Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Typical Sunset

Paradise Cottage Gulf Beach 70 Steps Lagoon in Back Private Shared Pool [#244048] | View Property

Don Pedro Island
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$1,750 - $1,950/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (45)

Sort by:
  • Best family vacation ever!!!!!!

    Best family vacation ever!!!!!!

    • Guest Julie (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 01/19/14
    Fun had by all this vacation. It was my husband and I and our 3 kids 12,15,15 and my parents. Location was perfect. This cottage had some privacy with trees,etc. Loved the Dock for fishing. Loved the beach for swimming,fishing,sunsets,dog walkers,friendly people. We were there the week of Christmas and weather was GORGEOUS! No rain. Golf cart a must to go down to resort esp. my aging parents(Mom's bad knees).We rented a pontoon boat for day was wonderful- got to see some dolphins. Although we did see them at beach out far and up close in early am at resort following fishermen. The only disappointment was it gets dark before 6pm that time of yr. So we were to bed early. Some friendly people there stated a manatee goes by almost every morning and at dusk, but we never saw him. We found lots of beautiful shells and sharks teeth. We did the 5 trip ferry deal (worked best for all we had planned.)The men/ boys went on a deep sea fishing trip off Island that was fabulous. We planned our meals ahead of time and shopped before coming over first day. IT WAS FABULOUS, I'm late in writing a review, but can't say enough about our stay. We would love to go back in future. Thank-you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Guest from Baltimore, MD
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    "This is our second time in Paradise. I came for 2 weeks the last week of July 2011 w/my husband and 21 year old daughter. Unfortunately, you were booked last year (2012), so we stayed next door and wished I was at your beautiful home. Thank goodness my wish was answered this year. I feel so blessed to be here. I love, love, love it. Just me and my husband this time, and all of my expectations have been exceeded."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great escape in Paradise

    Great escape in Paradise

    • Guest Doris (Montreal,Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    As a family of 2 kids + grand parents, this house was perfect and felt like home. Well located, steps from the beach, pool and tennis courts. We really enjoyed ourselves on this quiet island away from it all. The kitchen is well equipped and we enjoyed preparing many meals. We rented a poontoon for a few days and we were very glad to have our own private dock at the back of the house. It was fun to discover lemon bay with so many dolphins... If you enjoy wildlife, there is plenty to see right in the backyard; turtles,rabbit,armadillo,cat... I would recommend this place to family who are looking for a relaxing + authentic old florida style vacation. Thank you to Suzie the property manager who was very helpful and gracious.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Michael, Lisa & Hannah fromCincinnati, OH
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    Our family had a wonderful time. Wish we didn't have to leave. Need another week. Whole family loved it. Beautiful island with many animals and places to explore.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    From Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Julia from Toronto, Canada
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    We've had such an eventful week here at Paradise house. We got here late on Saturday and found the house so cozy and inviting. It was a nice rest after a full day of traveling. The weather was full of surprises. The rain. The thunderstorms. The fear of flooding. But, despite all of this such a great break from reality in such a comfortable house. We are so glad we found this house and this island. Thanks and all the best to you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Guests from Valrico, FL
    • Date of stay 06/24/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    Had a wonderful time in your cottage, wish we could stay forever! This is a great place to stay and the island was just what was needed to "turn off" our normal lives and just be. We look forward to another visit--very soon!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Guests from North Wales, UK and Georgia, US
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    A thoroughly relaxed and beautiful place to stay. We have had two weeks to get to know our family; the kids have managed to entertain themselves on the dock and in the pool--still no fish caught, except in the trap! We could have done without the tropical storm Andrea!! Would love to come back. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family vacay

    Family vacay

    • Guest ali m.
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    We enjoyed the house...everything was as expected. Two families with kids, loved the island including spectacular beach and nice pool. The only thing we would have liked to see was less overgrown plants in the parking area. We found it difficult to get our mini van in to load and unload....also had to wade through weeds to get to the dock. Other than that very nice peaceful vacay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Don, Liz, Maddie
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    This was our second time at Paradise Cottage and it really was paradise. Had a lovely time. Hope to come down again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fish n fun

    Fish n fun

    • Guest Brunny25 (Muskegon, MI)
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    We have 3 boys 5,6, and 8 and had plenty of room for all of us including Grandma and Grandpa. It was an excellent vacation. The cottage is right on the channel and is located just a short walk to the beach right across the street. It was perfect as we were able to fish on the dock out back and the proximity to the beach was great. Caught several Spanish Mackerel from the shore that provided a couple of nice meals as with grilled them on the provided gas grill. The pool is also a short walk away and has been recently renovated. We were there during Spring Break and even during this busy time neither the pool or the beach were crowded. Don Pedro Island is great as it is extremely laid back. Most people get around by golf cart. I recommend renting one as it was a great way to explore the island. We had a blast and my boys keep asking when we are going back. (We haven't even been home for a week yet). Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Guests from Wisconsin
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    We had a great time this week. Our flight was delayed and we caught the ferry at 11:40; sure glad we made it. It was really nice that Suzie brought our groceries over earlier in the day. We enjoyed shelling and watching the pelicans. Your house is beautiful and comfy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • DickH

    DickH

    • Guest DickH (E Northport, NY)
    • Date of stay 02/20/13
    • Review Submitted 03/15/13
    We have rented on the island 7 or 8 times - mostly on S. Gulf Blvd. This was our best experience. The quality of the furnishings, the amenities (imagine finding Philip Roth, Virginia Wolf, and others ...), and the jolly art work all added to our comfort. Suzy was very helpful, though nothing was amiss. Our only regret was that our stay was shortened by problems beyond our control. Perhaps we will get a chance to do it again. You asked to add any ideas for improvement. Not much comes to mind - but if you happen to be fixing something or other, grab bars in the toilets would be a plus.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Definitely "Paradise"

    Definitely "Paradise"

    • Guest Kelsey (Holiday, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/22/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    My family and I stayed in paradise cottage over the Thanksgiving holiday. We have stayed at several properties on the island and I must say that this cottage is our favorite. The house has a great layout for a large family and comfortable beds. There are 2 patios which we spent a lot of time on listening to the ocean. We had a dock to fish from or you can go out the front door and be on the beach by crossing the road. I would highly recommend this rental to others and I know my family will be requesting this one the next time we visit Palm Island. This truly was Paradise!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Chitianna, Tom & Lydia
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    Thanks once again for the use of your wonderful beach house. We all had such a fabulous time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Review from Paradise Cottage Guest Book

    • Guest Guests from Lakeland, FL
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/15/13
    What a wonderful week in a beautiful and peaceful place. This is the best beach place. The island is so peaceful, and our entire family felt so blessed to be here. Suzie was wonderful. They are here for anything you need. The owners are great. They came to our rescue when our rented golf cart was a problem. Everyone feels sad to leave.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great experience!

    Great experience!

    • Guest Kathy (South Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at Paradise Cottage last week! The weather was perfect, the house was wonderful, the beach was awesome, and it was just what we needed! Saw some manatees (one with a calf) and a sea horse right off the dock. The kids were amazed! Only had to bother Suzie once - she was so helpful. We explored the island a little and had some really great seafood at the Palm Island Resort. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Family Vacation

    Wonderful Family Vacation

    • Guest jghickey (Boynton Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    My family and I just returned home from an amazing week-long vacation at Paradise Cottage. My husband and I were concerned that our children (4 1/2 and 1 1/2) might get bored spending an entire week just going to the beach and the pool, but were we ever wrong! They loved it, and so did we! We practically had the beach to ourselves every day we were there! It was indescribable! Paradise Cottage is exactly as is pictured. It was very well maintained and the property managers, Suzie and Stu, couldn't have been more helpful to us. We cooked all of our meals except one at the house, which we thoroughly enjoyed doing. (We found the one restaurant on the island, Rum Bay, to be very sub-par.) My husband fished every afternoon off the dock behind the house and caught quite a few fish! He found it to be very relaxing. It was so incredibly peaceful there. The last night we were there, my husband and I sat on the balcony outside the master bedroom and couldn't believe how many stars were out All in all, I highly recommend Paradise Cottage and we're SO looking forward to returning in the not-too-distant future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • True Paradise!

    True Paradise!

    • Guest CapnGonzo (Pembroke Pines, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    This was our 4th year visiting Palm Island and second year renting a beach home. Although we had to deal with Tropical Storm Debbie for the first 4 days of our vacation, Paradise Cottage provided the warmth and coziness to feel safe during the storm. We lost power a few times, but they had many candles we lit to be able to move around. Do not bring anything except your clothes and groceries. This house has everything, from bicycles, beach chairs, & umbrellas to a book & video library and a great flat screen tv with surround sound. We enjoyed beautiful times in the wonderfully equipped kitchen. The rooms are large and everyone can enjoy their own personal space thru out the home. We are just sorry for the weather and that the previous and following weeks were not available on their rental calendar to enjoy a 2 wk. stay. Only downer, is the cost of the ferry. $55.00 round trip now. But if you bring groceries and coolers with your cold stuff, it should be okay. Thank you Suzie for checking up multiple times during the storm and to see if our cable service had returned. We'll definately be back next year!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Acworth, GA

    Acworth, GA

    • Guest Runner Girl (Acworth, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/03/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    We had the BEST time at Paradise Cottage! You have created this wonderful place, and we had so much fun. The house was just perfect for us, and the three days of overcast weather helped us recover from sunburns :). We all found our favorite place to read and relaxed to the max! The house was lovely, and had everything we needed. We cooked every meal except one. This week has been our best vacation time together as a family. We were celebrating a family event, and we are grateful to have had the opportunity to stay at your cottage.Thanks again - we hope to visit Paradise Cottage another time, and all of you have been great to work with.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • nice name

    nice name

    • Guest stew (plattsburgh, n.y./northcv east)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 05/09/12
    Was very nice. Bathroom floors showed alot of built up grime, and tub upstairs needed cleaning. Also jets in upstairs tub didn't work. Talked to person who rented the cottage the year before and they said that the jets didn't work then either. Beoutiful location, nice dock, excellent resturants nearby. Fishing on the beach was great in the morning and i swam every day in the gulf. A very restfull place to stay. Thanks for letting us stay at paridise cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: We take great pride in providing a clean and comfortable home for our guests. We always encourage our guests to let us know immediately if there is anything whatsoever that is needing attention and we respond immediately. Our island property managers, Suzie & Stu do an excellent job taking care of our guests. The tub jets do work, but they can be tricky to operate. We will be sure to check to see if our instructions for the tub jets are clear enough.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Canadians

    The Canadians

    • Guest Tut (Barrie, ON, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    This was our second trip to Paradise Cottage and we look forward to returning next year. We thoroughly enjoy all the amenities that are offered. The living area is very ample and allows for various activities from watching tv, quiet reading, computer time, games etc for the individual or the group. The kitchen is nicely laid out and well equipped. The decks allow for a quiet place to read or just to have a chat. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The beach, pool and tennis courts are close by and easily accessible. The guardian of the premises, a Gopher Tortoise, resides in the garden at the front and it's comings and goings are very entertaining. We even named it Gophy. Look after it, please! The couple who look after the property, Suzie and Stu, are easily accessible and accommodating in the owner's absence. We totally enjoy Paradise Cottage and our grand daughter is looking forward to returning again next year. Thank you for sharing Paradise Cottage with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful experience at Paradise Cottage

    Wonderful experience at Paradise Cottage

    • Guest Adele T.
    • Date of stay 02/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/02/12
    This trip exceeded our expectations (which were already high!). The house and the island, itself, are charming, beautiful, and peaceful. The cottage was so comfortable and tastefully furnished that we felt completely at home and did not want to leave. All of the furnishings are of high quality, and we especially enjoyed the well stocked kitchen. The property managers, Suzie and Stu, added much to our visit by going beyond their duties to help us and make us feel at home. This was the best house rental experience we've ever had. I give this cottage the highest recommendation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Cottage

    Paradise Cottage

    • Guest Sim (Indiana)
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/12
    This property was very well represented in the listing. We had a wonderful time on the beach. The neighbors could not have been any more friendly. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend Paradise Cottage for anyone who would like a very relaxing, private beach location.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A week in paradise!

    A week in paradise!

    • Guest Louanne (Brandon, Fl)
    • Date of stay 10/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/23/11
    I have been visiting Palm Island/Don Pedro Island for the last 25 years. The week spent at Paradise Cottage far surpasses any prior visits to the island! Beach access is accross from the cottage with a dock directly out the back door. The bed was heavenly, the view was even better. The cottage was extremely clean, comfortable, and decorated to make you feel as if your were visiting someones home, not a hotel. The property managers, Stu and Suzie, are incredibly nice people. I highly reccommend this property!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love this place!

    Love this place!

    • Guest Wistfully Gone (Richmond, KY)
    • Date of stay 09/22/11
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    This was my second stay at Paradise Cottage and I must say that I would definitely return again. The house is lovely, well equipped (the kitchen is amazing!), very clean, well-maintained and beautifully decorated. Don Pedro Island is delightfully secluded and relaxing. Because the cottage is close to the beach and the pool we found ourselves alternating between the two. The owners were responsive and very helpful with great suggestions on planning and activities. The island is quiet enough that morning runs were pleasant and undisturbed. The perfect place for an island vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wanna Really Relax and Enjoy a True Beach Vacation?!

    Wanna Really Relax and Enjoy a True Beach Vacation?!

    • Guest David (Carlisle, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    What a great island! This has to be one of the best kept secrets of Florida! We loved feeling like the beach was practically ours alone. The water was perfect, shelling was extraordinary and shark's teeth were there for the picking. Our friends like the Disney scene but we much prefer this true beach paradise any day! The owners of this home have gone to great efforts to make the place welcoming and beautiful. It was very clean and had everything we needed and more! Great book selections at the house and internet and electronics to amuse you if needed, but we spent our time outdoors fishing, swimming, playing tennis, shelling, wildlife watching, etc. The wireless internet was 100% reliable and very helpful. The owners and the property manager were great—gave us everything we needed and more. We used the pool a lot, and were often the only ones there. I don’t think I’ve ever fully relaxed like I did on this trip. I would highly recommend the island and this home for your next vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cottage!

    Great Cottage!

    • Guest Elizabeth (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/28/11
    • Review Submitted 08/31/11
    This is not your typical vacation rental, especially for the price! Paradise Cottage is lovely and very comfortable. It has every convenience and is decorated with care. Our family enjoys cooking and we made a competition out of our meals in this well-equipped kitchen. We thought the proximity to the beach, pool, and tennis courts was great! There is a nice path leading to the beach just across the street and made access very convenient. We loved the availability of the beach umbrellas and beach chairs. We could just set up camp for the day on the beach, lay back and enjoy! We also had a great time renting some kayaks and touring around the lagoons. Saw manatees and porpoises and caught lots of fish. We’ll definitely be returning to the island and staying again at Paradise Cottage!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A little bit of paradise

    A little bit of paradise

    • Guest Sarah (Louisiana)
    • Date of stay 08/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    Paradise Cottage on Don Pedro Island was really a little piece of paradise. Our family had a wonderful vacation in the clean and very cute beach cottage. It was even better than the description. This was our first rental through VRBO and the owners answered all of our questions. Also, the island contacts were perfectly charming! We spent our days hunting for rare shells and swimming in the crystal, clear water; the shelling on Don Pedro was much better than Captiva! My son even found a large part of a Junonia. We also fished with Another Keeper Charters catching Goliath Grouper and even a shark. We plan to schedule another trip as soon as possible!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Renter Beware!! INVENTORY EVERY SMALL IMPERFECTION BEFORE RENTING!!

    Renter Beware!! INVENTORY EVERY SMALL IMPERFECTION BEFORE RENTING!!

    • Guest David (Vidalia, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/29/11
    Upon our arrival, we found many small aspects of the cabin that were not in excellent shape. Upon moving in, we noticed that the bottom of the refrigerator kept falling onto the floor as we placed our items into the fridge. Furthermore, we had to also keep replacing the inside side drawer in the freezer as we tried to place our frozen foods into the fridge. The veggie drawer also kept sticking. Never did we think that we would be blamed for these aspects. THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT OCCURRED! There were other small problems with the property that we noticed, and to our amazement, when we returned, the owner informed us that we would be charged our deposit for repairs as well as others that we never even saw! The owner said she would keep the deposit to include the fridge repairs, a hole she said was found in a comforter (where an adult slept), and for a pull in a rattan bench that no one even sat on during the trip. (It was not comfortable and no one even used it!) We were appalled since we teach our children to respect others' property, and because after years of using VRBO, we have never lost a deposit. We soon found out that the owner had just begun using a new cleaning service and new property management who possibly had not properly inventoried the condition of all aspects of the cottage before our arrival. We were the SECOND renters since the change in management. WHEN WE EXPLAINED THAT WE CERTAINLY HAD NOT DAMAGED ANY PART OF THE COTTAGE, THE OWNER SAID, "YOU SHOULD HAVE NOTED THE FRIDGE AND ANYTHING WRONG IN THE COTTAGE TO PROTECT YOURSELF FOR THE FUTURE." THEREFORE, RENTERS PROTECT YOURSELVES! If you rent this cottage, be sure to document every little thing you can find that is imperfect because you may be blamed for anything that has not been noticed before! Let me help you now with this: In addition to the faulty fridge drawers and bottom and inside freezer drawer that fall out of the fridge during use, the garden tub jets will not work. The outside upholstery on the screened porch has holes and the chairs are well-used. There is a scratch on the sliding glass door in the living room, and the rattan chair on the left side of the couch has a broken bottom section that pops out. Just that we noticed these details shows how we paid attention to our use. Listing imperfections on a property is not a vacation activity I enjoy. It is unfortunate that this is necessary. What was a beautiful trip is now a bad memory for us.

    Manager response: Anyone who has stayed in our home, Paradise Cottage on Don Pedro/Palm Island, will recognize the pride we take in maintaining and improving it….we invite you to come and see for yourself. These renters are retaliating because we were forced to retain a portion of their security deposit because of damages to the home. Specifically, there was a significant tear in a custom-made comforter cover, a broken refrigerator shelf, and damages to a new piece of living room furniture. Repairs will exceed the cost of the $500 deposit, yet we agreed to refund $250 of the deposit. Our property manager, along with her staff, personally inspects the home after each guest departs. She and her team have managed the property for years and are completely familiar with each detail of the home. We trust her judgment and professionalism entirely. In over 20 years of renting, this is the first time we have had to keep any portion of a damage deposit and we did not take it lightly. We always promptly and professionally repair any damages to the home that we hear about or find. We’ll maintain our faith in people, knowing that the vast majority of renters are caring and respectful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice House

    Nice House

    • Guest Jeremy (Plant City, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/20/11
    We had a really nice time at the cottage. Nice and clean and close to the beach very relaxing place to be

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Elizabeth
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    From On-Site Property Manager Survey: "Our vacation at Island Paradise was wonderful. The house was great (although we never could get the jets on the tub to work!). It was comfortable, great sleeping arrangements, plenty of room. I loved the dock in the back and the closeness to the beach. We come to this island every year and may very well be back to this particular house next April! Thanks for all of your help. Elizabeth"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Priceless !

    Priceless !

    • Guest Francesca (South Tampa)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 04/12/11
    The vacation was absolutely priceless. What can I say - the Paradise Cottage was well appointed there was no need for anything other than food and flip flops. Two adults and 4 children ages 7 - 2 all stayed at this wonderful house and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Lovely home, plush towels, plenty of sunlight, a dock for fishing and great sleeping quarters for everyone and more. Perfect !!! We will absolutely do again !!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • it was Paradise Cottage in Heaven

    it was Paradise Cottage in Heaven

    • Guest Tut (Barrie, ON, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/03/11
    My wife and I spent the month of March 2011 at Paradise Cottage. We must say it is truly PARADISE!! The cottage is well-equipped and easily accessible once you get the legs for climbing the stairs. Its location is fantastic as it is only a very short walk to a sandy 7-mile long beach where one can find shells and sharks teeth as they paddle along in the water. There are few people on the beach. Behind the Cottage is a very quiet lagoon with a wooden dock jutting out into the waters. It is a great spot to take a book and read. The Cottage has very comfortable beds, an excellent entertainment unit and is well supplied with needs for a family. We totally enjoyed our stay there and are planning on coming back in 2012. As we have heard and concur with others on the Island it is a quiet, tranquil paradise and a great spot to holiday. The owners are excellent people and have been very accommodating. Paradise Cottage a "Peace in Heaven"!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Cottage

    Paradise Cottage

    • Guest raye (Crosswicks, NJ)
    • Date of stay 02/01/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/11
    The location of this property and its appearance were accurately described. The in property was clean and well maintained, including all amenities neccessary for everyday living. The kitchen was very well appointed, including all amenities. The owner was extremely helpful and easily accessible through emails. We have already recommended this property to friends for future rental opportunities. Activities nearby that we would recommend are visiting: Sarasota, Venice, Engelwood(Dearborn Street), Boca Grande and Punta Gorda. Looking in the local paper for ongoing events was helpful. We found this cottage to be in the perfect location for beach, pool and tennis access. We have appreciated your tastefully appointed comfortable, decorated island theme throught the house. The original art work throughout the house lends itself to creating a very pleasing island atmosphere. The front and back porches allow for sun or shade depending on your mood. The addition of ferry tickets was most helpful when renting on Don Pedro especially when shopping off the island is a neccessity. The serenity of this island with the dolphins and pelicans is so relaxing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise cottage

    Paradise cottage

    • Guest RK (Buffalo)
    • Date of stay 12/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/11
    Absolutely beautiful cottage! We had the most wonderful and relaxing vacation here at Paradise Cottage. The cottage was truly lovely! Very clean and beautifully decorated! We stayed very comfortably with our 3 teenage kids and they, too, had an amazing time. We are excited to return next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Stay at Paradise Cottage

    Wonderful Stay at Paradise Cottage

    • Guest Shannon2010 (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 10/21/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Thanks for a delightful stay at Paradise Cottage during my recent visit to Palm Island. My overall experience was superb. This beach home was so charming and very well maintained. I enjoyed the very easy access to the beach, the pool, and the tennis courts. The home is also equipped with nice "extras", including a full array of kitchen/cooking supplies and a state of the art tv and audio entertainment system. I highly recommend Palm Island and Paradise Cottage to anyone looking for a beautiful and secluded beach vacation and a pleasant stay at a charming vacation home. The owners of Paradise Cottage are quick to respond and accurate in everything they convey about this property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Summer H.
    • Date of stay 06/18/10
    • Review Submitted 07/12/10
    I wanted to thank you for the wonderful weekend we had at your cottage--it was absolutely amazing. Everything was perfect! We will definitely booking with you again soon. Thank you again we had such a great time!!!!!! Everyone was wonderful and very helpful during are stay from the time we made are reservation to the day of check out. Thanks Again, Summer and Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cozy, comfortable and oh-so-cute!

    Cozy, comfortable and oh-so-cute!

    • Guest Terry and Mark (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/30/10
    What a charmer! Paradise Cottage lives up to its name for sure! Top-notch linens and flat screen TV's in every bedroom for those snuggle-in times. Well-appointed kitchen with plenty of counter space/bar stools for social cooking. Solid wood dining table, great for games after dinner! Gulf-side screened-in porch just right for lounging as is the full-length deck lagoon-side with grill. Great fishing off the pier, shady and peaceful. Stunning pristine beach, so beautiful and convenient, offers incredible swimming. High quality chairs, umbrellas make beach-time relaxing and restful. Bikes available for tooling around the island. Wrap-around sound and large flat screen TV in casual living room, plenty of soft-seating. Bathrooms are immaculate, roomy and amply stocked with fluffy towels and washcloths - perfect after a long day of fun in the sun. Don't miss the chance to stay here - it's a real deal, nicely-maintained, you are ready to relax the moment you arrive!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Recent visit to Palm Island and property #244048

    Recent visit to Palm Island and property #244048

    • Guest Shannon2010 (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 05/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    I recently stayed at this lovely beach home and had a delightful experience. The home offers all the amenities attractive to families, groups of friends, romantic getaways, etc. It was the prettiest beach I've ever visited....very quiet, peaceful ocean waves, and lots of opportunities to see marine wildlife. I would definitely recommnend this beach home and the location of Palm Island to any family member or friend seeking pristine beaches, a quiet (non-touristy) setting, a cozy beach home, and beautiful sunsets! Thanks to the owners for making it available and for the immaculate condition of the home.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Wistfully Gone (Richmond, KY)
    • Date of stay 05/18/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    Palm Island is delightfully quiet, relaxing and beautiful. This home is very clean, attractive, comfortable and well appointed. The kitchen has the best set of equipment I've ever experienced in a beach rental. There is only one house between you and the beach, great! Highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest CBHNashville
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 06/12/10
    "Excellent Vacation Spot!" "My family and I have been coming to Paradise cottage for 16 years. It is beautifully decorated with comfort privacy. The kitchen, bathrooms and bed rooms are just wonderful. We rent a golf cart every year and bring our tennis rackets. My children range in age of 23 to 9 and we all have a great time here year after year and have made many memories here. My middle child and my sister got to swim with a baby mante and it's mother right out side in the back of the house! The sunsets are just spectacular. There is a pool right down from the cottage and the beaches are wonderfully relaxing. I think Paradise cottage is one of the best kept secret get aways ever. It would be wonderful for a couples get away, a girls trip or just to bond and relax with your family. I give paradise cottage 5 stars!!"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent Vacation Spot!

    Excellent Vacation Spot!

    • Guest CBHNashville (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 06/09/10
    My family and I have been coming to Paradise cottage for 16 years. It is beautifully decorated with comfort privacy. The kitchen, bathrooms and bed rooms are just wonderful. We rent a golf cart every year and bring our tennis rackets. My children range in age of 23 to 9 and we all have a great time here year after year and have made many memories here. My middle child and my sister got to swim with a baby mante and it's mother right out side in the back of the house! The sunsets are just spectacular. There is a pool right down from the cottage and the beaches are wonderfully relaxing. I think Paradise cottage is one of the best kept secret get aways ever. It would be wonderful for a couples get away, a girls trip or just to bond and relax with your family. I give paradise cottage 5 stars!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • One of Florida's Best Kept Secrets!

    One of Florida's Best Kept Secrets!

    • Guest John (Miama, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/10
    Don Pedro/Palm Island/Little Gasperilla is one of Florida’s best kept secrets. Perhaps the reason for this is the welcomed inconvenience that you must endure involving a five minute ferry boat ride from the mainland to the island. Consequently unlike most Florida beaches, this beautiful beach is only shared with a handful of people, not thousands as is the case on nearby beaches that are not strategically separated by a water barrier. If you are in to eco-tourism like me, this is the place to come. Where to begin? The shelling is outstanding especially near the inlet. Bird watching is second to none. By far the most famous residents are the huge land tortoises and giant sea turtles. The tortoises can be encountered year-round while the sea turtles can only be encountered during the five month nesting season beginning in April. On almost any night during this time, you can walk along the beach at the water’s edge from 10:00 PM until 1:00 PM and can encounter one of these prehistoric, gentle giants nesting in the sand. Warning! Please be respectful because the turtles can be easily disturbed by human encounters and will return to the water without nesting. The fishing is some of the best in Florida and doesn’t require a boat or an expensive guide. On any night, you can walk along the road looking for a lighted dock. Once a dock is found, throw out a hook baited with a shrimp and moments later, you will have either a snook or redfish on the end of your line. Fishing is also excellent at the inlet at high tide during early morning or late afternoon hours. You can travel anywhere on the island with one of the bicycles that is provided for free at the office. Also there are tennis courts and a wonderful, Olympic sized swimming pool that is seldom used but always maintained to perfect, crystal clear standards. Paradise Cottage is charming home built high above the ground on stilts. It’s elevation allows it to take advantage of the gentle and cooling sea breeze that commonly occur especially during the later afternoon and early evening. The cottage boasts a “beaching” décor and a gourmet kitchen, perfect for cooking freshly caught sea food. It has a wonderful screened porch in the front that’s ideally suited for cocktail hour and for re-reading a favorite book. In the back is another porch that looks out to a private dock and a secluded bay. The only down side to Paradise Cottage and the island is having to leave!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Ultimate relaxation and tranquility!

    Ultimate relaxation and tranquility!

    • Guest Lovin Paradise Cottage (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 05/09/09
    • Review Submitted 03/27/10
    My family has visited this home many times over the last several years. It is a very comfortable and charming home, decorated beautifully and tastefully. The front porch is a great place to watch the sunset, with a cool drink, if you are not already on the beach and the back deck is especially peaceful overlooking the canal and boat dock. It is not beach front, but in my opinion is better because you have the option of the back boat dock on the canal. It is a great place to sit and watch the fish jump or to cast a line. We have enjoyed many a meal of fresh caught mangrove snapper caught right out back. The kitchen is great for preparing full gourmet meals or simply warming up a quick snack or meal. The master is glorious, overlooking the beach in the front and the canal from the master bath & jacuzzi tub. The real treasure here is the secluded beach, unlike any other I have visited. This is where we escape to truly (truly!) relax and re-energize. Try it, you'll like it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic Vacation spot

    Fantastic Vacation spot

    • Guest Adam Cahill (Richmond Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 07/16/99
    • Review Submitted 06/12/10
    An amazing beach getaway! The beach is across the street and the neighborhood is secluded and peaceful. Whether you want to stay by the pool or walk on the beach, everything just out the door. If I had the money, I'd buy it in a second. The home itself is perfect for long weekends or month long stays no matter if you're by yourself or have a group of friends with you. I stayed there years ago and still consider it the best vacation I've ever been on.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]