Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Back lanai with mountain views

In the Heart of Hanalei- $1750/wk for 2 People, Beach & Village Close [#232877] | View Property

Hanalei
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 5)
$1,652/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Cute Hanalei Cottage in convenient location

    Cute Hanalei Cottage in convenient location

    • Guest Beach Lovers (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 09/24/12
    • Review Submitted 10/04/12
    My husband and I stayed at this lovely cottage 9/24-28/12. The Coconut Cottage was extremely clean and decorated very nicely as can be seen in the accurate photos. The cottage is in a very good location within 5-10 min. walking distance to a cute coffee shop, stores, grocery and restaurants. Also a very close walk to Hanalei Bay beach and a short drive to Anini, Tunnels and Ke’e beaches where we snorkeled with fish and turtles! We are an active couple in our 50’s and had no issue walking to town or the Bay and appreciated the chairs, boogie board and beach towels provided in the cottage. The cottage is well equipped with WIFI, kitchen utensils, dishwasher, microwave, ironing board/iron, hair dryer and there is a washer/dryer if needed. Owner’s pride in ownership shows in the various upgrades (furniture, kitchen cabinets, paint colors) and we enjoyed sitting outside on the back patio looking up into the Na Pali mountains. There are sliding glass doors and windows for cool cross breezes to keep the temperature comfortable and room air conditioners if needed. The owner was very accommodating and quick to respond to questions. We would definitely recommend renting this cottage. PS – Loved the tree out front with the huge avocados!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Fantastic Stay

    Fantastic Stay

    • Guest sidedoor (El Segundo, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    This is a lovely place in the heart of Hanalei, easy walking distance to the beach and village. The house is immaculate and well provided with lots of amenities including a full washer and dryer, and a great kitchen with like-new appliances. The place also has beach gear, a BBQ, outdoor showers, a wonderful deck and a wonderful, open, airy atmosphere. The owner is very kind, accommodating and super responsive to any questions. Will definitely stay here again in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Hanalei House

    Wonderful Hanalei House

    • Guest Peter F (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/06/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    We just returned from our first stay at this property. It is our 10th trip to the North Shore of Kauai and our best. The house is perfect. Open, airy, nice breeze, remodeled, outdoor showers (which my wife was thrilled I used!), location...I could go on and on. You are 1/8th of a mile to town and restaraunts and 1/4 mile to the beach (about 100 yards too far when carrying a 50 pound paddle board :) but perfect for everything else! Hanalei Bay Beach is great to hang out on all day if you only want to walk, or hop in the car and take a short drive to Tunnels, Hideaways or Ke'e then have cocktails at sundown just a short walk away. The kitchen is fully equipped to cook (we only cook breakfast and lunch though) should you want to cook big family dinners. The BBQ sits just off the back deck. Don't want to cook? Walk to the Dolphin, Kalypso, Bar Acuda or Tropical Taco for the best fish tacos on the island. This house is a wonderful experience if you want to be part of Hanalei which I think is the most beautiful town on earth. So if you want to be a local in a house with great amenities this place is for you. If you want to be a tourist go spend $500 a night at the St. Regis. I will now stay here on all my future trips

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • September family getaway

    September family getaway

    • Guest Dave and Suzy (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    Sept 12 thru 22nd. There were 5 adults on our family trip. We had a wonderful time. The house was one of the best parts. Very airy and roomy with a bathroom for each bedroom. We quickly discovered the fresh fish maket and the local farmers market. Most of our meals were cooked at the house in the large clean, newly remodeled kitchen. The furnishings were Pottery Barn quality and the beds very comfortable. Hanalei is a gorgeous place and the house is close to town and beach. Kauai, a very lush island, was so much fun to explore. This will be our place to stay for any future visits. Dave and Suzy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • September family getaway

    September family getaway

    • Guest Suzy (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    Sept 12 thru 22nd. There were 5 adults on our family trip. We had a wonderful time. The house was one of the best parts. Very airy and roomy with a bathroom for each bedroom. We quickly discovered the fresh fish maket and the local farmers market. Most of our meals were cooked at the house in the large clean, newly remodeled kitchen. The furnishings were Pottery Barn quality and the beds very comfortable. Hanalei is a gorgeous place and the house is close to town and beach. Kauai, a very lush island, was so much fun to explore. This will be our place to stay for any future visits. Dave and Suzy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great value

    Great value

    • Guest Resy (Geneva)
    • Date of stay 07/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/06/11
    wonderful stay, close to the beach, convenient shopping and restaurants close by. Coconut Cottage has all the necessary amenities, down to beach mats and beach chairs! Impeccably clean, easy Wifi access, great kitchen, wonderful ceiling fans keep the cottage breezy. Good value for money. We would rent it again anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location!

    Great location!

    • Guest hotrod (California)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 09/26/11
    We stayed at this house for 10 days in July 2011. First the pros: FANTASTIC location, close to town and close to the bay, AC wonderful, Internet very nice, washer and dryer handy, beach chairs and umbrella great!! Now for the cons: poor kitchen: no spices (not even salt and pepper), no baggies or foil, no paper towels, 1/2 of a sponge, watered down dish soap, most pans were so scratched I couldn't use them, dishwasher broken (to be replaced the day after we left), mold on the living room ceiling, charcoal BBQ not covered which made it impossible to cook our fish while it was raining. If you don't plan on doing ANY cooking I would recommend staying here. We left the remainders of our purchased items ie: spices, baggies, paper towels, kleenex etc.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Heart of Hanalei Winner

    Heart of Hanalei Winner

    • Guest Maria (Mission Viejo, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/22/11
    • Review Submitted 02/01/11
    We had a wonderful stay at this very clean and very comfortable home. It was centrally located to beach and town. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit and recommend it to friends and family. The owner was available and answered all questions promptly! The cleaning crew were friendly and they do a great job!!! I don't want to say too many nice things so that it is available the next time I want it!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect spot in Hanalei

    Perfect spot in Hanalei

    • Guest Marc (Carpinteria, California)
    • Date of stay 11/04/10
    • Review Submitted 11/19/10
    For my wife and I the Coconut cottage has everything we want in a rental. First, the house is beautiful and very charming. The house is ammaculate when we arrive. The amenities are complete, including 2 outdoor showers. The house is 1/2 way between the town and the beach of Hanalei, easy walking distance to both. When we are there we call it our home. The house is very comfortable. The owner is helpful and available during the booking process. We would recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Highly recommended

    Highly recommended

    • Guest Bergkamp9999 (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 09/19/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    For our second visit to Kauai, after a very long flight from London, we chose to stay in Hanelei again, intending to stay again at the B&B run by Carolyn but as it was full she offered us the Coconut Cottage for our 8 day stay. I’m certainly glad we stayed here because it was very comfortable, spacious, quiet and very conveniently located. The house is very clean with modern facilities and a great view from the verandah, a great place for breakfast. It was a pleasure to come home each evening and to feel right at home, and we actually got takeout food most nights as we could really relax, which we couldn’t do quite so easily in the B&B. We have stayed in 5-star hotels in many countries so our standards are very high but we had nothing to complain about here. Except perhaps for the free range, organic alarm clocks which are quite vocal early mornings! We enjoyed our time on Kauai so much we stayed two more nights instead of going to Oahu. If you’ve never been to Kauai we recommend staying in the North, rather than in Poipu. The beaches are much better and the scenery is just stunning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Clean, stylish, comfortable, plus great locale to beach & dining!

    Clean, stylish, comfortable, plus great locale to beach & dining!

    • Guest TK (CO)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 09/12/10
    I consider myself a very tough critic & I did EXTENSIVE lodging research for our Hawaii vacation. Somehow, I stumbled upon Carolyn's property. Not only did she allow us to do only 2 nights (we went to the south side for 3), but she gave us a fantastic price: better than I could get anywhere else. Naturally, because of this I was worried, never believing VRBO photos or owner's words. However, were were in heaven at the Coconut Cottage! It really has 3 wonderful bedrooms & 3 baths, one of which is a posh master. The photos on VRBO are astonishingly accurate! You can really see Bali Hai from the patio! There are 2 outdoor showers plus the place was spotless. You can honestly walk 3 blocks downtown to dining or 3 blocks to Hanalei Bay. The rest of our entire vacation, our group wished we were still in Hanalei, instead of Poipu & then Maui. May I suggest to those of you wondering where to stay- do so in Hanalei. Poipu was full of families with small children & felt a bit more like suburbia than Hawaii should. Don't even get me started on Maui... The house did have "rules" posted throughout (re: cleaning up, quiet hours in the neighborhood), but I'll take that in order to have the efficient customer service I received from Carolyn that I did not with other rental owners on the island. Enjoy & hike Na Pali!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I just wanted to let future guests know that the County of Kauai requires each licensed vacation rental to post a letter(s) in each house to explain about the "quiet hours in the neighborhood" and other "rules" that guests are asked to follow to keep year-round residents in the neighborhood happy. In the past, residents have been unhappy because vacation rental homes seem to generate lots of "late evening" noise and sometimes have been disruptive to the local neighborhood. The letter of rules has helped with this problem.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Great location - wonderful house

    Great location - wonderful house

    • Guest Jim S. (New York, NY. USA)
    • Date of stay 02/06/10
    • Review Submitted 11/05/10
    We had a great week in Hanalei. The house is located a very short walk from both the beach and the bay. We enjoyed walking to the beach each morning with a cup of coffee to check out the waves. The house is exactly as the pictures show, spacious, clean and very comfortable. We felt right at home as soon as we arrived. I would highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]