Family Fun in Greenport
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Ask Owner
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Greenport house description
The house is a comfortable Dutch colonial with a very cozy yet spacious feel to it. The 20 x 20ft. great room opens to a large deck. There are toys and children's books as well as nature field guides and classic novels. The tall privet hedge and the green of the lawn combine to create a private space where the outside world does not intrude.
The house is in the town of Greenport, very close to transportation. You can walk to the bus, train and ferry terminal.
Both the Long Island sound and Peconic bay are accessible from the house. Beaches everywhere, the sound beaches are like the Mediterranean coast and the bay is sandy. Both sound and bay are extremely safe for swimming since there are no dangerous currents. A list of our favorite beaches is available from our exterior website. You can also contact us for a special rustic waterfront cottage nearby.
Greenport is very close to a lot of North Fork wineries. Wine tastings and performances are held at most of the wineries all summer. Fall is also a special time because this is when the grapes are harvested. Pumpkin picking and other fall activities also make this time special.
- Vacation Rental
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11, Beds for 9-11
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Gas Fireplace
- Wood Fireplace
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Air Conditioning
- Video Library
- Music Library
- DVD Player
- CD Player
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Basketball Court
- Medical Services
- Massage Therapist
- Mountain Biking
- Jet Skiing
- Water Skiing
- Theme Parks
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
ReviewsWrite a review
Coming back this year. . .Guest comment entered by owner
Coming back this year. . .
We four really are in love with Greenport now, and being at your terrific house has a lot to do with that feeling. I hope you enjoy the rest of the year and I hope we're in touch- ideally in person. All best and thanks again.
- Guest Alec
- Date of stay 07/13/12
- Review Submitted 04/16/13
See you next yearGuest comment entered by owner
See you next year
Hi: We four really are in love with Greenport now, and being at your terrific house has a lot to do with that feeling. I hope you enjoy the rest of the year and I hope we're in touch- ideally in person- in 2012. All best and thanks again.
- Guest Alec
- Date of stay 08/26/11
- Review Submitted 01/19/12
Guest comment entered by owner
Hi Vipin and Margo, We're back home in New York and want to thank you for renting that wonderful house to us for the weekend - it was really perfect. You were right about Aldo - great coffee, we took an amazing sunset cruise. We really loved Greenport, and your house was the ideal home base for our trip. Again, thank you for sharing your house with us - we loved it. Brian
- Guest brian
- Date of stay 06/24/11
- Review Submitted 06/28/11
Guest comment entered by owner
My husband, 3 year old son, my parents, and I enjoyed a great vacation in Greenport, and this house was a big part of it. It is well set up, with a bedroom and sitting room and full bath downstairs and up (so good for 2 couples) and plenty of fold out coaches plus two twin beds and a futon for the kiddoes. Thoughtfully decorated -- very cozy. Very comfortable, well stocked for cooking, and plenty of gathering places as well as places to steal away and read a book. Highly recommended!
- Guest lisa
- Date of stay 08/27/10
- Review Submitted 03/14/11
The house is basic and provides a decent place to stay which is close to town. However, we were very upset by the abundance of ants in the home and the owner has not been able to be reached since our stay. Please read below to see the letter which was submitted to the owner after our stay. She never responded. Thank you for the use of your home this weekend. Your house is lovely, we took your recommendation on 67 steps and overall we had a very nice time. However, we were disappointed to discover that the house has an ant problem. We noticed that several traps were set up in the kitchen, but they were nowhere near sufficient. We lost food -- food that was in closed packages on the kitchen counter -- to the ants and had to subsequently keep everything in the refrigerator. Cooking meals was difficult, and part of the reason we chose to stay in a house instead of a hotel was so that we could cook our own meals. There were also ants in both bathrooms and in the master bedroom; two of my friends sleeping in that room found ants crawling in their suitcases and clothes as they were packing to leave. I'm sure you would agree that this is more than a small ant problem, and I would like you to consider a refund of 10% of our total -- to cover the costs of the lost food and the inconveniences associated with the ants. Thanks much.
- Guest Bethany (Long Island, NY)
- Date of stay 08/13/10
- Review Submitted 08/25/10
Owner response: Upon receipt of this guest's letter, we immediately called a professional exterminator to assess our house. The exterminator felt the renters were over reacting, the house did not have a big ant problem and did not warrant any spraying. We were relieved because we have small children, many of our guests are families with children, and we do not advocate the use of toxic chemicals. However there were some tiny citronella ants and professional traps were placed around the house which were very effective. The guests, a group of 9 girlfriends, did have both our phone numbers and email address and our property manager's phone number and they did not attempt to contact anyone during their weekend stay. It was only afterward when we could not address their concern that they complained. Our housekeeper found our house very untidy after their stay, particularly the kitchen which had crumbs everywhere and open food packages left on the counter. What was particularly troubling about these guests is we did have contact on the phone with one of their party soon after their letter and they were verbally abusive with no regard to professional decorum. After that we had no desire for further communication. Subsequent guests last year did not mention seeing ants . As to their opinion that our historic house is "basic", we take pride in the upkeep of our beautiful house and our photos speak for themselves.
Perfect for a big group with varied interests
Perfect for a big group with varied interests
If there are 10 of you going to Long Island in 3 cars, this is a possibility for you. The guests are not tied to one another. The house is located 10 blocks from the heart of Greenport, one the biggest towns on the island. People can easily walk to shops, sea food restaurants, ferry and the train station. The proximity of the train station is the reason why some of the guests may have the luxury of beating the traffic and getting to Greenport on a train before everybody else... A picturesque and relatively desolate beach is within walking distance as well. The house is spacious and soundproof. One tends to gain very little knowledge of what's going on on the other floor. When on the first floor, please have a glass of wine and play some games in the dining room. It has great energy.
- Guest Sergiy (New York)
- Date of stay 05/28/10
- Review Submitted 06/13/10
Rates are shown for 4 people. Week is Friday to Friday. More may apply for holiday weekends. Jul & Aug ............ $2000/week .. $7000/month, No Weekends April, May, June, Sept, Oct .. $1000/weekend .... $5000/month Other Times ...$800/Weekend. $1200/week, more during holidays Deposit of $500+fees secures the reservation. This is also the Security Deposit. Please read the rental agreement in the linked to site
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Primary: (917) 406-3194 (New York, USA)
- Secondary: (917) 214-3578 (New York, USA)
Links to more information:
- CLICK HERE - http://sites.google.com/site/greenportgo
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
67 Steps: our favorite beach
The dining room
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2009.
Date last modified - Saturday, March 01, 2014
4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.