Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View from the entrance to our canyon. Streams, redwoods, forest & sun await you!

Forest Cottage on Heart Circle Mountain: on-Site Hiking, Waterfalls & Hot Tub [#245192] | View Property

Big Sur
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$375 - $425/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (45)

Sort by:
  • Incredibly beautiful location! And a hot tub!!

    Incredibly beautiful location! And a hot tub!!

    • Guest Steve and Cara
    • Date of stay 02/06/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    We absolutely loved this cottage. You never know what kind of weather you will get at Big Sur in the winter. We decided not to stay on the oceanfront and were so glad we chose here instead. It was foggy and misty out, but in the Redwood forest on the property, it was just spectacular! The hike within the property was just ours - not a soul to share this living museum with but my wife and I! We went hiking every day, sometimes twice, and then back to the hot tub to soak and get warm. We never left the property! I've been many many places in the world and rank Big Sur, and the hike within this property, as one of the best for sheer beauty and peacefulness. Completely magical. We saw deer, a coyote, plenty of birds and a few banana slugs for good measure. Cottage was clean, there was a well-stocked kitchen, and two bath robes for the hot tub. A big thumbs up from us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Northern Big Sur lodging

    Perfect Northern Big Sur lodging

    • Guest Geoff (Sacramento)
    • Date of stay 11/09/13
    • Review Submitted 11/26/13
    The Forest Cottage is a wonderful lodging for two a couple miles above Hwy 1 on the northern edge of Big Sur. Perfectly maintained, comfortable, cozy and comfortable. Very private - hot tub, outdoor seating, BBQ and hammock. 10 min to beaches. Will return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A heavenly retreat

    A heavenly retreat

    • Guest Ara and Jan (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/07/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/14
    Forest Cottage is in Palo Colorado canyon, located in the gorgeous country between Carmel Highlands and Big Sur. We had the most wonderful stay at Forest Cottage. It is such a beautiful cottage in such a glorious setting. Everything about the place is just right - there is obviously a lot of loving care in putting together all the furnishings and comfortable amenities. We both just loved it and would be very happy to return. The weather was also charmed during our entire stay and we had a magical time doing everything from exploring the state parks to whale watching. This is a heavenly retreat in an enchanted place - the beauty and the quiet of the canyon, the lovely cottage in the redwoods, the spectacular coast nearby.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Quiet, secluded, private, comfortable yet near to all.

    Quiet, secluded, private, comfortable yet near to all.

    • Guest Chris R.
    • Date of stay 10/22/13
    • Review Submitted 11/07/13
    The location is perfect. The two story, full kitchen home is perfect.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sweet Little Cottage

    Sweet Little Cottage

    • Guest A & A (East)
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 11/14/13
    Sweet little cottage off a beautiful redwood-lined winding road. Great hikes nearby and not to miss the Big Sur Bakery

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect!

    Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest Jennifer K.
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/10/13
    My boyfriend and I stayed at the Forest Cottage for 2 too short days. After a long scenic drive we enter the canyon off the coast and immediately the light fades as you are under a canopy of beautiful trees. The drive up to Heart Circle is nothing short of MAGICAL! I felt like I was on a movie set or in a fairy tale. It was so beautiful. The cottage itself is perfect. Cozy, clean, with lots of special little touches throughout. The waterfall trail and the forest glen trail are just as magical. What a beautiful area!! Hammocks at both trail location ends was also a nice surprise and a welcome way to relax. We stocked up on groceries in Carmel and cooked our own meals so we didn't have to leave. We ventured out during the day on Saturday to Point Lobos State Park. That is a definite must see while in Big Sur. What a beautiful place! The Sea Lion trail and the Cypress Grove trails are spectacular! An overall wonderful trip that was far too short. I very much look forward to my next trip to Big Sur and staying again at Heart Circle Mountain. Brianne and Andrew were awesome throughout the entire process. Thank you for sharing such a special place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exactly what I was looking for

    Exactly what I was looking for

    • Guest John W.
    • Date of stay 09/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/14/13
    I was looking for a beautiful, quiet, relaxing place in Big Sur that provided opportunities for hiking and seclusion, and Heart Circle fit the bill perfectly! Excellent accommodations, and the owners were very helpful in suggesting hiking trails and spots for meals.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best cottage in Big Sur?

    Best cottage in Big Sur?

    • Guest mike (central Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    My wife and I stayed at the Forest Cottage for a few days and it was simply awesome. Minutes away from the coast, but secluded and in a private section of redwood, complete with its own network of walking trails, stream, redwoods and vistas. The property and surrounding land is beautiful, the hosts are most gracious, and we can't wait to return to explore more of Big Sur!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Peaceful and Unique Retreat in Big Sur

    Beautiful Peaceful and Unique Retreat in Big Sur

    • Guest Brittany R.
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    I stayed in the Forest Cottage in August and it exceeded all of my expectations. Everything was spotless and perfect and the owners thought of everything we could possibly need. The photos reflect it wonderfully. It feels very tranquil and isolated, but the main house is just up the road in case you need anything. The distance is enough that you have a lot of privacy, but things are accessible as well. Really, the best part of it was getting to stay in such a unique location. Since there aren't many hotels in Big Sur and those that exist are both expensive and conventional, Heart Circle Mountain provides a great alternative. We didn't feel like tourists and we were away from the crush of busy summer season. And although there is plenty to see and do in the area, we barely left the property, and barely left the canyon when we did. It was just that beautiful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Cabin in an amazing location

    Great Cabin in an amazing location

    • Guest Jim (New Orleans, LA)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    My girlfriend and I stayed at the Forest Cottage for a week in August 2013. It was fantastic and very private. The forest surrounding the cabin is lovely, with plenty of big trees. The cabin itself is very comfortable and well maintained. The bed is great. The hot tub is awesome. The shower, is a bit on the small side, but hey, it's a cabin, not a spa. I would stay there again if/when I travel to Big Sur in the future. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting to spend quality time in a special place with a special someone

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spectacular Getaway!

    Spectacular Getaway!

    • Guest Heidi A.
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    My husband and I just spent the most romantic weekend at the Forest Cottage and were blown away by all the details considered. Under the redwoods and in the heart of nature, not a single amenity was missed. I was able to cook wonderful meals in the modern kitchen. We hiked, relaxed in the hot tub, sat in the sun, drove down the coast, and got the best sleep. It is private and quaint and bursting with the smells and sounds of nature. We can't wait to return!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful!

    Beautiful!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    The Forest Cottage on Heart Circle Mountain was beautiful, clean and well appointed. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and wished I could have stayed longer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Such peace and tranquility, it must be heaven

    Such peace and tranquility, it must be heaven

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    A 7 day stay in the most quiet, beautiful and relaxing little retreat among the trees. It was amazing, relaxing, invigorating, romantic and divinely blessed by nature.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet, peaceful retreat in the forest

    Quiet, peaceful retreat in the forest

    • Guest Andreas M. (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    The Forest Cabin is an amazing place to stay. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, incredible nature, beauty and trees!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming, well-appointed getaway

    Charming, well-appointed getaway

    • Guest John (Chicago area)
    • Date of stay 03/27/13
    • Review Submitted 06/28/13
    I rented this cottage over Easter weekend of 2013 and stayed there for four full days. The cabin is nicely appointed (the appliances and cabinetry are high-quality) and Brianne and Andrew were terrific. They're great proprietors who are solicitous without being intrusive. I spent the time there alone but the cabin is really a romantic place and would be great for a couple looking to get away. I highly recommend looking into this place if you're looking for a retreat surrounded by serious natural beauty.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Secluded Forest Cottage

    Secluded Forest Cottage

    • Guest kramanala (Leon, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 01/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    We really enjoyed our stay in the Forest Cottage. The views are spectacular if you are willing to hike a little. The cottage itself is very secluded amid the tall trees. We liked looking out the skylights and seeing the stars peeking through the tree branches. The cottage was clean and we were well taken care of. The owner was very helpful in making sure we had what we needed. The pictures on the website do not really do justice to the beauty of it all. You have to see it to really appreciate it. We are thankful we were able to stay there.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet

    Quiet

    • Guest Honey, San Francisco (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/06/13
    • Review Submitted 01/12/13
    I was looking for a haven away from my daily life to just be quiet and commune with some nature. Well I got that in spades. Initially thought I would drive into Big Sur or Carmel at some point for dinner or activities, but the moment I set foot on the property I was done. Spent the entire 3 days on the grounds reading, soaking in the jacuzzi, hiking the trails and napping. I left feeling recharged and looking forward to my next visit. Brianne was a wonderful host and I thank her for sharing her Heart Circle Mountain oasis with us.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you had a relaxing stay, and that you loved the property so much! We love it too! There is a saying here in Big Sur, that the best thing to do in Big Sur is nothing. Our location on the North Coast of Big Sur puts us right between Carmel and Big Sur Valley so they are both close, but right here is our favorite spot too! I'm really glad you had a chance to hike our trails! We put a lot of work into them this summer. We would love to have you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful Retreat in the Woods

    Peaceful Retreat in the Woods

    • Guest ThatGirl (Columbus, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/28/12
    We enjoyed our stay at the Forest Cottage. It was extremely clean which we appreciate. Everything, from the fixtures to the kitchen appliances and cooking utensils, were in great condition. The guidebook from the owner answered all of our questions. The only issue we encountered was trying to use the TV after viewing a DVD, and it seems we weren't able to get a connection. Perhaps the cable cord was missing? This wasn't a big deal, however, because we found ourselves quickly re-immersed in our books on the comfy couches. Thanks for a memorable stay!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello! I'm so glad that you had a great stay with us! We actually don't have cable- I'm sorry if that was confusing. We keep the retreats pretty stocked with DVD's instead. I'm glad that you got into some good books! I hope you stay with us again in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An enchanting cottage in the forest

    An enchanting cottage in the forest

    • Guest Preston (Newport Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/15/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    My fiance and I had a wonderful time in this enchanting cottage in Big Sur. The drive through the forest was magical and the cottage is secluded, quaint and comfortable. We also LOVED the location; only 15-20 minutes from downtown Carmel. My girlfriend became my fiance this weekend and the owner of our cottage was nice enough to place a bottle of champaign in the refrigerator for us. Our only complaints would be that the hot tub was unusable because it seemed there was significant chlorine in the water. My eyes were on fire just by peaking through the cover. It would be nice to have a fireplace and bathtub as well. Otherwise it is perfect! We recommend the cottage to anyone looking for secluded solitude, romance, comfort and beauty.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review, and congratulations! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us (and the champagne!) I'm so sorry to hear that there was too much chlorine in the hot tub! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and minimal use of harsh chemicals, whenever possible. Instead, we use green cleaners for much of our cleaning. For the hot tub, we regularly drain it completely, and use a minimal amount of chlorine. There must have been a mistake in the last cleaning of the tub, and too much chlorine made it in. If we had known, we would have drained it completely for you so that it would be perfect. The owner lives on the property, and is always available for any needs that guests may have. I'm glad the rest of your stay was great, and I hope you stay with us in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • LP

    LP

    • Guest LP (California)
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    We found this a perfect place to get away to spend time together for our 25th wedding anniversary. The reservation process was a breeze and upon arrival we found the cottage super clean and inviting. The full kitchen and outdoor BBQ allowed us cook our meals together, avoiding the hassle of having to drive to a restaurant. We finished each night relaxing in the privacy of the Jacuzzi spa on the front patio. This location is amazing -so close to the coast but secluded in the redwoods. Don’t miss the opportunity to stroll both trails on the property. Thank you to Brianne for being such a gracious hostess and terrific steward of this beautiful spot.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your glowing review! We take a lot of care in our retreats, and it so so wonderful that you connected with our magical property! The addition of the hot tub has been great for our guests. I hope you stay with us again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place to Stay!

    Amazing Place to Stay!

    • Guest SHARON P.
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    We just spent 3 days at the Forest Cottage! I almost want to cry because of all the wonderful memories! Those would be tears of joy, of course! The amenities were amazing.The directions were precise, the property beautiful. If you need the details, check the website. But it's your own experience here that will matter most. It's like being in heaven! We were in the hot tub one evening just looking out at the stars. One morning we woke up to find a deer a few feet away from the kitchen window. Although we did some hiking, we also spent time in Big Sur, Carmel and Monterey. Breanne is so sweet you'll want to hug her! She and Andrew sent us a ton of suggestions of ways to enjoy the property and the surrounding area. You will not be disappointed! Our only regret was not staying longer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Deep in a Red Wood Forest

    Deep in a Red Wood Forest

    • Guest MB (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/15/12
    • Review Submitted 07/22/12
    The Forest Cottage is buried 2.25 miles east of Hwy 1, deep inside a narrow canyon smothered in Redwoods, fern and grotto. The cottage is isolated on the owners' spacious property and we did not see anyone else either on our hike to their redwood grove and stream or while sitting in the intimate jacuzzi spa in front of the cabin. The cabin, has 2 levels. The first is a comfortable kitchen (fully stocked except microwave) and an eating area. Also downstairs is a 3/4 bath. Upstairs is fully carpeted and has a very comfortable living area with couches and big-screen DVD player and a luxurious queen-sized bed. The windows and skylights let in the beautiful fresh air, morning light and sounds of birds and distant stream. We enjoyed dining outside in between more outstanding redwood trees by candlelight. The hosts keep the cottage very clean both inside and outside. They are very easy to work with and a pleasure to know. We would gladly extend our stay and hope to return again to this pristine abode. While we spent many hours out and about in Carmel and Big Sur, in retrospect, we would have thoroughly enjoyed staying right there at the Forest cottage for two solid days of rest, relaxation and Redwoods.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Private

    Beautiful and Private

    • Guest urbanretreaters (OC)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    Spacious and well appointed private house tucked away in the redwoods. Beautiful and tranquil surroundings. Well away from all urban distraction. "We'll be back"... like The Terminator....only much more relaxed. :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Far from the world

    Far from the world

    • Guest Doug (OKC)
    • Date of stay 03/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/05/12
    What a wonderful way to leave life behind for a few days! Just walking around the amazing property you will feel all the troubles of work and life melt away. We really had a great time, and would have loved to stay longer, but this place rents quickly, so were only able to enjoy for 3 days...but what a great 3 days it was. Owner is very helpful, and super nice.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect getaway

    Perfect getaway

    • Guest Josh G (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    Fantastic property, and the forrest cottage I stayed in was spacious and brand new. Brianne, the owner, was lovely, even helped us make new years eve dinner reservations when we arrived late that day. I highly recommend it for a romantic getaway or just a quick trip to a gorgeous area. I'll be returning for sure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Fantastic, exclusive and easy!

    Fantastic, exclusive and easy!

    • Guest Chris (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    Couldn't have asked for more from the gracious hosts and the beautiful setting up on the hill in the woods of Big Sur. A great place to relax, enjoy the views, and also sight-see across the Big Sur area. The cottage was everything we hoped.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway!

    Perfect Getaway!

    • Guest Dan (Berkeley)
    • Date of stay 10/02/11
    • Review Submitted 10/15/11
    This is the perfect place to get away from everything except for peace and comfort. The cottage is two miles from Highway 1 and happily insulated from all traffic sounds. It is a very comfortable place to go and recover your peace of mind. It's about a fifteen minute drive from the nearest amenities so stock up before you head in. The kitchen had everything we could need to cook our own meals and we felt right at home. It's just a couple of miles north of Bixby Bridge, so scenic drives are nearby. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous, private forest retreat surpassed our expectations in every way. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Gorgeous, private forest retreat surpassed our expectations in every way. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    • Guest J and Z (Pismo Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/21/11
    The pictures really do not capture the magic of this place. It is simply wonderful. The location and surroundings are hard to beat, and after checking in we did not see another soul the entire time. Plus, the cottage itself is beautifully decorated, perfectly appointed and spotlessly clean. The furnishings are high-quality and very comfortable. The owners here really thought of everything---We can't think of a single thing we would want changed. Within minutes of arriving, we could feel our stress level plummeting to zero. Highlights: Luxuriating in the hammock while breathing the fresh forest air, popping a bottle of wine and cracking open a good book---What more could you want? Well, there are a couple of short hikes right on the property itself---one leading up the mountain to a pretty lookout, and another leading through the forest to a burbling stream and tiny waterfall. There seems to be plenty of water flowing even in late summer/fall. An absolutely beautiful hike. There are even little outdoor table-and-chairs for two strategically positioned at a couple points on the trails, in case you wanted to stop and have a picnic lunch or just a quiet moment to enjoy the scenery. (Just make sure you know how to spot poison oak, as there is definitely plenty of that!) Carmel and Big Sur are just a short drive away, and the cottage is well stocked with guidebooks, so you will be in no danger of running out of things to do. In short, our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Don't even think about it, just go. You'll be so glad you did.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • relaxing and beautiful

    relaxing and beautiful

    • Guest Evan (Philadelpha, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 08/07/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    We had the pleasure of staying at Heart Circle Mountain for three nights in the beginning of August. Andrew and Brianne were great hosts; they were very warm and hospitable, greeting us as soon as we pulled up and giving us great advice for exploring the area. The Zen Studio was perfect - clean and convenient, with beauitful views, and a great outdoor shower/jacuzzi/bbq area. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a true getaway with great local hiking.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • surprisingly beautiful

    surprisingly beautiful

    • Guest Maggie (Marin, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    I took my husband to the Forest Cottage for his birthday. As we drove up the canyon from the coast, we were surprised at how beautiful and dense the forrest was. It felt as though you were driving through a secret, rainforest that magically appeared off the coast. The cottage itself was cozy, comfortable, updated. The furniture, kitchen and carpeting was new and modern. The outside was very charming as well. The cottage is very well maintained and has all the amenities you would need. It was worth every penny.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We try our best to keep our retreats updated and pristine. The surrounding forest is so magical, thanks for noticing! The trees that tower over the entrance of the canyon are eucalyptus and have such a powerful aroma.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect!

    Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest Kristi & Brad (Pleasanton, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/12/11
    My husband and I were looking for a weekend trip/place to get away and completely unplug from our busy life. Heart Circle Mountain was absolutely the perfect place for that! The Forest Cottage is perfect in so many ways: beautiful scenery, secluded, hiking and waterfall steps from your front door, Tempur-pedic bed with fine linens, full kitchen stocked with all necessities, grill, hammock, outdoor table and seating, meticulously clean, fresh air and birds singing. The weekend at Heart Circle Mountain completely rejuvenated us! We cannot wait to go back!! The location is perfect for visiting Carmel and Big Sur; however, the property is so lovely that you may not want to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Scott & Bonnie
    • Date of stay 05/28/11
    • Review Submitted 06/11/11
    Andrew, First, Bonnie and I want to Thank You and Brianne for a truly majestic stay! We felt blessed to experience a little piece of God's beauty and want to Thank You for allowing us to enjoy the TLC, quaintness, warmth and complete amenities of the "Forrest Cottage." Absolutely lovely stay@!!! Some of our favorite takeaways of our stay at Heart Circle were; The Forrest Cottage felt like the "Gingerbread House".. Warm, Friendly, TLC and a place you wanted to check into, but never leave... Fairy Tale. All amenities included and brand new. Incredible surrounding scenery Friendly, helpful and prompt responsive support at Heart Circle. Sky lights above the bed allowing us to feel like we were aboard the Discovery and a part of space. Comfort of Bedding, couches and throw blankets. DVD player and CD player. We look forward to being able to come back and experience another piece of heaven at Heart Circle Mountain soonest.... Grateful and Thankful. Sincerely, Scott and Bonnie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • On top of the World

    On top of the World

    • Guest Halie and Lydia (Austin,TX)
    • Date of stay 11/12/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    Came out to the Central Coast for the first time and stayed in the Forest Cottage. It was very enchanting and serene. My husband and I found it convenient to Big Sur, Point Lobos, Carmel By the Sea and Monterey. Will definitely go back to Heart Circle Mountain. The owners were an added bonus to the trip. Go, go, go!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Forest Cottage at Heart Circle Mountain

    Forest Cottage at Heart Circle Mountain

    • Guest Sara & Ray (Cayman Islands)
    • Date of stay 06/14/10
    • Review Submitted 06/25/10
    I stayed at Forest Cottage in June 2010. The property is lovely and allows you to get away from it all. All the people at Heart Circle Mountain were great and really helpful; we were really happy with our stay here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming and Great Location

    Charming and Great Location

    • Guest TedSF (SF, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/03/10
    • Review Submitted 06/09/10
    My wife and I just recently stayed here in the Forest Cottage. It was perfect place for two, with a nice kitchen comfy bed, and nice place to sit outside and watch the sunset. You're the perfect distance from Carmel to the north, and the beauties of Big Sur to the south.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Really nice. Really!

    Really nice. Really!

    • Guest hmmbrd (Bainbridge Island, WA. )
    • Date of stay 04/29/10
    • Review Submitted 05/05/10
    We found the forest cottage to be perfect for us. Our road trip was screaming for a place to settle and cook our own meals for awhile. Never sure of what you'll really get, and knowing most places try and make their properties sound better than they are, we came to Heart Circle Ranch and were so happy and relieved. It lives up the online description and then some. The place was immaculate, private, quiet and beautiful. The bedroom is upstairs and very roomy with big windows. The skylights are great for star gazing from the comfort of your own bed. Things to note: The first two miles of the road you travel on to get to the ranch is narrow with many blind corners. Take it slow! Also, be advised that the forest cottage does not get internet or cell phone reception. You can walk up a short distance to the main house area where wifi is available. We actually liked this forced break from technology. Brianne directed us to great hikes, restaurants, and local events. She pointed us to a beautiful hiking area just on up Palo Colorado Road at Bottchers Gap. We can't speak highly enough of our experience with this place. We'll be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birding at Heart Circle Mountain

    Birding at Heart Circle Mountain

    • Guest Mr. Matt (Chesterfield, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 03/21/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    My week at Heart Circle Mountain was highlighted by seeing several birds for the first time and adding them to my life list. The property and surrounding canyons are full of California quail with their distinctive short black plume on their crown. The sound of the quail making their Chi-ca'go calls is quite fun. Also abundant are the magnificent Acorn woodpecker and Steller's jay. This woodpecker stores acorns in the bark of trees, thus creating their own acorn granaries. The Stellers are large dark and blue birds with a long crest and love the forests of redwood and oak that dominate the central California coast. The scenery along Route 1 at Big Sur is breathtaking and some of California's most Important Bird Areas are all less than an hour's drive from Heart Circle Mountain. Two must-see places are Point Lobos State Reserve in Carmel and the Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve in Watsonville, both to the north. At Point Lobos you will see a diversity of wildlife such as: sea otters, seals and many birds including the Pygmy nuthatch in the Monterey pines, Chestnut-backed chickadees , Western gulls and the Dark-eyed junco "Oregon". The trails wind through gorgeous cypress woods and fields of Bermuda buttercups and Douglas iris overlooking Monterey Bay. At 1,400 acres, Elkhorn Slough is one of the few relatively undisturbed coastal wetlands remaining in California. The main channel winds inland nearly seven miles and encompasses over 2,500 acres of marsh and tidal flats. Here you will see some 200 species of birds including Horned grebes, Northern pintails, Buffleheads, Marbled godwits, Long-billed curlews and the Allen's hummingbird. On the day I visited, a Great horned owl was seen searching for food for its young and a Northern harrier and White-tailed kite circled the fields looking for prey. On the way back from Elkhorn Slough, be sure and drive through Castroville, the Artichoke Capital of the World and stop a a roadside stand for some fresh 'chokes and strawberries. More than 3,000 acres of strawberries are grown in Watsonville and they taste yummy! While at Heart Circle Mt., be sure and head south to check out some amazing state parks and incredible ocean views. At Andrew Molera State Park you can see calla lillies growing wild in wetlands and take a trail along the Big Sur River as it empties into the sea. A raft of Brown pelicans was hanging out at the river's mouth the day we were there. I can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Catie Boles (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/10
    • Review Submitted 02/16/10
    On the weekend of 02/12/2010 my fiancee and I arrived in Big Sur, CA and were married in a circle of redwoods on Heart Circle Ranch. The property was breathtaking. The space felt blessed and sacred, unadorned nature at its best. We stayed in the Forest Cottage for our wedding night, it is a beautiful,spacious and restful place. Brianne was so welcoming and accommodating, she enabled us to have the wedding of our dreams, she provided every necessity, right down to the last minute transport to allow our less able bodied guests to reach the ceremony site. We will be back next year for our first anniversary! Thank You for providing us with a haven and beautiful memories of our special day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest John Paul Whitty (Mill Valley)
    • Date of stay 01/06/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/10
    We really enjoyed our stay. A beautiful place in a great location. Brianna is incredibly sweet and welcoming. Appreciated all of her kindness and hospitality. My wife and I had a great time and enjoyed a much needed and relationship enhancing vacation. We recommend staying here. Cheers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ryan Utz (Frostburg, MD)
    • Date of stay 12/10/09
    • Review Submitted 12/10/09
    100% satisfactory stay. The hosts are thoughtful and helpful, the accommodations clean and cozy, and the location spectacular.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mark Jones (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 07/25/09
    Living in Santa Barbara, we have been coming to Big Sur for a long time. It definitely lives up to all of the talk. Heart Circle Ranch also lives up to the description. We went in the spring, and all of the flowers were blooming. It was truly breathtaking. My wife is not easily impressed, and we always choose Big Sur because it is hard to beat. We wanted to experience Big Sur, but we didn’t want to stay somewhere too rustic. We stayed at the Gate House and it was perfect. I have a bad back, so I need a really good mattress, and I had no trouble sleeping in the comfortable bed, listening to the creek outside. The stars through the skylights were pretty spectacular. We once had dinner at the main house, which was very nice. While we were in Big Sur, we went to Deetjen’s for breakfast, which was great. We went into Carmel a lot to eat dinner and go to wine tastings there and in Carmel Valley. I would also recommend a trip to Carmel beach.I would definitely recommend Heart Circle Ranch. It is like sleeping in Carmel and waking up in Big Sur, because the cabins are done in a Carmel style and are very clean, but then you get to wake up to an amazing Big Sur view.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Bob VanZant (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/24/09
    Bob VanZant, BoulderWe stayed in the Gate House and found it to be very clean, and really lovely. The property is beautiful. Our friend stayed in the Cabin. It was really nice to go on vacation together, but also have our own place.We liked that Carmel is very close to Heart Circle Ranch. We went into Carmel many days that we were there. There are a lot of great restaurants, galleries, and shops close in Carmel, Carmel Valley and Monterey. We especially liked the Monterey Fish House and Lucas in Carmel. While my wife went shopping in Carmel, I went with our friend to Carmel Valley to play golf. It was excellent.We spent our days walking around Carmel looking at the beautiful houses and gardens, going to Carmel beach, and hiking Point Lobos. My wife’s favorite trip was to the Carmel Mission.We are looking forward to the next time we can come and visit Big Sur. We will definitely stay at Heart Circle Ranch, because it is beautiful in of itself and you really feel like you are in Big Sur, but you are still very close to Carmel. We also had a private yoga session, which was relaxing and taught in a very skilled manner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Karin Viggio (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/24/09
    I really needed a vacation, and I am so happy that I went to Big Sur this summer. You can’t find a more beautiful place. The property of Heart Circle Ranch is large and beautiful, and I had a great time hiking the trails on the property. I ended up at the waterfall and relaxed on the bench, so happy to be on vacation.I booked a private Yoga and healing imagery session and loved it. I have hip issues since birth, and the instructor taught me some amazing exercises that I can do at home.In Big Sur, I went to Point Lobos, Nepenthe, Coast Gallery, and Garapatta State Park. On 4th of July I went to a party at an original Big Sur homestead on a ridge top overlooking the ocean and got to hang out with the locals. I loved the beach in Carmel with its white sand.I would definitely come back and stay at Heart Circle Ranch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anne Wiktor (Middleburg,Virginia)
    • Date of stay 07/23/09
    • Review Submitted 07/23/09
    Come to the Heart Circle Ranch if you wish to immerse yourself in the tranquility of giant redwoods and mists off the Pacific Ocean.The crispness of the air will transport your senses far away from any stresses and the quiet hospitality of your hosts will make you feel as if you have always been there. I enjoy renting a horse in Big Sur and riding down to the ocean's edge and also taking advantage of swimming at Spanish Bay Country Club. Following an extraordinary meal at Ventana Inn I like to come back to the little cabin and soak in the deep tub,with sprinkled eucalyptus leaves in the water. I dream of going back before I even leave the driveway to return to Virginia!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/18/09
    • Review Submitted 07/17/09
    The Gate House is a home, new as a gingerbread house, tucked into the mountain that is the Hart Circle Ranch. Above the Gate House is the Valley View Cabin and the estate house, and as one passes through the iron gate below and follows the flowers around the side of the mountain road these gracious structures appear in the shade of ancient redwood trees, soaring to the sky above canyon views that reel to the house perched at the mountaintop vista. A glass of wine as one arrives allows a sunset view one never forgets, with the orange and indigo hues of the long day’s sun coming home to rest in the ocean while the stars preview in the evening sky.Morning’s dawn brings birds to the windows and appetite to stretch and walkabout, perhaps to the yoga studio for an hour of meditative yoga with the Condors and the Hawks spiraling with one’s spirit. The scores of rare birds that appear to study the curious yoga participants send the sense of wonder so that the wind chimes ringing in the sun startle the meditative mind because one realizes that they are not part of a movie and are really chiming to the thoughts in one’s mind. Perhaps a morning stroll to the “waterfall of a thousand faces” or a book by the babbling water while sitting on a park bench under redwoods and madrones will begin the day for you.I am so impressed at the serenity, beauty and completeness of the lodgings that only poetry is the clear expression of the experience. Will I come back to the Hart Circle Ranch? This is a dream of serenity and privacy and I believe has value beyond any vacation rentals in Big Sur or Carmel. It is a genuine experience that I will always return to.The turnoff from the Coast Highway at Palo Colorado Road is convenient and well marked, and one drives up the narrow paved mountain road while gazing at homes – no! They are hillside cabins – and hidden geodesic domes, cliff-side manors perched above creeks with mossy redwoods as garden gnomes. The manors have a hundred steps winding to the peaks with houses for friends and guests perched up to the ridgeline of the canyon.At the steep, short driveway the address is clearly marked on a mailbox set with three neighboring boxes, and a short and quick drive up the unpaved driveway brings one to the gate and the Gate House. The gate is the entrance to the estate above, and the road following the flowers curves on for a few hundred feet to the mountain top residence and the Valley View Cabin nestled in the redwoo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]