Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Views of East End St John, Tortola, and other islands from Iola.

'Oooolala' ....You'll Love This Vacation Home... 'Iola' [#240632] | View Property

Coral Bay
1 extra large bedroom with king bed plus a breezy sleeping porch with queen bed.
$229 - $321/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (35)

Sort by:
  • Ideal Vacation Spot

    Ideal Vacation Spot

    • Guest Kathleen F.
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/26/14
    Absolutely loved our stay at this home in St. John. My husband and I along with our two college age sons spent spring break week at Iola. We found the accomodations perfect for our needs. This spectacular house with large rooms, great views, necessary beach/home supplies and gracious landlords that were available, as well as very respectful of privacy, contributed to our satisfaction. We explored St. John's beaches by snorkeling and swimming as well as enjoyed some relaxing down time in a beautiful and serene setting. The glowing reviews that we read about he house before our booking were spot on. So glad to have found and booked this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Property. Highly Recommend!

    Beautiful Property. Highly Recommend!

    • Guest gsansoucy (-)
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/14/14
    Iola is a beautiful, spacious house with every detail attended to for comfort. The house was immaculately clean and the owners were most helpful throughout our stay. Our favorite spots are the "sleeping porch" with beautiful breezes and views and the terrace area out back. The landscaping is very nice and the entire property gives you the feeling of peace, tranquility, and relaxation. We highly recommend staying here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise found!

    Paradise found!

    • Guest Lisa W.
    • Date of stay 02/13/14
    • Review Submitted 03/01/14
    IOLA is a beautiful home! We enjoyed the spectacular views from this home. We were very close to great beaches for snorkeling, and we could walk down to the Tourist Trap for the delicious lobster salad! The home is very comfortable and we totally relaxed! The crabs entertained us every morning with their march to devour the coffee grounds!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Feels like home

    Feels like home

    • Guest Christine D.
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    We had an amazing stay at Iola. The home was above and beyond our expectations. The outlooks are spectacular. Each window, and there are lots of them, gives you a different view. We would have breakfast on the porch overlooking John Folly Bay with the BVI in the distance, happy hour on the patio with the Bananaquit “sugarbirds” and evenings star gazing on the back deck. This home has everything we needed and more. The hosts, Jones and Margie, are kind and gracious. Jones has spent that past several years building this home with his own two hands, the attention to detail is second to none. You can feel the love they have for the island and their home. The location is ideal for spending time in Coral Bay. It took us longer to pack our Jeep then to drive to Salt Pond. There are so many “local” beaches near Iola. Some of the best restaurants on island are just minutes away. Our time at Iola was too short. We look forward to being back and enjoying the warm hospitality of the Jones’.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Iola #2

    Iola #2

    • Guest j5150 (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/03/14
    This was our second time staying at Iola, and it was just as wonderful as our first! As with our honeymoon, the property was pristine and beautiful, and the hosts are excellent. We look forward to returning again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything you could ask for!

    Everything you could ask for!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Believe what you read - this place is wonderful! Beautifully decorated,great furniture, fully equipped kitchen,great bathroom, spacious, quiet,awesome owners, GORGEOUS views and EXCEPTIONALLY clean! We have been to St. John many times and this is our favorite place to stay. You won't be disappointed! Kevin and Lori Nickel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding! Highly recommend this beautiful home!

    Outstanding! Highly recommend this beautiful home!

    • Guest Sean K.
    • Date of stay 11/03/13
    • Review Submitted 11/19/13
    We highly recommend this exquisite home. It was perfect for our vacation! The home was meticulously clean and quite spacious - we were astounded at how big it is! With a sleeping porch, bedroom, two living room areas, a huge kitchen, and a large bathroom, there is more than enough room for 2-4 people. We enjoyed the private balcony every morning for breakfast. There's a beautiful (and totally private) patio area behind the home. The views are breathtaking! Literally every day, we awoke on the sleeping porch and were amazed at the exquisite sites of Coral Bay and beyond. Our hosts were exceptionally gracious. They were available for advice and kindness but also provided privacy and independence to enjoy their exceptional property. Their love and attention to detail were evident in every aspect of the home and property. Our kitchen and bathroom were stocked with anything we could possibly need. Every part of the home and property is focused on making guests completely comfortable. This was our third visit to St. John and, without a doubt, our favorite! That's because of this gorgeous home and its perfect location along Coral Bay. Every day we hiked and snorkeled, and there are so many choices within a 10- to 20-minute Jeep ride from Iola. (Definitely rent a Jeep so you can explore the many, many beaches St. John has to offer!) We recommend this home 100% and can't wait to return next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exquisite, the home was as beautiful as the view.

    Exquisite, the home was as beautiful as the view.

    • Guest Angela S. (Birmingham, AL)
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    When we arrived at 'iola' we were amazed at the beauty of the home and it's incredible view. Everything inside and out was perfect . We were met by Jones who made us feel welcome and at home immediately. Jones and Marjorie were very helpful in guiding us to some lovely beaches and local restaurants, we just didn't have enough time to do it all, which means we will definitely have to make another trip and 'Iola' will be our choice of residency while there. I-maculate O-pulent L-ovely A-wesome

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • IOLA-8 Days in Paradise

    IOLA-8 Days in Paradise

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/23/13
    • Review Submitted 05/11/13
    My fiance and I fell in love with St. John and much of it was because of IOLA. It is everything the reviews claim it to be and more. The location feels secluded yet it's just minutes away from beautiful beaches, restaurants and markets. There was absolutely nothing lacking at IOLA. The living area is open and spacious and tastefully furnished. It was every bit a "feel good island" home. Each room was immaculate! The landscaping surrounding the home was lovely and also provided for a truly private feeling. We so enjoyed the sleeping porch...the breeze lulled us to sleep and we never once felt the need to use a fan or air conditioning! My guess is that it is everyone's favorite room. Sitting up each morning and looking at the incredible view was such a treat! The kitchen was well equipped and we had everything we needed to give a dinner party one night. The Joneses have thought of everything you would need to enjoy your vacation...beach towels, beach chairs, coolers...even sun screen if you forget to pack it! Just down the road is Salt Pond Beach where there is great snorkeling and hiking. Rams Head trail offers beautiful views. We are pet lovers and though we didn't bring our black labs on vacation IOLA provided a unique alternative. There are hermit crabs living on the hillside surrounding IOLA that enjoyed our attention. Each morning we would feed them our coffee grounds and the leftovers we carried home from dinner or lunch. It was fun to watch them move into the new shells we found for them on our beach hikes. Though there are several great restaurants in Coral Bay, it is wise to make reservations. We found that out our first night when we waited nearly 90 minutes to be served at Miss Lucy's. Our server was apologetic and told us in the future to make a reservation. That was excellent advice! Pickles is a great deli to pick up delicious sandwiches. We were lucky enough to get the last 2 pieces of lobster fritatta which we had for breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed eating out at the Shipwreck (again just minutes down the road). There is a view and a great breeze off the bay as well as a very tasty menu! We missed out on eating at the Tourist Trap as their 11-6 hours were when we were usually exploring this beautiful island. Our one regret is we didn't get to know our fabulous landlords as we stayed too active and they left us alone to enjoy the lovely space they provided for us. We will return to IOLA!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly recommended!

    Highly recommended!

    • Guest Camp C.
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/20/13
    Spent a wonderful week at "Iola," and could not be happier with our experience. The property far exceeded our high expectations in every respect. The location is ideal -- convenient to beaches, trails, and Coral Bay restaurants yet secluded enough to feel that you are "away from it all." The house itself is fantastic, with a breathtaking view of Coral Bay, East End, and Tortola beyond. We loved sleeping porch and the open-concept floorplan makes the most of the sea breeze, keeping the home cool and comfortable, even with temperatures outdoors in the 80s. The space was spotlessly clean, comfortably appointed and furnished, and well-stocked with towels, reading material on St. John, and any incidental items that we could possibly want. We can't wait to come back next year! Thank you Jones and Margie!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A month at Iola

    A month at Iola

    • Guest Scott Miscione (Sunset, Maine)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    We were delighted to walk into our St. John rental and find a spotlessly clean, beautiful home for a month. The kitchen was well equipped and well organized, the furniture and beds comfortable, there were plenty of towels and everything else you could possibly want - including some things you might have forgotten to pack. The downstairs neighbors/owners protected our privacy conscientiously, but are such fun people that we wanted to see more of them, not less! They are an important reason that Iola is a great place to stay, and then there is the view of Coral Bay & the BVI - it's breathtaking!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A month at Iola

    A month at Iola

    • Guest Scott Miscione (Sunset, Maine)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    We were delighted to walk into our St. John rental and find a spotlessly clean, beautiful home for a month. The kitchen was well equipped and well organized, the furniture and beds comfortable, there were plenty of towels and everything else you could possibly want - including some things you might have forgotten to pack. The downstairs neighbors/owners protected our privacy conscientiously, but are such fun people that we wanted to see more of them, not less! They are an important reason that Iola is a great place to stay, and then there is the view of Coral Bay & the BVI - it's breathtaking!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay!

    Wonderful Stay!

    • Guest Ginger (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 01/31/13
    • Review Submitted 02/14/13
    After a long day of traveling, Iola was such a welcoming place to stay. The house was very spacious and is stocked with everything you need. The porch room was a delight and there was a constant breeze. We loved being able to wake up and relax with our coffee outside on the patio. It is a beautiful spot and the house, furniture, outside patio and landscaping are all top notch and of the highest quality. The owners were great and so helpful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Home!

    Fabulous Home!

    • Guest Gayle (Port Jefferson, Long Island, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/13/13
    My boyfriend and I came to stay at Iola for a week and we absolutely loved it. We have stayed at several homes in St John over the years and this was right up there as one of the best. The home itself was just beautiful, the craftsmanship and design, impeccable! It was like a dream home, that I never wanted to leave. Waking up and looking out those beautiful arched windows at amazing views, was a great way to start the day. Listening to all the tree frogs and staring at the gazillion stars up in the sky at night was a great way to end it. Loved feeding the landcrabs, I just found it fascinating! Margie and Jones were just just awesome. They paid attention to every little detail in the home. There was nothing we needed that they didnt have. We also had some great conversation with them, its great meeting such wonderful people! We've been to many islands, but St John is our favorite. The natural beauty is like nothing we've ever seen. The snorkling, hiking, beaching, restaurants are awesome. I would love to be an ambassador for tourism to the island, but I also want to keep it as the best kept secret! Highly reccomend St John and Villa Iola!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best honeymoon location!

    Best honeymoon location!

    • Guest j5150 (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 01/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    We had the best honeymoon at Iola! The house sits up on a hill with amazing panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and other islands. Every detail has been thought of, and the love and care put into this house - from the decorations to open floor plan - make it truly special. Everything is high quality, from the appliances to the flat screen TVs. We used the patio and grill many times. Beach chairs, coolers, towels, and more are provided. It's on a part of the island that's very calm and quiet, and there are a number of great restaurants. We enjoyed brunch at Concordia and lunch and dinners at Shipwreck, Miss Lucy's, and Sweet Plaintains. The fish tacos and cocktails at The Tourist Trap are addictive, and you can walk down the hill to it. Little Lemeshur Bay is really beautiful with great snorkeling and minutes away (in a 4WD), and Salt Pond Bay is even closer with great swimming. The owners, Margie and Jones, are extremely kind and courteous, and put in extra effort to make our stay as special as possible. We're hoping to return for our 1st anniversary next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Dream Vacation

    Awesome Dream Vacation

    • Guest Kathy (Surfside Beach, SC )
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/07/13
    Could not have picked a better place to rest and relax but also be close enough to swimming, snorkeling, hiking and shopping. "Iola" is a dream house that you can tell was built with every attention to detail and had more than we needed for just the two of us. We could have lived on the sleeping porch with the most beautiful view of the entry to Coral Bay and the British Virgin Islands. Never made it to sleeping in the masterbedroom as the sleeping porch was like sleeping under the stars and with the tradewinds coming in you did not need AC. Jones and Marge are the best and were very helpful in what to do and where to go, best suggestion was from Jones on how to drive in USVI!! "Roll you drivers side window down, put your elbow out and drive left... folllow the elbow!" Every evening coming back to Iola was an adventure as to would we find donkeys or goats in the way "up" the trail to the house. Going to the Tourist Trap was fun meeting some of the "locals" and the reviews on the Pulled Pork Nachos were accurate, they are great. Best meal of the trip was at Aqua Bistro, the grouper was better than any I had ever had. Want to rest, relax and enjoy a slower pace... go to stay at Iola in Coral Bay St. John USVI. Thanks again Jones and Marge!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Words cannot describe!!!

    Words cannot describe!!!

    • Guest Keith (Round Rock Texas)
    • Date of stay 11/08/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    I hope there are enough characters for this review! Let me start by saying that first and foremost Jones and Margie are the most gracious, loving, accomidating host one could ever hope for. We left with heavy hearts truely calling them friends and that is an amazing thing in only 10 days. From the start of our journey we new we had made the right decision. After we arrived in St. Thomas they continually checked on us to make sure our arrival was successful and went out of their way to make sure were safe and sound. We arrived on the prorerty well after dark and were exhausted from the travel. We walked in to a house and grounds that far exceeded expectation we had from the pics online...they just not do them justice. Jones built this house wsith his bare hands and let us just say he is one of the most detailed oriented person when it comes to his skill in the construction Dept. The house was simply amazing in every aspect. From the ceiling to the floors...they spared no expense. When you consider the amount of effort to build on the side of a cliff and how long it took him to get it just right was very impressive to say the least. From the way the house faces the trade winds and you get the constant breeze from the ocean directly into your bedroom to the views on both sides of the house that are simply breathtaking. Where else can you sit up in bed and see almost all the British Virgin Islands every single morning you wake up...that is the first thing you see...from your bed. WOW and WOW!!! Wood ceilings with great detail, stained concrete floors, beautiful cabinetry....the list goes on and on...and all done with love and care to insure your stay will be luxorious and welcoming. Enough about the house...let us talk about our wonderful friends(i can say friends but you can't yet...but am sure you will by the end of your trip :). Jones and Margie or (Jones and the Tax Lady) haha...anyway.....the best part by far was getting to know these two wonderful people. Granted we are people lovers and we gave alot of love while there...but they made it easy. They are constantly concerned with their guests and making sure their stay is the absolute best it can be from the first minute you meet them. From tours of their wonderful grounds to any advice they can give about where to go and who to talk to to get what you want. Everyone we met because of them just enriched our stay that much more and made us feel like locals by the time we left. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet, peaceful and spectacular views.

    Quiet, peaceful and spectacular views.

    • Guest David L.
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    From the moment you step in the doorway, it is obvious that this home was construction with care and attention to the smallest detail. It is a beautiful home that is marvelously maintained. The furnishings are exquisite. All of this and it has unbelievable views. A four wheel drive is essential as it is on a hill.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • An Amazing Villa - On A Beautiful Island - With Outstanding Hosts!

    An Amazing Villa - On A Beautiful Island - With Outstanding Hosts!

    • Guest KansasTraveler (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We recently had the pleasure of spending 10 nights at this amazing villa. My wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon and this was our first time on the island of St John. I can't say enough about the grounds or the owners. Beautiful landscaping. We were greeted by a bottle of campaign on ice. Villa features a fully screened in patio complete with a queen bed and gorgeous ocean view. You can open the windows at night and enjoy the most wonderful ocean breezes. This room is located on the east side of the house and allows for beautiful sunrises in bed. Truthfully, I am not much for humidity combined with 78 degree nights, so my wife and I spend many of the nights in the air conditioned bedroom also featuring a queen bed. Villa also features more square feet than two people really need. This villa could easily accommodate 4-6 people. The living room features a large LCD television with an entertainment system capable of connecting and controlling and IPOD. As for the island, gorgeous. Our recommendations are: Beaches: Maho, Waterlemon Key, Little/Great Lamishur, Jumbie, Kittle, Salt Pond, Yawzi Point, Hanson Food (Mostly Coral Bay as is superior to Cruz Bay): Shipwreck, Donkey Diner (Especially Pizza Nights and Breakfast), The Tourist Trap (Best BBQ on the Island) Finally, and with emphasis, I want to thank the owners of the property: Jones and Margie. These two folks are salt of the earth. Helpful in every aspect. We miss you guys! One love!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Unbelievable, must see to believe!

    Unbelievable, must see to believe!

    • Guest Hiked it all (Florida)
    • Date of stay 04/30/12
    • Review Submitted 05/08/12
    The web site does no justice to this beautiful home. The views are gorgeous and the home is clean, inviting and large. The porch bedroom has great views and wonderful breezes all night long. The host and hostess are incredibly kind and have stocked the home with anything you might forget. We loved the intimate town of coral bay, loved the resteraunts and especially the local people who've been the friendliest ever. We regret not getting to the tourist trap until our last day, it was quite memorable, the pork nachos are to die for. Also great were shipwreck, donkey diner and aqua bistro. The property was easy to find even in the dark for first time visitors, beware of the four wheeling driveway, but coming home to donkeys waiting to greet you make it worth while. We look forward to returning and would never look again for another place as this had everything you'd need. We had rain daily and still think of this as our favorite vacation

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great Location, Beautiful Home

    Great Location, Beautiful Home

    • Guest G & D (Kent, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    This vacation rental was a great place to spend our holiday and was accurately described in photos and reviews. The home was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed in the kitchen and with all the fresh linens we could want. The many windows have great views looking over Coral Bay and the hills. Upon our arrival, fresh flowers were arranged throughout the house to give it a lush, garden feel. We kept the many windows open when we were in the home to catch a breeze, but by the late afternoon, it became very warm and humid in this upstairs location. If not for the air-conditioning in the bedroom, sleeping would have been uncomfortable. This location does not have the crowded, busy level of activity you find on the north shore and in Cruz Bay. We enjoyed this quieter, less populated area of the island, but it is an easy drive to the northern beaches and town for crowds, shopping, or a tasty meal with a great view at The Fish Trap. Just down the hill from "Iola" we found the dining patio at Estate Concordia. It has a wonderful view and delicious pizza. We especially liked the local hikes around "Iola" to Ram's Head and to Reef Bay from Lameshur Bay (go early in the day). The swimming and snorkeling in Salt Pond Bay, Great Lameshur Bay, and Little Lameshur Bay were refreshing after a few hours of hiking. It was an easy drive and short hike to Leinster Bay and Waterlemon Key where we found our best snorkeling. The owners provided beach chairs, cooler, and ice, making days at the beach pleasant and easy to manage. They also allowed us to use their washer and dryer which was really helpful after a prior week of travel before our arrival on St. John. Be prepared for many stairs from the private parking down to the entry door of the home. We didn't find this to be a problem except when we initially brought our luggage into the rental. The owners kindly offered to let us use their separate driveway to load luggage when we packed to leave. The owners were readily available if we needed anything, but also gave us privacy for our stay. Many thanks to them for making this lovely home on St. John available.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Charm and serenity

    Charm and serenity

    • Guest RIandNYfolks (Portsmouth, RI)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/01/12
    Iola in person far exceeds Iola from pictures! This home is beautifully designed and crafted; the attention to detail and thoughtful personal touches throughout the villa create a warm and welcoming space. The cathedral ceilings, the island and water views and the lovingly designed gardens and patio add to the overall appeal of Iola. It is indeed immaculate and we so appreciated the fresh flowers throughout the villa upon arrival. Marjorie and Jones were helpful and gracious during our stay. We cooked in several nights because the kitchen is so well-supplied and it was lovely to be in the villa for the evening. We highly recommend Iola for those who want the quiet Coral Bay experience and a well-appointed space.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • The View from Iola of the Virgin Island National Park

    The View from Iola of the Virgin Island National Park

    • Guest Iowa couple (Pella)
    • Date of stay 03/04/12
    • Review Submitted 03/10/12
    It is like waking up in Paradise. St. Johns island. A house built out of love. Iola. Having arrived by ferry after a 20 min ride from St. Thomas. A jeep rental and plenty of bumpy roads twists and turns our destination was achieved. Looking across at the mountain island landscape and the waves of the ocean below was what we saw when waking up. Feeling the breeze through the open windows and soon the sunny beaches. A car port of your own, a seperate entrance to your door. Towels, linens a full house with everything you need. Decorated with elegance and a love for the land around them. Fresh flowers in beauiful vases. An open eating space both inside and outside. Two bedrooms seperate from each other. The breeze room with windows on 3 out of the 4 directions. History books to tell you about the St.John's island. Identification guides of trails and fish life plus bird and other creatures you may see along the way. Wild donkies and goats roam the roads and trails. Iola is not far from Salt water bay and many other beaches for great snorkling. A jeep ride down the left side of the road will take you bushwackin through many an adventure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Tom P.
    • Date of stay 01/31/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/12
    The pictures do not lie, if anything they do not do the house justice. It was immaculate and had everything we needed for a wonderful vacation. It's on the remote side of the island so if you’re looking for an active light life this may not be for you but there a some decent restaurants nearby and the all the local people we met were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this house to someone looking to get away and relax..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Perfect Place to Stay in St John!!!

    A Perfect Perfect Place to Stay in St John!!!

    • Guest Hannah Q.
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    The place is perfect for couple's stay in St john!! "lola" is much more impressive and adorable in person than shown in the picture! My husband and I had a blast in "lola" villa. The villa is located in the quiet side of the island but within 20-30 mins of driving distance to those famous northern beaches. Salt pond beach, which is a great place for snorkelling, is only 5 mins driving distance and you can hike to the salt pond beach too. The villa has the incrediable, incrediable view to the coral bay and the surrounding mountains!! We miss having our breakfast while enjoying the best view to the coral bay so much!! Marjie and Jones are great hosts and we really like them! They gave us a lot of useful info and while respect our privacy a lot as well! We really wish we could have stayed longer and next time when we visit st John, we will certainly do so!! Highly recommend this place!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect perfect place to stay in st john!!

    A perfect perfect place to stay in st john!!

    • Guest Hannah Q.
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    The place is perfect for couple's stay in St john!! "lola" is much more impressive and adorable in person than shown in the picture! My husband and I had a blast in "lola" villa. The villa is located in the quiet side of the island but within 20-30 mins of driving distance to those famous northern beaches. Salt pond beach, which is a great place for snorkelling, is only 5 mins driving distance and you can hike to the salt pond beach too. The villa has the incrediable, incrediable view to the coral bay and the surrounding mountains!! We miss having our breakfast while enjoying the best view to the coral bay so much!! Marjie and Jones are great hosts and we really like them! They gave us a lot of useful info and while respect our privacy a lot as well! We really wish we could have stayed longer and next time when we visit st John, we will certainly do so!! Highly recommend this place!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Vacation at Iola!

    The Perfect Vacation at Iola!

    • Guest R & B (Ft. Myers, FL)
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 01/01/12
    Don't hesitate if you're thinking about Iola! This place is absolutely perfect. The owners are the best accommodating starting with meeting us upon our arrival to show up the way to Iola. Actually without their help, we would have had a hard time finding it, but that's exactly what we were looking for.....lots of privacy and quiet. When we first walked in we couldn't believe how beautiful the house was with detail given to everything from the welcoming patio to the front door to the spacious interior. It was clear to see that the incredible craftsmanship was of utmost importance when the owners built this themselves. The sleeping porch was the best room in the house with the spectacular views. If you're a cook, you won't be disappointed in the kitchen. The owners have made sure everything you'll need is there including beach chairs, noodles, towels, coolers, etc. Oh and don't let me forget to tell you how clean the house is....absolutely spotless! It was 20 years since we last stayed on St Johns and was glad we choose Coral Bay on this trip. The location is perfect if you want to get away from it all, yet still have amenities (restaurants, stores, etc) close by. I give Iola at 10+++ and the owners a 10+++ for making sure we had everything we needed for our vacation. This is the perfect location to explore the island. Hiking right from the front door to snorkeling just around the corner. From the first contact we had with the owner, our experience with renting Iola was great....and isn't that what vacations should be about? Don't hesitate, contact the owners now and see if you'll also be one of the lucky ones to wake up in the sleeping porch during the middle of the night watching the full moon as you lay in the luxury of your bed and fall back to sleep listening & feeling the wind.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House! Amazing Views!

    Great House! Amazing Views!

    • Guest James S. (Annapolis, MD)
    • Date of stay 11/22/11
    • Review Submitted 11/29/11
    We have visited St. John about 10-15 times and stayed at many rental properties on the island. This is one of the rare cases where the photos of the property truly do not do it justice. The house is very spacious, and has a much more modern feel than many rental properties on the island. When you open the windows in the house you get a constant cool breeze throughout. Although the bedroom is air conditioned, I can't imagine you would ever need to turn it on. After seeing the views from the wrap-around windows, we chose to use the "sleeping porch" as our bedroom for the entirety of our stay. For those familiar with the island, Iola is located outside Coral Bay overlooking John's folly. This part of the island is still very secluded and quiet compared to the bustle of Cruz Bay. For those who truly want to get away from it all, this is the place to stay. You are in very close proximity to the beaches and snorkeling spots still not completely discovered by tourists. We recommend Kiddle Bay, Haulover and Lameshur (including snorkeling at Tektite). While trips to the North Shore beaches should definitely be on your itinerary, there is plenty to do in very close proximity to Iola. All in all, we had a fabulous stay at Iola!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Views! Amazing Breezes!

    Great Views! Amazing Breezes!

    • Guest James S. (Annapolis, MD)
    • Date of stay 11/22/11
    • Review Submitted 11/29/11
    We have visited St. John about 10-15 times and stayed at many rental properties on the island. This is one of the rare cases where the photos of the property truly do not do it justice. The house is very spacious, and has a much more modern feel than many rental properties on the island. When you open the windows in the house you get a constant cool breeze throughout. Although the bedroom is air conditioned, I can't imagine you would ever need to turn it on. After seeing the views from the wrap-around windows, we chose to use the "sleeping porch" as our bedroom for the entirety of our stay. For those familiar with the island, Iola is located outside Coral Bay overlooking John's folly. This part of the island is still very secluded and quiet compared to the bustle of Cruz Bay. For those who truly want to get away from it all, this is the place to stay. You are in very close proximity to the beaches and snorkeling spots still not completely discovered by tourists. We recommend Kiddle Bay, Haulover and Lameshur (including snorkeling at Tektite). While trips to the North Shore beaches should definitely be on your itinerary, there is plenty to do in very close proximity to Iola. All in all, we had a fabulous stay at Iola!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Home in Beautiful St. John

    Wonderful Home in Beautiful St. John

    • Guest Dawn S. (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Our third trip to St. John did not disappoint! This home just outside of Coral Bay is as great as it looks in the pictures and MORE! Iola provided fantastic views, comfy furnishings, was VERY clean, a great living space, and was an excellent choice. (Do not hesitate!) We did not even use the bedroom as we slept in the "sleeping porch" all week with wonderful breezes most nights. The home is VERY CLEAN and nicely decorated. There were basic supplies such as beach towels, suntan lotion, beach chairs & noodles, and a few basics in the kitchen. This home was close to one of our favorite beaches, Lameshur Bay, which is most times very deserted and a wonderful place to spend an afternoon. Definite stops would include The Tourist Trap "restaurant", Aqua Bistro, Francis Bay, Skinny Legs, Mongoose Junction in Cruz Bay, and Jumbie Beach. St. John has yet to disappoint and the rental home Iola added to a great vacation this year! We will return, hopefully soon :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • THE BEST EXPIRIENCE EVER

    THE BEST EXPIRIENCE EVER

    • Guest Anna and Alexander (New York)
    • Date of stay 08/29/10
    • Review Submitted 09/06/10
    We spent a week here in first week of September 2010. We loved it very very much! Even our arrival was the day before the hurricane, but we were happy to stay here. Because it is a beautiful, safe house on St. John. The owners are amazing people. They made everything for us to feel like at home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • You'll fall in love!

    You'll fall in love!

    • Guest Kim (Exton, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/03/10
    My husband and I fell in love with each other again and absolutely fell in love with this home during our honeymoon stay in June 2010. The pictures certainly do not do the property any justice - we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in person (even though the pictures are fantastic). The Jones' keep this place very clean, and the layout is very spacious, airy, and beautifully decorated. Our favorite part was of course the "sleeping porch," which I would not call a "porch" at all. It is so comfortable with the nearly constant oceanic breeze, and the views are breathtaking. The location is on the quieter side of the island, which was perfect for us. It is located within easy distance to all island interests (hiking, shopping, restaurants). A car is pretty much necessary and a lot of fun - the best way to get a real feel for the island and create adventure. Marjorie and Jones made our stay pleasant, enjoyable, and memorable. I would highly, highly recommend this amazing spot to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • You'll fall in love

    You'll fall in love

    • Guest Kim (Exton, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/03/10
    My husband and I fell in love with each other again and absolutely fell in love with this home during our honeymoon stay in June 2010. The pictures certainly do not do the property any justice - we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in person (even though the pictures are fantastic). The Jones' keep this place very clean, and the layout is very spacious, airy, and beautifully decorated. Our favorite part was of course the "sleeping porch," which I would not call a "porch" at all. It is so comfortable with the nearly constant oceanic breeze, and the views are breathtaking. The location is on the quieter side of the island, which was perfect for us. It is located within easy distance to all island interests (hiking, shopping, restaurants). A car is pretty much necessary and a lot of fun - the best way to get a real feel for the island and create adventure. Marjorie and Jones made our stay pleasant, enjoyable, and memorable. I would highly, highly recommend this amazing spot to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing property!

    Amazing property!

    • Guest keboston (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/14/10
    My husband and I stayed at Iola March 27-April 3rd for our honeymoon and loved every minute of our stay! Iola is a gorgeous property and your hosts, Marjorie and Jones, could not be more accomodating and helpful. The property is peaceful and private- a perfect spot for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. We loved the sleeping porch and comfortable breezes. Iola is beautifully decorated and the ocean views are amazing. The stone terrace is a great spot for a bbq and star gazing. The owners have thought to include every thing you will need for a perfect week in St. John! We rented a jeep so we could enjoy everything the island has to offer. Iola is a 10 minute ride from great restaurants and stores in Coral Bay and about 30 minutes to Cruz Bay and the amazing North Shore beaches. It's really a perfect spot to use as your home base for exploring St. John. We highly recommend Iola!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gorgeous Getaway

    A Gorgeous Getaway

    • Guest Billhaven (New York City)
    • Date of stay 02/06/10
    • Review Submitted 02/17/10
    We fell in love with this enchanted house. The photos don't do justice to the gorgeous loft like space. Huge, airy, open with lovely views of bays on both sides of the house. A first rate kitchen with all the amenities as well as a great Weber grill on the patio. It is situated on the quiet side of the Island so you will need a car to get around but everything you need is within 15 minutes. A well stocked grocer, beach bars, even an eco friendly resort down the hill where we took yoga class and rented snorkle gear. Every aspect of the house is excellent from the lovely decorations to the plentiful towels and beach equipment. But the most beautiful spot, I think is the "sleeping porch". From the enormous bed one can see the entire bay...Tortola and Virgin Gorda while the cool Island breezes surround you all night long. Your hosts, Marjorie and Jones couldn't be more helpful. They found us a car to rent when it seemed all the rental places were fully booked. And I don't know when I've seen so many stars!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]