Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Great beach with view of the pier.

Best Deal at the Beach [#233044] | View Property

Hermosa Beach
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$150 - $257/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Perfect place!

    Perfect place!

    • Guest Jo Ann Z.
    • Date of stay 01/09/14
    • Review Submitted 02/14/14
    Staying in this SPACIOUS studio apartment, so close to the beach, was the perfect place for my daughter's and my getaway! It had everything we needed (the two sinks in the spacious bathroom were a huge plus for us), and the setting and surroundings were lovely! We stayed for five nights--a wonderful "home" for us--we were able to walk everywhere--and had easy access to highways when we wanted to explore further by car (e.g., Getty Museum, Santa Monica...) The rental also includes parking for a car, washer and dryer if needed, and bikes for use. Jackie, the owner, is very accessible (respects your privacy, but is there if you need her), helpful, and very easy to work with. I highly recommend. We will be back. P.S. (Take another look at the posted pictures of this studio and its environs--when we arrived, my daughter kept saying, "The pictures don't do it justice!")

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location, Quiet, Clean and Very Comfortable.

    Great Location, Quiet, Clean and Very Comfortable.

    • Guest Chris G. (Tucson, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 10/07/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    Very nice, we were able to walk down to the beach and restaurants. Parking was a huge plus. Martha's and the Italian restaurant across the road are very good. We would Highly recommend this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet,convenient and relaxing

    Quiet,convenient and relaxing

    • Guest Taffy (North Vancouver BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    My husband and I loved this studio.Big,bright bathroom,comfy bed and v clean.All beach gear and bikes available to borrow from friendly,helpful host Jackie. Nice garden with bistro table to enjoy breakfast,wine or quiet evening meal. Great breakfast place and Italian restaurant around the corner.Beach and The Strand just minutes walk away. Did not to rent a car.Taxi from aero,buses or bikes.Easy. Will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • True Beach Hideaway

    True Beach Hideaway

    • Guest Barb (Prairie Village, KS)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    This cozy and spotless studio was wonderful. It was decorated to perfection with a king sized bed, huge bathroom with all the lovely soaps and towels, a little kitchenette and a wonderful view from the doorway of bouganvillea blooming all around. After a long plane ride, we arrived ready for dinner and ate across the street at an super Italian restaurant. Breakfast at Martha's, also across the street, was a morning treat. It's just so private, quiet and relaxing, the owner thought of everything to make it such a splendid getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Serene gem

    Serene gem

    • Guest Christy (Salt Lake City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 09/26/12
    I just spent 3 nights at Jackie's beautiful one bedroom and it was a perfect getaway. One block from the beach so close enough to go back and forth, but far enough to be quiet. The flower surrounded patio was delightful for morning coffee and the spotless, well appointed room was so inviting and comfortable. The King size comfortable bed and the big screen TV above the beautiful fireplace was perfect for relaxing. Jackie was a wonderful hosesst and paid attention to every detail. Next time, I will use the bikes! I will definitely stay here every time I come to visit my Sons. The location was close enough to walk right along the strand to the Hermosa pier, Martha's fabulous breakfast and shops. One certainly does not need a car if they plan on staying in the area. I didn't have a car, but my Son did, so he could park in the designated parking space when he came to visit. I highly recommend Jackie's beautiful getaway! Christy Voss

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Homecoming

    A Homecoming

    • Guest Honeymooners (Avondale,Arizona)
    • Date of stay 08/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    My Husband grew up in the South Bay area,in fact he is a North Torrance High Grad,Class of 1973. In his high school days he hung out at 24th street which is a couple blocks away from this property,so he knew the exact location. We were celebrating our 1st year of Marriage and his Birthday too. We appreciated the parking it was a "HUGE" plus as we rarely used the car,we rode our bikes most of the time.When we walked through the garden to get to our room we were impressed, the bathroom was the best,so big,we each had our own sinks,the shower was built for two,yes we saved alot of water,(WINK). Coming from Arizona the A/C was never used, we enjoyed the cool ocean breeze and slept with the skyklight and screen door open.The bed was huge,and very comfy,the skyline was so big,we could see the full moon,the studio had all your you could need,Jackie thought of "EVERYTHING". We had breakfast at Martha's almost everyday which was really good,the restaurant was very friendly and we got to know a few of the locals during our stay. My Husband and I walked the strand a couple of nights, all the way to the Hermosa Beach Pier,it was a Full Moon during our stay,which made it even better. When we got back from our walks,it was like returning to a serene haven of trees, flowers our quiet place,My Husband's Son/Daugther in-law and Grandsons came on Saturday, Sept.1st to celerbrate his Birthday,they were very welcomed by Jackie,they too were very impressed with the unit, she also had all the stuff you need to play on the beach,there is a "VERY" good chance we will be coming back,AGAIN and AGAIN

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • quiet place

    quiet place

    • Guest Anne Marie T. (Papillion, Nebraska)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    Very cute little place. Start with the good: excellent proximity to the beach, fantastic restaurant (Martha's) a block away, and very quiet neighborhood. The bathroom is amazing, even though there was a sign saying "no baths after 9pm" (for whatever ridiculous reason - the water shortage isn't different at different times of day). End with the not-so-good: the patio is very small - big enough to sit for a cocktail if you're not moving in any direction, but the hard part was the inside temperature of the studio. While California was a beautiful 70 degrees the whole time we were there, the studio was 85 degrees inside unless the door was open - and you can't use the air conditioning until evening, when it's too little too late. If it's warm, you'll need to just leave the glass door open and hope you don't get robbed, because it's too hot - the studio has no windows, plus it has two skylights that just concentrate heat inside. Couples are set - if you have more than two people, stay at the other property upstairs.

    Owner response: Please read our other reviews that tell the real story of this wonderful beach studio. There are so many perks to our location as noted in the above review but our large, hot-tub size bathtub does cause the plumbing to rumble which is disturbing to other guests late at night so we ask that the bath tub be used before 9pm. Showers are fine, anytime. We do have an air conditioner. Here at the beach most homes do not have air conditioning as there is really no need for it. There are about 5 days a year that it is nice to have one so we have it there for just such a time. We have had guests who take advantage of that and leave it on day and night. We ask you to turn it off when not in the room, which is common sense for most people but not for everyone. There are several windows to the outdoors onto a beautiful garden and an entire backyard garden that is available for use. The skylight has a remote control that opens the blinds and opens the skylight as well. It is not my intention to ruin anyone's vacation but most of my rules come from the few guests who are not considerate of our home. Whether it is using the tub late or leaving the air conditioner on or leaving children here unattended (at all hours of the day and night), these things are not acceptable and inconsiderate. None of the other reviewers have had these problems and most people are lovely guests. The studio is a really lovely place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • active over 55 widow

    active over 55 widow

    • Guest norm (Brookfield, WI)
    • Date of stay 01/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    I was very pleased with the accomodations, location, owner, etc.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Outstanding Experience, Excellent Rental, Highly Recommend

    Outstanding Experience, Excellent Rental, Highly Recommend

    • Guest Michael B. (San Antonio, TX)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/07/11
    I stayed at this unit for a few days and didn't want to leave. The location is perfect for popping to the beach and it is centered between the pier and a favorite hangout of mine, the North End Bar. Everything you'll need is there and the unit is clean and well-appointed. Jackie was a pleasure to work with and she runs a tight ship. Thank you for hosting me for a few days.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Terrific Beach Bunkhouse

    Terrific Beach Bunkhouse

    • Guest Britton U. (Austin, TX, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/11
    • Review Submitted 07/31/11
    This was a great find in Hermosa Beach. It feels like your own private beach bunkhouse. With a space to park you can zoom off to greater Los Angeles and have the peace of returning anytime and not wrestling with parking. But, your best bet is to stay put and enjoy the neighborhood charm Hermosa has to offer: including the strand and the beach -- both just steps away. Spend all day in the sun, come back and clean up in the HUGE bathroom, take a nap on the big bed, and go back out again for some evening entertainment. This little apartment is a gem.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Excellent Get-A-Way

    Excellent Get-A-Way

    • Guest Claudia (Bemidji, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    We visit family in southern Calfornia about 3 times each year. They live in the Hermosa/Manhattan Beach area. After staying at the beach hotels/motels on other visits, we decided to try a VRBO rental. We were pleasantly surprised! This studio was the perfect size for a couple. This studio was all my husband and I needed to enjoy our California vacation/visit. The room had everything we needed from big comfy bed to huge bathroom, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, charcoal grill and ceiling fan for cooling. The only thing we needed to supply was ourselves, clothes, and toiletries. This studio is a short walk to the ocean where the sunsets were beautiful. It's also a short walk on the strand which is a paved oceanside walking path to either Manhattan or Hermosa Beach Piers for shopping, dining, and bike renting. There's an off street parking space included with your stay. Why would you want or need to drive anywhere? The parking space was wonderful for visitors.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • buy@backandbodycare.com

    buy@backandbodycare.com

    • Guest LoveToTravel (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/03/11
    Beautifully decorated. Check-in and out was smooth. Great location

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • So close to the beach, you can carry a full cup of coffee!

    So close to the beach, you can carry a full cup of coffee!

    • Guest Tina F. (Utah)
    • Date of stay 06/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/01/11
    My husband and I use VRBO regularly and look at a LOT of properties before we make a decision. The location and price were the deciding factors on this property. Some places turn out better than you expect and this is one of those. The bed is VERY comfortable, the bathroom is AMAZING, everything is top notch. Each night we had wine in the garden area just outside our door. We could walk all over town so easily - to breakfast, the beach, the market, shopping, nightlife, AND the Comedy Club where Jay Leno is even funnier in person. We rented bikes and took out time riding to Venice Beach and back. The entire beach area is one of the cleanest and best I've ever seen. Being close to everything, yet far enough to not hear the noise when it came to sleep time was just what we wanted. Thank you Jackie!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Wonderful Experience

    A Wonderful Experience

    • Guest R and M (Denair, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    We loved our stay in Hermosa Beach at the Studio! It was exactly like the picture. The bathroom was larger than expected! It had a shower, a tub, separate toilet and two sinks! It was walking distance to other beaches. Our hostess was very welcoming! I have already recommmended it to my aunt and uncle! I would definitely stay there again!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quaint Beach Getaway

    Quaint Beach Getaway

    • Guest Brian (Rancho Cucamonga, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/24/11
    • Review Submitted 06/29/11
    Imagine my unexpected pleasure in discovering this little getaway right in the "Big City". A quaint little bungalow style cottage nestled among beach bungalows and one block away from the "Strand". All of this less than 10 minutes from Los Angeles! The cottage is nicely equipped with a small kitchen nook, a king size bed, a lovely bathroom with a spacious shower, a separate tub and his/her vanities. The location is a block away from the beach and is very quiet. You cannot go wrong. Dining, the boardwalk, and other forms of nightlife are well within walking distance. Strongly Recommend!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Hermosa Hideaway - Hidden Jewel

    Hermosa Hideaway - Hidden Jewel

    • Guest crae (Dallas City, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    Chosen for it's proximity to our daughter's house but turned out to be better than any hotel we could have found. I loved the fireplace, patio and the skylight above our bed as well as in the bathroom. Amazing location - you can easily stay here and not have to rent a car - one block from the beach, walking distance to everything you need - nightlife, shopping, walking/biking on strand, beach, restaurants, groceries. Safe, hidden from traffic, private, modern, friendly, clean. We have already recommended this rental to all of our friends and anyone traveling to that area. This will ALWAYS be where we stay when traveling to the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • your own beach retreat and always try to stay here

    your own beach retreat and always try to stay here

    • Guest Heidi (Seattle WA)
    • Date of stay 05/04/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    We love both the cottage and the studio. The location couldn't be better for long walks along the boardwalk and strolling down to watch the sunset. There are some great restaurants within walking distance. This property is really quiet for a beach rental and the owner strikes just the right balance between being available, but not intrusive. It is quite the bargain for Los Angeles- clean and well-maintained. We come about 4 times a year and always try to stay here

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest J (new york, new york)
    • Date of stay 03/31/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    My sister lives in Redondo beach. Stayed here while visiting from New York. This is a wonderful place. Location is perfect - 1 block from the beach. Close to great local restaurants. Clean, parking spot available. Will definitely come back!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Studio-Best deal at the beach!

    Studio-Best deal at the beach!

    • Guest Tiffanie (Greenwood, IN)
    • Date of stay 03/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/18/11
    My husband and I made a trip out to Hermosa in March for a friends wedding and stayed at this studio. It was perfect!! We had spoke with Jackie several times while planning the trip and she was so helpful and honest about the property. We were so pleased when we arrived to see that the property met all our expectations and more! It was clean, decorated very nicely, and very roomy! The location was also great! We did not rent a car while there and it was no problem. The studio is literally a block from the beach/strand and since it's located right between Hermosa and Manhattan Beach, the walk to either is a breeze!! We had bikes for the week and rode to either pier is minutes!! Renting a cab was easy too, never waited more then 10- 15 minutes for their arrival. The studio also has a nice private gated entrance, and the garden/patio was full of beautiful flowers, plants, and a water fountain which was a nice touch! You have to eat at the famous Martha's restaurant too! It is literally steps from the studio, and we ate there almost every morning for breakfast! The food is delicious! Overall, this studio and experience was great for us! Perfect get-away!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great vacation getaway, very reasonable prices!

    Great vacation getaway, very reasonable prices!

    • Guest Nonie (Arnold Mo)
    • Date of stay 07/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/28/10
    Charming, clean and comfortable efficiency apartment. Beautiful garden and small patio! Enjoyed the quietness and peaceful stay :) Love the area, so close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Perfect for two. Huge bathroom with skylight. My son and I enjoyed the trip so much. We'll be back. Norene Taylor

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Great vacation getaway, very reasonable prices!

    Great vacation getaway, very reasonable prices!

    • Guest Nonie (Arnold Mo)
    • Date of stay 07/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/28/10
    Charming, clean and comfortable efficiency apartment. Beautiful garden and small patio! Enjoyed the quietness and peaceful stay :) Love the area, so close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Perfect for two. Huge bathroom with skylight. My son and I enjoyed the trip so much. We'll be back. Norene Taylor

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Wonderful Beach Getaway!!

    Wonderful Beach Getaway!!

    • Guest jenniferinfrance (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 05/27/10
    A perfect getaway for two. We spent 4 very comfortable nights here! Just steps away from the Strand & the beach, with a popular breakfast destination called Martha's right nearby. Our weather was great, but once the wind picked up on the beach, we were still able to enjoy the warm sun on the protected garden patio. The backyard is clean with beautiful flowers & Jackie the landlord kept the garden fountain running everyday for a little extra ambience & relaxation. I would definitely recommend this studio apartment to friends or family visiting Hermosa Beach / surrounding area. The studio itself has great privacy with a separate gated entrance. Another plus -- very comfortable bed & HUGE bathroom with shower, large bathtub, his and her sinks. Will hope to come back here again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Beach Getaway!!

    Wonderful Beach Getaway!!

    • Guest jenniferinfrance (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    A perfect getaway for two. We spent 4 very comfortable nights here! A mere 2 blocks from the Strand & the beach. One block away from a popular breakfast destination called Martha's. Our weather was great, but once the wind picked up on the beach, we were still able to enjoy the warm sun on the protected garden patio. The backyard is clean with beautiful flowers & Jackie the landlord kept the garden fountain running everyday for a little extra ambience & relaxation. I would definitely recommend this studio apartment to friends or family visiting Hermosa Beach / surrounding area. The studio itself has great privacy with a separate gated entrance. Another plus -- very comfortable bed & HUGE bathroom with shower, large bathtub, his and her sinks.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful room, great location!

    Wonderful room, great location!

    • Guest BarbV (New Berlin, WI)
    • Date of stay 04/16/10
    • Review Submitted 04/22/10
    Very large, clean studio with king bed, GIANT spa-like bathroom, kitchenette, & private parking spot. We were very happy and thought the place was even nicer than it looked in the pictures. Beautiful gardens and only 2 blocks from the Strand. If you are a walker, you can easily go north to Manhattan Beach or south to Redondo Beach from this central location. All the action in downtown Hermosa Beach is a few blocks away, but not so close as to cause you noise. Small market only one block away, as well as a few restaurants. I'd recommend this rental to anyone who wants to stay close to the beach.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]