Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Side of the house.

Getaway to Heavenly Honaunau! Ocean View, Great for Families! [#250244] | View Property

Honaunau
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$150/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Very family friendly

    Very family friendly

    • Guest Elisha M.
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 01/24/14
    The house is in a beautiful location with amazing views of the ocean. It worked perfectly for our large family vacation. The house is safe for young kids and includes toys and a yard for running around. It was a great jumping off point for exploring the Kona side of the island. We had a wonderful stay and hope to return sometime in the future.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Closest to a heaven on Earth....

    Closest to a heaven on Earth....

    • Guest PaniniRose (Honolulu, HI)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    2/16/2013 - We cannot thank you enough for sharing this beautiful tranquil place with us. We had the most AMAZING time there. This home just speaks the "mana" of the surrounding area. We felt so comfortable there that it was hard to leave on the final day. The beautiful grounds surrounding the home just called us to come out and explore at every opportunity and the sunsets at the end of each day were spectacular, to say the least. If you want a getaway to just spend quality time with loved ones without the hustle/bustle of resorts then this is the place!! We found our little slice of heaven here and will definitely be returning someday soon! Our heartfelt Mahalos for a memorable time!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Coffee Country Home with Amazing Views!

    Coffee Country Home with Amazing Views!

    • Guest Katrina (Pebble Beach, CA U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 11/03/12
    This was our fifth visit to the Big Island and our first time staying in Honaunau. Love the location, so close to my 2 favorite places on the island- Kealakekua Bay and the Place of Refuge. The views from the lanai were incredible and the home was very comfortable and quiet. My sons loved running around the property and also playing with Zeus the dog! I really recommend this home especially if you want to stay away from the touristy areas and have a feel of Hawaiian country life. So peaceful and relaxing! Thank you for sharing your family home. Mahalo!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location - handy to so many great spots on Island

    Great location - handy to so many great spots on Island

    • Guest Terry (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 12/21/11
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    We had a great family gathering in Honaunau. The location was terrific for us as it was close to family we came to see but also to newly restored Manini Beach, Kealakekua Bay, Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, Painted Church, and several other favorite spots on the Big Island. We were able to travel north or south with ease and found much relaxation on the big lanai and yard. We definitely enjoyed the fruit trees, as well as all the flora and fauna the property had to offer. We loved having turkeys over for breakfast and coqui as guests in the evenings. Shopping and restaurants were handy yet the rural atmosphere was far enough from the bustle of Kona Town but not so far to keep us from enjoying some of what town had to offer. We'd come back in a heartbeat to enjoy it all over again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Kona Coffee Coast Getaway - Great Views

    Kona Coffee Coast Getaway - Great Views

    • Guest Ralph (San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 12/10/11
    • Review Submitted 01/14/12
    This was our 2nd stay at this property - both times in December with kids ages 7 and 9. The house is very clean on a great piece of land on the slopes above the ocean. The large lanai offers a 180 degree view from City of Refuge on the left to Kealakekua Bay on the right. Mornings are beautiful and the sunsets are amazing. The property description is very accurate. Our kids enjoyed exploring the large property with its local plants. Diane, the owner, is very good to work with and even put up a Christmas tree for the kids. Our favorite activities were snorkeling at Kahaluu Beach Park and barbecuing at night at the park on the south side of City of Refuge. We hope to visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful, clean family home

    Wonderful, clean family home

    • Guest Jo & family (Saskatchewan, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 03/12/11
    We enjoyed our stay at this home, and found it to be clean, well-maintained and very comfortable for our family (83 year old grandmother, 11 year old son, my husband and I). The view from the lanai was much better than even described! To wake up to the view of the mountain each morning from our bedroom window and to be able to enjoy our coffee and breakfast on the lanai each morning was such a treat! The space of the yard was great for our 11 year old son to run around and explore. We appreciated being away from the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist area and found the location to be very convenient. The owners answered our questions very quickly and were very friendly. They recommended places to visit on the island, and as this was our first trip to the Big Island, we were happy for the recommendations! The Place of Refuge was very close and certainly one of our favourite places to visit along with the volcanoe! Our entire family enjoyed this home and its location and we highly recommend to others looking for a quiet, peaceful, family holiday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest William, Laurie & Family, Kohala, HI
    • Date of stay 07/16/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Thank you so much for the use of your home. Our family enjoyed our stay here. The sunsets are beautiful from your veranda, and the nightly serenades took getting used to, but eventually grows on one's senses. Our family enjoyed Honaunau Beach; swimming with the green sea turtles was awesome. We look forward to future visits to Kona and having the opportunity to stay in your home again would truly be a blessing for it is a "home away from home."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Curt, Ardyth % Family from WI
    • Date of stay 06/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Your home is very comfortable and relaxing. We love the large lanai. This is what a vacation should be. We enjoyed the country setting complete with turkeys, pheasant, sheep on the hill, chickens and the wild pigs caught in the trap twice while we were here. We go a free boar rodeo! We learned about coffee at Greenwell and the co-op-chocolate-vanilla and macadamia nuts. We were star gazing on our last night at Maunaka Kea and hiked a bit with great views. We would love to come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Tayloe from Rockville, VA
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Many thanks for allowing S. to share your home with us. The lanai is wonderful and it is so peaceful here. Great views!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dan & Brenda, Cedar City, UT
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. It is beautiful and a little bit of heaven! We have loved having all the comforts of home and the peaceful, wonderful views. Thank you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lono from Kapolei, HI
    • Date of stay 02/28/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    I enjoyed your stay at your hale and seeing the area which was impressive. Thank you for allowing me to experience this. I will be back in the near future. Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gary & Lisa, Marblehead, OH
    • Date of stay 02/17/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    We had a wonderful time. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest David from San Francisco, CA
    • Date of stay 12/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    A modern place of refuge for a modernized world. Thank you, mahalo nui loa, for this opportunity for salvation. And Mele Kalikimaka!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Faye from Washington, DC
    • Date of stay 12/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Hawaii was more beaultiful and interesting than I had ever imagined. Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Nadya from Rochester NY
    • Date of stay 12/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    You had a beautiful alarm clock-rooster. In addition to everything else, it was wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Maria & Edward, San Francisco, CA & Rochester, NY
    • Date of stay 12/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful house with us. Hawaii was exquisite, especially the mountains, lava and beaches.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Vickie, Terry & Family, WA
    • Date of stay 12/16/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    What a wonderful, restful island vacation and a terrific home for a family "home base" away from home. This wasw our first visit to the Big Island. We saw and loved all the sites. We loved our island vacation and this wonderful home to return to each day. We'll definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bryce, Nahele & Huck, Prince of Wales Isl., Alaska
    • Date of stay 11/03/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Thank you for sharing your home with us. It felt like home away from home. We enjoyed all the little things that you have provided like the BBQ grill and beach equipment. The WiFi was a huge bonus! The sunsets were gorgeous and the smell of sweet flowers on the evening breeze made this an unforgettable memory. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Erin, Jamie & Michaela of Vancouver, WA
    • Date of stay 09/30/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    We enjoyed our stay at Hale o Mokuohai. It is a beautiful home and we ar blessed to have had a chance to stay here. We look forward to many more stays in the home. It is such a special place and staying here meant so much to us. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]