Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Enjoy this incredible, unobstructed view from the deck.

Incredible Views - Check Out Our Spring Specials [#23710] | View Property

Grayton Beach
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths (Sleeps 15-17)
$430 - $629/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (34)

Sort by:
  • great value!

    great value!

    • Guest corinna w.
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    Our family recently enjoyed a great stay at "Southern Sons East". The owners were responsive from my first inquiry through the end of our stay. While this house is not brand new, it will appeal to folks seeking a good value. The kitchen was well-stocked and the beds were comfortable. Again, not the latest, but clean and well-maintained. Since it was often chilly and windy during our stay, the heated pool was a definite plus. There is also a new huge flat-screen tv in the living room. As long as no house is built in the lot across the street, you will feel like you're directly on the beach. We enjoyed happy hour on the large deck overlooking the beach, ocean and sunset. Also, the house is in a quiet location in what can be a busy area. We felt we were sharing the beach with just a few other families, yet when we traveled beyond the Gulf Trace neighborhood, we were surprised to see so many other vacationers (in Seaside, etc.) We rented bikes and for $50/ea for the week they were dropped off a the home with lock, helmet and basket. A great way to get around and avoid the bumper-to-bumper traffic during Spring Break. Thanks again Tom and Becky!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Beach House

    Perfect Beach House

    • Guest Paul (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/29/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    It has been so enjoyable to spend a week in your dream home! We have been visiting the South Walton area for 10 years, and this was by far our favorite place! Southern Sons East we found to be a very well maintained home, in a beautiful neighborhood and a pristine beach view! It was a perfect location for a great beach vacation. The house is very close to Grayton Beach State Park, Seaside, Watercolor and a very short walk to the beach - which from the house has a beautiful view which we enjoyed every day of our stay. The deck overlooks the beautiful Gulf of Mexico, and we enjoyed a relaxing cocktail every night while we watched the sunset. It was perfect!!! It was a perfect size house, with plenty of room and privacy with an open space downstairs for the family to gather together. The furnishings were both comfortable and fun. The house was very clean, freshly decorated and it accommodated all of our needs. The entire family loved the landscape, and the comfortable feel of the home. We will definitely return to Southern Sons East for future vacations to the beautiful gulf coast. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Amanda (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    Hi Tom, We had a wonderful stay at your house in Grayton Beach this past weekend! The house is so cozy and the views are amazing! We saw so many dolphins from the porch and had a fabulous stay. We will definitely be contacting you next year for another stay! :) Thank you for being great and answering all of our questions.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Chris and family, Thank you for the kind words. We work hard to keep our home up and clean for families like yours. We are glad that your vacation, the Grayton Beach area and weather all met your needs and look forward to hearing from you next year. Our policy for returning guests is to charge this years rate next year. Thanks again and have a wonderful holiday season. Tom and Becky

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beware of condtion of rental and owners lack of care.

    Beware of condtion of rental and owners lack of care.

    • Guest Jennifer (Clermont,fl )
    • Date of stay 03/11/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We rented the home only to find the home in very bad condition. When we first arrived we had a hard time finding the staircase up to the house because of the overgrown shrubs that covered them, and the bee's that infested them. Once we came up to the balcony/deck that wrapped around the house to be in a very dangerous state! We have children, this was a huge safety issue! Once we entered the inside of the home the kitchen seemed to be the only new part of the house! The bottom bathrooms toilet was broken (The handle and back of the toilet was shattered) The owner was aware and saw this! We proceeded to go up the stairs to the 2nd floor, we noticed the carpet was beyond dirty! My children hurried into the room with the bunk beds only to find the top was covered with debri from the popcorn ceilings. The dressers in this bedroom also had food wrappers and crumbs in them... The coffee maker also had used coffee inside... I was so disgusted! We did arrive in the afternoon so we hurried down to watch the wonderful sunset, the beach was wonderful! We came back from the beach and we went to use the downstairs bathroom to wash our feet. Only to find sticky stuff all over the faucet, again yuck! As you can see the home has a great ocean view due to the home across the street was lost in a previous hurricane, but you can not enter the beach at that point.You must walk a little further to a walk/stairs to enter. We decided when we came back that evening to check out the grill on the pool deck, maybe we could grill out and enjoy the heated pool. NOPE!! The pool deck was covered with ants and the grill had crusty old food and grime on it! It was also in very condition! The pool heater was not working at all, as you can see this was not going well! We contacted the owner and we only stayed one day, which we planned on staying week. It was very hard to find a new home to rent on short notice but we could not keep our family in this home. We left the home and found a new location! I contacted the owner to let him know when we left his rental we left behind our camera charger in his home and we would like to get it back, he refused to let us back into the home. He said he would mail it to me along with our security deposit. (it was vacation we needed our camera charger, he was being spiteful) It has almost been a year and we had not received either! I wish the county in this area would inspect these homes as I find this one it be it very very bad condition!

    Owner response: Since 2003 our home has welcomed over 253-families to our beach home without a single negative comment. Between guests all beds are striped and made with fresh linens. All surfaces in the kitchen and bathrooms are cleaned and sanitized. The carpet, which is cleaned professionally at the least annually, is vacuumed and the tile floors swept, mopped with a cleaner and sanitized with bleach. Our home was built in the 70’s with an extensive remodeling prior to our purchase in 2002. Every year we upgrade our home to include: fresh paint, new bed and bath linens, appliances, carpet, flooring, new deck and railing, granite countertops, bathroom fixtures, blinds, interior and exterior doors. On Saturday, March 19, 2011, we arrived to prepare our home for our arriving guests, a young couple with 2-elementary school aged children. Our previous guests included a house full of high school seniors and college students. On arrival we were greeted with 2-coolers full of empty beer cans, a funnel, hose, and a cracked toilet tank cover. The arriving guests had not mailed their damage deposit so we stayed to collect. I knew that they had children so I tried to start the pool heater but because of a faulty electrical service breaker it would not start. I told them that I had arranged to have it repaired in the morning and about the cracked toilet lid. Sunday afternoon I received a call from our guests saying that they had found another place and were leaving and that they wanted a full refund. They mentioned that the AC tech told them that it would take more than a day to heat our pool, absolutely a false statement. They also mentioned that there were coffee grinds left in the coffee maker and paper in some dresser drawers. I apologized for the coffee maker and told them that I would charge them for the night. They insisted on a full refund and then put a hold on their credit card payment. We agreed to a payment of less than half of our normal nightly fee and I paid to have a representative, who helps us, meet them and verify that our home was secure. Later in the week they mentioned that they had left a camera charger. I told them that I could arrange for my rep to meet them but that they would have to pay her for her time. They refused and I told them that I would return the charger. We did not find the charger when we returned and assumed that either they found it or somehow entered our home without our knowledge.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest James, Hall, Henny and Shipp
    • Date of stay 11/01/08
    • Review Submitted 10/31/08
    We were as relaxed and comfortable as 4-friends could possibly be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Delozier and Vaughn
    • Date of stay 08/02/08
    • Review Submitted 08/01/08
    This is 4-years and we think it is better each year. What a wonderful place for family to get together.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Shelley17 (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 07/10/08
    • Review Submitted 07/10/08
    We stayed here in 2007 and have 21 days until we will be back. This is the best, most beautiful location in the world and we have been to some spectacular places. This will be our vacation place of choice until we buy our own. Awesome owners, awesome house, most awesome beach!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Websters
    • Date of stay 06/21/08
    • Review Submitted 06/20/08
    Once again we had an amazing trip. The house was everything we wanted and more. We'll be back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Whites
    • Date of stay 09/09/07
    • Review Submitted 09/08/07
    We had a perfect family vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Reifschneider
    • Date of stay 09/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/31/07
    Great golf, great beach, great house, the only thing better would be if the house was ours forever!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Taylor
    • Date of stay 03/10/07
    • Review Submitted 03/09/07
    Thank you, thank you, thank you! We had an amaxing time. Our wedding was everything that we could dream of. This place is really a home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lackey
    • Date of stay 08/24/06
    • Review Submitted 08/23/06
    This was the 1st time in the area and we will be back. We loved the amazing view and the overall location was great.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest DeLozier & Vaughn
    • Date of stay 07/22/06
    • Review Submitted 07/21/06
    What a wonderful 2-weeks - our second year in a great house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ganns, Hills & Williams
    • Date of stay 07/08/06
    • Review Submitted 07/07/06
    We had the best trip to the beach we've ever had!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Towey's and Tweeds
    • Date of stay 06/24/06
    • Review Submitted 06/23/06
    The veiw and proximity to the beach are excellent.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Towey
    • Date of stay 06/16/06
    • Review Submitted 06/15/06
    Your home and accomadations were more than we expected. The kitchen is well equiped, loved the pool and the access and view fantastic. We would definitely like to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Webster's
    • Date of stay 06/03/06
    • Review Submitted 06/02/06
    We had the best vacation ever! Your home had everuything we needed and having our own pool was wonderful!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Vidrine's
    • Date of stay 10/05/04
    • Review Submitted 10/04/04
    Pure southern hospitality!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Powell Clark, Boren & Peterson
    • Date of stay 08/13/04
    • Review Submitted 08/12/04
    It was wonderful, everything we were looking for!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kramer's, Villarreal's & Holder's
    • Date of stay 08/07/04
    • Review Submitted 08/06/04
    You really made us feel at home, but home was never like this!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The King Family
    • Date of stay 07/10/04
    • Review Submitted 07/09/04
    The 2 sides are perfect for our 4-generation family. We felt right at home immediately and could hardly tear ourselves away from another fantastic vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Smith's, Etie's & Parker's
    • Date of stay 07/03/04
    • Review Submitted 07/02/04
    The house felt like home. This whole area is awesome!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chewning's
    • Date of stay 06/05/04
    • Review Submitted 06/04/04
    We'll be talking about our Grayton Beach vacation forever!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Cottrell's & Sayers
    • Date of stay 05/01/04
    • Review Submitted 04/30/04
    What a great Vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Fuller
    • Date of stay 03/20/04
    • Review Submitted 03/19/04
    It was 2 weeks of great family time, we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Hunts
    • Date of stay 10/19/03
    • Review Submitted 10/18/03
    Beautiful, Perfect Vacation - Good restaurants & spectacular beach! The kids loved the pool!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 10/05/03
    • Review Submitted 10/04/03
    Thank you for sharing your warm and friendly home with each and everyone of us. We enjoyed the pool to the fullest. I hope we can return in the near future. From 18 rested people from Alabama and Ohio for a wonderful time! The Childers, Watkins, Brashears, and Hurts. P.S. The sunsets were out of the world as no two were alike!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 09/21/03
    • Review Submitted 09/20/03
    Thank your for sharing your terrific beach house! We enjoyed our stay very much. Having a private pool was wonderful. The ocean was crystal clear and the weather perfect. The Masseys, Sniders, Williams, Evans, Edmonds and James Families.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Reece & Powell Families
    • Date of stay 09/08/03
    • Review Submitted 09/07/03
    Thanks for the memories! We enjoyed our time here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Klines
    • Date of stay 08/20/03
    • Review Submitted 08/19/03
    Had a great time! This is definitely the time of year to come to the beach. Great weather and no crowds!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest LaVallee
    • Date of stay 08/16/03
    • Review Submitted 08/15/03
    Thank you for sharing your beach house with us! We really enjoyed it! The location was terrific and the accomadations quite comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool, ping-pong, and the PS2. What a terrific ending to our sumer. We will all have such fond memories of this beach!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 08/02/03
    • Review Submitted 08/01/03
    What a fun house! We've had a great time! Taylor, Brooke, Julie, Dennis, Rick, Sarah, Ross, Carol, and Biron.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Arvidsons
    • Date of stay 07/05/03
    • Review Submitted 07/04/03
    We had a great time. Our family of 25 rented both sides of the house and spent the week here together. We celebrated the renewal of our aunt and uncles wedding vows (37 years). We used the pool for the reception.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Kings
    • Date of stay 06/28/03
    • Review Submitted 06/27/03
    Had a blast! Love your place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]