Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Spacious Luxury in the heart of downtown San Diego

Spacious Luxury in the Heart of the Gaslamp Quarter! [#239457] | View Property

Gaslamp Quarter
3600 Sq.Ft., 2 Master Suites, 2.5 Baths, sleeps up to 6
$350 - $375 per night (USD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (38)

Sort by:
  • Downtown living at its finest!

    Downtown living at its finest!

    • Guest Jill D. (Carlsbad, California)
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 12/26/13
    We had a marvelous stay at the Gaslamp Townhouse! We live in Carlsbad, but wanted to be able to stay downtown for a few days during the holidays. It was everything we could have hoped for and then some! Besides being clean, spacious and we'll-equipped, the interior decor and layout were inspiring and beautiful! Love the artwork and architecture, and I personally appreciated the living greenery in the home. It is centrally located, we walked everywhere and took in all that Gaslamp has to offer - restaurants, Horton plaza, movie theater, retail shops, as well as walking to Seaport Village and Convention Center. It is noisy at night on the 5th St side (granted, we were there during holidays on a weekend), but nothing some earplugs couldn't fix when you were ready to sleep. Besides, it added to the energy and excitement of the experience. Definitely recommend taking advantage of the prepaid parking at Park it on Market. Kathy and Marilyn (the property managers) were very accommodating and communicative, very easy to book this VRBO. Have already recommended this place to friends. My husband and two teenagers (19 and 16) also loved it and we can't wait to staycation there again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Had a Wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Had a Wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Guest Diane B.
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/01/13
    My Family and I just spent a wonderful week at the Gaslamp Townhouse for Thanksgiving. We normally get 2 hotel rooms or the Presidential Suite at a hotel not far away but decided to try something a little different this time. What a wonderful decision and a pleasant surprise. It was just perfect in every way. The pictures do this place no justice at all. It's very well appointed, clean and comfortable. I had read the reviews of local noise so I knew what to expect. Yes, evenings were noisy. I'm a light sleeper so some nights (except Mon-Wed) were challenging but we laughed it off until we fell asleep. It was hilarious listening to Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Techno AND karaoke from the 4 nightclubs across the street... all at once! I think if the townhouse had better windows, the noise level could be more bearable. However, we'll be back!!!! Just being able to walk out the door and grab a Margarita, lunch, go shopping, take the babies out, etc.... was priceless. My daughters enjoyed hanging out and not having to hale a pedi-cab. We had one little problem and the owner came over the very next morning to have it fixed. That was impressive. Parking across the street was really easy. The rear elevator only worked on our arrival and departure days but we wouldn't have used it anyway. Just needed it for luggage. We've already decided we'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great location, beautiful property

    great location, beautiful property

    • Guest Patricia A.
    • Date of stay 10/06/13
    • Review Submitted 11/01/13
    I stayed at this property in early October for a work meeting at the convention center. My mom and my cousin tagged along with me for some fun and R&R. This was my first experience with a vacation rental so I felt like I had a lot of questions prior to arrival, all of which were quickly answered. The location is four easy blocks from the convention center and in the middle of the lively gaslamp district of San Diego. The restaurant and shopping options are impressive and all are within steps of the townhouse. Parking is easy even though it's not on site. We parked our car upon arrival and did not need it until we left. Everything we wanted to do was either within walking distance or an easy cab drive away. To give an idea of the things we did without using our car: walked multiple times daily to the convention center, walked to the US Midway and all along the water, cabbed to Old Town for dinner and shopping, took a cab to the airport, walked to the mall and to all restaurants and local shops, etc etc. Cabs were plentiful and cheap and everything else was right there or a really pleasant walk away. The townhouse itself is gorgeous. The owner has an office on the basement level, there is a quiet retail store on the street level, and the rental is the top two floors. The pictures don't do it justice - it's more beautiful than the pictures could ever show. I met the owner and she truly seems to care about the property and the experience we had while staying there. Everything we needed was on site. I read the prior reviews about the noise and I was a little concerned because my husband and I have no kids or pets and we live in a quiet small-town neighborhood in Tennessee with NO noise. The location of the townhouse is in the heart of the vibrant gaslamp district, so while I can understand others' comments, I chose to come prepared with earplugs for everyone and enjoy the property and location. I was not the least bit disappointed. Know ahead of time that there will be typical city noise and bring what you need to handle it. It's nothing out of the ordinary and none of us had any complaints at all. I would return to this rental in a heartbeat. We just loved it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely amazing

    Absolutely amazing

    • Guest Anson T.
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    I went down here for a work conference and wanted to avoid doing a hotel again; I am so glad I found this place! Absolutely amazing location! The townhouse is nicely appointed and the patio, which is very secluded, was the best part. Will definitely come here again with the family and on a vacation so I can get better use out of this place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing place in an amazing location

    Amazing place in an amazing location

    • Guest Anson T.
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    I opted to avoid hotels while down here for a work conference; I am very glad I did as this place is amazing (and a steal compared to the hotels in the area). The living room and bedrooms were very nicely done, interesting decorations but not too over the top and the bed was comfortable. Kitchen was modern and the patio outback was my default place to unwind. You can hear the noise from the street but it's very secluded. There is no parking around here but we flew in and used taxis and Lyft which made life easy. Will definitely come again but be sure to be on vacation so I can enjoy the place more.

    Owner response: Thanks Anson for your excellent review. WE DO HAVE PARKING ACROSS THE STREET IN A SECURED GARAGE. We hope you will come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous property and amazing location!

    Gorgeous property and amazing location!

    • Guest Vic H. (null)
    • Date of stay 07/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    The last time I rented a place using HomeAway the unit did not live up to expectations or the photos. Here, I'm happy to report to have the opposite experience. The townhome was beautiful - light, airy and architecturally interesting. It was great staying in a restored home that was built well over 100 years ago (it has quite a history). I had quite a few people staying with me and there were air mattresses provided, along with extra linens and towels. Also, the location is perfect. Four blocks for the San Diego Convention Center, and right on 5th Ave, right in the middle of restaurants and clubs. Staff was very helpful, no issues there whatsoever. The only recommendation I might make would be to convert the second upstairs bathroom to include a shower. Such a large place probably has groups of six or more staying, and having only one shower can cause the need for scheduling. :) Minor nitpick though, would definitely (and hope to) stay again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gaslamp townlouse

    Gaslamp townlouse

    • Guest Leigh Ann G.
    • Date of stay 05/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    our stay at the gaslamp townhouse was nothing but perfect. The townhouse is furnished perfectly, the décor is inviting and wonderful. It met our needs perfectly. It is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, nightlife. The outdoor area was relaxing, and tastefully decorated.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great time in the Gaslamp!

    Great time in the Gaslamp!

    • Guest Rachel P.
    • Date of stay 12/08/12
    • Review Submitted 12/24/12
    This is an ideal location to be in the heart of downtown. We had guests from out-of-town and even though we live in downtown San Diego we wanted to be on vacation ourselves. It was a great weekend. We had a great visit with our friends in the very spacious townhouse and enjoyed all the amenities, epecially the back patio and large living area. We also enjoyed being about to just walk out the door and be steps from the restaurants, shopping and nightlife. It couldn't have been a more convenient spot. We hope to do it again soon and highly recommend this spot for out of town guests or locals. It is the best staycation ever!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most amazing and surprising place

    Most amazing and surprising place

    • Guest Joe C.
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    We stayed for 4 days during Thanksgiving weekend. This townhouse is a wonderful place to stay. One block to theatre and three blocks to the mall. Many resturants and bars on the same street and we were right in the middle of many exciting activities. We stay in Ritz Carlton most of our trips and this is better than any hotel we ever stayed in. Great interior design and great location. We definitely will go back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • gaslamp condo

    gaslamp condo

    • Guest andrew F.
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This is a beautiful condo in the heart of the gaslamp district of san diego. The property was well maintained, clean and provided all of the comforts of a home. It easily accommodated a get together and our guests were impressed with the beauty, spaciousness and upkeep of the condo. The listing description, layout and amenities were as described. The owner was very friendly and i would recommend the place to others.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location with amazing amenities

    Great location with amazing amenities

    • Guest bridie b.
    • Date of stay 03/02/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    We had a girl’s weekend in San Diego, I wanted the ability to cook our day time meals in house, and this kitchen is amazing. If you like the night life everything is right outside the door, there is no need for a cab. We had a wonderful time, the gaslamp town house is very large and historic; it’s just beautiful inside. We used every part of the house, from the lovely patio, kitchen, living room, dining room and both bedrooms. Only down side is it's loud in the front half of the house where one of the bedrooms is, but there is a white noise maker in the room to cut out sound that said the noise stops at 3am and starts back up at 8am. Even with that said, I would stay here again in a heart beat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Awesome, fun place!

    Awesome, fun place!

    • Guest Anne P.
    • Date of stay 02/02/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    This was the most amazing and surprising place--it was like walking into a secret palace in the midst of a bustling city! To say it was drop-dead gorgeous doesn't do it justice--the decor, the space, the architecture--all contributed to the feeling of luxury. We had so much fun exploring the surrounds--restaurants, clubs, shops--everything at our fingertips. The vibrancy of the Gaslamp District was like being in New York--but much friendlier and not so crowded! And the private garden patio was the perfect retreat at the end of the day. Next time we will stay longer so we'll have a chance to use the BBQ. Many thanks to the management who addressed our every need--even the silly ones!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Place to Stay for Girls Weekend!

    Fantastic Place to Stay for Girls Weekend!

    • Guest Rachel C.
    • Date of stay 01/19/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    Once a year our group of six women, who have been friends for 30 years, get together for a long weekend with the sole intent to reconnect, share stories, drink wine and eat good food. It is no small feat to find a date and place that works for everyone’s schedules as we travel from Wyoming, California and Arizona. So, it makes it that much more important to find a place to stay that is worth the time and effort it takes to make it happen. After days of searching for the “perfect” place near the Gaslamp Quarter for our girls’ weekend, we found the Gaslamp Townhouse and could not have been more thrilled with our luck! The house is beautiful and has so much room. The two bedrooms are very spacious with large walk in closets and each has a sitting area that accommodates a blow up mattress (which we needed to use since there is only 1 bed in each room – not the most comfortable but they worked!). There are also black out shades on the bedroom windows, which made sleeping in the next morning possible after our late nights! There are also two large bathrooms upstairs – only one has a shower (the other has a large jetted tub with a hand held shower), but even with six women getting ready we made it work! The house was very clean and Marsha and Kathy were very accommodating with our requests. One of our favorite places was the back deck where we all just hung out, listened to music (you can pipe in music in every room!), chatted, drank coffee and wine and even had a little snooze on the outside couch! It was so amazing to literally walk out the front door and into the heart of 5th Avenue surrounded by great shopping, cafes, restaurants and bars. Everything you could need or want is in walking distance! And, at night…it is party central! The back of the house is isolated from the street noise, but not the front. It did not bother us at all as we didn’t go to bed most nights until well after midnight. But, if you are looking for peace and quiet in the evening it will not happen here as the bars and restaurants do not shut down on the weekend until after 2 am. It is a small price to pay for such an amazing house in a fantastic location! We loved this place and in fact we think a return trip is a must!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place in Gaslamp!

    Great place in Gaslamp!

    • Guest Trikegirl (Granite Bay, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    This is a fabulous home in the heart of the Gaslamp! Marsha and Kathy were great to work with. I was surprised when we arrived as the pictures do not do this place justice. Open and airy with lots of beautiful art. Stunning. The bedrooms are a dream and the tub is divine. The kitchen had everything we needed and easy to work in. The ourdoor patio is large and comfortable. We were there to celebrate a graduation from MCRD. 10 min by car to the base. The locals who stopped by to celebrate with us were equally impressed with the home and location. Padres games would be a blast as it would be a easy walk to the ballpark. Can't wait to do that this summer!! Yes there are stairs, and yes it can get loud, but when you are enjoying all that the Gaslamp has to offer you really don't care. It is a small price to pay for this fantastic home and location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Stunning Place in an Amazing Location!

    A Stunning Place in an Amazing Location!

    • Guest Cathy H.
    • Date of stay 01/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/30/12
    Staying in this townhouse was to experience the lap of luxury! Wow! Absolutely gorgeous and filled with everything you could need or want! To be able to stay in such a beautiful place that is located in the middle of the Gaslamp was truly all you could ask for! The convenience, inviting and friendly neighborhood along with the vibrant life, restaurants and shops all around was truly a gift. Thank you so much for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



    • Guest Roxanne H.
    • Date of stay 11/21/11
    • Review Submitted 12/09/11
    The best way to describe this delightful townhouse is WOW! The entire week was a delight! They thought of everything, all the way down to the wave machine in the front bedroom was a perfect solution to mask the street noise. It was truly a wonderful experience and sitting out on the private back deck soaking up the southern California sun was fantastic. In addition to all of the visual wonders and comfortable surroundings both Marcia and Kathy were so accommodating to our every need. We would definitely like to visit again! 5 stars all the way!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wow! This was a perfect get-away in San Diego!

    Wow! This was a perfect get-away in San Diego!

    • Guest Mike (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 08/19/11
    • Review Submitted 02/23/12
    My entire stay at this Downtown Luxury Townhouse was exciting and romantic for any palate. My wife and I came here for a special celebration of her birthday--what a right decision to get away from the mugginess of DC and its overbearing summer heat. The Patio is a pleasant little hideaway in the rear of the property where I did my BBQ thing and spoiled her rotten in the splendid summer nighttime breezes. And later, there was so much going on--live music, dancing, Broadway-type shows, incredible restaurants and drinks for every taste. The management team was most helpful and pleasant and couldn't do enough for us.. And better yet, we rented a car so we could drive around the city, and the parking was so convenient within easy walking distance. We'll definitely be back. We hope to stay longer next time, but plan to keep this place a secret from our friends. They're liable to want to buy it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A very noisy place, day and night, stay away!

    A very noisy place, day and night, stay away!

    • Guest Theo v. (Oegstgeest)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    In the daytime the house seems very OK. But after 19:00 hours the noise from the bars and disco's at the other side of the street is terrible. Our girls (7 and 11 years old) had to sleep on the ground in a walk in closet, because they couldn't sleep in the bedroom because of the noise from outside. They even had blow up mattresses for it, so we probably weren't the first renters having this problem. The place just isn't insulated. And the place has a terrace at the back of the house. But like the bedroom in front, that one is useless because of the noise of the air conditioners of the buildings surrounding the place. I bet no one ever used the BBQ out there. That's why I don't understand all these positive reviews. The place is just not suited for most travelers. Worst of all was the response of the management: so unworthy to the to us famous American hospitality and customer service. So the lesson: don't be misled by the nice pictures of the place. Look for something else!

    Owner response: I remember this couple with the two little girls as I spent lots of extra time with them at check-in giving them directions to the nearest grocery store, restaurant choices and directions to the freeway. They said they were from a very tiny town in the Netherlands that was very remote. They were surprised to find themselves in the middle of a bustling city and would have preferred a more serene location. Our offices are located in the same building so we are conveniently available. We never heard or saw these people after they check-in and there were no further questions from them, nor complaints. We store our extra mattress in a large closet. It's difficult to understand what their complaint is regarding storage of air mattresses. Many of our guests have more than 4 people in their group and use these as needed. Our building is built entirely of brick with walls one foot thick which is excellent insulation. As advertised , the townhouse occupies the 2nd and 3rd floor of a Victorian Building in the heart of the Gaslamp District which is a dining and entertainment district. It's a shame they didn't google "GASLAMP DISTRICT'.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Fantastic townhouse and location

    Fantastic townhouse and location

    • Guest Mary B.
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/31/11
    We absolutely loved out stay in the townhouse. The interior was incredible and had all of the amenities we needed. Right outside the front door was an amazing array of restaurants and shops and all the excitement of the San Diego night life. A short walk to a huge baseball stadium, taxi rank right outside the door and even an ice cream and chocolate shop next door. What more could we need! Would definitely stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing townhouse and in the middle of everything

    Amazing townhouse and in the middle of everything

    • Guest Lydia S. (Bern, Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 07/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    We rented the townhouse for our company and had the best experience at a convention so far. The townhouse is perfect for 4 people, but sleeps easily up to 8 (and it still doesn't get crowded). You have internet and lots of room to do your work and the patio is perfect to chill out in the evenings or have a small BBQ. The kitchen is a dream and you have all the appliances you need for cooking or your quick breakfast in the morning before you head out. The townhouse is a two story building with the bedrooms and bathrooms in the upper floor and everything else downstairs. It has a small outside elevator in the back, but I wouldn't recommend the house if you are handicapped or use a wheel chair. There are a lots of stairs and you wouldn't be able to get to the upper floor without help. Besides from that the perfect retreat in an else very busy town (at least during a covention) and if you step out the front entrance you are right in the middle of everything. I wouldn't hesitate to rent the townhouse again. Thanks Marsha and Kathy for a perfect week in San Diego!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Lydia: We are glad you enjoyed COMICON... and hope to see you next year!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exactly what we were looking for....

    Exactly what we were looking for....

    • Guest Bob (York, Pa.)
    • Date of stay 05/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/13/11
    My wife and I traveled with another couple. I conferenced while they vacationed. The townhouse couldn't have been more perfect, from the ameneties to location in the Gaslamp District. Everything is there and easy to get to. Easy walking distance to the convention center. Arrangements for staying there were done with ease and very professional. Kathy took great care of us. The only problem is that I will now compare future rentals with this one! We can't wait to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • worth coming back to

    worth coming back to

    • Guest Bobby (Philippines)
    • Date of stay 03/25/11
    • Review Submitted 04/11/11
    I traveled with my wife, three boys and mom. We were all impressed as we walked in. My boys immediately took their shoes off and were lazing in the soft couch in front of the big tv. The place was huge and well-furnished. The 2 bathrooms and walk-in closets put a big smile in my wife's and mom's face because they each get their own. After a long trip from Asia, I was very happy I chose this townhouse rather than a hotel. Marsha made us feel welcome when she showed us around the property. The townhouse is close to everything including the convention center. I would definitely stay here again when i come to san diego.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • The best VRBO yet

    The best VRBO yet

    • Guest KMD (TN)
    • Date of stay 02/15/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    I have utlitized VRBO many times with a great deal of success and satisfaction. This was by far the best. A "can't miss!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Do your due dilligence before you rent this place!!!

    Do your due dilligence before you rent this place!!!

    • Guest vrboflick (Sioux Falls, SD/USA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/11
    • Review Submitted 01/21/11
    In my opinion you should not rent this place unless you like to be across the street and on top of total party chaos from about 9PM until well past 2AM 7 nights a week. In my opinion the reviews that are on the VRBO site about this place are completely wrong. Not sure about what I am saying the just ask anyone familiar with 5th Avenue of the Gaslamp District about how crazy the nightlife is and they will verify it for you. In my opinion the purveyors of this property have not mislead about the condition of the property, but they artfully omit crucial details and then are coy about it. The place Architecturally is very nice and that is why it is such a shame to be located in this area. In my opinion it is unusable for almost all people unless you plan on partying every night past 2AM then maybe calling it a night. if you stay there you may endure what we did which included every evening (this is no exaggeration and we learned the hard way): • Live music and cars so loud the windows on the front room literally shook and rattled from places like Whiskey Girl, Johnny Likes Dance an d many others. the place is a seas of bars. Our guests in that front room were eventually forced to sleep in a closet every night on an air mattress. • Each night the drunks fight occasionally and yell all the time. they will also occasionally relieve themselves in front of the unit along with the homeless people. • If you are out past 10PM when you walk back to the unit the crazed drunks will hurl insults. these are not happy drunks. These are serious party drunks. • the restaurant next door throws bottles into a dumpster every 30 minutes and the staff play basketball behind the back bedroom, smoke and swear until..again 2AM • As the bars close many seem to gravitate to the alley behind the unit to relieve themselves while their girlfriends fight with each other. • you get peace and quiet maybe from about 4AM until 7AM. then the brick remodeling begins with ladders and pounding on the building next door whom you share a common wall with...awesome!! Get the picture yet? So I don't know where these other people stayed who omitted any of this from their reviews of the Gaslamp Townhouse. It makes me somewhat suspicious of their origin. Again, if you doubt this seek anyone who really knows this area and ask them if they would stay right above Market/5th Avenue. You will be glad you did because this place in my opinion is non-rentable due to the noise an almost constant n

    Owner response: We are surprised at our guest's complaint. I, the owner, lived in the townhouse for 12 years before it became a rental and had no trouble sleeping most of the time. The Gaslamp Quarter is an international destination for Dining Entertainment and Shopping. It is difficult to imagine that anyone would wish to be within walking distance of the convention center, request a long list of restaurant locations and grocery stores then be surprised that the middle of 5th avenue is not in the suburbs...and from our other reviews most people who visit do enjoy the lively atmosphere and convenient location. There are always people who cannot be satisfied. We hope our guest realizes that his accusations are highly exaggerated and/or non existent.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/8

  • More Than You Hoped For!

    More Than You Hoped For!

    • Guest Nel (Newport, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/06/11
    • Review Submitted 01/25/11
    Looking at the photos on the site, I never dreamed that the place would look even better than pictured. Being there is like living in luxury--even the closets have chandeliers! Four of us stayed there while we attended a recent conference. It was convenient to everything we could have wanted. I agree with all the positive reviews. The response to the noise was correct: if you want to live in the midst of the action, then you have to expect that there won't be silence at night. Bring earplugs. We brought all our friends and associates staying at the conference up to see this amazing place. Also fascinating is the history--built in 1849 by a ship captain and magnificently restored in the 1980s by an interior decorator/architect couple. Adding to the comfort is the fact that there is someone on the property during the day to take care of any needs or questions. The appliances, including a wine cooler and clothes washer/dryer, look new. And the place is immaculate! I have recommended it to everyone I talked with. One caveat: you will need to climb up one flight to get there (although you can take your luggage on the wonderfully funky elevator to the patio) and another flight between the two floors. Ceilings appear to be 14 feet, which creates an even more spacious feeling, but adds a few feet to the climb. I also don't recommend it for young children and some teens because of the beautiful glass and other art work throughout the townhouse. I was even a bit worried about breaking it sometimes! Also this place will not work if a person's disability does not allow climbing stairs.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Hidden Treasure

    Hidden Treasure

    • Guest Jolene (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/07/11
    I literally felt prettier when I walked in. It is gorgeous! I stayed at the Townhouse for 3 nights over New Years Eve. It was the perfect balance of being able to walk outside and feel the energy of the gaslamp while inside felt private and relaxing! I also took my wedding photos in the Townhouse, it was lovely. Kathy and Marsha were so professional and great! I wish I could live there!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/4

  • Can't believe how good it was!

    Can't believe how good it was!

    • Guest Dakota (SF Bay Area, California)
    • Date of stay 12/09/10
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    This was by far one of the best house rentals I have ever had. The house looks exactly like the picturess and is extremely spacious and elegant! It felt like a luxury villa right in the heart of the gaslamp! It almost seemed to good to be true until we got there. I was there on business with a group and we didn't even need a car - although having the parking space was perfect! The house was also perfectly clean and very comfortable. Kathy was great at making sure that we had everything we needed. Everything was upscale - all the way down to the towels. I would recommend anyone to use this location as a rental and I will definitely be coming back soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5



    • Guest Moses (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 11/01/10
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    I signed a 1 year lease for this seemingly attractive dwelling only to find myself in a loud & very poorly insulated building that was difficult to access. Parking was terrible! The management was so horrible, I was forced to hired an attorney to deal with them. They only tended to the needs of the property when threatened with legal action. I walked away from the lease after 10months because the property was not able to provide a certificate of occupancy. ASK TO SEE ALL PROOF OF CURRENT PERMITS TO OCCUPY THE LIVING UNIT AND ASK FOR EVERYTHING IN WRITING!!!

    Owner response: This person was not a traveler, therefore his review is inappropriate. He signed a long term lease for one year while his house was being remodeled and walked out on his obligation when his remodel was done early. Very early in his tenancy he attempted to remodel my kitchen and change the lock. Since our office is in the same building, we were able to stop him before he changed my sink and faucet. After that he complained to the City of San Diego of Code Violations. Because the inspector did not find any, he complained to other government agencies, including my City Council member and the Mayor's office. He also complained to me daily of non-existent problems, then refused to allow us in the unit to inspect. He followed one of my employees down the street yelling at her. He handed his name and phone number on a piece of paper to a bride looking at the property for a future event with notes saying "don't rent" and "call me"...and videotaped the walk-thru. He also removed a lock on my Owner's Closet, placed the contents outside and sent me the bill! We are still celebrating his exit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

  • Historic Gaslamp Townhouse

    Historic Gaslamp Townhouse

    • Guest Susie (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 10/29/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    My coworkers and I stayed at the townhouse during a convention. The place was great, brimming with unique character and beautifully preserved. The convention center was within easy walking distance with restaurants, bars and even the grocery store closer. It was such a great find!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/4

  • The Best Kept Secret in the Gaslamp Quarter

    The Best Kept Secret in the Gaslamp Quarter

    • Guest sdffrobin (san diego)
    • Date of stay 09/29/10
    • Review Submitted 10/08/10
    The Gaslamp Townhouse is truly the best kept secret in the Gaslamp Quarter. It is perfectly situated in the heart of all the Gaslamp excitement, yet secluded enough to get a good night's rest. I would have never guessed that above all the great retail spaces on Fifth Avenue sits a huge, beautiful space, perfect for a couples retreat, a family gathering, or a high-end cocktail party for 50!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/4

    • Guest Pamela Turner (Charlottesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 11/07/09
    • Review Submitted 11/07/09
    When I found the Townhouse on the internet while planning my recent trip to San Diego, I thought it was too good to be true. When I arrived I was even more blown away. Words cannot convey how truly special this place is. Spacious, comfortable, beautifully decorated and a location that just can't be beat. Everytime I came in or out of the building, I felt a bit smug, like everyone on the street was watching me with envy wishing they could stay there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/4

    • Guest Woody and Dona (Alexandria, VA)
    • Date of stay 11/03/09
    • Review Submitted 11/03/09
    We've enjoyed staying at many unique properties during our travels, but none quite as nice as this townhouse. From the very professional management to the quality of the property and furnishings, it was absolutely top notch. The location can't be beat, and in our opinion, the nightly street noise just added to our enjoyment of the overall ambiance. We also enjoyed the many ceiling speakers which allowed us to pipe our iTunes music throughout the house and on the deck! Our only concern is that as word of this outstanding property gets out, it'll become much harder to find availability for a return trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Casey15 (-)
    • Date of stay 10/20/09
    • Review Submitted 10/20/09
    I am a total hotel snob who usually finds something wrong with most places. Not this one. It's perfect! Huge. Interesting. Classy. Perfect location. Safe. Clean. Luxurious. Etc. If they add a hottub to the huge private outdoor deck I might just move in permanently. You won't go wrong with this place. Five star and big enough for two couples or a large family. Fab fab fab!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Vivienne Schleu, CPA (Boca Raton, FL)
    • Date of stay 09/15/09
    • Review Submitted 09/15/09
    Wow, this place is oozing with class. We felt like we were living in an art gallery. The artwork, crown moldings, wood floors, marble baths and designer furnishings provided a luxury atmosphere and a fine home away from home for an entire week. Walk out the front door, and voila!, you are smack in the middle of THE very happening place in the city. Parking was incredibly convenient too. We truly enjoyed our time there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Mike and Debbie (Yuma, AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/08/09
    • Review Submitted 09/08/09
    This place was perfect. The interior is decorated very nice and there was plenty of space. We loved the history of The Yuma Building since we are from Yuma, AZ. Well worth the price.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    I was blown away by this place. The floor plan, space, decor, comfort, location, management, etc. were all top notch! Expect some noise throughout the night because of the location, but seriously, it's totally, totally worth it. This is definitely one of the top five places I've stayed in - and I've been lucky to have stayed in some pretty nice places for work.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Cherie6 (-)
    • Date of stay 07/15/09
    • Review Submitted 07/15/09
    Met my 4 out-of-town girlfriends at this wonderful, big townhouse in the heart of San Diego's historic Gaslight District. Great location; close to good restaurants, shopping, the bayfront, ballpark. But the accommodations: WOW! I've never seen such luxury with a gorgeous kitchen, and that patio - we hung out there every night before dinner. Outstanding. And great value!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

    • Guest Greg Gaul (Topeka, KS)
    • Date of stay 05/07/09
    • Review Submitted 05/07/09
    This place is AMAZING! Bedrooms awesome! Location awesome! Kitchen awesome! Patio awesome! Everything is just awesome about this place! If you are just wanting to get away or are in town for a conference this place is located great for both! I even had friends from the area say they are going to use it for Partiesa and just as a place to get away, even though they live in San Diego! The place and location just cannot be beat! And the price, well say you are coming into town for a conference and book a stay at one of the conference hotels at $249 a night or at one of the other hotels for $159 a night. Why when you can get this place for $299 a night and have so much room, a great gourmet kitchen and even a parking space! Especially if you are traveling with others this place can handle 2 couple easy. Shopping, nightlife, parks, bay, great places to eat, ballpark and so much more surround this awesome townhouse! Save cab or rental car costs because well it is all right there! Book this townhouse you will love it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]