travel books and local lore. this is the best place i have ever stayed through vrbo, and i hope to return every year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Tracey Smith1 (Arlington, Texas)
    • Date of stay 02/04/09
    • Review Submitted 02/04/09
    Absolutely wonderful place to stay! Great family room and kitchen for entertaining. We would highly recommend this home to friends and family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Karen90 (Cross Plains, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/21/09
    • Review Submitted 01/21/09
    Wow!! What a beautiful place to stay. Our family celebrated Christmas, skied, soaked in the hot tub & relaxed in your beautiful home. Thanks for sharing...hope to be back some day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ginny K (Little Rock, AR)
    • Date of stay 01/20/09
    • Review Submitted 01/20/09
    We loved this home - the mountain views were indeed unbeatable and the layout of the home is perfect for a family or several couples traveling together. Very well furnished, conveniently located, the hot tub was wonderful. We highly recommend Tierra Madre if you are traveling to Taos!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Andrea & Kevin Carey (Shawnee, KS)
    • Date of stay 01/20/09
    • Review Submitted 01/20/09
    Our family came to Taos for our annual ski trip. We drove from Shawnee, KS with my finace, his 2 kids and our 2 dogs. The house was absolutely amazing. It was so relaxing and peaceful and had everything we could ask for. The hot tub was a huge hit. After a long day of skiing, sitting out in the hot tub watching the sun set was priceless. We started a fire in the kiva fire place in the living room and relaxed as a family and enjoyed each others company. We will definitely be back next year to stay at Tierra Madre. Andrea & Kevin

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ann Briscall (Kansas City)
    • Date of stay 10/17/08
    • Review Submitted 10/17/08
    I have been visiting Taos for many years. This house was the best place I have ever stayed at. It was comfortable,it had a great location and was very relaxing. I will return again and again. It was so well thought out and set up. It was a wonderful place to spend my vacation. I highly recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Amy45 (Denver CO)
    • Date of stay 03/03/08
    • Review Submitted 03/03/08
    Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home! It truly was spectacular and we couldn't have picked a better home to stay in. Your home had everything we were looking for and MORE! We absolutley plan on staying there again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/24/08
    • Review Submitted 01/24/08
    This house was great. We stayed for a long weekend in January 2008. The location is perfect for easy access to the ski area - and a great home to come home to relax after wearing ourselves out on the mountain! The views were fantastic and the layout was great as well. Thanks for a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/14/07
    • Review Submitted 10/14/07
    We spent the entire month of Sept'07 at your lovely home and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms, views, hot tub were all as advertised and more. We especially enjoyed the great location of this home which was just one mile from the Taos Ski valley highway and only 20 minutes to the Taos Ski valley village and lifts. We are avid hikers and found this location to be convenient to more than 20 great hikes in the area. We hope to revisit Tierra Madre this coming winter for some cross country skiing and snow shoeing. Bob and Gail

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest linda thomas1 (park city, ut)
    • Date of stay 10/14/07
    • Review Submitted 10/14/07
    Your Tierra Madre home is beautiful and fully equipped with all possible amenities. The sunrises over the mountains and sunsets over the expanse to the west are magnificent. We found It is only a few minutes drive to Taos and convenient to Pueblos and the Taos Ski Resort. We had a great time and would like to visit again. Thanks, Linda, Mike & family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Emily Gloekler (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 10/09/07
    • Review Submitted 10/09/07
    My friends and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect or picturesque place to stay. You have the feeling of seclusion although you are still very close to town and the ski valley. The house was clean and I was especially surprised at the wonderful bed linens, not to mention the hot tub is fantastic. I have never seen so many stars! I would definitely recommend this rental. We are making this a yearly trip. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 2 of 2 Previous [ 1 | 2 ]