Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Outside of home

Spectacular Ocean View Home with Private Infinity Edge Pool [#232443] | View Property

Playa Hermosa
3 bedroom, 2 bathroom with Ocean and Mountain Views
$210/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest Jim D.
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    I submitted a longer review but for some reason HomeAway did not get it or post it, so this is just a summary. Great home - clean, modern, spacious, great views, good location, close to awesome beaches and good restaurants. Laurie (the owner) was very nice and helpful and the management company was professional. Without a doubt we will go back again to this same home but in the wet season to see what the dry forest in the rainy season looks like.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for all ages... truly "pura vida"

    Great for all ages... truly "pura vida"

    • Guest mikeandlinda (East Hampton, CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    My husband and I ( in our 60's), our daughter and 2 grandsons (6 & 4) stayed here for a week. The owner was amazingly helpful pre-trip with lots of suggestions for eating, sight-seeing and shopping and even arranged our rental car. Milagro Mgmt. was most helpful on-site and had a basket of goodies waiting when we arrived...after a long trip, much appreciated! We were blessed with comfy beds, air-conditioning, a washer/dryer, lots of fluffy towels, a well-equipped kitchen and stylish, casual furnishings. The boys love the water and there was no shortage...the condo infinity pool, the complex pool with waterslide and pool-side snack bar where they could sit on benches in the pool to sip their drinks not to mention the beaches. The boys loved Ginger (casual, tapas); I loved La Finisterra (awesome panoramic views and elegant dining), Father Rooster, on the beach in nearby Ocotal was fun and offered good burgers and nachos if you missed American food. North Pacific Tours took my husband and grandson out for a day of fishing...no marlins, but the little guy was thrilled with his catches: skipjack tuna, jack cravalle and a huge needlefish. We did our first zip-line at the Congo Trail...finally got to see the howler monkeys (lots of big noises from small monkeys). The Tempisque River Cruise was a great day...from the capuchin monkeys who climbed aboard the boat looking for bananas, to fruit bats, to the huge croc, King Solomon, who had a good part of his snout missing. On to a buffet of traditional Costa Rican foods, probably our best meal of the trip. But, Guaitil Pottery was a bust...literally almost every piece broke by the time we got home, or leaked the first time using it. Africa Mia was awesome...an open jeep ride to view about a hundred species of mostly African herbivores with zebras and giraffes who would eat out of your hand...or off your head, if you could balance a carrot there. Photo ops abound...the surf at Tamarindo, the volcano at Ricon de la Vieja, lots of beautiful sunsets. We visited at the end of the dry season so the days were sunny and hot (high 80's-mid 90's). There's no rain, so the landscape was mostly shades of brown, not a green rainforest...that comes in the wet season. The sun sets at @ 6:30 pm year round. After a busy day you are ready to wind down early and the kids go to bed much easier when it is dark. It was a wonderful vacation that we quickly made into a memory book with the hundreds of pictures we took...thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Playa hermosa rental

    Playa hermosa rental

    • Guest AK (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/22/13
    The condo was in excellent condition and as advertised. Milagro rentals was very helpful in making sure everything went well. You do need a car to get around - long walk to the beach

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday x 2 Perfection!

    Birthday x 2 Perfection!

    • Guest Di Anne F.
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/06/12
    I researched many hotels/rental homes before I traveled and I definitely found a gem in #HH37! Look no further, this property has everything you are looking for and more! Our entire vacation was effortless due to the caring and professionalism of the property management company and the owner. Both went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. They arranged a airport hire car, rental vehicle, private chef, tour guide and much more. This alone was priceless! This terrific vacation rental is immaculate and beautifully decorated. It is great for families or even two couples. It has a fully furnished inviting kitchen with a granite breakfast buffet, an oversized Jacuzzi tub, an amazing private infinity edge pool and you can enjoy spectacular sunsets and panoramic ocean views from the deck. They say location is everything! The property is centrally located and has easy access to the main roads/highways. It is a great base for exploring all that Costa Rica has to offer i.e. beaches, volcano's, boating, surfing, zip lining, shopping, dining, etc. however, a car is recommended since the public transportation is not reliable. There are several good restaurants nearby but having a private kitchen was priceless! An outstanding recommendation was Rocio, our personal chef. She prepared a fantastic birthday feast for my mother and sister. Absolutely wonderful and her plantain lasagna rocks! She also delivers meals on the go which are convenient for road trips and picnics! The grand finale to a spectacular vacation was an on-site massage and facial provided by Spa Therapeutic. This group of lovely ladies are so fantastic and positive, we want to take them home! Laurie, I can't thank you enough for sharing your home! Two weeks was not long enough but we plan to come back soon, hopefully it will be available! Your house holds a special place in my heart! The minute we arrived, we were home! Kudos to you for your impeccable taste and attention to detail! Pura Vida, until next time! Di Anne and family, AZ/WA/NV

    Owner response: I am so happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay at our little piece of paradise!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best birthday ever!

    Best birthday ever!

    • Guest Chris S. (littleton, co)
    • Date of stay 04/23/12
    • Review Submitted 05/14/12
    Beautiful property with panoramic ocean views from the infinity pool. Property management company promptly responded to the few issues we encountered. Loved Playa Hermosa, but the house also provided a great base for exploring numerous other beaches - the 'secret beach' and Playa Conchal were our favorites. We also enjoyed snorkeling and ziplining, etc. Several good restaurants nearby (including Mario and Erika's house for a private dining experience, Ginger, Villa del Sueno, La Finisterra for appetizers and sunsets); we also enjoyed the feast prepared by a private chef for my 60th birthday and the on-site massages. The house was reasonable well-equipped -- the abundance of plush towels was a treat, but the frying pans were past their prime. My extended family and I had a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful condo!

    Beautiful condo!

    • Guest Ellin (Acton, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/17/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    HH#37 is a very special place. The condo is in a good location with a spectacular view. The furnishings are gorgeous, and the little extra touches are greatly appreciated: an abundance of plush towels for the beach and bath, high quality linens, quiet but powerful air conditioning units, soft colors, candles and lots of pillows! The private infinity pool is amazing, and we were happy to use it, day and night. The kitchen is very well-equipped, and we made some wonderful meals. Kudos to Laurie for her exquisite taste and attention to detail! The condo is not really walking distance to the beach, so a car is recommended. And there are so many beaches to explore along the coast that are, in my opinion, prettier than Hermosa, so having a car is essential. But Hermosa Heights is a good home base for beaching, boating, zip lining, shopping and dining.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great vacation

    Great vacation

    • Guest Valerie D.
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    We passed 6 days there ,and it was extraordinary. The house have an impeccable decoration and the layout is very good. The location is perfect to go at many beaches and other attractions.We felt very secure at hermosa height and i recommend that place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A slice of nirvana

    A slice of nirvana

    • Guest Bryan K.
    • Date of stay 02/12/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    Comfortable, clean, and spacious accommodations with a spectacular view from the relaxing front patio and pool made for a perfect vacation. The property is located in a remote enough location to feel like you've "gotten away from it all" while still only being a short drive from stores and restaurants.

    Owner response: I am so happy you enjoyed our home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location, Great View , Great Casa

    Great Location, Great View , Great Casa

    • Guest Bud K.
    • Date of stay 01/14/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/12
    Thank you Laurie for sharing your great home with us. We stayed for a month this time and really enjoyed ourselves. The new deck made the sunsets even more beautiful. The house is very comfortable and made us feel at home even though we we only visiting. The layout is great for families or even two couples . The location makes it convienent to everything and since it is Playa Hermosa we appreciate the fact that tourists haven't fully discoverd this area of Costa Rica and turned it into just another tourist destination. The management team at Milago represent you well with responsive attention when you ask for their help. We has Rocio cook for us one evening every week we were there what a great recommendation! Outstanding food and service! Thanks again! we will be back Regards, Bud & Kathy Austin Texas

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pre-Christmas Vacation

    Pre-Christmas Vacation

    • Guest Paula (Phoenixville, PA)
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 12/24/11
    Our stay at Hermosa Heights was as relaxing as we had planned. The view from the deck and pool to the ocean is beautiful. The neighborhood is very quiet which is something that we appreciate. The house is roomy and beautifully decorated. The owner recommended a chef to cook a few meals and she is not only prepared wonderful meals, but she is the nicest person with whom we would love to continue a friendship. This property is worth renting.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Paula I am so happy you enjoyed your time at our home. We had made many improvements upon the suggestions of our previous renters..new ceiling fans, more lighting, new tile backslash, new glassware and dishes, and many more upgrades! Thank you for your kind words on our home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pam

    Pam

    • Guest Pam (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 12/01/11
    Overall, we were very happy with this house in Hermosa Heights. The house was beautiful, well maintained, and in a great location. The views were awesome! Laura at the management company was very helpful. She made arrangements for a horse ride/canopy tour at Borincon Resort that was wonderful! We really enjoyed getting to know the locals at Playa Hermosa, including Albany and his family, who took us on a fishing trip and then cooked up the fish for us. We also enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants, the beach and the grocery store (although it's a steep walk!). Our favorite restaurant was Ginger - incredible food and atmosphere! We also loved the restaurant next to the beach at Playa Hermosa Hotel. Rocio, who came to the house to cook for us a couple times, was so much fun and a great cook. Even the little restaurant at the pool in Hermosa Heights had good food!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Pam, I am so very happy you and your family had such a great time! Thank you for you kind words on our home! You will please to know that we are taking your advice on adding ceiling fans to the house and they will be a new addition to the home in February! All the best, Laurie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Casita

    Lovely Casita

    • Guest John & Julie (Arlington VA)
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 06/05/11
    Four adults traveling together found this casita to be perfect as our base for exploring the beaches, Rincon Park, and Arenal Volcano. Superb viewing of the motmots from the guest bedroom (they can't see in). Infinity pool was a great way to start the morning and end the evening. Especially helpful was the owner of the house who gave us lots of local tidbits and suggestions, as well as Pam & Sue at Milagro Mgmt. Vamos was a reliable car rental service, especially Alex and Anibal. We appreciated the security guard's friendly presence in the community along with visits from his dog Chupa. Geckos and iguanas were with us throughout our stay.Really appreciated the beach towels in the house as we went to many beaches--Hermosa, Flamingo, Coco, Conchal, Cabuyal and Avellanas. At Avellanas, we took in the open and engaging atmosphere at Lola's where we were all greeted by the resident pet pig Lolita. For snorkeling, we really liked Adolpho who offered us a no-frills 2 1/2-hr snorkeling in the ocean & nearby cove. Great dinners at Papagayo Seafood and La Finisterra, where the view is the main attraction. Wonderful trip to Arenal Volcano where we stopped for snacks at Cafe De Lagua & got great pics of the toucan nesting in their tree and stayed overnight at Arenal Observatory Lodge. After a long day of driving on rutted roads, the casita is a great place to come home to, sit on the deck with drinks and watch the sun set over the ocean. Will go back in a heartbeat - pura vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Traveling with Baby

    Traveling with Baby

    • Guest JEANNE (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 02/28/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    Wonderful and relaxing vacation. Home and property grounds had everything we can ask for making the vacation very enjoyable. Great location with short drive to different beaches. Would definitely visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am very happy you enjoyed our home - thank you for your kind thoughts!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    wonderful!

    • Guest Tasha Carr
    • Date of stay 12/20/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/11
    We really enjoyed our stay. The casita is lovely and comfortable, with great amenities including updated kitchen and baths and even beach towels. It was perfect for our family of four, including two teenagers. They really enjoyed relaxing in the pool after a full day in the sun at the beach. Visits by the howler monkey were fun too. I especially enjoyed being at the end of the development by the forest so I could watch the birds. Laurie provided excellent suggestions on things to do, as did Milagro. Playa Penca is delightful, and was by far our favorite spot. It is worth tackling to terrible road, and is a nice walk. We also recommend a fishing/snorkeling trip with White Marlin (Micheal Angelo and Allan).

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Pura Vida. Perfect place for family vaca

    Pura Vida. Perfect place for family vaca

    • Guest StephyJ (Boston, ma)
    • Date of stay 12/16/10
    • Review Submitted 12/18/10
    Exactly as described, the complex is very peaceful and the villa is one of the best. Amenties like the private pool and master bath jacuzzi were just the icing on the cake. We came as a family holiday vacation with all ages present and there was something special to please everyone. The view off the patio is so tranquil, with the ocean and mountains out in the distance. Monkeys were Eout and playing, and beaches are a short ride away. The mgmt company was very easy to contact as well as being welcoming. The decor is beautiful, spacious for 6 adults and one child. The communal pool is lovely. Would highly reccomend to anyone visiting this area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your thoughts on our home. I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit again anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WONDERFUL COSTA RICA

    WONDERFUL COSTA RICA

    • Guest McKie (Wawa, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 11/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/25/10
    First time to this country, and will not be our last. The house was beautifull, and very tastefully decorated, and we thought the location was central, to do many activiites, both in Playa Hermosa, and Playa Cocoa. We also appreciated, being in the complex, but with the jungle right next door. So I would wake up to enjoy the infinity pool, while watching monkeys jump from tree to tree! What a way to greet the morning. Country beautiful, great people, everyone was friendly and made you feel welcome. We enjoyed a terrific day of fishing with Blue Marlin, excellent guides Max, Domaso & Romario--made my husband sail fish dream come true! Absolutely everything we did was top notch, and the house, wonderfull to come home to! The McKies from Canada

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you...I am so happy you enjoyed our home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • My wife and I love this house.

    My wife and I love this house.

    • Guest JuanJose (SanJose, Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    We've been 3t times now in this Casita in Hermosa Heights, Guanacaste, Costa Rica. I can say this is a wonderful place, the house is beautiful, clean and the view is simply spectacular. It's near wonderful beaches such as Pinka Beach, Hermosa, Coco and others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 02/14/10
    We had a wonderful time. You're house and pool were absolutely perfect and exactly as pictured. And all the restaurant suggestions and things to do were great. We appreciate it.

    Owner response: Thank you - I am so happy you enjoyed yourself!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • House Review

    House Review

    • Guest Omega2007 (Norristown, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 01/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/07/10
    I enjoyed my stay here in January 2010 immensely. The house is medium size, clean and has plenty of storage. The view from the pool is spectacular and the location is ideal. You're a short drive (5 minutes) to the beautiful beach or you can drive a bit further and explore other areas. I would recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Great Vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A Great Vacation

    • Guest mcs1978@msn.com
    • Date of stay 10/11/09
    • Review Submitted 05/18/10
    The villa has 3 bedrooms. The master w/full bath, another room with a queen bed, and a "kids" room with bunk beds and another single bed. There is also another full bathroom between the other bedrooms. There is also a private pool with the villa ( a wonderful amenity) and fabulous views! The complex itself, has a pool with water slides, a bar, a restaurant (pool side) and a miniature golf course. There is also a movie theater. The people in the complex rental/sales office are very helpful and friendly. The property is in a good location. It's fairly close to a lot of restaurants, stores, and the beach. If you have never been to Costa Rica, I will warn you that it isn't a flat country. Hills are abundant, including the main driveway for the complex. The beach is about a 10 minute walk down the hill and across the street, but you can also easily drive there and park on the outskirts of the beach. Parking at the beach is free, even if someone offers to watch your car for a small fee. The beach there is also very nice and you can snorkel there. Many, many restaurants (La Finnestera-great food and awesome views; Costa Blanca- also great food and sunset views) in the area. We had no complaints about any of them and we were there in the off season. The villa has a full kitchen, so you don't have to eat out all the time if you don't want to. There is a small grocery store to the right when you are leaving the complex...Luperon (I think). It's more like a convenience store, but they have some stuff. It's a little pricey due to the convenience factor. There are 2 grocery stores in Coco Beach (about a 15-20 minute drive from Playa Hermosa). Coco Beach is also the place to go souvenier shopping and they also have a variety of restaurants. There is so much to do and everything is within a short walk or drive. You could certainly spend more than a week there trying to see everything.....sometimes you just have to pick and choose what you really want to do. Brian and I absolutely LOVED the villa and the week we spent there in October. It wasn't our first trip to the country, but it was our first time in Playa Hermosa. I have no problem saying that we would go back there again....in a heartbeat......

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]