Spacious Mountaintop Contemporary with Spectacular Views
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Campton house description
The Mountain Top House is a very private and spacious 4,000 square ft. luxury home, perched at the pinnacle of Campton Mountain, providing breathtaking views from every room.
Amenities include: pool table, sunken fireplace pit, sunken 4 person Jacuzzi tub, custom kitchen, recreation room with wet bar and second fireplace, central stereo system, wireless internet, large wrap-around mahogany deck, and phenomenal sunsets.
Guests may also enjoy the Waterville Estates Community Center and recreation complex with indoor/outdoor pools, indoor/outdoor hot tubs, saunas, tennis courts, and seasonal ice skating/paddle boating.
Our 10-acre property is adjacent to Campton Mtn ski area (ski-in/ski-out from the back door!) which offers inexpensive ($10) day and night skiing without the crowds. It's like your own private ski resort! The ski area is mother nature dependent (grooming but no snow making) and has trails and a rope tow for all abilities. If the ski lifts aren't operating, we usually still have adrenaline spiking sledding and tubing right out the back door.
Our views make this location one in a million. If you're looking for a truly memorable and special place to catch up with friends and family, or just to escape to, this is it.
Waterville Valley, Loon, Tenney and Cannon mountains are close-by, as is the acclaimed Owl's Nest Golf Course. We are 2 hours from Boston.
Keywords: House, chalet, condo
- 4000 sq. ft.
- 3 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Pets Not Allowed
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14, Beds for 14
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Dining Area Seats:
- Pantry Items
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Child's Highchair
- Cooking Utensils
- Towels Provided:
- Washing Machine:
- Linens Provided
- Living Room seats 14
- Shared Hot Tub:
- CD Player
- Pool Table
- DVD Player
- Video Library
- Satellite / Cable
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
- Free Long Distance
Pool & Spa
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Cross Country Skiing
- Water Skiing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Basketball Court
- Rock Climbing
- Mountain Biking
- Wildlife Viewing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Theme Parks
- Sight Seeing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Ice Skating
- Water Tubing
- Ski Lift Privileges
- Fitness Center
- Horseback Riding
ReviewsWrite a review
So many broken things in this house!
So many broken things in this house!
Yes this house in Campton NH has stunning views and has a roomy, homey feel. BUT, almost everything we touched was broken! We were aswamp in family games --- all missing pieces, old and broken in many other ways too. They took up much needed space in the living room. The fireplace screen is broken. The secrets to the cantankerous heating system eluded all 8 adults. One jet in the Jacuzzi is non-functional. The VHS video library may offer many titles, but one of the old VHS machines did not work at all and the other limped along unsatisfactorily. Several of the remotes were missing batteries! But the creme de la creme is that the spin cycle on the washing machine did not work so we had a load of heavy wet clothing which the dryer could not cope with (also does not work well). There were way too few towels since we could not dry them in a timely manner. I would not recommend this house to anyone. It needs an overhaul.
- Guest Ellen (Delaware)
- Date of stay 12/21/12
- Review Submitted 01/06/13
Owner response: Thanks for your Grinchy Grinch review Harriet! I think I now understand why you were attracted to our mountain top retreat for Christmas Eve!!! YOU left our house in disgusting shape, with trash everywhere. We had to bring in extra cleaners to get the house back into shape. I didn’t expect to find more ‘trash’ here! Our heating thermostats are pretty simple: turn the dial to the left for less heat, to the right for more. It’s a big house and we have seven zones/thermostats to prevent hot/cold spots and to allow you to customize the temp wherever you are. I am mystified how you found the system to be “cantankerous”. During your stay, you emailed that you needed more firewood. I was shocked that we could be out. I asked a huge favor of my wood supplier to bring in an emergency delivery on Christmas Eve. After the delivery, he called wondering where the emergency was… after he found wood piled so high at the house. We have a high capacity, high efficiency Maytag Neptune washer and dryer which are real workhorses. The washer was overhauled with new bearings and a new belt just a couple of months ago, and it was in perfect working order. During your stay, the belt broke. We suspect that you overfilled the washer to such a degree that it strained the mechanics. When you took the load of wet dripping towels and put them in the dryer, the load sensors prevented the machine from running and self-destructing. After the machine was powered off, and the sensors re-set, it worked fine. The group that stayed at the house prior to you included some toddlers. Apparently, the kids had a wild time with our board games and scrambled everything up. Thanks for bringing that to our attention. Sorry you were “aswamped”. In addition to 500 channels of premium cable, we have a large collection of DVD and VCR movies at the house. Some of the oldies but goodies are VCR tapes that are wearing out and don’t play as well. I believe you grabbed a bad tape. When we checked, the VCR players worked just fine. Harriet, YOU left my house a filthy mess in violation of the lease. Out of hundreds of renters, I can honestly say YOU are the most ungrateful and demanding renter I have encountered. 88% of the folks that have offered independent reviews gave us a ‘5’ and the balance gave us a ‘4’. The renters prior to and after your stay sent notes raving about how wonderful the house was. I’m sorry you had such a miserable time!!!
Unforgettable! It's truly a wonderful place.Guest comment entered by owner
Unforgettable! It's truly a wonderful place.
Hey Bill! Man did we have a blast this weekend! It was the best family weekend getaway we have had. The house was amazing. You were right, all we needed was food. The view was breath taking and so relaxing. Thanks so much for allowing us to experience the mountain top house. Unforgettable! It's truly a wonderful place. We are already thinking about when to go back. Again thanks so much!
- Guest Tanya
- Date of stay 06/10/12
- Review Submitted 06/12/12
Perfect in every way!
Perfect in every way!
Three of us grandmothers had a "granny get-away" at this special house with our 5 grandchildren during their spring school break. The house was so comfortable with lots of room, lots of beds, lots of bathrooms, and lots of thoughtful extras like games, movies, toys and a wonderful large dining table. You can tell the owners love and enjoy this home. The owner was great to deal with - responsive and warm. The community resources were really wonderful for the kids. They enjoyed the lake and paddle boats, the indoor pool, and the game systems. We loved our "get-away" and give this home and this owner a perfect score.
- Guest The grannies (CT and Il)
- Date of stay 04/15/12
- Review Submitted 04/19/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.
The house is beautiful with plenty of room for multiple families. We stayed Christmas week and had a wonderful, relaxing week. My parents had their own "apartment" downstairs, my sister and her family had the master suite, and my family had the third floor suite. Kids ages ranged from 10-21 and they were all entertained with the pool table and many, many games and puzzles. The view was beautiful and we used the deck, even in December! You can see the chairlift for Campton Mountain from the house deck, although it wasn't open when we were there in December. The house was well provisioned and it was a treat to have linens and towels provided for us. Some went skiing at Waterville Valley, even though we had very little snow. The 8 passes to the rec center were used a lot. My dad especially loved the sauna and the cousins used the pools and hot tub while some of us used the machines in the gym. We even had drinks and dinner at the rec center one night. Also, Bill's recommendation to try the Mad River Tavern was excellent. The buffalo wings and many beers on draft were fun to sample! The owner was a pleasure to deal with and was very responsive and helpful. We would stay here again!
- Guest Kristin C.
- Date of stay 12/23/11
- Review Submitted 01/05/12
Truly Sleeps 14
Truly Sleeps 14
We meet every year from all over the country for a family reunion. This year everyone had a bed. The house is equipped and the views are wonderful. This listing exceeds it description. Thank you fro a great week.
- Guest Beth (Gloucester Ma USA)
- Date of stay 12/26/10
- Review Submitted 01/06/11
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.
From her i-Phone...Guest comment entered by owner
From her i-Phone...
It was more than I expected. It was a view of a lifetime. We had so much fun in the house, we never left. I definitly want to do it again sometime. Thank you
- Guest Abby
- Date of stay 11/05/10
- Review Submitted 11/17/10
I rented the house for the weekend with my husband and 5 year old daughter. The house was very comfortable and had a view that even the pictures can't capture. I loved the layout of the house and can tell you it's 1000 times nicer than the pictures. Me and my husband loved relaxing in the jacuzzi and lighting up the fire place. My daughter loved their playroom and movies. We definitly will return for another trip again. My daughter the other day said " when are we going back to the top of the world" lol. It really does look like the top of the world.
- Guest Abby (Salem nh)
- Date of stay 11/05/10
- Review Submitted 11/16/10
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.
View is incredibleGuest comment entered by owner
View is incredible
I just got home from up north, and what a great weekend. The view from the house is incredible. We enjoyed it, and the pool table very much. Thank you for letting us stay at your mountain top escape. Some of my family flew up from Florida and Arizona, and had never seen the mountains before. Needless to say they were amazed and never left that incredible deck. Truly a memorable weekend. I'd love to come back in the winter months for some skiing and riding.
- Guest AD
- Date of stay 08/28/10
- Review Submitted 08/30/10
This is a wonderful house! The views are incredible, and truly visible from every room. A fabulous deck with picnic table and plenty of chairs for relaxing and looking at the mountains. The drive up to the house is steep and more than a bit bumpy, but well worth it, and you get used to it very quickly. The decor is definitely from the 70's, but very clean and well-kept. There are windows everywhere which make for excellent airflow in the nice weather. One caution concerning the bathroom on the main floor...The shower is actually in the jacuzzi tub. It's quite a large step down into the tub, which could be difficult for the elderly or physically challenged. There are about a dozen steps down from the driveway to the house, but once you get into the house everything that would be necessary can be found on the main floor: bedroom, bathroom (with the caution about the shower/tub), living room, kitchen and deck. So it is great for people with disabilities. The kitchen is very fully equipped and there is a nice sized pantry. Everybody really enjoyed the pool table! We'd definitely stay there again!!
- Guest A very satisfied renter (Laurel Springs, NJ)
- Date of stay 07/18/09
- Review Submitted 07/28/09
Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.
Great House with Terrific Views!
Great House with Terrific Views!
This is a wonderful and very unique home! We were a large group of adults and there was plenty of space for everyone. The house has many rooms and places to gather. The view is unreal and you can’t help but notice it from every single room! The house is very clean and everything is in good shape. The kitchen had every amenity you could want to cook a big dinner and the kitchenette downstairs was helpful to store additional food items and leftovers. As others have mentioned, the décor is a bit dated and some things could definitely use an update, but overall a really wonderful large home with everything you could want for a vacation or weekend away. The hill is very big and steep to get to this home as one would expect since the house sits just above the former ski lift! Well worth the trek for the view alone, but be prepared. Bill is one of the nicest and best owners to deal with. I would highly recommend renting this home for a large group or family and we do hope to return again.
- Guest SkiBoston (MA)
- Date of stay 01/09/09
- Review Submitted 02/20/09
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.
Base Rate ................ $200-$650/night Ski Weekends ............ $500/night for first 2 nights, $250 for each add'l night Jul & Aug ................................ $2200/week (Sat-Sat) Winter Holidays .......... $350-$650/night Non-ski season weekends .. $350/night Weekends require 2 night minimum. Each additional night is $200-250/night
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Year Purchased: 2001
About the owner: We love our Mtn Top get-away... and love sharing the comfortable house and breathtaking views with others that appreciate it as much as we do! --Bill
Why the Owner Chose Campton:
The particular views from this house are just incredible, and the neighborhood Community Center is like your own private country club.
- Primary: (508) 517-6849 (Massachusetts, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Four season spacious mountain top contemporary retreat with phenomenal views.
Welcome to the top of the world!
Living room with 270 degree views.
Lower rec room with surround sound TV, galley kitchen, fireplace, & game table.
Upstairs bedroom with queen + full/twin bunk.
Pool table in loft.
Our guests can use the many facilities at the neighborhood Community Center.
Adjacent to Campton Ski Area: ski-out the back door, $10 lift tix, day/night ski
Heavenly sunsets above the clouds!!!
View of main living room from loft
Master bedroom suite with queen bed, 3-4 person Jacuzzi tub, & private bathroom.
Bathroom & powder room on lower level. 3 and 1/2 bathrooms = no lines!
Lower level bedroom with full/twin bunk bed... provides lots of sleeping options
Lower level bunk room with two sets of bunk beds.
Indoor pools, hot tubs, saunas, fresh water pond, game room, dining, etc, etc.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Saturday, May 25, 2013
4 Bedroom / 3.5 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.