Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front view from street

Hartstene Pointe Home with Puget Sound and Mount Rainier Views [#243250] | View Property

Harstine Island
House, 3 Bedrooms + Library, 3 Baths (Sleeps 9)
$175 - $195/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Vacation Paradise

    Vacation Paradise

    • Guest Char (Manzanita, Or, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    TheNantucket house was a wonderful place for my husband and I, our daughter, son in law and 3 grandchildren to experience what our daughter has known since she was a little girl. Her grandparents had a condo on Hartstene Island and she spent summers here growing up. She really wanted her children to experience the many things that are Hartstene Island. The weather was great and we spent hours on the beach, swung on the rope swing on the point, BBQ'd at the Point, S'mores on the spit and so much more. The house is located just a block from beach access and the kids could wander on their bikes since it is a cul de sac location. The house was wonderfully appointed and stocked. The property was clean and well maintained and the photos accurately reflected the amenities. We will be back next summer to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Nantucket House!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Be

    Great Place to Be

    • Guest Dorene (Eastern Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    What fun! We had such a nice time in this lovely home and beautiful community! Everything was comfortable and all of the people we encountered were kind and helpful. When we visited the pool, it was never overcrowded and it was a perfect temperature! The beaches are nearly silent and it is a great place to find shells, tiny crabs and beautiful rocks. The house had great amenities and the owners were helpful and responsive making everything about our stay easy! The price was more than fair. The last night of our stay, we walked down a path to one of the beaches and collected sand dollars and shells and returned to the house to enjoy a cup of coffee on the deck as we watched the sunset colors on the water and the mountain. The community is quiet and private. Our kids loved staying up late in the master bedroom to watch movies together and having "sleepovers"! There was more than enough room for everyone (there were 8 in our party). My elderly parents were there with us and used the murphy bed so they didn't have to negotiate stairs. We were grateful for the pool towels that were supplied by the owners as well. We would love to stay here again! It was relaxing enough for my parents and us and yet exciting enough for our kids! Thanks for such a great stay and we do so hope to do it again soon!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The pictures don't do this home justice

    The pictures don't do this home justice

    • Guest Seattle Family (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    The picture really does not show how comfortable and spacious this home really is. Our group of 5 moms and 6 kids/babies really couldn't ask for more. Great bedrooms, each big enough to fit one or two portable cribs, super comfortable couches and beds, a clean and well stocked kitchen, a large deck with great views, and landscaping that invited woodland creatures. While there, we took in the pool (complete with wading area), explored the trails and tide pools, cooked up a storm, watched kid movies from the big DVD collected, and were visited by many species of birds, a deer family, chimpmucks, brown squirrels, and a raccoon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Wedding Day Stay!

    Our Wedding Day Stay!

    • Guest Leyna (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/24/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    You can feel the owners love for their home the minute you enter. Beautiful photography, quilts and paintings created by the owners are placed perfectly throughout the home. A very nice touch. I was also very pleased to find every kitchen utensil you could ever imagine. Day two of our week long stay I stumbled upon a waffle maker. My four year old son and 10 month old daughter were very happy about that. We enjoyed many waffle breakfasts while watching the birds fly to and from the nearby bird feeder. The perfect start to each morning. Lunch was usually spent at the pool. We found the pool attendant to be very welcoming to our family with two small children. The pool offers a shallow kiddie area that was perfect for the little ones. Should you visit in the summer months, I highly recommend checking out the pool and club house. Evenings were usually spent back at the house. Each evening (even when it was raining) we enjoyed our dinner on the beautiful wrap around porch. Most nights we used the propain BBQ (located conveniently on the porch between the kitchen and the outdoor seating) and enjoyed meals together. When it came to bedtime, our four year old played an old fashion game of musical beds. He slept a night in each one. He had never seen a bunk bed before and though that was the coolest invention ever. He even talked my husband into sleeping in the lower bunk one night. Great memories! The baby and I stayed in the master, which I can tell you is cozy. I loved the size and layout of the master bath too. Plenty of room to get to the kids geared up for the pool, or to get myself ready for... oh I don't know a WEDDING!!!! We had planned for months to be married at the pointe during our stay. I invisoned holding the ceremony on the water near the spit. However, after spending the days before our big day in this beautiful home we changed our minds. We were married in the meadow right out in front of the house! It was beautiful and everything I had dreamed of. This home is special to us for many reasons and we very much look forward to our next stay. I should add we have rented at four other homes at the pointe. This is hands down our favorite.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bridal party haven!

    Bridal party haven!

    • Guest MOB - Mother of Bride! (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    My daughter recently married on Harstine Island and this cabin was perfect for getting ready! 3 full bathrooms, large bedrooms and common areas!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home. Or better?

    Home away from home. Or better?

    • Guest Kelli (Merion Station, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/26/12
    If I write this review it means that Hartstene Pointe will become more crowded, but I shouldn't be selfish. We had a lovely, very long stay at this home which we found very clean, spacious, well-organized, modern and inviting. The mornings, afternoons and evenings on the deck, visited by Mt. Rainier. The many windows throughout the house that we easily opened to let in the air of the day and night. The stores of games, satellite TV, and puzzles were also appreciated. The lovely trail beset by ferns and trees to the beach was a favorite as is any trail at the Pointe. Basically, you have a textbook definition of a (still, relatively) undiscovered gem. Thanks for sharing your home with us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Vacationer

    Family Vacationer

    • Guest Anna (Ellensburg, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    The house was fabulous. It was clean, well appointed and comfortable for two families. The kids enjoyed being so close to both a clam digging beach and a club house with a swimming pool. With a bicycle, a few kick scooters and a vast collection of DVD and VHS movies, the kids were never without anything to do. The adults enjoyed the view of Mount Ranier from the wrap around deck, as well as the abundant wildlife. We saw deer, racoons, squirrels, herons, seals, eagles and a variety of woodland birds. This is a great place to reconnect with family and friends.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Family Week at Hartstene Pointe Home!!

    Wonderful Family Week at Hartstene Pointe Home!!

    • Guest Roger Capps (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    We had the privilege of staying in this beautiful home for a family get-together -- grandparents, along with our son, daughter-in-law, and their three children. We arrived to see deer eating berries just beyond our porch-deck. We walked to the beach, a 5-minute walk from the house. We sat on the porch and saw great views of Mt. Hood. This is a very special house -- modern, plenty large enough for all seven of us. Hartstene Pointe is a great place for families, children, and people of all ages. Very quiet, well-protected, plenty to do, and a wonderful place to relax. We will definitely return again next year!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Make it Mount Rainier that is seen from our home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Retreat

    Spring Retreat

    • Guest Squirrelly (Seattle Area)
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    My sister and I stayed for 3 nights and had a family reunion which ended up being about 4 hours with 20 persons. The house was wonderful. The wrap around deck and the dining-living room space worked well. The place was exceptionally clean and it was supplied well with every kitchen thing you might need to serve a group. It was quiet, beautiful, and assistance with directions and how to make the most of the home was made available. Our only disappointment was that TV is only for DVD use; no satellite. It was a great place to rest and enjoy family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Retreat

    Relaxing Retreat

    • Guest Laura (University Place, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/04/10
    My church women's group enjoyed a relaxing weekend walking the beach and enjoying each other's company in this lovely home. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room to spread out. Our goal was a quiet, relaxing weekend. The only visitors we had were two deer and many birds partaking of food from the bird feeder. We live in the Tacoma area so the drive was less than 1 1/2 hours, yet we felt like we were far away. The owner was very helpful and returned my deposit right away. I would definitely recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beyond expectations

    Beyond expectations

    • Guest Jan (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 09/09/10
    • Review Submitted 09/14/10
    Our family of adult children gathered and enjoyed an extraordinary weekend at this immaculate, highly organised and charming home. The onwers seem to have thought of everything one would need for a successful vacation. The home is quite comfortable and accomodated adults and small children. We have memories of meals inside and out on the lovely deck. The neighborhood provides a wealth of activity options that kept everyone busy and happy. One outstanding experience was a surprise performance by a pod of Orca whales north of Hartstene Pointe. Both groups of us on the beach and out in our boat were thrilled by sighting. We hope to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Shelton Vacation

    Shelton Vacation

    • Guest Rusty (Delta Junction, AK)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    I stayed here with my three brothers and parents in August and we had an awesome time. The house is as described, if not better than described. It contained everything we needed and gave us all a home away from home feel. Thanks for everything and I hope to be returning next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Paradise.

    Family Paradise.

    • Guest Ken (Belle Fourche, SD)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    This is a beautiful home that was just as described in the listing. The location close to the water, the view of Mt Rainer, and the abundant wild life make this a very special home. The property is very well maintained and clean. Darrell, the owner, was very helpful, answered all questions, and provided execlent directions to this secluded paradise. If my family votes to return to the Northwest for our family get togather/vacation next year we all agreed this is the place we want to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice, quiet, remote, home

    Nice, quiet, remote, home

    • Guest Donna (Spokane, WA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    This is a beautiful home, fairly new on a small beautiful lot facing the sound. The listing description was accurate regarding location. The only thing is people need to know Hartstene Island is a good 30 min. drive to Shelton, the nearest town so for trips to the grocery store, etc. it's a bit of a drive. We were there for a family friend's wedding which was only 15 mins. away and very convenient. There's lots of opportunity for walks along the beach with easy access just down the road. Trails go all over the island. The listing photos were accurate of the house and the view to the Sound. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and cooking utensils but you do need to bring all of your own food and spices, etc. The refrigerator has an ice maker and the kitchen supplies dishwasher soap, dish soap, salt, pepper, dish towels, etc. Bath towels are provided as well. Internet service is available at the community center but not the house. There is a TV, VCR, DVD but no cable. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owners were very helpful in answering any questions we had about amenities. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative. It was comfortable and had lots of "living space" on the main floor for gathering at meals, playing games, watching movies, etc. Also, the owners were very helpful in delivering the key to us at our convenience. Nearby attractions we visited were in Olympia, about an hour away. We did not have an occasion to visit any other attractions or restaurants nearby in Shelton since we prepared all our meals at the house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very relaxing and well appointed!

    Very relaxing and well appointed!

    • Guest kristin30 (nor Cal)
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    Even with cloudy weather we completely enjoyed everything about this home---super relaxing -yet plenty of walking , biking andI water sport options available. Comfy beds and all we needed in the kitchen--thanks so much! Oh and the view was amazing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Alison21 (Bothell, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/19/09
    • Review Submitted 08/19/09
    We vacationed with two other families and found there was plenty of space to spread out in this beautifully appointed home. We loved the art work, decked out kitchen and covered porch with ocean view. Everyone had a wonderful time exploring the beach, swimming, playing tennis and ping-pong and enjoying the relaxing atmosphere. We are already making plans for next year! - Thanks again for the amazing setting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Rice Family2 (Tumwater, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/07/09
    • Review Submitted 07/07/09
    Alongi Families- Thank you so much for making your vacation home available to us. We stayed there over the 4th of July Holiday and had a wonderful, relaxing time. Your home is beautiful, all the art work done by you is amazing - the quilts, the drawing and paintings and the photos - you are all so talented!The Pointe community is fun and a welcoming place, we participated in all of the 4th festivities down at the lagoon, swam in the pool at the clubhouse and lounged in the hot tub. This is the perfect family get-away! We are already talking about when we can go back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]