Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The 'Barn Quarters'-yep! It's really a barn!Two bedroom, 1 bath and Veranda!

5 Star Horse Ranch! Wineries and Horses Out Your Back Door! Think Tuscany! [#248444] | View Property

Paso Robles
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom (sleeps 6) + sofa bed(s)
$350/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (40)

Sort by:
  • Thankyou for everything!!!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thankyou for everything!!!!

    • Guest Ellen and Peter
    • Date of stay 03/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    Hi Karen: Peter and I and our "girls" had such a wonderful time at your property, along with Monty, who did his best to adopt us. We passed numerous farms and ranches on our trip and yours - definitely - is far and away the best in terms of sheer beauty and tranquility. Every day started with a hike along the creek and into the old oaks and ended at night with a walk around the show rings. Except for our last night, the sky was so clear I saw stars I haven't seen for years living in the city. Add to the above all the wonderful dogs, donkeys and horses - It really is something very special. Thanks for offering such a great place to unwind. I hope you found a lovely home for the little golden mix!! Best to you. Ellen and Peter

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • this is the place for a rural retreat

    this is the place for a rural retreat

    • Guest Maureen (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/10/14
    Today my family and I came home, looked around here in Berkeley, and wished we were still at Campana Creek Ranch with its birds, horses, 200 year old oak trees, and delightful dogs that our own canine enjoyed tremendously. Our dog flushed pheasants from Campana Creek, chased squirrels until she felt the burn, and wagged her tail more than I've ever seen her do. The beds were perfect and so was everything else (although we did miss a colander or salad spinner in the kitchen). Dallas suggested we check out the cutting event at the fairgrounds and boy oh boy was that some horse show. Favorite winery was Adelaida (sp?) whose wines were boffo. Back at the ranch, we admired the quarter horses and listened to the hawks and watched the magpies and got bombed by an owl at dusk. The expansive front porch with its cattle skull and lazy susan on the table and comfy loungers was very difficult to leave but the horseshoe court beckoned. We loved walking around the property while various dogs kept us company--good thing we were informed that the resident Doberman was friendly because he was very scary looking. He soon invited our dog to a fun romp and they explored the squirrel holes down the hill together. I did wonder about the layout of the bedrooms, given a prior review. We discovered that although the bedrooms are connected, there is a short route through the barn from the back bedroom to the living/bathroom area so that our son didn't have to walk through our bedroom if he needed to use the bathroom or get something from the kitchen in the middle of the night. This turned out to be one of the most enjoyable places our family has ever visited (60 yr old parents and two sons in their 20s).

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Maureen, THANK YOU so much for the wonderful review! So happy you enjoyed yourself, and of course your pup. Yes, lots of squirrels to chase and much wildlife for all to enjoy! Please come back again and don't forget the dog!! Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING weekend!

    AMAZING weekend!

    • Guest Amanda (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    We had a wonderful weekend at this property! We were a group of 5 (low key bachelorette) and we stayed in the barn quarters. Karen was a dream to work with, and was super responsive and helpful our entire stay. The property...GORGEOUS! I can honestly say that it made the trip for us girls. The barn quarter was super cute, with nice bedrooms, a great bathroom, and the kitchenette was great for cooking up some smaller meals (there is also a grill). Cute western decor too. But the views from the veranda are really what make this place shine! It was beautiful and super relaxing to watch the sun set and just look out over the property. We absolutely loved it, and thought that the porch view beat out many of the wineries for scenery. We had a great time petting the horses and many dogs on the property as well (and they have a lot of both!). I would 100% recommend coming here to others, and can't wait for the next time we can come back! Only issue we had with this place: we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay!!!

    Owner response: Thankyou so much!! We were happy to make this event a memorable one! You were all amazing and so fun to have on the ranch! We appreciate the lovely review! Come back soon! Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • AMAZING time at this rental!

    AMAZING time at this rental!

    • Guest Amanda (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    We had a WONDERFUL time here last weekend! Karen was a dream to work with in getting the rental, and was super friendly and helpful our entire stay. My group of 5 (low key bachelorette) stayed in the barn quarters, which were lovely! The rooms themselves were nice, bathroom excellent, and it was nice to have a kitchenette to do some of our own cooking (grill outside as well, although we didn't use it). Fun western vibe all throughout. Major bonus: the property is GORGEOUS! We absolutely loved sitting on the veranda and just relaxing, and we all honestly thought that the rental was much prettier then many of the wineries we toured. If you come here, definitely make sure to have at least a night to sit outside, eat, and watch the sun set on the veranda. Petting the horses and chilling with all of the dogs on the property was awesome too. It was worth it being a little farther out of town for the country feel and beauty. I would 100% stay here again, and hope to do so again soon!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful weekend getaway

    Wonderful weekend getaway

    • Guest Ellen (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Campana Creek Ranch! The ranch was sprawling and beautiful and there was a large deck at the barn to sit outside, BBQ, and eat meals. The bed was very comfortable as was the new shower. The kitchen and bathroom were well appointed with pots, pans, toiletries, etc. Everyone on the ranch was so friendly and Karen / Marty were so responsive to our every need. There are tons of wineries nearby to visit. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Authentic and beautiful place to stay a few days!

    Authentic and beautiful place to stay a few days!

    • Guest Teddy (SF)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    I definitely enjoyed my stay with my wife and kids and a couple of friends. Peaceful, authentic, clean.... Karen and Marty are very welcoming and responsive. The patio with woderful country views is probably the best of the place. Recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay at Campana - So Much Better than a Hotel

    Great Stay at Campana - So Much Better than a Hotel

    • Guest pk (Newport Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We recently stayed at the ranch with our 12 and 14 year old kids and our black lab dog. Marty welcomed us warmly and provided an excellent bottle of wine for our first night, some much appreciated coffee for the morning and and showed us around. The property is very beautiful and the front porch is huge with a great view of the hills and a table for dining at sunset. Our kids enjoyed hiking the property, petting all the horses, playing horseshoes, feeding the donkeys and playing with the ranch dogs. We really appreciated having full access to the pastures and allowing us to feel at home. Karen provided us with many great suggestions in advance of our trip, including a water park where the kids could go and is just down the street from a couple wineries we wanted to visit. Outstanding! This was a great experience and so much better than staying in a hotel. The only people I would not recommend to stay here are those who expect every comfort of home -- the kitchen and bathroom are both very adequate, but not large. Several of our neighbors have asked about our stay and we're happily referring them to the ranch. We hope to make it back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous place to hang your hat(s) for a few days!

    Fabulous place to hang your hat(s) for a few days!

    • Guest Connie (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/12
    • Review Submitted 05/31/12
    Fabulous place to hang your hat for a few days! We stayed in the owners quarters for the first night and the cottage for the last two nights (not the 2 bed barn). Lots of country charm with just the right amount amenities to make your stay most enjoyable. Lovely country décor with special touches everywhere. Very pet friendly. My furkids loved running off leash the entire 3 days we were there. The ranch dogs were a friendly crew. Ponies, goats, horses. Wagon loads of wineries. Owners and caretakers were attentive and friendly. What’s not to like? Other than a couple of minor housekeeping items (bathroom tissue and where to empty the garbage), I would have given the place 5 stars. I’d give them 4.5 stars if that was an option. If I am ever in the area again, I will make it my first choice to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome bachelorette weekend!

    Awesome bachelorette weekend!

    • Guest Vero (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/30/12
    The ranch provided such a special experience for my friend's bachelorette weekend...all ten of us had a blast and greatly appreciated the beautiful setting and hospitality. Highly recommended for folks looking for girls' weekend/glorified slumber party-type trip! Also imagine it would be a lovely venue for couples and families.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Veronica! So glad the Bachelorette weekend went well! If you are ever in the area, please stop by and say hi, or better yet, come back soon! Karen, Marty, Carrie and Ed and all the animals!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful Stay at Campana Ranch

    Peaceful Stay at Campana Ranch

    • Guest Livaltl (Chicago Area, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    The Campana Creek Ranch was the perfect place for us to stay the week while attending the First Ever Horsemen's Reunion! What a beautiful view in all directions and the accommodations were beautifully decorated and comfortable. We love our host Karen - she made us feel right at home. Really enjoyed visiting the horses, donkeys, goats, and dogs. We took advantage of the full kitchen and even cooked out on the grill several nights. This is the perfect place to get away from town, relax, and stop at one of the 280 wineries in the area - and only a few minutes from the town of Paso Robles. We will most definitely be back again! Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Grounds, Great Host!

    Beautiful Grounds, Great Host!

    • Guest vickie R.
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    We stayed at Campana Creek Ranch for the wine festival weekend in March. Wow! What a great time! The ranch is gorgeous! Marty, our host, was a great guy and very accomodating! He greeted us with great wine and great conversation! He even took us to, and picked us up from a wine party we were going to at Tobin James. I must say that he made our weekend very special. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the house was decorated very classy. There is a full kitchen, so if you need anything, it's there. If you are looking for a great place to drink great wine, relax, and be taken care of by a great host, Campana Creek Ranch is the place to go! We will definately go again. Thanks Marty and Karen for a wonderful getaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Ranch !

    Beautiful Ranch !

    • Guest Hillary (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/13/12
    My family (me, 3 kids ranging in age from 9 to 14, non-horsey husband) loved this place. We've stayed in ranch-like places all round the world and this one ranks in our top three. Just a few highlights for animal lovers; a menagerie of affectionate donkeys, mini-horses, 6 dogs and a goat. Animals tell you a lot about a place and these, plus 12 horses became our companions. Caretakers of the place, Ed and Cary were warm and friendly. We stayed with another couple in two converted barns. Accommodations were spacious and comfy. Each had great views of rollings hills, olive groves, vineyards, ours had sounds of the creek that runs through the property that included a chorus of frogs and night birds. We so loved the place we made dinner 2 nights instead of going out. There is a gorgeous veranda with barbecue and comfortable chairs and chaises. We'd originally planned on staying 2 nights and extended our stay by another 2 nights, something we rarely do on jam-packed vacation road trips. While accommodations had kitchens with just about everything we could have wanted, we did visit local vineyards (there are 300 of them!) and downtown Paso Robles. Great town, very up and coming with something for everybody, including great food! We're coming back in June, 2012 with another couple and 5 kids. Can't wait.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming beyond words!

    Charming beyond words!

    • Guest lani (Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/10/12
    Have you ever wondered what the perfect horse ranch would be like, nestled in the heart of the central valley wine country? Stunning sunsets, vineyards, rolling hills languishing animals. This places has it all! And it's only a stones throw from the finest of central valley vineyards. Our host and hostess made us feel so with its impeccable cushy southwestern furnishing we were ready to dawn our cowboy boots and take up the pitch fork right away! (just kidding) more like pop up a bottle of central valleys finest and put out feet up on the table and breath in the atmosphere until we were giddy from head to toe! If you want to experience this, look no further, when you drive into the gates you'll know you came to the right place to stay a while! Enjoy.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice, but expensive for what it was

    Nice, but expensive for what it was

    • Guest CCCE (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 03/05/12
    The grounds were lovely and it was fun to truly feel away from it all in the barn with the horses on such a big piece of property, but based on the photos and the price point, we were expecting more from the actual accommodations and furnishings. The layout of the unit was a bit awkward. For example, you needed to go through one bedroom to get to the second, so make sure your travel buddies aren't shy and bring a flashlight in case you need to make a late night trip to the restroom. That said, the owners were very friendly and accommodating. To take advantage of all this property has to offer plan on spending some time relaxing or grilling on the veranda, exploring the grounds, feeding the goats and donkeys, and making a trip to the nearby wineries.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wow! What a time we had

    Wow! What a time we had

    • Guest Rebecca (Menlo Park)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/27/11
    All six of us had a fantastic time - five humans and one dog. The property was so beautiful in the fall, with the trees changing color and the night sky so clear and filled with stars. The house is cosy and warm and you feel truly away from it all. Both Marti and Karen are super friendly and extremely responsive, without being in the least bit intrusive. One of the best features of this place is that it is so close to Paso Robles and all that it has to offer and you can reach San Louis Obispo in under 45 minutes.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous

    Fabulous

    • Guest Ginger (Las Vegas)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    Our little family of 4 enjoyed our stay at your place very much. The location is out of the hustle and bustle of the town but close enough to get what you need. My two boys (3 and 1) enjoyed the property with the horses, donkeys, and especially the frogs were a big hit with my oldest! We enjoyed the covered deck and peaceful surroundings with birds chirping and my boys could play in the dirt while I watched in the comfort of a nice soft chair. I doubt we will be back in the area any time soon, but if we were, I would love to stay here again. Thanks Karen for showing us around and making us feel welcome.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Birthday Party

    The Birthday Party

    • Guest Ken (Lincoln, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/06/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    Just had my birthday party at the Ranch with 12 of my friends and we all loved the place. The Ranch is one of my favorite places to relax and enjoy the secenery regardless of the time of the year. Karen and marty do a great job of making you feel right at home and all the animals always remind you that your on a ranch. Plus its a great place to star gaze, I have seen so many shooting stars I have stopped counting. This is a must stay location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everyone deserves a night or two at the Campana Ranch!

    Everyone deserves a night or two at the Campana Ranch!

    • Guest JLP (Laguna Beach)
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Wow...I was given the responsibility to plan a weekend away for one of my best friend's big 60th bday....all this friend wanted was it to include a train trip and a peaceful environment. I selected Paso Robles (my new favorite place to go!) and was fortunate enough to find the Campana Ranch. It seemed perfect on the website....but once we arrived, it was clear that it WAS PERFECT. The deck is absolutely a gathering place...we cooked great meals, enjoyed the animals, and even the mattresses and sheets are just top notch.If you like being outside on a great deck with your friends...you mustn't miss out on this place. We will most most most definitely return! By the way, you will LOVE Paso Robles too!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Wonderful Trip to the Ranch

    A Wonderful Trip to the Ranch

    • Guest A member of the Class of '66 (Fairlawn, OH)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    Staying on the Campana Creek Ranch was a unique and very enjoyable experience. I was there with my friends from high school. We enjoyed catching up on old memories while at the same time making new ones. Campana Creek Ranch offered us a rustic setting with all the amenities. The barn is furnished for both comfort and beauty. We really liked waking every morning and walking the ranch to visit the horses, the goats and the donkeys. The area offered us the ability to shop in very exclusive up-scacle shops, visit the wineries, see the Mission in San Miguel and take a trip to the Hearst Castle all within very short distances.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Campana Creek Ranch Paso Robles

    Campana Creek Ranch Paso Robles

    • Guest JWK (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    I stayed at this ranch with several high school friends for a 45th reunion in August. The weather was fabulous--breezy, cool nights, days in 90s (tho we were prepared for hotter days). Some of us slept in the Barn Quarters near the horse pastures, others in the Cottage. Both were spic and span (even the windows on a dusty ranch) with comfy beds and lots of extras (pillows, blankets, complimentary toothbrush packs, coffee, tea, bottled water etc). We loved the two-bedroom Barn's charming ranch decor (on the plush side for a "ranch" I'd say), especially the wide front porch overflowing with blooming wisteria vines, a gas grille, lounge chairs and dining table---ideal for grilling in the evening, board games or lazy breakfasting, often while watching horses being trained out front. The Cottage was beyond "cute and cozy" . . . one of us preferred sleeping in the "loft" bunk tho a comfy sofa bed was available i n addition to a queen bed. The Cottage offers postcard-perfect sunsets on the back porch over a field dotted with cows and mammoth oaks. Some of us love to cook and we found the kitchens supplied with everything we needed in the pots-and-pans and spices categories (grocery stores was 10 mins away). The owner was on site and offered lots of advice on wineries, spectacular mountain drives, things to do and see, including the week's activities in nearby Paso Robles. We found many pamphlets on the local wineries and tourist attractions in both places, and whenever we had a question, the owner was there with an answer. We loved the dogs, donkeys, goats and miniature horses nearby and spent our days visiting the many wineries just down the road (never realized there were so many so close), San Simeon's Hearst Castle, Cambria, the beach at Avila a short drive away, the Mission at San Miguel and Paso Robles (with many shops and nice restaurants). So much to do. Such a nice place to stay. Only thing we needed was more time! J.W.K

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Joy, thank you so much for the most beautiful review! We are so happy that the weather was fantastic and you enjoyed your stay for your "girls retreat" at the ranch. I am sure all the critters are going to miss you and all your yummy treats. Sounds like you found your way around the Central Coast....and hit alot of wineries as well! It's easy to do! Come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Ranch

    Beautiful Ranch

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/03/11
    We had a wonderful stay at Campana Creek Ranch. The barn quarters were perfect for the 4 of us. The view from the back deck was spectacular. Marty and Kelly were so friendly and helpful, it was so nice to be greeted and shown around the property by such genuinely nice people. We brought 2 horses with us and the horse amenities were amazing. The barn was super clean and the stalls were generously padded up with shavings. There are 2 large arenas and a nice galloping track to ride on. It was a very memorable stay and we can't wait to go again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Michelle! So glad you enjoyed the horse facilities and the Barn Quarters! Please come back anytime and lets go for a ride together on the back 40! With much appreciation... Karen, Marty and the ranch crew!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Experience

    Amazing Experience

    • Guest Chuck (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    This is, indeed, a real life working ranch- complete with one of the cutest cowboys you've ever seen. By day, the ranch staff is actively working with the horses, and there are lots of little trails around the property to hike. There are literally dozens of wineries within 10-15 minutes of the ranch that are well worth visiting. But the best part of the ranch is at night- it is so enchanting. The stars shine so bright in the vast country sky, you won't want to spend a waking minute indoors. When you do go inside, the cool wind and the sounds of the bugs and frogs will lull you to sleep. The only downside of the weekend at the ranch was having to leave......

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Chuck, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so happy you were able to escape the city and get back down to nature! Please return and enjoy a night on us! With much appreciation- Sincerely, Karen, Marty, Kelli, Luke (Cute Cowboy) and horses, doggies

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation

    Perfect Vacation

    • Guest Andreas (Irvine, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/06/11
    Our experience was absolutely amazing! We rented the guesthouse over Memorial Day weekend, which easily accommodated our group of 4 adults. We especially enjoyed the huge porch where we basked in the magnificent sunsets and the surrounding beauty of the perfect environment to enjoy an evening with great friends after a full day of sightseeing and wine tastings in the many, great wineries of Paso Robles. We were amazed by the incredible views of the stars in the night sky. The owners were super nice and very attentive. The ranch is located conveniently within a short distance to many wineries and downtown Paso Robles. We wished we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend this property to anyone seeking an authentic ranch experience in beautiful Paso wine country! Thank you Marty and Karen!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thankyou Andreas! I was so nice meeting all of you! You were fantastic guests and so fun to have on the ranch! Thank you again for joining us and please come back soon! (Harvest???:) You were al a fantastic, lovely group! Karen, Marty, Kelli, Luke and critters! heehawwwwwwwwwwwww!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorial Weekend Guests

    Memorial Weekend Guests

    • Guest roberto (arizona)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    We were a couple of 4 staying in the separate guest home of a 46acre working Horse Ranch. The owners Marty and Karen could not be more gracious and the accomodations, landscapes, and cool weather were just a delight. Additionally this Horse Ranch is in a terrifiic serene location with easy access to vineyards, shopping, coastline and other attractions. We were just so relaxed and i cannot wait to plan a return trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Robert! You all were so fun, wish we could have spent more time together. Please come back when the weather in Arizona is too hot and you have to escape the heat to Paso! Next time, a week for sure! Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming private horse property

    Charming private horse property

    • Guest Marcy (Sausalito, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/25/11
    We would highly recommend this beautiful, low key horse property 10 mins from downtown near all of the wineries. Couldn't have been better - makes you want to live there!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Marcy! We hope you found some new Paso wines for your wine stores! Come back anytime! Karen and Marty ( and all the horses! )

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • If you are a horse lover, this place is heaven!

    If you are a horse lover, this place is heaven!

    • Guest Rick & Margaret Baldwin (Pacific Grove, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/11
    • Review Submitted 04/04/11
    We sat on the broad veranda under mature oaks -- sipping wine and watching the resident horse trainers in action in an arena used years ago for the Olympic equestrian team. No noise except for bird song and the gentle whicker of horses calling to each other from field to field. Utter peace, green hills, and 220 wineries within driving distance...We will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Rick and Margaret! We are so happy to be able to share our little "slice of heaven" with you all! Can't wait to have you come back! The animals will surely miss all your pats and carrots! Karen, Marty, kelli and Luke

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kevin Kramer
    • Date of stay 03/18/11
    • Review Submitted 03/26/11
    We had a great time! There was alot of rain, but it did not stop the wineries from pouring wine! The ranch was great, my family loved spending time with the horses and Kelli is super! Thanks again and we hope to make it back soon! Kevin and family Orange County

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Christel and Mark and family
    • Date of stay 03/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/11
    We had a WONDERFUL time at the ranch. My 3 1/2 year old son wants to stay there "for a hundred days or so"...even my husband wished we could stay longer. You will be our place to stay whenever we come to Paso! Thanks for everything and sharing your wonderful ranch with us! Christel and Family Monrovia, California

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location and home

    Great location and home

    • Guest Todd (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 02/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/02/11
    The home really is in a barn but you would never know it. Everything was very comfortable and the amenities were great.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, charming and refreshing place for a visit

    Wonderful, charming and refreshing place for a visit

    • Guest Adam (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 02/14/11
    I took my girlfriend here on short notice and Karen couldn't have been more accommodating. We had refreshing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives. The only problem was that I left wishing I could call the ranch home...it was fantastic!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Adam! I hope you both come back down! Lots and lots of wineries to check out not to mention this years line up at the Mid-State Fair...Lady Antebellum, Maroon 5, Sugarland, Chicago.. Thanks again! everyone at Campana Creek Ranch

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a great find!

    What a great find!

    • Guest Fran (Tower Lakes, IL)
    • Date of stay 01/26/11
    • Review Submitted 02/08/11
    Our family (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed at the barn quarters on the ranch for four nights and had the best time! The property is gorgeous and the views are amazing - pictures cannot do it justice! Not to mention the stars at night! The accomodations more than comfortable and cozy. Karen and Kelly made us feel so welcome and at home! Our children (21, 14 and 11) loved roaming around on the ranch and our friend's puppy had the time of his life. We love the area and can't wait to come back and visit! I only wish we could have stayed longer....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Fran! I may have some overflow to refer to you! Let me know when you are up and running! Looking forward to seeing you all again! Tobin james is my new favorite place! Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Ring in the New Year!

    Great Place to Ring in the New Year!

    • Guest Liz (Huntington Beach, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/11
    Campana Creek Ranch is great location to escape the big city. My husband, 11-year old daughter, and I absolutely enjoyed our stay here, and it was a great way to ring in the New Year! Karen, Marty, and Kelly are so very hospitable and friendly, and this is reflected in the warmth and coziness of the house and property. Yes, it rained a bit, but with warm blankets, we were able to sit on the fabulous porch and read books and play board games. The dogs, horses, goats, donkeys, and wildlife were an added bonus, and so much fun to watch. When it wasn't raining, we were able to walk on the property and enjoy the outdoors. The house is also a short drive to downtown Paso Robles but still is an area that has a country feel. Thank you Karen, Marty, and Kelly. Staying in a converted barn? You bet we'd do it all over again!! Liz, Huntington Beach, CA

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly Recommended!

    Highly Recommended!

    • Guest N.N. (Fairfax, California)
    • Date of stay 11/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/11
    Suffice it to say that the daily grind had gotten to me. I needed a break. I found just what I was looking for at Campana Creek. I arrived worn out and left rejuvenated, relaxed, refreshed and very, very, happy. I have been to many destinations and I would have to say that I have never seen as many stars as I saw at Campana Creek and have never felt so completely at peace. Everything about my stay was wonderful. The property was way beyond beautiful, the accommodation was superb and the hospitality was remarkable. I had planned to do activities in Paso Robles but I enjoyed the ranch so much, I didn't go farther than the two wineries right down the street (which were both very good!). Campana Creek is a fantastic place to get away from it all and get back in touch with the beauty that California has to offer. Do yourself a favor and go there!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memories that will last a lifetime

    Memories that will last a lifetime

    • Guest Eric (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 11/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    We rented the barn quarters and guest cottage for 5 nights over the Thanksgiving break with our extended family which consisted of 4 adults and 2 girls (6 and 8). The girls had so much fun on the ranch feeding the horses, minis, burros and goats. Luckily, the proprietor's daughter was available to babysit the girls while we went wine tasting for 2 days. The weather was unusually cold, so we were sad to miss out on morning coffee and evening drinks on the porches with their spectacular views and comfortable lounge chairs. But, we really enjoyed wandering the property and seeing the millions of stars at night in the crisp, fresh air. I only wish we could have brought out dogs and horse - but too far a trip from Chicago! We hope to return soon. Thanks much for a wonderful visit Marty, Karen and Sarah! Eric and Jayne Wagner - Highland Park IL and the Froelichs - Ventura CA.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Rural Sanctuary for Body and Soul!

    A Rural Sanctuary for Body and Soul!

    • Guest Jamie Rosen (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/13/10
    My family and I stayed in the barn quarters for a three day weekend and had a wonderful time. The location of the ranch is excellent for striking out for daily activities in the area, but more importantly, it's far enough off the highway and away from population centers that you really feel out in the country when you're there. In fact, my best memories of the weekend were not of all the great outings we took, but of the wonderful mornings, afternoons, and evenings spent relaxing on the porch, looking out over the beautiful landscape. The place is really a treasure, and Karen and her helpers are all very kind and helpful. It's a wonderful place for rejuvination, and made everyone in my family happy -- including my 5 year-old daughter, my picky parents (in their early 70s), my wife and me, and above all, our dog!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Suzanne T and guests
    • Date of stay 08/06/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/10
    To Marty, Karen and Alex, Thank you so much for a lovely weekend. We did not want to disturb your family on Sunday night when we left. It was hard to leave as we really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The Barn Quarters were just right for our family and made it so convenient to go to the mission. Everything was terrific and we appreciate your hospitality and kindness. We look forward to visiting you again when we are back in the area. Thank you so much! Suzane T. Orange County, CA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, peaceful retreat!!!

    Wonderful, peaceful retreat!!!

    • Guest Becky (Pacific Grove)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/07/10
    I recently stayed at Campana Creek over the July 4th weekend, and it was absolutely wonderful!!! There was so much attention to detail (the owners left a bottle of wine, and the manager greeted us on our arrival with wine tasting suggestions, and tons of helpful information about the area). The barn house was charming, comfortable and peaceful.... there is a big front porch that we took advantage of both nights, making dinner and eating it while watching the sun set. I would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone looking for a special, comfortable, peaceful getaway- it is amazing. :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very relaxing....

    Very relaxing....

    • Guest Joe & Sylvia (Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 06/17/10
    • Review Submitted 06/26/10
    We spent three nights at Campana Creek and were able to bring our dog Harley, who was humbly reminded of his size when meeting his first horse. The ranch is great - we loved every minute of it. The deck was our favorite place to hang out and we spent a lot of time reading, talking and enjoying dinner outside. In the mornings we hiked around the ranch, and enjoyed the relaxed feel of the place. Marty and Alex were super hosts, and made a lot of good recommendations on things to visit while in the area.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Linda, Bo and Miles
    • Date of stay 01/02/10
    • Review Submitted 04/14/10
    Wow! This was such a memorable and fun way to spend New Years! The ranch, acommodations and all the animals made our stay so incredible! Thank you for sharing your amazing ranch with us! Linda Kelley Marin County, CA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Words Cannot Describe...

    Words Cannot Describe...

    • Guest lani (Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/17/09
    • Review Submitted 06/30/10
    When we first rolled Into the ranch and down the long drive into the main ranch house turn around I don't think I was quite prepared for what I saw. Beyond the perfect island cluster of roses and the geogeous tack barn I saw the most perfect terrain of rolling hills and tree studded valley with a georgous classic riding arena, and massive porched guest lodging. We coulden't believe it. Everything was prestine and classic. right down to lazy chairs and western touches. Even the animals seemed to be enjoying the sublime panorama framed in dusty golden light..... even these corny words fall short. A must stay place to stop time for a while.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]