Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Beautiful House on Bass Harbor [#232979] | View Property

Bass Harbor
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$875 - $1,650/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Awesome Vacation Home!!

    Awesome Vacation Home!!

    • Guest Adriana O.
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    We just got back from a wonderful week in this house. The owner was prompt in answering any questions we had all throughout the rental process. The house is charming. It takes you back in time to simpler times and screams family vacation. It felt like we had just arrived at our own family vacation home. There are no modern or up to date fixtures but everything we saw was functional and adequate for what we needed. The house was clean and stocked for a family of four. We were able to make our own dinners (lobster-which we purchased down the road, fresh) and even bake a cake for my son's birthday. The beds were comfortable and even though there was no air conditioning we slept well! The stars at night were a real plus for us city folks. It is the quiet side of the island so if you're looking for action it's about a 30 minute drive to Bar Harbor. We hiked in Acadia, went sea kayaking, whale watching, had a great homemade blueberry pie bought from the pie lady, ate at fabulous restaurants-we LOVED Jordan House, rode our bikes on the carriage roads and walked around Bar Harbor. It was an excellent vacation and it was great to come home to this house every night to relax! We watched a movie from the owner's collection, listened to records, and even finished a puzzle of Acadia-a favorite activity for my 11 and 15 year old. I haven't even commented on the view from the house but I think the pictures here are enough. If we come back to hike the Beehive Trail someday, we will definitely book this house! :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing, Charming & Comfortable!

    Relaxing, Charming & Comfortable!

    • Guest Kristie . (Burlington, CT )
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    This home is like a small treasure that transports you back in time. It is artfully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed paddle-boarding off the backyard in the harbor and the sunsets are beautiful. The view from the house is lovely and we plan on going back next year. Everything that is needed to enjoy the week is provided even a record player with some great old albums. Thanks for a wonderful stay that our family will always remember!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest B in NJ (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/06/13
    House is even nicer than shown in pics and description. Perfect location, perfectly clean, perfect space for a lovely vacation. The view is so beautiful and calming. Owner responsive and easy to work with. Our dog really liked it, too. If you have the chance, rent this property!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful House on Bass Harbor

    Beautiful House on Bass Harbor

    • Guest Chris (Mahwah, NJ 07430)
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    The house was very comfortable (like Grandma's house). Very clean Well situated Quiet (which is what we wanted)

    Recommended for: Pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Wonderful week on the quiet side of MDI!

    Wonderful week on the quiet side of MDI!

    • Guest Eric W.
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    Very clean, well equipped and comfortable house for the two of us and our Frenchie. View from the deck is top notch. The pup had so much fun, he didnt want to leave. Location was very good to get around MDI. About 30 mins from Bar Harbor and the busier side. There was so much to do, we didnt turn on the TV once the whole week. We explored many different trails and diff parts of Acadia. Overall a wonderful trip! Thank you Paul.(Very responsive owner)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely cottage retreat!

    Lovely cottage retreat!

    • Guest Northeast Traveler (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/28/12
    Our family just returned from a wonderful, quiet week at this little cottage. The house was very comfortable and immaculately clean. The housekeeper had even left a note and some fresh eggs from her chickens! The owner was wonderful to communicate with - very responsive, and very accommodating. We were given a list of local restaurants and activities which was very helpful. The sunsets from the deck were beautiful and our son loved watching the lobster boats going in and out of the harbor each day, and watching the activities of the lobsterman who lives next door. I highly recommend this rental!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Stay

    Fantastic Stay

    • Guest Chipmunk (East Hartford)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/04/11
    This was my fourth trip to MDI but my first staying in Bass Harbor. I really loved this side of the island and I would definitely stay there and in this perfect house again. As soon as I walked in, I felt like I was home. This house has everything you need for your stay. And the surrounding areas offer so much to do that I am not even sorry I didn't bring my kayak. And I'd like to recommend breakfast at Grumpy's in Southwest Harbor. There's nothing like eating outside right next to the water. The food was excellent and the staff was super friendly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cooper

    Cooper

    • Guest Connecticut Ron (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    This will be our second stay!...God willing we will make another one to this amazing well kept n'fully stocked house on Beautiful Bass Harbor...once again Thank You to the owners ! The cottage was immaculate.Without a doubt a gem in the rough....WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE....!.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect vacation cottage!

    Perfect vacation cottage!

    • Guest Melissa & Chris (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 09/05/11
    We are long-time visitors to MDI who had the good fortune to stay here the week prior to Labor Day. This house easily surpasses any others in which we have stayed. The other reviewers’ comments about this being “quintessential Maine” are dead-on! The views from the deck and living room/dining room are spectacular whether it’s clear or foggy, high or low tide. The house offers many amenities within walking/cycling distance and is a short drive to Southwest Harbor and many Acadia National Park trailheads. And it is a cozy, comfortable place to relax once you get home from your adventures – it’s full of natural light and brimming with charm. We definitely felt “on vacation” as soon as we walked through the front door. This is not a cookie-cutter vacation rental. It is the owners’ personal vacation home, and their pride in ownership is evident. The house is extremely solid (circa 1920), well-maintained, and immaculately clean, with touches both practical (mudroom, full-size washer/dryer) and aesthetic (art, photographs) that make you feel immediately at home. Linens and dishes were more than adequate. The setting affords considerable privacy; the kitchen is well-equipped; and books, puzzles, and DVDs abound to entertain you during rainy days and evenings. Because we were traveling north to Maine just ahead of Hurricane Irene, we had the chance to interact with the owner quite a bit. He could not have been nicer or more accommodating – he even checked in with us after the storm (which did not affect us much after all) to be sure everything was OK. He also was quite responsive during the reservation process, and had a ton of great suggestions for exploring the area. In Southwest Harbor, we loved Red Sky, Sips, and Cafe 2 for dinner, and the fresh blueberry muffins at Sawyer's market are amazing. Sips also has great espresso as well as wines by the glass/half glass. Popovers at the Jordan Pond House are not to be missed. It was fun to discover the nearby Wonderland and Ship Harbor trails (easy, suitable for kids/dogs). Flying Mountain, one of our old favorites, is only a short drive away. For more strenuous hiking, we are fans of the Beehive (near Sand Beach) and the Cadillac North Ridge Trail. We were glad we rented bikes from Southwest Cycle to check out the carriage roads. We hope to visit again soon – next time, we are bringing our kayaks (yes, you really can launch off the back lawn). Our only complaint about this house is that it’s not ours!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The quintessential summer cottage on the water

    The quintessential summer cottage on the water

    • Guest bonobo60137 (Glen Ellyn)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/24/11
    When we were planning our first trip to Maine, we were hoping to find the quintessential summer cottage on the water on the quiet side – and this adorable house surpassed all our expectations. The house is immaculate – very well-tended and extremely clean. It had everything we needed including comfortable beds and pillows, and a lovely family room that looked out onto the deck and the tide beyond. Our children enjoyed playing in the large yard and exploring the little beach for shells and rocks, and when they came inside, they put together jigsaw puzzles on the huge round coffee table in the middle of the family room. The enormous deck was the perfect place to relax and watch the ebbing tide. In fact, I think the deck offers the best and most comfortable vantage point to witness Maine’s amazing sunsets. It was incredible. The owner is easy to work with, very responsive to all our questions via phone and email. We took a number of his suggestions for hiking, visiting and dining, and all were excellent. The caretaker welcomed us by leaving fresh eggs from her chickens in the refrigerator – it was such a thoughtful (not to mention, delicious!) gesture. It was one of the most delightful vacations we’ve ever had. We did spend part of each day in Bar Harbor or Acadia National Park, and we found it so restful to return to the house each evening.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • The ideal retreat!

    The ideal retreat!

    • Guest B&M (Bristol, CT)
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    My wife and I last visited Acadia two years ago and fell in love with this island. We stayed in a small cabin with our dog just outside of Bar Harbor and visited the Village almost every night. This year we decided to try the quite side of the island and we were glad we did. The house in Bass Harbor was very clean and is well depicted by the photos and description. There is a large deck overlooking a huge lawn which rolls down the water. Our dog loved the open space to run and play, a great place to fetch a ball. This house served as a great starting point for daily adventures, including kayaking right off the back lawn, and at Long Pond and Seal Cove just minutes away. Great hiking is also close by at Beech Mt, Day Mt. and several other peaks in just a few minutes drive. Bass Harbor Light and Wonderland are both a short bike ride from the front porch. With all there was to do, we never even made it to Bar Harbor, although the Island Explorer picks up a few minutes walk from the house. Everything we needed was close by. I highly recommend Wonderland for the best tide pools on the island, and Seafood Ketch for the cinnamon bread. Sips has the best blueberry pancakes and Cafe 2/Eat-a Pita has the best soups and sandwiches, and is a great place to eat outside with your dog (both in nearby South West Harbor). Take your kayaks to the south end of Long Pond and you can chose from several great hiking trails to walk before a prestine paddle. Road cycling is fantastic almost anywhere on the island with lots of rural roads to explore, but the Acadia Park loop road is as good as road cycling can get. The owners of this house were extremely attentive. After I mentioned a small plumbing problem, they responded immediately, and the caretaker was there in minutes. We were never inconvienced and were quite impressed by the rapid dispatch. I would recommend this place to all my friends, as this is the ideal place for a Mt. Desert vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is wonderful to hear how our guests enjoy and experience Mt. Desert Island. Our house, Blackacre is conveniently located to everything the island has to offer. We always leave a welcome note with some of the best resturants and attractions we like and love to pass along any information along to our guests. And as we all know, word of mouth is the best reference. Thanks again, Brian and Marion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful views! A+ House!

    Wonderful views! A+ House!

    • Guest D&B (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/12/10
    • Review Submitted 09/22/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed the use of this house. We appreciated the accurate description; the house was even more charming and so well appointed. We had a great time hiking and sightseeing in the area, but especially enjoyed coming back to the beautiful view and peace and quiet of the house at the end of the day. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. P.S. For dog owners, the area is extremely dog friendly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Thumbs Up!Greenwich Ct

    Two Thumbs Up!Greenwich Ct

    • Guest Connecticut Ron (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/23/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    What a gem,pictures and words cannot justify this beautiful house!The house was impeccably clean and very well maintained,it had all the amenities and then some( frosted beer mugs in freezer....!)The owners and caretakers were very helpful in their knowledge of the area...I must thank the caretaker for recommending me to Nemo's,a local haunt...it has a lot of character...and lots of info on getting lobsters @ non tourist prices..(Bernard Lobster docks)Its true Lobster taste better in Maine! Our mornings would start with sunrise coffee on the deck...seagulls singing and lobster men going out for their catch!Once again the sheer beauty and serenity cannot be photographed or explained,the view from the deck is priceless!From the house you have many great things in walking distance , The Bass Lighthouse,great restaurant Seafood Ketch..Swan Island ferry.The house is minutes away form everything ,from great places to eat,to one of the most beautiful nat'l parks..we definitely recommend sunrise on Cadaillac Mountain...awesome!Bring your bikes,kayaks, hiking boots etc. then relax at your"home on bass harbor"Our stay was a very short 5 days,but IT WAS GREAT!We would like to Thank the owners again for letting us share their beautiful home,and Thank you again for letting us bring our Rottweiler! arghh arghh!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Terrific place to stay

    Terrific place to stay

    • Guest Ollie (Cambridge, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 09/15/10
    Thank you to the owners for sharing their piece of Bass Harbor with us. We felt so comfortable at the cottage that after enjoying the outdoors (hiking, biking, etc.) in the morning we usually spent the afternoon on the deck or in the living room. We would top off the day with a kayak trip around the harbor right out the back door. The cottage is well appointed and well maintained. We appreciated that Bass Harbor is one the Quietside, but it was easy enough to go to Bar Harbor for a night "in the city". I have already recommended this property to friends as a terrific place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Place To Temporarily Call Home

    Lovely Place To Temporarily Call Home

    • Guest a happy family (Burlington, VT)
    • Date of stay 07/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/30/10
    We stayed for a much-too-short week in mid-July and loved everything about the house! It is literally right on the water, so we made sure to slip our boats in nearly every high tide. At low tide, the beachcombing is great - lots of crab shells. The deck looks out to the most spectacular sunsets, which makes it the perfect place to unwind after a busy day in the water or on the nearby trails. Though it's near plenty of conveniences, it's quiet and peaceful - giving visitors a real Maine experience. The house is well-stocked with supplies and is immaculate. The pictures can't even begin to capture the charm and grace of this home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great vacation house in Acadia

    Great vacation house in Acadia

    • Guest anonymous (Hartsdale, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    Spacious house with all the amenities. Exceptionally clean. Beautiful sunset views. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. I would stay there again and would recommend it to all my friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoy sharing the experience of Mt. Desert Island. Our satisfaction comes when others, friends and family have a great time at the house in Bass Harbor, Maine.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An absolutely wonderful vacation cottage

    An absolutely wonderful vacation cottage

    • Guest Candace W. (Poughquag, NY)
    • Date of stay 05/27/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    My family (myself, my husband and two teenagers and our goldern retriever) found this comfortable cottage to be perfect for us. Located right by the water we enjoyed kayaking and beautiful sunsets from the deck. The cottage was spotless and well furnished and very spacious. While it is on the quiet side, we didn't find it too far to enjoy all the island had to offer. However, there were times we just wanted to stay in, as the cottage itself was so comfortable. Also, the owner was very accommodating and easy to work with as was the caretaker who is close by. Whenever we visit the area, we will stay at this cottage. (Tips...the listing is completely accurate, the cottage is better than the photos represent, the property is very clean and well-maintained, the owner was very helpful, we would recommend this cottage to a frend or relative. Great chowder and lobster bisque at "Scotty's" , fresh cherrystones and lobstah from "Rat's", several grocery stores within easy access)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for such a wonderful review. We take pride in providing a comfortable, clean and well maintained cottage. When renters recommend our house to their friends and family we feel we have provided a great vacation experience and we consider that very high praise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Thumbs Up!Greenwich Ct

    Two Thumbs Up!Greenwich Ct

    • Guest Connecticut Ron (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/21/09
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    What a gem,pictures and words cannot justify this beautiful house!The house was impeccably clean and very well maintained,it had all the amenities and then some( frosted beer mugs in freezer....!)The owners and caretakers were very helpful in their knowledge of the area...I must thank the caretaker for recommending me to Nemo's,a local haunt...it has a lot of character...and lots of info on getting lobsters @ non tourist prices..(Bernard Lobster docks)Its true Lobster taste better in Maine! Our mornings would start with sunrise coffee on the deck...seagulls singing and lobster men going out for their catch!Once again the sheer beauty and serenity cannot be photographed or explained,the view from the deck is priceless!From the house you have many great things in walking distance , The Bass Lighthouse,great restaurant Seafood Ketch..Swan Island ferry.The house is minutes away form everything ,from great places to eat,to one of the most beautiful nat'l parks..we definitely recommend sunrise on Cadaillac Mountain...awesome!Bring your bikes,kayaks, hiking boots etc. then relax at your"home on bass harbor"Our stay was a very short 5 days,but IT WAS GREAT!We would like to Thank the owners again for letting us share their beautiful home,and Thank you again for letting us bring our Rottweiler! arghh arghh!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]