Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The view from your private deck!!

A Slice of Heaven on the River in Capitola!! [#231280] | View Property

Capitola
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$205 - $395/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (36)

Sort by:
  • Relax by the river

    Relax by the river

    • Guest Kim (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 03/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/21/14
    My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing three days here by the river. Every morning we had our coffee on the deck overlooking the water and greeted the locals walking along the path and every evening we had our wine out on the deck enjoying the sunset. We brought our bikes and road along the beach areas and even took them up to Pacific Grove for a beautiful bike ride along the ocean then lunch at The Red Cafe. In Capitola we really loved the Cava Wine Bar downtown where we met friendly locals, Gayle's Bakery for coffee and pastries, Bella Roma for great Italian and highly recommend The Walnut Cafe in downtown Santa Cruz. We used the BBQ out on the deck and had lovely dinners outside with a beautiful view. We look forward to our next trip to Capitola.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. This is what makes it worth it all. We hope to see you again. Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great little getaway

    Great little getaway

    • Guest Can't wait to come back
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    Spent the weekend with my daughter, her best friend and sister for a girls weekend. I am so glad I found this gem. The location was excellent with everything just steps away, literally no need to drive once you arrive. The beach, restaurant and shops less than a 5 minute walk. The dock area just out back was heaven. It really felt like life slowed down. Everything was very clean and well maintained. I also met the owner Dan who was so helpful. My sister dropped her ring between the boards of dock and he was so kind to grab his drill and pull up the boards to retrieve the ring. Yeah!!! I will definitely be coming back again. Thanks Dan for an awesome weekend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so tickled that you had a such a great time at our little home on the river. We hope to see you again soon. Steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Lovely, Fun, Family, or Romantic, you choose

    Lovely, Fun, Family, or Romantic, you choose

    • Guest LaDona (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 10/28/13
    • Review Submitted 11/03/13
    What a lovely place to stay. My husband and I have traveled a lot in our retirement years and we always ask ourselves if this is a place we will return for a stay and the answer is a definite yes. We had a family reunion with our adult children and also our granddaughter and some live in Santa Cruz. They all loved it and particularly the canoe on the river. We have lots of pictures. Now we our thinking of returning with our friends that we sometimes travel with and we know that they will love this place also. It is lovely that you can either eat outside on the water or in by the fireplace when chilly. Everything went very well with the rental and it was clean and there were no complaints at all. We had extra excitement on the beach with whales and thousands of birds feeding. We have had several Christmas dinners at the Shadowbrook in the past and recommend it highly and it is close by. Be sure to check out Gayle's Bakery on Bay as it is incredible. You will really love your stay here. We may not tell the kids and return for just us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the wonderful Testimonial. It make us so happy when we hear how much people enjoy their stay at out little home. We hope to see you in the future!! Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great setting,both for relaxing and for exploration of the Monterey Bay Area

    great setting,both for relaxing and for exploration of the Monterey Bay Area

    • Guest Bette S. (Oakland, California)
    • Date of stay 10/07/13
    • Review Submitted 10/10/13
    this is our second visit:,perfect location on Soquel Creek. We are so happy to find really attractive pet friendly lodging without having to drive to Carmel, where we have usually stayed. The house and its setting are just as lovely as pictured, and we got a kick out of sitting on the deck (which is like a front porch to the pedestrian path along the creek ) and talking with passersby. Lots of wildlife to watch on the creek, too. We always go to Aldos the Wharf at least once when we are in the area, and recommend it highly to anyone who wants great fish and seafood in a decidedly non stuffy atmosphere. Look forward to returning in the spring.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the lovely response. We apprecite you using outr little home on the river. See you soon, Steve and Lois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tony & Sally

    Tony & Sally

    • Guest tony v.
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    We have found our lil slice of heaven here !!! everything was perfect so much so we have already re booked for next year. Even better was our experience with owner Steve Owens he answered all questions and took care of our needs. Great time !!!! thanks again Steve Tony & Sally

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. it will be great to have you back next year. SteveOOOO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet, Peaceful and Convenient!

    Quiet, Peaceful and Convenient!

    • Guest Susannah (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    We just returned from our weeklong stay in Capitola at this river path house and we had the best time! This house was in the perfect location. We walked to the village every day, which only takes about a minute to walk to. The scenery off the back of the house was incredibly peaceful. The neighbor hood was very quiet except for one night when people across the river from us were having a party, but it was more amusing than anything. The house had everything we needed with plenty of parking for family to visit. The owners are extremely nice and take very good care of the property. There is no doubt that we will be returning to this house and we're already in the stages of planning when that will be! If you visit Capitola, some things you MUST do... 1. Walk up the steps to Depot Hill and walk the short path along the cliff. 2. Go through New Brighton Beach State Park and smell the eucalyptus trees. 3. Drive to Pleasure Point and watch the surfers (the green house on the cliff belongs to Jack O'Neill, founder of the O'Neill wetsuit) 4. Have pizza from Pizza My Heart on the Esplanade. 5. Go to the Wednesday night concert at Capitola Beach (summers only I believe) 6. Eat at Gayle's Bakery AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE. Get your bread for the week there and get produce from the stand across the street. 7. For women's clothes, go to In The Raw in the merchantile. The owner is from India and he's one of the happiest people you'll ever meet. His prices are also fantastic. 8. Eat ice cream from Village Grill and Creamery (all local made).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank yopu so much for your wonderful response. It gives us a good feeling that we have met our clients expectation! We hope to see you on the river again soon. Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Location was Awesome, close to the beach and shopping.

    Location was Awesome, close to the beach and shopping.

    • Guest Jo (Spanish Springs Nevada)
    • Date of stay 07/29/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    We enjoyed our stay. So close to the beach and shopping. I enjoyed to being able to walk to everything.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Time In Capitola

    Great Time In Capitola

    • Guest Leigh K. (Clayton)
    • Date of stay 05/24/13
    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
    We had a great time in Capitola, and this house added to everything that was special about it. Sitting out on the river, and watching the time go by was truly relaxing. The house itself had new floors, and the beds were comfy. It is a truly special house, and would rent it again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind response. We are looking forward to you staying with us again. Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a great spot!

    What a great spot!

    • Guest Cyndy (Walnut Creek)
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    What a fantastic place to enjoy some much needed R & R. Loved the fact that we could park the car for the weekend and walk everywhere. Loved hanging out on both of the decks, and watching the parade of people going by. Great fun to barbecue on the deck too. We enjoyed our wine tasting at Armida, which was just a short stroll away from the house. We had lunch at the Paradise Grill and it was delicious. Had one dinner out at Sparrow Cafe in Aptos. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend this home for a small family or two couples.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I had a blast looking at Real Estate with you guys. Next time I will bring my convertable!! Hope to see you soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The very best location for quiet getaway in Capitola!

    The very best location for quiet getaway in Capitola!

    • Guest Hilary G.
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    Steve (the owner) was a pleasure to work with. Very flexible. Our family LOVED this location. Very quiet, beautiful paths, river and we all kayaked in the morning and after dinner (when the tide was up). We spent most of our time on the decks outside. We walked to beach and town multiple times daily, and we enjoyed the EV charging station, a 2 minute walk away, just up the hill. Lastly, we parked 2 cars in the driveway with no problem, and our visitors were able to park in driveway as well (can accomodate 3 large cars, 4 small). Safe, quiet street - we were even able to try out our new skateboards (from The BoardRoom). Enjoy!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Hilary, thanks so much for your endorsement. It is important to us that our visitors enjoy their stay. We appreciate your response and hope to see you in Capitola again. Steve, Lois and Rand

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful river cottage

    Wonderful river cottage

    • Guest Wisteria (Utah)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    Great little cottage in a perfect location. Just a short walk to old town Capitola for eating and shopping. Beautiful view off the back deck at the river walk. It turned out to be a nice central location between San Francisco and Monterrey/Carmel. Everything was clean and well maintained. The owners were very easy to work and responded quickly to every question. It was rainy and cooler while we were there, so weren't able to enjoy the back patio like we would have liked. But we would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cheryl

    Cheryl

    • Guest Cheryl (Pasadena, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    Steve: We had a lovely time at your lovely home. We enjoyed the patio and dock so much - either for morning coffee and evening cocktails and almost all the time in between. Just sitting and watching all the wildlife and beautiful scenery was so restful. We would definitely do this agian.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Cheryl, thanks so much for the very nice review. We are elated that you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you in the future. Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Perfect getaway - something for everyone

    Perfect getaway - something for everyone

    • Guest Arri (San Jose ca)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    A slice of heaven is an understatement and a half - our recent trip included four teenage girls and everyone was still content at this cottage on the river in Capitola. Amazing relaxing views, great location and all the amenities you desire. The home was really well appointed ( even my favorite keurig coffee maker was available for use so my own could stay in the car) and the extras available such as the boats made it a really great trip. We can't wait to return! Once we parked we had little need to drive anywhere again- every place is but a hop, skip and a jump away.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the generous review. We love it when our guest have such a good time. We hope to see you for a return visit. Regards, Lois and steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just a delight!

    Just a delight!

    • Guest Andrea (Danville)
    • Date of stay 07/03/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    What a beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your cottage. Sitting on the deck with our coffee in the morning nodding "hello" to all the friendly passerbys or sipping wine before dinner and watching the paddleboats putter by was a favorite pastime. My daughter and I also enjoyed paddling to the beach in your handy canoe. It was so peaceful on the river. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated and fitted with everything one would need for a stay away from home. We hope to return many times to our new favorite cottage in Capitola.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We hope to see you in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It's True,

    It's True,

    • Guest Diane (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    It is a slice of heaven -- we even heard that from several people walking by. This is a lovely home that has everything you will need to enjoy your vacation; beautiful furnishings, lots of dishes, state-of-the art refrigerator, paper products, beautiful deck and dock, grill, and boats to fully enjoy the river. We had gorgeous weather every single day for the week. Steve was a pleasure to work with. We hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our little home. Wer hope to see you in the future, Steve & Lois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great value, great location!

    Great value, great location!

    • Guest Chad (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    My wife, our 4-year-old son, and I just stayed at this great little house for a week to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. The house was exactly as advertised, and a great value. Steve was mellow and easy to work with, and there were no unpleasant surprises like you sometimes get with rental properties. Best of all is the location. I can't say enough good things about it. Our son loved having the river right behind the house (although the level was so low it was really more of a stream), and the beach is just a couple of blocks away -- an easy walk even with all of our gear and an excited toddler. Next time we head to Capitola for more than a day or two, we'll definitely try to book this house again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your wonderful feed back. We hope to see you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect...

    Perfect...

    • Guest Shirlee (Reno, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 04/29/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We certainly had a wonderful time at your home, and the weather really cooperated for us! Our dinner at Shadowbrook was outstanding - great way to spend our 40th, plus my husband got to paddle board/surf a couple of times too, and we rented a double kayak and did the ocean/kelp float, and saw a whale as well, so could not have been more perfect. I am missing the smell of jasmine! Thanks again, Larry and Shirlee Hull Reno, Nevada

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Jasmine (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 05/08/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riverview house this past weekend. The house was equipped with everything you can possibly need, beautiful view and central to everything you will want to do in Capitola. Like the other reviewers, I agree Steve was great to work with. Very nice and professional. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • peaceful retreat

    peaceful retreat

    • Guest Susan (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    This place is perfect if you want a peaceful retreat in what can be a very busy beach town. We didn't even go to the beach! Unfortunately there wasn't much water in the river so didn't kayak, but we did hang out on the dock reading for hours, explored the various neighborhoods and cooked dinners on the BBQ. Nicely equiped kitchen and comfortable bed. We will be back.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you in the future! Steve and Lois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Truly is a slice of Heaven....

    Truly is a slice of Heaven....

    • Guest Nancy (Pleasanton, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    ...the house was beautiful and extremely comfortable. It is well stocked and had everything we needed. The location is superb. Walking distance to absolutely everything. We canoed and kayaked up and down the river, walked to town multiple times, relaxed on the dock/deck and had an overall wonderful time. We will defintely come back again. Thank you Steve.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you vertu much for your wonderful words. We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you in the future. Regards, SteveOOOO

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Outstanding Capitola Riverfront Cottage

    Outstanding Capitola Riverfront Cottage

    • Guest donna (El Dorado Hills, Ca)
    • Date of stay 03/26/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    First off, the location is amazing with being riverfront and 3 minute walking distance to Capitola Village. The cute and comfortable home was clean, well stocked, and just what the photos displayed. My college daughter and I enjoyed 3 days of reading/chatting on the patio overlooking the river and shopping/dining in Capitola while she was home on Spring Break. The mini-dachshunds came along and also enjoyed walks around the neighborhood and the Village. I will bring my husband next time for a getaway. I strongly recommend the Slice of Heaven to all.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I want to thank you again for your wonderful review. We inspected the home and you left it well above our expectations. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future. Steve & Lois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Couple Retreat

    Couple Retreat

    • Guest Leslie (Palo Alto CA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    What a charming cottage! So peaceful and quiet on the river. Even though it rained the entire weekend, we enjoyed sitting outside under the overhang and watching the river flow by in the afternoons, listening to the sounds of river fauna. You would never know that you are so close to the bustle of the village and the Pacific Ocean. The cottage kitchen (well equipped!) and living areas are spacious and could easily accommodate a family of four. The main bedroom is comfortable, nice firm bed! The cottage is a short 5 minute walk down the narrow road and under the bridge and into the village in one direction. It is only about a mile from the freeway, where there is a Peet's coffee and great grocery store for provisions. The owner, Steve, is easy to work with, personable, and quick to respond. What a pleasurable experience all the way around.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your great review! We hopr to see you in the future and thank you for leaving out home in such great shape. Steve & Lois

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • B & A (Chicago)

    B & A (Chicago)

    • Guest B (midwest)
    • Date of stay 01/25/12
    • Review Submitted 02/04/12
    I had a great time staying at this house . The place is darling, and being on the river is such a bonus. Sitting on the deck looking at the variety of birds was both relaxing and fun. It's beautiful, and the location is perfect - quiet and yet close to everything. Steve was always quick to respond to e-mails and questions. This was my third visit to Capitola, and both the house and its location were the best.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We thank you very much for your great review and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Steve Owens

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Family of five

    Family of five

    • Guest J.S. (Burlingame)
    • Date of stay 01/14/12
    • Review Submitted 01/17/12
    What a wonderful long weekend. The accommodations couldn't have been more perfectly located. We loved being right on the river and enjoyed a wonderful canoe ride in January! Steve was a delight to work with. Great for families with kids or without. An easy walk to the beach and up to Gayle's for yummy morning treats.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Location in Capitola

    Great Location in Capitola

    • Guest Mush (Sacramento)
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    We loved sitting out on the deck by the river, taking walks to Pleasure Point, around town and to Gayle's Bakery. Steve was wonderful to work with.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the positive review. We hope to see you in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A relaxing honeymoon

    A relaxing honeymoon

    • Guest Ben W. (null)
    • Date of stay 10/16/11
    • Review Submitted 11/01/11
    My wife and I along with our two dogs enjoyed a fabulous honeymoon at this cottage. The location is so convenient. There were many interesting shops and restaurants in downtown Capitola, however, the best meal we had all week came from a local favorite in Santa Cruz called Lillian's (great Italian food). We also went on a deep sea fishing trip out of the Santa Cruz harbor and had a blast. We came home with twenty cod and enjoyed fish tacos on the deck. Thanks Steve for your hospitality, we look forward to returning. Ben and Trisha

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the wonderful feed back. We hope you will visit our little home again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Indeed this is a slice of heaven!!

    Indeed this is a slice of heaven!!

    • Guest Sandy (Roseville,CA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/15/11
    My husband and I, our son and his wife and our little 2 year old grandson stayed here. This is our fourth visit to this house. We've been coming to Capitola every year for 30 years and have stayed at many places until we found this wonderful little cottage. So charming, well maintained and the owner is fabulous to work with. The week flew by and we were so sad when Friday came and we had to leave this beautiful little place. We will be back again next year, same time, and more times during the off season. We just can't say enough positive things about this property.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Sandy for the kind words. We hope to see you back for many years. It is nice to know that our hard work makes for a great vacation!! Regards,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful little home in the heart of Capitola

    Beautiful little home in the heart of Capitola

    • Guest J (Roseville, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/13/11
    • Review Submitted 07/03/11
    We had a wonderful time during our last trip to Capitola, thanks in part to this great little house on the river. Very close to the beach, nicely furnished, and comfortable. Kids loved being able to sit out on the back porch and watch the wildlife around the river. Be sure to check tide tables if you plan on canoeing/kayaking, as the water level is much too low during low tide for boating, and we just happened to get unlucky as the tide came in later in the evening (too late to get on the water). Plan on bringing some of your own extra toiletries and stuff (toilet paper, soap, shampoo, etc, no back-ups as this is very much a rental home). All in all, a great place to stay if you are planning a trip to the Santa Cruz area; we had an excellent visit. Thanks to great owners for making all of the arrangements so easy!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the wondrful review and we hope to see you in the future. Steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heaven Found!

    Heaven Found!

    • Guest California Girls (Morgan Hill, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/25/11
    Absolutely Perfect Location! Right on the waters edge with great views of the river, perfect for walking right into Capitola Village where you are close to restaurants and shopping! 5 minute walk to the beach with a wonderful California coastline. Kayaking on the river that is very scenic and serene. Cottage is updated with beautiful decorated accents to relax and enjoy! Morning coffee or afternoon cocktails on the deck is a moment to truly cherish! Picture postcard environment! We had an amazing time and will be back again for sure!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi again Natalie, I want to thank you for the wonderful trview and we hope to see you again. It makes us very happy to have happy renters. Regards, Steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Getaway

    Wonderful Getaway

    • Guest welovevacation (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/27/11
    We absolutely loved this rental! The pictures online do not do it justice and we agree with the other comments that Steve was wonderful to deal with. We started out thinking it would be just my husband and I but then our 16 year old wanted to come with a friend. The location was ideal for teenagers as they could walk a few steps on a beautiful path to the cute downtown. We had planned on driving to go hiking but ended up staying in the area. We took a 5 mile walk on the beach to the "cement ship". We had also thought we would go out for dinner but loved the place so much we ended up cooking at the house. The house is a home not a rental! We will definitely be going back to Capitola soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind words. It is our goal to seperate ourselves from the regular commercial vacatin rental and have our guest feel like they are in the comfort of there own home. It seems like we may have achieved that. Thank you much and hope to see you again Steve,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Two Nights In Capitola

    Two Nights In Capitola

    • Guest Richard & Linda (Half Moon Bay, CA )
    • Date of stay 05/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/07/11
    My wife and I decided to take a few days off without traveling a great distance from the Bay Area. We ended up at Steve Owen's river cottage in Capitola. Capitola gets crowded on the weekends but during the week it becomes a peaceful little coastal retreat and the cottage was the perfect spot for us to relax and enjoy a change of scene. The river provides a peaceful and serene atmosphere and the view from the deck gives you the feeling you are miles from anywhere. In fact, a 2 minute stroll down the little path in front of the house takes you to Capitola village, with its cafes, restaurants, shops and beach. I would definitely recommend this rental and we will certainly try to stay there again.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Feel free to call and chat with us anytime Steveo (408) 644-5017

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hidden Gem!

    Hidden Gem!

    • Guest Dee (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/30/11
    • Review Submitted 04/12/12
    Steve, we had such a wonderful time at your home. The scenery was quite picturesque. The home was comfortable and the neighborhood was such a delightful charm. Even when it was raining it was beautiful. Thank you again. Quaint, peaceful, and convenient. :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent Location and Setting!

    Excellent Location and Setting!

    • Guest Riley (truckee, ca)
    • Date of stay 04/09/11
    • Review Submitted 04/16/11
    This location is PERFECT!. Sit on the deck to watch and listen to the ducks in the creek. Watch the egrets fish. Walk out the back door to the river path and stroll 3 mins to downtown. Sweet spot!. The beds are very comfortable. Tons of parking for being so close to town. The gas fireplace is a cozy treat. We ate in almost every morning and night with our local relatives and the kitchen was very accomodating. I didn't even need to search for the input on the stereo for my i-Pod, a cord was already hooked up! Great spot Steve! Thanks again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I love to hear from people who had a great time at our home on the river in Capitola. We hope to see you back soon. It is our goal to create a relaxing enviroment for adults and children alike to enjoy. Regards, Steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect place to spend time with the girls!

    Perfect place to spend time with the girls!

    • Guest Lisa CW (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/06/10
    Simply perfect. We came here for two nights to spend time together and re-connect. Perfect amenities, perfect location. The porch facing the water was so inviting and relaxing. Unbelievably close to the downtown area. Extended driveway which provided parking space for four cars. We will definitely come back. Cozy and relaxing and everything you want in a girlfriend's get away. Loved it! Lisa CW

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Simply charming!

    Simply charming!

    • Guest F&A (La Canada, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/31/11
    We had a fantastic time in this beautiful little cottage on the river. It was very comfortable for the 4 of us the owner was a real pleasure to deal with. Seeing our 9 year old daughter kayak for the first time and our son surf on the beach a couple of blocks away was a real joy. We will definitely come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Fred and Andrea, thank you much for the kind comments. We hope to see you in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best place to stay in Capitola !

    Best place to stay in Capitola !

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/06/09
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    We stayed there in Oct of 2009. We have been trying to find another chance to get down there again. The photos are beautiful but don't do the place justice. The location and atmosphere add so much more. The home itself is lovely, clean, comfortable and has all possible amenities. My husband myself and our golden retriever 3 days but didn't want to leave. The owner(super nice guy) tried to rearrange a booking but was unable to. We are planning another stay asap!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]