Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to Dulce Sueno!

Private Villa, Gorgeous Ocean Views in Vieques, Puerto Rico [#231708] | View Property

Villa Borinquen
Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$210 - $214/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Fabulous Property

    Fabulous Property

    • Guest Opal M.
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    Lovely home! Beautiful, quiet, private location on an easily accessible hilltop with amazing views of rolling hills and the Atlantic. Perfect breezes all throughout the house- we never once turned on the AC! Fantastic back balcony for sunsets, grilling, and evening relaxation. Nicely decorated in casual, cool Carribean flavor. Well spaced bedrooms with plenty of bath and beach towels. Kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots, pans, some basic cooking ingredients. The house had all beach amenities we needed (cooler, chairs, snorkel gear). Although we never turned it on, there was a dvd player a good selection of movies and games for rainy days. Landscaping was nice with blooming jasmine, bougeonvilla, and banana trees. Ten minutes stroll to a nice walking beach and 15 minute drive to Reserve beaches. Easy drive to Isabel and shops, restaurants. Excellent communication with owner and caretaker made planning and arrival very easy. Perfect for a family or group of friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you, Opal and family! You were great renters and we hope you'll be back again and soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Always Amazing!

    Always Amazing!

    • Guest Jimmy (Bluffton, SC USA)
    • Date of stay 01/08/14
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    This home is a jewel box in Vieques! We have been there several times and it's the perfect hideaway. Very sophisticated and interesting design not common on this island. When we visited this time, the bedroom air conditioners had been upgraded (brand new), new fantastic outdoor shower (great all year!), new washer/dryer and beautiful new outdoor deck furniture - perfect for Vieques sunsets! You can really tell that the owners care about the property, landscaping and overall quality of stay. In addition, the location is secluded and private but only 10 minutes to town. Plenty of chairs for the beautiful beaches! The owners provide great and updated information about where to go - we had dinner at the new Tin Box and it was great - oysters and all. I would definitely recommend this property - the perfect combination of island casual and updated sophisticated living…..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks and hope you'll be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Island Breezes and Gorgeous Views

    Island Breezes and Gorgeous Views

    • Guest Cincy (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    My family and I enjoyed a week-long vacation on Vieques staying at this lovely home. We were greeted at the ferry boat by Val who was able to provide us with essential information for both the nearby town (Isabel) and the house. Speaking of the ferry, although a little late, we had no trouble getting on. There is no way to reserve in advance, but our 6 round-trip tickets set us back $24 total! The house with its 4 bedrooms was perfectly suited for our "family vacation" that included my husband and I, and our grown children- 6 in all. The open floor plan of the living space was perfect for family entertaining, and there were many games provided for use around the large dining table. The kitchen was well-equipped for preparing some tasty dinners (lobster pots in the laundry room) as well as, of course, blender for tropical rum drinks, and very handy for breakfasts. It had a lovely porch on which to enjoy an evening libation or to read in the morning. There is a constant breeze on the island and the house seems to be situated directly into it so that we never had to use the air conditioners. And there was plenty of spare snorkeling gear and beach chairs for fun and relaxation. The small fish market at the end of the road near the ferry opens around noon time and stays open only depending on what the catch is. While produce seems to be somewhat scarce there is a tire shop at the turn for the 997 which has fruit and refrigerated trucks full of produce in the back, as well as a small farmers market on tuesdays. We were able to walk to the water for a stroll and find sea urchin shells, but unable to swim on this rocky stretch. Although not recommended, we found it perfectly safe to walk into town. You absolutely need a vehicle to enjoy Vieques as the various beaches are the highlight of this island. In late May, we found none of the beaches crowded, and a few empty. There were several beaches that are accessed through the gate into the preserve and they are all worth exploring. Playuela and Navio were 2 of our favorites. For wifi, my kids used Al’s Mar Azul bar in Isabel II. We had a great dinner at Bili’s, and tasty lunches at Duffy's. The island could use a “Green-up Day,” but the people are very nice, the beaches beautiful, the snorkeling very good- so overall, a very nice way to spend a week relaxing and exploring. Nothing is far on the Island and Dulce Sueno proved to be a great home base!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you, Cindy! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spectacular

    Spectacular

    • Guest Jen (Kansas City, MO)
    • Date of stay 01/30/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    My husband and I visted Vieques for the first time last week and we didn't just have a vacation we had an amazing life changing experience. We feel in love with Vieques and staying at Dulce Sueno made our trip even better. The house has everything you could possibly need. Snorkel equipment, beach chairs and several different sizes of coolers. A great outside shower for washing the beach off of you and easy access to Isabel for a drink or dinner. It was only about a 5 minute drive into town. The beds were comfy and nicely decorated. There were extra bug spray and sunscreen provided along with complimentary shampoo/conditioner. We used the outdoor grill which worked perfectly and enjoyed our coffee in the mornings on the balcony with breathtaking views. This house is huge! 1 bedroom upstairs and 3 downstairs. It was only just my husband and I but we are looking forward to bringing our 3 kids next visit and everyone having plenty of room to spread out. The tradewinds were great at keeping the upstairs cool and the A/C worked great in the bedroom at night. So well that we got cold and had to turn it off. It was very quiet at night and we felt very safe. Val, the property manager,upon our request picked up a few things for us to get started on our first night at the house and even picked us some limes off of her tree! We highly recommend this home on your trip to Vieques. Thank you Margot for sharing your beautiful Vieques dream home with us!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and cozy!

    Beautiful and cozy!

    • Guest Melissa M. (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/29/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    My husband and I stayed here over New Year's and it was amazing. The house and furnishings far surpassed my expectations for a vacation rental. It was immaculate and had all the amenities we needed. I hope to get back there soon and would never stay anyplace else.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks for staying with us! We hope you'll be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review for Property 231708. Casa Dulce Sueno . Private Villa with gorgeous ocean views in Vieques.

    Review for Property 231708. Casa Dulce Sueno . Private Villa with gorgeous ocean views in Vieques.

    • Guest none (Corozal, P.R.)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    I stayed with my wife Aida and five other friends during four nights (oct. 12 - oct. 16 , 2012).The listing description was accurate. The listing photos of the property were completely accurate. Property was in excellent shape and very cleaned. Owner and property manager were very helpful in very corteous. Without doubt we will recommend this property to family and friends. Activities , attractions , and places to dine and eat were well within reach. By far this is the best place ( economically affordable ) were I have stayed in Vieques since since I have been vacationing in this Island ( for more than 40 years ). There are so many positive remarks that could completely fill this review.One that I and Aida enjoyed were that there is a constant breeze that completely surrounds all the house, especially in the upper level ( living, dining , porches and kitchen , which is even better than in Corozal montains were we live. Place is more quiet than any similar place in the big island. Dining room table was especially nice to eat, read , and have a good conversation with others of our party over what place to visit next. Because of some distance from other places, a rental vehicle is a must.We recommend an SUV , Jeep or similar. But for kids (even adults) there is a small beach pool nearby, just a camel walking distance, less than 10 minutes away. The beds were good, the bathrooms adequate (dificult to find in another place in Vieques a house with three copmplete baths) two good porches, excellent parking facilities inside property premises and many oher ammenities. Oh! I almost forgot to mention the kitchen. It had a lot of space to move around, completely furnished, and I underscore completely, micro , firdge, ceramic top stove, oven, coffe maker, etc., etc., etc. Oh! and yes, yes, yes the vista toward the Atlantic sea , the Big Island and Culebra is also beautiful! That is it, my friends! You can not ask for more at such an affordable price! Thank you Margot and Val for offering this "Sweet Dream" house in this beautifull island of Vieques! WE SHALL RETURN Benito and Aida Corozal, P.R.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you for your kind words, Benito! We hope you and your family and friends will be back soon and that the stars will shine bright for your stargazing! Cheers! Margot

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Always Amazing!

    Always Amazing!

    • Guest Margie (Bluffton, SC)
    • Date of stay 09/24/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    This is my second stay at the beautiful Dulce Sueno and it is always most enjoyable! This home is tucked away, high up on hill with fabulous sunsets and great breezes. It is furnished very "island modern" and all the living areas and bedrooms are beautifully done and very well kept. It is very well situated, just a few minutes from the cute town (with new restaurants and great shops) as well as the private and undeveloped beaches. There are plenty of beach supplies in the garage for guests so we just had to put a few things in the car and take off for a perfect day. Compared to the hotels and other homes nearby, this place is a real treasure - and most affordable to boot! Whether you are venturing out day and night or staying in with a great bottle of wine, a nice grilled dinner and a movie - this is the place to accomodate all your wishes....sweet dreams :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you for staying at Dulce Sueno! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your return. Cheers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Private Villa

    Beautiful Private Villa

    • Guest Angela J.
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/29/12
    Our stay here at this private Villa from July 18-24th was outstanding! The views from the home was so breath taking. The breezes from the ocean was spectacular. We all enjoyed this beautiful villa and was sad when we had to say good bye : ( It felt like it was our home while we were there. The kids had a wonderful time seeing all of the horses walking around. And the beaches, So beautiful! You will need to rent a vehicle though to get around the town and explore : ) We all had so much fun and relaxation : ) We will be going back : ) Thank You again Margot : ) : )

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Weekend in Vieques!!!

    Amazing Weekend in Vieques!!!

    • Guest WestRock (San German, PR)
    • Date of stay 07/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    We stayed the holiday weekend of Fiestas Patronales and Carnaval in Vieques, and Casa Dulce Sueño was the best option we could have chosen. Since our arrival, the house exceeded our expectations, and it was far beautiful that what the photos showed. You do need a car to arrive to the house from the ferry port and to move around the Island. I had my SUV, which I brought on the cargo ferry from Puerto Rico, and we also rented a Jeep at Maritza's Car Rental (highly recommended). The house is in a hill with an spectacular view of the island of Culebra, and of the main island of Puerto Rico, highlighted by El Yunque National Rainforest. The 4 bedrooms were spacious and very clean; the bathrooms were clean, it had lots of towels; the kitchen had all you need; the bbq in the balcony was the culinary highlight of our stay, great food with great views; the decoration throughout the house was pretty and well-mantained. Every evening that we arrived from beach-hopping we used the outdoor shower to clean off the excess sand, and the nearby hose to clean the Jeep, beach chairs, toys, etc. The house had beach chairs, a small bbq for the beach, snorkel equipment, beach towels, coolers, and other toys to use in the beach. The washer-dryer combo is very useful for groups staying for 5+ days. I have stayed several times in the past in Vieques, and this time we had the best fun. Definitely the house was one component of our great stay. Overall, I can assure that this is one of the best rental houses in all of the island of Vieques taking into account the weekly rate and flexible options together with the location, views, cleanness, and accessories of the house. We will be back every Fiestas Patronales weekend, so wait for us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Hidden Treasure in the Carribean!

    Hidden Treasure in the Carribean!

    • Guest Margie (Bluffton, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This chic villa is fabulous...a perfectly hidden location at the top of a small hill with beautiful 180 degree views of the ocean. The house is nicely furnished with everything you need for a great vacation. We went down to the dock and bought excellent lobsters and grilled them on the outside grill while drinking fine local rum at sunset - excellent! The house has amazing ocean breezes upstairs in the main house and air conditioned comfort for sleeping. Very scenic outdoor space allows plenty of room for enjoying the views or lounging on the deck. The villa was also a short ride to great restaurants in Esperanza or at W Hotel and Spa. Nearby beaches are completely undeveloped with crystal clear waters. This villa is the perfect place to peacefully relax or use as a home base to discover this beautiful island....enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you Margie! We hope you'll be back often!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Too short a stay!

    Too short a stay!

    • Guest Kathy (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    I have never written a review before, and it's going to be brief: We loved this house! It may be a long time til we get back there, but I'm sure we will. It was beautiful and relaxing.. clean, spacious, lovely views. Very accurately described in the listing. as others have said, 4 wheel drive is a must.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you, Kathryn! We hope you'll come back for a longer stay next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Gem in Vieques

    A Gem in Vieques

    • Guest Constance (Mobile, AL)
    • Date of stay 01/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/18/12
    This spot was perfect for visiting any of the many beaches on the island; everything was minutes away.  And yet, staying in had the advantage of being private and secluded. The house is well appointed and perfectly situated to enjoy the views and sounds of the ocean. The people we met that live on the island were gracious, helpful, and quick with their smiles.  I still dream of little details of my stay here, such as waking up to ocean breezes in the mornings, running up to the town to get a pastry and coffee, gearing up for a day of snorkeling and book-reading at a beach, and returning home to watch a spectacular sunset from one of the porches.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you, Marlinee! We hope you'll be back to visit Vieques and Dulce Sueno soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Get away

    Get away

    • Guest Eugene (NYC, NY, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/12/11
    • Review Submitted 12/06/11
    Vieques Island has been our favorite for the last few years for several reasons: no invasive shopping malls, no crowds of tourists and pristine beaches in environment less blemished by real estate development than typical Carribbean counterparts. An affordable place to enjoy life without phone calls, Internet and TV, spend a time on a picture-perfect beach alone. Friendly people, relaxed style of life, 35 mph maximum velocity on the roads where horses still look more appropriate than cars. All this within a short flight from NYC, with a nominal 1 hr time difference. We prefer to fly to San Juan and take the ferry, it is part of the fun of getting there. The house, Dulce Sueno is located in a nice neighborhood on a hill exposed to the trade winds. After renovation under the new ownership the interior became even better than it had been. Pat and Lori keep it mint clean. They are always helpful, reliable and available. The house is within a walking distance of a small beach on the northern shore and the best snorkel sites are all within a short drive on this small island. A 4-wheel drive is a must if you want to visit places like the famous Bioluminescence Bay on your own.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Vacation + Casa Dulce Sueno = Best Vacation Ever!!

    Family Vacation + Casa Dulce Sueno = Best Vacation Ever!!

    • Guest Mireya (Miami, Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 06/28/11
    We traveled to Vieques for a friend's wedding and booked this house for our weeklong stay. The house is so nice! the furnishings are tasteful and complement the space. Also, the balcony porch has such an amazing view (very smart of the owners to put the BBQ gas grill there). The view from the front yard is also amazing. The house is up discreet little road on the top of a hill. you can see the ocean from the house. Overall, the house when experienced in person, exceed the photos provided on this site (and some of the furnishings have been upgraded) We found the proximity of the house to all the activities a perfect distance. For us, it was nice to have a quiet peaceful house after long action packed days. The caretakers the owner has engaged are fantastic, easy to contact, very helpful and they also have cars for rent. Their prices were unbeatable and that truly took our trip to the next level. That allowed us to explore the island and take advantage of different beaches. As far as entertainment - bring your own. This house has no wi-fi, no tv/dvd/cable. There is an Ipod speaker station and we used that for music. I think this is important to know up front, especially if youre traveling with older children/teens. We traveled with a 2 and 3 year old. We had alot of fun, and even left behind a few beach toys for the next guest to enjoy. They do have board games and books. I would totally recommend this house if youre looking for a comfortable home base. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It was very clean and well maintained and both the owners and caretakers where very nice to deal with. The house is located in a residential area outside of Isabel II, so it was pretty close to markets and Isabel II's main town center. However, the island isnt that large so everything is pretty close by. You do need a car to enjoy the island. this house has a washer/dryer! that was great - no dirty clothes to bring home! I traveled with the previous reviewer and can concur that most houses on the island do not have central a/c or a/c in the large common areas. the upstairs has three ceiling fans and lots of windows. This is amazing if your traveling from november to april when the weather is really great. the downstairs have wall units and they are welcome cool haven at the end of a hot beach day! we traveled in the summer when it is hot and humid and gorgeously sunny. We had an amazing vacation and this house truly was a gem

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you for staying with us, Mireya! I hope you'll be back for another visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An absolute gem in Vieques

    An absolute gem in Vieques

    • Guest Emily V (Miami)
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 06/24/11
    We had a large group of friends and family staying in Vieques for a week, and this great little house hit the spot! The pictures do not do this house justice! It is absolutely adorable, quite big, and fully stocked with whatever you might need (even beach gear for the kids!). The owners were friendly and accommodating, and even delivered a Jeep for us to rent (highly recommended as Vieques is not pedestrian friendly). Keep in mind - especially for the summer months - that most houses in Vieques will not have air conditioned common areas like the living room and kitchen, this house included. The three rooms downstairs do have wall units though, and work well. Overall, we had a great time, and truly enjoyed having a lovely home to rest after much adventure around the island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thank you! We enjoyed having you and hope you'll be back to visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Many sweet dreams

    Many sweet dreams

    • Guest Nola G (New orleans)
    • Date of stay 06/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    Our stay at Dulce Sueno was just what we needed. A great house perfectly situated on a hilltop with beautiful views of the ocean. The house was beautifully decorated, clean and modern. The new bed and bath linens and furnishings throughout were a nice touch. Very easy access from the house into town and to the most beautiful beaches we have seen added to our very enjoyable stay in Vieques.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks you! We hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Home Base!

    Great Home Base!

    • Guest Sue & Olin (Green Lane, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/28/11
    • Review Submitted 05/13/11
    We just returned from a 2 week stay at Dulce Sueno, and found it to be a delightful choice. It is light-filled and airy, no air-conditioning required! The new owners are updating amenities, including new linens and furnishings, providing a nice ambiance. Although there were only two of us, it would easily accommodate 8 people, utilizing the spacious downstairs. We cooked many meals, including fresh lobster from the fishing dock (twice!), and returned home with no dirty laundry, thanks to the washer/dryer. We certainly could have packed lighter....maybe next time! The Bio-Bay kayak tour was magical, and awesome snorkeling on Green Beach (including a swim with a friendly turtle) was also a highlight for us, providing views of the healthiest reef and most varied fish populations we've seen in many years. Great snorkeling, great place to stay = perfect vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you Sue! We hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful views!

    Beautiful views!

    • Guest pdog (memphis, tn usa)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 05/22/11
    We were very pleased with our accomodations. And the views are not to be believed! We were close to restaurants, shops, markets and beaches. The home had everything we needed for cooking and the bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious. Hopefully, we will be back soon

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you back on the island in August!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rent this house!

    Rent this house!

    • Guest Max (Memphis)
    • Date of stay 01/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/03/12
    Sweet dreams indeed! My wife and I recently spent five nights on Vieques, using this wonderful house as our base. It was everything we wanted in a vacation rental. It’s tastefully and comfortably decorated, with very little of the “beach pastel” color theme. The common areas in particular are done all in earth tones, with splashes of color that evoke the flowering bushes that surround the house. The house is well stocked, with all of the cooking gear that you typically need, a gas grill on the back deck, comfortable beds, good quality linens, and a washer/dryer if you want to pack light. The house is nicely situated at the top of a little hill with an unobstructed view of the ocean. The breezes are almost constant, keeping the house cool and making for very pleasant afternoon naps. The house is on the north east part of the island, close to but far enough away from the most charming of the two towns, Isabel II. You can get almost everything you need there, so don’t bother carrying anything with you except for special luxuries. Vieques is fantastic. If you’ve never been, you should make a point of going. When you go, rent this house. It’s 15 minutes from everywhere, and at the end of the day, it feels great to drive up the hill and see it there, welcoming you back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks, Max! Hope you'll come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]