Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room - our favorite room...GREAT views of the lake!

Beautiful Beachfront Home on Lk Huron - Spectacular Views/ Sugar Sand [#225502] | View Property

Oscoda
Lovely 3 BR 2 BA Beachfront Home on Lake Huron's Sugar Sand Beach, Sleeps 10
$200 - $420/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Beach Home Away from Home

    Beach Home Away from Home

    • Guest Lorna V.
    • Date of stay 11/20/13
    • Review Submitted 01/31/14
    Excellent location, right on the beach and what a beautiful long stretch of sandy beach. Stunning views all around. The interior is not only done beautifully but is warm and cozy even though it is large and spacious. We would return again and again. Loved every minute of it. Thank you so much for the home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • All Work and NO play

    All Work and NO play

    • Guest Nancy E. (allen park)
    • Date of stay 09/15/13
    • Review Submitted 01/29/14
    My second time here-beautiful and clean-spacious and accomidating. I love being here-wish it wasn't always for work. This would be a great place to bring the grandkids!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic!

    Fantastic!

    • Guest Meghan B.
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation at Ervin’s Escape! The house is beautifully decorated and the views are breathtaking. The beach was amazing and the lake was perfect. We spent almost every night around the campfire and saw many shooting stars! It was a very memorable vacation! Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What you See is What you Get!

    What you See is What you Get!

    • Guest Janet C.
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    We've rented several home in the U.S. It's always a leap of faith, hoping what you see is what you get. This property is JUST THAT! My family enjoyed every minute at this beautiful home. The beach really IS sugar sand. The Ervin's have included so many thoughtful items and comforts in their beautiful home. You surely won't be disappointed. Even the neighbors welcomed us! We've already made our reservation for next year. I have a 6 year old and a nine year old and they loved all the treasures in the house and on the beach. We felt right at home the minute we arrived. Can't wait to get back there next summer. Thank you Ervin's for sharing your paradise!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • OUTSTANDING PROPERTY!!!

    OUTSTANDING PROPERTY!!!

    • Guest Kathy (Royal Oak MI)
    • Date of stay 09/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    There isn't enough space here to possibly do this property justice. The pictures, although great, under-estimate the size, beauty, coziness and over-all 'awesomeness' of the house. This house has all of the amenities you could possibly need. There were only 6 of us (adults) on our vaca, but it would comfortably sleep more - especially those with children. The layout is very open and inviting - and the front room, that has perfect views of the lake, is super roomy and is perfect for games, lounging, reading, etc... The master bedroom is giant and I already miss the mattress! The main outdoor patio has tons of seating and the lake is literally less than 50 yards away....and the perfect sugar sand beach between the house and the lake is massive. A southern 2-mile beach walk will put you at what we termed 'Eagle Point', where you can watch the local eagles fly around (and maybe even land like we saw). Searching for cool driftwood never gets old. If you're into mountain biking, the beach is hard enough right at the water line to do so...and biking in and out of the waves never got old. The house was absolutely well maintained, clean, and if you are looking for a 'Great Lake' lakefront house, look no further. Like us, you won't want to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • End Of Summer Retreat

    End Of Summer Retreat

    • Guest Traveller (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    Our family had business in East Tawas, so the location was perfect. We spent four nights, had great weather, and had a chance to explore old haunts. The description of the property was accurate, and the beach and water were great. The property was well stocked and everything was made clear and simple. Basic items were clean, however, areas around entry doors and around windows could have been cleaner, as well as the front and back porch areas. We settled in and enjoyed are stay.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/5

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Dan R.
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/18/12
    We only stayed two days for a golf trip, but this house was perfect for a small group of guys and would definitely have fit several more of us. The location is superb, the pictures don't do it justice, and the amenities are excellent. We will be back without a doubt. Hopefully, next spring!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • oscoda home

    oscoda home

    • Guest wedad s. (detroit metro area)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/12
    What an spectular home,the best on lake huron..the sunset's were amazing,it was a cold weekend,but the views and the waves of the lake and the big windows made it feel like you were in another world,beautiful and the best R&R me and my husband had in a long time. Thank you shelly for sharing your beautiful home! can't wait to stay again...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Break April 2012

    Spring Break April 2012

    • Guest Sylvia M.
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    What a wonderful, peaceful, and beautiful place to get away from home and relax! What you see is what you get and more! You walk in and it is the WOW factor! Beautiful views from all areas of the house and what could be better than Lake Huron as your front yard. The house was very clean and had everything that you would want. Bring your clothes and food and you have everything. I highly recommend this house for any time of the year. Nicely located for day trips for any kind of activity you would want to do. Very nice homeowner, Shelly, who answered all questions promptly. My family and I had a very very wonderful time and we would go back...NOW!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Couldn't have found a better rental!

    Couldn't have found a better rental!

    • Guest Tess M.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    This house was just amazing! Very clean, fully equipped, everything was actually as the owner had described and more! The pics can't do justice to the amazing view! My husband & I booked this for a 3 night get-a-way to celebrate our anniversary ... we were not disappointed! We had somewhat windy weather, and a little cool, but that was to be expected at this time of year. We made up for it by burning a fire inside each evening. He insisted on renting some DVD's, but I'd have been fine with the wide assortment of VHS tapes & a couple DVD's that were right there free to use. The owners were very responsive during the booking process via e-mail. As we were leaving we were worried we'd broken the front screen door, and were in kind of a hurry to get going. Since they had provided not one but three telephone numbers, we were able to get hold of them right away to rectify the issue. This house will comfortably sleep a large group, and you can easily cook gourmet meals if you have the energy after walking the forever long sugar-sand beach and staring at the beautiful expanse of Lake Huron! We will be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Oscoda Escape

    Oscoda Escape

    • Guest LindaJ (Commerce, Mi)
    • Date of stay 07/16/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Where to start? From the beginning I guess...I wanted to provide a family vacation that would accommodate my 3 grown children, their significant others and my 5 grandchildren ranging in age from 17 - 4. Ervin's Escape was the perfect find! The house was spacious, well decorated, comfortable, with plenty of room to spread out for individual activities or come together for games, movies or meals. The owners anticipate your every need from a tiki shower and foot wash outside to a martini shaker and bar setup inside. There wasn't one time that we needed something that we couldn't find it. (There was even a fly swatter which came in handy more than once.) The living room had panoramic views of Lake Huron with spectacular sun rises. It rained a couple of times and the lightning show over the lake rivaled any fireworks display I have ever seen. The patio had ample seating and shade. The beach itself was amazing, clean sand and lots of room to lay out and catch a tan. We had days when the lake was placid and days when the waves rolled in. My 4 year old grandson could play in the water near shore and the rest of us could swim out to the deep water or just lie on a float and truly relax. The game room was used in the evenings and had all kinds of fun things to do. Bumper pool, foosball, air hockey and darts, it kept the kids entertained. Not once did I hear "I'm bored" A major feat considering no was allowed to bring video games. There was a swing set outside for the little ones. Any age group would appreciate this setup. I highly recommend it as a summer vacation spot. We are already talking about going back next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Ervin's Escape in Oscoda

    Ervin's Escape in Oscoda

    • Guest J. Russ (South Lyon)
    • Date of stay 12/30/09
    • Review Submitted 01/05/10
    We had a great vacation staying at Ervin's Escape in Oscoda over the New Year's holiday. Everything was great...the decor, the gameroom, the cleanliness. This cottage/home is very well-kept and well-equipped with everything you need for a "home away from home" stay. The view of Lake Huron is incredible, too. I highly recommend this property

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Wonderful Vacation Home for Couples and Families

    Wonderful Vacation Home for Couples and Families

    • Guest MarkSt (Madison Hts, MI)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/18/07
    This fantastic beach-front home has great views of Lake Huron from the patio, living room, family room, dining room, kitchen and master bedroom. The home is fully furnished including a very nice game room. Our vacation experience actually exceeded our expectations. We enoyed the long walks on the beautiful beach and the evenings around the fire pit. The fall color change provided great views all along the AuSable River scenic roadways. Oscoda is a nice little town with many little shops and several good restaurants to enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/14

  • Awesome

    Awesome

    • Guest Kenmar (Trenton, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/12/07
    The stay on Lake Huron at Erwins' Escape was much more satisfying than we expected. The lakeside home was furnished to a T and made one feel immediately at home like an old friend. All of our visitors were wide-eyed at the surroundings - the most spectacular view and beach with outdoor patio settings that included music from the front room stereo; sleeping accomodations were comfortable and the sound of the surf was priceless. In the words of an 8 yr. old grandson after he did his first inspection: "Awesome, Grandpa, especially for a rental." Our first visit, we will return again and again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/8

  • Fantastic vacation!!!

    Fantastic vacation!!!

    • Guest FoxFamily (Redford, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 09/10/07
    For the last several years we've been renting places that we've found on the Internet, usually over in the Traverse City area. It has worked out reasonably well although there's always been at least one thing that surprised us or that we were disappointed in. Not this time. Ervin's Escape was exactly as described and was by far the nicest place we've stayed. It was a great vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/10

  • BEAUTIFUL BEACHFRONT HOME ON LK. HURON--

    BEAUTIFUL BEACHFRONT HOME ON LK. HURON--

    • Guest Dick & Kathy Y.& clan--Garden City,Mi (Garden City.Mi)
    • Date of stay 06/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/02/07
    A GREAT HOME-WELL KEPT UP WITH A TERRIFIC VIEW OF LK. HURON AND A WONDERFUL BEACH.. LOCATED APROX. 10 MINUTES FROM 2 NEAT UPPER MI. TOWNS OF OSCODA (NORTH ) AND TAWAS/EAST TAWAS (SOUTH ).......GOOD RESTURANTS-( FAVORITE: AU SABLE INN- OSCODA )-SHOPPING - ETC,,,,WAS ONE THE MOST ENJOYABLE FAMILY VACATIONS-EVER !!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A great get-away

    A great get-away

    • Guest Stephanie (Lake Orion, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 12/01/06
    • Review Submitted 02/01/07
    Ervins Escape is a fantastic get-away for everything from immediate to extended family to groups of friends and girls' trips. The beach is amazing, the sand is sugar and lake shallow. An incredible afternoon can be spent tubing down the Au Sable, too. We've also had the pleasure of vacationing at Ervins Escape in the winter and have enjoyed nearby sledding and skating. There is shopping nearby with many antique shops if you're looking for something a little different, or with lots of character. We can't wait for our next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great getaway for all seasons

    Great getaway for all seasons

    • Guest pickytraveler (Troy, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/29/07
    The photos don't capture how beautiful this place is. It is clean and cozy, but spacious! The beach is clean and smooth. The water starts our shallow, so I feel safe letting my kids swim. There are great winter activities in the area as well (ice skating and sledding). This is a great place to stay with your family, a couples retreat, or a girls' weekend away!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Absolutely Fabulous!

    Absolutely Fabulous!

    • Guest Karen (Orion, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/29/07
    Ervin's Escape is an absolutely fabulous place and you will be truly "taken away" upon having the pleasure to vacation there! The environment and accomodations are exceptional and you will experience a wonderful, relaxing vacation with all the comfort and ammenities you could possibly ever need! Anyone who has the pleasure to stay here will be pleased and certainly relaxed and rejuvenated!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • GREAT ACCOMODATIONS

    GREAT ACCOMODATIONS

    • Guest TandT (MICH)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 09/11/06
    The location of this house is great, right on the sugar sand beach. Great place for kids, water is shallow and clear and they really loved the waves. The kitchen and living room are quite spacious and great for relaxing and entertaining. The house is immaculate and well kept. We have rented more than once and plan on returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Winter Solstace

    Winter Solstace

    • Guest Veronica (Chesterfield, MI)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 01/29/07
    If a winter break is needed - don't go south, go north! Watch the sun rise over a fresh water ocean, and listen as the ice sings out a different song on the hour while you sit with your feet up by the wood burning fireplace. The game room was a welcome respite from the television and there was even a garage for our truck to tuck into. When we arrived, the walk was cleared of snow and the thermostat set just right. We watched a red fox and a bobcat walk by the picture window in the evening, very cool! If you like character, try Wiltsies Micro-Brew in Oscoda, it's got some great brews, and the home-made root beer is to die for! The kitchen, by the way, way cool appliances! It was a like display at Disney World on the future, circa 1950!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]