Waterfront Bungalow Pool Wifi with Computer, Private Home [#23089] | View Property
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$2695/mo US Dollars
Write a Review
Disappointed with owner for ignoring our concerns
Disappointed with owner for ignoring our concerns
I am only writing this review because the owner would not acknowledge my concerns after more than a week of sending two messages expressing them. I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a response after paying a lot of money to stay there. I wasn't expecting a refund and was just advising the owners of the problems so that they could address them for future renters. I'm not going to go into detail about every problem but I am going to mention all of them. Dee Dee seemed nice enough and was easy to deal with until the end of the stay when I told her that had enjoyed our stay but wanted to point out a few concerns. My message was ignored for two days and then I sent another message stating that I wondered why I was being ignored when I was merely addressing the concerns in private to her and not in a review for the public to see. It has been over a week and still no response which is why I am writing this review. The neighborhood is run down with huge potholes in the road and many dilapidated homes that looked like shacks. When you first walk into the house, it appears neat and clean. There were live roaches in the kitchen and one even came out of the dishwasher that had clean dishes in it. The top of the refrigerator was filthy and I noticed this while trying to kill a roach. There was bug spray under the sink but the place needs to be treated professionally. The ceiling fans in both bedrooms were filthy with dust hanging off them and the plug to the tub had hair all over it before we even used it. We found moldy food in the oven which the owner admitted to leaving. The bedroom window had been left open by the owners or cleaners and we didn't notice until two days into the stay because of the blinds and curtains. The whirlpool bath which was advertised does not work and the ice maker in the refrigerator doesn't work. The pool was nice but if you go in the winter months, do not plan on being able to use it. Even with the sun shining all day and it being solar heated, it was too cold to use unless you are a polar bear. In all fairness the place is one of the nicest on the street and seems to be well cared for. We did enjoy our stay but we were disappointed in a few things and when we addressed them with the owners, being ignored didn't help matters.
- Guest gemini1961girl
- Date of stay 11/18/12
- Review Submitted 12/02/12
Recommended for: Pet owners
Owner response: Dear Sharon of Lakeland, Florida, I responded immediately to every text you sent while you were staying at our Bungalow. The last text (which you sent after check-out) I did not receive it until I recharged my phone the day after. By then, you were already offended that I did not reply, and said I was "Ignoring" you. (Absurd) Later, it was not a priority for me to reply, as I was driving home after Thanksgiving weekend. I was also shocked at the condition in which you left our Bungalow, and the pettiness of your "concerns". #1) You could not have expected a whirlpool tub, because we do not advertise a whirlpool tub. #2)The ice maker is not broken. It is a brand new refrigerator, and does not have a water line installed, per our choice. Hence, the ice trays we supply, which renters may use during their stay. #3) The pot holes are mentioned on our website in one of our reviews left by previous renters. Therefore, you should have been aware of that prior to booking with us. #4) The Bungalow "appeared" clean upon your arrival, because it was. I am absolutely certain the normal amount of dust on the refrigerator and ceiling fans could not possibly have bothered you. You, after all, must be used to living in nasty conditions in your own home. I have never seen the house so filthy after just a one week rental! I am shocked to find that someone could think it is okay to wash, dry, and put away towels with hitchhiker seeds stuck all over them. I had to purchase new linens & towels for the next renters. Also, you must not have noticed that we have four trash cans inside the home. I found so much trash scattered all over the floor, I know all the new articles of clothing you wore during your stay, price tags and food wrappers left all over the house! #5) Most educated people are aware of how SOLAR PANELS heat a pool, and how it differs from a heat pump. Ridiculous complaint. #6) After cleaning up after your filth and listening to your extreme petty issues... we decided to no longer rent the bungalow. It is heartbreaking to see people have such disregard for other peoples homes, and be so nasty and stupid in the process. We have cleaned many times before, but will not tolerate ridiculous complaints from renters. After 10 years of renting our vacation home, you are the first negative complaint. That should tell you something. Good Luck to the next rental owner you select!
Get away weekend for 2 to remind us we are in FL
Get away weekend for 2 to remind us we are in FL
Great place, and great short stay. We wish we had more time. But we hope to be back in the not too far future! Thanks for everything!
- Guest Jane
- Date of stay 09/03/11
- Review Submitted 09/15/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.
This was our second trip to DeeDee's Waterfront Bungalow. Caught lots of fish and enjoyed Our stay once again. Especially, enjoyed Sam's Beach Rest& Bar at sunset. I would recommend this to everyone. Enjoy!
- Guest MIKE SISSINE1
- Date of stay 10/21/09
- Review Submitted 10/21/09
Thanks to DeeDee and Eddy we had a fabulous vacation. This truly is one of the best private vacation spots around. The bungalow has everything you need for a perfect stay. We enjoyed the private pool, fishing, sitting on the decks. Great place for rest and relaxation. The bungalow and yard are very clean, sure makes you feel good when you arrive and everything is so neatly kept. Our little dog loved the fenced in yard. Look forward to booking again in the future. Thanks again for a great stay. Barry, Tracey, Kayla & Jenna Dunlop
- Guest Tracey Dunlop
- Date of stay 04/18/09
- Review Submitted 04/18/09
We just got back from our quite stay in Hudson,Fl. We had a great time. Along with my wife I brought my boat and all we did was fish. Easy access to the Gulf. We had a blast. Docked the boat at the Bungalow left in the morning and upon return hit the awesome pool. Boy, was that Great! Outstanding location and the accomadations were tremendious. All stores and resturants were nearby. This was one of the nicest vacations that we have had in a long time. The Florida Keys have just become to crowded and expensive. This Hunson location is just the way to go.
- Guest MIKE SISSINE
- Date of stay 10/21/08
- Review Submitted 10/21/08
We vacation in Florida every year, and this place has been one of the BEST we have stayed in, very clean, quiet and sooo relaxing, we didn't want to leave. Pool was great, had to shoo the ducks away from swimming around in it, but was funny to watch them tease us, lots of fish in the canal and stingrays etc. Wonderful to watch the birds come by each day. Truly a great relaxing vacation and Outback became our favorite place to eat!! Thanks for helping us to enjoy 2 wonderful weeks in Florida!! Beautiful State Parks, that are a must see while you are there. Hopefully will be there again next year!!
- Guest Ed & Jan Montgomery
- Date of stay 05/14/08
- Review Submitted 05/14/08
We have enjoyed our two months here so much! This is a lovely, bright and clean bungalow with everything you could ever need to enjoy your vacation. It was great to have the fenced yard for the dogs, and they have enjoyed the warmer weather immensely. We have gotten so relaxed here that it will be really tough going home to "real life." There are so many restaurants in the area that we probably could have eaten at a different one every night. All-in-all, it's been a super vacation. Thank you, Jan & Lou, Glassboro, NJ
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 02/25/08
- Review Submitted 02/25/08
Even though we live in FL, we wanted a vacation home that was on the water and had a pool. This bungalow was perfect! The owners truly thought of everything a renter may need. We were in the pool most of the time (so refreshing). The owners made renting it trouble-free. We will definitely rent here again.
- Guest Angela & Todd
- Date of stay 09/12/07
- Review Submitted 09/12/07
As a yearly visitor to Hudson and New Port Richey, we decided to lease this bundalow instead of staying in a motel. Both of us fish alot and thought it would be a nice touch. Wow, were we ever right! It was great to have a nice place to come back to after fishing all day. The pool was very relaxing. We didn't care too much for the neighborhood but once on the property where the bundalow is, it becomes a peaceful haven. I highly recommend the bundalow and will definitely lease again.
- Guest 20currinfan
- Date of stay 05/05/07
- Review Submitted 05/05/07
Riding down the road to the bungalow, we had our doubts, but once we arrived we were very happy. The rooms are well arranged and offer privacy, the furnishings are comfortable and relaxing; TV, computer, kitchen, all great. And the pool. Ah, the pool. It was sad to leave, and we still miss the place.
- Guest Richard & Pierre
- Date of stay 04/15/07
- Review Submitted 04/15/07
Owner response: Thanks for your positive comments! We agree Capri Lane is in need of improvements and also resurfacing to eliminate the pot holes. We are pursuing a neighborhood project to improve this matter. We are glad that you were pleased with the bungalow's amenities and enjoyed your Florida vacation! DeeDee & Eddy Burgess
We really enjoyed our stay in your vacation bungalow. The pool was perfect and the bungalow very clean with everything we needed. Next time we will be sure to stay longer. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.
- Guest Carl & Donna
- Date of stay 05/14/06
- Review Submitted 05/14/06
We enjoyed our stay at the bungalow,we kept calling it home.The pool was great and so was all of the little details that we sometimes forget,were there.We'll return for another vacation AGAIN.Thank you
- Guest candy campbell
- Date of stay 08/09/05
- Review Submitted 08/09/05
We had a great week at the house! We appreciated all the "little touches" that you have added to make our stay so comfortable! We only wish we could've stayed longer! Thanks for a great vacation!
- Guest Nolan & Mindy Soares
- Date of stay 04/14/05
- Review Submitted 04/14/05
Really enjoyed our stay in the bungalow. Everything was very clean, and the facility was really well equipped. Look forward to another stay in future years.
- Guest Sharon/Jim DeBo
- Date of stay 02/06/04
- Review Submitted 02/06/04
We loved the house and the pool a lot. Thank you very much for a great vacation !!
- Guest Nadja1
- Date of stay 07/29/03
- Review Submitted 07/28/03
Guest comment entered by owner
We are sure you'll love our Vacation Rental Bungalow!! Feel free to email or call us with any questions~ Happy Vacationing! Eddy & DeeDee Burgess BURGESS BUNGALOW Hudson, Florida
- Guest Owners of the Burgess Bungalow!
- Date of stay 06/26/03
- Review Submitted 06/25/03