Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Step out the door of Villa La Jolla - the Caribbean is at your doorstep!

Private, Comfy 3 BR/3 Bath Home on the Caribbean - 2 Bikes + Kayak + Cell Incl. [#227493] | View Property

San Pedro
House, 3 Bedrooms + , 3 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$375/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (50)

Sort by:
  • A fun stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A fun stay!

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 04/06/14
    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
    We really did enjoy staying at Villa La Jolla. Sergio and Rachelle were very helpful and made us feel at home. We were VERY glad for the A.C. as it was quite hot and humid when we were there. Thanks, again, for being so helpful and interested in how we were doing and how our stay was going. We all thought that was very nice of you. Hope you'll be able to enjoy La Jolla yourself very soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • we LOVE it here!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    we LOVE it here!

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 03/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    Your home is lovely and Rachel and Sergio are great. Very helpful. We're hoping the wind will calm down, but it didn't stop 2 of the guys from going bone fishing today and they LOVED it. Thanks for letting us share your home AND THE POOL AND the Cool Dock....and...and...and we LOVE it here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun trip!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fun trip!

    • Guest A Happy Family
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    Everything was great! We all had a blast! Everything that we needed was taken care of by the caretakers. Thank you for letting us rent your beautiful home. We would love to rent from you again in the future. :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great trip!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great trip!

    • Guest Happy Family
    • Date of stay 02/24/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    We are thoroughly enjoying the house, the property and Rachel and Sergio are fantastic! We are disappointed that our time is almost up and we have to go back to -20 degree Celsius.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanks for the super vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for the super vacation

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 02/17/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    We were very happy with the house and the caretakers....Rachel and Sergio certainly made our trip very pleasurable....from the service to the tips on restaurants and places to visit and Sergio's lessons on coconuts and which are best for the milk and which ones for the meat. He provided us with some of the milk and meat which we loved! Our trip was 1st class from the prompt pick up upon arrival and throughout our stay. Your home is beautiful and we loved everything about it. We especially liked arriving and having some of the cooking (oils and spices) things, paper towels, toilet paper available . Rachel cleaned all the time and was very accommodating if we needed a beach towel exchanged. I would totally recommend your place to friends as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay! As well, your prompt replies to emails and your management companies replies to questions was greatly appreciated. Thanks again for the super vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • "Vacation in Paradise"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Vacation in Paradise"

    • Guest Happy Guest
    • Date of stay 01/27/14
    • Review Submitted 01/28/14
    everything was great upon our arrival...picked up and transported to your Villa and we were greeted by Rachel and her husband....you have a beautiful place here in paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Happy Holiday Guests at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Holiday Guests at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest A Happy Family from the Mountain West
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/26/13
    I wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time during our trip to Belize and particularly enjoyed our stay at your Villa. Raquel and Sergio were wonderful. Raquel cooked us a delicious supper and Sergio made each of us a necklace. We spent a day and a half snorkeling and fishing with Genie which was great. We really enjoyed diving for the Conch and swimming with the Sharks, Rays, and Turtles. We also did the Lamanai tour and another day Cave Tubing, Zip lining, and the Belize Zoo. Mary was very helpful in arranging our Tropic Air flights and golf carts (the golf carts worked well even given the extreme amount of water on the road). Thank you for sharing your vacation home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great stay

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 12/11/13
    • Review Submitted 12/16/13
    "great spot, lots of fun."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Villa La Jolla is outstanding

    Villa La Jolla is outstanding

    • Guest Jim (Monroe, Wi)
    • Date of stay 12/08/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    Six of us rented this beautiful villa and it was outstanding. Sergio and Rachel were there to assist with any need or questions. Be sure to have Rachel cook a Belizean dinner for you. Transfer arrangements worked great from Belize. Sally answered any question we had before arriving and offered great suggestions for our stay. We enjoyed the north end much more than the south end. Just a great place to stay and enjoy the weather and activities.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • From Wisconsin

    From Wisconsin

    • Guest Jim (Monroe, Wi)
    • Date of stay 12/07/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    Six of us stayed at Villa La Jolla at LosEncantos for 5 nights and it was outstanding. Everything was exactly as described. Beautiful villa that has everything you need. Sally was wonderful to work with and answered many questions and gave excellent recommendations. Loved the ability to walk the shoreline for miles (can't do that on the south end). Sergio and Rachel were wonderful. They made us a delicious Belizean meal with a surprise desert. They also were very helpful for anything we needed. Would definitely recommend and hope we can return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • "A lovely visit"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "A lovely visit"

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    It was lovely, Caye Mgmt was very easy to deal with and we were pleased. We were very satisfied. The weather was wonderful which was not expected, it only rained at night, but we had amazing lightning storms over the water. We are thinking of doing a yearly visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A lovely time

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A lovely time

    • Guest A Happy Family
    • Date of stay 08/09/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    We had a lovely time in Belize and enjoyed our time at Villa La Jolla and Los Encantos. The people on Ambergris were friendly and Villa La Jolla was a wonderful beach house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    The house was great, beautiful, and everything we could have asked for. We had a really great time and the diving was perfect!! We got in five dives three of which were qualifying dives for my buddies certification. The other two dives were great because they were so close to the house! We did fish one day with Randy of Coral divers and afterwards he came and cooked a feast of a dinner for us at the house. The pool was great to relax and do some lap swimming to get a little exercise while I was there. We went to the Altun Ha mayan ruins with Freedom Tours with Hilly Boo and Armando. Which was a beautiful and awesome experience. We had a great time and you have a beautiful piece of property that is completely relaxing! Great diving location and we have already been recommending people to your place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "We can't wait to come back"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "We can't wait to come back"

    • Guest A Happy Family
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    We had a great time. The early weather adventure only made us appreciate the sun and beauty even more. Rachel was a wonderful help. Your house was comfortable and well tended by Sergio. We had everything we needed and realize that the climate and access to resources were part of the reality of living in Belize and so we adjusted. I enjoyed the shift in consciousness and think it was an important lesson for my children in not taking anything for granted. Thank you for your hospitality and for the stay in your beautiful home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Slice of Paradise

    A Slice of Paradise

    • Guest Kim and Betsy (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    We so enjoyed Villa La Jolla, The decor, location, porch with hammock, pool and overall environment made for a enjoyable, comfortable vacation. Sergio, Raquel and the younger Sergio were welcoming and accommodating. Raquel prepared a delicious meal , enough for 3 to 4 meals, I might add. She was prompt in assisting with our excursions. Genie, the owner of Coral Divers and his crew were all kind, informative and friendly. The general neighborhood, including the dive shop and Rojo Bar allowed us to experience a brief slice of their life. We only have complements regarding our accommodations, the people, food, San Pedro, Caye Caulker and Lamanai. Your recommendations for Mambo, Elvi's and Caliente were spot on. You have a lovely vacation spot.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for taking time to write about your vacation in Belize. I am thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sally

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Glad you can return to Villa La Jolla!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Glad you can return to Villa La Jolla!

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 11/29/13
    Hi! We stayed in your lovely beach home this past May and had a fabulous time. We are looking forward to returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A great visit at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A great visit at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 04/27/13
    thank you so much, your place is wonderful and we had a great time. it fit our needs perfectly. Rachel and Sergio were very helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Happy Guests

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Guests

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Villa La Jolla was perfect and we treated it like our own. We walked the beach and it was definitely one of the best if not THE BEST. The way it is situated, not too far from the beach and not too close and not too many hawkers like closer to the resorts.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A nice vacation at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A nice vacation at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    My friends and I had a wonderful visit to Belize. Everything is just so pretty there the beach, the water, the trees...everything. Rachel and Sergio were very nice and we enjoyed your house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Another happy guest at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Another happy guest at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Guest
    • Date of stay 03/12/13
    • Review Submitted 03/21/13
    We had a great time and really enjoyed our trip. Rachel and Sergio were extremely sweet and helpful. The water was beautiful and the house was a great place to unwind and relax after a long day. Hopefully we will be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/09/13
    L. and I said goodbye to Sergio and Racquel this morning and moved about a mile South to a hotel called Coco Beach. We had a wonderful stay at your house, thank you so much! It's as close to my idea of paradise as I have ever visited. Our routine was diving in the morning followed by a hearty lunch, and then reading on the balcony until it was time to grill chicken or freshly caught fish for dinner. Sergio and Raquel were very helpful during our stay including a home cooked meal prepared by Racquel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another happy guest at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Another happy guest at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Happy Renters
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    EVERYONE HAD AN AWESOME TIME AND ARE ALREADY TALKING ABOUT ANOTHER TRIP! BOTH RAQUEL AND SERGIO WERE GREAT. THE KIDS REALLY ENJOYED THE CONCHING (SP?) EXPEDITION SERGIO TOOK THEM ON IN THE KAYAK.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great family vacation at Los Encantos

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A great family vacation at Los Encantos

    • Guest A Happy Family
    • Date of stay 02/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    That's what we loved about your place - we were totally comfortable there. We're not fancy people :-) It gave us all lots of room to be alone but also to hang out together when we wanted to. Loved the deck, loved the pool, loved the pier (we spent a bunch of time just hanging out there under the palapa!) and especially loved the 2 chaise lounges under the palm trees by the beach.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Guests at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest Guests from Canada
    • Date of stay 02/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa La Jolla. The house is perfect for three couples. Not only did we each have our own bathroom you have provided plenty of sitting space in the living room.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest Comment

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Guest Comment

    • Guest Dave
    • Date of stay 02/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/13
    The place was great – really enjoyed it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great ambergris vacation home base

    great ambergris vacation home base

    • Guest rhino (seattle, wa.)
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/03/13
    We spent ten days and hope to return. The villa is just great. Clean, super comfortable, Well appointed kitchen, comfortable beds, beautiful art. We snorkeled many times and used the pool extensively. Rachel , the caretaker is wonderful. She helped us with a number of things and is a great resource. We cooked most of our dinners and also had a lot of fun eating tacos and drinking beer at the beach palapas. Now we are back in the rainy northwest dreaming about belize. Thanks for allowing us to share this great place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Ryan, for taking the time to write about your vacation. I'm delighted that you found Villa La Jolla to be so comfortable. I hope you can visit us again. Sally

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A happy guest at Villa La Jolla at Los Encantos!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A happy guest at Villa La Jolla at Los Encantos!

    • Guest Villa La Jolla Guests
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 01/01/13
    "we are still talking about our vacation to Belize My wife said it was in our top 5 the strong points of your place are obvious. 3 bedrooms, single family house, pool, 50 foot from the ocean, brand new, on site staff. and what is not obvious: I liked the 4 1/2 mile from town. I thought it made us feel more safe. Living in Chicago you have to think about things like safety A couple of suggestions: we used the kayak only once. hard to get in and out of the water. you might advertise the stairs at the end of the dock. I think 2 bikes would be a good idea. we certainty would have used them."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Island Getaway

    Perfect Island Getaway

    • Guest R T. (East Bay in California)
    • Date of stay 08/19/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    This property is perfect for us. The privacy, comfort and cleanliness it brought was everything we needed to make our vacation a perfect one. We felt right at home on a small piece of paradise. During the reservation process, Sally answered all questions timely. She made sure that you have everything you needed to know prior to booking your reservation.. from arriving at the airport to leaving this beautiful property. The caretakers of the villa are very helpful and friendly. We had a bit of trouble in the US in regards to our bank and we needed to contact the bank for an apparent "clerical" error ASAP. Having WIFI and a landline phone was great. Sally was extremely helpful via email and she made sure we were alright. She was able to find help for us to make the emergent international phonecall. THANK YOU! It made our vacation stress-free! Sally is the best-EST ever. There is a nice couple there next to Mata Grande Grocery that makes BBQ, Empanadas (Our favorite) and Salbutes (Open from circa 12noon - 5pm). For a splurge, Mambo Restaurant (located in Matachica Resort) is north of Mata Grande Grocery.. we had breakfast and lunch there once. With our SCUBA Dives and Fishing Trips, Scuba School Belize and Coral Divers Belize will pick you up at the private dock across the villa. They were great. Kim received her OW Certification and I dove along with her. Have JR take you to Esmeralda Reef - so far it is my favorite. The pictures provided by this listing is accurate. Everything was perfect. Thank you Sally for letting us experience your place in paradise. Come visit here and you will know what we are talking about. As General D. McArthur said in March 1942 to the Philippines during WWII, "I came through and I shall Return!"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Another happy guest!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Another happy guest!

    • Guest A recent guest
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    Lovely location, the villa was quite nice!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • 5 Days 6 Nights at Los Encantos

    5 Days 6 Nights at Los Encantos

    • Guest Jill (San diego)
    • Date of stay 05/11/12
    • Review Submitted 05/24/12
    We just finished an all too quick trip to San Pedro and have wonderful things to say about Belize, San Pedro and Los Encantos as a destination for your holiday. Los Encantos is a two level house on a compound with 4 or 5 other similar structures. A salt water pool is situated in the middle with some very comfy lounge chairs around it (which can also be found on the small beach out front). This was an extremely comfortable place to stay. The house itself is a great location, situated at the front of the lot so there is nothing in front of you but palm tress, a few chairs and beach. The trees would offer privacy in the busy season (which is not when we were there, so this I guess is speculation). I put emphasis on the comfort level of Los Encantos because staying here would not be about plasma screens or super modern furnishings. It's a nice and simple house that you feel welcome in and at home as soon as you walk in the door. Besides, you're not in Belize to watch TV anyway when you can read your book on the hammock outside (if it's not windy, wear bug spray). You can walk to a locally run supermarket (best to order from them before you arrive and all will be situated in the house when you arrive) and a couple restaurants but for the most part you're a little bit away from what I would imagine to be the high level tourist areas (again, wasn't there in high season so this is speculation). For activities we did: Diving (Blue Hole as well as local trips) and Lamanai. Diving locally is great, Blue Hole trip is fantastic and Lamanai is absolutely worth a visit as well. Anyway, as you can tell - we really loved it here. Simple, easy and lovely ... which was perfect for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Happy Times at Los Encantos!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Times at Los Encantos!

    • Guest Happy Guests
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    Your home is WONDERFUL!!!! What a glorious spot. Well appointed and comfortable. Rachel and Sergio couldn't have been more hospitable. They kept the place immaculate. We had a full house(ses) while we were there but it did not feel crowded or noisy. Truly a magnificent trip. We voted your spot the Loveliest of all and we walked way north and down past SP. Thank you for sharing your little piece of Paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect place to relax and get away from it all....

    Perfect place to relax and get away from it all....

    • Guest Ben and Sue (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/12/12
    • Review Submitted 02/29/12
    Four of us stayed here for ten relaxing, warm, sunny, wonderful days. The home is incredibly comfortable and roomy, and the view from the patio is unbelievable. Loved the pool, the chaise lounges under the coconut trees, the palapa at the end of the pier, and the quiet. One thing to note: the home is 4+ miles north of town, there's not much around (which was nice!) and the road isn't really golf-cart-friendly. So we rented bikes in San Pedro (you can bring them up with you in the water taxi when you're coming in from the airport) and that was perfect. It's an easy and fun bike ride on the hard-pack beach path all the way down to the Palapa Bar, then you can bike over to the main road into town. There's also great biking and birdwatching (and beautiful sunsets!) on the road behind the house that goes over to the other side of the island. Definitely have Genie take you out to Mexico Rocks (very close, great snorkeling and beautiful coral) and to Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley for more great snorkeling. We also did a bit of fishing - my stepson caught a 35 lb barracuda, which was very tasty on the BBQ when we got back to the house! Overall, this place was magical. We highly recommend it for anyone looking to relax and enjoy the loveliness and charm that is Belize.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • From a recent guest...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    From a recent guest...

    • Guest A happy guest
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 02/29/12
    Hi Sally - we got back from Belize late last week - and just wanted to say that the house was AMAZING. What a lovely, comfortable, happy home - the four of us just had a relaxing, fun time. Loved the location, Sergio and Rachel, and San Pedro.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun Times on Ambergris Caye!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fun Times on Ambergris Caye!

    • Guest A happy guest
    • Date of stay 01/10/12
    • Review Submitted 01/17/12
    We had a great time and your home is beautiful. Sergio and Rachel were so very nice and so helpful. Everything went off without a glitch. We did so much that I need a day or two to rest and recuperate. Fishing, tubing, swimming, the ruins and even a few late nights in town. I think next time I'll have to stay longer. Thanks for providing a beautiful home for a wonderful vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Another Awesome Family Vacation at Los Encantos!

    Another Awesome Family Vacation at Los Encantos!

    • Guest Murphy (San Diego, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    This is our second trip to Los Encantos and it was even better than the first! It was a great way for our family to enjoy time together. We didn't travel to the mainland or town as much this time because everything we needed and wanted was right here. It was great to relax, snorkel, fish, and just hang out by the pool, beach, and on the dock. Oh, the balcony, too. Awsome view. My husband kite boards and he was in heaven. My five year old and I got to watch him from the dock. She enjoyed playing on the beach and we could relax because it's so safe. We felt relaxed the moment we walked back into the house. There was something for everyone. We owe it all to our five year daughter asking to go back. She got it started. We highly recommend Los Encantos and can't wait to go back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Vacation at Villa La Jolla

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Vacation at Villa La Jolla

    • Guest A happy guest and her family
    • Date of stay 12/25/11
    • Review Submitted 01/01/12
    Thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in Belize, and our stay at Villa La Jolla in particular. Place was great, and Sergio, Rachel and Genie were all extremely helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • From a happy guest

    Guest comment entered by owner

    From a happy guest

    • Guest A Thankgiving guest and family
    • Date of stay 11/30/11
    • Review Submitted 12/03/11
    We had a marvelous time and enjoyed the house very much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • If you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere.

    If you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere.

    • Guest Karen & Bill (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    Our stay at Los Encantos was everything we hoped for and more. Villa La Jolla is beautiful, comfortable, extremely relaxing and has everything you need for a fabulous stay in Belize. There were only two of us, but the place is spacious and would easily accommodate six guests. The owners went out of their way to make sure that we were greeted at the airport and taken by water taxi to the Villa where we were welcomed by the caretakers, Ms. Rachel and Mr. Sergio---who were so wonderful and helpful during our entire stay. Even though we were steps from the ocean, we loved the saltwater pool for a quick dip or even to simply float and relax. There’s a great little grocery store and a couple nice restaurants within walking distance from the Villa. The most difficult decision of each day was whether to have drinks on the deck, by the pool or on the lounge chairs down on the beach. One night we even hung out at the end of the dock gazing at the stars and watching some kind of “lightening-bug” fish in the water. We were incredibly happy just hanging out at the Villa. Los Encantos is far enough away from San Pedro to completely relax and let go, but close enough to take advantage of all of the adventures that await you. The information provided by Sally and Hal prior to our arrival and on the coffee table at the Villa was extremely helpful in planning our daily activities. Manuel is definitely the man if you’re looking for an exceptional dive master and snorkel guide. As a new diver, he gave me all the tools I needed to explore some of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. He also was most helpful in getting us to some incredible snorkeling locations where we saw manatees, sea turtles, stingrays, nurse sharks and an assorted array of other amazing marine life. Manuel even hooked us up with a trip to the mainland to check out the Mayan ruins at Lamanai. While there are many great restaurants in San Pedro, we found that we preferred to return to Los Encantos each night to relax and make our own dinner (the kitchen is fully equipped). One night we even came home to a delicious authentic Belizean prepared by Ms. Rachel. We left on a Belizean high—feeling completely relaxed and re-energized. We are madly in love with Belize and will be going back again and again. We have already recommended Los Encantos to several of our friends and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a little slice of heaven! Thank you for making this a most memorable vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Beach Villa

    Great Beach Villa

    • Guest Randy (Northern California )
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/23/11
    Villa La Jolla was everything promised and that we hoped it would be. I was there with my 18 year old son and four of his friends. Everyone enjoyed the house, the pool and the beach. Rachel and Sergio are great; ready to help with every request. We snorkeled, scuba dove, fished and just kicked back. There are good restaurants and the Mata Grande store within walking distance and the water taxi is there to take you into San Pedro if you want night life. The house is very comfortable and has everything you need for a vacation stay. I wholeheartedly recommend Villa la Jolla for a vacation on Ambergris Caye.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sue E.
    • Date of stay 02/10/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    I just wanted to thank your entire organization for our wonderful stay there in Belize. Our rides were perfect and may I say in all sincerity Rachel is just the best. Not only is she thorough, helpful, and such a pleasure to be with!! We were so well cared for and to a person - Belize is our new return destination and your Los Encantos housing was absolutely perfect!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Would do it all over again!!

    Would do it all over again!!

    • Guest cocoa (Bozeman, MT USA)
    • Date of stay 01/16/11
    • Review Submitted 04/01/11
    The house was amazing for our group of six. The location was ideally seccluded and a fun distance from town via the go-cart we rented. The area was perfect and quiet...we will definately be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bill
    • Date of stay 10/21/10
    • Review Submitted 12/25/10
    Had our first trip to AC and it was great, even considering “Richard”. We stayed north of San Pedro at a place called Villa La Jolla in Los Encantos. The place was beautiful and well maintained. The caretakers Sergio and Rachel were very helpful. Our only disappointment was that we relocated to San Pedro right before the hurricane and we didn’t get a chance to have Raquel prepare her Belizean meal. We did the fishing – snorkel – BBQ thing with the guy named Genie. We had a blast and he is quite the character. Caught some fish, did Mexico Rocks and had a great meal (rum too). I have a hard time remembering much after that. The next day we fished with Hillyboo. This guy is a fishing machine, maybe too serious. Another great day - caught some tuna for dinner (we thought). After fishing, we went to San Pedro for lunch. Went to the Waruguma place and got the lobster burritos, unbelievable. Anyway, that’s why we didn’t have the tuna for dinner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Best Family Vacation!!!!

    Best Family Vacation!!!!

    • Guest Murphy (San Diego, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 09/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/11
    This was absolutely the best trip we have taken! The house was extremely comfortable, functional and nice. It had everything we needed. We felt at home the moment we walked in the door. Because there are two bedrooms with their own private bathrooms downstairs, our daughter had her own space and so did we! There is also more room if needed. The beach directly out front was calm, peaceful and perfect to let our daughter play safely (she's 4). The swimming pool is relaxing and the caretakers, Rachel and Sergio, are wonderful. We had them cook a traditional dinner and highly recommend it. Be sure to look up Genie for scuba, snorkeling, beach BBQ's, or anything. He was wonderful and soooo much fun. It's easy to get to town, Jason has a close market and delivers so supplies are easily available. We were happy even just hanging around the house. The people are very friendly and accommodating, and the atmosphere was perfect for spending time together, having adventures and reconnecting. There is also a lot of info and suggestions at the house for finding things to do. They made it so easy! We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Amazing villa, amazing view, amazing staff, amazing vacation

    Amazing villa, amazing view, amazing staff, amazing vacation

    • Guest alia's 30th (chicago, il)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    Los Encantos was the perfect place for us to stay for our friend's 30th birthday. We had a fabulous trip thanks to the amazing staff (you must have Raquel's dinner - it is FABULOUS! and Sergio greets you with a gift!), private location, serene setting, and good friends. Thanks Los Encantos for an amazing trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • BEST VACATION EVER!

    BEST VACATION EVER!

    • Guest alia maria (nyc)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    The house was amazing and Sergio and Rachel were so accommodating and sweet. The management company made sure we had transportation via water taxi directly to our private pier and we didnt have to worry about organizing a thing! They also helped us rent a golf cart and book flights back to belize city. It was the most relaxing vacation. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend renting this house. It is private and the spacious. We were able to cook meals in the kitchen as there was a small grocery just a few doors down. This was such an easy trip to organize and I will be going back! Sally- you are fantastic!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 06/07/10
    My girlfriend Kasi and I stayed at Los Encantos back at the beginning of May. I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know it was exactly what we were looking for. Sergio and Rachel were great (we had a wonderful Rachel meal one night). We went diving with Geni...met lots of neighborhood locals...and I caught fish out front! We also saw some glowing/blinking fish or bugs off the end of the dock our last night...still haven't figured out what they were. It started a bit dicey the first night with howling winds, phone and power outages (Caye Managment was great too). After a week it was easy to see we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. We had an adventure every day, and wouldn't have changed a thing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ken
    • Date of stay 04/02/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    Just a quick note to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Belize. Rachel and Sergio were most helpful and our fishing/snorkeling trip with Genie was spectacular. Thanks to you and Mary for making our vacation one to remember.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ilsa
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    Sally: Thank you so much for sharing your bit of paradise with us. We absolutely loved Ambergris Caye and all of its charm. Rachel and Sergio were extremely helpful and so nice and sweet. We loveed Little Sergio and were very envious of his mode of transportation to school. Such a fantastic way of life. Thank you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • WONDERFUL

    WONDERFUL

    • Guest Sue (Chevy Chase, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 01/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/12/10
    Villa La Jolla is absolutely THE most relaxing place I have ever been. Everything you need is in the villa and the owner-neighbors are wonderful. It is PERFECT.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Our idyllic week at Los Encantos on Ambergris Caye

    Our idyllic week at Los Encantos on Ambergris Caye

    • Guest Island Afficionado (Boston, Massachusetts, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/09
    • Review Submitted 06/03/10
    We had a wonderful week at this villa in August 2009 and would highly recommend it. Our favorite things included: The oceanfront location – The villa is just steps from the water and you can see waves breaking over the coral reef not far offshore. The quietness and privacy – away from the busy town, BUT with easy and FUN access to the town, via the frequent water taxi service. What a way to get around! We enjoyed seeing the view from the water. Also, some buffer land on all sides. Very peaceful. The villa itself – Spacious, lots of windows, airy, nice light, beautiful exposed wood, tiled bathrooms, quality construction (a very solid look and feel to everything) Great diving (my husband) and snorkeling (me) – many sites within a short distance. Hol Chan is a MUST. Sheer ease of diving - Getting picked up and dropped off at our own dock by the dive operators, who were very accommodating and personable. (Owners gave us some good recommendations.) Dock and palapa - The cluster of four villas has its own dock, and the palapa at the end of the dock has shaded seating with water on all sides. A wonderful spot with a book or a drink, and at any time of the day or evening. Second-floor deck - Overlooking the ocean, with hammock and comfortable chairs. There’s a large and attractive dining table in the villa but we often just carried our meals out to the deck. Attractive landscaping – palm trees, native vegetation Pool – nice tile, substantial wooden chaise lounges Walking for miles – Along the waterfront in either direction Excellent waterfront restaurants – several just a quick walk from the villa, and more in town Overall comfort and “user friendliness” – Owners seem to have thought of everything: board games, books and videos for the occasional rain shower…WiFi (which unfortunately my husband did take advantage of, for some work-related matters…also useful for researching activities)…plenty of kitchen utensils…comfort of knowing you have live-in caretakers nearby

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]