Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Delightful Retreat @ Finnriver Cidery & Organic Farm [#245591] | View Property

Port Townsend
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)
$195/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Excellent experience

    Excellent experience

    • Guest Jessica G.
    • Date of stay 11/29/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    My family of 5 found the Huckleberry House completely comfortable in all ways. We enjoyed being on a farm and the walk through the fields. The cidery and tasting were lots of fun, too. The house exceeded all our expectations and felt roomy and spacious. Our host made sure we had everything we needed. This was a great VRBO that we would highly recommend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • accurate

    accurate

    • Guest BonnieO (Sebastopol)
    • Date of stay 09/05/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    The Finnriver cottage is lovely, spacious and lovingly decorated. The king sized bed is sumptuous! The lush garden and and many windows filled the rooms with warm green light. We were astonished at our good fortune to stumble into such a sweet place. The 'Food from Here 'store nearby is also a find. Pass on the Chimicum Cafe.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breakfast With Robins

    Breakfast With Robins

    • Guest a Huckleberry friend of Finnriver (St. Louis, Missouri)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    A nest of robins had breakfast a few feet over my head as I ate mine at the table just out the back door of the Huck House. I was drawn outside by the exquisite light, the layers of green, the wind in the trees, the flowers blooming all around the house, the butterflies floating by. I go to the Huck House every few years to have my own retreat near my sister's home across the valley. I stay to restore myself with the aid of the art and self-help book collections inside, the bird songs all day and into the evening outside, the waterfall my sister will take me to nearby, the charming coffee shops, cafes and restaurants which we can drive to if we feel like leaving at all. I am barely aware of the bustling farm a stone's throw away, though I know my family can get eggs, berries and spirits. It is a short walk to a forest of blueberry bushes, a dozen ducklings, a small wind turbine spinning. The cottage is neat and clean with everything we need (towels, blankets, coffee maker) and nothing that we do not (TV, maids). No one bothers us but we are aware of being part of a peaceful harmonious world.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our ideal vacation spot

    Our ideal vacation spot

    • Guest Haley S.
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    We visit the Olympic Peninsula annually from our home in Denver. We always stay at the Huckleberry House and look forward to it all year. This beautiful, warm house feels like a second home to us. And it's so charming we often dream of it being our home! While our trips to the Port Townsend area are primarily to visit family, staying at the Huckleberry House makes our time feel like a rejuvenating retreat. And as a family, being on Finnriver Farm is a magical adventure to share with our son. There are many beautiful places to stay in the area, but the Huckleberry House is beautiful while also being unique, welcoming, homey, and refreshing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Retreat at Finriver

    Retreat at Finriver

    • Guest Seattle Mama (seattle, wa)
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    We have been using VRBO for over 10 years in the U.S. and in Europe. We really enjoyed the house at Finnriver Cidery. It was incredibly peaceful and relaxing. The beds are fabulous. It is dark and quiet at night so everyone slept well. The location is close to vibrant Port Townsend, beaches, bike trails, hiking, berry picking, farms to visit, ETC. There are kids to play with if you have kids that like playing… It was very clean and well maintained. The one area for potential improvement would be in what seems typical for a VRBO in terms of "basics" - like providing toilet paper, large frying pan, sugar, any condiments etc. There was nothing major that we couldn't deal with, its just not plush in that dept.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family getaway

    Great family getaway

    • Guest Rich E.
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    My family had an excellent stay at the Huckleberry house. The house is very modern and has plenty of space. When we arrived it was super clean. The master bedroom is large and has the most comfortable bed I've ever used. It is very kid friendly with plenty of toys and books for younger ones. The neighbors and farm staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a short drive to the nearest market. The internet connection was a little squirrelly at times, but it wasn't a big deal. We highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Family Getaway

    Family Getaway

    • Guest Ambular (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    We had a great vacation staying at the Huck House. It was a great base for hiking excursions and visits to the local farmers markets. We also enjoyed the cider tasting at Finn River cidery. The cottage was perfect for a cozy secluded feeling, yet an easy drive to town. The cottage itself was super clean, cute and we'll furnished. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Our Favorite Get-Away Spot

    Our Favorite Get-Away Spot

    • Guest karen (seattle)
    • Date of stay 02/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    Since our first magical stay three years ago, our family can't seem to stay away from this enchanted setting. Our kids love the wide-open farm spaces for running between the goats and pigs or among the blueberry bushes. My husband and I love the relaxation that this sweet, clean and well-appointed home brings- not to mention the delicious cidery at the end of the pebbled lane! For us, it's a wonderful respite from our every-day lives- also a convenient hopping-off spot for exploring the peninsula. We just never seem to be able to tear ourselves away from the farm! Everyone is super warm and friendly- from accommodating our kids' desires to watch the farm chores to dropping our farm purchases at our back door. We completely adore the Huckleberry House and look forward to many more trips in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Setting and Area Wonderful : Host was Off-putting

    Setting and Area Wonderful : Host was Off-putting

    • Guest nanorly (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    Booked a week with my two young children (5 & 8) to spend picking blueberries and experiencing a farm and rural setting. My goal was to have them spend a lot of time outside and enjoying the surrounding environment and location on the Olympic Peninsula. The Huck House is very quaint and well-appointed and roomy. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities, and definitely made use of the blueberry picking which was fantastic. What was off-putting was that the owner, asked that I keep my children indoors and/or away from a birthday party that he was holding on the common play area right outside our door. To say that I was taken aback was an understatement - as my children had already been spending time playing with his children and enjoying the climbing structure in the yard etc...What had started as a very fun, and enjoyable vacation - turned a little sour for myself, who found it more than a little awkward to have to keep my kids away from the party. As kids will be kids, the children still found ways to interact - which resulted in me needing to monitor that they don't talk to the children from the party (who were running all around our little house, laughing and being kids) out the windows etc...As a paying guest, I found this scenario unacceptable. At the time, I was too flummoxed by the request, that I was stunned. Nonetheless, the rest of the time - we kept more to ourselves, and made full use of the u-pick blueberry picking and touring around the area. I was unable to voice my complaint to the owner before we left, as he was no where to be seen and didn't bother to reply to my texts, to indicate that we were checking out. Too bad, great location.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: How sorry I was to hear that Nancy's stay last year was marred by my request during a private party. I do recall some awkwardness even asking, since our kids were having fun together. That said, we had planned a birthday for our 5 year old and it was probably noisy... At least the blueberries were good! I typically respond to emails and phone calls within 12-24 hours, and since I never got any texts, emails or messages after this unfortunate turn of events in the guest's stay, I had no idea. Please know that I take this quite seriously, as I do all guests' concerns. As always, I will continue to meet and greet all guests that stay at the Huckleberry House. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • What a gift!

    What a gift!

    • Guest Zee (Port Townsend, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    Spending time with women friends preparing for my wedding day -- the Huck House held us so sweetly. The Finnriver Farm, the 33 acres of land, and remote location created the perfect spot to feel far away and yet still totally accessible to all my needs. The home was so comfortable and spacious. What a gift it was to spend four days at this incredible spot. I highly recommend this beautiful location!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Huckleberry Haven

    Huckleberry Haven

    • Guest Jenny (Oxford, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    What a wonderful place to stay in a peaceful wooded surrounding. The home was lovely, we wish we could have stayed longer. It would have been wonderful to just sit for days reading the books in the home. The produce that we purchased from the farm was delicious--we have never had peas in the pod or raspberries that were so sweet. The cidery offered wonderful drinks for purchase just a quick walk out the back door. And, our young son really enjoyed going to see the chickens, goats and sheep that live on the farm nearby. We cooked many meals in the kitchen, which had everything we needed for our stay. If we ever find ourselves in the Port Townsend/Chimacum area again we will definitely stay at Finn River.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome for kids! super safe, cozy and relaxing

    Awesome for kids! super safe, cozy and relaxing

    • Guest cameron and annie (california)
    • Date of stay 05/08/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    We spent three days with our 2 girls, (2 and 4yrs). The play set out front kept them occupied while we prepared meals and tried to get out the door to explore. The cidery next door (Finnriver) has great Apple bubbley and fruit spirits with produce to come at a later date. We could not have dreamed of a better situation. We'll definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Clean, Secluded, and Peaceful

    Very Clean, Secluded, and Peaceful

    • Guest Jason N. (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/28/11
    We stayed at Finn River in late February. The house is absolute gorgeous, with a very clean, northwest style, that fits right into the woodsy area. Note it is very upscale...don't think you'll be staying in an old reconditioned farm building or anything. There are lots of nice bright furnishings, and puzzles, plenty of books. The bathtub was very relaxing and the bed very comfortable. We highly recommend the place! February is a pretty cold time of the year and in fact it snowed for a while during our stay...but it is a quick trip to Port Townsend where we went to Fort Worden. Though there is a kitchen, there are also some nice restaurants in nearby towns as well. The house is kind of right in the middle of the farm, so you can see plenty of activity. However, we never felt the presence of the other people much at all. There were a couple parts of the house where there are no curtains, but in general we felt it was very private. And it was great popping by the tasting room and showing the kids the sheep. We gave it only 4 stars instead of 5 to be honest about our experience. There was no television in the house....we thought we could brave it without three kids and survive without TV for a couple of days...but we couldn't. We resorted to streaming some movies on our laptop through wi-fi. So long as you are aware of that, I'm sure you'll have a five star experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • lovely weekend getaway

    lovely weekend getaway

    • Guest cal (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/10
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    My husband and I, our two young kids, and my in-laws recently stayed at the Huckelberry House and had a wonderful time! The house was clean and comfortable, with plenty of room for us all. Exploring the farm was so much fun for the kids! A beautiful location, gracious hosts, very reasonable price - perfect!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation House

    Perfect Vacation House

    • Guest Katy15 (Olympia, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/26/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    My family of five had a wonderful week at the Huck House. The house is extremley well appointed, with beautiful decor, and lots of games and books to explore. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable and everything was clean and new looking. We enjoyed lounging in the peacefulness of the farm most mornings, often taking advantage of the organic blueberries available for picking on the adjacent farm. (The kids really loved that.) Most afternoons we enjoyed exploring the grandeur of the Olympic Penisula with its endless nature trails, beaches, hot springs, lighthouses, and more. Highly recommended for families or for anyone who wants a solitary escape.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation Stay May 17, 2010 - 4 nights

    Vacation Stay May 17, 2010 - 4 nights

    • Guest BCvisitor (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 05/17/10
    • Review Submitted 05/24/10
    A terrific vacation close to everything but far enough away to be a real retreat. My husband, myself and our two young daughters enjoyed this beautiful home and the surrounding property for 4 nights this May. Marc, the owner, even placed a play set in the front garden for our children to use during the stay. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. It took my oldest daughter (4) until the third day of our stay to realize there wasn't a television. It is a new and very well-designed and decorated house but completely comfortable and kid-friendly. The farm is lovely and we were able to do cider tasting, buy flour for bread making and even fry some eggs from chickens we had just visited. A magical holiday spot! The surrounding area offers great day trips - Fort Worden, Port Townsend, and Fort Flagler - and some terrific restaurants. Marc and Amy provided us with a list of recommended places and they were all very accurate. I'd recommend anyone with children visit the local Port Townsend library - a beautiful place with lots of puzzles, puppets and of course books to entertain your children on a rainy day in town. Ferino's Pizza in Port Hadlock was perfect with little ones for a meal out. This would be a great place to visit any time of year, not just blueberry season. Highly Recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kristin and Lonnie (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/17/09
    • Review Submitted 09/17/09
    We had such a wonderful time at the Huckleberry House! Such a peaceful, calm space which is just what we needed. Our family includes three small children and it was a very family friendly place as well! We enjoyed walks in the woods, activities at Finnriver Farm, and drives to an excellent local park and Port Townsend. We highly recommend and hope to return some day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Karen159 (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/09
    • Review Submitted 09/03/09
    We feel so lucky to have spent some time at the Huckleberry House. What a comfortable and unique home base for exploring the Olympic Peninsula! We admired the gardens and surrounding farm operations, picked fresh blueberries for eating and preserving for winter, watched a treehouse platform taking shape, swung in the hammocks, played games and did puzzles on the rug, slept well in the incredibly comfortable and luxurious beds, and generally enjoyed ourselves greatly. Marc and family are such gracious hosts, they even brought us a nightlight when we had forgotten ours and our daughter was afraid of the dark! Nearby adventures included hikes in Olympic Natl. Park, wading in Lake Crescent, kite flying at Ft. Worden, wandering a nearly deserted beach on Marrowstone Island, lots of poking around Pt. Townsend and playing at a wonderful playground/park near the house. Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Helen26 (Pasadena CA)
    • Date of stay 08/17/09
    • Review Submitted 08/17/09
    A lovely, spacious, well equiped house in a beautiful, peaceful setting. The four of us (two adults and two children ages 5 and 2) found it met our needs very well, and we particularly enjoyed the proximity to the farm and the amazing blueberries (we made blueberry pancakes every morning for breakfast!)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sue66 (-)
    • Date of stay 08/11/09
    • Review Submitted 08/11/09
    What a wonderful retreat from the City. The house is in excellent condition and very clean. Blueberries, well how cool is this, walk out the door about 60 ft and you can pick some of the tastiest organic blueberries for a very small fee. The special for the week was $2.00 a pound. We will be back for a longer stay. Highly recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Hussain Lakdawalla (Portland OREGON)
    • Date of stay 07/26/09
    • Review Submitted 07/26/09
    Marc and Amy have a wonderful tranquil retreat . It is a large two bedroom home . Well stocked kitchen and a nice grill on the outside . Both bedrooms were very comfortable and had great beds . The farm is accessible and the owner Keith is very friendly . My two year old enjoyed berry picking and the hens and goats . The place is close to Marrowstone Island , Port Hadlock and about 15 min to Port Townsend . Would stay here again if we went to PT over any other place .

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Leslie Blanco (-)
    • Date of stay 07/05/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/09
    What a find! This adorable, spacious house with a fully stocked and well-designed kitchen is surrounded by tall evergreens and a beautiful perennial garden. The adjacent farm is quiet and beautiful, and you can see horses and beautiful mountains from the end of the drive. At night you can hear frogs singing and see stars you might have forgotten are in the sky. At dawn the air is filled with birdsong and humming birds come to visit the plants right outside your windows. It's close to Port Townsend, the beach, and the mountains in the National Park and Forest. There is plenty to do with a most peaceful retreat when you come home. Don't miss out on the jacuzzi tub!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Speed Weed (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/09
    • Review Submitted 06/29/09
    We spent two months at the Huck House, and -- now that I'm back in the city, with the traffic and the concrete, not a day goes by that I don't think of the house and the trees around it and the mountains on the horizon. Just as the traffic here makes one anxious, no matter what else is going on, the green up there makes one peaceful, no matter what else is going on. Marc and Amy Elizabeth are great hosts. Go! Go! Go!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]