Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lakeside view of home

Better Than a Hotel. B&B Lake Home on Crow Wing Lake! [#241406] | View Property

Brainerd
Bed And Breakfast, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$2,495/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (11)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful experience

    Wonderful experience

    • Guest Christmas Vacation (Stewart, Mn)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/22/12
    This was our first experience of doing VRBO, and it was all and more that we expected. Joan and I talked so many times prior to our visit. She was most helpful and we became fast buddies. With babies and all there were 10 of us. It is hard to find a place big enough for all of us, without being on top of each other. The most important things to me, is room and cleanliness, they exceed all of that and more. They were very helpful and friendly. Joan and her wonderful treats, Howards surprise for the kids, the great afghans we got to choose from, I could just go on and on. We all had a great time. They made sure we had everything we needed, Howard made the fires, everything was top notch. I hope to come back. Howard and Joan we all thank you for great memories in your home. Thank you so much, Sincerely, Dwight and Nancy Kottke

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise found

    Paradise found

    • Guest Etrain (Plainfield, illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    My wife and I stayed at Joan and Howard's lake house the first week of June. What a beautiful home they have! it is over 6000sq. Ft. and we had total access to the entire upstairs and property. Although they live in the home you would never know it. you feel as though you own the entire place. We only saw them when we needed them for assistance. Restaurant info, grocery shopping advice, where to buy bait, where to golf and the like. All advice was spot on too by the way. 75 degrees, slight breeze and no BUGS in northern Minnesota are you kidding! We has the lake to ourselves every day even on the weekends with never more than two other boats on the water. Caught one fish after another right off their dock and nice size on the lake. Very peaceful and quiet and Howard makes a great fire for you every night to watch the sunset by. The beds are super comfy and Joan has set up your kitchen and grilling station to include everything you will ever need. They even have two parking spots in the garage with remotes for the overhead door for your use. They think of and provide everything you will ever need to enjoy your stay. Added bonus? Joan is an accomplished baker and has fresh bars and cookies when you arrive! Make sure you take home the recipes! Overall, my wife and I have had great experiences with VRBO listings over the last ten years whether it's skiing in Colorado or staying in Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin but this is by far our best experience to date. Check them out. You will not find a better value or experience. I can guarantee you that.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi! What a great review! We appreciate you taking the time to jot down a few notes. Hope you can come back again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Definitly better the a hotel.

    Definitly better the a hotel.

    • Guest Mary (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 11/06/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/12
    My husband was working in the area and we stayed with Joan and Howard for 3 months this winter. We would highly recommend this home to anyone considering this rental and looking for a beautiful, quiet and relaxing place to stay. The apartment we stayed in was very clean and all of the usual kitchen supplies were there for cooking our own meals. If we needed anything all we had to do was ask. Having a washer and dryer included for our use was definitly a plus. Joan and Howard are very nice, friendly people who will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Joan is a very good cook and we enjoyed many delicious treats during our stay. Even came home with several of her recipes. We would recommend this rental property to family and friends and hope to stay there again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Mary! Thank you for the nice review. I know my parents loved having you guys and my mom said she almost teared up when you left! We hope you can come back up north again. Take care and safe travels!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Family Vacation

    Fantastic Family Vacation

    • Guest Karen (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 08/01/11
    Fantastic! I met my family here for our annual family vacation...There was enough room for the 7 of us. The house was beautiful and was better than we expected...with so many of us having a kitchen is a must and this one had more than we could have asked for. Joan and Howard were wonderful, from the delicious brownies and bars, to building the fire and the fishing we couldn't have had a better time.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Enjoyed our stay at the Lake

    Enjoyed our stay at the Lake

    • Guest Lenny (denver, co)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/24/11
    OMG! We had so much fun here at Joan and Howard's Lake house. This house is so beautiful in and out from the bedroom to the outdoors. This house has everything just like home. If we needed anything, Joan had it. The smiles and the friendly hospitality we received was welcomed from out first day to our last day. The kitchens (yes two) was fun to cook in. My mom really enjoyed her birthday here at your home and we plan to return again. The grass surrounding this property was beautiful and the landscaping was picture perfect. The pictures on this site does not do this place justice! I would recommend this place to anyone who like nice things. We had a party of 7 ranging from 40 to 70 years old and everybody gave this place a two thumbs up. Again, thank you from Kim, Yuran, Betty, Yolanda, Isabelle and Ann from Los Angeles CA, Denver Colorado and San Diego Ca. July 16 -23, 2011

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Enjoyed our stay at the Lake

    Enjoyed our stay at the Lake

    • Guest Lenny (denver, co)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/24/11
    OMG! We had so much fun here at Joan and Howard's Lake house. This house is so beautiful in and out from the bedroom to the outdoors. This house has everything just like home. If we needed anything, Joan had it. The smiles and the friendly hospitality we received was welcomed from out first day to our last day. The kitchens (yes two) was fun to cook in. My mom really enjoyed her birthday here at your home and we plan to return again. The grass surrounding this property was beautiful and the landscaping was picture perfect. The pictures on this site does not do this place justice! I would recommend this place to anyone who like nice things. We had a party of 7 ranging from 40 to 70 years old and everybody gave this place a two thumbs up. Again, thank you from Kim, Yuran, Betty, Yolanda, Isabelle and Ann from Los Angeles CA, Denver Colorado and San Diego Ca. July 16 -23, 2011

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a great place!!!

    What a great place!!!

    • Guest Larry & Darlene Henry (Manitoba Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/11/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Very relaxing beautiful home! This property is immaculate, and features the very best of everything. Howard and Joan are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, and go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is memorable,relaxing, and fun. Fully equipped is an understatement when you stay here!! If you choose to prepare meals in the awesome kitchen ..or go out to the nearby great restaurants... you cant go wrong. We loved our stay, and look forward to our return! Thanks Howard and Joan. See you around the fire pit soon....

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • What a great place!!!

    What a great place!!!

    • Guest Larry & Darlene Henry (Manitoba Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/11/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Very relaxing beautiful home! This property is immaculate, and features the very best of everything. Howard and Joan are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, and go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is memorable,relaxing, and fun. Fully equipped is an understatement when you stay here!! If you choose to prepare meals in the awesome kitchen ..or go out to the nearby great restaurants... you cant go wrong. We loved our stay, and look forward to our return! Thanks Howard and Joan. See you around the fire pit soon....

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Suzanne Sadler (-)
    • Date of stay 06/30/09
    • Review Submitted 06/30/09
    We stayed a week at the house this summer and had a wonderful time. This is a great set-up for families, and Howard and Joan make every effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable in their home, but with plenty of privacy to go about your daily routine. They within driving distance to many activities, but far enough away to enjoy a peaceful moment on the breezy porch. We'll definitely stay there again! And thanks for the yummy bars!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    • Guest Mike K.1 (Minnetonka, MN)
    • Date of stay 06/22/09
    • Review Submitted 06/22/09
    My wife and I stayed here this winter to ice fish and have a relaxing weekend. Howard was very helpful in our attempt to ice fish! Is was very convenient to just walk out from the house to fish. The homeowners were very accommodating, and we loved the bars Joan made for us. We already told some friends to check it out!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    • Guest Janet29 (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 05/28/09
    • Review Submitted 05/28/09
    I have spent several nights at this property and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet lakeside experience. This is a beautiful, new, completely decorated home with separate access to the sleeping rooms. The separate kitchen and living room upstairs make it a very relaxing hideaway. I love the level access to the sandy beach where I could lay in the sun without a crowd of people to step over.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]