Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Enjoy the view of the beautiful rainforest

Authentic Caribe Indian Huts Deep in the Rainforest of Dominica [#235977] | View Property

Concord
Cabin, Studio + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$95-$145/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Roots Jungle Retreat

    Roots Jungle Retreat

    • Guest Frank M (Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/22/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    We had a great time at Roots, excellent setting in the forest, eco-conscious, delicious food, and great hospitality. Before arriving we several emails with questions, and asking for recommendations, which were replied almost instantaneously even before we decided to book with them. Nico and the staff at Roots were very friendly and attentive. Overall it was an experience that we will always remember, thank you Roots!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind comments!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Roots

    Roots

    • Guest Charly (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    We had read so many good things about this place, that our expectations were already high, but it really was much better than expected! The name very much describes it, it is coming back to the roots. Here you do feel like you are living nature at its best. Accommodations are simple, but comfortable. The road was in a bad condition, but nothing too bad for a 4WD, is only 10' to the main road. Minimum electricity, but they are already working on a hydro project that should be functional very soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It has been a pleasure having you with us, thanks for the kind comments and hope to see you back in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Roots Jungle Retreat - Amazing!

    Roots Jungle Retreat - Amazing!

    • Guest Tom (San Diego, California)
    • Date of stay 01/09/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    We loved staying at Roots Jungle Retreat, we experienced the Rainforest, with gorgeous views being up in the mountain. Despite the jungle setting, there were no bugs. Peace and tranquility.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind words, it's been out pleasure having you with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Roots Jungle Retreat

    Roots Jungle Retreat

    • Guest Mandy (Guadaloupe)
    • Date of stay 08/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    We had an amazing time at this retreat. This is not your common vacation rental, the cottages are rustin, nice and clean. The cooking facilities are minimum, just a 2 burner stove, and a cooler (not a fridge), but you can use the refrigerator from the restaurant/bar area. Having said that, the food that Nico prepares was so amaziing that we ate always with him and never prepared anything ourselves. The road can be rough but hey, this is in the middle of the forest!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • ahhhh...that aint my goat

    ahhhh...that aint my goat

    • Guest tara (canada)
    • Date of stay 03/17/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    no comment to say how much our family enjoyed this vacation. our time with pat and staci will be a fond memory and the boys can't wait to come back. this place is for those who love nature and want to walk the path of the Dominican. okay, okay, alright it's simply the best!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Exceeded all expectations!

    Exceeded all expectations!

    • Guest Joseph P. (Cleveland, Ohio, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/02/12
    Quick summary: Roots is a beautiful, off-the-grid, resort in the heart of the rain forest with amazing food. It's in a great location to see the whole island. However, if you are looking for a vacation where you lay on the beach and have drinks brought to you all day, this is may not be the location for you. More detail: My wife and I (29 and 35 years old) just returned from 8 days in Dominica at Roots with Pat and Staci. In short, this was one of the top two vacations either of us have ever taken. Dominica is said to be the only island in the Caribbean that Columbus would still recognize and we now know why. It filled with lush rain forest, many rivers and waterfalls, and has a boiling lake, natural hot springs, and many beautiful black and white sand beaches... without another soul in sight. It is probably the last Caribbean island that has not yet been changed significantly by the tourist industry. Not only that, but the island is one of the safest areas in the world - both in terms of crime and in terms of natural dangers. There are no poisonous bugs, snakes, or other animals. Even in the rain forest, there are practically no mosquitoes or biting insects. After 8 days with no insect repellent, I came home with 3 mosquito bites. About Roots lodging and location: Simply put, Roots was everything we hoped for and Pat and Staci were the perfect hosts. Roots is positioned in the middle of the lush rain forest and was built in harmony with nature. Water for (water efficient) showers and composting toilets is from rain water collected off the roofs of the buildings. Buildings integrate seamlessly with the surrounding forest and are beautifully constructed with minimal impact their surroundings. The sound of the nearby Bamboo River and parrots and other birds can be heard in the background. We stayed in the newly-finished Arawak cabin and loved it. Despite what another reviewer said, we had plenty of privacy and never felt intruded on. Roots is pretty centrally located and is in a good location to serve as a home base to visit the rest of the island. If you are staying more than a week or so, it may be more efficient to split your visit between roots and another resort in the south or northeast of the island. About Roots food: Staci is a trained chef and her food is almost worth the trip to Dominica on its own. We ate at several other restaurants on the island and felt we had wasted those meals because Staci's cooking was so good. She uses mainly vegetable

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • The most relaxing vacations ever !!

    The most relaxing vacations ever !!

    • Guest Sasha s. (St Martin St Maarten)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/03/11
    My family and I had an unforgetable vacation at Roots Jungle retreat. We stayed in one of the traditional Kai Pai for a week and enjoyed every aspect of our vacations. The accomodation was very confortable, extra clean and also it is simple, it offers everything you need for a family to enjoy good time together. The huts are surrounded by the beauty of nature, and everywhere you look is just tropical flowers and greenery. We loved spending time on the terrasse listening to the sound of the river and my 10 years old daughter even forgot about her video games ! I must say that the best part of it was the owners themselves. Staci and Pat are wonderful people and we truly felt like family as soon as we arrived. They gave us all the necessary infos to discover Dominica, recommanded the perfect guides and we learned a lot about the island and its population thanks to them. Staci is a fantastic cook, and we miss her cakes and her home made bread !! Pat is great with kids and he is the best pirate story teller ever! I really recommand Roots Jungle Retreat, for the beauty of the location as well as the good heart of its owners. Sasha, Yoann and Loane from St Maarten. FWI

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best vacation with the most amazing locale and hosts!

    Best vacation with the most amazing locale and hosts!

    • Guest A&B (Ogden, UT)
    • Date of stay 12/14/10
    • Review Submitted 12/20/10
    From the hospitality, delicious cuisine, adventurous exploration to comfy accomodations, my husband and I truly felt that Roots Jungle Retreat was the perfect getaway we needed. We are in awe of how we could enjoy such service in the jungle. Our mornings were filled with scrumptous food from Staci's kitchen, then we'd make a plan of action (Pat and Staci would either take us on a trip or they'd direct us where we wanted to go) then when we came back, there was an amazing feast awaiting us, always with fresh bread and to die for desserts! After the rehashing of our day's excursions as well as listening to Pat's hilarious stories and sharing great conversation with the other guests- we'd retire to our lodge and read or play board games. There was always something fun to do. I regret not making enough time to wander the property more and go on hikes right from our front door. The onsite waterfall and swimming hole is secluded and beautiful. Totally a romantic getaway but when we wanted, we could socialize with the other guests and of course Pat and Staci were not only helpful, but so FUN to hang out with. We love Roots! We will tell our friends and family and come back for a visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a wonderful place!

    What a wonderful place!

    • Guest Liz (Raleigh)
    • Date of stay 11/21/10
    • Review Submitted 12/04/10
    What a wonderful vacation! We had our hearts set on Dominica, and had little idea of what to do after that. We decided to put ourselves in Pat and Staci’s hands, and we were very pleased we did. We stayed in the smaller cabin; which is open air, very simple (it’s an eco-lodge), and very cutely designed and decorated. It was comfortable and relaxing and with surprisingly few bugs. Every morning, we walked up the small hill to an excellent breakfast. We chose to not rent a car (which in Dominica, driving is a challenge), and instead went on day trips with Pat (and sometimes Staci). This way we could focus solely on enjoying ourselves and experiencing the island. We did five excursions with Roots Jungle Retreat, each of which were amazingly fun, from waterfalls, to beaches and the boiling lake. We also had our dinners at Roots Jungle for an extra fee, and they were consistently excellent, possibly the best available on the island. The island is absolutely beautiful with many stunning things to see and experience—yet the other big highlight of our trip was the time spent chatting with Staci and Pat—kind-hearted, very fun people with lots of insight and stories (it was worth the trip just to hear about the many escapades and adventures these two have had with the locals in constructing Roots Jungle Retreat!) about Dominica, the Caribbean, and life in general. Dominica, and an eco-lodge are not for everybody. If you don’t like the outdoors, or want to sit on the beach for a week, this is not the rental/island for you. We thoroughly enjoyed unplugging from our daily lives and experiencing the peace we got at Roots Jungle Retreat, while still getting spoiled with adventures, views, and culinary delights. We have been talking about this vacation non-stop, and are thoroughly enjoying making our friends and family jealous with the pictures and stories! We highly recommend staying here if you are outdoors-inclined. Thank you Pat and Staci!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best place to stay in Dominica! Truly romantic, relaxing, and magical!

    Best place to stay in Dominica! Truly romantic, relaxing, and magical!

    • Guest M + G (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/07/10
    • Review Submitted 09/29/10
    What a wonderful time we had at Roots for our honeymoon! We couldn't have asked for anything better! This little gem is located in the rain forest of Dominica, and is quite frankly THE BEST place to stay on the whole island. The food is EXCELLENT. The cabin we stayed in next to the river was clean, inviting, and comfortable. We were lulled to sleep by the jungle sounds and flowing river. It was so relaxing, peaceful, and romantic. During our stay there, we went on many adventure explorations with Pat and Staci as our tour guides - they couldn't have done a better job! We often felt as though we were staying with some family members who were eager to show us around the island, explain the culture and history, take us to seemingly secret locations to explore and experience breathtaking adventures! On several of our adventures we were the only ones there, which made us feel as though we rented an island to ourselves :) We left Dominica with a huge amount of knowledge and respect for the island. We can't wait to go back to Roots again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous stay at Roots Jungle Retreat!

    Fabulous stay at Roots Jungle Retreat!

    • Guest Sarah (Virgin Islands)
    • Date of stay 06/05/10
    • Review Submitted 06/29/10
    Our stay at the Roots Jungle Retreat was excellent! We stayed at two different places during our one week long trip to Dominica and overall the Roots was more enjoyable and a better value. It was a fun adventure to be completely off the grid, and we loved falling asleep to the sound of a rushing river right outside our door. Even better was waking up to the smell of Staci's awesome cooking - every breakfast and dinner was absolutely delicious! Staci and Pat were attentive, welcoming hosts and I would recommend the Roots Jungle Retreat as a nature-inspired experience to anyone visiting Dominica.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/12/10
    • Review Submitted 03/12/10
    My husband and I spent 6 nights at Roots Jungle Retreat, and it was the best vacation we've ever had! Pat and Staci were great hosts - they picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, listened attentively to our travel styles and suggested outings that met our desires, and provided the perfect jungle setting in which to enjoy our time on Dominica. Staci's food was out of this world - finding food staples can be challenging on the island, but Staci is able to create the most amazing meals with what's locally available. I am sure we'll never be able to eat like that on another trip again! Pat was a great guide - he took us to several locations (Emerald Pool, Sari Sari Falls, Jacko Falls, Red Rock, Portsmouth, Roseau) and is knowledgeable not only about the island, but the majority of the Caribbean as well (he served as a charter boat captain for years). Two things to note that may make or break your vacation, depending on your agility and idea of how to spend your vacation days: there are a lot of steps and stairs on the property, and some are steep - they would not be suitable for someone who is not in shape or who has poor balance. Not the slightest deterrent for us, but I wouldn't take someone there who would have difficulty climbing several flights of stairs several times a day. The other would be the fact that this establishment is completely off-grid. Leave the blow drier at home, because the inverter won't be able to produce enough wattage to handle it - just stick your head out the truck window on your way to your next destination, and go with it. There is gravity fed water, a hot water shower in a separate hut (or use the solar shower in the kai pai), and a composting toilet in each kai pai, which was more than fine for us. I'd highly recommend this for someone who loves a direct connection with nature - we fell asleep to chirping frogs and awoke to the sounds of the jungle awakening from its sleep. The rushing waters of the river were so relaxing from the larger kai pai, and the smaller kai pai has a charm all its own (we actually stayed in both units during our trip). Our kids are so enchanted with our pictures and adventure that they are saving up to come back with us in a few years! Thanks Pat and Staci - we can't say enough good things about our trip!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/07/10
    • Review Submitted 02/07/10
    We arrived at Roots Jungle Retreat following a stay at three other places across the island. We set it as our last site due to location to the airport. Our host, Pat, so graciously picked us up from our place across the island. We knew we had arrived as soon as we saw the beautiful, natural, and artful accommodations (see the pictures). Words can’t describe how much Pat and Staci went beyond the limits in preparing a comfortable, well equipped, cozy jungle retreat. Quickly we saw that we definitely saved the best for last. Some of the highlights were tasty meals prepared deliciously by Staci, daily views of the Sisserou parrots just above Pat and Staci’s place (we thought we had to give up the idea of seeing these parrots earlier), tubing with Pat, a tour of and visit with the Caribe Indians and opportunity to purchase their beautiful baskets, a swim at the waterfall that is onsite, beautiful rainforest flowers in our kai pai, and daily hikes that take you back in time fooling you into thinking you are in Jurassic Park. My best nights of sleep were there. But really the best part of the trip was Pat and Staci’s stories and conversations. Unlike our other hosts, Pat and Staci spent time with us- sharing tales of their past and current adventures (and there are many) and their involvement with the people of Dominica. Ask Pat about female pirates!! As if you could not tell by now, we give Roots Jungle Retreat our highest recommendation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Taylor 1 (Oxnard Ca)
    • Date of stay 11/23/09
    • Review Submitted 11/23/09
    What can we say about Roots Jungle retreat…Wonderful….One of the best experiences we’ve ever had! Pat and Staci are very warm, funny and accommodating. The Kai/Pai cottages were very clean well built and in true sense of the word “green”. Pat and Staci really make you feel welcome and at home, from the fresh bread in the mornings to the stories that will have you laughing. They are well versed in the many activities that beautiful Dominica has to offer, from our Trip to the waterfalls at Sari Sari to the secret beaches. We highly recommend taking a hike down the fresh spring that runs right on their property you will feel like your truly at one with nature. Every time we think of our experiences there it brings back a genuine smile to our faces. We highly recommend Roots Jungle retreat to anyone who is ready for peace and quiet or an adventure you will never forget. Thank you Pat and Staci.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/24/09
    • Review Submitted 09/24/09
    Our stay at Roots Jungle Retreat made for a perfect vacation in Dominica. Staci and Pat were ideal hosts, and helped us prepare to have a fantastic time on-island from the moment we got in touch with them to plan our stay. We loved the Roots property itself, which combines the best of indoor and outdoor living. The Kaipai we stayed in was clean, comfortable and equipped with every modern convenience, and yet fully open to the wild and captivating rain forest Roots is surrounded by. The river that flows through the property is clean and fresh, and offers a beautiful nook for bathing steps away from the Kaipais, and a gorgeous waterfall and swimming hole just a few steps farther. We Loved bathing in the river, don't miss the opportunity if you should be lucky enough to stay at Roots! Another thing no food-loving traveller would want to miss is Staci's cooking. She's a master, and each of her meals was beautifully prepared with fresh ingredients and love. Delicious! We also hugely enjoyed spending time hiking and talking with Staci and Pat. They are incredibly knowledgeable and interesting people, and they have a love for the island and the people of Dominica that is inspirational. It was really a special thing to be able to explore the island with them. While Roots is an especially fun treat for those with adventurous hearts, anyone who enjoys being in touch with the natural world and experiencing its wonders should have a fantastic and memorable time there. Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/07/09
    • Review Submitted 09/07/09
    We had a wonderful time at Roots Jungle Retreat. The grounds are absolutely stunning, deep in the heart of the rain forest. The kai-pai/cabin was very cozy and clean, designed and built with taste and care. Pat & Staci were excellent hosts during our stay - knowledgeable, helpful, warm and very friendly. Staci is an incredible cook - every single meal she prepared was delicious. Pat and Staci are also excellent tour guides. They took us on several expeditions around Dominica, such as going to the beaches and waterfalls around the island, as well as some snorkelling trips where they showed us many fascinating hard-to-find sea creatures and amazing tropical fish. Everything about our stay was just perfect, highest recommnedation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]