Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Pool side looking over the valley and into the house.

Costa Rica Bali Oasis 4-Star Luxury, Privacy, Pool, 360 View in Eco Preserve [#250065ha] | View Property

Atenas
2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 4, pool w/view
$900 - $1,505/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (44)

Sort by:
  • Sample of Paradise

    Sample of Paradise

    • Guest Jon & Catherine (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/07/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/14
    This is one of the most inspiring and beautiful places we have ever stayed! While hard to believe, this Bali Oasis is even more beautiful than displayed in the pictures. Very tastefully decorated with a stunning location overlooking the valley. Absolutely divine, hanging out (literally) with a cup of coffee while watching a different spectacular sunrise every day, listening to the crowing roosters, or strolling through the gorgeous flowering gardens so well maintained by Jaime. While we did a lot of day trips, this is a heavenly location to simply decompress, watching the various herds of cows in their daily rising routines, floating in the pool, or simply experiencing the day. Looking directly south out over the valley, each moment changes with colors and shadows as the sun progresses through the day. Definitely a four-wheel drive location, with a very steep and winding access - quite a challenging walk to drop off the daily trash bag at the villa entrance. The open air Balinese-style layout felt awkward at first, but became more comfortable every day. This villa is centrally located, with easy access to the toll highway just out of the quiet, local village of Atenas, and every convenience is right in the village: ATM, gas, groceries, pizza, several small restaurants, and farmers market. A GPS is absolutely necessary since road signs and directions are minimal to say the least - you would never find some of the local towns, restaurants, or gardens in the hills by simply winging it! A must stop is at La Casita del Cafe some 12 KM west for a delicious fruit drink or cappuccino. If you are fortunate, go there on a foggy afternoon and watch the fog climb up the valley and through the open cafe! Nearby sights of San Mateo (west) and the Orchid Garden (east) are well worth the pause. The welcome booklet has clear descriptions and directions to local restaurants and tourist spots. Just remember the basic rule of the road - if a vehicle is moving, it will not stop for another vehicle or for a pedestrian. Once you realize that, all is Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Heavenly House

    The Heavenly House

    • Guest Goodlife11 (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    While the photos are wonderful, nothing truly compares to actually staying in this incredible property for yourself. This sprawling, feng shui inspired home should be listed under 'prescriptions to totally relax and just be at ease on vacation.' In a nutshell, staying here is akin to having your own private luxury spa to wander around for a week. Each morning greets you with a postcard view of the surrounding land, and it morphs throughout the day as the light changes, leading you to yet another postcard view as the wayward sun sets in the distance. The small town of Atenas to quaint, and with a bit of a drive you can visit all sorts of local places ranging from the beach town of Jaco to the active Poas Volcano. The property manager of the house is a pleasure to work with, and the onsite cleaning and pool staff do an incredible job of keeping everything at 5-star caliber luxury. Simply put, staying in this home should be on your bucket list of things to do. :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved it!!

    Loved it!!

    • Guest Don (Can)
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/08/13
    My family and I loved the house!! The listing description and photos were very accurate and the house had all the comforts of home. Great place to just relax by the pool, catch up on some reading...or take a 30 minute drive to the coast. Its central location gives you opportunity to do some exploring. The owner, Diana, and Leticia, the property manager, were great to deal with and answered all my questions.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home

    Wonderful Home

    • Guest G & C (Kitchener Onntario Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/26/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    Our 1 week stay was interupted by some health issues, necessitating our staying close to home but with the beautiful villa's facilities, we didn't miss touring at all! Lounging by the pool, watching sunrises & sunsets, following the birds & animals (even the loud MOO that woke us the first morning!), temporary adoption of the caretaker's cats, and the total privacy to just relax more than made up for the sudden change in plans. Diana answered all of our naive questions in advance, Leticia was a bilingual Godsend & became a friend, there whenever we needed her, and Jaime always appeared when we needed a hand but didn't realize it. Atenas is a somewhat quaint small town with all the amenities we needed. Roads ranged from good to bad, requiring a 4 wheel drive vehicle with manual transmission to handle the peaks & valleys, and especially the end of the driveway to the villa. The drivers everywhere scare the daylight out of you, especially the dirt bike riders who zip in & out of traffic at full speed. Although the main language was Spanish, the people everywhere in Costa Rica were friendly & helpful & tried to understand our English. If you want to truly get away from it all, Bali Oasis is the place to go!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks again, Diana and Leticia for a wonderful stay

    Thanks again, Diana and Leticia for a wonderful stay

    • Guest joan h.
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/03/13
    Great! Save us another week next year!!! Hope we can come back.... PS I returned the CD I "borrowed" last year (by mistake)! And thanks for your generosity- it shows all throughout the house.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ontario Canada

    Ontario Canada

    • Guest Martin L. (Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    This is our seventh time to Costa Rica. Jaime, Carolina and Leticia were great to deal with. The house was very nice. Just a couple of things to keep in mind. 3500 sq ft. must include the pool, deck, balconies and walkways. No pictures of the second bedroom - very small 9 Maybe 9x10. Pool is cold - maybe think about negotiating getting it heated during your stay. The owner was something else to deal with. Our certified cheque( which is still in the mail system somewhere) did't arrive within a week and we were questioned whether we were going to commit or not. After evidence the check was in the mail we did a wire transfer and re-issued another check for the remainder - paying the rental in full months in advance. Got an e-mail from the owner two months later asking if we are commiting and going to pay. -WOW. We received an e-mail from Leticia upon leaving stating the owner will send the deposit within 10 days - no big deal- waited 22 days and contacted the owner. Got a response stating - I FORGOT and can you give me your address - Really. Costa Rica is beautiful and Atenas is a great hub to tour the country. If any of you golf - try Cariara golf course. In shore fishing for Rooster fish is good. Rent a car and enjoy the country - try to drive within the daylight hours - 5:30 - 5:30.

    Owner response: Dear Martin et al, i'm glad you had a great impression of Leticia, Jaime and Carolina and the house, and that in some way they made up for my shortcomings as a property renter. When you rent from vrbo/homeaway you get a private residence not professional lessors, so sometime real life gets in the way of my being an accountant. Your money DID get lost in the mail from Canada, so it interrupted my normal accounting procedures, so i apologize for that having affected you in such a significant way...it seems as if you are the only tenant in 3 years that has had this experience, so it seems as if you are the exception to the rule, although your awarding of stars was a bit harsh. And wow, we would have been happy to help you with the pool temperature... Thanks for your input, and hopefully, we will learn from it. diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Been there twice and going back if I can...

    Been there twice and going back if I can...

    • Guest Jodi A. (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 02/09/13
    I first rented this house in March 2012 and loved it so much that I went back for New Years. First of all, what they say about the climate in Atenas is what drew me - I love the fauna and flora of the tropics but I don't love the heat. This house is up in the hills and never too hot. The weather is just perfect for the indoor/outdoor living this house affords. In March there were migratory birds filling the valley - it is hard to sleep in in the morning because the sun and birds are calling you to wake up, but it is so pleasant I couldn't wait to get out there (and I am not usually a morning person). In December, there weren't the variety of birds in the valley - but still gorgeous to watch the hawks soaring above - and the bushes were now filled with bright flowers around the house. The house was perfectly laid out and outfitted for two couples traveling together - the sleeping areas are compartmentalized and separated. Both have wonderful bathrooms, one with an outdoor shower. The house is SO private that clothes are definitely optional. Carolina who lives in the casita next door makes the best salsa on the planet and has a smile to match. Leticia, the English speaking property manager was there to meet us and took care of my guests on our second visit when my flight was delayed - all is pura vida at this house. Dreaming of going back soon...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mountain Getaway

    Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Sara D.
    • Date of stay 12/09/12
    • Review Submitted 12/23/12
    This is a beautiful property at the end of the road in a gated community (you need a vehicle that can manage the slope). Very private with views of the mountains, farming communities and distant cities - great for relaxing and star gazing. The central living space is very elegant and the master bedroom is as well. It is very open and one feels immersed in the environment. The pool was a bit chilly (it IS on a mountain top). The nearby communities hold many attractions, although not ideal for beach access, Highly recommend this property and would return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful views!

    Beautiful views!

    • Guest Adventure! (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    We just returned from a fantastic visit to Atenas. I must admit, however, that we spent the bulk of our time in this wonderful home, relaxing and staring at the view. It is well equipped for cooking. The home is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The support system from Carolina and Leticia is first rate. We had not one disappointment in a short visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Morning Paradise

    Morning Paradise

    • Guest Paul L.
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    The pictures don't do this paradise in the mountains justice. The house is truly special and situated among wonderfully inviting and accessible hosts. The morning's are incredible, with an early sunrise, 270 degrees of lush valley, and peace. The village of Atenas has a delicious bakery, a full supermarket (with incredibly helpful staff), and places to eat with loads of local flavor. It's hard to identify the main attraction of our trip: the house, the people, the mountains...But it doesn't matter. It was all wonderful. Many thanks to Carolina, Leticia, and Diana.

    Owner response: Hi, Paul, We were so delighted to have you and your entire family as our guests and to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. it's a great place for a family get together, since there are so many communal lounging places around the veranda, pool, living room, kitchen, etc. We have had couples, families, honeymooners, business guests who were in Costa Rica for a couple of months, and the house seems to fit everyone.....we are glad it fit you and all your siblings!!! All the best to you, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nature Lovers Paradise

    Nature Lovers Paradise

    • Guest paul d. (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    What a pleasure it is to stay in this house! The pictures fail to do it justice. As nature lovers, we felt we were in heaven - the daily assortment of butterflies, moths and birds was astounding. The flowering plants on the grounds are a haven for butterflies of all sizes and colours as well as hummingbirds. Flocks of green parakeets flew past each morning, not to mention the predictable daily visits of Oropendolas, Toucans and Tityras. We easily could have spent our entire vacation on the porch in the rocking chairs occasionally jumping into the pool. Jaime and Carolina kept things running smoothly. When we had to leave to go back to our "real" lives, it was with great regret. This house is a true escape, and we'll gladly return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful and Relaxing

    Beautiful and Relaxing

    • Guest Andrew C.
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    We were looking for a spot where we could relax but also be close to activities. This was the spot. The house and views were amazing and more importantly extremely relaxing. If you are looking for a place that is beautiful, where you can relax but yet still be close to activities, this is the place for you. Oh, did I mention that it was beautiful and relaxing? Yes, it was.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Still dreaming.....

    Still dreaming.....

    • Guest tom h.
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/13/12
    The listing on the website doesn't come close to describing this house. honestly, when you walk in, the house and the view just took our breath away. My boyfriend and i really wanted to be in someplace the was luxurious and private, but we like to be active, so we wanted to be able to see the sites also. and this couldn't have better. But first about the house - we spent our time on the huge terrace - moving from the hanging chair, to the rocking chairs, to the table chairs to the lounge chairs to the hammock to the couch - ALL OUTDOORS!!! And everything looks down on the green green valley. and inside the house everything was like a magazine spread. beautiful, new, clean, restful and interesting. But we went to a couple of waterfalls, a hike, a volcano, the beach and this crazy restaurant on the ocean - all during the day. And were back at night for all the Atenas restaurants. the caretaker and property manager were great, and we felt super safe the entire time. We are planning on being married at the end of the year, and i know we return here for our honeymoon. db and marie b

    Owner response: Hi db & marie, it sounds as if you made the most of the house, and of course the veranda!! my favorite thing is dinner at night outdoors, and a swim with the pool lights on. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy some of our Costa Rican wonders. i think the restaurant you are thinking of on the beach was Villa Calletas...crazy, kitchy with the outdoor amphitheatre. Great for a romantic drink at the end of a beach day. We would really look forward to hosting you on your honeymoon....and hope you will return for such a memorable day...Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Home!

    Amazing Home!

    • Guest Kevin H.
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    My wife and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon and it was perfect. The house cannot be represented well through photos. You have to see it all in person. The views are amazing! The accommodations were perfect. The area is beautiful and quiet. Atenas is a wonderful, safe, and friendly town with great places to eat. We had a wonderful time and we will be back.

    Owner response: Dear Kevin, We are so happy that you chose to spend such a special time in your lives at our home. It means that we will always be in your memories as you celebrate the wonderful times ahead! It seems like you definitely experienced the 'pura vida' character of our little town, and all it's attributes, then were able to really get away from it all at the house. I know that lately there have been lots of butterfly species, at least 3 kinds of hummingbirds, and there is a new family of monkeys up the road. so, if you didn't see them all, we hope to have you back on an anniversary to keep up with the changes in our little eco preserve....Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We left our hearts in Atenas!

    We left our hearts in Atenas!

    • Guest Alexandra G.
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    One day when day dreaming of secluded getaway where we could get away from our fast-paced city lives, we stumbled upon this location. We knew right away, that it would be a perfect. 2 years later we decided it was time! And, this was the only place we were willing to stay. To say that we were blown away when we walked in, is an understatement. The home was pristine with sliding doors wide open allowing in the cool breeze and the view of the valley below. This place was exactly what we had dreamed of and more. You wake up with the sunrise, because it’s too beautiful to miss. And, you sleep when it get dark, because it’s perfectly dark and quiet. I cannot recommend this home more. If you're looking for life away from the norm, a respite for the heart & mind, this it! You are far away from the center of town, where you are not disrupted. But, you are close enough for a daily walk/drive to get provisions or explore. While the city of Atenas is off the beaten path of tourists, it offers a lot of smaller restaurants and has a lovely farmers market on Fridays. We loved the cute little bakeries, and purchased tons of sweet breads/pastries. If you are looking for daily adventures, you can easily hop in your car and drive to the surrounding areas like the Poas Volcano National Park or the La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Since our trip in April, at least once a week, we look at each other and say, "Let's go back!" This place is the only place for us, and we can't wait to return. Maybe if I play my cards right, we'll be back again in 2013!

    Owner response: We so loved having you at the house!!! and it sounds as if you made the most of the house and the location. I find myself getting up super early also - i can never get enough of the many varieties of birds in the a.m. One time i looked out the window next to the bed and there was a tree load of tucans!! and the flycatchers swoop over the pool when i'm having my coffee. Later in the morniing the hummingbirds come out - and then the butterflies. It's a great place for spiritual renewal, stress relief, and if you want to go out and see waterfalls and volcanoes you can do that and be back in time for cocktails and the sunset. I really hope you can make it back again....Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Better than I could have ever imagined

    Better than I could have ever imagined

    • Guest Jodi A. (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
    • Date of stay 03/26/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    I have rented houses in Europe and North America is this is the best find ever! The house is completely private and a perfect layout for two couples, a few friends, or a family. Birds and perfect temperatures embrace you from sun up til dusk - no mosquitoes so no screens needed - just live in the luxurious blend of indoors and outdoors. Lots to do within an hour or so drive - great zip lining, beaches, volcanoes, and coffee plantations to tour. Carara national park with Vic-tours is a must! Diana and Leticia took care of all of our needs (we don't speak Spanish) and Carolina and Jamie cooked for us (her salsa is amazing). Everything was absolutely perfect!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wow! Breathtaking! Tranquilo!

    Wow! Breathtaking! Tranquilo!

    • Guest tom h.
    • Date of stay 03/06/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    Thank so much Diana for sharing your beautiful home with us. I've never rented a house before, and i was a little nervous. But the house was so far beyond our expectations and so surpassed the photos online. The view is beyond breathtaking. And it was tempting to just stay at the house all day. But the beach, and water falls, and volcanoes were all so close by, we could really have the best of both worlds - a lazy vacation and an active one, exploring the beautiful natural offerings of costa Rica. On the one day we did nothing, there was so much to see at the house - we sat under one tree and just watched this wildly colored tucan for an hour. And we saw so many different kinds of birds, and monkeys on the river way down below the house. And your caretaker & his wife were so sweet. Caroline makes a great breakfast. And Leticia was wonderful in getting us oriented to the house and town when we first arrived. We will be back. Your home is wonderful and we feel as if it's our home away from home. diana and steve

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We are very very fussy, and were NOT disappointed!

    We are very very fussy, and were NOT disappointed!

    • Guest joan h.
    • Date of stay 02/21/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    This amazing Bali style home was all we could have hoped for. Thank you, Diana, for sharing it with us. I felt so protective of it--treated it better than I would my own house, because it was obviously built and furnished with much caring and love.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are so grateful that you enjoyed our home. Thanks so much for spending your precious vacation days with us. I hope you were able to enjoy the surrounding beaches, waterfalls and volcanoes -- or maybe you just sat on the balcony sipping delicious Costa Rican coffee or Chilean wine and looked out at birds - that's what I am going to do next week!! best to you, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful location and home

    Beautiful location and home

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/08/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    Everything mentioned in the earlier reviews correctly describes the excellent features of this home. It is beautiful and you can tell it is well-loved by the owner. The views are spectacular and to sit on the terrace with coffee or beverage is a real treat. Leticia is the property manager and she gave us a good welcome - graciously waiting for us past our expected arrival time because we had a traffic delay. The owner answered any and all questions we might have right away. The location in Atenas is excellent for visiting other areas. We stayed 9 nights and it was our home base for going out to other nearby towns and attractions. One day we stayed home to go to the farmers' market in Atenas which is on Friday. We picked up our supply of fresh foods there and, afterwards, walked around the city, stopping at an outdoor cafe for a fruit drink. It was a delightful visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best family vacation ever!

    The best family vacation ever!

    • Guest Laurie M.
    • Date of stay 12/24/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    Thank you for the vacation of a lifetime! Your home was even more beautiful and tranquil than we expected! It is the perfect blend of luxury and cozy. The great kitchen and outdoor grill was like home away from home, except we were able to eat our meals outdoors overlooking the beautiful valley. It is perfectly located near the airport and within an hour or so drive of many activities; such as Poas Crater, La Paz Waterfall Garden, Doka Coffee Estate, the beach town of Jaco, and other Pacific beaches, Colinas Del Poas ziplining tour, and horseback riding with Vivian in Tarcoles at Hacienda Del Agujas. The home provided the perfect lovely place to return to after our busy days. We brought our two teenage daughters and they too, loved the home. We felt very safe in Costa Rica and especially at the house. Thank you for an amazing vacation, and the most memorable Christmas ever.

    Owner response: Laurie, i'm so glad you and the girls had fun. A well deserved vacation after getting your Masters Degree (let's have a round of applause everyone!!) I loved your review, not only because you liked our home, but i learned some new things to share with future guests. For instance, didn't know about the Colinas Del Poas Ziplining tour or the horseback riding. Thanks so much for taking the time to share, and we hope you visit us again, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise found

    Paradise found

    • Guest Paul W.
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 01/06/12
    It truly was our pleasure to stay at this lovely home Perched above Atenas. The house was in perfect condition upon our arrival and our first order of business was a quick grocery shop and a beer by the pool. Leticia was instrumental not only in guiding us to the property but also was nice enough to take us grocery shopping, even recommending local brands. We enjoyed lazy days marveling at the natural beauty of our surroundings and wondering the town of Atenas. The locals were always friendly and welcoming and especially nice to my 2 year old daughter! Put simply, the house is even better than it looks and we can't wait for an opprtunity to return!

    Owner response: Hi, there Paul, Wow! that is a vision of relaxation: A lounge chair; a beer; an unobstructed view of the natural beauty of Costa Rica and a 2 year old running round the terrace. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write about your experience. We welcome you and all your friends back for another stay. Best to you and your family, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wow!!

    Wow!!

    • Guest deedee (pacific palisades)
    • Date of stay 11/25/11
    • Review Submitted 12/08/11
    There is no way that our photos could capture the breathtaking view that every room of this beautiful home looks out on. Honestly, we spent as much time on the veranda, or even staring at it while making breakfast and dinner in the kitchen, that we could. We walked around the property in the morning and at night. Sat out by the pool for lunch and on the terrace for dinner. i felt like my soul was being recharged. And in the morning outside the bedroom window there were about a dozen huge tucans - the kind that are on the cover of the fruit loops box, with a big red strip over their belly and huge neon beaks. We did some nature stuff - Los Chorros (?) waterfalls that were about 30 min away and the beach, also 30 min away, saw the crocodiles under the bridge on the way to have lunch at Villa Calletas, but honestly, it was tough to tear ourselves away from the house. I had some business to do while i was there, and the wifi was very reliable, and all the decor and kitchen supplies linens etc, are top notch, as was the property manager Leticia (super sweet and helpful), but i still can't get over the view!!! We will be back for sure, Marie and Jonathan

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am so glad you enjoyed our home. I've seen the Tucans in the valley below our house, and monkey's also. but this is the closest to the house they've ever been. Lucky you!!! I feel the same way about the view - i just can never get enough. We hope to see you again soon!! diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We're going back!

    We're going back!

    • Guest Tica in Training (Chester, CA USA)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/05/11
    As a friend reminded me, when you are traveling somewhere you have never been before, or even where you have, it is so important to have some security that what you are expecting and what you will be experiencing are one and the same. This house is just as beautiful, just as comfortable, and just as welcoming as you see on this site. It was the first time we have used someone's home for a vacation stay and all I can tell you is that it has encouraged us to try other countries, too. La Luna Vista is truly an example of pura vida!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: hi, there John and Blair, It was so nice to have you as our guests and thanks so much for assuring our future visitors that our home is all that is promised on vrbo and homeaway. It was brave to try a house - and I couldn't agree more about the necessity of being hesitant - who wants to ruin their vacation with crummy accommodations?!! And so glad you had a great time, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most Romantic and Private Place to Get Away

    Most Romantic and Private Place to Get Away

    • Guest Greer K. (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/29/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    This was by far the best romantic and private place to get away for our honeymoon. Great for a couple or even with a bunch of friends. The place is huge and views were absolutely breathtaking from anywhere you were in the house. The decor was amazing and very well thought out. The pool was a tad cold this time of year but it wasn't uncomfortable enough for us to not going in it everyday! Relaxing bath in the plunging tub with a view of the mountains and valley. You cant get any better than that. There was a housekeeper next door but with all of the lush landscape you were not even able to see their place. Nor did we ever feel bothered by them. They did not intrude, respected our privacy and we didn't really even see them unless announced. It was good to have them there if we needed something and to clean the house mid-way through our stay. There was everything there for us. We love to cook and felt like the kitchen was perfect for this. The town of Atenas, was not far and pretty convenient. A couple bars & restaurants there and a nice little grocery store. This is definitely a very private place with not much around, which is exactly what we were looking for. A lot of the "touristy" stuff can be done in a day trip. This is a place where a lot of memories are to be had and one place that we visited in Costa Rica that we will never forget!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi, Greer and Scott, i'm so glad that we could be a part of such a special time in your lives. I think you had the perfect romantic getaway, which is one of the many ways to enjoy our home. We hope to have you back with friends or family and have an adventure vacation, which is so easy to do from our location. i didn't know you were cooks! i love to stay in and grill on the veranda and cook inside. for next time, there are 5 grocery stores in town!! but one is all you need. We hope you can spend some anniversaries with us too! best, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This House is a WOW!!

    This House is a WOW!!

    • Guest Theo & Miriam (Boynton Beach,FL)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/18/11
    Diana, Thank you for sharing your beautiful mountain side paradise with us.The moment we pulled up and were shown inside with Leticia, we knew that we made a great choice for our vacation. The location, view and amenties were better than expected. Every morning we started our day on the balcony having our coffee and breakfast enjoying the view and then off for another round of adventure in Costa Rica. This location is only 1 hour from the beach and about 45 minues to Escazu, with everything very easy to get to with the new highway.We took day trips to the coffee plantations,La Paz Waterfall Gardens, went horseback riding, zip lining, Jaco beach etc and was always looking forward to coming 'home" to our mountain side retreat. The staff Jaime and Carolina were always available but you never knew of their presence...They provided exceptional service when needed.The town of Atenas is a quaint little town and not " touristy " at all.I would highly recommend this vacation home to all and will return there some day. Thank You Again, Theo & Miriam

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: HI to you both. We are so happy you could spend time with is in paradise!!! The terrace, with the view of the valley, is my absolutely favorite place in all of Costa Rica, and i think about it every day. It sounds as if you had a very active vacation - and made the most of our proximity to great destinations in the country. We hope to see you again, best to you, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We absolutely loved your house!

    We absolutely loved your house!

    • Guest tom h.
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 08/29/11
    Hi Diana, We had a fantastic time. We all absolutely loved your house. Leticia was wonderful, and we enjoyed what little contact we had with Carolina and Jaime. Carolina brought us a bunch of bananas our second day in the house. Our "routine" was "every other day:" one day just relaxing in the house, followed by a day trip. We went to Arenas one day, down to Carara National Park and the Pacific coast another, up to Poas and the Doka Estate coffee plantation another. The weather was fun, sunny most days with a few cloudy rainy days, but the movement of the clouds in the valley and on the ridges is beautiful to watch. We had a little drama one night when a falling tree evidently took out the power for the whole area for a few hours. Dinner by candlelight was charming in that spectacular house Michael

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi, Michael, What a great way to spend time at the house- one day there, one day out and home at night. I think that a lot of people find it hard to leave the house since its so relaxing but there are so many things to do close by as you discovered, so, it sounds as if you made the most of our home and the most of the location. This was the first year that we had our own bananas - and there are 3 varieties , all wonderful. Next time have Caroline bring you the big ones that you can cook, and saute them in 50/50 butter/oil and have them for breakfast or a side dish. it is heavenly. we hope to have you back again. After all, there are two more varieties of bananas to try! Thanks so much for being our guests, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sunrise w/the the birds!

    Sunrise w/the the birds!

    • Guest tom h.
    • Date of stay 07/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    Dear Diana, My sons and I want to thank you for sharing your house with us last week. I was a little unsure about what to do in Atenas, but just being at your house was so relaxing and peaceful that it was a vacation unto itself. It’s a great place to “reset” our hectic lives here in the states. I enjoyed every sunrise with my coffee listening to the birds…and cows. My sons want to buy the house! They loved it even without a TV. Tom

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello Tom, I so glad your boys enjoyed the neighbors (read: 'cows, tucans, monkeys') and the pool. and hope that you made it to the nearby waterfalls and beach, etc. i don't know what it is about sitting on that terrace, but it is really so palliative! i think about it all the time, and was happy to hear that you enjoyed it as much as i do. We hope to see you all again, best, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This home did not disappoint !

    This home did not disappoint !

    • Guest Wendi and Dan B.
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted to spoil ourselves, and boy did we! When we found this home on the Home Away site, it checked off the "wants’" for our Costa Rican hideaway. The pictures were beautiful and the reviews positive and exciting, we booked the home for 7 days. Leticia, the property manager is a delightful woman. We met her at the "Coopatenas" in Atenas. This is the market that you will find very enjoyable to shop in. There is a very secure ATM right next door to the market, we used it (very comfortably) many times. From the CoOp we followed Leticia to the home. The drive took us through the town and up into the beautiful Atenas mountainside. The community gates opened to a beautiful, natural landscaped drive. As we came to the end of the drive the vista opened, giving us miles of valley and mountain views. We walked through the door and realized that the pictures did not do justice to this home. Immediately we were drawn to the balcony, and again, the view! This is a beautifully decorated, comfortable and relaxing house. The homeowner has taken great care to provide a serene and comfortable home. We loved that the two sleeping quarters were detached from the main living area, and it was quite fantastic to walk barefoot down the nature lined walkways from the sleeping to the living room day and night. We thrilled at sleeping with the windows wide open (Balinese sliding doors) and awoke to breathtaking sunrise views. Coffee was always on the balcony and/or next to the pool. We swam often, morning and evening. We cooked at home every night. On Fridays Atenas has their farmers market. We enjoyed buying fresh fruits, vegetables, cheese, meat and baked goods, taking them home to cook and enjoy poolside. This house was perfect in relation to San Jose and the Pacific Coastline. It was delightful to return home after our day touring and sightseeing. We delighted in seeing monkeys and birds of all kinds. The highlight was seeing a toucan flying freely through the sky. We wish everyone take the opportunity to stay in this home and realize the true Pura Vida.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Wendi, We were so delighted to have you as our guests. It sounds as if you made yourself at home, which is our goal, and made the most of the surrounding area. I am so glad you made it to the farmers market - i love seeing neighbors, farmers and all the fresh fruit, veggies - i hope you tried the pupusas - the woman who makes them is a genius! Happy Anniversary - I hope you come again., diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful house and view

    Beautiful house and view

    • Guest Kim B.
    • Date of stay 04/07/11
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    My husband and I stayed here for just over two months and absolutely loved it. The home is located in a wonderful town just 45/55 minutes from San Jose and it has the most INCREDIBLE views of the surrounding area. The home is fully equipped with everything you need - I cooked and used the BBQ almost every night of the week, but also the town of Atenas has several really good restaurants. The owner was also very helpful with the many, many questions I had about the area. Lastly, the home is cared for my a lovely couple who live on the property in a separated space. Can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much Kim and Jake, we loved having you at the house and are very happy able that you enjoyed your stay. You had the longest stay of any of our guests so far, and i know fully explored our host country. And what everyone should know is that your brought your darling little doggie. We have a dog run and a doggie door, too! We are looking forward to having you back, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Mountain top splendor

    Mountain top splendor

    • Guest Donna (Trinidad, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/11
    My husband and I are here now enjoying La Luna to no end. This Bali styled home is beautifully appointed and we love the design, decor and architecture. I am finding everything I need, the manager is friendly and available, the 2 casitas (master and guest) are to die for. Because, above all it is about the stunning valley and mountain view from all the rooms and the large patio areas. This glorifies Costa Rica (Pura Vida!) like no spot we've ever visited - and we have been here many times. The floors, walls, furniture and art are lovely throughout. A friendly young woman cleans and supplies linens, and a taxi comes to take us into town regularly. The dark tiled pool is perfect and the weather has been wonderful so far (no surprise). I've seen the brown jay, crested cara cara, wood stork, gray hawk, swallows, montezuma oropendola, keel billed toucan and a few more. This is a mountain top dream vacation. I highly recommend Diana's place and we plan to return as well. Wow.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Donna, i am so happy to have you as our guests. This is the first time someone has sent a review during their stay, so you are particiularly inspiring! We have not yet captured the view in photos (as all our guests point out), but you've captured it in words. Also, you are our most expert birder!!! i hope you are using our birds of costa rica book. (to all those reading this, donna is at the house for a whole month and i am envious). ..... enjoy the remainder of your stay, and say hi to carolina, jaime and leticia, xdiana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • "Six days in paradise"

    "Six days in paradise"

    • Guest dorie (Chatham, NJ, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/22/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/11
    I couldn't have imagined the serenity, the beauty and the bliss that I experienced staying in your magnificent mountain home. I actually was very sad to have to leave it (I thought of hiding away but suspected I would be discovered). My teenage son and I each enjoyed our own charming quarters which allowed for a sense of separation. The soaring ceilings, incredible view, lovely decor and open space for entertaining and living all combined to continually bring pleasure. I rented a car this trip but once we were in the house, I had no desire to leave for very long. The pool was a perfect temperature and the breeze always provided comfort. The furniture was very comfortable and we both slept like babies. The kitchen was well-equipped. And, most importantly, the overall feeling of your home is welcoming, peaceful and truly unique. We were a short drive to town (or a walk, of course) and many nice restaurants but I found it was so pleasant to cook up something in the kitchen that I took this opportunity many times. We even entertained! I am actually returning to Atenas in a couple of weeks and am very saddened to see that the house is already booked for that time. Thanks for creating such a wonderful environment! I hope we will have the opportunity to stay in your incredible home again! Sincerely, Dorie H. Scherma

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Dorie, It sounds as if you made the house your home away from home! There are so many places to eat in Atenas, but really lighting up the bbq on the terrrace is my favorite thing also. I hope you can find the time to see us again, best to you and your son, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Atenas Vacation Home - Flora Pica

    Atenas Vacation Home - Flora Pica

    • Guest BR (Vancouver, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/07/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    This was our second trip to Costa Rica and our first to Atenas. We enjoy a nice pool and a great view. We were not disappointed on either account with our choice of this villa. The poo area is very nice and the pool itself is a very good size - not just a small 'soaker pool'. The view is nothing short of spectacular. You can literally spend hours just sitting on the veranda overlooking an incredible valley and mountain view. In the evening the clouds start to form and you are literally at or just above the cloud level from the valley below. Awesome to watch! The house itself is very well appointed. For those who can't stand not to be connected to the rest of the world - the internet connection was extremely fast and reliable. Take note that there is no TV here - and I think that is be design. Tune into 94.7 on the radio and its all you need. Great local statioin that we enjoyed listening to in the evening. We walked into ATenas most days - a beautiful 25 minute walk - you need to be in fairly good shape though (particularly on the way back which is mostly uphill!) The property manager - Leticia - checked in on us to make sure everything was Ok - and Jaime the gardener kept things looking good (without even knowing he was around and respected your privacy).. All in all we give this property a very high rating and were not disappointed in any way. The listing information and picutres are accurate ( but honestly you can't capture the views in a picture - you need to see it to fully appreciate it) Diana made sure that all questions were answered and you can be assured that if you choose this home,, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Diana for sharing your home with us. BR Vancouver, Canada.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi, there Brent... I am so glad that you had such a terrific stay. Vancouver is such a cosmopolitan city, it's great to hear that the house met your standards. I find, as you did, that the valley, with it's constantly changing colors and flocks of birdlife and butterflies, is more entertaining than anything on television. I hope you come again, xxdiana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful vacation home

    Beautiful vacation home

    • Guest Karen (Connecticut, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/02/11
    What a beautiful vacation home! The views of the valley below from the entire house are breathtaking. We awoke each morning to see a spectacular sunrise right from our bed and watched and listened the valley come to life. We found the house to be both luxurious and comfortable for our family of 4 (2 teenagers). Atenas is located in the central part of Costa Rica, so we spent our days driving to see various sights (the beach in Hermosa by Jaco, Poas volcano, Doka coffee tour, Sarchi ox cart factory, etc.) lunching at local restaurants along the way. We shopped for groceries in Atenas and would return to the house late afternoon to relax and prepare dinner. It was a wonderful vacation for our family. We would highly recommend this vacation home if you are looking for something special away from the hustle and bustle of life. You could almost spend your entire vacation just relaxing at the house, it is that beautiful!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: karen, im so glad you were able to enjoy so many sites. THe ox cart factory is great and there is also a rocking chair factory where i bought the 3 rocking chairs we have on the veranda. I Next time you'll have to go horseback riding and see the waterfals at Fortuna!! Please come back, diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ON TOP OF THE WORLD!

    ON TOP OF THE WORLD!

    • Guest JEFF (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/15/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    "We just loved our stay here. The pictures can hardly do it justice. The house is stunning, and the quiet is incredible. It is the last house at the end of the road, and so you have no neighbors. The view from the house is breathtaking from morning till night. We loved watching the hawks circle over the valley, and even had a tucan in the tree by the house. The house is just a few minutes outside of the town, which is perfect. We rented a car, but it seems that others in the community just take the taxis for a buck or two. There are plenty of places to eat in town, but we mainly cooked in the gourmet kitchen at the house. Nothing beat dinner on the patio while watching the sun set. We will be back again. And again. Soon we hope."

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: i know this was a mini-honeymoon so im so pleased that you enjoyed all the amenities and most of all, the protected natural environment of Costa Rica. Yes, some people end up just hanging out at the house, and it is an inexpensive taxi to town. others like the freedom of a car and make day trips, knowng they will coming home to heaven!!! so many of our guests take lovely pictures. i am just waiting to find one that really captures the feeling that the place gives you - i know its beyond words. xxdiana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Private Paradise

    Private Paradise

    • Guest JEFF (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/11
    We just loved our stay here. the pictures can hardly do it justice. The house is stunning, and the quiet is incredible. It is the last house at the end of the road, and so you have no neighbors. The view from the house is breathtaking from morning till night. We loved watching the hawks circle over the valley, and even had a tucan in the tree by the house. The house is just a few minutes outside of the town, which is perfect. We rented a car, but it seems that others in the community just take the taxis for a buck or two. There are plenty of places to eat in town, but we mainly cooked in the gourmet kitchen at the house. Nothing beat dinner on the patio will watching the sunset. We will be back again. And again. Soon we hope.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breathtaking!

    Breathtaking!

    • Guest Amanda (Florida, US)
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/19/10
    Waking up to the view here everyday has been breathtaking. This place makes finding zen seem easy! The house is beautifully laid out and decorated. Everything you need for an amazing Costa Rica experience is here. The neighborhood seems very safe and there's no better city than Atenas! All of the people are amazing, too. Diana, Dennis, and the on-site caretakers Jaime and Carolina! There's a variety of lovely restaurants and shops to enjoy nearby.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Dear Amanda, I am so glad you could be our guest. I think you had a great mixture of sunshine and gentle rain. I hope your stay was restoring for you!!! OUr location is ideal for beach/volcano/or just plain do nothing!!! i can't wait to get back myself. vist us anytime. xxdiana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happiness on top of the world

    Happiness on top of the world

    • Guest Marinecia (Miami, Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/15/10
    • Review Submitted 11/16/10
    I love diana’s house. My best friend and I stayed for one week in September and it was heaven! All the doors open to the outside and we spent most of our time with them open. There are huge wrap around terraces, so, even at midday when it was warm, we had a great shaded terrace to hang out on. And the mornings are incredible. we laid around the pool and went swimming, all the while looking out into the valley. We never saw another person (just birds, butterflies, cows and horses!!) while we were in the house and outside. Honestly, we came to costa rica with big ambitions to do something everyday, but we spent a lot of time just relaxing. We even had a massage at the house. We did go to a beach and volcano, and tried the river rafting (so much fun!!), but we always looked forward to coming home. At night the stars are incredible. – and way way in the distance you can watch the lightening – anyway, we have already booked another week for next year!!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Owner response: Dear Mari & Susan, i'm so glad you enjoyed the house. and since you guys are from miami, i guess you know how to relax!! so, see you next year..xxd

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • How away from home...

    How away from home...

    • Guest Jona (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 11/16/10
    My wife and I crashed there with a couple of friends and truly fell in love with the place. The place is so great, it makes it hard to leave. It's a TRUE vacation getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Best of Four We Visited.

    The Best of Four We Visited.

    • Guest Scouting around Costa Rica (Waterford WI)
    • Date of stay 07/07/10
    • Review Submitted 07/19/10
    My Husband and I stayed at 4 different homes all over Costa Rica and we enjoyed this House the Best. It was in a great climate, had the most beautiful views. I loved the Bali floorplan and mountain valley views and also really enjoyed your beautiful flowers, plants, and landscape around the house, a real treat for the eyes to behold. the house had everything we needed, and only wanted a TV. We enjoyed a massage Therepest that came to the house to pamper us by the pool and that was great. We saw a lightning show at nite over the mountains. The Internet worked very well here, as it did not in other places. I would highly recommend this house to any one wanting to Visit Costa Rica.Rent a car and drive all over like we did, a great experience . Thank You Diana for sharing your beautiful home with us. and Dennis for all your help. Rodger and Janice

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roger & Janice, You are so welcome!! I'm so glad you loved the privacy and the surroundings. and yes, Dennis is a terrific property manager, really knows how to roll out the red carpet for all of our guests. i'll have to have one of those massages the next time i am there !! xxhome you come again, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Family vacation to remember

    A Family vacation to remember

    • Guest Yepecita (Des Moines, IA)
    • Date of stay 02/12/10
    • Review Submitted 03/19/10
    My husband and I our two kids (mattie age 12, and ian 13) planned our vacation to stay at the house for a week, but the location was so convenient for day trips and we felt so comfy, when it came time to go to our next location, none of us wanted to leave – so we stayed 5 more days!!! The kids absolutely loved the house, they hung out by the pool or went for hikes down the road …chased butterflies, played games, etc. My husband and I tried our best to do nothing, and succeeded most days. We took a day trip every other day – to the beach, river rafting, 45 min to a beautiful volcano, 30 min to a butterfly farm and a river with crocodiles!!! etc etc. The owner’s property managers were really helpful in connecting us with places to go. The Little town of Atenas is very sweet – it has a beautiful square and there were lots of Little restaurants close by where a family of four could eat extremely well for $40.00 (including a glass of wine for the grownups!!). but we also had meals at home . my husbnd bbqd, I cooked, etc. the house was stocked with every kind of cooking pot & spice you could ever want and we found whatever groceries we liked at the store – they even had Splenda!!!! I know my kids had a vacation they will remember forever!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A great place to chill

    A great place to chill

    • Guest Gary and Cindy (Brighton, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 01/19/10
    • Review Submitted 02/18/10
    We just returned from Diana’s house in Atenas, as you can tell from the photos the place is beautiful, what you can’t see is the amazing views, sounds of the birds and cicadas, and the solitude. A great place, well appointed and equipped (a TV would help but maybe it’s better without). We highly recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relax

    Relax

    • Guest Kraut100 (Texas)
    • Date of stay 11/04/09
    • Review Submitted 01/08/10
    My wife and I stayed here for a week in November. We left our three small children at home and just relaxed! Everything was even better than what you see on the website. You simply can not capture the view with a camera. It was even beautiful when raining. Atenas is just a fantastic town in the Central Valley. Not "tourist-ie". Flying into San Jose was very easy. Getting rental car was very easy. The drive to Atenas was very easy. Property manager was extremely helpful. Thanks Dennis. All and all it was completely and udderly relaxing. Nice German restaurant on the town square. Also nice pizza joint next door. Dennis (native Floridian) knows all. He was there to help us all week from helping us make reservations for a Nature tour from giving us tips about local grocery stores. Even helped me find a battery for my diabetic tester. All in all it was fantastic. I'm sure we'll go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pictures cannot describe the amazing view!!

    Pictures cannot describe the amazing view!!

    • Guest Basiliso& Wanda (fl)
    • Date of stay 10/20/09
    • Review Submitted 01/08/10
    If you are looking to get away from the hectic everyday life, then this is the place for you. The decor is beautiful and very modern. My husband and I stayed this past October for 7 days, and don't have the words to explain the view that you have all through the back of the home. . Pictures cannot describe how amazing it really is. The property manager was great and the owner was very helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this vacation home for couples who wish to get away from everything and everybody, and just to spend quality time alone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • living on a cloud

    living on a cloud

    • Guest Baltimore, MD (Baltimore, MD)
    • Date of stay 07/13/09
    • Review Submitted 01/12/10
    "I have the difficult task of explaining what it feels to live on a cloud, literally, because the clouds swiftly surround this piece of land from time to time for just a few moments and you exist for a small time with the sky. The rolling hills that extend into the horizon from the property's backyard spoil your appetite to taste other adventures Costa Rica has to offer...why visit a cloud forest when you live in one? And, the beauty of this home absolutely ruins your patience to stay in any other vacation home less exceptional than this house. This house sits furthest out on the best slice of land in the community so no other rooftop adulterates the view of the magnificent Atenas mountains. You feel like you are the only person in the world with the safe satisfaction of a small, friendly community of home-owners right behind you. The decor of the house is minimal and craftful and every turn offers another opportunity to enjoy the goodness of life. And that's all before leaving the house! The drive from Atenas to San Jose offers panoramic views of Costa Rica Pura Vida and you find yourself downtown in less than an hour. The drive to the Pacific side (Jaco/Manuel Antonio) provides equally impressive views ending in beautiful beaches and national parks less than 90 minutes away. Local fruit and vegetable stands abound in either direction, so there is always a chance to buy the best avocados on your way to and from home. The location of this house gives you the best chance to experience Costa Rica's coasts, volcanos, and local life and still be home to grill yourself a nice steak and take in the gorgeous city lights from a far, far distance. The stars and moon at night, are of course unparallel. I should stop here for fear of seeming unauthentic, but it's all true. Come experience it for yourself. You'll leave a different person." Thanks so much for opening up this sweet serenity to my family Diana, and best of luck with future renters.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: michael jean, thanks so much, it was great to have you and your mom and baby. i hope we see you again. to everyone - michel jean planned to stay for a week and ended up staying for 3!!! xdiana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]