The River House... Rustic Cabin on Main Channel Sleeps a Crowd
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:Contact manager
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Guntersville house description
Spacious Rustic Home/Cabin where Pets ARE allowed. The Riverhouse is an older single level cabin perfect for fishermen and families who enjoy older, rustic properties.
Keywords: This is an older large cabin
- Vacation Rental
- Pets Considered:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Non Smoking Only
- Wheelchair Accessible
- Limited Accessibility
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11, Beds for 11
- King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Bathrooms: 2.5 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Satellite / Cable
- Video Library
- Deck / Patio
- Lanai / Gazebo
- Outdoor Grill
- Water Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Rock Climbing
- Mountain Biking
- Jet Skiing
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Sight Seeing
- Fitness Center
- Wildlife Viewing
- Bass Fishing Tournaments
ReviewsWrite a review
What a WONDERFUL time we had!
What a WONDERFUL time we had!
We could not have asked for a better trip. The house was perfect for our needs. It was clean/neat and had everything that we needed (don't forget to bring your own towels though). The best part was the back yard backed up to the lake and the HUGE screened in back porch. We felt comfortable letting the dog "be at home" here too and a great time was had by all for sure. I will certainly be back here in the future!
- Guest At home by the lake (Tennessee)
- Date of stay 07/21/10
- Review Submitted 07/17/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
This is a fishing lodge. If you like to fish you will like this place. It does need some updates but was clean and had no bugs. The screened porch was the best part of the house. Very peaceful. We had a great time. The boat house was great. We had lots of sun and lots of fish.
- Guest Rita and James (Tennessee)
- Date of stay 05/21/11
- Review Submitted 06/21/11
Recommended for: Pet owners, age 55+.
This place was a dump
This place was a dump
My family stayed in this house July of 2010. I will try to list some of the things that we were not happy with. The place was definitely infested with bugs. The bugs were not just limited to cockroaches. We saw all kinds, including a range of spiders complete with webs around the ceiling and walls. I guess this is not covered during the weekly professional cleaning. There was evidence that someone had tried to clean the house but it looked worse than when my teenage son cleans his room. Trash was left on the front porch in bags, lots of dust under the tables and at least 1" of the thick stuff on the ceiling fans. ... There had been a new floor put in part of the house, but it appeared that it was simply put over the rotten floor. I was scared that one of us was going to fall through the floor in the back bathroom. My sons bed was proped up with a pringles can because one of the legs was broken. The light in the back bedrooms didnt work at all. One make shift light had been rigged up with an extension cord and a hanging light bulb in the back bathroom. ..... There is more that I could put but you get the general idea. We did let the property manager know and as you can read in the other reviews, he always had an excuse. .... This is NOT a good deal unless you like tent camping. Which I would recomend over this house. This house needs a lot of work!!!!
- Guest Lee (Temple Georgia)
- Date of stay 07/17/10
- Review Submitted 06/19/11
Manager response: I have no idea why VRBO would post in June 2011 a bad review from JULY 2010 . Take a look at the recent review from THIS YEAR !!!!!
My family and another family stayed at the Riverhouse for a week. We had a great time. The Riverhouse was very nice for the money. The property manager was very friendly and accomodated our stay. He was quick to answer his cell phone when I had questions. They are trying to improve some of the minor problems, such as while we were there, the boat house doors were being replaced. The workers were very courteous and made it a point to not get in our way. I will definately be returning to stay at the Riverhouse. By the way, The only bug problem we had was the Cicadas! Very Happy!
- Guest Geno (Mt. Olive, AL/ USA)
- Date of stay 05/29/11
- Review Submitted 06/05/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children.
The cabin was relative nice for the price, however during our stay we were constantly killing cockroaches. It was completely infested during our weeklong stay. The place was fairly clean when we arrived but i would only give it a 5 out of a 10 on how clean it really was. We found dirt and bug parts under the couch and in the closets. I know the claim that the place is professionally cleaned each week is somewhat bogus because we returned for an item we forgot to grab and it was one lady doing all the cleaning. I advise caution before you choose to rent this rental property for any extended period of time.
- Guest Unhappy Vactioner (Hays, Kansas)
- Date of stay 06/03/10
- Review Submitted 06/18/10
Manager response: I am the manager of the Riverhouse . After several vacationeers complained about the pest problem and overall cleanliness of this property, I approached the owner to infrom him to either correct the propblem or find a new manager. I was able to hire a new pest control company and hire additional cleaning personnell. A new floor was also installed in the kitchen and living room. These problems were resolved not only to my satisfaction, but most importantly to our guests. If you are looking for a Large Cabin style property located on Lake Gutersville then the Riverhouse is for you. This is not a "condo type" property. Fishermen love this property as I have many families who return year after year. If you have ANY concerns regarding this property or questions my email address is on the website for the Riverhouse
Our stay at the Riverhouse
Our stay at the Riverhouse
The location of the house on the lake was great. The screen in porch was wonderful. The fishing off the boat dock was great. The house condition on the other hand was totally different. The house was dirty, smelled bad and lots of cockroaches. Its a shame on how dirty the house really was. The refrigerator doesn't keep food cold, freezer worked but we had to throw out hamburger meat and steaks. Our milk was soured by the end of week.
- Guest Nitamay (Granite City, IL)
- Date of stay 05/15/10
- Review Submitted 06/14/10
Manager response: I have been managing the Riverhouse for over 5 years and this is the first negative review. The tenant checked in on a Saturday and I did not hear anything from them until THURSDAY. I do not understand why I was not called before then if there were a problem, as I would have addressed them or offered to move the tenants to another property. The tenants never called to inform me of ANY problems. I found out on my own about the refrigerator, after the tenant left. The defrost timer had to be replaced. The house is professionally treated for pests. The house is cleaned on a WEEKLY basis as it has relatively full occupancy, but you can't please everyone all the time.
From $150.00/night Fall .... $ 1000./week plus tax and cleaning fee Winter .. $ 850/week plus tax and cleaning fee Spring .. $ 975/week plus tax and cleaning fee Summer .. $1250/week plus tax and cleaning fee $50 pet fee (per pet). $150 cleaning fee. Not reserved until deposit is received.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This manager accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the manager for more information.
Year Purchased: 1995
Beautiful Lake Guntersville has been a family vacation destination for decades with parents originally buying and later retiring in another home very close by.
- Primary: +1 256 673 1999 Cell phone 256 673 1999 Office 256 571-7326
- Secondary: +1 256 673 1999
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Rustic... Relaxed... Recreational...Large Cabin on Deep Water Lakefront
Fully Equipped Kitchen and Comfortable Relaxed Living with Fireplace
One of 5 Bedrooms this one has a Full bed and T.V.
5 bedroom with Private Pier and use of One Slip in Boat house
King bed in Master with color T.V.and private door to covered screened deck
Large Tin Roofed Screened Smoking Porch Overlooking Sandy Beach and Boathouse
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Friday, June 21, 2013
5 Bedroom / 2.5 Bathroom
+1 256 673 1999
Cell phone 256 673 1999 Office 256 571-7326
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.