Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of the House from the Hammock

Exquisite Riverfront Paradise...Over 100 Acres- Hike, Boat,Swim Without Leaving! [#226428] | View Property

Front Royal
3 BR, 2 1/2 BA, sleeps 6
$249 - $399/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful remote farmhouse and property.

    Wonderful remote farmhouse and property.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    Our visit hit all the right notes, with fishing, exploring, reading, hiking and cooking all high on the list. Amazing property that is deftly kept up by the owners who have the "right touch". Only touch of civilization was the hum of the freeway which though not visible was noticeable. One of the wonders of the Shenandoah Valley!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Had an awesome stay here

    Had an awesome stay here

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. We reached pretty late on the day we arrived and were almost lost. Frank was very kind to answer our call and direct us to the farm house. The house is well furnished and had most of the condiments required for cooking. We got the rest from the nearby stores. The place is very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the canoe, kayaks, the rec room. The ping pong table was not in a very good shape, but we played quite a few games. There also have a good collection of movies of which we watched a few. We definitely recommend this place to people of all ages.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Just what we needed

    Just what we needed

    • Guest Brendan Y.
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    Was 40-50 degrees the 4 days we stayed, so not as warm as we had hoped for a Spring Break. So, we didn't go canoeing as planned. However, still went on a great 4-hour Appalachian Trail hike from the top of Blue Mountain Road, 10 minutes away. Spent the rest of our time relaxing in the house, watching DVD movies (no cable), etc. Best day was spent on the riverbank. We brought our own portable fire pit and we took it down the short gravel deive at the back of the house behind the barn, down the hill to a beautiful clearing by the river. Clearing is almost as big as a football field, grass-covered with a few tall trees for shade, and there are no houses on the opposite side of the river there. Perfect place for some secluded relaxation, complete with lawn chairs, picnic table and plenty of room for the kids to run around and play. We spent the whole day sitting by the fire, talking, drinking, playing. Great time.

    Owner response: Thanks for spending your break with us. The farm is a real beauty spot and the river clearing is wonderful-as you discovered. We wish everyone had perfect weather because then wonderful becomes magical. Hope you come back and experience the weather you were wishing for. Best, Frank

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Peaceful, Genuine, Family Reunion and Holiday

    A Peaceful, Genuine, Family Reunion and Holiday

    • Guest PCLAN (Summerville, SC)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    Our family from the entire coast of the US all met at this beautiful central point and spent our Christmas holiday there with peace, quiet, joy, love and beautiful scenery. It was a marvelous way to reconnect and refresh, an absolutely perfect holiday. Everyone got to do what they wanted, walk, play in the rec barn, shop nearby, see historic sites all around, or just nothing at all. No internet, no cable, just each other reconnecting with relatives and with nature (deer were everywhere in the snow). A lovely historic, well maintained property. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to REALLY get away from it all.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Peaceful, quiet, relaxing

    Peaceful, quiet, relaxing

    • Guest Anna A.
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    What a paradise on earth! we have enjoyed the peace and quiet of a long weekend - lots to do without having to leave the property! The house is nice, clean and well appointed. Everything we needed was right there. My only "but" is that it does not really fit 8, as advertised - there are beds for 6, and 2 couches that are not really sleepers sofas (our kids slept there anyway, but I was hoping for something more suitable). I am hoping to return to this wonderful property at some point, anyway. Thank you!

    Owner response: Thanks for sharing your great experience at the Farm. The large sectional sofa downstairs is actually a sleeper but it isn't a traditional fold out. It has an Ikea pop-up design under one "L" with bedding storage under the other "L". Based on your experience I will go ahead and put pictures along with detailed instructions in the house. I do allow up to eight guests before extra charges apply and I spell out (hopefully clearly) what bedding is in each bedroom in the listing. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely family vacation

    Lovely family vacation

    • Guest meghan s.
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    Just returned from a relaxing week at Rolling River Farm with my boyfriend, parents, sister and brother-in-law and 10-month old niece. The house and grounds are a wonderful place to just be together. We spent hours and hours reading on the porch and wandering through the fields. Our dogs loved running around like lunatics and swimming in the river. The kitchen was perfect for cooking big family meals, and the table firepit was ideal for making s'mores for dessert! We also made sure to squeeze in some ping pong and fooseball tournaments in the rec room. We drove from Washington and the trip was a breeze, but it also wasn't bad for the rest of our family who came down from eastern PA. Definitely look forward to getting back there again (hopefully a long weekend for two in the pond house this fall)! Thank you to Frank and his family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect getaway

    Perfect getaway

    • Guest Paul C.
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    We loved our week spent at the Rolling River Farm. After two busy weeks in NY and Washington we arrived at the farm and were amazed by the views, the house and amenities. The house was beautifully decorated and furnished, very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Once we arrive we didn't want to leave and had a very relaxing week. The surrounding countryside was very beautiful and our three boys enjoyed the rec room, the river, swimming, kayaking and the wildlife (deer, butterflies, fish, terrapins etc). We could not have asked for anything better, it was perfect. Would love to return one day. The Cousins Family, UK, 2 adults, 3 kids

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the Farm House

    Loved the Farm House

    • Guest Carolina S.
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    We loved the farm house, and would like to go back there every year. It was extremely clean and accurately described. The location was great, and we couldn't believe we had stores like target, only 10 minutes away. The property has everything you need, it feels so much like your own home. The kitchen is extremely well-stocked. The owner quickly responded to our e-mails, when we were booking the place and he was very helpful with any questions you might have. Next time we are definitely renting the pontoon boat he offered us before we got there. Our kids loved the place and can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • loved it

    loved it

    • Guest old berryvillers (chapel hill nc)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    beautiful property, wonderful place to spend time with family...we loved it

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanksgiving Respite

    Thanksgiving Respite

    • Guest Ann (Washington state)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 01/28/12
    We loved staying at the farm - both for the setting and for the very attractive, very comfortable, very well-furnished home. We found it restful - plenty of room to spread out and read or go for walks or cook or play cards or... The kitchen is extremely well-stocked with dishes, cooking pans and instruments, appliances (more like "home" than a rental), which allowed us to prepare delightful meals over the holidays.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ideal short trip from DC

    Ideal short trip from DC

    • Guest Lisa L.
    • Date of stay 09/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    Thank you, Frank, for sharing your house with us this past weekend. The farmhouse was ideal for 2 families with young children. When it rained, we put on a movie for the kids and the grown ups sat at the big table in the kitchen around the corner. The boys especially loved the Wii and ping pong table in the rec room -- and the parents loved that they were in a separate building but right outside the kitchen window and across from the porch where we could keep an eye on them from the porch swing. When it stopped raining we hiked around the property, hunted for bugs, went canoeing and played bocce. We were surprised that the upstairs restroom doesn't have a shower or bath - but using the one downstairs worked fine for us. We appreciated having the grill, beautiful well-equipped kitchen, and washer & dryer. Everything worked and was nice and clean too. We hope to come back again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing, peaceful, and very comfortable

    Relaxing, peaceful, and very comfortable

    • Guest Dave (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/04/11
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    A fabulous place to stay. The house is warm and inviting, and then there is the 130 acres to wander around and walk, play, etc. A very unique place. Frank is very responsive to emails and phone calls, so although we didn't require his attention during our stay, I know if we did he would be available. We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Winter Weekend

    Winter Weekend

    • Guest Windy (United States)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 03/23/11
    Had a wonderful visit, getting out of DC for a weekend trip. Lovely house and setting, would certainly recommend to anyone looking to get out of the city and enjoy a touch of the country-side, but with comfort.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxation in a scenic setting

    Relaxation in a scenic setting

    • Guest Susan (Westminster Maryland)
    • Date of stay 01/17/11
    • Review Submitted 01/31/11
    Loved the week at this property. Our lab, Sophie, adjusted quickly to the 100 acres of rolling hills. Home was clean and as pictured .Great kitchen ! Bring books to read as there is no TV or Internet ( just what we were looking for ) . Had 2 great meals in town at "Apt 2G " & "Element".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The farm house and property are incredible!

    The farm house and property are incredible!

    • Guest Maggie H. (Park City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 09/29/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/10
    A small group of us stayed at the Rolling River Farm for four days - not nearly enough time! The home is beautiful and incredibly well finished. It was so relaxing to sit in the bright, sunny living room and out on the porch. And the kitchen is fantastic! We brought our dog with us who LOVED running around the property. We will definitely be back again next year, and stay for longer so we can thoroughly enjoy the river and surrounding area. Staying at Rolling River Farm totally made our trip! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An extremely relaxing weekend

    An extremely relaxing weekend

    • Guest rsm (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/10
    My husband and I were looking for a quiet weekend away from D.C., and we found it! The house itself is very modern and has a beautiful kitchen that is perfect for cooking and grilling. While there is plenty to do around Front Royal (wineries, hiking, etc.), we spent all day Saturday reading in the hammock, sitting by the river, and using the property's canoe. We really enjoyed the weekend, and would highly recommend the property to a family or couple searching for some peace and quiet.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great time...

    Great time...

    • Guest CT (Ashburn)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 10/10/10
    We had a blast. The house, property, river and "feel" of the place was everything we hoped. Wish we never had to leave. This place was perfect.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A gem

    A gem

    • Guest dcmom (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/10/10
    We booked a last-minute family vacation and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. The farmhouse, its accompanying acreage and the riverfront access was wonderful. The house itself was very clean and comfortable with all of the amenities you might need. The porch provided a place to sit in the afternoon shade. The back patio and its fire pit were the focal point for our evenings. Long hours were spent fishing, kayaking and canoing. The rest of our time we spent walking the fields enjoying the magnificent view of the mountains. The owners were friendly and responsive when we booked the place. We will definitely be back for another visit....our kids are already asking when can we go back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Space

    Fantastic Space

    • Guest MrCP (Washington, Dc)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/10
    This place was nice. The house was great, classy and clean. Plenty of space for 8+ people. But what sealed the deal was the 100 acre property. Lots of space to go for walks, relax in solitude, and even hang out by the river. We'll certainly be going back.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A very quiet, relaxing stay

    A very quiet, relaxing stay

    • Guest KJB1 (Severna Park, Maryland, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/09
    • Review Submitted 10/01/09
    We were very pleased with our stay at Rolling River Farm. The grounds are magnificent and not done justice by the pictures. The house has every modern convenience with a well stocked kitchen with modern appliances. We all enjoyed taking hikes on the property to the river and my daughter especially enjoyed swinging (or being swung) in the hammock while the adults sat at the nearby table under the tree enjoying a glass of wine and taking in the views. We can't wait to come back as soon as time permits. The close proximity to Skyline Drive is a plus for hikers.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A True Coming Home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A True Coming Home!

    • Guest K. Johnson
    • Date of stay 04/26/09
    • Review Submitted 06/03/10
    Thank you for opening your home for others to experience and enjoy. We marveled at the care and thoughtfulness of the renovations. The house was comfortably modern yet retained the charm of a bygone era. The setting is impeccable. The rolling hills, the gorgeous sunsets, the river all around, the old barns, the swaying field grass in the breeze, and the sound of the Church bells made for an unforgettable getaway. We did not leave the property the entire weekend...we didn't have to. Everything we needed was right here. Our dogs are pleasantly exhausted...thank you! We will return until mabye one day when we find a Rolling River Farm of our own...if we are not spoiled by the shear beauty of this farm. Thanks so much it was a true getaway and, at the same time, a true coming home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • What Lovely Thanksgiving

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What Lovely Thanksgiving

    • Guest A. Infingardi
    • Date of stay 11/26/08
    • Review Submitted 06/03/10
    This beautiful and comfortable house was the perfect respite for a group of friends in dire need of a getaway! We went for long walks across the hills, cooked together and told ghost stories by the outdoor fireplace. In time we left behind our little and not so little problems and focused on the really important questions...what to eat and when to take our next nap. Our dogs Sebastian and Louie chased every interesting smell until there little legs wouldn't take them any further, then collapsed by the fire. Kayaking on the river we hooted and howled then floated in the sun to a chorus of birds. This farm is a great place to think and write, gaze at the stars, get lost or find something you were looking for. We will be back many times when it is time to tell stories again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]