Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Bears' Place Guest House - Kailua Kona, Big Island of Hawaii

Bears' Place Guest House-20% 2 wk Discount! 10% 1 Week. Wir Sprechen Deutsch. [#232352ha] | View Property

Kailua-Kona
Spacious, Ocean View, full bath, kitchenette, lanai, free WiFi, 1-4 guests
$105/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (38)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful guest house

    Wonderful guest house

    • Guest john5 (Carver, MA)
    • Date of stay 02/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    We enjoyed our stay. Bears Place was centrally located, clean and comfortable. Nanette and Anne did all they could to make us feel at home -- from leaving a breakfast in the refrigerator to leaving a snack for us each night.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay!

    Great Stay!

    • Guest Julie B.
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 01/27/13
    We truly enjoyed our 3 night stay in the Orchid suite. Very comfortable and the owners were warm and welcoming. An incredible value. We will recommend the Bears' Place to our friends and family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice Guest House

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Nice Guest House

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Nice place to stay, near Kailua and the beautiful beaches of North Kona/South Kohala. Rooms are perfect, big and clean, with a nice lanai and stuff to cook on the room. Our hostess were nice and friendly, and they gave us nice tips about where to go for bodyboarding and snorkel. If we ever go back to Hawaii we will stay back with them. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Place to Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lovely Place to Stay

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 09/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    The room was much bigger than expected. Wonderfully decorated & very clean. It really was lovely to stay here - it was just a shame there was so much to see in Hawaii otherwise we would have enjoyed spending more time here! Self contained & everything you need for a nice relaxing break & in a nice quiet area. Laundry room too so really everything you'd need. Some nice touches from the owners - welcome fruit & bagels in the fridge on arrival and little treats when we returned each day. It is a few miles out of town so a car is essential. Owners able to advise on best beaches for swimming and places to visit. Would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderland!!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderland!!!

    • Guest Guenther and Gabriel
    • Date of stay 08/29/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We had a wonderful time on big island!!!! b&b was great and highly recommended!!!!! thanks a lot to Nanette and Anne!!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Dream Vacation Home.Pleasure toReturn at Day's End

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Dream Vacation Home.Pleasure toReturn at Day's End

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 08/10/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We arrived late at night to a very friendly greeting from one of the owners and her daughter. A tray of bagels, and muffins, jam, cream cheese and juices were in the refrigerator for morning. The home is new, very clean and convenient to everything. The owners were very helpful. They pointed us in the right direction to stores, beaches, free parking and other things to see and do. We went to Hawaii for our son's wedding, so we had family and friends in our happy group staying at the Bears' Place. The home provided enough space for everyone to have their own space when needed. The full kitchen in the Orchid Suite or the lanais were great places to get together for supper at the end of the day and exchange stories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Found!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Paradise Found!

    • Guest Laura and Eric
    • Date of stay 06/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We spent a week in Bears' Place Guest House and truly found paradise! Anne and her granddaughter greeted us with open arms, showing us around the place and highlighting some great beaches for us. She also provided some very helpful hints about parking and shopping. The Plumeria Suite was delightful with a wonderful breeze always and a view of the Kona coast. We loved the tranquility of the guest house listening to the birds every morning sipping Kona coffee on the lanai. It was great being away from the touristy area, yet so close to do all we wanted. We felt like ohana as Anne checked in on us daily, but wasn't obtrusive at all. We plan to return to Bears' Place Guest House as soon as possible!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Huge Place with Great Hosts

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Huge Place with Great Hosts

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 05/31/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    The hosts were very friendly and offered us everything we needed for an enjoyable stay near Kona. Although the place is about 15 minutes from downtown, it’s still worth driving there (you already spend a lot of time driving on Big Island to discover different parts so it doesn’t change much). The room/condo was very clean and provided us with everything my girlfriend and I needed in the kitchen but also to go to the beach. We highly recommend the place and we’ll make sure to go back there if we ever go back on Big Island.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Like Having Good Friends Who Happen toLive in Kona

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Like Having Good Friends Who Happen toLive in Kona

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    I stayed in the Orchid Suite, because I wanted to have the full kitchen, which was much better supplied than most vacation condos - good selection of pots and pans, dishes, blender and mixer, amongst other things. Anne and Nannette left breakfast on the first day, and little treats the other days. Nanette's tips for places to go and things to do made me like a local. The house is above town, so a place to get peace and quiet, not the place to walk to restaurants and bars. About a 15 minute drive from the center of town. The environment is nice, starting from the outside, good convenient parking area, pretty, swell-kept garden, inside the units are good carpeting, furniture, and fixtures.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ruhiges und Sauberes Zuhause Unterwegs

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Ruhiges und Sauberes Zuhause Unterwegs

    • Guest Moni and Otto
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Wir haben die 3 Nächte im Bears' Place sehr geschätzt. Wir haben insgesamt 5 B&B's genutzt während unserer Zeit in Hawaii: wir haben nur gute Erfahrungen gehabt, aber Bears' Place war das beste. Der Raum war grosszügig, praktisch eingerichtet und sehr sauber. Zum Kochen eines einfachen Nachtessens und zum Frühstücken hat es alles, was es braucht und für an den Strand kann man gut erhaltene und saubere Kühlboxen, Buggyboards, Tücher etc ausleihen. Ebenfalls besonders geschätzt haben wir die super instand gehaltene und saubere Waschmaschine und den Tumbler. Aufs Meer sah man von der unteren Wohnung aus nicht, aber dank den Bananenstauden, dem schönen Garten und der Ruhe fühlt man sich wie in einer grünen Oase. Wir danken Anne und ihrer Familie für die herzliche Gastfreundschaft und wünschen ihnen alles Gute! We stayed for 3 nights at Bears' Place and enjoyed it very much. From all 5 great B&Bs we had during our holidays in Hawaii, Bears' Place was our favorite. The room was spacious, convenient and quiet. To cook an easy dinner and for breakfast it had everything one needs and for the beach, Eskys, towels, boogey boards etc were available (and in very good condition compared to other B&Bs). Thanks to Anne and her Family for their warm hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Like Having Good Friends with a Great Place toStay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Like Having Good Friends with a Great Place toStay

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Bears’ Place is out of the noise and traffic of the center of town. It's clean, spacious (I stayed in the Orchid Suite), and comfortable. Everything is of good quality, and there really is a full kitchen with everything you need to really cook a meal, much better than your average condo. Nanette and Anne provided some really helpful tips for places to go and things to do, and little treats each day, plus a light breakfast for your first day, so you don't have to go to the stores soon as you arrive. They provide a lot of nice things - a little cooler, beach chairs and mats, boogie boards, and more. The garden is lovely, and the parking area is easy to use.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bears' Place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Bears' Place

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 05/04/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We normally don't write reviews and read them with caution; however, this one is worth noting. Staying at Bears' Place far exceeded our expectations and, indeed, made our trip to Hawaii "special." From sitting out on the deck and watching the sunset to exploring the garden and picking tropical fruit... The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hospitality spectacular with "treats" provided as noted by many of the comments written on their web page. We also appreciated being able to borrow beach towels, chairs/mats, and boogie boards and their local advice on where to go snorkeling/exploring on the Island. We would definitely recommend Bears' Place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Green Oasis

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Green Oasis

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    nice ocean view, cool breezes, lots of birds in the garden, lovely hosts

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent and Comfortable

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Excellent and Comfortable

    • Guest Mike and Valerie
    • Date of stay 03/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Very hospitable hosts; very nice location, away from the hustle and bustle of town while only minutes away from great beaches and restaurants. Well kept and apportioned rooms with a panoramic view of the coastline. We loved it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Place to Stay in Kona

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Place to Stay in Kona

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 03/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    If you're visiting Kona for more than 3 days this is the place to stay. 15 minutes from downtown in a quiet, secluded area. Large suites, treats and washer/ dryer make stay even better. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Really Nice

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Really Nice

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We are a young European couple, stayed at Bears' Place for 5 nights. It was really nice, we had a lot of space in our apartment. We liked it a lot and will surely return when we visit Big Island again. Nanette came by, and explained us where to go and where not to go. She was very friendly and helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Restful Stay with a Pleasant View

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Restful Stay with a Pleasant View

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 02/20/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Here is a guest house I would recommend to anybody. Situated in the comfortable air high up the side of Hualalai, Bear's Place presides over a small neighborhood, so there are the occasional sounds of domesticity around you, a dog, a distant rooster here and there, but I also heard a cow! Never saw it. The house is composed of a set of mini-suites, each one opening onto its own wide lanai, part of a balcony running the entire periphery. For one week, I enjoyed staying in the 'Plumeria', a large one bedroom unit with vaulted ceilings. The suite contained basic kitchen appliances for when I chose to eat in and flat screen TV in case I really got bored, which I never did. Nanette and Anne were fantastic hosts, stocking the fridge on arrival with breakfast items, and every day or so I would find a little gift of cookies, nuts or sweets, and sometimes a note asking me how my stay was. They both stopped by a few times to chat or offer area suggestions. I always felt as if I were staying with someone, not merely staying someplace, and that it the true measure of a B&B or guest house. Most of the time however, it was serenity. Cool breezes, golden sunsets (I watched whales breach off shore from the airport below) and passing five minute showers that could be heard approaching for a mile. If you are still fidgety and uptight after spending a few nights at Bear's Place, may I suggest a physician-induced coma. Five Stars.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away from Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Home Away from Home

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 02/19/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We were very pleased with our accommodations at the Bears Place. It was clean and roomy and had everything we needed. Our innkeepers were very pleasant and offered help with restaurants, beaches, shopping, directions, etc. We would definitely stay with them again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Reflections

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Reflections

    • Guest Byron and Kelly
    • Date of stay 02/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We awake each morning to a quiet serenity. We have our morning coffee on our lanai overlooking the lovely fragrant gardens that surround us and are greeted by the sound of exotic birds and the distant crowing of a rooster. As the day brightens we can see far below the surf breaking on the distant shoreline and feel the gentle breeze coming off the mountain behind us. We leisurely plan our day's activities. Maybe a drive into the mountains or a trip to the beach to snorkel?? Perhaps a trip down the mountain to Kailua to shop and catch a hula performance at the Hulihe'e Palace?? There's so much to do and see on the Kona coast!! But, at the end of the day, we leave the hustle and bustle behind and come "Home" to catch the sunset and relax. That is the charm of Bears' Place! To say that our experience at Bears' Place exceeded our expectations would be an understatement! Your beautiful facility speaks for itself. But the treasured memory for us is having met you. Thank you for your gracious hospitality. Wishing you all the very best.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything Fine

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Everything Fine

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 02/09/11
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Very nice place to stay. Wonderful views, much of space and very friendly hosts. Mahalo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Felt Right at Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Felt Right at Home

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/25/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We met a nice couple staying there and enjoyed a day at the beach and a wonderful Thai dinner with them. The grounds are lovely and the view is wonderful. Nanette was very gracious and helpful and we hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly /Recommend Bears' Place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Highly /Recommend Bears' Place

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/17/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Ideal for a stay different from overpriced and busy hotels. Unique living experience while on vacation. Perfect for me as I was looking for a quiet place with independence. I felt the guest house was a temporary home, rather than a hotel room transient feel. Owners/operators took care of guests and helped me with ideas to do on the island. The price was very low for the accommodations. For the same accommodations at the hotels I would have paid 3 times as much. A unique option from hotels or B&Bs.; I would definitely stay here next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly Hawaii (The Big Island)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Heavenly Hawaii (The Big Island)

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Everything about Bear's Place was exceptional and exceeded our expectations. The consistent 5 star reviews is what prompted me to book here. Reserving was a breeze, Nanette being a natural organizer was prompt and helpful. Bear's Place is conveniently located, only 7 miles from Kona, close to many beaches, quiet surroundings, clean and spacious, comfortable and casual. Free parking, free laundry facilities plus, plus, plus. Nanette & Anne's high standards prevail. In our opinion Bear's Place is the best accommodation and best value on the Big Island. Look no further...check them out :) :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy on The Big Island of Hawaii

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy on The Big Island of Hawaii

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/07/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Bears' Place Guest House in Kailua-Kona, HI was an exceptional experience and exceeded our expectations. While researching I was already impressed by the 5 star reviews and comments it had! This was a no brainer. Reserving was a breeze. Nanette is a natural organizer and very helpful. We liked the convenient location 7 miles from Kona, close proximity to beaches, quiet neighborhood in a tropical serene setting; spacious suites are clean and comfortably casual. Nannette and Anne’s high standards prevailed. Bear’s Place also had all the amenities and more like, free parking, use of laundry facilities, WIFI, complimentary use of boogey boards +++. We think Bear’s Place is the Best place and the Best value on The Big Island. Check it out.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice, Quiet, Clean and Friendly

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Nice, Quiet, Clean and Friendly

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/06/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Nice, clean and friendly accommodation, very well for family with small kids. Due to high elevation pleasant temperature at nighttime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kona side Getaway

    Kona side Getaway

    • Guest David W. S. (Pahoa, Hawaii, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/30/10
    • Review Submitted 11/12/10
    Diligent searching for a weekend getaway with Mainland visitor led me to Bear's Place, and I'm so glad we found you! Your home was just right for us to establish as a home base while we toured the Kona area. High enough that traffic, smaze, and noise were nonexistent, and close enough that we didn't feel isolated or out of touch. Our hosts were more than accommodating and helpful, and the family atmosphere made us feel right at home. We especially appreciated the wonderful books on local lore and stories. We now own two of the favorites cuz they were so worthwhile having our own copies! As vacation rental owners ourselves, we found all to our satisfaction re: cleanliness, amenities, and quality furnishing. I have posted Bear's Place information in our Kapoho home so you know that we liked it enough to recommend it to our renters. Mahalo for a pleasant stay and we will definitely return next we want to come to Kona. David, Nancy, and Vincent

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Delightful Week

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Delightful Week

    • Guest Monique and Luc
    • Date of stay 04/09/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We were staying in the Plumeria Suite for 1 week. On the first floor of this 4-Suites house. The location is very convenient: about 10 minutes from the Airport (no noise) or to Kailua. The Suite is perfectly organized, and the design artistic. We appreciate the surrounding balcony, the sun and the oceanview. We enjoyed the discrete presence of Anne and Nanette, and their useful help. It was a pity to have to leave this charming and delightful House. Monique and Luc, a couple of french speaking Belgians.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Hosts and Super Stay at Bears' Place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fabulous Hosts and Super Stay at Bears' Place

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 04/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We spent 4 nights at Bears' Place Guest House after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Booking was very easy with friendly communications from Nanette, the daughter of the mother-and-daughter host pair. We liked the pictures online and the idea of staying in a place that was conveniently located, reasonably priced and with helpful hosts for our first trip to the Big Island were deciding factors. We could not have been happier. We stayed in the Pineapple Suite, which was exactly as described and as seen in the photos. Everything was new and fresh and clean. The suite was larger than we expected, with everything we needed for a comfortable stay including plenty of dishes, utensils, a dining table, ceiling fans, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, wireless internet, etc. The lanai with a view of the ocean through the banana trees was delightful. The home was quiet, safe and private. It was a perfect "home base" as we ventured out each day to various parts of the island, up on a hill looking over the town, with easy parking. Nanette welcomed us and answered our questions throughout the stay. Her recommendations were very helpful and helped us take advantage of our limited number of days, including a fantastic whale-watching cruise and a couple of great day itineraries. Anne recommended a seafood restaurant that turned out to be a very nice choice for our last night in town. They were both fabulous. Each evening when we returned to the room we found a little treat, like some nuts or some chocolates. When we arrived, Nanette pointed out that it's a guest house and not a B&B, but the fridge was stocked with an ample yummy breakfast including some homemade passion fruit jelly. It was a very nice bonus. We highly recommend Bears' Place. If you're looking for a large luxury resort, this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay with lots of nice touches and super hosts, this is it. We loved it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location,Friendly Family,Roomy Accommodation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Location,Friendly Family,Roomy Accommodation

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 02/25/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Bears' Place was a good find for my husband and me. It is located above the Kona airport and close to Kailua-Kona but also an easy drive to Kohala beaches. Just far enough from town to be away from the lights and noise but close enough to drive there in a few minutes. The cost is very reasonable, the accommodations roomy and cheerful and Nanette and Anne are wonderfully welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. We look forward to staying there again on our next trip. We have a long flight there from New England. It will be good to be "home" at Bears' Place within minutes of picking up our rental car at the airport without the hassle of traffic and parking.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Place of the Trip

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Best Place of the Trip

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 02/03/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Despite the bland web photo, we found Bears' Place Guest House an attractive, comfortable, very well-appointed place to stay. Nanette and Anne recently built this beautifully furnished house high above the Kona Coast, which affords visitors a tremendous view of the cobalt ocean. They really took care of all the little details that make a guest house a guest home. They shared fresh fruit from the garden with us, and the yard was dotted with exotic (for us) birds. It's a bit tricky to find the first time -- across the street from the dawn-barking dogs -- but once you're there reading on the lanai, it'll be hard to abandon the view. Nanette can give you great local inside info, so if your vacation interests lie in Kona, especially on the north side, you'll enjoy the Bears. We did! And we'd come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Trip to Kona

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Trip to Kona

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    I found Bears’ Place to be very clean well thought out place to stay. The owners were very helpful and very attentive to our needs, a great place to stay while visiting the big island

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 12/17/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was traveling with my wife. I could not have make a better choice to stay. This place was excellent in every aspect. Rooms were big, nice and clean, bathroom was also very big but best part was lanai, it was very quiet, very relaxing with garden view. I really appreciated hospitality from Anne and Nanette. They allowed us to even pick the passion fruits from the garden, can't get any better than this and their homemade Passion fruit jelly really hit the spot. This Place is about 15-20 mins drive from nearest beach but Anne told me a beach which was not in the map and that beach turned out to be the best beach for me in 12 days at Hawaii including Maui beaches. Overall very quiet, very relaxing and excellent place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just Perfect

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Just Perfect

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 11/01/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We stayed in the Plumeria Suite. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We felt at home from the first moment. The hosts Anne and Nanette are very friendly and treated us daily with home-made jam, cookies etc. and gave us lots of hints where to go. From the lanai we enjoyed beautiful sunsets and if we ever go back to Big Island we certainly will stay at Bear's Place again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Place to Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Great Place to Stay

    • Guest S. H. Cincinnati, Ohio
    • Date of stay 10/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/12/10
    I would recommend this place to anyone who decides to stay in Kona on the Big Island. It's only about 10 minutes from town and very quiet at night. The room was huge with its own couch, table and chairs, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator w/freezer, balcony, and large bathroom. Not only was the place clean (and this is a big deal for me), but the hospitality of the owners was spectacular. Everyone that I'm telling of my trip to Hawaii will hear how great this place was to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Value at Twice the Price

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Value at Twice the Price

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 10/21/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    Cheerful, very roomy, lovely lanai (porch), quiet and calm. TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, beach chairs and boogie boards. Service was friendly, and beyond expectations. Lent me a jacket for going high on Mauna Kea, and brought pants I forgot to my next hotel. Billed as guest house, not B&B but left me breakfast day 1, and cookies each afternoon. In the hills high above the airport, amidst the banana trees. Not for you if you wish to be in town, otherwise a great value for the money...or for twice the money.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect escape on the Big Island.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A perfect escape on the Big Island.

    • Guest R. D. , San Diego, CA
    • Date of stay 10/08/09
    • Review Submitted 08/11/10
    We were a family traveling with two kids and it was a great place to unwind and call home for a few days. Nanette was a wonderful host who has created a guest house that works great for the single traveler or the family. The house was extremely clean and well kept. Nanette added that personal touch when we would come home at the end of the day and find fresh picked fruit or treats. The location worked as central to most island exploring. We highly recomend this as a place to stay and hope to come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Kona Treasure

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Kona Treasure

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 08/27/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    We stayed here three days on our last visit and were extremely pleased. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel like valued guests. The combination of privacy and comfort was great! Hosts have lived on the island a long time and give great tips on where to go to the beach, for lunch, etc. The room was clean, spacious and attractive. We especially loved sitting out on the lanai (deck). We'll definitely go back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place!!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Place!!!

    • Guest web review
    • Date of stay 07/07/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/11
    It was a really nice experience in a very peaceful and quiet environment. The room was big, nice, comfortable and very clean. For the price, it was definitely the best we got !! Owners are very friendly and everything is in a range of a 15-20 minutes drive.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]