Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This is the view from condo not just a stock photo but your view

Ocean Front, Steps to Beach, Great View, Palmas - it is True Not a Sales Pitch [#227370] | View Property

Palmas del Mar
2 Bedrooms + Loft bedroom, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8, Internet, Ocean just steps away
$300 - $350/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful time!

    Wonderful time!

    • Guest Joe B.
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    My two young adult daughters and wife thoroughly enjoyed our week at this beach front villa. From the soothing sounds of the ocean every morning to the tennis and golf at the Palmas Del Mar clubs. It was the perfect remedy for the post holiday and winter blues. The villas location in Palmas allows for side trips to Vieques (which we took) and the rainforest. The 3rd bedroom loft was an additional benefit for my daughters privacy. This Beach Village community is adjacent to the hotel and from what I understand, was part of the initial construction at Palmas. In addition, Darrin was a superb host, sharing good information from directions to procedures to dining and cultural suggestions. I'd highly recommend a visit to the villa and Palmas in general.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Overall a Nice Stay with a Few Issues

    Overall a Nice Stay with a Few Issues

    • Guest FL Family (Gainesville, FL)
    • Date of stay 12/24/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    We had anice stay at Palmas Del Mar. The condo was overall well kept and located right on the beach as pictured. There were a few issues we had with the condo: Upon check-in we were told that the sliding glass door leading from the Master bedroom to the balcony overlooking the ocean was "off track" and we shouldn't use the door. That was a dissappointment. When we booked the condo we were told the property owner would allow us to use his golf cart kept at the property if it was not being serviced. At check-in we were told the golf cart was sold the previous week. This would have been nice to know ahead of time because this left us with out a golf cart over the Christmas holiday in a community where a golf cart is almost a must. The rental locations were closed/booked for a few days. The beach was beautiful to look at from afar and the ocean breeze was nice, however the beach needed to be cleaned. It was littered with small pieces of trash, we even found a hypodermic syringe. That was a bit alarming. Overall, Palmas Del Mar is a beautiful community with lots to do. We enjoyed our vacation, but would not come back for the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The feedback is helpful as I work hard to ensure guests have a nice place to stay that is truly steps to the beach. Prior to this guest, I had been in the condo and checked the sliding glass door. It is a double door with one door sliding left and the other right. The doors have new tracks and wheels and I learned on my last trip that when the door is opened with too much force it jumps the track and hard to lift back on. I informed that property manager to find a door specialist to adjust the door. The right side of the sliding door was on track and easily opened only the door sliding to the left was off track. Unfortunately, my good gesture of offering my golf cart at no cost turned out to be a negative. I informed those I offered the cart that it depended on it being operational. When I was at the condo, I learned the golf cart was not running. I “sold” it at such a low price as a way to get it off the property. I apologize for not informing. The beaches in Palmas del Mar are daily groomed with machinery that picks up and sifts the sand. At the time of this rental, there had been stormy weather which unfortunately brings additional debris onto the beach. This is the first time I heard of a needle being at or near the condo beach. That is unfortunate as I lived in Palmas for 11.5 years and was frequently at the condo beach area and never heard of or saw a needle. Overall, people have a good experience with the ocean side condo. I take great effort to address matters when brought to my attention.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent View and Service

    Excellent View and Service

    • Guest Laura W. (Columbia City, Indiana)
    • Date of stay 12/07/13
    • Review Submitted 12/19/13
    The property of Palmas del Mar was absolutely gorgeous and safe. The Beach Village condo is in fact steps from the beach. The pool had many new lounge chairs that were very comfortable and a wonderful place to sunbathe and cool off in the afternoon. A 45 minute drive to old San Juan and El Yunque was easy and I recommend these places to visit - had a wonderful experience! Restaurants at the Palmas Plaza are very good - we especially loved The Blue Hawaiian - oriental cuisine. If I decided to return to see more of Puerto Rico, I would definitely rent this condo again. My only complaint is the beach chairs were broken and not a very nice quality/size anyhow - an oceanfront condo should provide great beach chairs. Darrin was a great host and took us personally to a couple beach sites for sea glass while he happened to be on the island - so appreciated and thus trumps the beach chair disappoint and reason for 5 stars! I'm sure he will update the chairs. :)

    Owner response: Beach chairs have been reviewed, updated and new ones provided. When made aware of and issue it is addressed. This was the first it was brought to my attention and after investigation chairs updated and new ones purchased.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good villa, few issues

    Good villa, few issues

    • Guest Palmas' fan (Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 07/29/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    The villa has a unique location in front of the ocean. You can admire the ocean from the kitchen, living room, and master bedroom. You can enjoy beautiful and peaceful sunrises from the balcony. Potential renters should be aware that the villa has three levels, which could present some challenges to elders or people with motor handicapping conditions. The levels also affect the efficiency of the a/c unit, making some bedrooms significantly hotter than others. The second bedroom receives the sun directly and could be uncomfortable, particularly during the afternoon and evening hours. We were not able to use the second bedroom for the first two nights because the window was broken and couldn't be shut completely, letting the cool air escape and making the temperature of the room extremely uncomfortable to sleep in during the hot summer nights. Their first attempt at fixing was unsuccessful, and it took longer than what we expected to solve a relatively easy issue to fix. Even after the window was fixed, you could feel the difference in temperature between the first and second level. The other issue was the opening and closing of the master bedroom's sliding door which goes to the balcony. It was very difficult to open and close since it did not run properly in its tracks. We also experienced a dissapointment when the golf cart we had planned to use from the owner was not available. We had to incur in additional expenses to rent one. Other than that, we enjoyed our time in Palmas. The villa is spacious and having a washer and dryer in the unit is very convenient. Palmas offers a great place to enjoy morning and evening walks around the complex. We enjoyed the pool more than the beach since the beach tends to be a little rough for swimming. Swimmers must be aware of potentially strong currents. The local restaurants are very good. We had dinner at Bistro Rico and at Tapas Bar, down by the Marina, and were very pleased with the quality of the food. The owner offers very good information about places to visit in Puerto Rico. The island will not disappoint anybody with its beauty and friendly people.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: For all inquiries, my goal is to give accurate information about the condo and Puerto Rico. I want people to be well informed and do not give sales pitch. Often people are surprised at my candor and appreciate accurate information. I want people to understand and have a positive experience. The condo has rented well and this renter was the first to inform of window problems in the second bedroom. As a result, sealing the windows has been addressed. I offered use of my personal golf cart at no extra charge as a courtesy. Prior to this rental, a person hit at tree with the golf cart and it was being repaired. The track on the master bedroom sliding door has been replaced by a professional installer and is working. The condo is well maintained and there is an English speaking property manager on site. I address issues when they are known.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • great time!!

    great time!!

    • Guest Allison (manitoba,canada)
    • Date of stay 02/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    we were very pleased with our stay in palmas del mar, the property was much better in person than the photos on the website.plenty of room for the 7 of us that stayed there for 2 weeks. Felt very safe, everyone was friendly. We will go back

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding!

    Outstanding!

    • Guest John R.
    • Date of stay 02/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    What a truely wonderful place. We had a great time staying at your villa Darren and Josie was a big help. She had the door unlocked for us when we arrived and had music playing...the kids loved it. Truely a cozy and comfy place. Morning coffee on the balcony overlooking beach was awsome. We had 5 of our 6 girls from 11 to 18 yrs with us and there were no space issues what so ever. I didn't see one bug the entire trip. Sliding door from bedroom out to balcony was stuck and to be honest i never took a look at it to get it open after day one because the a/c is usually running and there is no need. Great boogie boarding surf at the beach. About 4to 5 ft break starting 100 yards out. Never made it out on the golf coarse but would recommend it highly as it looked top notch similar to some of the coarses in Hawaii. Shopping close by. We had a rental van and blazed our own trail from San Juan down to Humacao because the traffic on the suggested route was packed at the time of day we arrived. Nice jungle route along the mountain El Yunque peaks. Stunning! Many trips back and forth to Fajardo with little to no traffic. After 3 days I was convinced that you really can't get lost in Puerto Rico anywhere along the coast. Thanks again Darren, We'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Right on the beach!

    Right on the beach!

    • Guest Sally (New jersey)
    • Date of stay 12/16/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    My family enjoyed this lovely place right on the beach. Condo itself is entirely adequate, with a dishwasher, washer/dryer, golf cart. It's not an all-inclusive place, but we used the tennis courts (great!). Most of the activities we did involved driving to other places. But the beach is beautiful at Palmas and the condo area is well maintained. It would have been useful to have a good map of the development -- it was only on the last day we discovered the market and restaurants just a stone's throw from the condo.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Visit to Puerto Rico and Wonderful Stay at Beach Village in Palmas Del Mar

    Great Visit to Puerto Rico and Wonderful Stay at Beach Village in Palmas Del Mar

    • Guest Beach-Guy (McKinney, Tx)
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    My wife and I traveled to Puerto Rico for our very first visit during October 2012. We had a wonderful time exploring all of the many things to do in PR --- and Beach Village within Palmas Del Mar was a great place to stay! Much to my delight, this unit provided everything that it promised -- lots of room to spread out with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Even better was the actual "Million Dollar" view of the beach and ocean just steps away from the condo!! What a wonderful time we had relaxing at the condo and enjoying this great view from the Master Bedroom, the Living Room and from the Veranda, which is where we ate our breakfast and had coffee every morning while we watched the sun rising and listened to the sweet melody of the ocean below us. I highly recommend this condo to anyone who enjoys being right on the beach to soak up the sights and sounds of the ocean. This unit provides ample room for a romantic getaway for two or for a family getaway with eight! Book this unit and you will have a great place to stay while you make many wonderful memories in Puerto Rico!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great view and location

    Great view and location

    • Guest Marcos V.
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    The property is located right on the beach. Sitting in the balcony first thing in the morning and late nights was relaxing. It has a million dollar view. This was the winning feature of the property. The villa stayed cool and had plenty of room. It was great having a washer and dryer. The only two minor issues we had were a lack of pillowcases and the tiny ants in the kitchen area. There were decorative pillows on the beds but not enough actual pillows/pillowcases for sleeping. The small/microscopic ants found there way to cereal and other items we had on the counter top. We had to throw away some food due to the ants. Other than this, we had a great time. The property owner was very patient and waited for us to arrive especially since we ran late because we were stuck in a traffic jam in San Juan. We enjoyed the stay.

    Owner response: When a renter informs of a need it is addressed with diligence. New pillow cases and pillows have been supplied to the unit. Unfortunately, the small ants are home in the tropics but this is the first time notice of being a problem in the condo. There is regular extermination service and the extermination service has been notified and special treatment has been rendered and the ants have not been seen since. When there is an issue it is addressed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Vacation We Ever!!!

    Best Vacation We Ever!!!

    • Guest kearbear (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/28/10
    When we arrived at the condo walking up to the condo me and my husband looked at each other. The term "million dollar view " comes to mind. The condo is located directly on the beach (30 ft. from the ocean). The condo has 2 large bedrooms and a loft bedroom. We traveled with our 2 girls ages 11 & 15. The condo is so large there are two patio areas, living room, kitchen and (3) bedrooms after being together all day there was more than ample areas to find alone time. It is a gated community with several restaurants within the complex. We ate at a Tapas restaurant one night and a French restaurant another both excellent located near the habor. We also did many activities in the area which the condo location was very centralized.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Can't go wrong.

    Can't go wrong.

    • Guest Jose A. (New York City)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/16/10
    Beautiful location, beautiful condo, our total vacation experience was great. The thing that really stole my heart was the view of the ocean right from the condo's deck. The complex is also beautiful and very secured. The people are extremly friendly and polite.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Villa!!!!

    Excellent Villa!!!!

    • Guest asmr (Ponce, PR)
    • Date of stay 07/12/09
    • Review Submitted 07/19/09
    I just got back from staying in this villa for a week... I went with my husband and two kids and with another couple with teenage girls. We had an awesome time. The villa is well kept, the owner is very accessible if you need anything. I suggest that you rent a golf cart it is easier to go around Palmas. I will definetly rent this one again!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Vacation!

    Awesome Vacation!

    • Guest robin42 (Charleston, WV)
    • Date of stay 07/11/09
    • Review Submitted 10/18/09
    We stayed in this condo in July. Couldn't have been any better. Very clean, awesome location, loved the beach bar down the beach. Rent a golf cart and explore the grounds. Plan to go back again!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]