Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Our house sits in a beautiful private setting, with 20 acres and gorgeous views!

Private Vacation Retreat NY - Vt Border!! [#227983] | View Property

Granville
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$230 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Another Great Stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Another Great Stay!

    • Guest Arnie
    • Date of stay 01/15/14
    • Review Submitted 01/27/14
    I would like to thank you again for sharing your Granville home with us. It's such a comfortable place to relax, away from the daily list of things back home. It has really brought out the best in everyone, from the daily 'family game night' to making cookies together to just everyone hanging around downstairs. We've begun to notice when we come to visit that our kids really appreciate the same things that we do. Now we know that some of the teenage years were just a crazy abberation and our values have set in. Quite an unexpected bonus for a simple family vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic place to create new memories

    Fantastic place to create new memories

    • Guest Brian & Family (Virginia and Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    My family and I travelled from CT and stayed here for 5 nights. What an incredible experience. The house is absolutely beautiful, the grounds are serene, and the view off the porch of the Green Mountains is breathtaking. The place literally has everything you could ask for and more. We went on several side trips locally to pick berries, go fishing, and eat out - everything is easy to access, yet the property is set back on a hill in its own little paradise. Alice is a pleasure to rent from, and was extremely responsive when we asked questions or exchanged emails prior to our trip. I highly recommend staying here...we will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • whatta getaway

    whatta getaway

    • Guest Mike (Terrebonne, Quebec)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    Thank you Alice for a beautiful house in a beautiful location. Everything about your home spreaks quality and comfort. From the granite top kitchen counters, and appliances to the ultra comfortable mattresses. Most of all we enjoyed our walks on your land. We saw turkeys, fox, vultures, an eagle and of course so many deer. Let's not forget the star lit nights from your porch. We got an added bonus one night and were treated to a few shooting stars. For those who enjoy nature and still be about 30min from Vermont or Lake george. This is the place to be. Beats a motel or hotel everytime.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Weekend!

    A Wonderful Weekend!

    • Guest Barbara (Bethesda, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    We were so pleased with our opportunity to spend time at this beautiful house before dropping our son off at camp. The house is gorgeous and is immaculate, and the property is simply wonderful -- the pictures don't even do justice to the property! We were looking for a relaxing weekend, and it couldn't have been better. We enjoyed reading and relaxing in the great room, watching a movie upstairs, sitting on the deck overlooking the pond and taking relaxing and peaceful walks on the property. I have already started to think about whether we will be able to plan another trip in the future. Being in the house really felt like being in a home, and we managed to find the time there restorative. In fact, we probably spent more time in the house than we originally intended since it was so comfortable. I hope that we will be able to come back and visit again. Thank you so much for sharing your home and giving us a wonderful opportunity to unwind.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful vacation house

    Beautiful vacation house

    • Guest CV (Toronto, ON Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/13
    We spent a wonderful long weekend at this house, and enjoyed cross-country skiing and hiking in the Green Mountains. The house was clean, comfortable and well-furnished, and equipped with everything we could wish for. We enjoyed sitting in the great open living room, filled with light and affording lovely views. I appreciated not having to bring linens and towels. The owner replied to emails quickly and offered helpful advice. I would definitely recommend this property to others, and would happily stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed....

    • Guest Eddie, Rose, and Patch
    • Date of stay 01/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed our winter getaway at your home! The views are breathtaking, and PapiLita Land is the perfect blend of spacious and cozy. We hope to come back again, maybe to enjoy a different season. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We cannot thank you enough ....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We cannot thank you enough ....

    • Guest Debbie and Larry
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We cannot thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us!! It was the perfect spot for a family vacation -- everyone was comfortable and relaxed in the peaceful setting. We will have memories for years to come -- and your home was the perfect backdrop.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a wonderful week!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a wonderful week!

    • Guest Hilary
    • Date of stay 10/31/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Thank you Alice for allowing time to see and to be a part of your past, present, and future!You opened my eyes to another beautiful part of the US and I can't wait to return and to share this area with Tony.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had an amazing time ...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had an amazing time ...

    • Guest Michael, Cindy, and Moose (the happy family dog)
    • Date of stay 10/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We had an amazing time in your picturesque home. We experienced the early snowstorm of October, which resulted in beautiful snowy views and Moose being overjoyed to run and play in the snowy fields. We enjoyed your comfortable, beautiful home and appreciated your attention to detail. It was a wonderful stay. Thanks again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This was our second year ...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This was our second year ...

    • Guest Dave and Tammy
    • Date of stay 10/11/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    This was our second year and we look forward to next year. The house was perfect again. We enjoyed our trip to Lake George. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Autumn in New York...Isn't it so exciting?!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Autumn in New York...Isn't it so exciting?!

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 10/02/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Autumn in New York...Isn't it so exciting?! Thank you Alice and Tom for sharing your wonderful house and land with us. I came here to celebrate my grandfather's 98th birthday. Beautiful views and a great time was had by all.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Your house and the views are gorgeous.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Your house and the views are gorgeous.

    • Guest Arlene, Lee Ann, Cindy, Tami, and Cori
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Your house and the views are gorgeous. We had a great time taking day trips enjoying the country side and shopping at the Vermont County Store. This has been the perfect "girls' retreat". The peace and quiet took us away from our hectic lives... Your gourmet kitchen helped us prepare delicious meals... yum. Thank you Tom and Alice for sharing it with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We have had a wonderful week ...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We have had a wonderful week ...

    • Guest Fischel Family
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We have had a wonderful week here, it went by way too quickly! We ate at Rathbun's , swam in the Dorset Quarry, had a day at the Washington County Fair, picked raspberries, ate ice cream at the Battenkill Dairy, rode bikes on the D&H rail trail, visited Middlesburg and Manchester, and hiked in the Lye Brook Wilderness. Plus, we fit in time to relax at home with the kids and dog. Just last night a huge rainbow appeared over the mountains, and this morning there were deer in the field across the way and ducks in the pond. It's been wonderful, we are sad to leave!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We survived "Irene"!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We survived "Irene"!

    • Guest Stallones
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Once again we can't describe how wonderful it was staying at your beautiful home- We were able to sit outside and enjoy the lovely view, last time we were here in February. We enjoyed Saratoga Springs and Lake George. It was great being here with my family. Our grandchildren loved riding around. We even spotted a deer one morning. Hope to come back this coming winter. Oh, yes, we survived "Irene".

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a wonderful summer we've enjoyed !

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a wonderful summer we've enjoyed !

    • Guest Edeline and Hy
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    What a wonderful summer we've enjoyed at PapiLita Land! The peaceful environment and lovely views have been so enjoyable. It is as if we've lived in luxury in the "boondocks". We've walked and watched and read and completely relaxed at your lovely home. My stop at VRBO was indeed a find! Every season must be a joy. perhaps we'll experience more than summer. Your guests are surely lucky to happen on such a paradise! Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Your home is every bit as spectacular .....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Your home is every bit as spectacular .....

    • Guest Anita, Gregg, and Miles (the happy dog)
    • Date of stay 05/22/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Your home is every bit as spectacular as the website said it would be. We loved the mountain views, the open space, the fantastic kitchen, the lovely deck, the wonderful calming stream, and my favorite-the hammock. Our dog couldn't have been happier. Thanks for letting us share your wonderful home. We look forward to returning with our friends, as I'm sure they would love it too. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We couldn't have asked for a better weekend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We couldn't have asked for a better weekend

    • Guest David and Ceres
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We couldn't have asked for a better weekend, being snowed in, in your beautiful home. Needing a reprieve from the daily grind, we escaped the city to be in each other's embrace, barely leaving the house, we spent all of our time staring at the mountains, the fire, and each other's eyes, and we knew that coming here was exactly what we needed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Many thanks for sharing your beautiful ....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Many thanks for sharing your beautiful ....

    • Guest Clair and Steve
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Many thanks for sharing your beautiful and comfortable home with us. I can honestly say that I've never felt so "at home" in a rental house. We took advantage of the amazing sledding hills-there was so much enthusiasm, in fact, that one of us left with a scraped-up arm and the other with a torn glove! We also enjoyed all of the inside comforts-from easy and fun cooking to ping-pong and a great fire. Everything we needed was right here-even extra books for our 3-year-old! You even provided a nice snow on our last morning-lovely! many thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you for sharing your beautiful home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home

    • Guest The Stallones
    • Date of stay 02/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. What a wonderful view and what a fantastic house! We came up for a long weekend for skiing in Vermont, but our stay in the house was the highlight of the weekend. Each year we spend a long weekend with our two kids 7 and 5, and their grandparents, and this one was special. Sitting in the living room at night, sipping scotch and listening to good music in the glow of the roaring fireplace was just soothing. The kids loved the ping pong table. It really was a special retreat and was a weekend we'll long remember!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home

    • Guest Dana and John
    • Date of stay 01/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home and property with us. We found your home to be very comfortable, spacious, and relaxing. We enjoyed "down-time" in the great room and the beautiful views of the green mountains. We were fortunate enough to have a snow storm upon our arrival which left a fresh blanket of snow at PapiLita Land. We created several sledding paths on the property and the dogs had a blast chasing us down the hills on our sleds-we felt like kids again!! We hiked the property every day with the dogs-we enjoyed the serenity and peace while the dogs enjoyed exploring the wonderful scents!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay!

    • Guest Andy, DeAma, Chris, George, Paul, and Sarah
    • Date of stay 01/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay! The drive to your home was beautiful-along with the views each and every morning. Spending the day snowboarding at OKEMO was amazing. We came back to enjoy your beautiful home, cook a wonderful dinner, and spend quality time with family and friends. Our two little dogs (Kali and Addie) really enjoyed hanging out on the deck and playing in the snow! We just loved your beautiful home! PapiLita Land is amazing. A refuge from the trying times we live in. Looking due West across the snow covered land, we can see the rolling hills of San Francisco. Simply wonderful combination of nature, modern technology, and the extreme glee of the weekend of live music and laughter.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just wanted you to know we LOVED your home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Just wanted you to know we LOVED your home!

    • Guest The Picketts
    • Date of stay 01/14/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Just wanted you to know we LOVED your home! We went to OKEMO yesterday and had a blast. It snowed all day and the conditions were amazing. Our dogs loved hanging out on the deck in the snow...their noses were going with all the new smells! haha Thanks again and please thank Chris, too! We will definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

    • Guest The Steenstras
    • Date of stay 01/09/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! We spent a very relaxing four days cross country skiing, stopping in our favorite Manchester bookstore, watching movies in the loft, baking cookies, and sometimes doing absolutely nothing! What a luxury! Your home is gorgeous and so comfortable. We loved the heated floors and the stone fireplace. Thank you for allowing pets-our Cavalier King Charles spaniel came with us, too. It's hard to leave! We hope to be back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Place for the Whole Family

    A Place for the Whole Family

    • Guest Reba (PA)
    • Date of stay 04/09/10
    • Review Submitted 12/17/11
    We have stayed here with our family, brother/sister in laws, friends, nieces and dogs for two years and counting. This is truely a wonderful house and location for all sorts of activities and Alice is such a wonderful hostess, we hope that they hold off their retirement for many more year, so we can continue to have access to this house. The house is immaculate and grounds are spectacular. Thanks for everything. XO The LePages

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]