Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Main living and dining area 'piece de vivre' with stairs up to top floor suite.

Luxurious Stone Villa with Courtyard in Popular Market Village [#231071] | View Property

Issigeac
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
€164 - €236/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Wow! Comfortable, convenient, and casually elegant.

    Wow! Comfortable, convenient, and casually elegant.

    • Guest Kate (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/05/14
    Right from the beginning of the booking process, Janice made us feel welcome and reassured that all would be handled with promptness and professionalism. This continued through our stay and after as well. Her property manager, Nathalie, was wonderful and right around the corner to assist with any and all needs. We had a marvelous time and Issigeac was a darling, and historic, village that had all the conveniences - restaurants, shops, groceries, a market day - literally steps outside of the front door. This property is well organized, has all the supplies necessary to make yourself comfortable, and is very spacious. The three floors allow for privacy and the shared middle floor is laid out in the familiar open-style model (kitchen, living, dining flow together). We arrived the evening before market day - which is every Sunday-and when we awoke the next morning, we didn't even waste time with breakfast but went immediately out to investigate. We had great fun and kept bringing packages back to the house. Who would think that one could buy clothing at market, but that's exactly what we did - and we had breakfast as we wandered through all the stalls and vendors. We were out and about until they closed down and then we found that we had successfully filled an empty suitcase with all the discovered 'prizes'. Janice arranged a private chef-prepared meal and we had great fun with Fabrice. In addition, she also arranged a hot air balloon ride over the Dordogne river and environs which was memorable and exciting. She ensured all was ready for us and we really had very little to do other than make a call and list specific dietary needs. It was fabulous! All-in-all, we had a spectacular time in the Dordogne and spent our time exploring the region, visiting local towns, and venturing further afield when we felt up to extended car time. Issigeac was very welcoming and both Janice and Nathalie made us feel right at home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • IssigeacHome

    IssigeacHome

    • Guest CanadianWestCoasters (Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/01/14
    It was very easy to find the town with the owner’s instruction package. However, it was difficult to locate the house as when we arrived it was dark and all the houses seemed to have blue doors. After circling the area a few times, we finally called the owner (Janice) who was waiting for us at the house. When we entered the house, we immediately realized that the house was more beautiful than the photos. Janice welcomed us with a few bottles of wine, cheese, and baguette. She also made a reservation on our behalf at the local restaurant (Chez Alain). The house was clean and very well-maintained. It had well equipped kitchen, living space, bedrooms. The house is a perfect size for a family of 4~5, but can certain accommodate up to 7 people. My husband and I shared the house with another couple so we had an extra room where we got to store our belongings to keep our bedroom uncluttered during our stay. The town was very quiet and the stores closed very early. The farmer’s market was fun, food was delicious, and we found good gift items to take back home. We visited the neighboring towns as per Janice’s recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed the day trips. Janice happened to be in town during our stay and had offered to accompany us to lunch at an award winning restaurant in Dordogne, Vieux Logis. After the lunch, she offered to drive us to the local wine/liquor store where we picked up some wines to bring back home. The stay was comfortable and truly home-away-from-home, however, the owner’s knowledge and hospitality was even more outstanding. We would definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Delightful House, Delightful Town, Delightful Owners

    Delightful House, Delightful Town, Delightful Owners

    • Guest GeorgeOnTheRoad (Los Angeles, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    We spent the last week of September at this house in historic Issigeac. Most days the town was quite peaceful and empty, but on Sunday there is a town-wide market that is a sight to behold. Hundreds of vendors with amazing produce and about a thousand people fill the streets. The energy, color and quality of the food available is just great. The house itself is a delight; a modern home inside an ancient building with a well-equipped kitchen (to cook all that produce you bought at the market) and comfortable bedrooms on a little, quaint street just a few paces from the town square, the church and abundant parking. Issigeac is but a short drive from so many wonderful sights in the Dordogne and the town, astonishingly for a village of its size, is home to two excellent restaurants. The owners of the house happened to be in the neighborhood and we count ourselves very lucky to have met them. They are hospitality personified. We have rented houses in Italy and elsewhere in France and have always had good stays. This one, however, was exceptional.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical week in a medieval village

    Magical week in a medieval village

    • Guest Pasadena Couple (Pasadena, California)
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    My husband and I with two friends spent a week in this beautiful home in Issigeac. We had all the modern conveniences and comforts within a rebuilt medieval house. The two of us had the third floor bedroom which looked out over the roofs of the village with views on all sides. There is a comfortable living and dining room, a well equipped kitchen and we grilled on the sweet outdoor patio. The home is on a quiet lane just off the village's street of appealing shops. The Sunday market draws thousands to the town with all the delectable foods Dordogne is known for. In town we frequented the patisseries, the butcher shop and the wine maker. There are also a couple of world class restaurants in the village. We also visited many of the Bastide towns nearby. Janice and Bill are gracious hosts as well as owners and are available for any questions. I highly recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ideal location

    ideal location

    • Guest alicia m. (Iowa City, Iowa USA)
    • Date of stay 05/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/21/13
    We very much appreciated being in a small village that had all the amenities along with a wonderful Sunday market. The layout of the villa was fine for us. We chose the sunniest bedroom: top floor and enjoyed the kitchen thoroughly. Parking in the square was very easy and moreover the location of Issigeac to other major points of interest was ideal in accomodating day trips. Janice was most helpful in providing pre-trip information and her recommendations regarding places to see, restaurants, etc. were excellent. This was a pleasant respite in a small village with accomodations we appreciated upon return from our many trips out into the region. If one is not mobile, this is not an accomodation for you as the stairs are steep.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Christmas Stay

    Great Christmas Stay

    • Guest travellers (Vancouver Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    We three thoroughly enjoyed our week stay here over Christmas. The owner Janice made us welcome through-out, provided any assistance we required and gave us great insight into the area so we had many options. We took her suggestions for local restaurants which included a memorable Christmas afternoon meal. The location of the unit is perfect for the local market day. The residence was super clean and certainly more than enough room with the three floors. We bought the Cicerone Guide "Walking is the Dordogne" and did the 16km walk number 23 "Around the Medieval Village of Issigeac" We only got lost once and a local lady helped us get back on track! We also did a drive to Beynac Castle and to Sarlat. We were the only ones at Beynac Castle for most of our visit there and really enjoyed it. I think we would have found Sarlat too big a city for what we wanted on this Christmas trip and enjoyed the smaller village feel of Issigeac. I would certainly recommend this property to a friend or relative and already have! Thanks again Janice!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Five Star Service in Medieval Setting

    Five Star Service in Medieval Setting

    • Guest DK (USA)
    • Date of stay 11/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    Whenever someone asks about my first vacation in France, I comment on the magical medieval village of Issigeac , the beautiful villa we called home for one wonderful week, but most of all, the graciousness of its owner, Janice. Prior to our arrival, Janice sent information about Issigeac and the surrounding area which helped us plan our daily outings including must-see historical spots, markets, wineries, and restaurants. With this background information, we were able to truly enjoy and appreciate this beautiful region of France. Janice's attention to detail did not end there, however. Each evening when we returned to Issigeac, we appreciated the attention she gave in providing a comfortable and elegant home-away-from-home for guests. The villa offered modern-day comforts in a beautiful medieval setting. It was hard to leave the "fairytale" when our week ended! One final note in praise of Janice...when we departed for Paris, my camera with its treasured photos was left behind, seemingly lost forever. Janice's superior detective skills located the camera in a village shop and she returned it to me. I was thrilled! Kudos to her for raising the bar when it comes to accommodating the needs/requests of her guests.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Better than Imagined

    Better than Imagined

    • Guest lynnalan (MO, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    Imagine a perfect village in the idyllic French countryside – small enough to walk the entire town but big enough to have charming boutiques, boulangeries, a spa, pharmacies, fine dining, tennis courts and a festive weekly night market (translation: dinner in the town square – steps from home - with all of your friends, live music and no cooking required!) Now imagine the perfect lodging in this perfect village – right in the hub of town with more charm than you thought possible. “Charming” can mean rustic- but not so here! This home is perfectly appointed with all of your needs anticipated by most thoughtful and gracious owners. Classically beautiful linens, antiques, claw foot tub, hardwood floors and giant windows. Modern conveniences such as wi-fi, ipod speakers and a kitchen that would please any chef. The downstairs bedrooms are comfortable and cozy, close to the terrace. The upstairs bedroom is light and airy and spacious. The towels are thick and the beds are comfortable. Finally - imagine a friend in this beautiful place, because that is what you will have in Janice, the owner. Her knowledge of the area, her relationships with local business owners and neighbors, her enthusiasm and gift for hospitality are invaluable. This was my second time renting from Janice and Bill. Two years ago I was fortunate to find Chateau Peyruzel which we rented with a group of friends. That experience was so good that I did not even look around for this trip; I just contacted Janice because I knew that I would be in good hands and that their property would be at a certain standard. Little did I know how important her hospitality would become; when my wallet was stolen in Paris and I was subsequently unable to rent a car she went out of her way to make sure that I made it to Issigeac and introduced me to warm, caring people in the community so I did not feel a bit alone before my husband arrived mid-week with a car. We enjoyed cycling through the sunflower fields to local wineries, watching the Tour de France, excellent dining (through Janice's recommendations) and of course the lively Sunday market! There is something for everyone in the Dordogne and this Issigeac Village Home is the perfect base to experience it all.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection!

    Perfection!

    • Guest Elizabeth (Turks and Caicos Islands)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/12/12
    What a magical house in a wonderful Village! The house is exactly as pictured and Janice and Bill have decorated it with love and care. They have thought of everything...down to cooking utensils and even left me wine, water, milk and coffee upon my arrival! To wake up each morning to the church bells chiming and the doves cooing blissfully is something you have to experience! The Village is centrally located to many of the sites famous along the Dordogne and I have spent days just driving and admiring this beautiful countryside. But do not overlook the Village of Issigeac itself! There are wonderful little shops and the residents have been so welcoming to me. I had the good fortune to be present for the Marches, the Marches Nocturnelle AND a Bodega...when this sleepy little Village comes alive with comraderie and goodwill. This is not what I would call a "tourist" spot...this is a real Village, where people live, work and play together! I MUST mention that Julie, the property manager, is phenomenal. She greeted me on arrival, explained the workings of all the appliances, etc., provided info on the area and began this wonderful stay with both warmth and professionalism. I cannot say enough good words about her. Over the course of my visit, we have had the opportunity to chat and become friends! What a treasure she is! I have looked at other property in the region and I can say, unequivocally, that this spot is heaven on earth. Come and enjoy!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest T C.
    • Date of stay 10/21/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    We had the opportunity and pleasure to stay here on our holiday and it was perfect! Janice was extremely helpful in accommodating our last-minute booking and met us upon arrival to show us around the property and the town. Her recommendations as well as the guidebooks, brochures, maps etc. at the house were very informative and helpful in planning our daily excursions. In particular, Janice made fabulous dinner recommendations and we were never disappointed! We actually drove out to Janice's other rental property, Chateau Peyruzel, where she graciously indulged us with a private tour of the incredible castle and its grounds. Issigeac is perfectly located for day trips and the town offers everything you might need during your stay with a few restaurants, a wine store, two little grocery stores, a couple of patisseries [for the daily fresh baguette and pain-au-chocolat!] a petrol station as well as a few local shops. The Sunday market is a must! We were able to stock up with fresh produce, cheese, sausages and other delicious treats and able to enjoy many meals at the house - nice when you are on holiday not to eat every meal in a restaurant. The house is fairly well equipped with everything you'd possibly need to prepare and enjoy your own home-cooked meal. The house is quite comfortable for relaxing with a glass of wine [or two!] in the evening and the beds and linens are remarkably comfortable for a holiday rental. We highly recommend this holiday rental property and look forward to a return visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection at its best!

    Perfection at its best!

    • Guest GMc (Tacoma, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    This property and the little village are as charming as you could ever imagine. It was comfortable, well-stocked and very liveable. Elegant is another word that comes to mind. The village itself provided countless evening walks, afternoons at the park and shopping at the local stores as well as the Sunday market. The restaurants are quite unique and delicious. The people in the village were exceptionally welcoming, even the cats! Janice and Bill visited us and it is quite apparent their love for this home and this area of France. It was excellent for day trips always knowing you were returning "home."

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • French Perfection

    French Perfection

    • Guest Jerry (Green Bay, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 06/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/19/11
    Every aspect of our Issigeac visit substantially exceeded our expectations! The villa is charming, spotless, very comfortable (beautiful local furnishings, luxurious bedding and towels), ancient structurally and modern functionally, located in a delightful village. We have rented at least ten properties throughout the world through VRBO (all positive), and never experienced the personal care and attention to every detail that we enjoyed in this villa and with Janice, the villa's owner. Things start with a packet of information containing information on everything a guest could want to see/do/explore. There are multiple villages, cro-magnon cave art sites, restaurants, markets, vineyards, river cruises, antiques shops to explore or select---Janice removes the guess work with recommendations for the best of the lot. We needed bikes, they were delivered to the villa; we had difficulty arranging a hot air balloon flight, Janice made it happen; we arrived at restaurants without reservations and needed only to mention we were staying at Janice's villa to be escorted to the nicest tables. I could go on and on---the perfect vacation awaits in Issigeac, with no heavy lifting: secure this villa, throw away your guidebooks and instead review your options for daily adventures from the carefully and personally prepared packet you will receive weeks before your arrival, and prepare to be overwhelmed by the area's beauty and history, and by this lovely villa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect vacation rental

    Perfect vacation rental

    • Guest The bear (St. Louis,Missiouri, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/10/11
    Charming, beautifully refurbished and great location for your stay in the Dordogne area. We in joyed the house, the town so much that we spent many evening at the house. The local resturants, food stores, bakerys(breads and pastries, great) and local cooking class are just around the corner.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A double bonus

    A double bonus

    • Guest Ann (Alamo, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/25/10
    • Review Submitted 10/30/10
    We were looking for a central location for exploring the area and "adopting" a town for a week. We were also looking for a place where we could both be comfortably relaxed and feel that the ambiance of the place was special. WE FOUND BOTH. This wonderful townhouse attracted us to "hurry back" from our daily explorations so that we could "hang out" in its terrific environment. We are kind of foodies so the abililty to shop local markets and cook in the well-appointed kitchen was really nice. From the extensive materials which the owners provided us on both the home and the area before we arrived, to the assistance we were given on making transportation arrangements when time to leave, we felt like we were treated like welcomed houseguests. Perfect for most any age groups other than small children. We will treasure the memories.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Stay in Issigeac

    Stay in Issigeac

    • Guest PB (Dubai, UAE)
    • Date of stay 08/27/10
    • Review Submitted 11/05/10
    My husband and I spent a week in this lovely home during our three week trip to Europe, and absolutely fell in love! The house was beautiful, and a perfect mix of history but with modern amenities. From booking to arriving it was seamless, and of all the places we went in France this region was by far our favorite. Janice was so helpful and after one day we got rid of all of our travel guides and took her packet she had sent us, those recommendations were the highlights of our trip. We used it to book restaurants, tour vineyards, rent a canoe, etc. and they were all great. We really loved Le Tour de Vents, we had a great meal there....and wines from Mirabelle. I would highly recommend this property to anyone, and we would look forward to returning someday.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceptional Home in a Magnificent Village

    Exceptional Home in a Magnificent Village

    • Guest Ed and Julie (Boulder, Colorado USA)
    • Date of stay 08/09/10
    • Review Submitted 09/20/10
    We had a fantastic time in Issigeac and the Dordogne region! Thank you for the most incredible home and hospitality that really exceeded our expectations. The lit candles welcoming us to your home were only the tip of the hospitality iceberg. Kathy and Rick were so warm and welcoming-stocking the fridge with milk and juice and the counter with wine and coffee. Wow, we were delighted. Your home is so beautiful, comfortable and so well appointed. We enjoyed all the modern comforts within its wonderful historic walls. Issigeac is such a delightful village. It was so fun to explore the narrow streets and market, and the people were very welcoming. We also had such fun touring the Dordogne countryside. Every drive presented beautiful villages, castles, chateaus and stunning countryside. We especially adored the markets which brought to life French food, music and sense of community. Thank you for all you did to make our stay in the Dordogne so wonderful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Medieval Gem

    A Medieval Gem

    • Guest Larry and Alice (Granite Bay, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/17/10
    • Review Submitted 05/02/10
    We were introduced to this property through friends of ours who know the owners. Little did we know what a treat was in store for us when we unlocked the beautiful blue french doors which opened up into a delightful ages old house complete with the character that only a very old home would include. From the ground floor to the top master suite, the house charms it's guests with unique features. We were very comfortable there whether enjoying a meal prepared in the new kitchen, or listening to music while relaxing in the main living area. Even though the house is composed of stone, it has a warm, airy feel to it due to its lovely understated decorating. One of the best parts about this village house however, is the knowledge and enthusiasm of it's owner, Janice. Her love for French culture and the history of the Dordogne and it's inhabitants becomes apparent immediately as she eases her guests into the small town life of the local residents. No travel problem is too small for her gifted attention, she made us feel like family! Issigeac and it's little shops, bars, boulangeries, and restaurants (we especially enjoyed Chez Alain), is a treasure to explore. Farther afield, we discovered town after town of unspoiled beauty. If you have room in your luggage, bring a small pair of binoculars--there are many sweeping vistas to take advantage of which overlook the winding path of the Dordogne River. We will remember this beautiful undiscovered area and it's people for a very long time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Jewel perfect for Two couples

    A Jewel perfect for Two couples

    • Guest LarryT (Austin, Texas USA)
    • Date of stay 04/09/10
    • Review Submitted 04/30/10
    This house and its surroundings was perfect for our two couples traveling in April 2010. We could hit the market and cook in when we wished or frequent the outstanding eating establishments recommended by the owners. They even set up a cooking class for us at Chez Alain which was informative and fun. We did day trips out to the many small towns and castles in the area after grabbing our daily baguette down the street each morning of course...All of the information Janice provided to us on things to do in the area could have been published as a tour book. We can't say enough about how the house exceeded our expectations. Modern, comfortable, quiet and conveniently located.....We have rented in Tuscany in the past and this rental far exceeds what we saw there. This place is a real jewel........

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Halsch family
    • Date of stay 08/02/09
    • Review Submitted 08/01/09
    A HUGE thanks for all you did for us while we were in France! We were so thankful to meet you and find your rental property on the web. We all enjoyed our time in Issigeac and count the time spent there as the highlight of our trip! We have passed on your listing on the VRBO site along to all the friends who ask about our trip and we will continue to recommend it. We do this with some reluctance, of course, as we would like to keep it all to ourselves! Susan H., Minnesota, USA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Robert Gunter (Kennebunk, Me)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 07/25/09
    This beautifully-restored property offers everything you could want for a perfect visit to The Dordogne. It is situated right in the middle of Issigeac with shops, bars and restaurants just around the corner. The owner is most gracious and goes out of her way to make you happy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]