Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Very Nice Log Vacation Home.

Grand Canyon Solar Powered Vacation Home,25mi to Park Entrance [#239313] | View Property

Grand Canyon
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)
$235/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful, comfortable cabin, pretty location!

    Beautiful, comfortable cabin, pretty location!

    • Guest B. S.
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    This cabin is beautiful, well-maintained, clean, and comfortable. The owner was very fast at responding to questions and we liked the self-sufficient nature of the cabin with the wood pellet stove, the solar power, and the backup generators. We were impressed with the attention to detail. Considering that, the only (minor) suggestion we have is to provide some hand soap in the bathroom sinks. We enjoyed our stay here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best place in middle of nowhere

    Best place in middle of nowhere

    • Guest Tom (Fort Myers, FL)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    We had always wanted to try a place "off the grid". This cabin was just that. About a 30 min drive to the south rim of the Grand Canyon, it was a great location. The cabin looks new. Was clean and had all the needed supplies for cooking. It is not for travelers accustomed to staying in a resort. We were there in March, so had to use a wood burning stove for heat. We used too much power one night so there was not enough left in the batteries to power the house overnight. I woke up and had to start the backup generator till the sun came up. But these are the things we wanted to experience. So, if you are up for an adventure, this is a good place to stay. But, there is no bellman to get your bags.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • BEYOND WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT

    BEYOND WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT

    • Guest julie (Valparaiso, IN)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    We went with another couple. This home is beautiful!! Roger was very helpful in answering all of our questions prior to and during our stay. So much better than staying in a hotel. The home was very clean and well equipped for our stay. Beds were very comfortable. It did make us realize how me might be wasting electricity. The last two days, it was cloudy out and lost power. The generator started right away. We only had to use it for an hour or so in the evening and turned it off before going to bed and all was fine. The property is secluded but very easy to find. Only wildlife we saw was a coyote as we were leaving to go to the Grand Canyon. Great location if going to the Grand Canyon!!! All in all, everything was wonderful....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much, Julie !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Remote but very accessible, family friendly cabin

    Remote but very accessible, family friendly cabin

    • Guest Charan (Los Angeles area)
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    We had a family reunion at the cabin between 8/8/12 - 8/12/12. The cabin was very much as the owner Roger had described in the listing as well as follow up documentation provided by email. The cabin was easily located two miles off the main highway by gravel road, again just as described. Say hello to the cows as you drive in. The dirt trail gets a little muddy as you approach the property, specially if it has rained recently. Bonus points for getting the SUVs looking muddy and rugged! Also, the view from the cabin was simply terrific - horizon to horizon with beautiful sunrise and sunset. The property was very well maintained and clean inside and out, with plenty of sheets and extra towels available for all. The eco-friendly power and water infrastructure definitely taught us all to be mindful of our consumption habits (use only what you need!). The kids in our group, from age six to nineteen all had much to appreciate in terms of conservation of our resources. On the way in to the Grand Canyon area, we stopped by the Safeway grocery store in Williams and stocked up on 4 days of supplies for our group. It definitely helps to have a Safeway club card handy for extra savings! The Grand Canyon National Park entrance is only about 25 minutes up the highway so getting there and back was really easy, even in waning sunlight. We would highly recommend this property to our friends and relatives, and also consider staying there again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great way to experience and enjoy Arizona's beauty

    Great way to experience and enjoy Arizona's beauty

    • Guest Joe (Garnet Valley, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 07/31/12
    The listing description and photographs are very accurate...in fact this cabin and property are even more impressive in person. The owners keep the everthing very clean, un-cluttered and organized. Great location; we enjoyed day trips to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Williams etc. We also enjoyed the remote feel of the wide open surrounding land. We heard coyotes howling, watched the steer wandering, and enjoyed a camp fire and the beautiful starry night skies. For a great meal at a reasonable price go the Pine Wood Restaurant in Williams or the Bright Angel Lodge within the park....AVOID eating or buying anything in Tusayan.... Gas is 50 cents more per gallon in Tusayan and (2) medium pizzas cost $50.00 at Pizza Hut express!! We will recommend this rental to anyone interested in visiting the Grand Canyon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Nice secluded stay

    Nice secluded stay

    • Guest Holly N. (Keller, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    Thank you for a great stay. This house was perfect for my family, three children 11, 8 and 6, my husband and myself. The kids enjoyed the swing set in the backyard and the movies. We had to run the generator a few times because we used too much power, but it was not a big deal getting it restored. The night sky was amazing! No neighbors in sight and total silence except for nature. Great start to our vacation. No reason to stay at Grand Canyon when this gem is so close. Thanks again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Holly !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Retreat

    Beautiful Retreat

    • Guest Kate (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 06/14/12
    My mom, sister and I recently spent 4 nights here celebrating my mom's retirement. We loved the house the minute we drove up and saw it. It had all the amenities one could ask for. I greatly enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen to make breakfasts and dinners. We each had our own bedroom and plenty of space to relax otherwise. We enjoyed meals on the deck and watching the sunset behind the house. The drive into the Grand Canyon was easy and perfect for our daily hikes. The stars were fantastic at night, you could see them starting at the horizon. I'm so glad I found this place - it was the perfect location to relax and unwind.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Off the Grid

    Off the Grid

    • Guest Lourdes B. (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 06/05/12
    • Review Submitted 06/08/12
    The house is beautiful and offers amazing star gazing opportunities. We never had to use the back up generator and were impressed at how efficient the solar panels worked to power the house. The washer/dryer availability was fantastic after staying several nights at hotels. Everything you need to cook is available, except a microwave, but do plan on taking bath soap/shampoo for your stay. If you have allergies, do be aware that the house is dusty because you are in a very remote area, about 2 miles of unpaved road to the house. The cabin is relatively close to restaurants, a market and the south entrance to the Grand Canyon, about a 25 - 30 minutes drive.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House in secluded area

    Great House in secluded area

    • Guest Stevo3 (Philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/12
    House was as advertised and everything was great! The stars at night are unbelievable!!! Had no issues with power, although we didn't get back til later in the evening. Owner was great and rental process was very smooth, he answered all my questions! The house made our Grand Canyon trip a success!! Much better than staying at a hotel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Grand Canyon

    Grand Canyon

    • Guest J & H (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    We went to visit the Grand Canyon, and chose this house based on its proximity to the South Rim. There is a 2 mile drive off the highway on dirt roads to the house, but once we arrived, we found an stunning home with all the amenities we needed. It's amazing how much you think of your energy use when you stay in a place like this. Very enlightening, which is the owner's point, I think. We ended up leaving a day early because of predicted 6" of snow, which was unfortunate. Overall, beautiful home in a quiet setting, but perfectly situated if you are visiting the South Rim.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Thank you, Sorry for the snow. Most visitors do not get to see this during their trip to AZ. Roger

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great spot to get away!

    Great spot to get away!

    • Guest jd (nor calif)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/01/12
    This cabin is in an awesome high desert location with great access to the Grand Canyon. It's very comfortable and we were happy to be in such a sustainable property. The solar system worked well; we never used the backup generator. It was also nice to be away from the internet and TV. The kitchen is roomy and well supplied, which is good because the nearby restaurants are only adequate. Stock up on groceries in Williams on your way.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Jim, Glad you had a very good time and thank you so much Roger

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Off the beaten path

    Off the beaten path

    • Guest shadargee (Laguna Niguel, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    This cabin is totally awesome. We just got back from our vacation and really enjoyed our stay. We didn't realize you would have to take a dirt road to get there, so were a little surprised, but it worked out. It was so quiet and serene, you could hear the silence. Being a 'city girl', I had never seen so many stars in my life. The sunrise had such a calming affect on the soul, and watching the sunset with a glass of wine was pure heaven. The cabin is well equipped for families, and very suitable for small children. My daughter loved finding the bucket of toys and swingset to play with.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Ashish, yes it is quite unbelievable how many stars can been seen in the night sky.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for a family trip to the Grand Canyon!

    Perfect for a family trip to the Grand Canyon!

    • Guest Brian N. (SE Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/03/11
    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
    This was our family's first trip to Arizona and we were really struggling with where to stay to visit the Grand Canyon. I was leery of the "touristy" places in Tusayan. Williams and Flagstaff both seemed like too long of a drive to make several days in a row. The Canyon Eco Cabin turned out to be perfect. A 25-minute drive to get to the park was a no-brainer trade-off to stay in a place where you really have to search to find another building between you and the horizon. But don't let the remoteness scare you, as time at the cabin was not much different than time at home, with (almost) every amenity you could ask for. (The coddled suburbanite in me says an Internet connection would have been nice. We managed to survive, though.... ;) ) Except for the solar shed out back, we really didn't notice that we were "off the grid"! It was very clean, too. Our family, as a rule, never takes off our shoes in hotels or other vacation rentals. With this cabin, we changed our rule. The owner has a great property and does a nice job of hosting. He was in contact with us enough to make sure we had everything we needed, but also kept out of the way and let us enjoy this fabulous corner of the earth in peace. We were turly sad to leave when we did. Thanks for helping us make great family memories!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Brian.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Off the beaten path, but worth it!

    Off the beaten path, but worth it!

    • Guest GD-ATL (Sandy Springs GA)
    • Date of stay 05/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    This unique home is definitely off the beaten path. But when you travel down 2 miles of gravel roads, you find yourself at a neat home with a front porch, views to Red Butte behind and snow-capped peaks in front. There really isn't anything in site except the great outdoors! The owner was considerate in contacting us by cellphone the day before we arrived and the day of our departure to make sure our visit was satisfactory. We didn't know what to expect from a home "off the grid" but what we found was every comfort we needed (including washer/dryer), and plenty of power from the solar system and batteries, despite being there for 2 days with overcast skies and a dusting of snow! We did use the pellet stove for heating, which not only provided good heat, it gave a pleasant fireplace glow! We traveled with our 2 college-age kids, and all enjoyed the visit. It is about 25 miles South of the Grand Canyon, but the drive in to the Canyon was easy, parking no problem and the tour buses in the GCNP simplify getting around in the Park. This certainly was better than staying in a hotel!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Vacation to Remeber!

    A Vacation to Remeber!

    • Guest Mim (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 06/27/10
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    We spent 10 days at this lovely solar power home and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit the Grand Canyon. There are 7 in our family and we found the home comfortable and it met all of our needs. You would never know you were living off the grid as everything worked and performed wonderfully. We spent most of our trip exploring the canyon but found the drive to Sedona beautiful and a perfect day trip. The local airplane museum was a big hit and we enjoyed driving a bit of Route 66 in Williams. Overall we could not have had a better time. The stars were amazing to gaze at and the local wildlife kept us always on the lookout! You never know what you will see pass on by...the kids loved it! Thank you Velez Family for sharing your home with us! If we make it back to the Canyon we would definately rent again from you!!

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind words and it is wonderful to hear that you had a nice time exploring the Northern AZ area. AZ is an amazing State with a lifetime of places to see and visit. I am very glad you had a good time. Thank you Mim.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/23/10
    Had a wonderful vacation in October 2009 - the house is amazing - tranquil and very comfortable. The peace and quiet would make just staying at the house a wonderful experience, without the awesome sight of the Grand Canyon just up the road.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words. Roger Enjoy Life+++

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Richard64 (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 08/29/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    This property is completely UNDER-advertised! Don’t be fool by this ad!We spent two nights there in Aug’09, from this ad, we can barely imagine how amazing our experience could have been! The house is elegantly manicured, thoughtfully equipped, while balancing with the natural beauty of the Arizona landscape – The sky at night was stunning, just watching milky way and listening to the Elk humming provides one of the greatest urban escape destinations in southwest. We would love to return in a heartbeat!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]