Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Queen Bed in Plumeria Suite

15% Off for July/Aug/Sept Bookings. Kayaks & Sup's Incuded [#248200] | View Property

Captain Cook
Studio, + Bunk Area, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3)
$110/nt - $770/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (57)

Sort by:
  • Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

    Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/28/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    Thanks, Beth and David, for this artsy cottage with everything anyone could ever want....fresh fruit, coffee, comfort, cooking facilities, BBQ, pool.....and on and on! Thanks for escorting my husband to paddle boarding and providing lessons! That was awesome.....I should have taken out a kayak! Next time! You two are the ultimate in VRBO! If you ever want to do a trade for Sonoma wine country...VRBO 455553.....let us know! We plan to be back.....mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hidden gem

    Hidden gem

    • Guest Jen B.
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    The owners have really gone out of their way to ensure their guests comfort. Dave welcomed us by flashlight in the rain. When we woke the next morning, having slept past sunrise for the first time since we had arrived in Hawaii, we were pleasantly surprised by the view of the ocean. The suite is quite private, but the hosts are just upstairs, ready to provide suggestions for local activities, restaurants, tours, etc. The equipment that was provided for guest use (e.g., snorkeling equipment, SAPs, kayaks) was a wonderful bonus. That plus the coffee and fruit was enough to make this place an incredible value.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Stay!

    Excellent Stay!

    • Guest Aaron L. (Maryland, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    My wife and I stayed at Beth's and we couldn't be happier with our stay! Dave and Beth provided an excellent experience: from the free use of their kayaks, paddleboards, snorkel equipment (and others) we were very satisfied. Fresh fruit greeted us when we arrived and the aloha spirit was with us the whole time. The coast was only 2 miles away from the house, and we would wake up and go snorkeling, kayaking, and paddleboarding before we started our adventures for the day. The next time we visit the Big Island we will definitely stay here again. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy, Cute, Clean, Comfortable

    Cozy, Cute, Clean, Comfortable

    • Guest Lee Anne H.
    • Date of stay 03/04/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    By the time we got to Beth's Hideaway, we were on the tail end of a 2 week Big Island vacation. This cottage was a great place to wind down before our trip back home. The cottage is well stocked and had many nice personal touches. The yard is large and it was nice to sit outside in the morning with a coffee and wine in the evening and watch the great sunsets. We were able to swim and snorkel close by. Beth and Dave were very kind hosts, available but not intrusive. We did enjoy our stay there very much.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing

    Relaxing

    • Guest Nancy B.
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/18/14
    My husband and I stayed here from 2/15/14-2/25/15. We loved being able to use the Kayaks, boogie boards, and stand up paddle boards. Dave was very helpful with teaching us how to load stuff on our rental jeep. My husband loved the fact that we were away from crowds of tourist. We ate quite a few meals here which saved us some money. Dave and Beth had us over to their place for some tasty food. They are wonderful hosts. The place had everything we needed to enjoy our vacation and we plan to come back again sometime!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Hideaway

    Excellent Hideaway

    • Guest Derrick N.
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    We loved our week at Beth's Hideaway, there was so much to see and do nearby. Great snorkeling at Two Step, Painted Church, coffee farms, plenty of beaches, and just beautiful nature wherever we looked. On our "volcano day" leaving from Honaunau saved us ~45 minutes vs leaving from Kona (we'd visited the volcano on several previous trips, but the shorter drive made it somehow more relaxing). Close accessibility to the Kona Cafe was also much appreciated -- we enjoyed lovely fresh brew and pastries on more than one morning. Most of our mornings were pretty lazy, and we found Beth and Dave to be accessible and super-friendly hosts, yet entirely unobtrusive. The accommodations were super clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a quiet and private getaway, look no further. Thanks! Derrick & Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, relaxing, so close to what we love

    Wonderful, relaxing, so close to what we love

    • Guest Snowbound now (Flagstaff, AZ)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    We stayed just a few nights, not long enough. Wonderful hosts, wonderful setting, lush gardens with great fruit trees to pick from and enjoy. We like to see various parts of the Island, and this side is very nice to visit. The place is very well stocked and super clean. Dave, thanks so much for the paddle board lesson! That really helped us do much better. It was really super neat to see the whale surface while out there. Beth and Dave, keep up the good work! You are both very accommodating and fun. Jenny and Paul

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great space, great hosts!

    Great space, great hosts!

    • Guest Marci (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    We really enjoyed our experience at the Hideaway. It was a fabulous location just minutes from 2 step beach snorkeling and place of refuge. It was very convenient and cost saving to be able to use the equipment at the house and Dave showed us how to put the paddle boards on the roof of our car to head down to the beach using his transport gear. We have traveled extensively and this suite was like a home away from home, very clean and by far better stocked with anything we might need than most places we have stayed. We will certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends. other units in the house were larger and could be well suited to families with children.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything was perfect about this Hawaiian Hideaway!

    Everything was perfect about this Hawaiian Hideaway!

    • Guest Joan (Placerville, California)
    • Date of stay 11/18/12
    • Review Submitted 11/27/12
    We enjoyed everything about our experience here. The hosts are so gracious, fun and helpful. They took the kayaks to and from the bay for us! We picked fresh fruit from the yard and enjoyed the view! The studio is perfectly decorated and furnished. We had use of snorkels, towels, ice chest and chairs. I walked early in the morning with a freshly brewed cup of coffee (beans provided by the hosts!) to The Painted Church just down the road, strolled through the cemetery, sat on the front steps with an amazing view of the ocean and imagined myself back in old Hawaii 150 years ago. My plan is to go back and stay for a month! Thank you for sharing your home with us. I don't hesitate to recommend this to anyone planning a trip to the islands for a genuine Hawaiian experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Relaxing Place to Stay

    Very Relaxing Place to Stay

    • Guest Cindy (Eagle River, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/25/12
    We stayed here for a week from Nov 10-18, 2012. We've been to the Big Island 3 or 4 times, but had never stayed on this part of the island. We really enjoyed it. This location is more rural and very relaxing. But it's only a few miles from restaurants, grocery stores, fish markets, etc. You do need to want to experience the laid-back lifestyle to stay here-there's only screens on the windows, no windows to close and lock. But for us, that just added to our relaxed feeling here and we felt we were out on the lanai the entire time. The kitchen is equipped with everything you might need. Two hot plates, which meant I didn't miss having a stove at all. Also a microwave, toaster oven, blender, juicer, good knives and sharpener, etc. Beth and Dave had a beautiful bowl of fruit waiting for us, and left more on our doorstep throughout the week. They also have star fruit, lemon, lime, orange, grapefruit, and papaya trees on their property that you could help yourself to. We started every day with a delicious fruit smoothie. Also, lots of towels, soap, etc. If you like snorkeling, you're only about 3 miles from one of the best places to snorkel on the island-Two Step. Beth and Dave have kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel equipment, etc. all for you to use at no cost, and Dave is great about helping you load up the kayak and telling you about some great places to snorkel to (Captain Cook). We woul definately stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Very Relaxing Place to Stay

    A Very Relaxing Place to Stay

    • Guest Cindy (Eagle River, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/25/12
    We stayed here for a week from Nov 10-18, 2012. We've been to the Big Island 3 or 4 times, but had never stayed on this part of the island. We really enjoyed it. This location is more rural and very relaxing. But it's only a few miles from restaurants, grocery stores, fish markets, etc. You do need to want to experience the laid-back lifestyle to stay here-there's only screens on the windows, no windows to close and lock. But for us, that just added to our relaxed feeling here and we felt we were out on the lanai the entire time. The kitchen is equipped with everything you might need. Two hot plates, which meant I didn't miss having a stove at all. Also a microwave, toaster oven, blender, juicer, good knives and sharpener, etc. Beth and Dave had a beautiful bowl of fruit waiting for us, and left more on our doorstep throughout the week. They also have star fruit, lemon, lime, orange, grapefruit, and papaya trees on their property that you could help yourself to. We started every day with a delicious fruit smoothie. Also, lots of towels, soap, etc. If you like snorkeling, you're only about 3 miles from one of the best places to snorkel on the island-Two Step. Beth and Dave have kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel equipment, etc. all for you to use at no cost, and Dave is great about helping you load up the kayak and telling you about some great places to snorkel to (Captain Cook). We woul definately stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Little Sanctuary With Sweet Hosts

    Little Sanctuary With Sweet Hosts

    • Guest Elorac (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    This was just the most wonderful place. It was so tastefully decorated and felt like a home away from home. Beth and Dave were most helpful and brought us fresh fruit. We used the kayaks a lot to paddle across Captain Cook's bay. The snorkeling there was amazing. And we loved the more local two step beach too, just minutes from the house. The location is great, quiet and still close to Kona. The house had everything we needed and then some. We fell in love with the little geckos and enjoyed watching the birds in the yard. The only downside was when Beth and Dave's house was rented, which is the unit above this place. The family staying there was loud and I wished for more peace. Luckily we only overlapped a few days. Overall we highly recommend it and would love to return next year. thanks Beth, thanks Dave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best of the best

    The best of the best

    • Guest osanmike (Oahu)
    • Date of stay 06/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    We were fortunate enough to stay at Beth's Hawaiian Hideaway for the 1st part of our Big Island vacation. My wife found them on VRBO and thought it sounded like a nice place to stay. We arrived around mid afternoon and were more than pleasantly surprised. Dave met us and took us to our room/bungalow. he was very personable and showed us all around. From the moment we arrived, we wanted to move in. The location is awesome, the room is very nice and includes just about anything you could need, and the owners are the friendliest most helpful people you will ever meet. When I say it includes almost everything, I mean it. Show up with clothes, and stop along the way and pick up some food. Everything else you need is already there. They provide chairs, towels, a grill, cooler, paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling gear, surf boards, boogie boards and a kitchen with everything you will need to cook with (minus a full size oven, but there is a toaster oven). There are so many fruit trees around you it is amazing. The first day I went out and picked a bunch of fruit and made us the most awesome smoothie ever (with the blender in the bungalow). The property is in a great location for sight seeing, or just hanging around. Just remember you need a vehicle that is able to hold the paddle boards/Kayaks as the beach is a few miles away if you want to use them. We can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything Dave and Beth.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 6 days in Paradise

    6 days in Paradise

    • Guest Phyllis W. (colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/27/12
    This was a totally awesome place to stay! Dave and Beth were the best hosts - always ready with some great advice. Dave helped us get the kayak on the top of the car and was there to advise us on local etiquette for launch. It was great to have the kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel equipment available for our use, as well as the pool and the BBQ. The suite was amazing, complete with adorable geckos and a wonderful sea breeze and view. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here at Beth's Hawaiian Hideaway and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a fun-filled adventure on the Big Island. Thanks Dave and Beth for a great time. We love your place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We had a great Honey Moon!

    We had a great Honey Moon!

    • Guest Evgenia K. (Washington, District of Columbia)
    • Date of stay 04/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    We spent 12 days at this wonderful place! Everything was just wonderful! The room was so clean and quiet, it looked so romantic! Beth and Dave are such good hosts - provided us with whatever we needed - all the information about the island, kayaks, surfboards, snorkeling gear and what not! It was so quiet around - you can`t hear anything at all! The view is spectacular and we were just 10 min from the perfect spot for snorkeling and kayaking. Downtown with all restaurants and shops is also very close. Its a great getaway! We can`t imagine a better place to stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great short break in Captain Cook

    Great short break in Captain Cook

    • Guest Kevin C. (Alderney, Channel Islands UK)
    • Date of stay 03/22/12
    • Review Submitted 04/23/12
    Fantastic location, really comfortable and well presented accommodation and hosts who were just the best! Wish we could have stayed longer. Would stay at Beth's if we went back to the Big Island and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect location!

    Perfect location!

    • Guest Larry S. (null)
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    This was the perfect location for our anniversary trip. We were welcomed with fresh fruit and wonderfully decorated and adorable accomodations. They had everything we needed! Beach chairs and snorkel gear, spices and olive oil, kayaks, and great CD's to listen to as we relaxed in the evening. It's only a short (5 minutes or less) drive to Two Step for snorkeling and we fell in love with the picnic area just beside the Place of Refuge. Dave was great about helping us put the kayak on the roof of the rental car and Beth was an amazing hostess - rescuing us from our mishap with our rental car. We felt like family! It was so quiet and peaceful at night! And we loved the little gecko's that shared the place with us! Now that we've toured the island - we're hoping to go back soon to just relax! Thanks Dave and Beth!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Hideaway!

    Wonderful Hideaway!

    • Guest swish (Western NY)
    • Date of stay 02/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    We spent a fabulous week at Beth and Dave's Hideway. From the moment we stepped foot out of the car to smell the tropical flowers, we were in heaven. It's a great location for all the sites from Kona south, and super close to the one of the best snorkeling sites on the island at Two Step. Not to mention the Place of Refuge which is a must-see. The unit has everything you could need and more. And the owners are all too happy to provide anything else you may need. They couldn't be more helpful. We loved having our morning breakfast on the patio looking over Kealakekua Bay. Just breathtaking! All the reviews are right on the money, it's a special place indeed .... we hope to return again someday! Aloha, Steve and Denise

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Second time as delightful as the first stay

    Second time as delightful as the first stay

    • Guest Kent S. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    We've been at Beth and Dave's Hideaway twice (just recently at 248200 and earlier at 189237) and are delighted by each. Beth and Dave are great hosts, and having stayed at now a fair number of VRBO places over a few trips to HI, we think theirs are the best. Location, amenities, charm, warm greetings by their dog, fresh fruit, proximity to the water with great facilities offered (take a few kayak outings to get your skills up then go over to the Cpt. Cook Monument across Kealakekua Bay for a very memorable day (take a hat and a bit of lunch and borrow some snorkeling equipment). Beth and Dave also have some great books on the shelf, including reference books on the fish you'll see. Just a whole lot of fun to stay at their place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Do you want a lush, quiet tropical paradise? And so it is.

    Do you want a lush, quiet tropical paradise? And so it is.

    • Guest Pepe and the Cat (Western Washington)
    • Date of stay 11/30/11
    • Review Submitted 03/15/12
    My spouse and I are professional Plant Ecologists/Botanists. We love the opportunity to revel in the beauty of the natural world, we love to immerse ourselves in a place and it's history. We spent 23 days in this world of mature flowering and fruiting trees and shrubs, classic Hawaiian landscapes and buildings, winding roads, quiet walks, slow mornings, and multiple kayak and snorkel adventures. We gazed out, sometimes from sunrise to sunset, at territorial views of the Big Island's South Kona Coast that seemed to keep getting better and better the longer we stayed here. We came to treat it as our own home. We found avocados, passion fruit and mangoes as we walked Painted Church Road. I sprinkled the flowers that had dropped from the nearby Plumaria tree over my wife every morning at breakfast. The Painted Church is very close by and has some wonderful landscape settings. See if you can find the Gardenia bush. Returning home from the nearby shoreline, we'd also find fruit sitting on our lanai. Yes, it rated 5 stars by everyone for a reason. The other reviewers are telling the truth about how great Beth is, and Dave's pretty cool too, but they've got a life and won't try and join in your vacation. All of the positive comments from other visitors are completely true. We never even made it to Hilo and the Volcano (dry on our side, wet on that side) but did enjoy hiking and touring from Wiapio Valley (Kohala) to Punaluu (past South Point). Kailua-Kona and the sand beaches north of the Airport are close enough, but if you want to be there everyday, you might do better basing yourselves up closer to the fray. We obviously enjoyed going native more than going out every night. We ate a lot of fresh fish too, ask Dave where the local fishmarket is. The library of books of local interest is very nice, so much so that we decided to leave our old copy of "Hawaii, a Natural History" behind for you. Have a great vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Why did we ever leave??

    Why did we ever leave??

    • Guest Lori P. (Berkeley)
    • Date of stay 11/11/11
    • Review Submitted 11/15/11
    We've been staying in Big Island B&Bs for many many years, and this is our new favorite. Beth is an artist, and her tapestry is her home--the two studios she rents are amazing, beautifully appointed with artworks and Hawaiiana, and looking out over a gorgeous garden full of life and birdsong (we even saw a hawk). I wish we could have stayed a month! Beth and Dave see to your every need, and we felt a real kinship with them from the start. The use of their kayaks, paddleboards and bikes makes it just that much more amazing. It's a 5 min. drive to Pu?uhonua O H?naunau National Historical Park, an amazing place in its own right, with fabulous snorkeling at Two Step and kayaking nearby. We swam with wild dolphins two days in a row, life-changing!! But on top of all there is to do is all there is to NOT do at Beth and Dave's hideaway--it is the PERFECT place to relax and recharge the batteries. We spent a lot of time just chilling, reading the fascinating collection of Hawaii books, looking at all the art on the walls, feeling the lovely breezes come through the screens (no windows! don't need 'em!), and "gecko watching"--our new calming activity. Great restaurants a short drive away, and if you wanted to you could even visit Volcano Nat'l Park as a (long) day trip (2 hrs drive each way). Next time I will plan our holiday around availability at this lovely, lovely place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice place in a quiet rural setting

    Nice place in a quiet rural setting

    • Guest don m. (Grimsby, Ontario. Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    The listing and photos were accurate. The owners were easy to deal with on both a business level (when arranging the booking and payment) and on a personal level (when trying to strap a kayak to our vehicle or planning what to see and do each day). Great hosts. The owners live on-site in a rather nice house on a hillside. This "hideaway" and their one other rental unit are tucked partially under the home and partially extending out onto the big backyard. The entire west wall of the unit is windows (well just screens actually) and we found the unit bright and fresh. Without a/c it seemed to be a perfect 75 degrees all day long and 70 degrees all night long. We had a nice feeling of privacy in our unit. Occasionally we took a break from touring and lounged by the pool (beside the house) and felt very comfortable there too. It's a nice setup. The little town of Captain Cook and this rental unit are "off the map" - there's not a resort, hotel or night club for miles. It's a neat little spot surrounded by rural homes, small farms, local folk and nature. Visiting "Place of Refuge" (a couple miles down the road) was a great spot to snorkel or sit seaside and watch the sunset. Visiting "Painted Church" (walking distance) was a really nice afternoon walk on a country road. At Kona (maybe 30 minutes drive) the beaches are a bit warmer and sunnier but also busy, busy so we were happy each day coming back to our hideaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • felt like home...

    felt like home...

    • Guest Lucia (Sun Peaks, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/02/11
    • Review Submitted 02/05/12
    very enjoyable... great location for snorkeling...(two steps) free equipment was amazing and very much appreciated! clean, cozy and well equipped kitchen! Didn't miss a thing! Beautiful, romantic getaway...nice view too! thank you again Beth and Dave, very nice meeting you, we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WONDERFUL VACATION!

    WONDERFUL VACATION!

    • Guest Silverio P.
    • Date of stay 09/25/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/12
    My husband and I stayed here for a memorable week for our 37th anniversary in Sept..I had no previous experience with vacation rentals but just came upon Beth and Daves rental by chance browsing info about the Big Island.All the reviews were so glowing I was sold!The accommodations and amenities exceeded our expectations.We honestly wouldn't change a thing.We enjoyed ourselves so much we are going back for my birthday in March! Beth and Dave are wonderful and gracious hosts.My husband and I joke that we are going "home" again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything you need and more!

    Everything you need and more!

    • Guest Jodi R. (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 09/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    My husband and I had an amazing time spending our honeymoon here! Not only does the Hideway offer nearly everything you need for your stay, but its location provides a secluded paradise that is still just moments away from beaches, entertainment, and more! Beth and Dave are gracious hosts and have generously included everything you need for kayaking, paddle boarding, and snorkeling (along with site recommendations too). The view from the cottage is impeccable and the grounds are filled with all sorts of delicious fruit trees, beautiful birds, and other lush landscape. The cottage itself was stocked with nearly everything we needed- from beach towels to cookware to Hawaii books of all topics; we felt at home during our stay. Everything was well-kept and clean both inside and out of the cottage. We particularly enjoyed waking to the sounds of songbirds and eating breakfast on the lanai beneath the fragrant plumeria tree. We can't wait to return and with out a doubt, highly-highly recommend this place for your Hawaiian vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Honeymoon

    Paradise Honeymoon

    • Guest Lewis S. (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    My new wife and I are just finishing our 10 day Honeymoon stay here. It has been wonderful. Dave and Beth have a beautiful, comfortable place. They have everything you could need. The space is aesthetically beautiful, attention was given to every detail from the flowers to the fresh fruit grown in the yard. The location is tranquil and feels secluded but is close to perfect spots for snorkeling, kayaking or even dinner out. It is a great home base to tour the Island. We went from the south tip to the volcano, up for one night in Hilo, returned through waterfalls and the beautiful Hawaii Botanical Garden. Our one night away made us realize how lucky we were to have found such a perfect place to stay. To top it off they provided all the gear we needed and showed us how to put in on our rental car. This saved us time and money and allowed us to try things we might never have otherwise (Paddle boarding). Whenever we needed something it miraculously appeared on our doorstep overnight. We can't thank Dave and Beth enough. Aloha! - Lew and Willow

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We didn't want to leave!

    We didn't want to leave!

    • Guest Jana H.
    • Date of stay 08/17/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    Our stay in the Plumeria Suite was our first time in a vacation rental, and was a wonderful experience. Beth and Dave are excellent hosts and the suite itself is so charming and clean. It is the perfect, rural alternative for people who are not into resorts. We loved watching the sun set over the bay from our lanai, picking fresh fruit in the yard, and the 5-minute drive to Two-Step for amazing snorkeling. Beth and Dave have thought of everything and the suite is well-stocked with all kinds of goodies, cooking equipment, books, and outdoor gear. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A real paradise for romance lovers

    A real paradise for romance lovers

    • Guest Andrea J.
    • Date of stay 06/21/11
    • Review Submitted 07/12/11
    The suite is beautiful, immaculate, peaceful and a totally romantic setting. It is spacious and has everything you may ever need with a fully equipped kitchen. It is a real home away from home. The decor is Hawaiian island-style, really unique and very tasteful. The gecko family that lives in the kitchen is a delight. There is a dog and a cat on the property but they are not allowed near the guests unless you want to be around them. They are both very cute and adorable. The kayaks and all kinds of different boards come really handy. There is a wonderful snorkeling place nearby (Captain Cook) where you can only go if you have a kayak. You can park your car right in front of the cottage. The owners are super helpful, friendly and very generous. When we checked in, there was a huge, ripe avocado, bananas and papayas in our kitchen and we even had some absolutely delicious Kona coffee! When we left, we even received a small farewell gift! We had an amazing vacation in this lovely suite. It is everything you can dream of. It is in a quite place of the island surrounded with lush vegetation, yet conveniently close to the major sites. We highly recommend it to everyone and hope to be back one day!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hideaway, far away from crowds and noise

    Hideaway, far away from crowds and noise

    • Guest CA Katie (Long Beach CA)
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    Even though I read the reviews, we still weren't prepared for this little slice of heaven. At first I was taken back by the lack of A/C, with only screens on the windows, not glass. We soon realized the beauty of it as the altitude breezes kept us cool, augmented by the fan only on occasion. It was an absolute delight to have *fresh* air the entire time we were there - we slept beautifully, too. Even thought the eintre front of the unit is screen, it's still very private as there is just lawn and view in front of you. The only eyes on you might be the three geckos that hung out with us. Dave's directions were perfect and he met us on arrival, showing us the property, the backway out and the amenities, including the fresh fruit and coffee. We picked up a loaf of the Punalu'u bread for toast at the grocery store and that, combined with the fruit we had from Dave and Beth, with the coffee made a perfect breakfast each morning. We also brought back ribs for dinner one night, taking advantage of our little kitchen and dining area. We enjoyed using the kayak to go to Captain Cook Monument (which you can see from the unit), accompanied by dolphins, for great snorkeling. Also, the day we left we drove the 5 minutes to Two Steps to get a snorkel in at 7a and be back in time to leave for our early afternoon flight. It was a wonderful location for a relaxing holiday. Sepaking of kayak - there is everything here that you need - fins, masks, snorkels, water shoes, kayak, beach towels, books, CDs, DVDs... you don't need to pack more than a couple bathing suits, shorts and shirts or sun dresses. It's not the resort feel of the Kona resorts, but it's a much more personal and immediate island experience. Just writing this takes me back to those trade winds and island scents. We loved it and we'll be back. Mahalo.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Close, yet so far away

    Close, yet so far away

    • Guest Brian and Gaylene (Newcastle, WA USA)
    • Date of stay 04/26/11
    • Review Submitted 05/21/11
    We have been to the big island several times but this trip was our favorite because we found Beth's Hawaiian Hideaway. The location is perfect for quick trips to fabulous snorkelling and kayaking spots, 30 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Kona (don't miss Kona Brewing Company and their seasonal coconut porter!) and 2 hours to the volcano and Hilo. The location is private with lush tropical trees and flowers all around but open to fabulous sunset views and Honaunau. We stayed for 9 days in the Paniolo King Suite and wanted for nothing except an even longer visit to enjoy the paddle boards, kayaks and bikes. We brought our own snorkel gear but there is plenty available for guests to use. We found fruit every day, either falling off trees onto the Painted Church road which we picked up on our walks and runs, or from the beautiful roadside fruit stand up the road. We just couldn't get enough of the pineapple, mango, papaya and avocado available on the island. Who knew there were over 120 varieties of avocado on island - we tried 7 ! The resident geckos were a real treat to watch especially at night when they went after the little bugs attracted to the lights. We are already making a plan to come back to this very special place with everything you could possibily need while in paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birds & Paradise

    Birds & Paradise

    • Guest Wired in Brooke (British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/14/11
    We came for 2 weeks and spent part of our time in each of the units. They each have a different character but are both very well-appointed, funky, artistic, loaded with books, and have GREAT mattresses. Oh yes! and did I mention my personal highlight which was the amazing bird song 'celebration' every single morning. The trees outside the units was glorious and alive. Big Island is getting more and more populated but Beth & Dave's place was like an oasis! The reviews before ours talk about how great Dave and Beth are and how wonderfully appointed the units are... right on! IF you want a chilled out place far from the crowd and typical hotel/condo/timeshare craziness... this is your place. If you love nature and the slower pace of being a bit off the beatne track ... stay here. We loved it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Glorious Bird Song & More!

    Glorious Bird Song & More!

    • Guest Wired in Brooke (British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 05/14/11
    We came for 2 weeks and spent part of our time in each of the units. They each have a different character but are both very well-appointed, funky, artistic, loaded with books, and have GREAT mattresses. Oh yes! and did I mention my personal highlight which was the amazing bird song 'celebration' every single morning. The trees outside the units was glorious and alive. Big Island is getting more and more populated but Beth & Dave's place was like an oasis! The reviews before ours talk about how great Dave and Beth are and how wonderfully appointed the units are... right on! IF you want a chilled out place far from the crowd and typical hotel/condo/timeshare craziness... this is your place. If you love nature and the slower pace of being a bit off the beatne track ... stay here. We loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Hideaway

    Lovely Hideaway

    • Guest jnc (Antioch, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 03/21/11
    • Review Submitted 04/27/11
    My husband and I stayed here for ten days in March and we loved every moment. The unit is beautifully decorated, clean, and very well stocked! We loved our daily walks up Painted Church road in the morning and the fresh fruit and avocados delivered to our door. Our hosts Dave and Beth could not have been more pleasant and we truly enjoyed our interaction with them. The water toys (snorkel gear, kayaks, and paddle boards) were a wonderful bonus. No need to pack them, they have it all here. I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone who wants to really experience Hawaii.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Plumeria Queen, my sweet Hawai'ian dream

    Plumeria Queen, my sweet Hawai'ian dream

    • Guest Peter & Akusib (Glendora, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/14/11
    • Review Submitted 02/24/11
    Whimsically decorated, perfectly located, the Plumeria Queen is truly a dream! A superb choice for an active vacation, it's close to a number of great sites for snorkeling and kayaking (including Honaunau less than 3 miles away). If you get tired of the water, there are also several historical and cultural sites nearby, including the Honaunau Place of Refuge Park and the Painted Church. Either way, after a day out exploring, it's a delight to return to the cozy, home-like suite and quiet, pastoral location. (There are plenty of good eateries a short drive away, so you won't go hungry either!) Hosts Dave and Beth are super-friendly and helpful; mahalo to them both for sharing their wonderful slice of paradise with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Winter Getaway!!!

    Amazing Winter Getaway!!!

    • Guest Rose (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    Amazing location, great accommodations, and exceptional hosts! Highly recommend this vacation hideaway. Easy travel to other parts (sights, town) of the island, but far enough away to give a non-touristy experience. Beth and Dave are a wealth of knowledge and advice, helping to suggest itineraries and new places. We enjoyed waking up to the sun rise, taking a short drive to two-step for some morning swimming and beach reading, then stopping at Coffee and Epicurea for a nice iced coffee under the shade of the back patio. EVERYTHING we could possibly need was provided (both in terms of accommodations and equipment--snorkel gear, surf/boogie boards, kayaks, bikes, etc), not to mention delicious fresh fruit upon our arrival. Don't look further than this listing if you want to stay on Kona, you wont regret it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Hawai'i as it is meant to be

    Hawai'i as it is meant to be

    • Guest Ginny and Alan (SF Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    Loved staying here, pictures are good, but when you arrive ,you will agree the place is even better than you had hoped. We agree with all the other reviews, it is a perfect hideaway with fantastic, caring hosts. I dont want to recommend this place cause I want it all to myself. We will definately stay here again, I hope for a month next time! Kai ka nani!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Base Camp to Explore the Big Island

    Great Base Camp to Explore the Big Island

    • Guest WRN (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    My wife and I stayed 7 days in the "hideaway". For a pair of adventure-minded people, it was a near-perfect rental. Clean and well-equiped, it's located in a residential neighborhood (20+ minutes south of downtown Kona). It offers a quiet place to relax and sleep, about 1000 ft straight up the "hill" from the ocean (5 minute drive), but you can see the ocean on the horizon. The hosts were very nice and had lots of gear (kayak, snorkel, beach stuff) for use to use at our whim - saved us $200-300! The owner provided fresh fruit to us at multiple times. The distance from "town" may be a negative for some people, but there are many great places to eat in South Kona (often better than the touristy downtown Kona places). We would definitely stay here again if we returned!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Loved our home away from home

    Loved our home away from home

    • Guest Carol and Karl (Bay Area, California)
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/18/10
    Hi Beth and Dave, Karl and I had a wonderful time in your beautifully decorated hideaway! We have been to Hawaii many times and I used to live in your neighborhood and we felt totally at home while away from home. The photos you provided were very accurate, the place was clean and lovingly and creatively decorated. Your Hawaii library of books was incredible and we enjoyed your selection of DVD's. You two are the best hosts ever! You are generous and kind and quick to respond when we needed something. We enjoyed being so close to the best swimming and to having the kayaks and snorkel gear to use. Thanks for your caring hosting. We will definitely be back and highly recommend your place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Cynthia and Carlos (Pacifica, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/14/10
    Hi place is really sweet. Beautiful and fun, everything you need and more. The owners are as warm and helpful as can be.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, comfortable and relaxing

    Lovely, comfortable and relaxing

    • Guest Danika and Matt (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/26/10
    We had such a relaxing and comfortable vacation in the Plumeria Suite! Of the three places we stayed on the Big Island, it was the coziest and most thoughtfully appointed, with everything we needed to be comfortable on our stay--from a welcoming fruit basket, coffee, tea, toiletries and Kleenex for relaxing at home, to snorkels, flippers, sunscreen, beach towels, tatami mats, and excellent recommendations for adventures out and about. We really appreciated the binder of information about local places to eat out and buy fresh, local fish and fruit, and Dave and Beth's personal suggestions were helpful and friendly as well. We loved to sit at the table outside and watch birds and geckos in the lawn while enjoying our morning coffee, and the snorkeling at Two-Step was beautiful. Thanks again for such a great stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 5+ stars

    5+ stars

    • Guest Cravin' Hawaii (scottsdale, AZ mainland)
    • Date of stay 04/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    I've travelled a lot,around the world. hotels, condo's b&b's, and quite honestly, this place takes the cake. It's home away from home with all the ammenities from coffee maker to bbq. It's all there including kayaks, snorkle gear, surfboards, boogie board's, mountain bike's all @ your disposal with friendly, helpful, knowledged owner's to help you dive into Hawaii. Located 20 min south of Kona, it's an easy drive through lush green, and grocery store is halfway in between to get to tourist area's Kona alii drive with shopping, restaurants & bar's on the water's edge. Easy parking in coconut grove shopping mall right there. What made it for me was snokling with dolphin's literally every morning @ bay 5 min's down the hill. local's call it 2 step. It's Hawaii in a nutshell, turtle refuge here along with fantastic wood carved hawaiian statues. unbelievable snorkling. best is before noon. Water is crystall clear & BLUE ! BLUE ! BLUE ! Spinner dolphin's leave normally late evening to go out to feed. Use avail kayak's for Capt. Cook 15 min away through lush well paved backroad's to Kealakekua bay. Great snorkling also, but bit more touristy. Recommend renting suv or jeep to get around. some roads are a little rough if you get off beaten path. To add to comment on rental, It's immaculate clean, cable, internet. Not many insect's, family of gecko's may help that. the're really pretty & funny to watch. May take your seat for sun if you get up. You will wake up to bird's chirping, canaries joined me for breakfast on patio each morning. mango's passion fruit, banannas & other fruit's abound on or around property. ocean view & sunsets from patio. It's paradise

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wish I Could Give This More Than Five Stars

    Wish I Could Give This More Than Five Stars

    • Guest Jen4561 (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 03/21/10
    • Review Submitted 04/01/10
    My husband and I stayed in five different places during our Hawaiian adventure, including a very well known resort. Out of all of them, this was BY FAR our most favorite!! Peaceful, beautiful, close to all sorts of outdoor activities....I could go on and on. Beth and Dave have thought of every detail. The place is gorgeous, and OHHHHHHH so very romantic. To top it all off, the owners are the nicest people you will ever meet. We should have stayed her longer than we did. South Point and Volcanoes could have been done in one day, with plenty of time to get back to The Hideaway. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to The Big Island, we will stay at Beth's Hawaiian Hideaway and branch out from there. My advise....STAY HERE...It is perfect!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Anna, Mark & Izy Seattle, WA

    Anna, Mark & Izy Seattle, WA

    • Guest Anna, Mark & Izy (seattle, wa)
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/30/10
    Thank you for a truly wonderful stay. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. All the great snorkeling & the beautiful topography. Isabelle is sad to leave her lovely cozy bedroom. Thanks for your thoughtfulness in providing coloring books and all the beach stuff. She loved them all. This is a very special place you have created here - we hope to return soon! We will definitly recommend you to others. Best Wishes; Anna Mark & Izy

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Phil and Connie V. D. (-)
    • Date of stay 02/11/10
    • Review Submitted 02/11/10
    We spent 7 wonderful days with Dave and Beth; the best of 3 vacation visits to the Islands. A private and quiet location with 2 units, each were clean and fully stocked with everything you might need. A quick 3 minute drive to the best snorkeling beach on the island, we were lucky enough to swim with the dolphins several days. Snorkeling gear, Kayaks and Mt. bikes were a definite plus. Dave and Beth were consummate hosts happily providing suggestions on places to eat and sites to visit. We plan on going back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Marilyn & Tom Corvallis, Oregon

    Marilyn & Tom Corvallis, Oregon

    • Guest Marilyn & Tom (corvallis, or)
    • Date of stay 02/03/10
    • Review Submitted 04/30/10
    What a lovely time we had staying in this beautiful slice of heaven you have created for your guests. We had everything we needed and more; You have given every attention to detail yet in such a warm & creative way. We hope that we can return for another visit with you, the dolphins, whales and fishes. Your the best and we wish you great success with your Hawaiian Hideawys! Warm Aloha Marilyn & Tom

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Honeymoon Spot

    Great Honeymoon Spot

    • Guest Cathy & Keith (Redding, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    We had such a great stay here; the decor is so charming and comfortable. The fresh fruit grown right out the back door was amazing! The location is wonderful; quiet and secluded, but easily accessible to everywhere you want to go on the Big Island. I had a great time reading all about Hawaii in the wonderful books in the suite. Dave and Beth were wonderful, hospitable and informative without being instrusive. Mahalo for the perfect honeymoon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Derek & Melanie, Nanaimo, BC

    Derek & Melanie, Nanaimo, BC

    • Guest Melanie & Derek (Nanaimo, BC )
    • Date of stay 12/19/09
    • Review Submitted 04/30/10
    The more we travel the more we appreciate a really good thing when we see it. This place the 2 of you have created feels like coming home... So comfortable, so very peaceful. Our 10 days here had a real harmony and though we stayed on the go seeing the sights we always looked forward to returning each PM. We came to Hawaii single lovers and left married. It all happened Dec. 20th, 2009 right here in the Sweet Suite. We will see you when we return. Carpe Diem Melanie & Derek

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Plumeria Queen Suite

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Plumeria Queen Suite

    • Guest Katy & Michael, California
    • Date of stay 10/21/09
    • Review Submitted 12/10/09
    What a wonderful suprise we have stumbled upon. How lucky we are to have had such warm and genuine hosts. The tips you have given us have been invaluable, much prefered to any guide book. Thanks to the tree outside our door we are now certifiable star fruit addicts. Far too short, our stay with you has been a little slice of heaven for budget travelers such as our selves. We will forever remember your hideaway as the gateway to some of the world's best snorkeling..... who could forget the dolphins?!! We hope to see you again. Take Care.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Plumeria Queen Suite

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Plumeria Queen Suite

    • Guest Jerry & Maricel, Alaska
    • Date of stay 10/15/09
    • Review Submitted 12/10/09
    What can we add other than to say that we really love your place. Our stay was too short and we would love to come back and enjoy it again. You guys have a future in B & B design, just don't try it in Alaska as your guests would freeze their buttts off! Keep up the great hospitality but don't let others on the Isle know too much or you might have to work harder to stay ahead ha ha! It was hard to feel that we needed to go anywhere to enjoy our stay here as your yard and our view of it was so enjoyable. It is a great place to meditate on Gods great love and care for his creation. We so wish we really could stay longer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Plumeria Queen Suite

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Plumeria Queen Suite

    • Guest Chris & Tom, Colorado
    • Date of stay 10/13/09
    • Review Submitted 12/10/09
    Thanks Beth & Dave, We had a great time! Thanks for EVERYTHING! We love this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next